2019 General Elections News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion

Supratik wrote:They used to control the mandis through APMC which has been dismantled in several states most notably MH.
fadnavis has done a wonderful job on this dismantling the APMC front.

in one fell swoop, he has defanged both the NCP as well as the congis and cut off their financial feet as well as their capacity for political patronage in the sugar belt as well as the hinterland.

most affected is the 99 family/clan mafia
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Decision of @ECISVEEP will lead to disaster, its a recipe for mass riots. It can lead to Civil War.

If u first let political parties know the Winner & Loser, then will Winner allow elections to be set aside after VVPAT mismatch ?

Save this Country.

Stay tuned PC at 4:00
AAP MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj
https://twitter.com/Saurabh_MLAgk/statu ... 92289?s=19

Rahul M wrote:In all this hoopla about ECI, a look back at TN Seshan, the man who transformed India's electoral process.
https://twitter.com/InUthdotcom/status/ ... 5961300996

Truly think he and E Sreedharan are two Indians who richly deserve the Bharat Ratna.
T.N Seshan was also once a secretary in DoS and always would love to call Dr. Kalam with his full name - Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam :)

Oppn. parties are doing a great disservice to nation when they allege EVM tampering based on exit polls. Including the chief #Pappu who tweeted about EVM and it was a dog whistle.

Any politician who stood in this election needs to see their candidature curtailed in next elections (if they lose) or made to vacate their seats if they claim EVM tampering. They can go to Bakistan or Cheen and serve democracy there.

My worry is that the collective Rona-Dhona by the losers on Thursday evening will reach hysterical proportions and may even trigger mass hysteria in some sections (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_psychogenic_illness. I fear that kejru types may take advantage of such situation and get few suicided!
Last edited by disha on 23 May 2019 00:01, edited 2 times in total.

In a bizarre rant by the JNU freelance protestor-turned-full-time politician Shehla Rashid who jumped into the election fray by forming a political party with a former IAS officer Shah Faesal, today posted a series of tweets on the EVM row and suggested to invoke the United Nations and other International bodies to resolve the purported EVM fraud.

Shehla Rashid شہلا رشید Verified account @Shehla_Rashid

Whether these leaders are in govt at the centre or not, they represent us. They represent a huge part of the democratic mandate. It's sad to see that our national leaders aren't taking themselves as seriously as they should. Why don't we invoke UN and other int'l bodies?

11:04 pm - 21 May 2019
Shehla Rashid شہلا رشید Verified account @Shehla_Rashid 12h12 hours ago

As a member of the opposition, I feel that we lack clarity on what we are fighting against. If we are alleging EVM fraud, then all of us should boycott elections till EVMs are abolished. If we're agitated about movement of EVMs near strongrooms, then we should demand repoll.

844 replies . 953 retweets 4,589 likes
Reply 844 Retweet 953 Like 4.6K

Lack of seriousness about our own allegations will harm the cause. When we say EVM fraud, we feel relatively helpless. If we are talking about replacement of EVMs, then what we are alleging is rigging. This calls for a demand to hold fresh polls, and we should be serious about it
Last edited by chetak on 22 May 2019 23:53, edited 1 time in total.

Ardeshir wrote:rNDTV announcing that Mayawati has just announced that she will support any party that will support her as PM. Ya allah!
Great news!

vera_k wrote:I was a bit puzzled at Nitish Kumar statement about not supporting A370 or UCC modifications. But then saw this site predicting the NDA will cross the 2/3rd mark. So lots of positioning under way right now.
JD(U) guys in the NDTV's and other shows about exit polls all repeated that the JDU does not agree with the BJP on UCC, Article 370 and one guy even mentioned triple talaq.
Just re-stating their official position ... theek hai.

nachiket wrote: JD(U) guys in the NDTV's and other shows about exit polls all repeated that the JDU does not agree with the BJP on UCC, Article 370 and one guy even mentioned triple talaq.
in case he needs an exit strategy, he is trying to safeguard the muslim vote

nitishwa is one really unscrupulous player.

nachiket wrote: JD(U) guys in the NDTV's and other shows about exit polls all repeated that the JDU does not agree with the BJP on UCC, Article 370 and one guy even mentioned triple talaq.
Nidhi Razdan and Sreenivasan Jain tried to ask one of them what their "red line" was, presumably something that would make them break the alliance and kept prodding them on Pragya Thakur's statements, but he obviously avoided answering that.

mmasand wrote:
Decision of @ECISVEEP will lead to disaster, its a recipe for mass riots. It can lead to Civil War.

If u first let political parties know the Winner & Loser, then will Winner allow elections to be set aside after VVPAT mismatch ?

Save this Country.

Stay tuned PC at 4:00
Good point ignoring it is AAP guy said it. EC needs to resolve what to do with VVPAT mismatch. Mismatch needs to be checked first before declaring any lead count or winner/loser. There is one Telangana MLA still fighting for mismatch. He lost by 3000 or so but one or a few Machines count gave a few hundred mismatch. EC said screw you to him and said they destroyed papers after 1 month of elections when he asked with RTI.

If this happens tomorrow it will be problem.

Added Later: Not sure what's progress on this case now, but this is what I'm referring.
https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/ ... nting.html
Hyderabad: ECI asked to respond to plea on VVPAT counting
Last edited by ShyamSP on 23 May 2019 00:03, edited 1 time in total.

chetak wrote:In a bizarre rant by the JNU freelance protestor-turned-full-time politician Shehla Rashid who jumped into the election fray by forming a political party with a former IAS officer Shah Faesal, today posted a series of tweets on the EVM row and suggested to invoke the United Nations and other International bodies to resolve the purported EVM fraud.

As a member of the opposition, I feel that we lack clarity on what we are fighting against. If we are alleging EVM fraud, then all of us should boycott elections till EVMs are abolished. If we're agitated about movement of EVMs near strongrooms, then we should demand repoll.

844 replies . 953 retweets 4,589 likes
Reply 844 Retweet 953 Like 4.6K

Lack of seriousness about our own allegations will harm the cause. When we say EVM fraud, we feel relatively helpless. If we are talking about replacement of EVMs, then what we are alleging is rigging. This calls for a demand to hold fresh polls, and we should be serious about it
What's wrong?
I support her on both of the above. Allegation without action is meaningless!

pankajs wrote: Just re-stating their official position ... theek hai.
in case he needs an exit strategy, he is trying to safeguard the muslim vote

nitishwa is one really unscrupulous player.
Theek hai ... You mean Modi/As don't know? Now that would be serious!

pankajs wrote: Just re-stating their official position ... theek hai.
Nidhi Razdan and Sreenivasan Jain tried to ask one of them what their "red line" was, presumably something that would make them break the alliance and kept prodding them on Pragya Thakur's statements, but he obviously avoided answering that.
Every one knows every one's red lines :rotfl: AND every one will make do with what they can :((

This is politics as usual.

pankajs wrote: Every one knows every one's red lines :rotfl: AND every one will make do with what they can :((

This is politics as usual.
Yup. Basically all allies are unreliable in Indian politics. In the BJP's case, nearly every one of their allies has ditched or betrayed them in the past - JD(U), ADMK, SS, TDP (twice), AITC (they were allies once), BJD and these are only the big ones. Only thing which determines the "loyalty" of allies is how close you are to grabbing power. Everything else is up for negotiation and everyone has their price.

ShyamSP wrote:
mmasand wrote:
Good point ignoring it is AAP guy said it. EC needs to resolve what to do with VVPAT mismatch. Mismatch needs to be checked first before declaring any lead count or winner/loser. There is one Telangana MLA still fighting for mismatch. He lost by 3000 or so but one or a few Machines count gave a few hundred mismatch. EC said screw you to him and said they destroyed papers after 1 month of elections when he asked with RTI.

Added Later: Not sure what's progress on this case now, but this is what I'm referring.
EC already said is there is a mismatch between EVM and VVPAT the latter counts.
Having said that they cant entertain frivolous case one month after the polls.

BTW UP police is arresting those who doubt EVM process.
I suggest folks tone down this canard.

What Shehla Rashid is saying is "We don't have evidence for anything, because otherwise, the evidence would determine what the allegations are. So our allegations are all over the place. Let's unite on what our allegations are".

That is - someone is crying murder, other is charging burglary, a third is claiming kidnapping. If there was a corpse, or missing property or missing person+ransom demand, there would be no such confusion about what the allegation should be.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 23 May 2019 00:32, edited 1 time in total.

Folks tomorrow will be stressful day.
I suggest people be calm and report any malicious posts.
I assure you having started this thread I will look at them.
Any bans will be given only by me and I will inform you openly about it.

So stay calm and relax.
Everything will be fine in the end.
If not its not the end.

Signing off now.

ShyamSP, Please control yourself.
Your posts are flame bait for some of our members.

As I know you personally this is a caution and not a warning.
Manu

Post by Manu »

ramana wrote: Let me digress.
In US politics the Presidential candidate hasn't won till the loser makes concession speech. The number of votes, electoral college all are dejure but concession speech is defacto.

Hillary Clinton did not make a concession speech on that night in November 2016 and that led to the defacto approval of the Resistance movement which dragged on till swearing in ceremony.

Naidu is leading the charge in de-legitmizing this election by any means all the while crying Democracy is in danger.
He met her in the Ambani wedding for a whole day....
If you recall, The issue was the Mrs Clinton had not even prepared a concession speech, so sure was she of her victory. She was in Peninsula Hotel, just a block from Trump Tower in New York on the night of Election and at 11 PM Obama called her people and told them to get her to concede.

On Wednesday morning, Hillary Clinton took the stage in New York and did in fact concede the presidency to Donald Trump.

It was a crappy concession, but a concession none the less..She was the most sore loser in the history of American politics, it must be said...

https://twitter.com/thedailybeast/statu ... 1817753600

Singha wrote: SS supremo had returned from a trip and thought of sending his #2 saying why meet before may23, but AS personally phoned him in some other engagement and then he came with #2 and his own son.
This actually shows some urgency and perhaps uneasiness on AS's part that he really wanted to made sure SS and NK showed up instead of their representatives. Not a good sign. If he was fairly confident, this whole dinner could have been done after 23rd.

Yashwant Deshmukh said on one of the shows that his (CVoter) exit poll actually gives a higher vote share to BJP in UP than the India Today- Axis one. However what they found was that in the seats BJP was winning they were doing it by huge margins while the MGB was winning seats by a smaller one. This translated into less seats for the BJP than the MGB despite a higher vote share. Another reason to dhoti shiver IMHO. This whole thing still hinges on UP despite the expected gains in Odisha and WB.
Amit Shah is one guy who just doesnt take anything for granted. Confidence is one thing, preparation is another. He likes to prepare for all eventualities with a Plan A, a Plan B and a Plan C. Recall the Goa govt. formation episode where by the time the Congress leaders were done with the celebration of single largest party in assembly, the BJP had finished their agreements to form the next govt.

I think, Plan B will be a Gadkari led govt. with Kedar nath for Modi baba. Plan C may be for Modi to run a minority govt.

Ironically, I feel that Modi ji running a minority govt. will be far more aggressive than Modi ji running a majority govt. when he has to focus on things he can get done. In a minority govt., everyone acts to secure the next election with a sizable mandate and thats where next level nationalism will come in.

https://medium.com/incerto/the-most-int ... 1f83ce4e15

Now I truly understand how the strategic defiance to social norms like nikah halala, triple talaq and oil droplet tactics of islamics work

BJP will lose onlee :(( :(( :((

ShyamSP wrote:
https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/ ... ounts.html

Singha wrote:https://medium.com/incerto/the-most-int ... 1f83ce4e15

Now I truly understand how the strategic defiance to social norms like nikah halala, triple talaq and oil droplet tactics of islamics work
This only works as long as the govt. refuses to bring order and abdicates its ownership of the only legitimate/righteous violence, and make no mistake, nikah halala, triple talaq etc. are the most egregious acts of violence.

If a govt. or society turns a blind eye to this violence, it begets even more violence including from those parts of society who were previously not part of this violent order. These practices must be outlawed and the state must defend its laws.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Irrespective of what the trends show tomorrow, and which way the pendulum swing, it is important that we respect the verdict of the people, this isn't about any one party, no one is bigger than this country. Clearly one group doesn't respect the very pillars that uphold the largest democracy by questioning the ECI.

It's going to be a long and sleepless night. Hope for the best.
YumKay

Post by YumKay »

abhijitm wrote:Is there clear guidline from EC on what if a mismatch found between sample EVM and VVPAT? Many were asking a clear instruction during the election. Don't remember EC issued any. Did they? This drama could have been avoided otherwise.
I am part of counting today.
Vvpat slips have priority over even. 5% randomly selected machines in every constituency will have their vvpat slips counted.
In case of a defect all machines in the constituency shall have vvpat tallied (this might delay the result)

YumKay wrote:
abhijitm wrote:Is there clear guidline from EC on what if a mismatch found between sample EVM and VVPAT? Many were asking a clear instruction during the election. Don't remember EC issued any. Did they? This drama could have been avoided otherwise.
I am part of counting today.
Vvpat slips have priority over even. 5% randomly selected machines in every constituency will have their vvpat slips counted.
In case of a defect all machines in the constituency shall have vvpat tallied (this might delay the result)
Pranams to you.
Hope naysayers doubters will give it a rest.
Now I have ban power due to evidence.

tandav

Post by tandav »

397 NDA anything less is #blow2mudi #dhotishibber #dhotitatter
Modi will lose onlee

chetak wrote:In a bizarre rant by the JNU freelance protestor-turned-full-time politician Shehla Rashid who jumped into the election fray by forming a political party with a former IAS officer Shah Faesal, today posted a series of tweets on the EVM row and suggested to invoke the United Nations and other International bodies to resolve the purported EVM fraud.

What's wrong?
I support her on both of the above. Allegation without action is meaningless!
what's wrong is the bimbo's suggestion to invoke the United Nations and other International bodies to resolve the purported EVM fraud.

motivated allegations without a shred of proof is even more meaningless
Last edited by chetak on 23 May 2019 01:20, edited 1 time in total.

The fear of secular parties is justified. If Hindu votes get consolidated that means end of caste and muslim politics. Especially wrt Uttar Pradesh.

They can forget coming to power in 2024 also.

Aab ki baar.. Chowkidar!

shravan wrote:The fear of secular parties is justified. If Hindu votes get consolidated that means end of caste and muslim politics. Especially wrt Uttar Pradesh.

They can forget coming to power in 2024 also.

+108

this is the real panic because then everyone's patta gets cut if they are forcibly divorced from their entrenched vote banks and "their" people start to vote on the basis of issues.

their greatest fear since 1947 has been the Hindu votes getting consolidated and this is the reason for the false history and the force fed "secularism".

this was the panic as well as the true motivation of the two nation theory
Last edited by chetak on 23 May 2019 01:26, edited 1 time in total.
Narad

Post by Narad »

Theeran

Post by Theeran »

aylamrin wrote:
Theeran wrote:https://www.thehindu.com/opinion/lead/t ... epage=true

Haha thanks to brf I can spot these divisive articles from a good distance.
All the favorite words are there - patriarchy, majority, minority, upper caste, supremacist, chauvinist, hate, fear. A new one for me is lynching of dalits. It feels like they have an algorithm that takes these words and puts conjunctions in between.
The question is what is goal here?
Care to share a list of keywords for us newcomers?
Thambi all I can say is this Thirukkural verse -

எப்பொருள் யார்யார்வாய்க் கேட்பினும் அப்பொருள்
மெய்ப்பொருள் காண்ப தறிவு

Whatever be the statement
On any subject
Regardless of who says it
The truth will be from your research, investigation, understanding and realization.

hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Shocker!!

A news article/opinion praising Narendra Modi in the New York Times!!

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/05/22/opin ... ogin-email

suryag wrote:four astrologers including one gold medalist grade saying NDA will not make it
If ppl are stupid enough to not have voted for the one PM and Govt that did all they could to improve their living standards and protect them, then they deserve what they get.
BJP will lose onlee. :(( :(( :((
Nsmith

Post by Nsmith »

Zor se bolo: BJP will lose onlee :(( :((

Phir se bolo: RaGa will win onlee :(( :((

ShyamSP wrote:
mmasand wrote:

Why not get Supreme Court into inspecting all the elections since 1950 to rule out fraud by Congress?

--- deleted