2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Re: 2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Could it be Anita Pratap?- Married now to a Norwegian Diplomat since 1999- nice? These peaceful Scandinavian countries are all over arent they,

1st Marriage broke down in the 90's after kashmir reporting

Rahul M wrote:J Gopikrishnan
@jgopikrishnan70
Shiv Ratri Night-Talking to veteran Intelligence officials is always nice experience. Nice to know three lady journos used to liaison with Kashmir terror leaders in early 90s. One lady journo crossed line- fall in love with terrorist & back- later caught&now parked in Europe

https://twitter.com/jgopikrishnan70/sta ... 4882659328
Harinder Baweja

what is this paki disease that all these congis have been afflicted with :mrgreen:

twitter

Congress new recruit Shatrughan Sinha is spotted in Lahore attending a qawali function

Shaheen Bagh Islamists put seven conditions to SC-appointed interlocutors to end their illegal occupation of public road: Here is what they are

The sheer arrogance of these anti-India protestors at Shaheen Bagh to put up conditions to vacate the roads comes three days after the failure of talks between the protestors and the SC-appointed interlocutors.

FEBRUARY 22, 2020

A delegation of Shaheen Bagh women “protestors” on Saturday has set seven conditions to SC-appointed interlocutor Sadhana Ramachandran to end their illegal occupation of the public road on the fourth day of the mediation talks, reports Republic TV. Shaheen Bagh, the Islamist protest against CAA and NRC is the one where Jinnah Wali Azadi slogans were raised.

According to the reports, the ‘protestors’ of Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of anti-India and anti-Hindu propaganda in the name of anti-CAA protests, have put up seven conditions to the Supreme Court-appointed interlocutors to decide on vacating the protest site, which they have illegally occupied since December 15, 2019.

Here are the seven conditions of the Shaheen Bagh protestors:

Provide security to protestors by providing an aluminium sheet

between protests and road in order to open half of the road.

Revoke all cases against Jamia students.

No National Population Registry in Delhi.

Investigation on all inflammatory speeches

Create an alternate protest site in Shaheen Bagh itself.

Revoke all cases against youngsters who were booked for Shaheen Bagh protests.

Cognizance of the deaths due to anti-CAA protests throughout India.

The sheer arrogance of these anti-India protestors at Shaheen Bagh to put up conditions to vacate the public road comes three days after the failure of talks between the protestors and the SC-appointed interlocutors.

Earlier, the women of the Shaheen Bagh protests were caught getting tutored by ‘activist’ Teesta Setalvad, who has been earlier accused of embezzling 2002 riot victims’ money, ahead of their meeting with interlocutors.

A two-Judge Bench of the Supreme Court comprising of Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul and KM Joseph had directed senior advocates, Sadhana Ramachandran and Sanjay Hegde, to act as interlocutors and convince the Shaheen Bagh protestors to relocate to an alternative place. The order came at the backdrop of two petitions filed in the apex court, seeking clearance of Shaheen Bagh area and the Kalindi Kunj Road.

It is notable here that lawyer Sanjay Hegde has been caught spreading fake news several times. After Twitter had suspended his account, he had even stated that he will take Twitter to the international court.

shampoo Bhai and orgasmic MP tharoor is spreading false news.

Even yogi is not invited during events in UP and vijay rupani is also not invited for event in ahemdabad.

◆ Delhi CM, UP CM and Gujarat CM not invited as per US Security Protocols.

twitter

Still better than 65 Congress MPs writing to USA to deny Visa to the then Gujarat CM @narendramodi
Shashi Tharoor @ShashiTharoor

This kind of petty politics in selectively sending invitations for official occasions was introduced by the ModiGovt &is unhealthy for our democracy. Exclusion of the Opposition from @RashtrapatiBhvn banquets & Prime Ministerial receptions may seem trivial, but it undermines India.

Delhi Govt Sources: Names of CM Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy CM Manish Sisodia dropped from the school event where Melania Trump is scheduled to visit.
Delhi Govt Sources claim both were to attend the programme since the school comes under Delhi Govt

shravanp wrote:
https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 244767.cms

SONBHADRA: Gold deposits were found in Sonbhadra district by the Geological Survey of India and Uttar Pradesh Directorate of Geology and Mining.

"The government is thinking of putting these deposits on lease for mining, for which survey is being done. Gold deposits are found at two places - Sonpahadi and Hardi field. GSI estimated gold deposits of 2700 tonnes in Sonpahadi while 650 tonnes in Hardi filed," KK Rai, District Mining Officer said

Read more at:
https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... aign=cppst
I hope they deploy nothing less than an army of CRPF/BSF and drones to guard that region. Otherwise we will witness another round of siphoning of wealth like padmanabhaswamy temple in kerala, siphoning of antiques from Orissa.

Dr. N Bhandary @nbhandary007 · 39m

Don't believe in rumors. This is official clarification from Geological Survey of India. #GoldMine #Sonebhadra

chetak wrote:Unbelievable! You need to see this to believe your eyes.
Taliban leader Islamic terrorist SIRAJUDDIN HAQQANI is a designated global terrorist and carries a reward of $15 million for his arrest.
Yet today, the New York Times has published an editorial written by him!

Details below

Here's the editorial piece that New York Times has published, written by terrorist SIRAJUDDIN HAQQANI.
As usual, Sirajuddin makes an impassioned plea in favour of the Taliban. And New York Times chose to mainstream his terror propaganda.

Link -> https://nytimes.com/2020/02/20/opinion/ ... qqani.html

Allauddin Khilji probably published a very similar op-ed in the Orugallu Times.

hnair wrote: The woman, identified as Amulya Leona (Noronha), asked people to shout with her "Pakistan Zindabad" thrice after the organisers of the event under the banner of "Save Constitution" invited her to address the gathering soon after Owaisi came on the stage.

But the woman was adamant and raised the slogan again repeatedly. :oops: :oops: :oops:
Not sure why the MSM has downplayed her Christian surname. (sadly, from my community).
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Swara Bhaskar got nicely skewered by anchor Rubika

ArjunPandit wrote:
chetak wrote:Unbelievable! You need to see this to believe your eyes.
Taliban leader Islamic terrorist SIRAJUDDIN HAQQANI is a designated global terrorist and carries a reward of $15 million for his arrest.
Yet today, the New York Times has published an editorial written by him!

Details below

wow ..just wow..
am i the only one who thinks this letter is straight from ISI/ISPR/Paki playbook.
I could read the victimhood narrative, the call for peace, the losses incurred because they chose to take guns, and yet blaming it on other party, high ideals...but under the purview of their holy book, and the most imp one, give us what we want, we would be a good guy and eveything thing would be fine...
btw does he know how to write english..for someone based in afghanistan/pakistan he writes fantastic english..did he study in bacha khan university..pun intented...
Rumor is that the article was ghost-written by Moeed Yusuf (the ISI plant in USIP who was called back to Pakistan once his cover was blown). Hence the copybook ISI narrative.

However, make no mistake, this article was sponsored and facilitated by the American govt and deep state in an attempt to whitewash the Taliban and build some PR for them, ahead of the coming American surrender and departure from Afghanistan with tail safely tucked between legs.

I wonder though, if the Taliban has a falling out with the Americans, and Sirajudin Haqqani is droned, will the NYT protest citing harassment and targeting of a journalist? :rotfl:

^^ only in brf i can get such rumors
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Deans wrote:
hnair wrote: The woman, identified as Amulya Leona (Noronha), asked people to shout with her "Pakistan Zindabad" thrice after the organisers of the event under the banner of "Save Constitution" invited her to address the gathering soon after Owaisi came on the stage.

But the woman was adamant and raised the slogan again repeatedly. :oops: :oops: :oops:
Not sure why the MSM has downplayed her Christian surname. (sadly, from my community).
Deansji - please don't worry! Crazies are everywhere and in every community. Important thing is for every crazy making statements like these, there must be 100 others from the group who offset the craziness. If that doesn't happen and the crazies are allowed to set the discourse over long periods of time...then it is too late...

Kaivalya wrote:
please don't worry! Crazies are everywhere and in every community.
This is exactly what the peacefools say to justify all the terrorism their brethren in RoP indulge in. The syndrome of equalitis. Whenever there is a terrorist attack they talk about how some white guy went berserk in a school or in a mall hiding the fact that 99%+ of terrorist acts in the world are committed by Peacefool people.

Every since CAA and 370 have happened there's been a large number of RoP and RoL members openly coming out with their hate for this Government. A statement like the above may be factually correct but very very misleading.

If ever a picture was worth a thousand words!

Bart S wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote: wow ..just wow..
am i the only one who thinks this letter is straight from ISI/ISPR/Paki playbook.
I could read the victimhood narrative, the call for peace, the losses incurred because they chose to take guns, and yet blaming it on other party, high ideals...but under the purview of their holy book, and the most imp one, give us what we want, we would be a good guy and eveything thing would be fine...
btw does he know how to write english..for someone based in afghanistan/pakistan he writes fantastic english..did he study in bacha khan university..pun intented...
Rumor is that the article was ghost-written by Moeed Yusuf (the ISI plant in USIP who was called back to Pakistan once his cover was blown). Hence the copybook ISI narrative.

However, make no mistake, this article was sponsored and facilitated by the American govt and deep state in an attempt to whitewash the Taliban and build some PR for them, ahead of the coming American surrender and departure from Afghanistan with tail safely tucked between legs.

I wonder though, if the Taliban has a falling out with the Americans, and Sirajudin Haqqani is droned, will the NYT protest citing harassment and targeting of a journalist? :rotfl:
it could be ghostwritten by porky the pig. how does it matter.

what counts is the by line. In this case, it is that of a globally wanted terrorist with a price on his head.

this is not what freedom of speech means :mrgreen:

The US backstabbing its allies must be kept in mind by the Modi regime.
In Afg. its shafting the Afghan govt. democratically elected in favour of the ungodly jihadi Taliban and their record of unspeakable atrocities is condemnable.The jihadis will now be turned towards Kashmir by the Talib's godfather the ISI after it has taken Kabul.All our decades of support to the Afg. govts.,infra projects,etc. will be worthless if the Afg. govt. falls. The stability of Afg. is vital to India 's security as if it fallsvinto the Talib and Paki hands,Pak gains huge strategic depth. Ironically,even the Russians are for a peace invilving the Talibs,how come we're so isolated in our Afghan policy?

In Syria and Iraq the Kurds were betrayed by the US for the umpteenth time,after they were used by the US to take on ISIS.
Has India and its MEA learnt nothing from history? Erdogan was given the green light by the US to invade nothern Syria too.Erdo's now feeling the heat as heat as he's been ditched by it as the US has abandoned Syria to Assad, Putin and co.

Jaishankar is supposed to be an intelligent man. We should delay buying US weaponry ,not as if it were a vassal's tribute to Trump, but debate and bargain on every issue. The US policy on Afg. is a warning.It is a huge victory for Pak. India cannot be cannon fodder for the US against China and drawn into a military relationship like the Quad. We will be sucked into the crappy wars started by the US around the world which have resolved nothing ,but left devastation ,millions killed and anarchy behind.
Last edited by Philip on 23 Feb 2020 14:26, edited 1 time in total.

I have this funny feeling that we are walking into a prepared setup.

trump repeatedly claiming that we have treated the US badly only means that he has a very short term historic memory where he has forgotten beediland and the treachery of the nixon-kissinger goonda gang and the uncounted occasions of "tilt" towards the pakis.

trump is here because he presently sees the value in Modi for his re election campaign and is actively seeking Modi's tacit endorsement among the gujarati diaspora.

Also ominous noise is being made and trial balloons are being floated via doormat media like the toilet and the new Indian express about how trump is going to take up the question of religious persecution in India.

trump is playing with fire. The gujaratis are unforgiving in such matters and will turn en masse against him if he rakes up such issues on Indian soil.

But, then again, trump is constrained by his own religious right-wingers who desperately want him to do so. obama lost his sheen in India when he, as an honored guest, ungraciously and rather foolishly ventured to call out Modi on what was US/obama's version of religious freedom.

At stake will be the growing India US relations and the considerable slowing down thereof if trump pushes too hard.

The amerikis are greedily eying India's agricultural markets and if given unfettered access to the same, they will wipe out Indian agriculture with their useless cattle feed category GMO and pesticide laden products. Dairy and poultry are both very high on their wish list

ChetakJi,

Its not just Trump, but US think tanks, deep state, everyone knows Indian political elite inside out and have gamed us pretty well. So my observations:

1. US deep state cannot let go off a juicy opportunity to show US's specious love of Muslims whom they would otherwise treat as inhuman and bomb to smithereens. So I expect Trump to throw a few dog bones to "South Asian" Muslims by spewing some crap on 'religious freedom' and need for p!ss talks for TSP. This gesture alone will earn US massive goodwill among "South Asian" p!sffuls, which US can tout. P!ssing Hindus off is no skin off US's back.

2. Please also note that Evangelical Jihadis like Franklin Graham & Co have mega conversion scams going on India to harvest Hindu 'lower caste' souls under the guise of 'religious freedom' and 'human rights'. Trump for all his perverted behavior is at his core a hard core white Christian nationalist and a darling of the white Church.

3. The visit will be full of pomp and splendor with lots of vacuous platitudes about US India strategic partnership and such. I am not happy at so much adulation for Trump, but I guess its necessary in the world of geo-politics and diplomacy

4. Some agreements of substance will be signed on security, Asia pacific, even trade.

5. All in all, I welcome this visit. No need to completely diss it as ModiJi haters are doing. Likewise, no need to hype it up either as TimesNow and other RW media are doing

6. Visit will be a net + for India. Most of mainland USA could care 2 hoots. Most Americans are busy with impending March madness, spring break preparations etc. But US strategic elite will get some benefit from US objectives I highlight in #1 and #2 above.

7. I would be pleasantly surprised to be proved wrong, but I would wager to bet that US media: CNN/Fox, NYT, WP etc will pay even a fraction of the attention Indian media is paying. This is a reflection of the largely unequal relationship between a superpower and a developing country. Not to mention the colonial pedestal from which US in general views India.

chetak wrote:I have this funny feeling that we are walking into a prepared setup.

trump repeatedly claiming that we have treated the US badly only means that he has a very short term historic memory where he has forgotten beediland and the treachery of the nixon-kissinger goonda gang and the uncounted occasions of "tilt" towards the pakis.

trump is here because he presently sees the value in Modi for his re election campaign and is actively seeking Modi's tacit endorsement among the gujarati diaspora.

Also ominous noise is being made and trial balloons are being floated via doormat media like the toilet and the new Indian express about how trump is going to take up the question of religious persecution in India.

trump is playing with fire. The gujaratis are unforgiving in such matters and will turn en masse against him if he rakes up such issues on Indian soil.

But, then again, trump is constrained by his own religious right-wingers who desperately want him to do so. obama lost his sheen in India when he, as an honored guest, ungraciously and rather foolishly ventured to call out Modi on what was US/obama's version of religious freedom.

At stake will be the growing India US relations and the considerable slowing down thereof if trump pushes too hard.

The amerikis are greedily eying India's agricultural markets and if given unfettered access to the same, they will wipe out Indian agriculture with their useless cattle feed category GMO and pesticide laden products. Dairy and poultry are both very high on their wish list
1. Only time will tell if we are walking into a prepared setup.

2. What Trump will say on "religious persecution in India" is still a matter of conjecture. However, Alice Wells too made a trip a while back and did utter something and that was so insignificant that I don't even recall it.

Similarly, When Obama made his now famous remarks, nothing happened except a few Modi/BJP/India haters went orgasmic, many nationalist / patriotic Indian went ballastic and a few nationalist / patriotic Indian started talking of the "end of the days" or some such line.

Now, looking back over the episode, nothing much changed after that episode.

Trump may do a Alice Wells or a Obama or go much beyond with words but nothing much will come out of it except like with Obama's statement, some will go orgasmic, some ballastic and some again call for "the end of days". As the Mahabharata aptly summarized many millennia's back, nothing new under the Sun.

3. Continuing with the above, again, if one looks back, the Indo-US relationship continued on its steady march even after Obama's finger wagging at Modi.

I expect pretty much the same to continue, with some adjustments. Par for the course.

4. Modi is or should be aware of the US push in Agri but also the cost it will have to his farmer base. I expect that whenever the deal happens , it will be a balanced one, with India's interest taken care off. Agri is a very sensitive area.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

pankajs wrote: 1. Only time will tell if we are walking into a prepared setup.

2. What Trump will say on "religious persecution in India" is still a matter of conjecture. However, Alice Wells too made a trip a while back and did utter something and that was so insignificant that I don't even recall it.

Similarly, When Obama made his now famous remarks, nothing happened except a few Modi/BJP/India haters went orgasmic, many nationalist / patriotic Indian went ballastic and a few nationalist / patriotic Indian started talking of the "end of the days" or some such line.

Trump may do a Alice Wells or a Obama or go much beyond with words but nothing much will come out of it except like with Obama's statement, some will go orgasmic, some ballastic and some again call for "the end of days". As the Mahabharata aptly summarized many millennia's back, nothing new under the Sun.

3. Continuing with the above, again, if one looks back, the Indo-US relationship continued on its steady march even after Obama's finger wagging at Modi.

I expect pretty much the same to continue, with some adjustments. Par for the course.
Sir, respectfully speaking, that is a very defeatist attitude to have. The king may come invited, he may kick the dog (in fact you are mostly certain), but then he may throw scraps and promises that the kicks may not turn into mauling, and the dog is expected to be greatful?
Yes, nothing materialized,but the obsequious nature of indians was again on display. Contrast that with jaishankar telling graham to fuk right off,to his face; case can be made that nothing happened after that either(senators and presidents are different, i realize, though he was officially representing us).This live to another day by any means possible, not antagonizing strong men is surely not something indians are now accustomed to.

ricky_v wrote:
pankajs wrote: 1. Only time will tell if we are walking into a prepared setup.

Sir, respectfully speaking, that is a very defeatist attitude to have. The king may come invited, he may kick the dog (in fact you are mostly certain), but then he may throw scraps and promises that the kicks may not turn into mauling, and the dog is expected to be greatful?
Yes, nothing materialized,but the obsequious nature of indians was again on display. Contrast that with jaishankar telling graham to fuk right off,to his face; case can be made that nothing happened after that either(senators and presidents are different, i realize, though he was officially representing us).This live to another day by any means possible, not antagonizing strong men is surely not something indians are now accustomed to.
And equally respectfully saaru, who appointed you knight in the shining armour who kicked butt i.e. Jaishankar? The same "obsequious" GOI headed by Modi. The same Modi who did nothing in retaliation for Obama wagging his finger at him!

So what gives?

As far as the "King" kicking the "dog", you do not have any self respect in calling yourself or Modi or India/Indian's dog. This is the level of intellect we have nowadays!
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

pankajs wrote: And equally respectfully saaru, who appointed you knight in the shining armour who kicked butt i.e. Jaishankar? The same "obsequious" GOI headed by Modi. The same Modi who did nothing in retaliation for Obama wagging his finger at him!

So what gives?
My point exactly, modi appointed jaishankar and he was not afraid of airing his views, in real time even, why then are we supposing that trump may get away with speaking anything untoward. That was the point of my post sir, eam's frank approach instills hope in me that the current goi may finally start speaking with a spine,a rarity with indian governments, our members first and then our people should display a similar attitude.
Though, i would table this further until something does happen.
ps. yes, the level of intellect nowadays is poor indeed, theek hai..
chetonzz

Post by chetonzz »

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.timesofi ... 263059.cms

peacefools mard e mhomhins who boast of gazhlwa wind and 1000 year reich of past now hiding behind their burkhqwa clad aurat jaat to fight like 6 :rotfl: tch tch tch!!!

ricky_v wrote:
pankajs wrote: And equally respectfully saaru, who appointed you knight in the shining armour who kicked butt i.e. Jaishankar? The same "obsequious" GOI headed by Modi. The same Modi who did nothing in retaliation for Obama wagging his finger at him!

So what gives?
My point exactly, modi appointed jaishankar and he was not afraid of airing his views, in real time even, why then are we supposing that trump may get away with speaking anything untoward. That was the point of my post sir, eam's frank approach instills hope in me that the current goi may finally start speaking with a spine,a rarity with indian governments, our members first and then our people should display a similar attitude.
Though, i would table this further until something does happen.
ps. yes, the level of intellect nowadays is poor indeed, theek hai..
Why then did Obama get away wagging his figure at Modi before?

The level of intellect is really down in the dumps calling oneself or one's leaders or country "dogs". This is the kind of "very defeatist attitude" that keeps India down. Theek hai.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

I will give you a tldr, since reading does not seem to be your strong suit:
your attitude is the canines attitude in the story, i am asking you to man up, or at the very least stop sermonizing it.
Nothing further.

ricky_v wrote:I will give you a tldr, since reading does not seem to be your strong suit:
your attitude is the canines attitude in the story, i am asking you to man up, or at the very least stop sermonizing it.
Nothing further.
Someone who can't read his own post :rotfl: {Hint: Re-read your first post}

I don't expect an "entity" who needs to "man up" to even have a respectful discussion to have any further arguments.

It didn't take much probing for the "inner self" to spill out into the open and how?!! :lol: Epic meltdown but Theek hai.

https://www.cnbctv18.com/views/modis-pa ... ssion=true

Modi’s patience with the IAS is wearing thin

CNBC-TV18   • January 30, 2020 05:11 PM IST

By Ranjit Bhushan

On January 13, the Yogi Adityanath-led government in UP passed a proposal to introduce the police commissioner system in two major cities of the state, Lucknow and Gautam Buddha Nagar (Noida).

These two vast cities now join New Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Chennai, which also boast of the commissionerate system of policing. "The biggest step towards police reform has been taken by our government today,” the UP chief minister was quoted as telling reporters.

In Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s first term and in now the second, there have been periodic reports of senior officers getting ticked off at meetings in South Block because the effort of the government doesn’t seem to percolate down towards its intended recipients. In other words, the prime minister’s patience is running out with the civil bureaucracy and there is a general feeling that the time for specialists, instead of generalists that civil servants are, has arrived.

Process of downgrading 

The point at stake therefore is this: Is the process of downgrading the all-powerful IAS underway? Consider the following:

***The introduction of the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) (Gen. Bipin Rawat) puts immediate breaks on the unbridled powers of the Union defence secretary. The newly-created CDS wears two hats: One, as the permanent chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee, which has the three service chiefs as members, and the other as head of the newly-created Department of Military Affairs (DMA) in the Ministry of Defence (MoD). The former is a military role while the latter is a prominent role in the government. It is as the head of DMA that his major responsibilities within the ministry will be discharged.

The charter of duties of the DMA was so far looked after by the Department of Defence, which is headed by the Defence Secretary, who is also the secretary in-charge of the MoD. Work exclusively pertaining to military matters will fall within the purview of the DMA while the MoD will deal with larger issues pertaining to the defence of the country.

So despite the gazette notification issued on December 30, 2019, which says that the Department of Defence headed by the defence secretary will be responsible for the “defence of India and every part thereof, including defence policy and preparation for defence and all such acts as may be conducive in times of war to its prosecution and after its termination to effective demobilisation,” there is going to be wide-ranging sharing of power in the defence system, the likes of which have not been witnessed in India in the last seven decades.

***The Modi regime is pursuing the idea of introducing more lateral entries into the government, with a vengeance. In April 2019, for the first time, nine private sector experts were selected for appointment as joint secretaries in central government departments under the lateral entry mode.

Usually, candidates for the posts of joint secretaries are selected by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) through the civil services examination. To ensure the same standards, the entire process of the selection of these experts was conducted by the UPSC. Under the lateral entry mode, experts from the private sector are appointed in government organisations on a contract basis for a period of three years.

Now, this effort is poised to get a further boost. The government is all set to expand the lateral entry of experts into the civil service through its think tank, NITI Aayog. Officials say that they plan to advertise about 50 positions in NITI Aayog at different levels, including directors, joint secretaries and additional secretaries.

While NITI Aayog has recruited consultants on contracts in the past, the new posts would be at par with regular government servants. According to one count, there are 54 positions out of a total of 516 for which lateral recruitment has been cleared. The posts are recognised as ‘flexi-pool posts’.

One of the main functions of the NITI Aayog is to coordinate with other ministries for policy-making. Since a number of ministries would not take communications from consultants seriously, the new recruits will have the same designations as regular IAS officers.

This trend of breaking the monopoly of IAS officers at the top, which began in 2014, is getting increasingly pronounced. The Modi government, for instance, has been empanelling a number of non-IAS officers to become Union secretaries, finally raising expectations of non-IAS cadres – who are also specialists in their fields – to get a shot at heading ministries in their domains. In December 2019, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet empanelled four non-IAS officers as secretaries and the trend could well continue this year as well.

Empanelled secretaries 

To be sure, empanelling is far removed from actual appointment as Union secretary, but a direction is on the anvil. The comparison with the previous government is worth examining. Between 2010 and 2014, no non-IAS officer was empanelled as Union secretary. Since the Modi government came to power in 2014, two non-IAS officers were empanelled as secretaries. In 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 likewise, four, six, two and six officers were empanelled as Union secretaries, respectively. The proof of the pudding has to lie in the eating: If a revenue or forest service officer has been empanelled, there is no reason why they should not head the finance and environment ministries, where their domain expertise can be put to good use.

In UP, the contentious police commissionerate system has been cleared after huge resistance from the state’s powerful IAS lobby. District magistrates are left only with revenue-related work and decisions regarding law and order will be taken by police commissioners. With the UP Police regularly conducting encounters and the severity used in handling the recent anti-CAA/NRC protestors in the state, charges of `police raj’ have been levelled against the BJP government.

IAS officers say they, and not police officers, are trained to deal with the public. For the public to approach the police is therefore a travesty of justice. They predict that the commissionerate system will not be successful because people prefer going to district magistrates and sub-divisional magistrates for redressal of their grievances and would not feel comfortable in interacting with police officials. The die in UP has, however, been well and truly cast. What’s more important, this system could be further expanded in the state.

Ranjit Bhushan is an independent journalist and former Nehru Fellow at Jamia Millia University. In a career spanning more than three decades, he has worked with Outlook, The Times of India, The Indian Express, the Press Trust of India, Associated Press, Financial Chronicle, and DNA.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1231282770938216448
ANI @ANI

Delhi: Women have gathered at Jaffrabad metro station area to protest against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA).
Attempt to grab global attention during Trump's vizit.

https://twitter.com/nitingokhale/status ... 0999291904
Nitin A. Gokhale @nitingokhale

Over the past 15 years, India has imported defence platforms worth $20 bn from the United States. If strategic ties with the U.S. have risen to a new level, India has kept one of its old allies—Russia—happy too. Defence acquisitions from Russia have been to the tune of $16 bn
India has kept its sources diversified while indigenous procurement is picking up. Our main foreign partners are US, France, Russia and Israel.

Partners but not allies and Keep you bets hedged. Looks good to me.

Deans wrote: Not sure why the MSM has downplayed her Christian surname. (sadly, from my community).
Indeed, MSM was notably muted about this incident. I suspect she was trying to grandstand by using a provocative slogan, backed with some convoluted logical explanation of "we are all great nations onlee". A case of what sounded perfect in her head not ending up that way in the real world.

But she made Owaisi jump up like a pissed on cat and that does not happen often. I got a good laugh from that Inspector Clouseau scene (the old Sellers version)

Karnataka CM says she may have Naxal links. Naxal-Maoist movement in India is run by the church. Her father is an activist too. Their home was stoned after the incident

Women have been weaponised as protesters...any action against them by law enforcement will be blown up as state machinery coming down hard & covered in MSM like RundeeTV and aided by Indian celebs & Bhestern academicians. One of the possible solutions is for GoI to trace the money trail & shut it down or make it harder. Just like after DeMo, stone pelters were no where to be seen for a while, I'd bet these women would vanish if there is no daily hafta...
Krita

Post by Krita »

hnair wrote:
Deans wrote: Not sure why the MSM has downplayed her Christian surname. (sadly, from my community).
Indeed, MSM was notably muted about this incident. I suspect she was trying to grandstand by using a provocative slogan, backed with some convoluted logical explanation of "we are all great nations onlee". A case of what sounded perfect in her head not ending up that way in the real world.

But she made Owaisi jump up like a pissed on cat and that does not happen often. I got a good laugh from that Inspector Clouseau scene (the old Sellers version)
With sedition case slapped on her, an aspiring Teesta Setalvad has been nipped in the bud. Couple of months back Ms Noronha and her commie gang heckled the Postcard's editor in Mangalore airport. Her bravado stems from the mullah liberal cabal backing her and the long rope which the sellout media gives these jokers.

I said so a year ago that the babus being made to work for once under PM Modi with his visionary outlook for India,was digging its heels in,even to the extent of providing feku stats,showing glowing results, in the hope of his defeat and a return to former days of vermin raiding the larder.
One of the worst ministries of all staffed with jokers whom Uncle George sent off to Siachen, why they tried to fix him in the coffin scandal, is the MOD whom the services for decades have complained about,deliberately keeping the services out of the policy and decision- making loop.

Therefore, in his second term the PM must crack the whip, and hard.Those babus who don't deliver must be put to pasture as in corporate India. There must be accountability that comes with the trust and responsibility and immense authority and power that the IAS army enjoys. Incorporating excellent retd. bureaucrats who've delivered results into the PMO to cut the babu knots ,since they understand the tactics emlloyed, is one good way to reform the system.Empowering a few of them ( Jaishankar and Puri,both former diplomats) is another method, but too many ex- babus in the executive may reinforce the system as the babus unlike the
politicos are ones who have the pulse of the people and relate directly with them.

Zynda wrote:Women have been weaponised as protesters...any action against them by law enforcement will be blown up as state machinery coming down hard & covered in MSM like RundeeTV and aided by Indian celebs & Bhestern academicians. One of the possible solutions is for GoI to trace the money trail & shut it down or make it harder. Just like after DeMo, stone pelters were no where to be seen for a while, I'd bet these women would vanish if there is no daily hafta...
Agree.

Basically, GOI has a problem in hand. AntiMoid/India forces want to create a spectacle that can then be used to run a global propaganda against Modi/BJP/India by various national & trans-national actors.

One, is to go after funding
Two, is to go after the organizers i.e. the men hiding behind the women. If the organizers are locked up and the men folks of the families protesting are hauled up to the bolice station, it might work to disperse the crowd.
Three, SC asks the protesters to clear the road and move to Jantar Mantar. Not likely to end the matter.

As a side note: Someone pointed out on twitter than between March 5-10 is a very sensitive time for India/Indian Leaders (Modi/Shah). Be prepared for things to intensify from now on till March 5th, followed by chaos and GOI action. Things will be under control by the end of March. March 1st half is turbulence followed by things stabilizing.

pankajs wrote:https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1231282770938216448
ANI @ANI

Delhi: Women have gathered at Jaffrabad metro station area to protest against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA).
GoI should nothing and let them protest as long as they want.

Lets see how long it will go once Delhi summer heat wave comes in..

GoI should nothing and let them protest as long as they want.

Lets see how long it will go once Delhi summer heat wave comes in..

if investigated, it will prove that these types of protests happen only very close to the residences of these "agitating/protesting" minorities who can then conveniently go home at will to change, bathe and reappear at the protest venue set for their next "shift".

that's why they are unwilling to move from shaheen bagh and now probably at jaffrabad hoping to provoke the govt into some precipitate action.

the other pillar of state has needlessly entered the arena and used commie/naxal interlocutors to allegedly test the waters.

It's not just women alone but women with babes in arms and toddlers in tow at the protest site hoping to provoke the state into taking precipitate action and in the process, cause grievous injuries, even deaths in the ensuing stampede.

the commie patrakars have already written the articles and are eager to file such articles globally.

expect these protests to intensify in the runup to trump's visit as well as during the visit itself :mrgreen:

There is a simple solution around it. GoI should announce that the daily cost of the closure of the station/Metro will be borne by the protestors, if they don't move to a specific location.