Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Arun.prabhu

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

Post by Arun.prabhu »

https://www.theamericanconservative.com ... ronavirus/

Who do we believe? The doc from Wyoming or the expat American from Shanghai who claims to have crisscrossed the country over the last month?

Arun.prabhu wrote:https://www.theamericanconservative.com ... ronavirus/

Who do we believe? The doc from Wyoming or the expat American from Shanghai who claims to have crisscrossed the country over the last month?
A guy called Alec. Must be a smart one!
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

1716 medics in China have been infected with the coronavirus, 6 have died, according to China’s national health comission.

Yunmeng County in Hubei province announces "wartime" lockdown due to coronavirus, says residents who leave their home will be detained

Updated Visualization of the Coronavirus situation on the Diamond Princess cruise ship in Japan #COVID19 #coronavirus The cruise ship now has 218 people infected with the virus aboard out of 713 tested since it entered the port of Yokohama on 3 February.

WHO Director, Tedros Adhanom: "Ebola is lousy, this is airborne, #coronavirus is airborne and it's more contagious. In terms of potential to wreak havoc, corona is very different than ebola, corona has more potency, virulence, we take it more seriously."

This scanning electron microscope image shows the new #coronavirus (yellow) among human cells (blue, pink and purple). (Color has been added to the image to better show the virus and its environment.) (Image credit: NIAID-RML)

Electric shock: China power demand drops as coronavirus shutters plants
China’s industrial power demand in 2020 may decline by as much as 73 billion kilowatt hours (kWh), according to IHS Markit, as the outbreak of the coronavirus has curtailed factory output and prevented some workers from returning to their jobs.
The cut represents about 1.5% of industrial power consumption in China. The reduction is the energy equivalent of about 30 million tonnes of thermal coal or about 9 million tonnes of liquefied natural gas (LNG).
A North Korean official who returned from China has reportedly been executed for going to a public bath in violation of his quarantine

Belt and Road actors brace for coronavirus shock
Vadivel

Post by Vadivel »

In Lion-Citystan, workers and schoolkids are all made to go through a temperature-sensor gate. Unless it turns blue, they are taken away for testing - probably straight to Quarantinistan.

Very worrying given close links between India and Singapore. Hope GOI is aware of this aspect and taking extra precautions.

Latest from an American teacher in Wuhan, things look more normal -- except for the guys in hazmat suits! lol

She said she's not scared but she's dressed like something from zombie apocalypse movie.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Political move? But against whom, one wonders.

Research paper by some Chinese researcher or phd candidate which lays the blame on the virus at one of the various biological research - read military, as everything in china is - labs in Wuhan.

https://www.researchgate.net/publicatio ... oronavirus

If you don't want to provide your name, email address and other details to the authors for a copy of the paper, you can find the text at zero hedge:

https://www.zerohedge.com/health/smokin ... tory-wuhan

Like the JKL Mobile Internet Ban, the nCOV news seems to have gone out of the news?

1.Roundup of news: https://www.cnbc.com/2020/02/15/coronav ... cases.html

9:30 am: China’s foreign minister slams global ‘overreaction’ to virus

China’s State Councillor and Foreign Minister Wang Yi said China’s efforts to control the epidemic have been comprehensive and that it’s “under control,” while slamming the “overreaction” of other countries, according to a Reuters report.
In an interview with Reuters in Berlin, he said: “The epidemic overall is under control.”
″“We’ve taken such complete prevention and control efforts, efforts that are so comprehensive, that I can’t see any other country that can do this,” Wang said, adding that they would find it very difficult, according to Reuters. “But China has been able to do this.”
The U.S. should not take unnecessary measures that will affect tourism and trade, he said, according to Reuters.
The U.S. was among several countries who placed travel curbs on Chinese citizens, or travelers who have been to mainland China.
8:50 am: IBM withdraws from RSA conference in San Francisco
IBM says it’s no longer participating in a major conference — the RSA cyber security conference — in San Francisco in February over virus fears, it said in a tweet.
The conference is scheduled for Feb. 24 to Feb. 28. Earlier, Facebook announced it has called off its global marketing summit set for next month also in San Francisco :?: :?: :?: , for the same reason, according to a Reuters report.
Another major event, Mobile World Congress (MWC), the world’s largest trade show for the mobile phone industry, was canceled this week over those fears. That decision came after many companies pulled out of the conference, such as LG, Sony, Ericsson, Nokia, Nvidia, Intel and Amazon.

First Chinese death outside China,in France. Numbers of deaths and patients steadily increasing exponentially.

Wow! Look at these Spray Trucks.

Looks like in china the time from Need Identified to Innovative Engineering Product Deployed in Streets is like 4 weeks? 3 weeks?
THIS is the scary number, guys. Compare to desh... :shock: The Chinese are operating at better-than-WW2 pace of innovation.

UlanBatori wrote:Wow! Look at these Spray Trucks.

Looks like in china the time from Need Identified to Innovative Engineering Product Deployed in Streets is like 4 weeks? 3 weeks?
THIS is the scary number, guys. Compare to desh... :shock: The Chinese are operating at better-than-WW2 pace of innovation.

In concept of operations how different are these vehicles from the anti mosquito smoke machines used by various municipal bodies in India.

The spray mechanism is similar to the agricultural inceticide sprey machine widely available in the world.

https://www.google.com/search?client=ms ... %20machine

The real skills are in the ability to integrate that in trucks and mass produce them.

Am quite sure that this is within Indian industrial capacity as well.

The real advantage enjoyed by PRC is in its absence of the disruptive influences that abound in India.

Guys, instead of yadayadayada, take a moment to recognize hard work. Yeah, like the guy who asked Chris Columbo:
So waat yaar, why4 all beebals admiring you onleeee? America was there onlee. You just sat in a boat that got blown off course and then it is inevitable that if u don't sink u will hit America.
They got those things on the street while they were trying to stay alive themselves, with factories closed, workers shut up. Inside a couple of weeks. Show me where that has been done in desh and I will happily applaud that too. It does not take any great brain to go find an item on Amazon after someone shows you how to solve a problem with it.

Do they even clean streets in desh cities? Pick up garbage except b4 Republic Din Parade or Mantri Vijit? Fix potholes? Straighten out the sidewalk slabs that stick up to trip people in the dark with the burnt-out street lights?

(sigh!) Coming off a saga where we ran a conference at an eye-eye-tea: Creme de la creme of Indian engineering, innovation and production gyan. In July. Travel remibursements still not completed. Every 2 weeks or so I have to prod them to move another inch, reminding them of their "Deep Apologies For The Delay But". And as for all the grand promises of Progress in India, if only I would send them papers on what we had developed... :roll:
Yeah, TELL me how fast things move in Modern Indian Engineering... if only the Leftists would allow the Holies! Tired of hearing the crap, sorry.

One must give credit where it is due.The Chin disaster management eqpt. 5*. Their disease teams superbly equipped too.We are primitive by comparison,thanks to corrupt babudom swinging deals to their favourites and teaching corrupt politicos how to bend the rules. From time to time the Chins expose and punish high ranking Chin politicos making global headlines. They even execute the corrupt.This keeps theft at manageable levels,allowed only by a nod from the Chin high command and NPC.

On a sad personal note, a relative of mine ,foreign national, who was the chief of a Chin global MNC, earning in billions,operating out of S' pore, jet-setter all over the globe, posh house ( not flat) in SP, private millionaire's yacht to boot,etc.,etc. ,who would spend a week every month in Beijing, caught an unknown lung infection and after a heroic struggle of a month at SP's top hospital, passed away In his early 50s. The family now feel in retrospect that he may have caught the same virus going around now.The SP docs were clueless as to the
origin of his unknown infection.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

LMAO. Philips, theft is in the Chinese blood. The ones who got arrested and executed were Xi’s political opponents. And their response has been pathetic. 50 days of denial and now after the whole ****** country is affected - why else put so many millions in lockdown, stop the industries, shutdown traffic, etc - they are trying to stop it. Our system has issues but let us thank god we aren’t as dumb as the Chinese in allowing totalitarian government to rule us.
Philip wrote:One must give credit where it is due.The Chin disaster management eqpt. 5*. Their disease teams superbly equipped too.We are primitive by comparison,thanks to corrupt babudom swinging deals to their favourites and teaching corrupt politicos how to bend the rules. From time to time the Chins expose and punish high ranking Chin politicos making global headlines. They even execute the corrupt.This keeps theft at manageable levels,allowed only by a nod from the Chin high command and NPC.

On a sad personal note, a relative of mine ,foreign national, who was the chief of a Chin global MNC, earning in billions,operating out of S' pore, jet-setter all over the globe, posh house ( not flat) in SP, private millionaire's yacht to boot,etc.,etc. ,who would spend a week every month in Beijing, caught an unknown lung infection and after a heroic struggle of a month at SP's top hospital, passed away In his early 50s. The family now feel in retrospect that he may have caught the same virus going around now.The SP docs were clueless as to the
origin of his unknown infection.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

More signals.

One funeral home advertised 120000 USD (143USD per hour for 12am to 4am shift for corpse bearers in Wuhan)

Another offers 287 USD per corpse pickup.

https://m.theepochtimes.com/funeral-hom ... 37216.html

And there have been three confirm cases in Singapore for whom they could not find contact with known infected. The son of the Japanese lady who died is a taxi driver who hauled people to a party. They are planning to test 100 party goes and already 10 are presenting temperature and cough symptoms. Schools being shutdown in England because one of the infected visited event at his child’s school. 10,000 quarantined in Vietnam. Indonesia says no cases, but they tested just 50 and no one believes them. Us CDC are preparing quarantine zones and distributing test kits and saying test anyone who doesn’t test positive for vintage flu.

What does all of this mean? We are now in phase 6 of the pandemic. Middle of next month is when things will really start Getting interesting, I suspect. (Assuming 50-odd day lead time as in Wuhan.) the pandemic is not a threat now. It is upon us. Let’s hope that the virus is racist and prefers East Asians or we are going to see a lot of dead and major economic upheaval around the world. The world economy is ****** this year anyways as stupid westerners moved their supply chains to China and the rest of the world stupidly followed suit.

Arun.prabhu wrote: What does all of this mean? We are now in phase 6 of the pandemic. Middle of next month is when things will really start Getting interesting, I suspect. (Assuming 50-odd day lead time as in Wuhan.) the pandemic is not a threat now. It is upon us. ...
I think there is no need to panic. Here is WHO link https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease ... virus-2019. Check the video and other links.

The mortality rate seems to be @3%. (https://www.who.int/docs/default-source ... =61dda7d_2)

Outside of China, only 2 deaths in @200 cases reported worldwide. That is the statistics to go after. It appears that China did a lot of grandstanding on their initial lackluster response and created a panic situation. They first created a bad situation. And then they later made it worse. All for H&D. I guess the Chicom party members wanted to show up and "do something., Anything" to cover up for not doing anything. And that "do something., Anything" became grandstanding. Like quarantining entire cities. Building a useless 10-floor hospital that is now breaking at the seams.

Here is another link to illustrate their useless grandstanding:

https://www.businessinsider.com/wuhan-c ... 00-beds-13
Last edited by disha on 15 Feb 2020 23:19, edited 1 time in total.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

WHO front line responders entered China today or will enter tomorrow to assess. Yes, that's right. all the daily situation reports are not from WHO folks on the ground. All that WHO has put out so far has been from WHO head honchos discussing with Chinese leadership. WHO hasn't exactly performed brilliantly so far, what with it's head calling China's pathetic management of the disease - letting it get out of control is not management, after all - as brilliant and accusing other countries of being paranoid for wanting to close traffic to and from China.

BTW, one of the Japanese infected had been to Hawaii. Middle of the ocean Hawaii and may have caught it there of all places.As for your assertion that I'm panicking, It's not panic. It's girding up for the fight.
Arun.prabhu wrote: What does all of this mean? We are now in phase 6 of the pandemic. Middle of next month is when things will really start Getting interesting, I suspect. (Assuming 50-odd day lead time as in Wuhan.) the pandemic is not a threat now. It is upon us. ...
I think there is no need to panic. Here is WHO link https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease ... virus-2019. Check the video and other links.

There were some What's up forwards, which say the nCV dies off in hot weather, so India is safe. As our weather will turn very hot in next 3 weeks.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

We don't know whether this virus will die. Normal flu does drop off as the weather gets warmer. The Spanish flu circumnavigated the world twice, I believe.
Gyan wrote:There were some What's up forwards, which say the nCV dies off in hot weather, so India is safe. As our weather will turn very hot in next 3 weeks.

Arun.prabhu wrote: BTW, one of the Japanese infected had been to Hawaii. Middle of the ocean Hawaii and may have caught it there of all places.As for your assertion that I'm panicking, It's not panic. It's girding up for the fight.
I have been to Hawaii in Dec 2019. Currently, I am the ghost who types. So please do not look at the numbers from China. Please look at numbers outside of China (incl. India). I guess, WHO is so powerful that it talks to all nations and tamps down the numbers.

Have you been to Hawaii? I have been to four of them and the last one was Honolulu. Not at all surprised to see a Japanese getting the virus after visiting Hawaii.

It is a single case. To keep yourself safe, just wash your hands and cover your mouth and do not shake hands. In short, culturally become a Hindu (or a Buddhist or a Jain or a Sikh).

Philip wrote:One must give credit where it is due.The Chin disaster management eqpt. 5*. Their disease teams superbly equipped too.
Lot of typical ChiCom grandstanding. Their new 10-floor hospital is now leaking water.
The SP docs were clueless as to the origin of his unknown infection.
Could not they do a PCR test?

^^ It's 2 floors, not 10. Massive area. Wonder what the razed to build those: some ancient google images if any available, would show that.

Show me a new bldg that does not have plumbing leaks and rain coming down through the ceiling? They will fix those.

Re: Hawaii: Maybe ppl have been catching nCOV all these years all over the world - and it was viewed as severe flu or pneumoia. Only this year in WooHan a mutant emerged?

Or...

why is it surprising?
Woohan bijnejppl may have traveled on the planes that the Nippon person took to fly to and from Hawaii. So the quarantines only reduce the spreading numbers, not the geographical extent. The horse bolted, so to speak, weeks or months ago for that.

For same reason, virus may be sightseeing in Paris, Buenos Aires, Sydney, Auckland and Capetown.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 15 Feb 2020 23:43, edited 1 time in total.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

So you don't know how WHO works then? WHO reports what the governments share with it. They don't come in and take over. Their frontline folks may crosscheck and verify government claims, but the government is in command. WHO serves as an advisor and coordinator. kind of like Interpol.

The point about Hawaii that you missed was that Hawaii hasn't reported any confirmed cases and yet, someone who had been to Hawaii may have caught it there. The governments around the world aren't superhuman, btw. Since the disease isn't uniformly life threatening, there are most definitely folks who think they have the cold, take cold meds and don't do anything. (refer those three Singapore cases I mentioned that don't have a connection to any known confirmed case or a travel history to china. IOW, the Singapore authorities have no idea how those three caught it or from whom.)

On the bright side, of the four deaths outside mainland china, only 1 was not Chinese. The 80 year old Japanese lady. I couldn't find the name of the American oldster who died in Wuhan, but I'd say there's better than even odds he was Chinese who had or whose ancestors had settled in America and who was visiting relatives or for the Lunar year festival.
Arun.prabhu wrote: BTW, one of the Japanese infected had been to Hawaii. Middle of the ocean Hawaii and may have caught it there of all places.As for your assertion that I'm panicking, It's not panic. It's girding up for the fight.
I have been to Hawaii in Dec 2019. Currently, I am the ghost who types. So please do not look at the numbers from China. Please look at numbers outside of China (incl. India). I guess, WHO is so powerful that it talks to all nations and tamps down the numbers.

Have you been to Hawaii? I have been to four of them and the last one was Honolulu. Not at all surprised to see a Japanese getting the virus after visiting Hawaii.

It is a single case. To keep yourself safe, just wash your hands and cover your mouth and do not shake hands. In short, culturally become a Hindu (or a Buddhist or a Jain or a Sikh).

ChiComs do know how to do showboating and grandstanding. How are they disinfecting? Using ethanol? Using antibiotics (useless for viruses)? If it is ethanol/propyl alcohols., Are they preparing their cities for firebombing? Or if non-alcohol are they preparing their cities for MRSA?

Though India can do with daily general cleaning of its cities.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Whatever they were using may have contributed to the massive SO2 signal over Wuhan last week. that signal is now mostly normalized. 228micro grams per meter cube yesterday or the day before when I checked. The Wuhan Iron and Steel Plant and the captive power plant are not the contributors for that signal - the plant is idling as the Yangtze has been closed to raw material transport since the start of the crisis - and a few folks I know and I had a discussion where we ended up deciding that an idling steel plant (blast furnaces and rolling mills at idle with pollution scrubbers shutdown to keep manpower requirements to a minimum) would't explain all that SO2. Whatever they were spraying gave off a lot of SO2 or they were burning a lot of organic refuse - medical disposables, organic garbage, and bodies - to include animal and human.

ChiComs do know how to do showboating and grandstanding. How are they disinfecting? Using ethanol? Using antibiotics (useless for viruses)? If it is ethanol/propyl alcohols., Are they preparing their cities for firebombing? Or if non-alcohol are they preparing their cities for MRSA?

Though India can do with daily general cleaning of its cities.

Latest stat for record here: (Source worldometer/CDC/WHO etc): (Last updated: February 15, 2020, 17:35 GMT):
(For those who want to do their own math/stat - producing here for convenience and items which I think are important)

Coronavirus Cases: 67,193 (After reclassification of the criteria a few days ago - which shows sudden jump)
Deaths: 1,527
Recovered: 8,600

ACTIVE CASES: 57,066
(Currently Infected Patients)
45,984 (82%) in Mild Condition, 11,082 (18%) Serious or Critical
( 15% severe 3% critical)

CLOSED CASES (Cases which had an outcome:) 10,127
8,600 (85%) Recovered / Discharged, 1,527 (15%) Deaths

Some helpful graphs to understand (All with the latest data) :

Last edited by Amber G. on 15 Feb 2020 23:58, edited 3 times in total.

^^My guesss is water with phenol or some such, just to wash down the top layer of dust into the gutters. If it was vodka you would see many happy city workers dancing in the wake of the trucks.

SO2, u mean they may be using H2SO4 spray? :eek:

Here is evidence of how it spreads, say to Oirope. 80yr-old chinese visitor dies in Paris
Same for Hawaii.

Main purpose of spraying streets is to get neigbhorhoods ready to return people to homes. Why hold them beyond 2 weeks in quarantine? Now, observe, nCOV becomes other nations' problem, no longer china's. Mos urban Chinese have already done their 2-week yajna, and been cleared. Have u? Not I, I'm sure.

Arun.prabhu wrote:Whatever they were using may have contributed to the massive SO2 signal over Wuhan last week. that signal is now mostly normalized. 228micro grams per meter cube yesterday or the day before when I checked.

.... they were burning a lot of organic refuse - medical disposables, organic garbage, and bodies - to include animal and human.
And they were not using proper furnaces and scrubbing of exhaust gases! it is not from what they are spraying (or are they spraying sulphuric acid :rotfl: )
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Or they were using sodium metabisulfite or some other sulfur based reducing bleach or reducing agent.
Arun.prabhu wrote:Whatever they were using may have contributed to the massive SO2 signal over Wuhan last week. that signal is now mostly normalized. 228micro grams per meter cube yesterday or the day before when I checked.

.... they were burning a lot of organic refuse - medical disposables, organic garbage, and bodies - to include animal and human.
And they were not using proper furnaces and scrubbing of exhaust gases! it is not from what they are spraying (or are they spraying sulphuric acid :rotfl: )

disha wrote:Could not they do a PCR test?
To be fair the PCR test kits are/were in short supply ... there were glitches even in US.

madhu wrote:
Virus’s destructiveness has hidden one encouraging aspect of this outbreak - So far, about 80+ percent of the cases (including all 14 in the United States ) have been mild, (symptoms that require little or no medical intervention.) and IMO this proportion is undercount.
This is what is puzzeling me from the begining. Why this kind of war footing? I think it could have been handled in a better way.
2% CFR is nothing for the kind of hype that has been built around.
Some comments:
- Even though we know much more than what we knew a few weeks ago, we still don't know a lot. By *all* means it is a very serious situation and it ought to be taken as such.
My son, who lives in the Bay area (works for a well known company), travels to China quite often. He had a large meeting in China (not in Wuhan) around second week of January. Due to some family situation I was able to persuade him not to attend this meeting in person - (nice when kids listen to their parent :), ) so he did it by remote but his whole team travelled to China. When they returned, the story just broke here in US, we convinced him to ask *all* (those who travelled to China) not to come to office and work from home for coming weeks. Many companies (In US) did that in the initial phases even when the story has not broken in big ways here is US. The precaution came out to be well thought. ..

In fact, quite a few big meetings (in many well known US companies) have been canceled now in US.

I think it was *very* good. I think and hope that Covid-19 does not become too big - many think that it may still become a big deal ( the current flu situation is already quite bad ). As a parent/grandparent I am concerned. (Does not help that there are small children, or kids who work in health-system who come into contact with a lot of people - many of them who travel).

Moral: We all should take it *very* seriously. And yes, it can still become a global epidemic. I hope not though.

cruise ship count has now increased to 285. Americans are flying 200 odd citizens back home and they will be quarantined.

Amber G. wrote:whole team travelled to China. The precaution came out to be well thought. ..
Sounds like they must be all OK because it is now over 2 weeks. Great to hear.

285 people on a spacious cruise ship that took immediate precautions, is a huge number. If that many students on a campus caught the disease it would be a major disaster. It does sound like this thing is ****EXTREMELY*** contagious. Must LOVE humans, esp. Chinese ppl but may mutate to love others as well as their taste evolves.

https://www.cnn.com/2020/02/15/asia/chi ... index.html
Chinese students spend billions overseas. Coronavirus travel bans will leave some countries seriously out of pocket
Julia Hollingsworth
On January 27, his graduate program in interactive telecommunications at New York University (NYU) restarted. On January 31, the US government announced it wouldn't let any foreign nationals flying from mainland China into the country.
Xu was told he could take classes remotely, but to him it wasn't worth paying $62,000 per year in course fees for distance learning. He decided to take a break this semester. That will delay his graduation by six months.

Arun.prabhu wrote:Or they were using sodium metabisulfite or some other sulfur based reducing bleach or reducing agent.
Where is a facepalm or head banging against brick wall icon when one needs it?

Just check this flyer on sodium metabisulfite out -> https://nj.gov/health/eoh/rtkweb/documents/fs/1708.pdf
Na2S205 can irritate nose, lungs and throat causing coughing, wheezing and shortness of breath
So there you go. Why hundered of thousands of chinese are now reporting that they are suffering from nCovId induced pneumonia when they were simply breathing in all the Na2S205 by the kilo grams! Have to give it to ChiComs on how to create a problem and metastasize it further.

You go ahead and spray it twice a day across your entire city. Several will get more than the minimum daily limit of 5 mg/cu-mtr/8-hr. Every 12 hours, the chicoms go and gas their cities!!! :eek:

And we come here and make a song and dance about it and sing hosannas to their remarkable industrial ability.

Disclaimer: The video by south china post looks impressive. Can somebody guarantee that it is for the entire 8000+ sq km (incl. the sub-provincial city areas of wuhan) and not just a few city blocks?