India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Here is some expert analysis - which should help with the worries:

Coming to SSM, the public reaction was negative across the board, the minority community has been rightly pulled into the debate which will make left-islamist collision difficult in future. Of course the pro homo crowd will keep pushing but they have now exhausted the legal card. Modi's 3rd term will put a lid on it for few more years. I'm not worried, we have a bunch of cards yet to be played.

After a long wait, there is US Ambassador in India. Welcome.
Also glad that per Indian newspapers: he publically said his *first* priority is to fix the VISA (For Indians travelling to US) mess.

Here is a short introduction from US Embassy in India about the ambassador

Ambassador Eric Garcetti – the 26th U.S. Ambassador to India! From the vibrant culture to the warm hospitality, we cannot wait for you to experience this amazing country as U.S. Ambassador. #WelcomeAmbassador

Admire your enthusiasm Amber G. Hope Garcetti lives up to your expectations.

Hasn't been posted, so posting:

100th Mann-ki-baat by was celebrated throughout in USA among Indian Americans - There were large 'watch- parties' in many places in USA. NJ/NY area was attended by EAM Dr. Jai Shankar. (It was 2AM local time but was surprised to see such a large audience (including US lawmakers etc.)-- It was streamed live. (EAM's remarks are worth listening too)

A journey reflecting the minds of millions of Indians… & celebrated across the United States !

Meanwhile, US state Pennsylvania passed a resolution (50-0 - Unanimously) to celebrate Diwali.
sanman

Post by sanman »

At yesterday's whitehouse press conference, the very first question asked to presidential spokesperson Karine Jean-Pierre, was what the US reaction was to the arrest of Imran Khan in Pakistan. She responded that it was an internal matter of Pakistan.

sanman wrote:At yesterday's whitehouse press conference, the very first question asked to presidential spokesperson Karine Jean-Pierre, was what the US reaction was to the arrest of Imran Khan in Pakistan. She responded that it was an internal matter of Pakistan.
US news outlets have been calling Pakistan a "Strategic ally" for the past few days. No wonder its a mess.

Meanwhile in US: Ashwini Vaishnaw (Minister for Railways, Communications, Electronics & Information Technology, Government) in USA. Discussing Public Infrastructure and India Semiconductor Mission at CEO's Table -- "Result of Decisive leadership of PM of India and President of USA.

Much bigger deal, and real impact on US/India relationship that whining about silly things - from NYT/WPost (or Indian Woke reporters)..
Image Credit: (Official account of Ashwini Vaishnaw)

Minister is meeting with prominent US CEO's, and showcasing importance of India/US cooperation.. some more from Stanford U..presentation...(I hope some BRF members attended these and write about this)

Extremely good development for India- US relationship and workers/students with family in India - hope things move fast.
Democrats introduce Citizenship Act to eliminate country quota for Green Card, tweak H-1B system

Amber G. wrote:Extremely good development for India- US relationship and workers/students with family in India - hope things move fast.
Democrats introduce Citizenship Act to eliminate country quota for Green Card, tweak H-1B system

Amber ji,

california passed by 34-1 vote, the bill – SB 403, which would make it the first US state to add caste as a protected category in its anti-discrimination laws.

One foresees similar legislations with local modifications but broadly based on SB 403 that will be used to sandbag Indians in other states as well.

One would not be so optimistic about the future, given that SB 403 has even been passed by whiteys in amrika, using a manufactured case to cite discrimination and following it up with discriminatory legislative actions.

SB 403 like legislations, and their derived clones in the making, are specifically targeted to hobble a very specific migrant group / community. The prosperity of this specific community is like a red rag to them. Just see the riff raff crossing the amrika borders in their hundreds of thousands, that is the kind of immigrants they want

On the face of it, it appears that SB 403 has been passed with a deeper intent and going forward, that will become apparent, sooner, rather than later.

Not to rain on your parade, but one would cautiously wait awhile before the celebrations

garcetti has not come to India to push for India's benefits, he has been sent to sow dissention and strife in the ranks.

his slick and slithery mannerism is reminiscent of a snake oil salesman in the wild west
Last edited by chetak on 12 May 2023 11:37, edited 1 time in total.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cyrano wrote:
RajaRudra wrote:Gracette in India

1) Supreme Court siding with Uddhav
2) Supreme Court championing for Same sex marriage
3) Supreme Court Interfering in the work of Governor in Delhi.

Are we up to some Roller Coster ride in near future?
Have you seen those verdicts? Uddhav got nothing, SSM went no where and back with legislative, Dilli CM will get services but not police which was the target.

I'm no Garcetti fan, but what is the connection and what is your point?
Cyrano ji,

This about sums it up neatly

RajaRudra wrote:Gracette in India

1) Supreme Court siding with Uddhav
2) Supreme Court championing for Same sex marriage
3) Supreme Court Interfering in the work of Governor in Delhi.

Are we up to some Roller Coster ride in near future?

Cyrano wrote:Admire your enthusiasm Amber G. Hope Garcetti lives up to your expectations.

the woke has hit the ground running

looks like he is in a tearing hurry

India must be the only nation which actively invites goras to meddle in our internal affairs. Even pakis are better in this regard.

vimal wrote:India must be the only nation which actively invites goras to meddle in our internal affairs. Even pakis are better in this regard.
The job of an ambassador is to meddle in the affairs of others.

RoyG wrote:
vimal wrote:India must be the only nation which actively invites goras to meddle in our internal affairs. Even pakis are better in this regard.
The job of the host country and their media is not make his job of meddling in their affairs easy. But we have too many jaichands in our media.

RoyG wrote:
Nope!
Ever see US ambassador in China meddle in their internal affairs? There are more than a million Muslims in concentration camps in Chin but not a pip-squeak. Saudi Arabia, Pakistan?

vimal wrote:
RoyG wrote:
Nope!
Ever see US ambassador in China meddle in their internal affairs? There are more than a million Muslims in concentration camps in Chin but not a pip-squeak. Saudi Arabia, Pakistan?
and no BS talk about engaging with their "civil society" either

The amerikis are b@!! !e$$ wonders and bullies

vimal wrote:
RoyG wrote:
Nope!
This is naivete.

This is what you see but more goes on behind the scenes.

Don't whine if they are doing their job.

We have to do ours to keep them in check.

vimal wrote:
Nope!

If they are meddling and according to some we are doing nothing, who exactly is the bully and the ball-less?

vimal wrote:
RoyG wrote:
Nope!
If I were a woke amabassador who came upon BRF, the level of insecurity amongst some here would make me want to do the meddling even more.

EAM has weighed in very clearly on this, I trust that things will be handled appropriately according to importance and urgency criteria. I personally dont care what China or Saudi does with this.

RoyG wrote:

If they are meddling and according to some we are doing nothing, who exactly is the bully and the ball-less?
the us ambassador and his obsequious embassy cohorts in cheeni land

RoyG wrote:
vimal wrote:
Nope!
This is naivete.

You seem to be one constantly batting for the bad behavior of USAmb and whining. Is USAmb meeting civil society in Saudi or China?
sanman

Post by sanman »

What I worry about are parallels in the latest Karnataka elections and the Delhi elections won by AAP.

In both cases, the same types of electoral strategies were used: ie. focus on local municipal issues

When AAP first won Delhi that way, it looked to me like they had outside help -- and by that, I mean from the United States.
There's no way that Kejriwal was experienced enough to know how to resort to that strategy on his own.
And then after doing such a good job campaigning that way, he of course horrendously underperformed. The idiot Kejriwal was holding dharnas and even his own Delhi darbar in the street. So I see some very sharp incongruencies in that. People were even coming up to Kejriwal and slapping him over his lies. Also, AAP wasn't courting Muslim vote bank at all. To me, all of these things together had hallmarks of an election campaign that was being supported by a power like the United States. Anna Hazare movement, coupled with Kejriwal's fanatical insistence on Lokpal, also seemed curiously close to the aftermath of Tahrir Square, Arab Spring, etc (ie. possibly another Colour Revolution)

Now it seems like history is repeating itself in Karnataka's elections, this time with INC instead of AAP. As before, it seems to me there's no way INC would have had the sense to focus so closely on local municipal & state issues like that on their own, as their current leadership isn't that competent.
I feel like they may be getting outside advisory help.

My instincts tell me that the US would like to see Modi cut down to size by various rival parties, to leave him more vulnerable to US diktats.
Note that JDS was obliterated, because they're mainly a thorn in the side of INC.

I see the victorious INC now crowing about how they triumphed over "BJP's divisive campaign" -- but I didn't see any communal rhetoric from BJP's campaign. INC's vote bank machine politics has them making any assertions to feed the vote bank machine, regardless of whether any of it's true or not.

Also, the strange eruptions from Supreme Court Justice on "gender is imaginary" crap -- it looks very strange to see Woke virus suddenly appearing in Indian Supreme Court justices. Lot of strange coincidences happening here.

In 1:1 battle BJP will find it difficult to win due to the demographic shift that has already happened. With 90% captive vote bank of peacefuls Congress or any other party would be a powerful adversaries. Also, the delusion of Pasmanda votes is coming back to bite them.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

More from the "fine decent white christian folks" this time
Senator John Neely Kennedy of Louisiana.
Notice the outraged tone of the al-guardian. Why is it OK to racially stereotype Indians and not Mexicans ?
Why is the al-guardian outraged about one and not the other ?

US senator denounced as ‘profoundly ignorant man’ over remarks on Mexico

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/202 ... ug-cartels

And yet these are the sorts of people who right letters to American presidents concerning religious freedom in India.
Are racist, redneck bigots qualified to do this? Do they have any moral high ground?
These people are full of $hit

https://www.kennedy.senate.gov/public/2 ... e-minister
Last edited by Haresh on 16 May 2023 23:59, edited 1 time in total.

vimal wrote:
RoyG wrote:
This is naivete.

You seem to be one constantly batting for the bad behavior of USAmb and whining. Is USAmb meeting civil society in Saudi or China?
Get real. You can't change what others will do. Protect yourself and give it back.

Yes we can. We train others behaviour by our reactions to it.

If India comes down on his head like a ton of bricks upon the VERY FIRST unacceptable transgression, that will shape future behaviour. Thats what we generally call deterrence and dissuasion.

If India does nothing or gives a shaky weak-kneed response, that will shape future behaviour too. Only it will be called encouragement and incentive.

Meanwhile wrt to Biden/Modi meet: Breaking news - It seems US Prez Biden could skip visit to Australia to attend Quad due to debt ceiling crisis ,, at G7 in Japan, Biden would "have the opportunity to meet PM Modi.. But other meetings in Asia is being 'reevaluated'

Indian Prime Minister Modi to visit the U.S. on an Official State Visit in June. Wikipedia has an interesting little infographic on the different types of leader-level visits.

Meanwhile:
1 - Very interesting. Quad + UK military chiefs will meet in California to discuss Indo-Pacific security May 15-17.

Also it looks like Mod will be on center stage with Biden cancelling his historic visit to Papua New Guinea.

and - Quad meeting of leaders is happening at Japan -- (as Biden is cancelling Australia travel too). Australia is still saying that Modi will still visits Australia.. (Breaking news per Australian PM)
sanman

Post by sanman »

I really think we should just do Pokhran-3 and build up our own independent deterrent against China, to maintain our strategic autonomy.
The Americans are constantly taking a crap on us.

Breaking News:
Ohio becomes the second state in US to introduce such resolution: Senate Concurrent Resolution 6 to condemn Hinduphobia and anti-Hindu bigotry.

While cabals of Aisha Wahab and there likes try to pass SB403 which targets/profiles Hindus (and unsurprisingly has support from Khalistnis and even some Indian political parties and media persons) this is strong, unflinching condemnation of #Hinduphobia in all it’s forms!

Thank you Senator Niraj Antani (someone I know for a long time) to enforce that Hinduphobia has no home in Ohio.
No 'dismantling Hinduism' type nonsense will be tolerated.

Amber G. wrote: Ohio becomes the second state in US to introduce such resolution: Senate Concurrent Resolution 6 to condemn Hinduphobia and anti-Hindu bigotry....
Great. I learned through my contacts that Ohio based Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh (HSS) is very active on such issues.

Good to see US Hindus asserting themselves.

Cyrano wrote:Good to see US Hindus asserting themselves.
Except in California. Desis here flaunt their proximities with Pelosi and Fienstein and NANGA (Now-Awesome Newsom GAvin) and some actually campaigned for Aisha Wahab (D. Hayward).

Aisha introduced SB 403 which makes Caste as a discriminatory category. Not only that, in an inter-caste marriage, it will be the "higher" caste that will be considered as the caste of the child.

Aisha Wahab is a muzmil emigre from Afghanistan.

Amber G. wrote:Breaking News:
Ohio becomes the second state in US to introduce such resolution: Senate Concurrent Resolution 6 to condemn Hinduphobia and anti-Hindu bigotry.

While cabals of Aisha Wahab and there likes try to pass SB403 which targets/profiles Hindus (and unsurprisingly has support from Khalistnis and even some Indian political parties and media persons) this is strong, unflinching condemnation of #Hinduphobia in all it’s forms!

Thank you Senator Niraj Antani (someone I know for a long time) to enforce that Hinduphobia has no home in Ohio.
No 'dismantling Hinduism' type nonsense will be tolerated.
Amber, since you know so many high ranking politicians and seem to have connections all the way to Obama and Biden, can you please please please get Aisha under your control? You may have 72 Aishas.

CA has become a state where lot of desis go long on "no matter who vote blue" and "putin is evil and Trump is a Putin lackey and Tulsi is a toadie".

Maybe you really need to educate your Desi friends and circle to at least vote red (so that their conscience is clear) and not get into sickular politics and undermine Hindu causes.

Aisha was *successful* in passing SB 403 in CA Senate (so please do not say "try to pass SB403").

And for 2024, please start preparing your Desi friends to vote anyone but Bidet and Comma,LA.

Cyrano wrote:Good to see US Hindus asserting themselves.
Where is Ohio?

Amber G. wrote:Meanwhile:
1 - Very interesting. Quad + UK military chiefs will meet in California to discuss Indo-Pacific security May 15-17.

Also it looks like Mod will be on center stage with Biden cancelling his historic visit to Papua New Guinea.

and - Quad meeting of leaders is happening at Japan -- (as Biden is cancelling Australia travel too). Australia is still saying that Modi will still visits Australia.. (Breaking news per Australian PM)
Biden is too sick to travel and is completely exhausted trying to get the Debt ceiling passed and then trying to launch his own campaign outside of NH.

If Biden can sign manufacturing of F-414 in India during Modi visit, that will be great.

The rest of the quad hosting Japan PM and Modi in Australia is only photo-op and a face saver for Aus. At least Aus will realize that it is more Asian than British.

Amber G. wrote:Indian Prime Minister Modi to visit the U.S. on an Official State Visit in June. Wikipedia has an interesting little infographic on the different types of leader-level visits.
Amber, can you please influence your long time friends in US Congress to allow Modi to address US Congress? I am drafting speech for Modi here to address the lack of freedom of religion (CA SB403) and total curtailment of democratic values in the Prez Bidet government. This is on the lines of Obama speech in India. Except, here it is Modi speech in Congress.