Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Let me add one more thing.

The scr3wing of India by US-based EJs is not Republican or Democrat but Bipartisan.

People need to look hard at why Bill Clinton all those years ago spent so much time cultivating CBN. Why similar types of outreach have been conducted in TN as well.

Clintons, Bushes, Obama, Trump... makes no difference.

Remember that when the US wants to annoy/needle India, they will do it by raking up Islamic "human rights" BS.

But when the US wants to subvert India and catastrophically undermine her Hindu heritage, they always play the long game: a far more dangerous game masterminded by the EJs.

And that sir, is not far from the truth. The US of all nations respects no rule or order onto itself. Depending on them one way or other is a sure chance to fail.

:-) Understanding Donkeys.

Kevin McCarthy
@GOPLeader
·
1h
.@Jim_Jordan
: You didn’t listen in on President Trump & Zelensky’s call?

Taylor: I did not.

Jordan: You’ve never talked with Chief of Staff Mulvaney?

Taylor: I never did.

Jordan: You’ve never met the President?

Taylor: That’s correct.

Jordan: And you’re their star witness.

Fantastic post Rudradev garu
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

@cspan
9m9 minutes ago
More
Rep. @PeterWelch: "I'd be glad to have the person who started it all come in and testify. President Trump is welcome to take a seat right there."

Rudradev wrote:Let me add one more thing.

The scr3wing of India by US-based EJs is not Republican or Democrat but Bipartisan.

People need to look hard at why Bill Clinton all those years ago spent so much time cultivating CBN. Why similar types of outreach have been conducted in TN as well.

Clintons, Bushes, Obama, Trump... makes no difference.

Remember that when the US wants to annoy/needle India, they will do it by raking up Islamic "human rights" BS.

But when the US wants to subvert India and catastrophically undermine her Hindu heritage, they always play the long game: a far more dangerous game masterminded by the EJs.
This is a correct assessment, but there are also pragmatic concerns that if India is pissed off, it will simply shrug and walk away from the US to seek its own path. It doesn’t mean disengagement, but does mean India will form a longer term relationship with the rest of Asia. It will be the loss of the US in the long term game as the next century will be more Indian and SE Asian.

The problem in your posts is that you inadvertently appear to come off like CramS. Even though your intention is not that.

No, the problem is that you are putting 1 and 2 together to make 4.

I have identified the threat. It is you who have projected onto my post the idea that India is somehow helpless or unable to do anything about the threat.

^^^More power to you man!

Trump and the Evangelists
https://apnews.com/09acb60e55594ee79914e7691fdcd922
Evangelical strategist Ralph Reed sounded a similar note this week, telling Fox News that “whatever you think of Trump personally, it is undeniable” that he has succeeded in enacting conservative Christians’ agenda.

Understanding that President is not a sovereign king:
REP. PETER WELCH: The question is whether there was an abuse of that power. The president can fire an ambassador for any reason whatsoever. The president can change his policy as he did when he opened the door for Turkey to go in and invade, despite opposition from many of his senior advisers. A president could change his position on Ukraine. But is there a limit? There is. Because our Constitution says no one is above the law. And that limit is that one cannot, even as president, use the public trust of high office for personal gain. The law prohibits any one of us here on the dais from seeking foreign assistance in our campaigns. The question for us is whether the use of power by the president was for the benefit of advancing his political interest in the 2020 campaign. By the way, to my colleagues, if the president wants to attack Joe Biden and his son, he's free to do it. All fair and square in campaigns. He's not free to change our foreign policy unless he gets his way to a system in that campaign. That's the line he can't cross.

And as one Trump-supporting evangelist said on the radio, Christians have to return to doing what Jesus commanded them to do, namely, evangelize.

Pence also is facing scrutiny for his role in directing U.S. aid to favored Christian groups abroad.

Asked for comment, his press secretary, Katie Waldman, said, “The vice president is always proud to support religious freedom both here at home and abroad.”

One evangelical leader close to Trump
One problem dealing with the only superpower ie bipartisan religious angling and support. The Islamists are there too for legitimacy that usa gives with sheer and total power.

A_Gupta wrote:Understanding that President is not a sovereign king:
REP. PETER WELCH: The question is whether there was an abuse of that power. The president can fire an ambassador for any reason whatsoever. The president can change his policy as he did when he opened the door for Turkey to go in and invade, despite opposition from many of his senior advisers. A president could change his position on Ukraine. But is there a limit? There is. Because our Constitution says no one is above the law. And that limit is that one cannot, even as president, use the public trust of high office for personal gain. The law prohibits any one of us here on the dais from seeking foreign assistance in our campaigns. The question for us is whether the use of power by the president was for the benefit of advancing his political interest in the 2020 campaign. By the way, to my colleagues, if the president wants to attack Joe Biden and his son, he's free to do it. All fair and square in campaigns. He's not free to change our foreign policy unless he gets his way to a system in that campaign. That's the line he can't cross.
In that same coin, it was and is also an abuse that the Obama administration spent billions to overthrow the democratically elected government of Ukraine in 2014. The warmonger senators like John McCain and Chris Murphy rallied around like cheerleaders for just such illegal activities. A number of US laws were violated in the process. Trump followed his predecessors unwritten and unspoken guidance.

Conservatives Should Want to Impeach Trump
Outsourcing U.S. diplomacy to Rudy Giuliani was a constitutional violation—one whose gravity Republicans might see if they weren’t so busy making excuses for the president.
https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archi ... cy/601867/

Long excerpt, because the details are important. Emphasis added.
If a president demands something of personal value to himself in exchange for an official act, the transaction can amount to extortion or bribery—the latter of which the Constitution specifically lists as grounds for impeachment. To which Trump’s allies respond: Who cares? If no actual exchange occurred, the argument goes, then attempted bribery can’t give rise to an impeachable offense. This logic runs counter to the standard interpretation of American criminal laws, and it also doesn’t let Trump off the hook for other offenses—including his improper handoff of a major foreign-policy matter to Giuliani.

This handoff is of profound constitutional significance because, with rare exceptions, the Constitution does not bind private parties. That’s why neither NFL players’ decision to take a knee nor NFL owners’ icy reaction to it raised First Amendment concerns—the government is not their boss. It’s also why an airline passenger can sue the Transportation Security Administration for constitutional violations if an agency employee groped her during a security check, but not if the worker is a private contractor hired by the TSA.

There have been many instances in which private entities have exercised government powers delegated to them, and there are better and worse ways by which those powers can be handed over. When the Obama administration, for example, controversially phased out the Commerce Department’s oversight role in the granting of new names for domains on the World Wide Web—handing that task off to a private nonprofit known as the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)—U.S. officials at least signaled their intentions well in advance. A formal transfer of power occurred when a contract between Commerce and ICANN was allowed to lapse.

The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) is an independent nonprofit, as well. Although a private entity, the organization helps pass rules that govern the conduct of financial brokers and dealers. FINRA’s role is enshrined in federal securities laws, even though the Constitution arguably gives the job exclusively to Congress and, barring that, to federal agencies accountable to the people through the president. Similarly, consumer-product manufacturers create safety standards that Congress has instructed a federal agency—the Consumer Product Safety Commission—to rely upon, even though the manufacturers’ fidelity is to profit margins and shareholders, not to the American people.

These handoffs of government power to private entities at least are transparent to the public and carry some kind of official imprimatur. The Supreme Court has tolerated them on a number of theories, which boil down to the notion that, so long as Congress and the executive branch retain some measure of oversight, the handoffs are constitutionally legitimate. Certain justices on the U.S. Supreme Court—including Clarence Thomas and Samuel Alito—have balked at this line of cases, and rightly so. But for now, extra-constitutional exercises of power otherwise lodged in government actors under the Constitution are legally protected.

The Giuliani situation is quite different. To the American diplomats who interacted with Ukraine, it was quite clear that the president’s lawyer was in charge of U.S. policy toward that Eastern European nation. Gordon Sondland, the Republican donor whom the president tapped as the U.S. ambassador to the European Union, testified that, in an Oval Office meeting, Trump directed him to ask Giuliani about Ukraine matters. “He just kept saying, ‘Talk to Rudy, talk to Rudy,’” Sondland said.

Congress did not legislate a handoff of foreign-diplomacy power to the president’s personal lawyer. He is not working pursuant to a government contract containing legal remedies for the United States if he breaches the terms of his employment. He did not take an oath of office to uphold and defend the Constitution—unlike members of Congress, who will have to weigh that oath heavily as the evidence bearing on impeachment mounts in the coming weeks. He is not bound by federal conflict-of-interest, transparency, or ethics laws—including the Freedom of Information Act—passed by prior Congresses to ensure that people entrusted with the American populace’s authority to self-govern do their jobs with integrity to the Constitution, the rule of law, and the norms that undergird our system of justice.
Trump tapped someone who operated outside the U.S. Constitution and federal law to supplant sworn diplomats and implement a policy that has wholly private objectives aimed at helping Trump personally, to the detriment of the foreign-policy interests of the United States. .....Trump’s willingness to hand over control of American policy toward Ukraine to such a figure is remarkable, especially in light of conservative jurists’ long-standing efforts to hold each branch of government to its duties as formally spelled out in the Constitution.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 14 Nov 2019 10:31, edited 1 time in total.

A_Gupta wrote:Understanding that President is not a sovereign king:
In that same coin, it was and is also an abuse that the Obama administration spent billions to overthrow the democratically elected government of Ukraine in 2014. The warmonger senators like John McCain and Chris Murphy rallied around like cheerleaders for just such illegal activities. A number of US laws were violated in the process. Trump followed his predecessors unwritten and unspoken guidance.
Do detail the laws that were violated.

The Congress has the power of the purse, and if Obama acted in accordance with how Congress allocated the money, it is not illegal. It may be not be ethical and may be morally reprehensible, but it is not illegal.

Blast from the past -December 16, 2014:
President Obama Will Sign Congress’ Bill to Aid Ukraine: Here’s Why
https://www.atlanticcouncil.org/blogs/u ... -aid-bill/

^^^Last I recall, for the US to covertly overthrow a foreign government outside of war is illegal. There were a number of statues violated. The reality is that this is nothing more than a coup. Impeachment has been the premise since 11PM on Tuesday 08 Nov 2016.

What we know about Tulsi Gabbard’s base:
https://fivethirtyeight.com/features/wh ... boola_feed

Elephants are stupid. By now there should have been a huge Petition to Recall COTUS in progress. Every day all I see on SeeEnnEnn is pics and videos of pompous oiseules sitting around in tailored suits mouthing off about stuff that is totally inane, while Immigration Reform, Medical Reform, and all other business languish. Properly timed, the COTUSoiseules should be looking at recall looming, within a couple of weeks.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Last I recall, for the US to covertly overthrow a foreign government outside of war is illegal. There were a number of statues violated. The reality is that this is nothing more than a coup. Impeachment has been the premise since 11PM on Tuesday 08 Nov 2016.
Per which article of US Constitution, which US statute, or which international treaty that the US has ratified?

PS: the laws governing US covert actions include:
https://fas.org/sgp/crs/intel/R45191.pdf

vijayk wrote: Tulsi already qualified for Nov debate.
One poll away from Dec debate
Thanks for the correction. Yes, Tulsi qualified for November 20 debate on Nov. 7. For December debate, she is still short (very short) by some 7k individual donors and one more poll that puts her in 6% from one more state out of Iowa, S. Carolina or Nevada.

Hope a surge from the debate will help Tulsi go over to December.
I contributed a couple of weeks back. if I contribute once more, would be it counted or they are loooking for unique small donors? I might give on my wife's name.

Rudradev wrote:
No, the problem is that you are putting 1 and 2 together to make 4.

I have identified the threat. It is you who have projected onto my post the idea that India is somehow helpless or unable to do anything about the threat.
India is not helpless. But a legitimate concern many (possibly CRamS included, if I may presume) have is that, India is playing at a suboptimal level at a time when nothing short of a peak game would do.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Last I recall, for the US to covertly overthrow a foreign government outside of war is illegal. There were a number of statues violated. The reality is that this is nothing more than a coup. Impeachment has been the premise since 11PM on Tuesday 08 Nov 2016.
I don't think this is true at all. Virtually the entire foreign policy of the US post-WW2 has been to do exactly that one thing: covertly overthrow foreign governments without declaring war. If there is any such a law or statute as you say in the books, it would be a dead letter.

Ilhan Omar exposed her Islamist face; now it is Trump and Graham’s turn. Fox News reports:
Sen. Lindsey Graham blocks Armenian genocide resolution after meeting with Trump, Turkish president

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.foxnew ... sident.amp

Another day in the Yoo Essay! Full, Unedited Headlines from ABC News website:
Dems urging gun control as shooting news broke
Trump tax case likely headed to Supreme Court
Former MA governor joins 2020 presidential race
Police arrest suspect in Popeyes stabbing
Ex-Marine accused of killing parents, 2 dogs
RV of Marine wanted in fatal shooting found
No charges for CO police in shooting of black man
El Paso Walmart to reopen after mass shooting
Brothers ran $6M counterfeit iPhone ring: Feds
Dead newborn found on ground in vacant lot
School charged in autistic student's death 1:46
Doctor accused of performing unnecessary surgeries

Suspect in custody after shooting at Santa Clarita high school: ABC News Live
School shooting scene is ‘controlled chaos,’ photog says
Since Columbine here's what has changed for school shootings -- and what hasn't
We Come In Peace For All hyooMankind

Vayutuvan wrote: I contributed a couple of weeks back. if I contribute once more, would be it counted or they are loooking for unique small donors? I might give on my wife's name.
Do give in your wife's name - since she is an additional individual. You can contribute per person till $5k limit to be considered it as individual. So you can put it on a monthly plan. Even $10 per month helps. That is one less movie per month. But it adds up.

If 50k contribute $10 per month, that is half-a-million or six-million in her campaign.

Vayutuvan wrote: I contributed a couple of weeks back. if I contribute once more, would be it counted or they are loooking for unique small donors? I might give on my wife's name.
Do give in your wife's name - since she is an additional individual. You can contribute per person till $5k limit to be considered it as individual. So you can put it on a monthly plan. Even $10 per month helps. That is one less movie per month. But it adds up.

If 50k contribute $10 per month, that is half-a-million or six-million in her campaign.
Key thing right now is to maximize the number of individual contributors, more than the actual amount.

KLNMurthy wrote:Key thing right now is to maximize the number of individual contributors, more than the actual amount.
Of course. Numbers of individual contributors matter. I was highlighting the power of only 25% of 200k giving just $10 adds up fast. Preferably TG's goal should be 300k by March. It is doable.
syam

Post by syam »

I am trying to understand US ever since I first posted in this thread. Noticed many things that became pretty much normalized over the years. this video is another 'proof' of this normalization.
https://youtu.be/sfyrURHpUcM?t=1796
the speaker mainly focus on what's wrong with america and what they should be doing blah blah. . much of it flew over my head. only thing interesting in his whole speech is, his mention of india(the link takes straight to the point). he put turkey and india in same column and said both country leaders are ethno nationalists(ahem. . hindu nationalist), don't think about anything if riot is needed to boost the votes for them. :eek:

statistically speaking nda2/3 are less violent than other terms. in fact, many big issues are resolved with very little violence. despite this glaring reality, the speaker talked about india like it is turkey or pakistan. these soothiyas trapped in their own lies, can't even teach the real politics to their next generations. this will be downfall for them. the narrative the global media and their slaves peddling is way too much. we really need to up the game if we really want to have our say.more than that, understanding us is the need of the hour. we are looking at the most cringe worthy crash of an empire in any civilization history. which empire in the universe teaches lies to their own children? lol. better minimize the damage.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

When the founders set out to make a new rome they never specified the period and we find ourselves at this sad juncture. The us of a is all the romes that ever existed in thought or reality and all the variants and its adherents now exist side-by-side in a weird time-loop mismatch for rome did last for a whole while to amount to many discrepancies in thought and speech. This gives rise to the dissonance of cognition brought on by civilizational fatigue and thus while the us is young in conception it is old in its founding/structural ethos which may explain the rapid societal disintegration of a 300 odd yr old settling but with an excess of unresolved and pre-existing schisms.
Might be useful if any planet colonies are ever set up, to start with a new template and adding to it rather than foisting ancient sensibilities.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Revealed: 100 Senators and Representatives who sent letters of support to Hamas-linked CAIR

Most are Democrats.

https://www.jihadwatch.org/2019/11/100- ... inked-cair

Is Ishaan Tharoor, who has been writing for Jerusalem Post, any relative of u no hu?
Last edited by UlanBatori on 16 Nov 2019 10:07, edited 1 time in total.

UB ji, your link is going to a non-existent conversation in my gmail inbox. :eek:

Haresh wrote:Revealed: 100 Senators and Representatives who sent letters of support to Hamas-linked CAIR

Most are Democrats.

https://www.jihadwatch.org/2019/11/100- ... inked-cair
8 Sen. Kamala D. Harris (D) CA
23 Rep. Ami Bera M.D. (D) 7th district, CA
60 Rep. Ro Khanna (D) 17th district, CA
102 Candidate Rashida Tlaib (D) 13th district, MI

There is Raja Krishnamoorthi too in that list. He usually keeps himself away from his nutty colleagues

62 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (D) 8th district, IL

UlanBatori wrote:Is Ishaan Tharoor, who has been writing for Jerusalem Post, any relative of u no hu?
Si, Son of u know hu.

https://www.thequint.com/neon/social-bu ... -went-back

Epstein guards reject plea deal
AP sources: Jail guards at time of Epstein death reject deal
Federal prosecutors offered a plea deal to two correctional officers responsible for guarding Jeffrey Epstein on the night of his death, but the officers have declined the offer. By
MICHAEL BALSAMO and MICHAEL R. SISAK Associated Press
The existence of the plea offer signals the Justice Department is considering criminal charges in connection with the wealthy financier’s death at the Metropolitan Correctional Center in New York in August. The city’s medical examiner ruled Epstein's death a suicide.
The guards on Epstein's unit are suspected of failing to check on him every half hour, as required, and of fabricating log entries to show they had. As part of the proposed plea deal, prosecutors wanted the guards to admit they falsified the prison records, according to the people familiar with the matter. Both guards were working overtime because of staffing shortages. They have been placed on administrative leave while the FBI and the Justice Department's inspector general investigate the circumstances surrounding Epstein's death.
Looks like there is more than substance to suspicions about Deep State role in Epstein death (as Syria's Assad said, per RT.com}
Plea deals are offered because there is a lot going on that the guvrmand does not want revealed. Guards rejecting deal indicates that their lawyer thinks the guvrmand cannot afford to have them revealed.

UlanBatori wrote: Looks like there is more than substance to suspicions about Deep State role in Epstein death (as Syria's Assad said, per RT.com}
Interesting indeed not just of Epstein but White helmet's Le Mesurier as well
Le Mesurier was tagged as a “former agent of MI6” by the Russian Foreign Ministry just three days before his death, with “connections to terrorist groups” in Kosovo. His White Helmets group, Assad said, “are naturally part of Al-Qaeda” and have been caught staging “gas attacks” such as the phony event in Douma, used by the US as rationale for a strike on Damascus.
Epstein’s own links with intelligence agencies have been subject to much speculation, especially after Alex Acosta, the former Florida prosecutor who sentenced Epstein to an open-door prison sentence of just 13 months despite allegations he’d trafficked and abused dozens of girls, said he was told to “leave it alone” because Epstein “belonged to intelligence.” Former Israeli military intel officer Ari Ben-Menashe has claimed Epstein worked with Israeli intelligence as well, introduced to the business through his “girlfriend” Ghislaine Maxwell’s father Robert – a known Mossad agent.

Tulsicare
Tulsi's single-payer plus plan:

"I've got a plan called Single-payer Plus, and it's modeled loosely after the healthcare system in Australia, every single American is enrolled in, it's a M4All type program, everyone get's that basic quality healthcare..."

"However if you want to buy supplemental private insurance or if your employer's offering you a great plan and you want to keep that, that's fine, but that doesn't undermine everyone getting the quality HC they need..."'

Elex: "Everyone is automatically opted in & u can opt out?"

Tulsi: "You don't have to opt out, everybody is enrolled, if you want to add on to it or supplement it, you have the freedom to do so."
It includes dental, vision, hearing & she has talked about Veterans getting free Mental Health services so might be included for everyone too?
https://twitter.com/TruthActivism/statu ... 6945678336

I don't think this is true at all. Virtually the entire foreign policy of the US post-WW2 has been to do exactly that one thing: covertly overthrow foreign governments without declaring war. If there is any such a law or statute as you say in the books, it would be a dead letter.
I can't recall the laws and I will have to search for them, but after the 1970, statutes were enacted to stop executive branch from over-reaching. The US has interfered with foreign governments well before WWII in the last 150 years. In this century of free-movement and free-trade across the globe, it is reprehensible that a US president can do just that. It doesn't matter what political party they may belong to.

^^^ the main limitation AFAIK is on the use of assassination.