Page 50 of 156

Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:24
by hanumadu
Raveen wrote:
hanumadu wrote:Narendra Modi is conducting a road show on narrow roads with tens of thousands of people every where. And its dark.
What is this madness? He should stop this BS.

Exactly my thoughts - its scary when I saw it on FB
Bindu Dey
@drbindudey
Follow Follow @drbindudey
More
Replying to @ARanganathan72
I crossed my fingers for two hours n recited Hamuman Chalisa
I read Vishnu Sahasra Nama. Couldn't go pee until the road show was over. He is going to give us all a heart attack.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:29
by KJo
Modi ji please stop this. We don't want another Rajiv Gandhi situation.
The Hindu civilization is at stake.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:38
by Suresh S
What is he doing someone needs to tell him to STOP this . The fate of this civilization is at stake for gods sake.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:42
by UlanBatori
Dumal wrote:On the topic of name-calling, while it pains to hear a PM being called chor, etc totally underservedly, many of these elected leaders have well-deserved records and characters that earn them these names... even the great Orange-gutan is not spared. How can it be unjust to call out Fakeriwal, jihadidi, Maunmohan Singh et al.
Point is that the Liar cited the Supreme Court as endorsing the "chor" designation. The SC bluntly clarified that they had made no such judgement, merely told the govt that they will indeed look at the New Documents. They need the laughter after all, in their dreary existence of Hereinafters and Whereas and Party of the Third Part.

So they dragged him in, forced him to bend over and .. (never mind)

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:54
by VikramA
:lol: :lol: :lol: the the liberal left media is going bonkers over the roadshow

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 20:58
by Primus
Just saw a clip of the show on Republic before the event, the journalist was interviewing people gathered and they were all praising Modi of course. They he asked one guy why he thought India's image had improved, the guy said it was because of things like Balakot strike. The journalist then said but other people are asking for proof. Well, the entire crowd erupted in an angry uproar. It was unbelievable.

The scenes shown on all the channels are unprecedented. Never before in the history of the nation has a leader been loved and revered so much.

A total nightmare for the security personnel. May the Lords protect this man.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:15
by chandrasekaran
Couldn't take my eyes of my mobile. My BP shot up like crazy and I was simply reciting all the mantras I knew to ensure Shri Modi's safety....

That said it was sheer delight to watch Shri Modi recite all shlokas and mantras promptly. He knew the procedures and the Shraddha Bhakthi was so visible.

We are truly blessed to live and see Bharat being ruled by this Mahatma!!!

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:21
by dipak
VikramA wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: the the liberal left media is going bonkers over the roadshow
Saar, there is nothing 'liberal' in this gang - they don't deserve to be called liberals, only 'fiberals'.
This crowd has chosen good names for themselves ...

Just nitpicking.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:29
by nandakumar
Sachin wrote:
vijayk wrote:She teased several times and backed off. She lost credibility whatever she has
Vikas wrote:I think lot of people would have applauded PGV in case she had decided to fight from Varanasi including myself.
nandakumar wrote:Priyanka Gandhi is not being fielded from Varanasi. Very mystifying after all that hype. Is it a case of sibling power rivalry in which Rahul prevailed in the end? Because nothing else makes sense.
There could be multiple reasons.
1. She is the only unused weapon the Nehru-Ghandi clan and INC have at the moment. If she contests and loses badly the charm of that weapon is lost. Like Pappu of today she would become a Pappini. If that happens there is no one from Nehru-Ghandi clan who can make any mark.
2. If she contests her husband would be the biggest asset which Modi can use. It is quite know that none in Nehru-Ghandi clan have the oratory skills which Na.Mo has. He can make enough and more jibes & accusations against R.Vadra and P.Vadra would be always on the defensive. It is only going to dent INC image further.
3. The affidavit listing assets, cases, educational qualifications all become potential bullets for the BJP to use. May be she is not clean on all these.
4. There could be also an INC plan to test her at the pocket borough of Amethi first. If Rahul wins both Wayanad and Amethi seats he would have to resign from one and there would be a bye election. Priyanka can try her luck then, with both being sure seats of INC.
Yes. Points 1 and 4 makes a lot of sense.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:29
by KJo
I see a massive uptick of Lovers, Peacefools and deracinated Hindus in my FB friend list screaming about "mass murderer" Modi and how he has destroyed the country. :lol:
The sheer intensity of khujli convinces me that Modiji is doing everything right, even if you don't look at what he has achieved.

Earlier, I used to engage these people in a debate based on facts. I realized that it is useless because they are just parroting pre-canned lines that Ramya or someone from Congress has sent them. So I just question them back. Mass murderer? Oh, how? "Destroyed the country"? Really, how so? Putting the onus back on them and needing me to type less.

I think that if Rahul wins both, he will stay in Wayanad, and Priyanka will run from Amethi. That way Amethi stays in the family.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:30
by chetak
dipak wrote:
VikramA wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: the the liberal left media is going bonkers over the roadshow
Saar, there is nothing 'liberal' in this gang - they don't deserve to be called liberals, only 'fiberals'.
This crowd has chosen good names for themselves ...

Just nitpicking.
liberal is the safe word.

Other, more truthful words, would fetch you either a ban or a warning.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 21:47
by anishns
Randomly watching Indian news TV channels/debates on Modi's Banaras visit!
The "jalan" (burn) among the various sections of liberandu journos and opposition needs to be seen :D :D :D

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:38
by Manu
On Priyanka, I feel a little sorry for her (she's actually not a bad person). She is known bi-Polar (people confuse it for alcoholism, perhaps deliberately) and married to a real bas*ard of a man (Manlet is a compulsive womanizer and corrupt to the core)...she cant really talk even for an hour without the kinks showing. So its not that they didn't want to field her against Modi, its that they cant....

Too early to say yet, but 'Gandhi Mukt Congress' looks like a real possibility, even if 'Congresss Mukt Bharat' is a little time away...

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:48
by Manu
The Modi Road Show literally increased my cortisol levels :eek: :shock: ....the security was on the roof of the SUV behind him (crouching, 2 men, that's all) and in front was a massive crowd....Why take such stupid risks?

Even the local cops were waiving at Modi, enjoying the Rally instead of controlling the crowd...

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:51
by darshan
NPR going through burnol moments with whitewashing of Islamic barbarism on the Hindu civilization.
NPR started counting number of temples and idols destroyed by islamists and gave up after counting thousands and took easy route out.

https://www.npr.org/2019/04/25/71141292 ... remain-dee

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:53
by Ardeshir
What I don't understand is that politicians are a ruthless lot. If it is so evident, despite your cognitive biases, that the Nehru-Gandhi-Maino-Vadra family is detrimental to your electoral success, why do congees persist with these idiots?

That aside, the last time I was this anxious about Modijee was when he was rushing into the crowds in Nepal. Quite literally, the civilisation is at stake and we have enemies all around. He needs to be careful, nay, even paranoid!

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:58
by KJo
Manu wrote:On Priyanka, I feel a little sorry for her (she's actually not a bad person). She is known bi-Polar (people confuse it for alcoholism, perhaps deliberately) and married to a real bas*ard of a man (Manlet is a compulsive womanizer and corrupt to the core)...she cant really talk even for an hour without the kinks showing. So its not that they didn't want to field her against Modi, its that they cant....

Too early to say yet, but 'Gandhi Mukt Congress' looks like a real possibility, even if 'Congresss Mukt Bharat' is a little time away...
I was talking to my folks in India, and they were remarking that Priyanka is trying to bring back the aura of Indira Gandhi with her dressing, her tone of voice and all that. But has not been able to make any waves. I think people of India are tired of the whole Gandhi family and want to move on. There is a good alternative on hand with Modi and BJP.

If I were Rahul, I would have focused on figuring out what the new Congress was all about. What does the party stand for? Who does it serve? They don't seem to know that, and the old buzzwords like "secularism" and "diversity" don't seem to be working well for them anymore.

It just takes 1 crazy idiot to get lucky and change everything. I hope he is careful. It's better to be alive and miss a few waves. Rajiv forgot about this and paid the price.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 22:59
by chaitanya
While I too fear for his safety, I doubt Modiji would ever hide behind security... He is a man who leads from the front of the vanguard and will continue do so! It is part of his charisma as a leader.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:17
by Rudradev
Ardeshir wrote:What I don't understand is that politicians are a ruthless lot. If it is so evident, despite your cognitive biases, that the Nehru-Gandhi-Maino-Vadra family is detrimental to your electoral success, why do congees persist with these idiots?
-Money (hoarded during 15 years of Indira Gandhi's rule)
-Money (hoarded during 5 years of Rajiv Gandhi's rule)
-A vague sense that the dynasty name is irreplaceable when it comes to INC's nationwide vote-share dominance
-Money (hoarded by Arjun Singh, Digvijaya Singh etc directly into the Family's coffers during 5 years of PVNR's rule)
-Money (hoarded by Sonia Gandhi during 10 years of UPA rule)

INC is to Gandhi Family Coffers what Pakistan is to China.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:18
by Karan M
darshan wrote:NPR going through burnol moments with whitewashing of Islamic barbarism on the Hindu civilization.
NPR started counting number of temples and idols destroyed by islamists and gave up after counting thousands and took easy route out.

https://www.npr.org/2019/04/25/71141292 ... remain-dee
Why do we allow these scum into India? They can peddle their hate from abroad.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:21
by ShyamSP
Manu wrote:On Priyanka, I feel a little sorry for her (she's actually not a bad person). She is known bi-Polar (people confuse it for alcoholism, perhaps deliberately) and married to a real bas*ard of a man (Manlet is a compulsive womanizer and corrupt to the core)...she cant really talk even for an hour without the kinks showing. So its not that they didn't want to field her against Modi, its that they cant....

There is no need for Gandhi Mukt, Congress Mukt Bharat (CMB) is long-standing call by many parties including BJP. Template was prepared, experimented, and showed but that discussion is off track. BJP comes one more time CMB case can be closed if BJP is willing to part with idea that keeping the Gandhis in opposition is good idea.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:28
by KLNMurthy
Ardeshir wrote:I always thought Thrissur had a very overwhelmingly strong Christian influence. Is Suresh Gopi's presence strong enough to over come that?
Christian alone doesn't imply a non-BJP vote in KL. Depends on what kind. The BJP candidate in Ernakulam is someone named KJ Alphonse, though he is not a political heavyweight there. EKM has long been KV Thomas' home constituency though he didn't compete this time.
If I am not mistaken KJ Alphonse was one of those "uncorrupt babus" who blew the whistle and faced persecution.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:29
by Suraj
You can always depend on RaGa to not see that he's leaking votes by using a phrase even his 'advisors' say is backfiring. This is why RaGa needs to stay at the helm - he's able to take all the advice, ignore it and screw himself over:
Rahul Gandhi accuses PM Modi of doing ‘injustice’ with people; says ‘acche din ayenge’ slogan replaced by ‘chowkidar chor hai’

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:31
by Supratik
INC now is serious contention in only 8-9 states. I expect them to crumble this election in OR, TG.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:33
by Suraj
Suraj wrote: Christian alone doesn't imply a non-BJP vote in KL. Depends on what kind. The BJP candidate in Ernakulam is someone named KJ Alphonse, though he is not a political heavyweight there. EKM has long been KV Thomas' home constituency though he didn't compete this time.
If I am not mistaken KJ Alphonse was one of those "uncorrupt babus" who blew the whistle and faced persecution.
Yes, KJ Alphonse is well regarded, but pitashree mentioned that he's just not a political heavyweight in EKM constituency and therefore was never in the running in that seat. He is more well known as DDA's demolition man, and not particularly a political force in Kerala. Even Dileep asserted he was going to vote for LDF.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:38
by Vadivel
I think this thread needs to sober up, it’s drunk too much with cool aid and missing many signs. Reading only news and opinions that fit this world view is not good.PP or other twitter handles are only parroting their world view and seeing what they want to see with their biases.

BJP is not going to reach the 2014 numbers in UP, MH,MP, GUj etc. Offsetting these in WB, Odisha is a non starter, Didi and BJD are too strong.

TN, TS, AP, KL BJP might win a grand total of 5 seats with Ally AIADMK giving another 5-8.

From the way you guys are discussing it’s like building castle in the sky.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:39
by KJo
Rudradev wrote:
Ardeshir wrote:What I don't understand is that politicians are a ruthless lot. If it is so evident, despite your cognitive biases, that the Nehru-Gandhi-Maino-Vadra family is detrimental to your electoral success, why do congees persist with these idiots?
-Money (hoarded during 15 years of Indira Gandhi's rule)
-Money (hoarded during 5 years of Rajiv Gandhi's rule)
-A vague sense that the dynasty name is irreplaceable when it comes to INC's nationwide vote-share dominance
-Money (hoarded by Arjun Singh, Digvijaya Singh etc directly into the Family's coffers during 5 years of PVNR's rule)
-Money (hoarded by Sonia Gandhi during 10 years of UPA rule)

INC is to Gandhi Family Coffers what Pakistan is to China.

I don't think money (if any) from 30 years ago matters anymore. I think No 3 is the strongest, followed by No 5 Sonia's money hoard. A lot of people feel a sense of comfort with the Gandhi-Nehru name, and feel that the BJP phase is transient.

The other question is outside of RaGa, who else can lead the Congress? The only person who comes the closest may be Shashi Tharoor but he is a bit too elitist and does not have grassroot support of the masses. No one else has the charisma. The Congress will sooner dissolve than have a non Gandhi as leader. Even PVN etc was stop gap for Rahul. If there is no future Gandhi (Reyhan Vadra Gandhi ha ha), it will close shop like the Mughal Empire that existed in name only until 1857.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:41
by Suraj
Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan loses cool, shouts at journalists over query on voter turnout in Lok Sabha election
“Maari nilkku angottu” (Keep away), the Chief Minister, in an agitated mood, shouted at the media persons when they approached him for his version of record polling in the last three decades in the general elections. Kerala witnessed a heavy polling of 77.68 per cent, the highest in 30 years, in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state, where the ruling LDF and the opposition UDF put up a fierce fight to garner maximum seats.

The strength of the electorate is 2.61 crore.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:42
by disha
How can you tell a Lion to behave like a caged mouse? It never happens. Lion will be a lion.

--- obtuse thought processes follow ---

Modi going to Varanasi and being among his own people, he draws confidence from them and he provides them confidence. They are communicating at an emotional level. In our lifetime we are seeing this amazing connect.

Modi knows the overall pulse and he will walk into his own people, resplendent in the fact that he will come to no harm the very mass protecting him.

And the message that is sent out to world's capitals and super powahs - this is like a nuclear strike! This is like a renaissance of Bharat and it will be reverberated across the arc from Afghanistan to Japan.

Of course our dhoti shivering is valid and will occur. Given our knowledge of history, the prayers we put out for Modi - it becomes his Kvach (Armour). And Modi knows that too.

No leader, no leader currently or in last 2 generations or maybe in next 1-2 generation can do this.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:43
by Lilo
In context of today's visuals from Hindi heartland,

So called "Janeudhari" Rahul Gandhi & his sister Priyanka Gandhi seen smiling together with Rijil Makkutty , the Kerala youth congress president who dragged a calf of a cow & brutally butchered it in the middle of the street to remind the Hindus of their Dhimmi status

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:44
by ShyamSP
rhytha wrote:I think this thread needs to sober up, it’s drunk too much with cool aid and missing many signs. Reading only news and opinions that fit this world view is not good.PP or other twitter handles are only parroting their world view and seeing what they want to see with their biases.

BJP is not going to reach the 2014 numbers in UP, MH,MP, GUj etc. Offsetting these in WB, Odisha is a non starter, Didi and BJD are too strong.

TN, TS, AP, KL BJP might win a grand total of 5 seats with Ally AIADMK giving another 5-8.

Thanks for non-coolaid post. UP, MH, MP, RJ remaining are crucial to prevent any loss as there is no other place to make up.

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:47
by morem
why the heartburn , coz you cannot peddle your EVM theories ?

Posted: 25 Apr 2019 23:54
by sudeepj
ShyamSP wrote:
rhytha wrote:I think this thread needs to sober up, it’s drunk too much with cool aid and missing many signs. Reading only news and opinions that fit this world view is not good.PP or other twitter handles are only parroting their world view and seeing what they want to see with their biases.

Too much Bhajan, now with Sholkas and Chalisas, is bringing down quality of thoughts and any critical analysis in BRF. Distinction between some BJP forum and BRF forum I read is gone.
Dont feel so bad.. History in India appears to follow a roughly 35 year rhythm. This election will be a reflection of the 84 election. I still remember, as 3rd 4th grade school children, we booed a bunch of BJP karyakartas who were college students. Such was the mahaul.. :-) Today, I saw on twitter, a bunch of school kids in Varanasi, stuck in a traffic jam and enthusiastically supporting Modi. I was only 'feeling' that this was going to be a landmark election for India. Now, I am certain, it will be a landslide. When you become a hero for school going kids.. elections are over. Party is not fighting the election any more. People are fighting the election.

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:01
by Karan M
ShyamSP wrote:"Too much Bhajan, now with Sholkas and Chalisas, is bringing down quality of thoughts and any critical analysis in BRF. "

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:02
by rgosain
It is really important to guard against group think coming from confirmation biases or mirror imagining (leave that for for npr, ammanpour, rowlatt etc)
It would be interesting to get non english language regional reports on turnout etc, as well as input from the opposition such as:

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 022297.cms

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:03
by UlanBatori
chaitanya wrote:While I too fear for his safety, I doubt Modiji would ever hide behind security... He is a man who leads from the front of the vanguard and will continue do so! It is part of his charisma as a leader.
Next time make sure the crowd is 70% Raa agintz onlee. With sniffer dogs.

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:05
by Karan M
INC always keeps a brave chin up even while its pants are down, and shoes are landing hard. Hard to take their bombast seriously.

I wonder if any CVoter type surveys have leaked. Non pro BJP etc.

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:10
by UlanBatori
Isn't there a color version of that murdered-calf photo to post around the web? Too late now, KL voting over, but it might do good in other states.

PLEASE don't post it here though. Thx

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:12
by Rahul M
chaitanya wrote:While I too fear for his safety, I doubt Modiji would ever hide behind security... He is a man who leads from the front of the vanguard and will continue do so! It is part of his charisma as a leader.
true, remember he was the one who stopped the practice of giving I'day speech from behind bullet-proof glass. He is like that and it's a given that he will risk violating security protocols now and then.
The intel and security agencies have to up their game and ensure his security regardless.

Posted: 26 Apr 2019 00:12
by vijayk
Sobering up is a good idea.
Building castles is not good idea. They will come crashing down.
INC has a plan:
Abuse Modi, Abuse Modi, Abuse Modi
Split votes in UP using UC candidates
Split votes in MH using Raj Thackery

If it works, we will be bad shape. But I believe in intelligence of Indian voter.