Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Folks am not going to continue discussion on Howdy Modi here.
Hua to hua!!!
UB thats correct.
Now what happens to Gungadin Ro Khanna?
He is co-chair of Elect Bernie Sanders and brought in Hindutva to attack Tulsi Gabbard with dreams of VP to Bernie Sanders.

Breaking news: Bernie Sanders was hospitalized and then stented twice.

https://www.vox.com/2019/10/2/20895083/ ... -emergency

At this point Bernie's campaign is over.

Gungadin Ro(na-dhona) Khanna is really gonna cry now! He is done.

In nutshell, Kamala's and Sanders campaign is gone. Warren has become a clintonite (Clinton Acolyte). Biden is corrupt, so his campaign is gone as well.

Here is the list of the democrats running for primaries:

Joe Biden (now enmeshed in corruption. Tried to break out of clintonite. Was this the reason his son got enmeshed?)
Elizabeth Warren a.ka Pocahontas (Now a clintonite. However she will become easy chow for Trump)
Bernie Sanders (hospitalized)
Kamala Harris ("progressive" prosecutor and hence an oxymoron and her campaign is almost over)
Beto O' Rourke (a foul mouthed 'progressive' - may win mayoral post of El Paso)
Pete Boudiegeg (he is a mayor of some no-name town and his financial backers are enmeshed in corruption)
Amy Kloboucher (wanna some cookie and milk, honey?)

That leaves Tome Steyer, Julian Castro, Andrew Yang and yes Tulsi Gabbard.

Ro Khanna needs to find a new sugar daddy. But he made a cardinal mistake of not reading the political tea leaves correctly. He is useless now.

After Kamala was Knee-capped by Tulsi, Ro had two options. Either go for Biden or Sanders. However Biden being centrist and to cater to larger progressive home base, Ro went with Sanders and hence had to buy into islamofascism. That put paid to his real core support base of Indian Americans.

Now with Sanders out of the race, all of Ro's bets are useless. Ro is looking at early political retirement.

Unless, Ro does a 'Ghar Wapsi'. He can throw ImDim under the bus. Go to couple of Hindu temples and openly talk about 'Progressive' Hinduism (which is nothing but Hindutva in ingliss) and do a sadbhavna tour.

And then declare support for Tulsi. Once in a while to cater to his other progressive voters, he can cut down AOC and Ilhan Omar by talking about Silicon Valley green initiatives and inclusiveness.
Last edited by disha on 02 Oct 2019 23:49, edited 1 time in total.

Ro(ndu) Khanna would be sufficient.

pankajs wrote:Ro(ndu) Khanna would be sufficient.
+72

ramana wrote:Folks am not going to continue discussion on Howdy Modi here.
Hua to hua!!!
UB thats correct.
Now what happens to Gungadin Ro Khanna?
He is co-chair of Elect Bernie Sanders and brought in Hindutva to attack Tulsi Gabbard with dreams of VP to Bernie Sanders.
There is a specific variety of short sightedness that renders Indian Americans perpetually irrelevant to American politics.

Whatever Senators, Governors, Congressmen/women came out to publicly support Modi & Indian-Americans at Houston should at the very least receive our gratitude & support in future elections. Otherwise what's the incentive?

Such a blanket list would include Sheila who likes to piggyback all Indian stuff and bet for pakis.

Financial markets are crap today. Too much volatility and WS people unhappy about all of this, but it is a choice between the devil and deep blue sea with Orangeutan or Pocahontas.

This is much is clear. Economy slumps then DT is out, and that maybe the last hope of the American Urban Naxal Party.

The giddy crowd of wackos who supported BS are now up for grabs. I doubt if they are ready to vote DT. Most likely Biden will try to grab them (he's "flexible"). Will Andrew Yang surge I wonder. In the long term they are likely to vote Pocahontas.

^^ why is market tanking? Maybe BS-lessness strengthens the donkey nominee? The Hon. Pocahontas built a reputation as a pretty good Senator before going down the dark alley of POTUS campaign. Most credible donkey candidate IMO. Unlikely to be trapped in scandals. And she ***can** beat DT. Agenda for now is pretty far left, but as POTUS, not likely to be as leftist: Senators are pretty tough dealers.

Schiff Knew Of Whistleblower Complaint Before It Was Filed

October 02, 2019

Adam Schiff knew about allegations that Donald Trump abused his power in office before the whistleblower’s complaint was filed, a spokesman and numerous American officials said, according to the New York Times.The whistleblower, a CIA officer, had a co-worker bring the allegations to a lawyer for the agency before going to Congress with the complaint, according to the NYT. The officer then spoke to a House Intelligence Committee aide and made the person aware of the accusations. The House of Representatives launched an official impeachment inquiry into Trump Sept. 24 following the release of the complaint.

The aide then brought the concern to Schiff, the House Intelligence Committee chairman, but did not share the whistleblower’s identity with the California lawmaker, an official said. Schiff has not come forward about knowing information regarding the whistleblower’s complaint before it was filed.“We don’t call him shifty Schiff for nothing,” Trump said Wednesday, the NYT reported. “He’s a shifty dishonest guy.” [..]
It's a scam': Trump accuses Schiff of helping to write whistleblower complaint

October 02, 2019 03:00 PM

[..] Trump, who has repeatedly attacked Schiff since the whistleblower complaint became public, ramped up the attacks on Wednesday after it was reported that the CIA officer who filed the complaint went to a House Intelligence aide before filing it. [..]

"I love that question. It shows that Schiff is a fraud. I love that question. Thank you, John," Trump began. "I think it's a scandal that he knew before."

"I think he probably helped write it, okay, that's what the word is. I give a lot of respect for The New York Times for putting it out. It just happened as I’m walking appear, they handed it to me and I said to Mike 'I said whoa, that is something. That is big stuff.' That's a big story. He knew long before, and he helped write it too. It’s a scam," the president continued. "It’s a scam. Just to finish on this, I appreciate it, I love the second question by the way. Should’ve asked it first. But let me just tell you, the whole thing is a scam." [..]

UlanBatori wrote:The giddy crowd of wackos who supported BS are now up for grabs. I doubt if they are ready to vote DT. Most likely Biden will try to grab them (he's "flexible"). Will Andrew Yang surge I wonder. In the long term they are likely to vote Pocahontas.
Pocahontas can and will be beaten. Because she is *not* a Pocahontas but desperately *trying* to become one. Her entire career in Harbard is built on her being of a native-american descent. Orangutan has to just call out her Pochontas'ness.
Manu

Post by Manu »

Rudradev wrote:Whatever Senators, Governors, Congressmen/women came out to publicly support Modi & Indian-Americans at Houston should at the very least receive our gratitude & support in future elections. Otherwise what's the incentive?
+72

No RD. The discussion was going into Howdy Modi and not the US politicians who attended.
I wish you step back before posting such an accusation !!!

KLNMurthy wrote: Modi doesn't talk loosely. He is a peerless craftsman of political utterances. He is bleddy Tendulkar who composes and executes each stroke with precision to deadly effect. Pappus and amateurs like you and me have no aukaat to criticize his speeches.

You have to listen to every word he says in his speeches with attention, can't get triggered by random phrases in isolation. He phrased it very carefully: just quoted what Trump said in the 2016 campaign. That's it. Not endorsing. No interference in 2020.

I think he is signaling his influence over the Indian-American voter and donor.
+108

^^^Well said indeed.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

disha wrote: Biden is corrupt, so his campaign is gone as well.
Please don't parrot Trump's line. There is no proof only shameless conjecture that Biden is corrupted. Don't be too hard on for Trump and fall for his lines. Do not rely on Fox News as the source of information coming from the US.

In Ukraine, Joe Biden was trying to remove a corrupted prosecutor from Ukrainian sphere of politics so the Ukraine government could move ahead and implement the various reforms that Ukraine needed to improve its economy and etc.

Joe Biden is not done. He is still likable and preferred over Warren. As for Warren becoming Clintonite, where did you get that from?

Based on your posts, I am beginning to think that you are very biased against the Democrats and only favor Trump. I can only ask you to reconsider since Trump is not a reliable ally. He only does what he thinks is best for himself and that is not necessarily good for India.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

UlanBatori wrote:The giddy crowd of wackos who supported BS are now up for grabs. I doubt if they are ready to vote DT. Most likely Biden will try to grab them (he's "flexible"). Will Andrew Yang surge I wonder. In the long term they are likely to vote Pocahontas.
Pocahontas can and will be beaten. Because she is *not* a Pocahontas but desperately *trying* to become one. Her entire career in Harbard is built on her being of a native-american descent. Orangutan has to just call out her Pochontas'ness.
No she is not trying to become a Pocahontas. Only somebody who supports Trump would think that way.

Unless Trump can overcome this Ukraine thing, he is pretty much done for the next term. He cannot win on his base alone. He pretty much alienated the independents. Whatever the faults of Warren is, Warren has pretty much established that she is not prone to the bombastic statements or actions by Trump. So I wouldn't engage in wishful thinking that Trump can win this because the democrat candidates are bad and suck. An anti Trump sentiment is forming among the independents and it will crest in time for the election in Nov 2020.

hgupta wrote:Based on your posts, I am beginning to think that you are very biased against the Democrats and only favor Trump. I can only ask you to reconsider since Trump is not a reliable ally. He only does what he thinks is best for himself and that is not necessarily good for India.
Who do you think will be good for India?

Kashi wrote: Who do you think will be good for India?
No one. India's relationship with the US will evolve based on strategic and regional considerations and alignment or disalignment of mutual interests along with India's economic heft and how fast it can improve - not on the whims or fancies of one person regardless of his/her behavior as a presidential candidate.

Case in point - Bill Clinton. The only US president to level sanctions on us. If someone had asked you in 1992 whether he will be good or bad for India, what would you have said? And do you think another US president would have made a different choice in 1998?

The Hon(?) Ro? Khanna declares that Impeachment Vote will occur b4 end of 2019
hguptaji, as u know, UBCN is the only truly non-partisan, no-biased, news&conspiracy source in the dunia. Absolutely no pre-judice in any elections, though we will PREDICT with our famed 100% accuracy as demonstrated in Indian election and in the US election before that.

So here is the latest analysis. Having looked at the Whistleblower complaint and the Impeachment Rush, v r reminded of the Pied Piper of Hamelin. Lots of giddy followers. Trajectory leads straight over the cliff top.

There is no meat to the alleged "crime". It is what every American expects of corporate/academic/military/clergy Management. The sneaky sh1ts will put out the word to start harassing ppl they don't like. In Singapore this IS the expected system. Any Boss who is not able to do this is a Boss who has a target painted on his butt because every yahoo will try to undercut him.

Unlike Putin Garu, DT did not order anyone to put radioactive isotopes on Biden's car steering wheel or shaving razor. All he did is call someone and say, hey, remember that pressure u got from GOTUS to stop an investigation? Well... times have changed, we will be quite happy if you see fit to restart it.

We don't see that Biden's conduct in interfering with a foreign government's investigation of criminal conduct, was in any way better. Now THAT, when tied to a family member, IS blatant misuse of power sitting in a public position, to benefit family/friends.

So if I were a voter in the USA, this is how I would see it. And added to the fact that the COTUS has accomplished ****NOTHING**** on all the immense problems, while wasting all their time on these endless Hearings and Special Prosecutor scams, it adds to a very grim assessment of COTUS performance, esp. the House. The dems control the House. Therefore, I would vote to kick them OUT of office, and the wave would also carry their POTUS candidate out into the sewer.

Nothing to do with any bias. The Dems are committing political suicide. I don't like to imagine an Elephant landslide coming in, any more than you apparently look forward to it.

As for India implications, DT is by far the better deal for India. It's not about being Pro-India (which actually he has been in crucial things). Its about not being Pro-Enemies-Of-India, and being generally unfriendly/ not genuflecting/ not selling out to China.

^^ Slick Willie Clinton, all said and done, did something IMMENSELY important and "Out of Da Box". Imposing "Sanctions" was the Law.
But thinking beyond and assigning Talbot to start a direct conversation with Jaswant Singh, was perhaps the most underappreciated breakthrough of the 21st century. COMPLETELY transformed the US-India relationship. Everything else (Strategic Engagement, Strategic Partnership, Civilian Space agreement, Civilian Nuclear Deal, military collaboration....) EVERYTHING came from that.
Plus, the huge "Y2K" flood of desi H1B bijnej came under Slick Willie's watch. Completely transformed India. More on that elsewhere. So Clinton's presidency was truly transformatory for India-US relations. Whether one likes WC personally or not is a completely different matter, as are his ties to the EJ cults.

(ppl have heard of the Nixon-Kissmahassinger sell-out to Cheen at end of Vietnam War, as the start of the huge cheen advance, but that was just a sell-out of America for the personal wealth of the Deep State. The downing of the Berlin Wall and collapse of the SU were of course very significant, and led to the rise (and impending fall) of the Oiropienne Onion. All in history books.

The US-India strategic engagement is by far the best thing that has happened for democracy and freedom. Think about it.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 03 Oct 2019 05:09, edited 1 time in total.

Mort Walker wrote:Economy slumps then DT is out, and that maybe the last hope of the American Urban Naxal Party.
It would be 'intelesting' four years in case Warren becomes the first 'native american' woman POTUS but GOP keeps senate and snatches back the control of the House. :twisted:

hgupta wrote:An anti Trump sentiment is forming among the independents and it will crest in time for the election in Nov 2020.
Unfortunately for Democrats, this anti-Trump feeling you are talking of, might crest a bit too early. Democratic primary debates will scar many, if not all, the candidates. Trump's team will collect all the information and will use it in the debates against the democrats nominee. Warren will be pressed to state how she is going to fund all her "socialist" programs. If she says she will increase taxes on the middle class and up, she will be toast. Mondale was case in point.

It looks like Trump will coast to a victory. The democrats are a joke and always have been.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Well if you want to engage in wishful thinking, go ahead. But Trump will have a hard time making a go for it. For starters, the economy is showing signs of slowing down and recession. By the time when the elections come, if the economy has not taken pace up, Trump will not be able to win.

Trump has already lost most of the independent votes. The independent voters were, are, and will be for a long time the swing voters. Most of the polls have shown that a majority of the independents do not think Trump is doing a good job as President.

Ok folks we are going into US elections discussion mode. its too early and save your energy for later.

Vayutuvan wrote:
hgupta wrote:An anti Trump sentiment is forming among the independents and it will crest in time for the election in Nov 2020.
Unfortunately for Democrats, this anti-Trump feeling you are talking of, might crest a bit too early. Democratic primary debates will scar many, if not all, the candidates. Trump's team will collect all the information and will use it in the debates against the democrats nominee. Warren will be pressed to state how she is going to fund all her "socialist" programs. If she says she will increase taxes on the middle class and up, she will be toast. Mondale was case in point.
Some 42% of electorate are hard core DT racists-supporters who will never leave him. They have been openly talking about civil war for some time should DT be removed from office. The time has come for the MEA to issue a travel advisory for the US once this impeachment process and primaries come early in 2020. Colored people will be "open season". I see both political sides tearing the political fabric of the US, and perhaps the US needs international election monitors. The Republicans intimidate voters and the Democrats conduct ballot box stuffing on a scale that would shock Mamta Banerjee and TMC kaaryakartas.

ramana wrote:No RD. The discussion was going into Howdy Modi and not the US politicians who attended.
I wish you step back before posting such an accusation !!!
Ramana, your post came immediately after mine viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7615&start=3160#p2385068 so I assumed you were telling me to stop trying to collate names of the US politicians who attended.

If that is not what you meant, my apologies.

darshan wrote:Such a blanket list would include Sheila who likes to piggyback all Indian stuff and bet for pakis.
Maybe give such people a reason to flip to our side? It's called knowing how to play politics.

Kashi wrote:
hgupta wrote:Based on your posts, I am beginning to think that you are very biased against the Democrats and only favor Trump. I can only ask you to reconsider since Trump is not a reliable ally. He only does what he thinks is best for himself and that is not necessarily good for India.
Who do you think will be good for India?
You didn't ask me, but I feel that there is a different way to look at this that is not so US-centric.

Mother India doesn't need to sit on the sidelines anxiously biting her nails, worrying about which Amreeki sadar would change her fate in what way. Whoever wins is not going to pull India's irons out of the fire for India, and likewise they are not going to threaten to nuke India unless cashmere is given to Pak. Between these two bookends, things go back and forth, and it is up to India to be good for India and manage the relationship.

darshan wrote:Such a blanket list would include Sheila who likes to piggyback all Indian stuff and bet for pakis.
Maybe give such people a reason to flip to our side? It's called knowing how to play politics.
There was no Nicky Haley, Bobby Jindal or Ro(na) Khanna. Krishnamurthi of IL was there though.

sooraj

Post by sooraj »

@TulsiGabbard
Follow Follow @TulsiGabbard
More
Candidates for POTUS who are fundraising off "impeachment" are undermining credibility of inquiry in eyes of American people, further dividing our already fractured country. Please stop. We need responsible, patriotic leaders who put the interests of our country before their own.

She's wrapping herself in the flag quite nicely there. Leaving door open to leap if the Imbeachment dinghy starts sinking. I assume that she is not able to raise any funds off this. Smart.

UlanBatori wrote:Of relevance to many who visit this thread - to understand the modern United States. Please read the article IN FULL b4 making any snap judgements.

It's not as B&W as it seems from the headlines and intro. U have to read down to the end.
From the above article -
They range from an "articulable link" to a terrorist group to "unusual travel patterns," and training in biology, chemistry or foreign languages.
That is so broad it is criminally stupid to do that in this day and age of big data. Both areas are very large - they should focus on specific sub-specialties, I think. That said, even that approach would not work.

Well... Say u r the CRAPP examiner. Applicant has:
a) hidden his prior marriage ("at Age 20", but he was 24 or less when he came to US so it wasn't so long ago). Seems to have dumped the girl. "Oh it wasn't a serious marriage!"
b) married a US Catholic bibi (love jehad 101) to get green card. Note: getting a faculty position would probably have entitled him to an Exceptional Merit Green card, but this is the route he chose.
c) hidden his military service. "Oh it wasn't a real military service, all I did was do clerical work and teach the HoKo" ("clerical" as in religious not paper -pushing I presume)
d) hidden his membership of an extremist group that went around beating up people. "Oh it wasn't a serious membership, I didn't mean "Student member" (after my attorney told me to change that) I was a "Pupil Member".
e) hidden his later membership of another outfit called ISLAMIC students association which went around beating up the other terrorists.
f) .... which is now a declared foreign terrorist group.

- Would YOU trust this person?

- If he gets The Call from the Ummah and sallies forth with a BakPak, you will not only be fired, but face criminal charges per COTUS law post-2001.
Would YOU green-stamp his green card application?
Manu

Post by Manu »

Absolutely Not, the article, when read fully, pokes many holes in the story...there were solid grounds for denial, despite the SJW preachy tone adopted by the CNN article...

The Peaceful have taken Victimology to a whole new level...

I mean
Ostadhassan said he didn't consider his service "military training" and thus didn't originally mention it on his student visa or green card application. He later amended his green card application after hiring Balgamwalla, who told him to include all of his past associations.
But USCIS devoted most of their its letter to something else: Ostadhassan's membership in an Iranian group -- the Basij -- accused of rampant human rights abuses.

UlanBatori wrote:Well... Say u r the CRAPP examiner. Applicant has:
a) hidden his prior marriage ("at Age 20", but he was 24 or less when he came to US so it wasn't so long ago). Seems to have dumped the girl. "Oh it wasn't a serious marriage!"
b) married a US Catholic bibi (love jehad 101) to get green card. Note: getting a faculty position would probably have entitled him to an Exceptional Merit Green card, but this is the route he chose.
Yes, that first one is certainly a no-no. Plus the second one where he could have got a GC on Exceptional Merit. After that they might have flagged his application and put it on CAARP.

But I am not talking about this specific case.

To be fair, no: EB1 (exceptional ability GC) is very difficult to get. I've known Desis with much better academic credentials than Asst Prof at University of North Dakota (which this Iranian was) who got turned down for EB1 in the same time period.

https://theprint.in/opinion/was-us-inst ... uf/300386/

Pakistani deep state asset infiltrated US