J&K Union Territory-2019

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: J&K Union Territory-2019

manjgu wrote:1) but i was disappointed with Modi ji's speech. It was a v good oppurtunity to convey the matter v clearly to the KM's. after a bit of developmental talks, Modi ji should have said ' pakis deluded u all for 70 years with empty rhetoric while they filled their pockets with begging money. Now pakis are a pauper and yourr future is with a strong, vibrant India and not with a beggar , failing Pakistan. All those who have taken up guns should give up and return as good honourble citizen and build a new J&K. Violence has led u fellas nowhere and will lead u to a dead end only. Dont destroy your life , families etc etc. " i think this bit was sorely missing from PMs speech. 2) nothing much will happen. after being drugged for 70 yrs with 370, now the drip is removed. thoda hangover and withdrawl hoga. time will heal everything.
If Modi-ji had mentioned TSP then the piglets across the border would have gotten a chance to internationalize the matter further.
By simply ignoring them Modi-ji has followed the path that it is purely internal, and it has rubbed the piglets across the border even harder.
VikramA

Post by VikramA »

arvin wrote:RT yesterday had interview with paki high commissioner to uk in its 'going underground' program. They seem to be in a diplomatic overdrive on this. prospects of kashmir slipping out of their hands and their only reason for existence has clearly rattled them.

i had the misfortune to look at some of their more sane (if they can be called that)paki talk show and they all know that now nothing can be done as one of them puts it" the cat is now out of the bag". then one of them says that paki history has shown that pakis "aawaam" judges its gov not by outcome but the efforts put into the cause to achieve that outcome. so expect a lot of bluster and bravado because 70 years of H&D has been vaporized. so what if they lost wars and lost half their country ,atleast Kashmir was there, now even that is gone. does it make me a sadist that i am enjoying their epic meltdown way too much :rotfl:
Last edited by VikramA on 11 Aug 2019 10:26, edited 1 time in total.

Kati...modi ji need not mention TSP by name... oblique reference was enough. everybody understands. it would have shown light on those who still harbour any doubts... and also offer a honourable path for those who wanna join the mainstream. IMHO.

“Give me a chance”, Rashid Engineer begged his interrogators (Former J&K MLA arrested by NIA in terror-funding case)
According to the sources in the army, Engineer cried over the phone and begged the army commander to help him “get away”. In return, the source said, Engineer expressed his willingness to “cooperate with (union home minister) Amit Shah”.

“He (Engineer) kept on saying that he could manage 7-8 assembly seats for the BJP were elections to take place in future,” the source said. The army commander told Engineer that he was not in a position to help him at all and that he should instead “cooperate with agencies.”

On August 9, Engineer was finally arrested by the NIA. On Saturday, he was sent to a four-day remand by a Delhi court.
Perhaps suffocation of the money conduits like the above (in addition to the security preparations) is responsible for relative calm in J&K. Hope it lasts.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/w ... 2019-08-11
Why PM Modi acted now on Kashmir?
In Kashmir, the situation has been far better than what it was in previous years. 'Operation All Out' ensured that top rung terror heads were eliminated. Strong vigil on the LoC and the International Border ensured that infiltration was getting checked. In the first five months of this year, 101 terrorists were killed including 23 foreigners. After the Pulwama suicide bombing attack, the crackdown on the terror network has been effective.
New Delhi, August 11, 2019
The question is why did Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose now to do what he has done with Article 370? There was no big election in sight so as to create a build up for electoral gain. Neither was there any major crisis or any embarrassing situation for the government to find a succour in Kashmir. Perhaps, this was the best time to enact the best of action story for the Modi-Shah Combine. The 'now' time had several elements going in the favour of the Combine - a stable domestic political situation, weak Pakistan, a hungry desperate Trump and pre-occupied power blocs. It is said that things happen when the right time comes. History will judge whether the 'master stroke' is right or wrong.
Domestic Front
On the domestic front Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah are, for the time being, very comfortably placed as the opposition seems to have simply gone into oblivion. With Rahul Gandhi deciding to lie low, the Congress party is in its most unconfident state. The rest of the Opposition too seems to have fallen flat. With no big contender in front, the government is comfortably galloping ahead. In the NDA, all the allies put together appear minuscule before the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and within the party, the hold of the combine is absolute. No one dare go against any decision taken by the big bosses. In Kashmir, the situation has been far better than what it was in previous years. 'Operation All Out' ensured that top rung terror heads were eliminated. Strong vigil on the LoC and the International Border ensured that infiltration was getting checked. In the first five months of this year, 101 terrorists were killed including 23 foreigners. After the Pulwama suicide bombing attack, the crackdown on the terror network has been effective. The NIA action against the separatist leaders has exposed their real faces before the Kashmiris. The incarceration of hardcore separatist leaders like Asiya Andrabi, Shabbir Shah, Masrat Alam and a few others have reaffirmed the might of the investigating agencies. The Kashmiri understands that most of the separatist leaders have been using the so-called 'azadi movement' for filling their coffers and settling their sons, daughters and relatives out of the state and country. After demonetisation and the crackdown on hawala operations, the Valley witnessed a drastic reduction in stone pelting incidents. In fact, Hurriyat leader Maulvi Omar Farooq, who is the top religious head of Muslims in Kashmir, had started talking about other subjects like drug addiction, and was also openly advocating for the return of the exiled Kashmiri Pandit community. He even got the Hurriyat to form a coordination committee to work for the return of the Pandit community. For the first time in 30 years, the Valley did not observe a shutdown or protests when Amit Shah reached the state after becoming the Home Minister. The central government's ' back to village' programme, which saw government officials reach villages and far-flung areas, was well received by the locals.

https://twitter.com/szarabi/status/1160220611618193410
Siddharth Zarabi @szarabi

"Pakistan has given up on azadi & shut the door on us. Resistance will now be a futile exercise"
That is the sense of the street in #Kashmir even as there is visible disappointment about the perceived loss of the special status. "Modi has shocked & surprised Pakistan again" (1)
* Small demonstrations have happened, injuries & two deaths claimed. Yet, consensus gaining ground in #Kashmir that no major flare up will happen as #Pakistan has been rendered incompetent to do anything."UN jaane se kya hoga? UN toh Srinagar mein itne saal se!" (2)

* No mass resignations in govt or local police services. Reports of a RPO quitting in protest. However, what is key to note is the SP rank officer, said to be related to Sajjad Lone, had ALREADY quit 20 days ago! @ahmedalifayyaz tells me his resig not linked to 370, 35A move (3)

* Strategy of total communications lockdown played key role in preventing mobilisation of crowds, organised violence & prevented the unnecessary loss of life. "Communciation lockdown while regrettable to an extent, are unavoidable". Detaining troublemakers & politicians helped (4)

* All eyes now on Eid & immediately afterwards - especially in South Kashmir hotspots.
Constant, nearly hourly security reviews taking place.
Bottomline: 370, 35A gone, but an ineffectual Pakistan has shocked many Kashmiri's more than anything else. Blinkers gone for many. (5/5)

Bakis still have time approx. of about 2 months to act and galvanize the separatists else initiative will be lost for ever.

https://www.dailyo.in/politics/article- ... 31845.html
The Pathos of Pakistan: With Article 370 gone, Pakistan loses its 'jugular vein' and its face - Vikram Sood @Vikram_Sood
Barely a fortnight after Imran Khan returned from his visit to the US — “triumphant” after President Trump offered to mediate the Kashmir issue — the Indian government announced the revocation of Articles 370 and 35A, leaving Imran and the Pakistani Army in impotent rage.

Pakistan lost what it used to call its “jugular vein”.

With the revocation of Article 370, Imran Khan and the Pakistani Army must be seen doing something to display their anger against India. Even if they cannot actually do something, they should at least be seen pretending to do something. If not, there will be trouble back home from the political opposition, jihadis — and the Army itself.

Of course, Pakistan can also always unleash the 30,000 to 40,000 militants in that country “who have been trained and fought in some part of Afghanistan or Kashmir”, as was admitted by Prime Minister Imran Khan during his US visit. Reportedly, the delegation that accompanied Khan agreed to take action against militants. The words cannot be hollow as the action (or the lack of it) can be easily verified by American or British intelligence.

So, Imran Khan now has a choice — either he defies the US and UK and lets the militants run loose. Or, he can defy the Pakistani Army and order a shutdown of all terror camps.

With the FATF to discuss Pakistan’s future as a responsible state in the next few months, does the country even have the option of unleashing the militants?

Not unless it has a death wish.

Chankian:

Phone is going to work, but only to call Polis.
CRPF's standard official number 14111, officials said, is not working due to the communication clampdown in the Kashmir Valley.
A Srinagar-based CRPF helpline on Sunday notified a new number for people, especially Kashmiris, who require help for their families or are in distress post the abrogation of provisions of Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir.
The ‘madadgaar’ helpline posted a message on Twitter, saying people can call on its mobile number 9469793260 “for any assistance or updates”.

Its standard official number 14111, officials said, is not working due to the communication clampdown in the Kashmir Valley.

..(From News18:) The helpline will also share with the callers the active contact numbers of local police stations so that people can further get in touch with them to obtain or send information about their near and dear ones, the official said.
Meanwhile: Ominous words

The Jammu and Kashmir Police has said the situation in the state was peaceful and no untoward incident has been reported in last one week. "There has been no untoward incident barring minor stone-pelting which was dealt with on the spot and was nipped in the bud," Director General of Police Dilbagh Singh said on Saturday evening.

Not-so-good: Aug 11, 2019, 4:01 pm (IST): Curfew reimposed in Srinagar. Announcement to be made shortly.

Good: Kishtwar District Development Commissioner Angrez Singh Rana said the curfew was relaxed in a phased manner in different parts of the town uptill 7 pm. "The curfew was first relaxed area-wise from 12.30 pm to 1.30 pm and 3.30 pm to 5 pm and was extended till 2 pm and 7 pm," Rana told news agency PTI.

Aug 11, 2019
10:36 am (IST)

The officials said that curfew was relaxed in Bhadarwah town and it's adjoining areas in Doda district in a phased manner. In Kargil, the three-day-long strike and protests against revoking of provisions of Article 370 were called off by Join Action Committee (JAC).

Dimran-whine (Al Jazeera, no need to post link): :((
India's Kashmir move 'inspired by Nazi ideology': Khan
Pakistani idioterrorist PM says India's revocation of the special status of Muslim-majority Kashmir was inspired by 'Nazi ideology'.

And add two more bowbow names to the XXXXXXXWithTerrorists List:
Deepti Misri is Associate Professor of Women and Gender Studies at the University of Colorado Boulder.
Mona Bhan is Associate Professor of Anthropology and South Asian Studies at Syracuse University.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 11 Aug 2019 17:18, edited 1 time in total.

https://twitter.com/rammadhavbjp/status ... 6269735936
Ram Madhav @rammadhavbjp

Heights of frustration from d ringleader of global terror empire Pakistan. Threat to democratic world is from Pak-sponsored Jehadi terror, not from India. We have undone Jinnah’s Two Nation theory n Sheik Abdullah’s Three Nation theory today. Can IK end religious fascism in Pak?

Western Media run into REALLY hard times:
WSJ on Pak jehad

Pakistan's New Plight In Kashmir: What To Do About The Jehadists
Trikaal

Post by Trikaal »

UlanBatori wrote:Where is Kathua? Jammu I presume?
A small dogra town near Punjab border. Economically backward compared to Jammu or Srinagar. Lots of youths join the army from this region.

J&K Union Territory-2019

An open letter to Kashmiris - Mohammed Wajihudin - TNN | Aug 11, 2019, 01:00 IST

Dear Kashmiri brothers and sisters,

It is easy to pontificate from a secure perch. While you have been forced to stay indoors, cut off from the world, I pen this missive, seated at my air-conditioned office. For how long can one see the historic events unfold and say nothing? After all, bottled up thoughts and fettered feelings needed an outlet, you see. So, here I go.

My first brush with Kashmir was while I was studying at Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) in the mid-1980s. A Kashmiri classmate, like most Kashmiri boys and girls — tall and handsome — spoke Urdu with a different accent and it was a sheer joy to just listen to him. It took me sometime to understand why he pronounced Gandhi as Gandi and waqt (time) as waqat.

We would eagerly wait for this Kashmiri friend to return from vacations; rather, we awaited the pouches of pistachios and other dry fruits he brought for us. Those pistachios were crunchy and tasted heavenly.

You see, no conversation about Kashmir is complete without the mention of heaven and paradise. Wasn’t it Mughal emperor who couldn’t help commending Kashmir’s enchanting beauty? Jahangir also got the beautiful Shalimar Bagh built near Dal Lake. I have never taken a shikara ride on the but my younger brother who was there last summer tells me it really feels wonderful. I envy how God blessed Kashmir with so much beauty.

Sorry for the digression. One does get distracted by beauty. And you have got a whole lot of bewitchingly beautiful sites, something tour-operators justifiably market in maudlin prose.

To get back to Article 370 and 35A, I know you are outraged. But if you reflect honestly, you may accept how this “special status” remained an albatross around your neck. How it impeded your path to progress. And how it became a tool for Hindutva forces to demonise and vilify you. You must now smell the change in the air, reconcile with the new reality brought in by the brute parliamentary majority of BJP. And the geo-political condition around the globe.

You may ask why I am addressing you and not the government. Here is why. I remember meeting Sajjad Lone, leader of Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference, at a meeting at Mumbai Press Club half a decade ago. At that closed-door meeting, I had huge arguments with Lone. “Mr Lone, don’t fuel separatism. Stay with India and tell the youth in Kashmir to get mainstreamed and join our growth story. Think about Muslims in rest of the country too,” I said. He came back with a harsh response: “You have not lost your father and sons. We don’t care what happens to you.”

One can understand Sajjad’s pain (his father Abdul Ghani Lone was killed at a rally in Srinagar in 2002) and sympathise with him and many others. But don’t forget the Kashmiri Pandits who were driven out of their homeland when you talk of the dreaded dark nights and presence of jackboots on your soil. Home is dear to everyone and only the homeless know the true value of homes.

Dear friends, when you reflect honestly you will also realise the Himalayan blunder some leaders of the secessionist movement committed. Aided and abetted by Pakistan, they mischievously turned a battle for territory, a purely political battle, into a sort of jihad, a religious war. The bands of boys, many barely out of their teens, who should have been learning to make their lives useful were indoctrinated to don military fatigues and carry automatic weapons. Such jihadists got valorised as “martyrs” when they fell to bullets of the military. And their “mission” was romanticised as if their fight was a fight to reclaim, not a piece of land, but the soul of Islam.

An independent Kashmir is a chimera, an illusion. It is time to be realistic. The lives lost cannot be brought back; the youth wasted cannot be salvaged. But you can protect and prosper with what is not lost. Some of your discredited leaders are calling the defanging of Article 370 and 35A a conspiracy to turn Kashmir into an “open jail.” Don’t buy the propaganda that you will be “colonised” by India, your territory stolen, and your dignity tattered. You are part of us.

Once the curfew is lifted and normalcy restored, come out of your homes. Pick up the pen and not weapons. You don’t need to look elsewhere but to the life of the Prophet for inspiration. The Prophet had said: “The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr

CheersImage

now pakis remembering simla agreement...lahore ... yada yada. i still believe Modi should have rubbed paki nose ... should have told the kashmiri awam that pakis sold u dreams which were not based on reality. took u towards terrorism.. kashmiri killed kashmiri...it cant do a shit about you..A beggar state cant support u...u fate is with india. lump it.

UlanBatori wrote:Western Media run into REALLY hard times:
WSJ on Pak jehad

Pakistan's New Plight In Kashmir: What To Do About The Jehadists
Another copy and paste article, I guess these people get the same memo and write up the same crap, using the same language.

"India bombed Pakistan for the February Pulwama attack after a Pakistan based group claimed responsibility even though the bomber was a local Kashmiri youth" :twisted:

These people over the years have learnt to spin the truth in a way that the message is exactly the opposite of what the facts stated would suggest. That really is the 'art of journalism' - not honest reporting. They cannot alter the specific facts of an event - person A shot person B, but they obfuscate the details and add/delete key phrases which would make you think that person B was entirely innocent and a paragon of virtue, deserving of a medal instead of a bullet. It is the target audience of the readership that really matters to the journalist and cognitive dissonance being what it is, people easily accept the messaging instead of the real truth behind it.

Incidentally, I was able to see the entire article initially with the google search technique, but now it won't let me revisit again.

Why ji?

The intellectual class of bakistan, whatever it is worth, has already reached that conclusion. Hajam Sethi's two episode was a clear as it can be and that is why he was taken off the air. Other too have reached the same conclusion even when they are all fire and brimstone.

IF the baki establishment does not respond and get the current status reversed the the bakis awam, the majority of whom are still delusional, will get the message. Launching a few bombs at India and downing a few plane will not do if the status is not reversed. What are the chances?

What goes for Baki awam also goes for Kashmiri awam. No matter what whirlwind bakis manage to create worldwide or on the LOC, if they cannot get the status reversed it is game over for baki narrative & prestige in the valley.

On the last one, some reports on the ground are already reporting a general despondency towards the new status and baki help. I had posted the twitter chain before. Given all the above the verbalizing the nose business does nothing extra for India.

https://openthemagazine.com/essays/poli ... -regained/
Kashmir Regained
But the wounds inflicted over the last seven decades by three cliques who used and abused power will not be easily healed
Home Minister Amit Shah raised a basic question while piloting, with authority and conviction, the legislation that abolished Article 370: how temporary is temporary? Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah have answered the question. Temporary is limited. All limits have been crossed. Article 370 is, to use an appropriate phrase, history.

BUT THE WOUNDS inflicted upon Jammu and Kashmir over the last seven decades by three cliques who used and abused power will not be easily healed. Sheikh Abdullah, whose struggle for the people’s emancipation and solidarity against Pakistani aggression deserve praise, became a different person once he was seated in office by Nehru. He began to use the professed autonomy granted by Article 370 as a shield against accountability. He rigged the first elections, held in 1951, by a simple ruse. No one was permitted to contest against the National Conference. He won 75 seats out of 75. Nehru and the Congress not only indulged this, but subverted elections in their own ways when they got a chance after the dismissal and arrest of Sheikh Abdullah. It was the beginning of an ominous trend that destroyed the Kashmiri voters’ faith in democracy.

The ruling families of Kashmir, abetted by the Congress,
became bounty hunters, trading adherence to accession for
widespread corruption. There was hardly any semblance of
governance. Moreover, Article 370 denied rights and reservations that had evolved within India’s democracy to the Kashmiri people

The first honest elections were held in 1977 when Morarji Desai was Prime Minister. In 1980, the Congress came back to power in Delhi and electoral corruption returned to Srinagar, reaching a dangerously corrosive high in 1987.
t is unsurprising that the political cabals who milked Article 370 opposed its abolition so vehemently. The Congress even risked a rebellion that could see the beginnings of a split if it is not calmed by concession. The rebels saw the massive surge of popular support for Prime Minister Modi and found their party once again swimming towards a shipwreck. If Congress does not go into reverse gear, its future will move from dim to dark. The people of India know that PM Modi took this decision in the national interest, not for partisan reasons. If the BJP merely wanted votes, surely it would have abolished Article 370 before the General Election rather than after.

For Prime Minister Modi, conviction is the alchemy that transforms the seemingly impossible into the perfectly possible. That is his strength. He believes, therefore he acts.

Amit ShahArticle 370Jammu and KashmirJawaharlal NehrumisgovernanceNarendra ModiNational ConferencePDPSardar Patel
openmagazine seems to be the only patriotic news portal other than swarajyamag. GIve them wide circulation

https://openthemagazine.com/special/wil ... oil-in-jk/
Will the Milk Come to a Boil in J&K?
In a few years though, it was clear to most Kashmiris, including those who had taken up arms, that the Indian state would never become weak enough to part with Kashmir. It was then that they realised that it was better to make money in connivance with the mainstream political leadership. The ordinary Kashmiri, till recently, spoke of “aar ya paar” as an end to the Kashmir imbroglio. “You may hear a few youngsters still saying ‘Jeeve Jeeve Pakistan’, but the fact remains that older generations hate Pakistan now,” says a senior official. “They know ‘paar’ means a sacrifice of thousands of Kashmiris once again and yet this paar will never happen,” his colleague adds. And now, with the Centre’s decision, the ‘aar’ is pretty much final.

Among the Kashmir police, which has been at the forefront of fighting militancy, officers talk of how Kashmir bore the brunt of its leadership “running with the hare and hunting with the hounds”. “Kashmiri boys were offered this spiel that a Pakistan-trained terrorist is equal to ten soldiers of the Indian Army,” one of the police officers says, “And then they surrender to us in droves or are killed within minutes of a siege.” The Kashmiris must come out of this self-created illusion, he says.
As helicopters hover one after another above the Shankaracharya hill, there is palpable anger among Kashmiris against the Valley’s two mainstream parties, the National Conference and the People’s Democratic Party. “When she felt the ground beneath her slipping, Mehbooba (PDP leader) started running around in the middle of the night like someone possessed,” says Mohammed Ashraf. He is in Batmaloo, outside the Police Control Room, finding a way to reach the ‘bod aspatal’, as Kashmir’s main general hospital is referred to, for the treatment of his sick son.

“I tell you, more than separatist groups, mainstream politicians in Kashmir ended up justifying separatism more,” says the staffer of a senior bureaucrat who has come to pick up a satellite phone for his boss from the police headquarters. Inside, a cop, who is from south Kashmir, speaks of how Mehbooba Mufti would give hours of hearing to even an ordinary Jamaat-e-Islami worker. “Why wouldn’t he feel empowered?” he says.

Senior police officers tell stories about how Hurriyat leaders would be given ultimate power, not by Pakistan, but forces owing allegiance to the Indian state. “When a Hurriyat leader landed at the airport he would be given access to the VIP lounge. The chief of the anti-hijacking unit at the airport would carry his bag. Tell me, how would a young Kashmiri who saw this feel any respect for India!” says one.
Those who have fought militancy, sometimes putting their lives in grave danger, are happy. “You have no idea how much pressure would be exerted on us sometimes from the political leadership to set free overground workers of terrorists who were also doubling up as workers of these parties. Now they can do nothing because I am directly answerable to the Home Ministry,” says one. “My boss now is Amit Shah,” laughs his batchmate.
Last edited by vijayk on 11 Aug 2019 20:10, edited 1 time in total.

Yndians be very fearful. Baki awam is gunning for you!

https://twitter.com/Natsecjeff/status/1 ... 4158063616
F. Jeffery @Natsecjeff

People in Neelam valley (AJK) are annoyed over Pakistani military's inaction against India. Anger has been brewing up. Armed men want to cross LoC into Indian Kashmir to fight but govt is blocking them. Remember,several civilian houses were hit in Neelum in recent Indian shelling

What everyone including the press needs to be reminded of is that J&K is now more democratic than in the past. It still has a state legislature with the same number of seats, more women can be directly appointed as legislators by the Lt. Governor, and tenure is now 5 years instead of 6. The UT of J&K still has 4 seats in Parliament. As a UT, J&K has more representation than a US territory like Puerto Rico, which doesn't have federal/central representation.

What J&K loses is - no state law can supercede laws made by Parliament and other Indians can migrate into J&K and have voting rights.

Pakis, Jihadis, ISI, ISIS are one hand, Congress is the other hand

Mort Walker wrote:What everyone including the press needs to be reminded of is that J&K is now more democratic than in the past. It still has a state legislature with the same number of seats, more women can be directly appointed as legislators by the Lt. Governor, and tenure is now 5 years instead of 6. The UT of J&K still has 4 seats in Parliament. As a UT, J&K has more representation than a US territory like Puerto Rico, which doesn't have federal/central representation.

What J&K loses is - no state law can supercede laws made by Parliament and other Indians can migrate into J&K and have voting rights.
While the highlighted portion is true there is no need to stress that point. It it the one thing that drives the propaganda with the logic that Yindus from the rest of the country will swamp the Muslims of Kashmir.

It is also likely that GOI will frame some kind of domicile requirement to "partially" fence J&K off from the rest of India.

Mort Walker wrote:What everyone including the press needs to be reminded of is that J&K is now more democratic than in the past. It still has a state legislature with the same number of seats, more women can be directly appointed as legislators by the Lt. Governor, and tenure is now 5 years instead of 6. The UT of J&K still has 4 seats in Parliament. As a UT, J&K has more representation than a US territory like Puerto Rico, which doesn't have federal/central representation.

While the highlighted portion is true why stress that. It it the one thing that drives the propaganda with the logic that Yindus from the rest of the country will swamp the Muslims of Kashmir.

It is also likely that GOI will frame some kind of domicile requirement to "partially" fence J&K off from the rest of India.
I don't think GOI will "partially" fence off J&K as the the new UTs are organized like Puducherry. The whole point is to allow other Indians to settle in J&K and needs to be stressed.
J&K to function like Puducherry: The provision of Article 239A applicable to Puducherry UT will be applicable to new J&K Union Territory.

Primus wrote: These people over the years have learnt to spin the truth in a way that the message is exactly the opposite of what the facts stated would suggest. That really is the 'art of journalism' - not honest reporting. They cannot alter the specific facts of an event - person A shot person B, but they obfuscate the details and add/delete key phrases which would make you think that person B was entirely innocent and a paragon of virtue, deserving of a medal instead of a bullet. It is the target audience of the readership that really matters to the journalist and cognitive dissonance being what it is, people easily accept the messaging instead of the real truth behind it.
Please see this brief video by Francious Gautier

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3NVmKK ... e=youtu.be

The sad part is most of the crap that these whities get is from Indian "Hindu" sell outs. The NYT by-line by that punk Jeffrey Gettleman is hilarious: "Indian photographers managed to work around a communication blockade to publish their images" :-). And if you see the pictures, they don't look as alarming at all. You could go to any run down street in some village (or even my city of Bangalore) or some public hospital, and the same pictures will emerge. Clearly, there is a narrative in Jeefry's arse-hole' mind (inspired by his deep state), which the Indian slaves are helping push.

I personally don't have a problem showing KM disaffection. But it must be balanced and in context. Truth must not be upended. As Francio mentions, its is the KMs who are demanding secession based on Islamic extremist ideology, TSP is sending pigLeTs and putting its entire state apparatus to fuel terror, and India is reacting. Its not a normal situation. And even while narrating this, one doesn't not have to take a moral angle, just present both sides. KMs will say they want secession, India says f!ck you, we are largest democracy but that does not mean we have to accede to your demand for secession because you pray to a different God
Last edited by CRamS on 11 Aug 2019 20:45, edited 1 time in total.

pankajs wrote:Yndians be very fearful. Baki awam is gunning for you!

F. Jeffery @Natsecjeff

People in Neelam valley (AJK) are annoyed over Pakistani military's inaction against India. Anger has been brewing up. Armed men want to cross LoC into Indian Kashmir to fight but govt is blocking them. Remember,several civilian houses were hit in Neelum in recent Indian shelling
Let me repeat it again. NatSecJeff is in fact Faran Jaffrey, a paki sitting in Pakistan, working for a shady "think tank" most probably funded by TFTAs. He is more like JihadiJeff or FartingFarhan. It's a psyops handle. Don't give it credibility

Using "NatSec" and "Jeff" makes the gullible think that he is a gora, which automatically adds authority among the SDREs. Kind of like Kugelmann whose knowledge about India and Pakistan is from Wikipedia searches.

The WSJ article is a laugh riot. It actually makes the argument "Pakistan has no choice except to send the Jihadis into India. Otherwise they might join ISIS". apparently Pakis have only two career options. Join Lashkar e Toiba or ISIS

pankajs wrote: While the highlighted portion is true why stress that. It it the one thing that drives the propaganda with the logic that Yindus from the rest of the country will swamp the Muslims of Kashmir.

I don't think GOI will "partially" fence off J&K as the the new UTs are organized like Puducherry. The whole point is to allow other Indians to settle in J&K.
J&K to function like Puducherry: The provision of Article 239A applicable to Puducherry UT will be applicable to new J&K Union Territory.
The primary opposition of BJP wrt J&K A.370 was "Ek desh mein do Vidhan, do Pradhan aur Do Nishan nahi chalenge" (A single country can't have two constitutions, two prime ministers, and two national emblems)" as stated by SP Mukherjee. That has been taken care of.

It is unlikely that Modi led GOI will allow "mass" migration of outsiders from all over India to settle the Kashmir valley in the near term i.e. say in 10 years. That is why I think "partial" fencing of Kashmir valley will happen similar to Himachal for example.

What I mean by "partial" is that while folks will be allowed but the numbers will be controlled instead of a the free for all that we have for say Mumbai.

Anujan wrote:
pankajs wrote:Yndians be very fearful. Baki awam is gunning for you!

Let me repeat it again. NatSecJeff is in fact Faran Jaffrey, a paki sitting in Pakistan, working for a shady "think tank" most probably funded by TFTAs. He is more like JihadiJeff or FartingFarhan. It's a psyops handle. Don't give it credibility

Using "NatSec" and "Jeff" makes the gullible think that he is a gora, which automatically adds authority among the SDREs. Kind of like Kugelmann whose knowledge about India and Pakistan is from Wikipedia searches.
True. I was just warning yindu folks here to go shiver in the dark corners of their temples.

Anujan wrote:The WSJ article is a laugh riot. It actually makes the argument "Pakistan has no choice except to send the Jihadis into India. Otherwise they might join ISIS". apparently Pakis have only two career options. Join Lashkar e Toiba or ISIS
Author sounds like a baki.

there will be some song dance in the media...the pakis are impotent in its truest sense. I wont be surprised if the awam of POK goes gunning for PA for the misery they have brought on the residents of POK and also the awam of J&K goes gunning for PA for the laara lappa the pakjabi army has given the kahmiris. Immy the dimmy has to be seen to be doing something even if its on twitter.

For the record, Rubaiya Saeed is Mehabooba's sister. That forward makes it sound like it is her daughter.

Sanju wrote:For the record, Rubaiya Saeed is Mehabooba's sister. That forward makes it sound like it is her daughter.
I heard she was not kidnapped actually but Mufti just used that trick to fool Weepy Singh (dumb liberal) to release terrorists. What is the credibility?

Why do posters post tweets from random guys like Jaffery unless there is some reason.

If we go back to not allowing others to buy property in J&K and settle, we will be back to status on 4th Aug. What would have this whole exercise then achieved ?
Terrorism needs money and arms which after UT status would be curtailed. Day to day Terrorism will certainly go down further in and around Valley while there still might be big bangs once in a year. As far alienation and sense of entitlement among KM's, That would take over a decade or so to get corrected. Don't see it happening anytime soon.
Meanwhile all eyes will be on SC as some of the parties have approached SC. I hope SC dismisses the petition and not entertain it.

UB Ji, Who are Deepti Misri and Mona Bhan and why are they in your post ? By the surname, they are KP girls.

vijayk wrote:
Sanju wrote:For the record, Rubaiya Saeed is Mehabooba's sister. That forward makes it sound like it is her daughter.
I heard she was not kidnapped actually but Mufti just used that trick to fool Weepy Singh (dumb liberal) to release terrorists. What is the credibility?
Its a open secret and everyone in Kashmir was aware of it. Weepy fell for it and triggered terrorism formally in J&K.
Mufti was a bonafide Jehadi and was behind riots against KP's in Anantnag in 1986 during NC govt. Temples were destroyed, businesses looted and Hindus were massacred but the news was buried lest Muslim sensibility gets offended.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 623004.cms

A really good article by a Kashmiri journalist.

Post by khan »

The real question is, will Pakistan do something stupid to respond, or will they be smart be happy that they haven’t yet lost PoK?

As a card carrying jingo, I hope they do something stupid & give India the pretext needed to reunite Kashmir & build a land bridge to Central Asia.

This will have many positive side-effects like giving India more say about what is going on in Afghanistan which will be better for overall regional stability.

From a FB Post:
My son Nakuul n self were on board a naval ship yesterday for a shoot. He asked,
"Dad, what is this #Article370 & #Kashmir controversy all newspapers are talking about and why is #Pakistan so upset? Will this result in war with Pakistan now?"

I told him, "Look, 5 years ago, Facebook acquired Instagram. Isn't it? Now, if Mark Zuckerberg announces that both instagram & facebook will be streamlined and will have common login accounts, will Google or Microsoft or any other company be offended?"

Nakuul said "Of course not!! When the whole world knows that instagram belongs to facebook, then why should anyone bother if they merge both into common account. In fact, it is good for users because they will have a seamless experience."

I said "Exactly!! Same is the case with Kashmir as well. Few decades ago, Kashmir officially acceded to India, which is equivalent to instagram being officially acquired by Facebook. But temporarily, they had to continue using their own Constitution, which is equivalent to instagram using a separate login account.

And now, what has happened is that Govt of India has streamlined the accession so that Constitution of India applies to Kashmir as well, which is equivalent to streamlining the facebook-instagram login in order to use common account."

He exclaimed "ohh that's all the issue is all about!! Thanks for explaining it using simple analogy. Now I will fully support India because what they are doing is perfect and in the best interest of everyone. Most of my friends in industry are actually confused with the news and there are lot of misinformation spread over this by our liberal newspapers. I will use this facebook-instagram analogy to explain them & demistify their confusion. Thanks again Dad."

Posting in full - oh, I can't!!

Someone pls post the whole text of that article.
We can't allow just the sh1ts to control the narrative.

View: I'm no more an outsider in Kashmir
With its diversity of ethnicities and religious communities, Jammu and Kashmir has been nothing but a microcosm of plural India.
By Aarti Tikoo Singh
, ET Bureau|

Read more at:
//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/70623004.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst