Terroristan - May 1, 2019

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

X Posted on the J&K Union Territory-2019 Thread

Congress support to government on its position against Pakistan is important. Together, government and opposition can help restore normalcy in Kashmir - TOI Editorials

Amid a sustained diplomatic onslaught by Pakistan, the Modi government has received a shot in the arm with the main opposition party, Congress, saying it is in complete agreement with government’s position on Pakistan and terror threats emanating from that country. Pakistan has been fruitlessly attempting to highlight a purported slide in India’s respect for human rights and secularism in recent years.

This was the moment for India’s political class to unite and send a strong message that India stands together against Pakistan’s mischievous attempts to sow divides. Government can also respond positively to the Congress position by taking the party into confidence on its measures to restore normalcy in Kashmir, an issue on which Congress continues to differ with the government. At this point, only a successful post-Article 370 transition in Kashmir can permanently settle the dispute and end Pakistan’s attempts to stoke violence in the Valley and the rest of India.

Governments will come and go but India’s success in defending its position on Kashmir and against Pakistan has primarily rested on political consensus on the issue, focus on economic development, its robust democracy and better track record on human rights than all its Asian neighbours. In comparison, Pakistan fares poorly in all these areas. Unfortunately, in recent times there has been an attempt by our parties to tar each other by claiming their respective positions help Pakistan’s cause. Avoid playing into the enemy’s hands for a few extra votes. National interest will be best served when there is healthy debate, consensus and unflinching commitment to peace, economic progress and communal harmony.

CheersImage

Re: Terroristan - May 1, 2019

A_Gupta wrote:https://www.thehindu.com/news/internati ... 534897.ece
Pakistan’s request for funds for Hafiz Saeed a sign of transparency: U.S.
The United States says the UN Security Council’s decision to facilitate funds for designated terrorist Hafiz Saeed in Pakistan was actually a “welcome” step, as it shows that Pakistan is working towards greater accountability for its counter-terrorism efforts as part of its commitments at the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).

“It’s counter-intuitive, but this is actually a positive step,” U.S. Acting Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs Alice Wells said in reply to a question from The Hindu.

“Countries are required under the obligations of the listings that for any UN designated individuals, you account for whatever money flow is permitted, such as the family expenses of Hafiz Saeed. So actually having these submissions indicates a level of transparency and a key requirement of FATF,"....
Prediction - Pakistan will not be blacklisted. The main issue is whether it remains on the grey list or not.
It seems the US themselves have suggested this "loophole" for Pakistan to continue the Afghan talks.. as well as "suggesting" Malaysian support.

The bogus "non-state actors" narrative was also invented by US to save baki skin.

The "Islamophobe" smear too was a gift of American thinking to shut down cirtics of Islam.

The Americans are as devious as they come.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

https://twitter.com/HamidMirPAK/status/ ... 5121335296
Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front announced long march to cross Line of Control(LoC) on October 4th from Muzaffarabad to Chakothi acting chairman of JKLF Abdul Hameed Butt will lead the march who spent 13 years in Indian jails he is contacting other parties to join the march

Will bakis let these guys be cannon fodder? What would be the implications?

Peregrine wrote: X Posted on the J&K Union Territory-2019 Thread

Congress support to government on its position against Pakistan is important. Together, government and opposition can help restore normalcy in Kashmir - TOI Editorials

Amid a sustained diplomatic onslaught by Pakistan, the Modi government has received a shot in the arm with the main opposition party, Congress, saying it is in complete agreement with government’s position on Pakistan and terror threats emanating from that country. Pakistan has been fruitlessly attempting to highlight a purported slide in India’s respect for human rights and secularism in recent years.

This was the moment for India’s political class to unite and send a strong message that India stands together against Pakistan’s mischievous attempts to sow divides. Government can also respond positively to the Congress position by taking the party into confidence on its measures to restore normalcy in Kashmir, an issue on which Congress continues to differ with the government. At this point, only a successful post-Article 370 transition in Kashmir can permanently settle the dispute and end Pakistan’s attempts to stoke violence in the Valley and the rest of India.

Governments will come and go but India’s success in defending its position on Kashmir and against Pakistan has primarily rested on political consensus on the issue, focus on economic development, its robust democracy and better track record on human rights than all its Asian neighbours. In comparison, Pakistan fares poorly in all these areas. Unfortunately, in recent times there has been an attempt by our parties to tar each other by claiming their respective positions help Pakistan’s cause. Avoid playing into the enemy’s hands for a few extra votes. National interest will be best served when there is healthy debate, consensus and unflinching commitment to peace, economic progress and communal harmony.

CheersImage
Congress should now walk the talk by rejecting the invitation that Pakistan wants to send to Manmohan Singh to be the chief guest for the inauguration of the Kartarpur Corridor. Pakistan wants to play the Sikh Card and basically play the same drama it did when they had called that joker Sidhu last year.

https://twitter.com/YousufNazar/status/ ... 2571307009
Yousuf Nazar @YousufNazar {Former Head of Global Emerging Markets Investments, Citigroup} {By his name and his concern seems to be a baki}
  • Imran Khan’s speech may turn out to be a diplomatic setback. It might reinforce Pakistan’s image as an irresponsible “rogue” nuclear armed country. A missed opportunity to focus on the plight of the Kashmiris. He should have presented facts in detail
  • Instead by raising the spectre of a nuclear conflict, he has exposed Pakistan to the risk of being accused of nuclear blackmail. He may get praise from the domestic audience but from an international diplomatic viewpoint, the threat of a nuclear conflict is non-starter.
  • A Pakistan hugely dependent on the U.S. dominated IMF and its Arab allies is not in a position to make credible threats. Such rhetoric won’t achieve anything. Imran should have mentioned Myanmar in the context of human rights violations and it would have been more effective but
  • Pakistan’s diplomatic isolation will not be helped by this approach. By talking of death, Allah & nuclear conflict in the same breath,the speech may ultimately help Modi’s vile designs to project Pakistan as a terrorist state than present Kashmir’s case in an effective way.
  • specially given that he unwisely stated during his UN trip that Pakistan army helped train al Qaeda. I am sorry to say Imran doesn’t have a well thought out strategy & like many Pakistanis, is living in a bubble & harming Kashmir’s cause.
As I had stated before, Dimran has made too many unforced errors to Modi's perfect execution. Quite opposite to what some members wanted, India did not raise these unforced errors in its right to reply but make no mistake, those unforced errors will be used when talking to governments around the world. This al-keeda was but one such unforced error.
Rohit_K

Post by Rohit_K »

Just in - Maleeha Lodhi has been booted as Pak rep to UN

This is how the bakis celebrate their UN victory :lol: I guess she was too successful and the patriarchal establishment couldn't digest that. :rotfl:

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2019/0 ... voy-to-un/
Munir Akram replaces Dr Maleeha Lodhi at UN
Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday removed Pakistan’s permanent representative to the UN in New York, Dr Maleeha Lodhi and appointed veteran diplomat Munir Akram as new envoy to the world body’s headquarters.

The development is seen as surprising since many, including government ministers, praised Lodhi and her team for successfully managing PM Imran’s visit to New York.

The appointment of Akram, who previously served as Pakistan’s Ambassador to the UN, also indicates that Pakistan is going to launch a diplomatic offensive on Kashmir and against India.
Akram is a veteran diplomat and is one of the ambassadors who believe in hardcore approach towards India instead of appeasement.

The removal of Lodhi and appointment of Akram was part of many other transfers and postings approved by the prime minister in the Foreign Ministry.

A statement issued by the Foreign Office said Akram had been appointed as Permanent Representative of Pakistan to the UN in place of Lodhi. No reason was given for the change.
There are other changes too listed further down.

Lol replacing a woman with a known wife beater! Muddina ki riyasat indeed.

As far as India is concerned,they are both obnoxious fauji plants, so makes little difference.
VikramA

Post by VikramA »

India of 2019 is very different from India of 2003. Wife beater is going to be shocked at the changed attitudes towards india at UN. His views on how to tackle india are published in his op Ed's in dawn.MEA should be mentally prepared for weekly nuclear war rants from him from now on

I think Modi and his team handled UNGA really well. He allowed Imran a long rope and he went and hung himself with his nuclear threats to the world. He forgot he isn't address rogue Islamic nations, but the entire world and this "we will nuke" talk doesn't go well.
Modi on the other hand stuck to talking about development and avoided talking Pakistan or even acknowledging them. Let the rabid mad dog bark all it wants. India will not budge and the world will soon tire of their antics.

pankajs wrote:This is how the bakis celebrate their UN victory :lol: I guess she was too successful and the patriarchal establishment couldn't digest that. :rotfl:

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2019/0 ... voy-to-un/
Munir Akram replaces Dr Maleeha Lodhi at UN
Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday removed Pakistan’s permanent representative to the UN in New York, Dr Maleeha Lodhi and appointed veteran diplomat Munir Akram as new envoy to the world body’s headquarters.

The development is seen as surprising since many, including government ministers, praised Lodhi and her team for successfully managing PM Imran’s visit to New York.

The appointment of Akram, who previously served as Pakistan’s Ambassador to the UN, also indicates that Pakistan is going to launch a diplomatic offensive on Kashmir and against India.
Akram is a veteran diplomat and is one of the ambassadors who believe in hardcore approach towards India instead of appeasement.

The removal of Lodhi and appointment of Akram was part of many other transfers and postings approved by the prime minister in the Foreign Ministry.

A statement issued by the Foreign Office said Akram had been appointed as Permanent Representative of Pakistan to the UN in place of Lodhi. No reason was given for the change.
There are other changes too listed further down.
IIRC this Munir Akram previously had to leave the US in disgrace because of a wife-beating scandal or something like that.

Bart S wrote:Lol replacing a woman with a known wife beater! Muddina ki riyasat indeed.

As far as India is concerned,they are both obnoxious fauji plants, so makes little difference.
With respect, that's the wrong attitude. Instead of lofty indifference, India and its supporters should do everything to publicize this guy's proclivities and make pakis squeal like the pigs they are.

No use taking the "don't wrestle with a pig" view when pig has already attacked us. Better engage and destroy the pig with superior human technology.

Let high-level Indian officials keep their hands clean. Designate the 3rd secretary young lady to cultivate media and get the Akram saga published.
Last edited by KLNMurthy on 30 Sep 2019 23:48, edited 1 time in total.
VikramA

Post by VikramA »

A third world shitty country with known and now acknowledged terrorism links surviving on bailouts from IMF with nothing to offer to the world is going to launch a " diplomatic offensive ". These guys delusion of grandeur never end.
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

Rohit_K wrote:Just in - Maleeha Lodhi has been booted as Pak rep to UN
Wonderful news. Looks like a very personal decision of Imran (not sure if the red mat for welcome was the reason) as most of the PTI ministers were praising her and she was providing continuous updates on the successes achieved during the trip. They will be deleting their tweets now.

Not sure if this decision was taken on the advise of the peerni. Wonder the haste. Could have waited for few days.

VikramA wrote:A third world shitty country with known and now acknowledged terrorism links surviving on bailouts from IMF with nothing to offer to the world is going to launch a " diplomatic offensive ". These guys delusion of grandeur never end.
Well, my good Sir, don't forget the "ruled" the Kafir Hindoos of Hindustan for 1000 years and are the inheritors of the Mughal dynasty and its pomp and show. :P :mrgreen:

I think they did their best to provoke Modi into a twitter fight. Modi being a saintly type doesn't take impulsive decisions. But they upped the ante and came away looking like fools and Immy had to :(( that no one took his side.

Modi/Shah next have to work overtime to integrate JKL into mainstream India economically so that aam abduls also can get off their high horses for being Kashmiris and get jobs and work like everyone else. Pakis will no doubt try to spoil it by bombing factories and other mischief.

Maleeha Aunty is on the opposite side, but she seems to be a smart stylish aggressive intelligent social person and being a woman, that increases her value.

Apparently wife beater is the new UN rep. Chosen because he can make more noise. Also keep Indian out of the permanent membership. Maleeha Lodhi had baggage. Her daughter in law is Indian. Also she didn't do anything useful vis-a-vis "cashmere issue"

Anyone remember her heartfelt speech about oppression in Cashmere when she held up pictures from Palestine?

Rumors that SMQ is on his way out too.

A very bad move. Hit Wicket should have replaced the red place mat first. It would have made a better picture.

Her daughter in law is Indian. :roll:

Sometimes I believe the grand speeches by Pakistan at international phora area form of college debate. These clowns deep down believe themselves to be Indian.

The difficulty is the asymmetry: Indians deep down don't believe they are Pakistani (even the Muslims).

https://www.dawn.com/news/1508203/in-ma ... nvoy-to-un
In major reshuffle, Munir Akram to replace Maleeha Lodhi as Pakistan's envoy to UN
Naveed Siddiqui | Dawn.comUpdated September 30, 2019
n a major reshuffle in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Prime Minister Imran Khan has approved the appointment of ambassador Munir Akram as Pakistan's Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York, the Foreign Office announced on Monday.
Akram will replace Dr Maleeha Lodhi, who has held the office of Pakistan's envoy to the UN since February 2015.
Akram has served as Pakistan's permanent representative to the UN previously as well, holding the office for six years between 2002 and 2008.
The sudden announcement comes a day after Prime Minister Imran and Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi returned to Pakistan after wrapping up their visit to the United States to attend the 74th session of the UN General Assembly.
During his “Mission Kashmir” visit to New York, the prime minister addressed the 193-member UNGA, attended UN summit meetings, met a number of world leaders on the sidelines of the session including US President Donald Trump, addressed think-tanks and interacted with international media. Ambassador Lodhi accompanied the premier at a number of these engagements.
The government did not provide a reason for the replacement of Dr Lodhi. She has not been assigned any other portfolio as of now.

Do we have full text of Imran Khan UN Speech for analysis?

Thanks in advance.

^^^ Here is the text:
I stand here at this forum of world leaders where we have a chance to discuss the problems the world is facing.

I especially came to this forum despite a difficult time in my country; facing challenges… I would not have come had there not been a very urgent problem that the world must address.

First let me talk about climate change; I have seen a lot of leaders talk about this. But I don’t see world leaders really realizing the urgency of the situation. We have a lot of ideas; but as they say, ideas without funding is mere hallucination.

Pakistan is among the top 10 nations in the world affected by climate change. We depend on or rivers, we are mainly an agricultural country. 80 percent of our water comes from the glaciers and these are melting at an alarming pace.

We detected 5000 glacier lakes in our mountains. If nothing is done, we fear humans are facing a huge catastrophe.

In KP, a province of Pakistan, we planted a billion trees in 5 years. Now we are targeting 10 billion trees. But one country can not do anything. This has to be a combined effort of the world.

My optimism comes from the fact that the Almighty has given humans great powers. We can do great things. And this is where I want the United Nations to take the lead in invoking this will.

Rich countries who contribute the most to green house gas emissions must be held accountable.

Mr. President; every year billions of dollars leave poor countries & go to rich countries. Billions of dollars siphoned by corrupt politicians to tax havens,expensive properties bought in western capitals. It is devastating to the developing world.

Corruption is impoverishing the developing world. Difference b/w rich & poor countries is growing due to this. Money laundering is not treated the same as drug money or terror financing. Today poor countries are being plundered by their elites.

In my country, when I took charge of our government a year back, in the 10 years preceding that our total debt went up 4 times. As a result; the total revenue we collect in one year, half of it went into debt servicing.

How will we spend on our 220 million population when our money was plundered by the ruling elite? And when we located properties of these corrupt leaders in western capitals, we find it so difficult to retrieve it.

If we retrieve the plundered money, we could spend it on human development. But there are laws protecting these criminals. We don’t have the money to hire lawyers worth millions of dollars.

The rich countries must show political will; they can not allow this flight of capital from poor countries through corruption. How can poor countries meet the United Nations SDG’s when money for human development can easily leave our countries?

There must be a deterrent; the corrupt ruling elite must not be allowed to take money out and park it in tax havens. Why is it legal to have tax havens where you have these secret accounts?

The world is changing; if the poor get poorer and the rich get richer, there will be a crisis soon. It will lead to a major crisis. The world bank, the IMF, the Asian developing bank must find a way to stop this plunder.

My third point is Islamophobia; there are 1.3 billion Muslims in the world. Muslims living across all continents. Islamophobia has grown since 9/11 and it is alarming. It is creating divisions.

Muslim women wearing Hijab has become a problem. It is seen as a weapon. A woman can take off her clothes in some countries but she can not put more on? And why has this happened? Because certain western leaders equated Islam with terrorism.

What is radical Islam? There is only ONE Islam and that is the Islam of Prophet (PBUH).

Why is there Islamophobia? How will an average American differentiate between a moderate Muslim and a radical Muslim? This has nothing to do with our religion.

We have faced Islamophobia while travelling abroad; and in European countries it is marginalising Muslim communities. And marginalisation creates room for and leads to radicalisation.

My point here is that we must address this. Post 9/11, war against “radical Islam” started, rather than Muslim leaders trying to explain to the West that there is no such thing as radical Islam.

There are radical fringes in every society, but the basis of ALL religion is compassion and justice.

Unfortunately the Muslim leaders were unable explain. We failed as the Muslim world to explain that there is no such thing as radical Islam. In Pakistan; we were the eye of the storm & our govt coined a term “enlightened moderation.”

About Suicide attacks; because the 9/11 bombers did suicide attacks, all sorts of theories came out like those about virgins in heaven. This bizzare thing happened where suicide attacks were equated with Islam.

No one bothered researching the Tamil Tigers and the Japanese Kamikaze bombers. No one blamed religion when they carried out suicide attacks and rightly so because no religion teaches violence.

Most important thing I want to say, to explain this Islamophobia, I’ve played cricket in the West & I know how the western mind works. One of the reasons for Islamophobia; in 1989 this book was published maligning, ridiculing our Prophet (PBUH).

The west could not understand what was the problem. They don’t look at religion the way that we do. And so; in their eyes Islam was an intolerant religion. It became a watershed.

And every 2-3 years someone would malign our Prophet (PBUH), Muslims would react, and the west would term them intolerant.

I blame some people in the West who provoked Muslims. But this is where majority of the Muslim leaders let the Muslim community down. Our Prophet (PBUH) was the witness to our Divine book, the Holy Quran.

The Prophet (PBUH) is the ideal we want to live up to. He created the state of Medina which was a welfare state.

I hear such strange things about Islam that it is against women and minorities. The state of Medina was the first that took responsibility of women; the widows, the poor. State announced all humans were equal; whatever the colour of their skin.

The Prophet (PBUH) announced that one of the greatest deeds is to free a slave. But if you have to; treat them as an equal member of the family. And as a result, the unprecedented happened, slaves became kings, and slave dynasties were formed.

Again; with minorities. In Islam,it was a sacred duty to protect places of worship of all religions. It was announced that all human beings were equal. The 4th caliph of Medina lost a court case against a Jewish citizen. No 1 was above the law.

When a Muslim community is unjust to a Minority, it is going against the teachings of our religion. Our Prophet (PBUH) lives in our heart, and when he is maligned, it hurts us.

I always imagined what I would say and educate the world about Islam if I ever stood on this forum.

In western society, the holocaust is treated with sensitivity because it hurts the Jewish community. So that’s the same respect we ask for; do not hurt our sentiments by maligning our Holy Prophet (PBUH). That is all we ask.

Now I want to move on to talk about Kashmir. When we came into power; my first priority was that Pakistan would be that country that would try its best to bring peace.

Joining the war on terror, Pakistan went through one of its worst periods. We lost 70,000 people to the war, 150 billion dollar to our economy.

We joined the war against the Soviets in the 1980’s. Pakistan trained the then “Mujahedeen” at the behest of the Americans. The Soviets called them terrorists, the Americans called them freedom fighters, then.

Soviets left, US packed up. Come 9/11, now that we had to join the US & tell the same indoctrinated people this is now not a “freedom struggle” but “terrorism”. They suddenly saw us as collaborators; it became a nightmare & they turned against us

70,000 Pakistanis lost their lives, due to a war Pakistan had nothing to do with. No Pakistani was involved in 9/11. So when we came into power; we decided to disband all militant groups. And this was a decision taken by all political parties.

I know that India keeps saying we have militant organisations but I invite UN observers to come and see for themselves. Secondly we started mending fences. We engaged with Afghanistan, Iran.

And then India; let me tell you my relationship with India. Because of cricket, which is followed with great passion in the subcontinent, I have great friends in India. I’ve always loved going to India.

So my first move was to reach out to Modi & I said let’s work our differences, leave our past behind & our main priority should be our people as we have similar problems; poverty & climate change. Highest number of people reside in subcontinent.

On zero response from India; we thought we should wait till the Indian elections since BJP is a nationalist party. Meanwhile, a Kashmiri boy radicalized by Indian forces blew himself up on an Indian convoy. Immediately India blamed Pakistan.

I told India to give us any proof and we’d act. We had actual proofs of Indian intervention in some terrorist attacks in our Balochistan province. We even caught their spy Kulbhushan Yadav who admitted to crimes.

Instead of sharing proofs of any Pakistani’s alleged involvement in Pulwama attack, they tried to bomb us. We retaliated. We captured their pilot; but returned him the next day because we did not want the situation to escalate.

In the election campaign, Mr.Modi used terms like “This was just a trailer. The movie is yet to come.” We thought post the elections we would go back to a normal relationship. But that was not the case.

Post the elections, we realised Indians were trying to push us on the FATF blacklist to economically isolate us. That’s when we realised there was an agenda.

And then the revocation of the article 370 happened which used to give Kashmir special status. They escalated the number of troops in Kashmir and put 8 million people under curfew.

Mr.President; I have to explain what the RSS is. Mr Modi is a “life member” of RSS. An organisation inspired by Hitler and Mussolini. They believed in racial superiority the same way that the Nazi’s believed in the supremacy of the Aryan race.

This Is open knowledge. RSS believes in the racial superiority of Hindus. It was hatred for the Muslims & Christians. They believe that the golden age of Hinduism halted b/c of Muslim rule. They openly stated hatred for Muslims and Christians.

This is all open knowledge. You can all just google the founding fathers of the RSS like Golwalkar. This ideology of hate murdered Mahatma Gandhi.

The hate ideology allowed RSS goons under Modi’s CM ship in Gujarat to butcher 2000 Muslims. The Congress party gave a statement that terrorists were being trained in RSS Camps. Modi was not allowed to travel to the US.

What kind of a mindset locks up 8 million people? Women, children, sick people. What I know of the west, they wouldn’t stand for 8 million animals to be locked up. These are humans.

Arrogance has blinded PM Modi and BJP. This racial superiority; what does he think is going to happen when he lifts the curfew?

You think Kashmiris will accept a new status quo under revocation of Article 370. 100,000 Kashmiris killed, thousands of women raped. UN reported on this. But the world did nothing & sees India as a huge market. Materialism has trumped humanity.

What will happen when the curfew is lifted? Modi says this is done for the prosperity of Kashmir. But what will happen when 8 million Kashmiris come out of a lockdown and face 900,000 troops? I fear there will be a bloodbath.

The way Kashmiris are caged like animals in homes. Their political leadership arrested, even pro India ones. 13,000 boys picked up & taken to unknown locations. Youngsters blinded with pellets. This will only lead to further radicalisation.

We fear another Pulwama incident. And for that, India will again blame Pakistan.

Indian FM says Pakistan has 500 terrorists waiting on the border. What will 500 terrorists do against 0.9 million troops? They just want an excuse, the catchword & mantra of Islamic terrorism.

The phrase Islamic terrorism allows India to dismiss human rights and further increase cruelty on the people of Kashmir.

Why would we ever want to disrupt peace? But it’s because there is no other narrative left for India. There will be another Pulwama incident because of their own cruelty in Kashmir, they will blame us and try to bomb us again.

Don’t you think that 180 Million Muslims will be radicalised in India as they see 8 million Kashmiris locked up? And what about 1.3 billion Muslims who are watching this knowing that this is only happening to Kashmiri Muslims.

How would the Jewish community react if even 8000 Jews were under lockdown? How would the Europeans react? How would any human community react? Are we children of a lesser God? Don’t u know this causes us pain.

We’ve been brought up watching films; a good guy doesn’t get justice…. he picks up a weapon, and a whole cinema cheers him on. What has been the response of the world community on any atrocities in the Muslim world?

I picture myself in Kashmir, locked up for 50 days. Hearing about rapes, the Indian army going around. Would I live with this humiliation? You are forcing people towards radicalisation.

When people lose the will to live, they pick up guns. A movie “Death Wish” depicts how a boy picks up guns and starts killing all muggers. If you are doing this to human beings, pushing them, you are leading to radicalisation.

This is one of the most critical times. Pakistan will be blamed should something happen. Two nuclear armed nations almost went head to head in February. And this is why the UN has a responsibility. This is why you came into being in 1945!

I feel we are back in 1939; Munich. Czechslovakia has been taken. Will the word community appease a market of 1.2bn or will it stand up for justice and humanity? If a conventional war starts between 2 countries, nuclear countries anything could happen.

Supposing a country 7 times smaller than its neighbour; faced with a question. Either you surrender, or you fight till the end. I ask myself this question. And my belief is ‘La ilaha illAllah’, there is no God but one. We will FIGHT!

I am not threatening here about a nuclear war; it is a worry. It is a test for the United Nations. You are the one who said Kashmir right to self determination. This is not the time for appeasement like that in 1939 in Munich.

This is the time when you, the United Nations, must urge India to lift the curfew; to free the 13,000 Kashmiris who have disappeared meanwhile and this is the time when the UN must insist on Kashmir’s right to self determination!
Link: https://www.brecorder.com/2019/09/27/52 ... -the-unga/

First right of reply:
Mr President,

I take the floor to exercise India's right of reply to the statement made by the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Every word spoken from the podium of this august Assembly, it is believed, carries the weight of history. Unfortunately, what we heard today from Prime Minister Imran Khan of Pakistan was a callous portrayal of the world in binary terms. Us vs Them; Rich vs Poor; North vs South; Developed Vs Developing; Muslims vs Others. A script that fosters divisiveness at the United Nations. Attempts to sharpen differences and stir up hatred, are simply put - “hate speech”.

Rarely has the General Assembly witnessed such misuse, rather abuse, of an opportunity to reflect. Words matter in diplomacy. Invocation of phrases such as pogrom”, “bloodbath”, “racial superiority”, “pick up the gun” and “fight to the end” reflect a medieval mindset and not a 21st century vision.

Prime Minister Imran Khan's threat of unleashing nuclear devastation, qualifies as brinksmanship, not statesmanship. Even coming from the leader of a country that has monopolized the entire value chain of the industry of terrorism, Prime Minister Khan's justification of terrorism was brazen and incendiary. For someone who was once a cricketer, and believed in the gentleman's game, today's speech bordered on crudeness of a variety reminiscent of the guns of Darra Adam Khel.

Mr President, now that Prime Minister Imran Khan has invited UN observers to Pakistan, to verify that there are no militant organizations in Pakistan, the world will hold him to that promise. Here are a few questions that Pakistan can respond to as a precursor to the proposed verification:

Can Pakistan confirm the fact that it is home to 130 UN designated terrorists and 25 terrorist entities listed by the UN as of today. Will Pakistan acknowledge that it is the only government in the world that provides pension to an individual listed in the Al Qaeda and Daesh sanctions list. Can Pakistan explain why here in New York, its premier bank - the Habib Bank - had to shut shop after it was fined millions of dollars over terror financing. Will Pakistan deny that the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) has put the country on notice for its violation of 20 of the 27 key parameters. And finally, would Prime Minister Khan deny to the city of New York that he was an open defender of Osama bin Laden.

Mr President, having mainstreamed terrorism and hate speech, Pakistan is trying to play its wild card as the newfound champion of human rights. This is a country that has shrunk the size of its minority community from 23% in 1947, to 3% today, and has subjected Christians, Sikhs, Ahmadias, Hindus, Shias, Pashtuns, Sindhis, and Balochis, to draconian blasphemy laws, systemic persecution, blatant abuse and forced conversions.

The newfound fascination for preaching human rights is akin to trophy-hunting of the endangered mountain goat, the Markhor.

Pogroms, Prime Minister Imran Khan Niazi, are not a phenomenon of today's vibrant democracies. We would request you to refresh your rather sketchy understanding of history. Do not forget the gruesome genocide perpetrated by Pakistan against its own people in 1971, and the role played by Lieutenant General AAK Niazi - a sordid fact that the honourable Prime Minister of Bangladesh reminded this assembly about earlier this afternoon.

Mr President, Pakistan's virulent reaction to the removal of an outdated and temporary provision that was hindering development and integration of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir stems from the fact that those who strive on conflict, never welcome the ray of peace. While Pakistan has ventured to upstream terrorism and downstream hate speech there, India has gone ahead with mainstreaming development in Jammu and Kashmir.

The mainstreaming of Jammu and Kashmir as well as Ladakh, in India's thriving and vibrant democracy, with a millennia-old heritage of diversity, pluralism, and tolerance is well and truly under way - irreversibly so. The citizens of India do not need anyone else to speak on their behalf, least of all those who have built an industry of terrorism from the ideology of hate.

I thank you, Mr President.

KLNMurthy wrote:IIRC this Munir Akram previously had to leave the US in disgrace because of a wife-beating scandal or something like that.
This Munir Akram fellow is a Swiss citizen. Does Paistan allow dual citizenship? IIRC one of their Finance Ministers (Shaukat Aziz?) was a US citizen.
salaam

Post by salaam »

Vayutuvan wrote:
KLNMurthy wrote:IIRC this Munir Akram previously had to leave the US in disgrace because of a wife-beating scandal or something like that.
This Munir Akram fellow is a Swiss citizen. Does Paistan allow dual citizenship? IIRC one of their Finance Ministers (Shaukat Aziz?) was a US citizen.
Yes it does, for 19 countries.

Further information:
https://www.quora.com/As-a-Pakistani-ca ... -passports

On the recent appointment of Munir "girlfriend beater" Chakram, here's an older article from 2003....just to put things in the correct perspective:

https://www.outlookindia.com/magazine/s ... ity/218720
Even at the best of times, he is known to be acerbic and pungent as they come, his anti-India vitriol alarming to the uninitiated. But last month, Pakistan's UN envoy, Munir Akram, directed his bile at his live-in girlfriend and in the process earned a big, black eye for his country. His dreadful conduct took the wind out of Pakistani sails as Islamabad began its tenure as a non-permanent member of the Security Council—and just as it was gearing to deliver some good rhetorical punches there on behalf of the world's Muslims. What could be more un-Islamic than a relationship outside wedlock which under Shariah is punishable by Taliban-style retribution?

Akram's stars plunged precipitously as New York's tabloids screamed details of Pakistan's "diplo-basher" and "abuser". The US State Department asked Islamabad to withdraw his diplomatic immunity so he could face criminal prosecution as a common man. The Pakistani establishment didn't know what hit them, struggling, as they were, with other difficult aspects of their tortuous relationship with Uncle Sam—border shootings and bombs dropping from American planes. They didn't need a new complication from one of their own. The famed corridors of the United Nations were suddenly abuzz with talk of Akram's physical, not verbal, violence.

In Indian diplomatic circles, Munir Akram is infamous for his rabid rhetoric against New Delhi. Kashmir or nukes, Akram's visceral anti-India tirades are legion. In fact, the Brothers Akram—Munir and Zamir (who was earlier posted in India)—are known for the poisonous missiles they launch regularly at India. Munir, as spokesman of his foreign office, once called Salman Khursheed "kirai ka Muslim".

But first the facts. On the morning of December 10, Akram's girlfriend, Marijana Mihic (pronounced Mariana), called the emergency 911 number at 1.36 am, asking for help. She told the police dispatcher that a man, whom she identified as her husband, had smashed her head into a wall. She said that her arm also was hurting and that he was a repeat offender. The dispatcher noted, "female caller states husband has diplomatic immunity". When the NY police arrived, guns on the ready and red light flashing, at the posh address in the upper reaches of Manhattan, Mihic changed her story a bit and said that Akram, 22 years her senior, was her "boyfriend". She had tried to leave after a heated argument but he grabbed her and she fell. Police officers noticed a bruise on her head but she declined a visit to the hospital.

Akram reluctantly identified himself to the police as Pakistan's UN ambassador. The police had no choice but to leave quietly in the face of the ultimate diplomatic perk—immunity from local laws. His press spokesman, Mansoor Suhail, told Outlook: "It was a minor incident blown out of proportion by some people. They continue to be friends. There would be no basis for a legal case when there is no complaint filed."

Unfortunately for Akram, the American criminal justice system works a little differently. Even if a victim doesn't file a complaint, the system can. Manhattan district attorney Robert Morgenthau is prepared to press misdemeanour assault charges once the diplomatic immunity is lifted. After all, pushing the case is none other than Majorie Tiven, the city commissioner in charge of UN, and a member of the powerful and wealthy Bloomberg family. In fact, Tiven is New York mayor Michael Bloomberg's sister and a social worker by training. On December 26, she wrote to the US mission at the UN, asking that Akram's immunity be waived. The request was forwarded to Washington, and two days later the State Department sent the summons to Pakistan.

Akram has never swum rougher seas. Suhail denied there was any deadline for Islamabad to lift Akram's immunity or to even respond to the Americans.But conventional wisdom at the UN is that Pakistan has little choice but to withdraw him, because for all practical purposes, Akram is compromised. "If he doesn't go, there'll always be this Damocles' sword hanging over him. He's been rendered ineffective," said a diplomat. There's already talk that Akram would be recalled soon.

Akramgate couldn't have come at a better time for the Americans who anticipate trouble in the Security Council on Iraq. Pakistan and Syria, the two Muslim countries on the Council, will feel duty-bound to oppose the war on Iraq for domestic reasons. Akram is said to be a master of the UN game—citing arcane rules, using dilatory tactics, creating distractions by proposing alternate resolutions. That the Americans chose to pursue the complaint against Akram shows it was a "pre-emptive strike"—a bit of hardball that keeps the pressure on Islamabad. As Richard Boucher, the State Department spokesman, acknowledged last week: "There are a variety of ways these things have been handled (in the past). And let's face it, it goes all the way from driving problems to espionage, the kinds of situations that arise. And sometimes, we can ask the person to leave."

The Big Apple took the bite out of Akram's armour. A veteran of multilateral diplomacy, he served for seven years in Geneva as Pakistan's permanent representative to the UN before taking on the assignment in New York last May. He came alone, having separated from his American wife two years ago, and suffered the loss of a grown son who reportedly fell from the balcony of a high-rise. The UN's Blue Book lists him as single, according to a well-informed source. He soon met Mihic, a 35-year-old to Akram's mature 57, and they started appearing at parties. A New Yorker told a Pakistani paper that Mihic regularly acted as his hostess and "was all over him, declaring her love for him" loudly.

Both Munir and Zamir, who is now ambassador to Nepal, have made their reputation on the one thing that serves Pakistani diplomats well—loud anti-India rhetoric. They have successfully parleyed their bellicosity to endear themselves to the army establishment. Two days after taking his post in NY, Munir Akram threatened the use of nuclear weapons against India. "India should not have the license to kill with conventional weapons while Pakistan's hands are tied regarding other means to defend itself," he said. In Geneva, he regularly accused India of harbouring the lowest of low intentions against Pakistan because it declined to sign the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty in the mid-1990s. Says G. Parthasarthy, India's former high commissioner to Pakistan: "In my view, the senior diplomats of the 1980s like Niaz Naik, Riaz Piracha, Humayun Khan and Shahryar Khan were sophisticated people who could put their view points without being abrasive." But the later crop led by the Akram brothers, Riaz Khokhar and Shamshad Ahmed went to another school, one where more bile means more clout with the army and the ISI.
Seema Sirohi In Washington With Amir Mir in Lahore

Watch from 9:10 onwards till 9:50 Jinn wali Bushra Bibi has given a statement:
Muhammad Ali Jinnah was the greatest leader of the last century.
Imran Khan and then Erdogan are the greatest leaders of this century. No one can be like them. Pakistan is fortunate to have a leader like Imran Khan. :rotfl:
Last edited by Vips on 01 Oct 2019 07:50, edited 1 time in total.

baba says munir akram is brotherinlaw of bajwa's younger bro.

Jeff Smith speaks about Indian and Pakistani speeches at UNGA

TRT World Now (Turkish news agency)

Vips wrote:
Congress should now walk the talk by rejecting the invitation that Pakistan wants to send to Manmohan Singh to be the chief guest for the inauguration of the Kartarpur Corridor. Pakistan wants to play the Sikh Card and basically play the same drama it did when they had called that joker Sidhu last year.
MMS has declined the invite.

contrary to the conventional wisdom, Dr. MMS was and is a bharateeya. IMHO and all that.

pankajs wrote:https://twitter.com/asimusafzai/status/ ... 3114165248
Dr. As¡m Yousafza¡ @asimusafzai

Three recent warnings in #Pakistan to #Shia, #Ahmadi & non-muslims while #Imrankhan is opening a tv channel to counter #Islamophobia In the world.
My half broken Urdu says ,"Khabardar Shia and Khabardar Qadiani" as the heading of the pamphlet. Rest all would be Wahabi discourse.

Bakis couldn't even digest the Howdy Modi event.

https://twitter.com/sidhant/status/1178732820912455680
Sidhant Sibal @sidhant

Aisha Farooqui the Pakistani consul general to Houston was removed by the Pakistani government after it was announced that the city will be hosting the biggest Indian diaspora event.
Plus
https://twitter.com/Wolfpack071/status/ ... 6598989825
Wolfpack @Wolfpack071

Permanent Representative to Geneva also fired for failing to pass resolution in UNHRC.
Such a successful vizit of Dimran to Yamreeka.

The latest round of firing of its reps at UN, UNHRC and Huston should tell you how much GoP is satisfied with its own performance this past week whatever be its public posturing.

Modi's high on pomp and rhetoric at howdy modi vs high on content and low rhetoric at UNGA was the right way for India.

It seems that there was a curfew like situation in Karachi:
https://www.timesnownews.com/sports/cri ... odi/498006
Itna Kashmir kiya ke Karachi bhool gaye', Gambhir shares video of security arrangement for Pak vs SL 2nd ODICricket
Oct 01, 2019
Sahil Bakshi
Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir shared the video of security arrangements for Pakistan vs Sri Lanka series with the caption: "Itna Kashmir kiya ke Karachi bhool gaye"
KEY HIGHLIGHTS
*Presidential level security has been deployed for the Pakistan vs Sri Lanka series
*Gautam Gambhir shared a video of high-level security arrangements for the series ahead of the 2nd ODI in Karachi'
*Itna Kashmir kiya ke Karachi bhool gaye', Gambhir captioned the video
After as many as 10 Sri Lankan players opted out of the Pakistan tour, a B-side was named by the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) for the series. Amid the security concern that was cited by the Lankans, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) decided to give the visitors Presidential level security for the 3-match ODI and 3-match T20I series. The tight security has seen apparent 'curfew-like' situation in Karachi where all the three ODIs have been scheduled to take place. Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir shared a video of the same on his Twitter account which seems to have been recorded by a Pakistan citizen.
“Itna Kashmir kiya ke Karachi bhool gaye,” tweeted Gambhir as he shared the video where two people seem to be mocking the level of security that has been deployed for the Sri Lanka series. Over 20 vehicles were deployed for the Sri Lankan team as they were heading to the National Stadium in Karachi for the second ODI on Monday.
On the matchdays, team buses can be spotted heavily being surrounded by armed security personnel on their way to the stadium from the team hotels. Not just that, the main roads leading from hotel to the stadium were also designated only for the team busses and were blocked from normal traffic. A strict security arrangement also saw armed personnel keeping a close eye on the spectators going in and out of the stadium.

So what is next for Dimran and Bajwa ?
Let the hordes loose on LOC or keep making noise and pray that one of the terrorist may be able to blow himself up spectacularly. maybe Muslims of Kashmir will revolt en-mass.
My guess is that Life will go on, Everyone will adjust to this new normal. Pakis will lament about the loss of PKR and betrayal by KSA. Dimran will be around for 2 more years before GHQ makes a move on him. Meanwhile China will spread its tentacles across all facets of Paki life.

PS: SMQ may not be around in next 3-6 months. We will see a new Paki EAM before long.

g.sarkar wrote:https://www.dawn.com/news/1508203/in-ma ... nvoy-to-un
In major reshuffle, Munir Akram to replace Maleeha Lodhi as Pakistan's envoy to UN
Naveed Siddiqui | Dawn.comUpdated September 30, 2019
n a major reshuffle in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Prime Minister Imran Khan has approved the appointment of ambassador Munir Akram as Pakistan's Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York, the Foreign Office announced on Monday.
Akram will replace Dr Maleeha Lodhi, who has held the office of Pakistan's envoy to the UN since February 2015.
Akram has served as Pakistan's permanent representative to the UN previously as well, holding the office for six years between 2002 and 2008.
The sudden announcement comes a day after Prime Minister Imran and Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi returned to Pakistan after wrapping up their visit to the United States to attend the 74th session of the UN General Assembly.
During his “Mission Kashmir” visit to New York, the prime minister addressed the 193-member UNGA, attended UN summit meetings, met a number of world leaders on the sidelines of the session including US President Donald Trump, addressed think-tanks and interacted with international media. Ambassador Lodhi accompanied the premier at a number of these engagements.
The government did not provide a reason for the replacement of Dr Lodhi. She has not been assigned any other portfolio as of now.

twitter

It’s difficult to beat Munir Akram as a diplomat. He is likely to be quite a hit in New York.
Errrrr... I think I should rephrase both those sentences...

10:45 AM - 30 Sep 2019
and some of the reactions 8)

I’d love to attend the first bash he throws in New York

I think he'll really sock it to them

Rubbing assault in our wounds

Kick-ass move by the administration

He will beat the competition!

Quite certain he'll hit the ground running

It is difficult to beat him

Hehehehe. The people of New York are definitely going to get a kick out of his return.

Don't beat about the bush. He is likely to hit a sixer on a (new) york-er.

Raising the bar, appointment of Riasat e Madina's rep in UN, a compulsive drunk & a lady (girlfriend) basher #MunirAkram @MarianaBaabar
Last edited by chetak on 01 Oct 2019 17:49, edited 1 time in total.

Non-resident baki accepting the complete failure of dimran's Yamreeka mission.

India's stand clear on Kashmir, won't accept third party mediation: Jaishankar – PTI

HIGHLIGHTS

- "India has been clear for 40 odd years that we would not accept mediation... and that whatever has to be discussed has to be discussed bilaterally,"

- US President Donald Trump in the recent past has offered mediation between India and Pakistan on the Kashmir issue.

WASHINGTON: Categorically rejecting any scope for third party mediation between India and Pakistan on Kashmir, external affairs minister S Jaishankar has said India's stand has been clear for decades and the two countries can discuss the issue bilaterally.

Jaishankar arrived here on Sunday night from New York after attending the annual General Assembly session of the United Nations along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

On the sidelines of the UN General Assembly session, the two leaders held bilateral meetings with dozens of world leaders.

"India has been clear for 40 odd years that we would not accept mediation... and that whatever has to be discussed has to be discussed bilaterally," Jaishankar told a group of Indian reporters on Wednesday when asked about US President Donald Trump's mediation remarks on Kashmir.

Trump in the recent past has offered mediation between India and Pakistan on the Kashmir issue.

"I'm clear in my mind as far as I'm concerned. That's what it's about. My point is very simple. Whose issue (is this?). Mine. Who has to take the call? Me. If it is my issue and I have to take the call; I will decide whether I want somebody's
mediation or not. You can offer anything you like, but if I decide it is not relevant to me then it does not happen," Jaishankar said.

"I am very clear in my mind. When people speak of it has gone up and down, where has it gone up and down? India has been very clear about it," he said when asked about the frequent offer of mediation by President Trump.

The External Affairs Minister said in half of his meetings on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly session, the issue of recent developments in Jammu and Kashmir popped up.

"In terms of (issue of) Article 370, I would find it hard to quantify, but I would say may be in about half my meetings it came up and may be in half of my meetings it didn't come up. It wasn't that every guy who came to me came with that burning question," he said.

Frankly, most of them were focused on the bilateral relations, he said, adding that even those who raised it, it was not necessarily the first issue of interest to them.

"I think in the case of people who showed interest, it was more like, we have read about developments on Kashmir and it would be useful for us to hear from you," he said.

Jaishankar said he apprised the leaders about what was happening and why it was happening in Kashmir.

The External Affairs Minister said that in many cases a lot of what he said was new to them.

"When you explain to them that Article 370 was temporary, when you tell them that it was part of the Constitution of India in which delegates from Jammu and Kashmir also took part, when you tell them that there was a provision within the Article for the modification which took place, and you explain to them that today major source of concern was the fact that Jammu and Kashmir is really not aligned with the rest of India on a whole set of issues and so therefore, how do you really run a country where one large state is misaligned with rest of the country.

"It's a very basic governance issue which people have ducked in the past. But because they ducked in the past doesn't mean that everybody keeps ducking in the future. I think, once you walked them (world leaders) through this, most of them understood it and got it," he said.

When specifically asked about the position of two countries – Malaysia and Turkey – on Kashmir, the minister said "obviously they have been given an understanding which clearly is very different from the facts on the ground".

Prime Minister Modi and Jaishankar's meeting came against the backdrop of the Indian government revoking the special status to Jammu and Kashmir and bifurcating the state into two Union Territories on August 5.

Tensions between India and Pakistan spiked after India abrogated provisions of Article 370 of the Constitution, evoking strong reactions from Pakistan.

India has categorically told the international community that the scrapping of Article 370 was an internal matter and also advised Pakistan to accept the reality.

jrjrao

Post by jrjrao »

Hold your coffee tight, and keep your keyboard safe:

https://twitter.com/TalatHussain12/stat ... 2240893952

(ducking and slithering away with haste now.....)