Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

arshyam wrote:There seems to be no clear pattern on how this virus affects people - I have known a couple of people with co-morbidities get tested +ve and hospitalized, but walked out a couple weeks later with nothing more than mild oxygen therapy.
What age saar, if you don't mind sharing?

Infection load is a big factor. Doctors and nurses build up large loads through repeated exposure - unfortunate, this is the group that we need the most in the crisis. Plus the fatigue and the feeling of struggling against hopeless odds.

What is most tragic is that these doctors put in such selfless service, and when they are in need of the same service for themselves, they don't get it.

Looks like there are multiple people on this very forum who have been through hell because of this disease. I realize you might not all feel like sharing, best wishes to all in any case.
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

#Metformin use prior to the diagnosis of #COVID19 associated with a ~3-fold lower mortality in #diabetes
Potential mechanisms?

* anti-inflammatory effects
* anti-thrombotic effects
* inhibition TNF-alpha & IL6

https://twitter.com/kamleshkhunti/statu ... 0280810497

https://twitter.com/docmaltese/status/1 ... 17504?s=20

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101 ... 1.full.pdf

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32533990/
Mukhi

Post by Mukhi »

Here is what I observed that I feel the need to bring it to the attention of authority so that someone else can be saved.

1. No O2 saturation monitor on continuous bases. The Anand Zydus hospital had 1 portable machine for the floor. The patients are only checked for O2 for a maximum of 2 to 3 times in about 10 hour period. On 2nd day, I finally Requested the staff to keep the Oximeter in our room so that I can monitor more frequently. Between my mother and self, we monitored every 15 minutes or so. At one point 4AM ish, the saturation is 78 to 82. I go to WAKE UP the nurses and ask them to call Dr. not done. At about 6-7 AM, a visiting Dr coms and is furious that the patient is not transferred to ICU. In the morning, Father is on Ventilator. He remains on Ventilator / Treck Tube for 23+ days before passing away.

2. No sputum or culture test done, even after we asking for it. This should be a required test As soon as a patient is exerting sputum.

3. The staff at night. They are simply Girls, fresh out of school Related to medical field. I believe the GOV needs to reexamine the Nursing degree and its syllabus. Hospitals are simply using low level technicians To increase profit. (Zydus Ahmedabad was well staffed during days but not sure at night)

4. If a Hospital can not monitor patient, someone from family should be allowed, provided some safety measure is taken to prevent contamination / acquiring the disease.

5. Family members must be allowed more than 2 visits so that the family is aware of progress and family gets to see the loved ones before they pass away. (I understand this might sound sentimental)

6. On one hand, people are asked to remove shoes / chapples before visiting and On the other, the patients are next to each other, separated by a cloth type curtain, which is mostly open.

I also understand, that till there is a medicine for this, its tough for Drs and hospitals too. But looking into above could give Someone a chance to survive.
sajo

Post by sajo »

Mukhi ji and Ambar Ji , Om Shanti , may their souls attain sadgati. Really sorry to hear about your experiences. Worst part is, you are not alone and is being replicated 1000x all over the country.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

My deepest condolences to you Ambar ji and Mukhi ji.

My condolences to Ambar and Mukhi for their personal losses.

=== Needless insinuations deleted ===
Last edited by suryag on 03 Aug 2020 18:37, edited 1 time in total.

Ambar Ji & Mukhi ji,
My most heartfelt condolences to you and to your family. ओम शांति।

Thank you all for your kind words. 

Mukhiji, my heartfelt condolences to you and your family, may your father attain moksha. Om Shanti.

As my father was treated in the district government hospital, we were not charged for anything except for tocilizumab that we had to source on our own, and later for arranging the logistics of sourcing plasma from another town. Like I mentioned in my previous post, my sister and my brother-in-law are doctors in another city , and from day 2 they were in constant touch with the head of the dept where my father was being cared for and they think the doctors did what they could given the tools and facilities they had in hand to save my father . However I cannot help but wonder if his situation wouldn't have deteriorated had they moved him to an ICU as soon as he entered the hospital. The day he went to the hospital, despite his dropping oxygen he walked into the building on his own, instructed my mother to send him a bag with clothes, toiletries , cell phone etc. but later that night we were told his condition was critical. The other worry is that there is no coordinated care even in ICU, they don't have a cardiologist on duty to look after patients with coronary disease . And the lack of communication means we were never sure if he was getting his daily heart medications.
My family will forever be grateful to the local chapter of Indian Medical Association, fellow doctors many of whom were my father's friends and colleagues , and the people of the town who all did what they could to ensure he was treated right. He departed this world doing what he loved doing, and did his duty as a doctor until his body gave up. Maybe with a more urgent care, coordinated specialists in the ICU, and better communication with the family he may have lived. Most of the doctors who are in these care units are either doing their residency or lack the experience required to manage critically ill patients who have contracted this deadly virus. I know there are hospitals that have dentists who have been assigned to covid wards. It's a sad state of affairs.

Unless the private healthcare providers join the battle, abide by their oath to their profession, provide service affordable to people and have experienced doctors spearheading the fight, we are at the mercy of fate. We know we are in a dire situation when private ambulances refuse to touch covid patients, air-ambulances refuse to fly covid patients, and most (and in our case all) private hospitals turn back even critical covid patients . 
I'd encourage everyone to keep a good oximeter at home. And at the first sign of trouble (persistent cough, fever, fatigue) get yourself tested. As my dad found out antibiotics alone will not help, and once the virus strikes the lungs there is no saying what happens next. Just 6 months ago i had never heard of Wuhan or Hubei province, and never in a million years thought a virus originating thousands of miles away from a remote town in Karnataka would so soon hit my family like a tsunami. Life is fragile and uncertain, let's be thankful for everyday we live in relative peace and good health.

Ambar Ji, Mukhi ji, my heartfelt condolences.
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

Ambar Ji, Mukhi ji, Heartfelt condolences. Sad Gathi _/\_ _/\_

@suryag

My post was not directed towards any moderator.

It was directed towards couple of posters, that were hell bent on indirect personal attacks to any post that simply stated the fact that things were not goody goody and rosy on the ground.

One poster had the temerity to straight away to question my anecdote by looking at my location. I know the association being made. Kolkata means TMC, and that means anti ruling party at the center. Sorry, gents you are talking to a 4th generation military family. Our loyalty to India isn't tied to a political dispensation of the day. And you don't get away by indirect ad hominem.

What next? Do we produce the proof of the balloting choices, before our anecdotes are stopped being ridiculed.

Another gentleman called the entire people of my state as prostitutes. I can quote the post here if you like. What did you do as a moderator?
As a matter of fact I don't understand the simmering animosity towards certain ethnic groups here in BRF.

And you as a moderator, read, read and read to understand who is saying what. Look at the posting histories, that will provide you a pen picture.
In real life if provided with a gun you will end up shooting wrong people.

Sroy Sir am not taking any bait here. Remain factual in your posts.

suryag,

Not baiting you. Honestly man.
All that I am requesting you (and any mod) is that please warn people that try indirect tactics to insult and intimidate people.
I would have reproduced the offending posts from said posters in the admin thread to get them at least a token warning.
I simply don't have the time and energy to do so.

Sorry for the off topic stuff folks.
Now the pandemic has hit our social strata, the anecdotes which we shared in hushed tones have been experienced first hand.
There are vested interests involved here to downplay things, treat that with caution and stay safe. Keep your folks, kids and elderly, safe.

Ambarji, Mukhiji, Hari Om Shanti.
salaam

Post by salaam »

Ambar Ji, Mukhi ji, please accept my heartfelt condolences.

Many pranams. Om Shanti!

Mukhi wrote:Thanks.
3. The staff at night. They are simply Girls, fresh out of school Related to medical field. I believe the GOV needs to reexamine the Nursing degree and its syllabus. Hospitals are simply using low level technicians To increase profit. (Zydus Ahmedabad was well staffed during days but not sure at night)

4. If a Hospital can not monitor patient, someone from family should be allowed, provided some safety measure is taken to prevent contamination / acquiring the disease.
Agreed, atleast one or two (max) attendents should be allowed. Very sorry to hear about your loss. May his aatma have peace/shanti.

Unless the private healthcare providers join the battle, abide by their oath to their profession, provide service affordable to people and have experienced doctors spearheading the fight, we are at the mercy of fate. We know we are in a dire situation when private ambulances refuse to touch covid patients, air-ambulances refuse to fly covid patients, and most (and in our case all) private hospitals turn back even critical covid patients .
As i had said, even a chance brush with the current situation outside will leave one disillusioned since the current infra is nothing short of sub-saharan ( and this is in "silicon valley", Blr)

More than the lack of infra which can still be explained away, it is the sheer callousness of folks involved, absolute lack of empathy towards the suffering/their relatives and the single-minded greed even when the person is on his deathbed is what is really heartbreaking.

And there is no real effort being made to pull up socks or improve as days go on ( like happened in other countries which too were caught off guard) and same chalta hain attitude is still ongoing

All i can say is that hope all your loved ones stay safe and healthy ( since it is a literal lottery if situation turns bad even a little bit for them)

<edited. Duplicate>
Last edited by sum on 04 Aug 2020 07:41, edited 1 time in total.

As i had said, even a chance brush with the current situation outside will leave one disillusioned since the current infra is nothing short of sub-saharan ( and this is in "silicon valley", Blr). Any luck in getting into some pvt place( through connections etc) and a cool 1L/day should be kept ready and even then, the care provided is iffy.

More than the lack of infra which can still be explained away, it is the sheer callousness of folks involved, absolute lack of empathy towards the suffering/their relatives and the single-minded greed even when the person is on his deathbed is what is really heartbreaking.

And there is no real effort being made to pull up socks or improve as days go on ( like happened in other countries which too were caught off guard) and same chalta hain attitude is still ongoing

All i can say is that hope all your loved ones stay safe and healthy ( since it is a literal lottery if situation turns bad even a little bit for them)
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

My deepest condolences to Ambarji and Mukhiji for their personal loss....

SRoy wrote: ...

The solution to disparaging comments is reporting the offending posts, not sarcastic posts of your own.

New Research On Masks Show They Can Act Like A Vaccine
This is the strongest evidence yet that masks really work

https://medium.com/@drhassaballa/new-re ... bde9398dd4
They found that wearing masks reduces what’s called the “viral inoculum,” which is the amount of virus that one can potentially inhale into his or her respiratory system.
So, even if one does get an infection with a low viral inoculum, it is much more likely to be very mild or totally asymptomatic infection. And, barring a weak immune system, the body will generate an immune response to the virus and hopefully confer some sort of immunity to the virus.
The above is probably why Dharavi has achieved herd immunity and why the virus does not appear to make it's way the second time to the same location - if there was a big cluster prior.
And so, in essence, masks can act like a “poor man’s vaccine,” as the researchers in the paper called it, while we wait for a real vaccine that is safe and effective to be developed. Yet, how does this work?
In the case with masks, if you get a very small viral inoculum of SARS-CoV-2 that causes asymptomatic infection, your body generates an immune response without suffering the devastating effects of full blown COVID-19, in other words, similar to what a vaccine does.
A Nandy

Post by A Nandy »

Figures seem to show a slowdown of new cases: https://www.covid19india.org/

The tide has turned? :|

Lockdowns have returned. There is a correlation.

That medium article is silly.
It took a researchers time to figure out that the masks work?'

Chinese virus, I'm sure is real, but the whole medical industry that has grown up around it is a scam.

A Nandy wrote:Figures seem to show a slowdown of new cases: https://www.covid19india.org/

The tide has turned? :|
Though I have repeatedly been wrong about this peaking - our cases yesterday are at the same level as 25th July, with testing increasing
from 420000 to 620000. The worst hit places - Mumbai, Chennai, Delhi have peaked some time ago. The daily fatality rate is around 1.5%
(that's a more important parameter than cumulative fatality rate).
I suspect, once figures are out, that the combined deaths from TB (where we lose over 4 lac per year), respiratory disease and Covid, from Apr-Sept will be the same as last year.
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

My heartfelt condolences to all the members here going thru loss of their near and dear ones. As of tonite 3 members of extended family effected in India and 1 family friend obgyn physican here in NY. 2 Passed away and the 3rd has just been admitted into hospital. The two that passed away exhibited initial symptoms of covid and then died of a heart attack. There was no testing done at that point. The family members over there moved quickly and obtained a death certificate citing natural causes and cremation was done with a few hours by a dedicated municipal team with zero rituals and minimal attendance. This is why death rate due to covid is under reported. Folks are dying and there is no time or motivation for a postmortem.
Family members here are in a dilemma not able to travel and risk exposure and anyway too late for any performing last rites.
Physician friend is a young 49. She had a major (miraculous) recovery due to Tocilizumab due good medical treatment at the same hospital she works at. An ICU attending administered it on time even though it was not on the protocol at that time. Stopped the cytokine storm and was in her opinion the reason for the recovery. This was at the height of the pandemic in NY city. Today she is still out of breath walking up stairs but has returned to work.

Too early. For the first time today, according to the covidindiaupdates.in statistics, the number of active cases DROPPED. Only by a minuscule 60. (Activecases = New cases -(recoveries+deaths))

Above from Johns Hopkins.

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/testing/ind ... states/usa

Just a thought. There's definitely a second wave going on in the US, but I think the positivity rate is a better indicator of severity of the wave, than the raw case count. Right now the positivity rate is less than half what it was during the April wave. Testing however has increased about 5 fold, as the image shows. In between, like in June/ early July, the positive rate had dipped so much that even the 3 fold increase in testing (since April) did not cause a spike in cases, but actually showed a decline. The epidemic in the US had definitely subsided in June/ early July, it did revive since, but it seems the severity of this new wave (or peak or whatever one wishes to call it, don't know if it is really a second wave, or just the same wave with relaxation of lockdown) is only half of the April peak.

Basically - two-fold increases in daily case counts since April, but testing has also increased 5-fold. Need to keep that in mind.

There are still states in the US where the positivity rate is *higher* than in April. Those are the areas of concern.

The above also assumes that the testing strategy hasn't changed since April.
Last edited by sudarshan on 05 Aug 2020 20:18, edited 1 time in total.

Tapeworm drug heading into coronavirus human trials, company says
Silicon Valley-based biotech start-up ANA Therapeutics announced Tuesday that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved its application for tapeworm drug niclosamide as a potential treatment in COVID-19 and will soon begin human clinical trials.

The move makes ANA Therapeutics the first U.S.-based-company to run a clinical trial for niclosamide to determine efficacy in COVID-19, officials said.

The FDA cleared its investigational new drug application for ANA001, niclosamide capsules, the company said in a press release.

As of Tuesday, the first patient had not been enrolled, spokesperson Elizabeth Squire told Fox News in an email statement.

Niclosamide is approved by the FDA to treat tapeworm infections, and kills the worms on contact, according to the Mayo Clinic. In pre-clinical research, the drug was said to stop the virus that causes COVID-19 from replicating and showed more potency than Gilead Sciences' remdesivir in the same assay. Niclosamide also documented anti-inflammatory properties, officials said.

“ANA Therapeutics believes niclosamide has the strong potential to both stop viral replication and reduce symptoms in patients suffering from COVID-19,” company officials wrote in a press release.

“Safe and effective antiviral therapies are critically needed to treat COVID-19 now and treatments will continue to be necessary even if a vaccine is developed," said Akash Bakshi, ANA Therapeutics co-founder and CEO.

“Anticipating that niclosamide may prove to be effective against COVID-19, we are already laying plans to make the drug accessible to everyone," Bakshi said.

The clinical trial seeks to enroll at least 400 patients with COVID-19 at 10 centers across the U.S., specifically in states experiencing a surge in cases, such as Florida and Texas.

ANA Therapeutics will set out to evaluate the safety of niclosamide and its ability to improve hospitalized patients, focusing on less severe patients who are not on ventilators.

Patients will be given a seven-day course of the drug and monitored for 60 days. ANA Therapeutics will examine the drug’s effectiveness in treating outpatients in a later study.

In early March, ANA pivoted the business to determine the efficacy of niclosamide for COVID-19 and raised more than $5 million to lead the clinical trial.

Jayram wrote:My heartfelt condolences to all the members here going thru loss of their near and dear ones. As of tonite 3 members of extended family effected in India and 1 family friend obgyn physican here in NY. 2 Passed away and the 3rd has just been admitted into hospital. The two that passed away exhibited initial symptoms of covid and then died of a heart attack. There was no testing done at that point. The family members over there moved quickly and obtained a death certificate citing natural causes and cremation was done with a few hours by a dedicated municipal team with zero rituals and minimal attendance. This is why death rate due to covid is under reported. Folks are dying and there is no time or motivation for a postmortem.
Family members here are in a dilemma not able to travel and risk exposure and anyway too late for any performing last rites.
Physician friend is a young 49. She had a major (miraculous) recovery due to Tocilizumab due good medical treatment at the same hospital she works at. An ICU attending administered it on time even though it was not on the protocol at that time. Stopped the cytokine storm and was in her opinion the reason for the recovery. This was at the height of the pandemic in NY city. Today she is still out of breath walking up stairs but has returned to work.
I have to reiterate this point again that even if the COVID19 deaths are misclassified in India, they will be reflected in the overall death rates and other metrics. Unlike China and Iran, this number cannot be hidden. You will see constant adjustments in the numbers because of this.
The FDA cleared its investigational new drug application for ANA001, niclosamide capsules, the company said in a press release.

As of Tuesday, the first patient had not been enrolled, spokesperson Elizabeth Squire told Fox News in an email statement.
Ivermectin is also a parasitic drug. I wonder if this would extend to the entire family of parasitic drugs including Albendazole. Worth looking at that.

SRoy wrote:^^
Lockdowns have returned. There is a correlation.

That medium article is silly.
It took a researchers time to figure out that the masks work?'

Chinese virus, I'm sure is real, but the whole medical industry that has grown up around it is a scam.
Masks work but the mechanism outlined in this article is interesting. I don't find it silly at all - it's not just prevention but also has a long term effect. If proven, it has consequences on how we regulate and control.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

90% of recovered COVID-19 patients in Wuhan suffering from lung damage: Report
PTI Last Updated: Aug 05, 2020, 05:06 PM IST

Beijing: Ninety per cent of a sample group of coronavirus-recovered patients from a prominent hospital in China's Wuhan city where the pandemic broke out have reported lung damage and five per cent of them are again in quarantine after testing positive for the virus, according to a media report on Wednesday.

The first phase of this one-year programme finished in July. The average age of the patients in the study is 59.

According to the first phase results, 90 per cent of the patients' lungs are still in a damaged state, which means their lungs ventilation and gas exchange functions have not recovered to the level of healthy people, state-run Global Times reported.

Liang's team is also conducting follow-up visits with recovered patients aged above 65.

The results also showed that antibodies against the novel coronavirus in 10 per cent of the 100 patients have disappeared.

Five per cent of them received negative results in COVID-19 nucleic acid tests but positive results in Immunoglobulin M (IgM) tests, and thus have to be quarantined again, the report said.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 372009.cms
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

My deepest condolences to Ambarji and Mukhiji for their loss....
It is sad truth that every pt is not getting optimum care.. I expressed my fear few posts back that We are loosing salvagable pts in inadequately equipped and staffed setups..

Trump is hell bent on having schools open. He claims children are 'totally or almost totally immune' to this virus. What he seems to forget is that the children do not teach themselves and they need to be taught by adults who normally number around 20% in relation to students and many of them could have comorbidities. Also, even if children are not affected that much by the virus there is nothing to say that they do not carry the virus. Then thier parents, grand parents who live with them? They wont be affected either, because Donald 'Canute' Trump says so? I am not affected as I do not have shcool going children.
Mukhi

Post by Mukhi »

DrRatnadip wrote:My deepest condolences to Ambarji and Mukhiji ..... in inadequately equipped and staffed setups..
Tank you all for your kind words.

Perhaps I may have sent a wrong message in my original post. Please allow me to clarify.

When first admitted to Zydus Anand, the care was in question, but my mother and I were able to stay with him to monitor his condition. Once he got "stabilized", even though still on ventilator, we took the risk to transport him to the Zydus Hospital Ahmedabad.

If anyone is familiar with the Zydus Complex in Ahmedabad, it is the finest there is. He remained in ICU but under one of the finest doctor, Dr Pratibha Patil and her team. Our biggest petpives were, we were cutoff from him once at Ahmedabad, except for 2 visiting time of 10 - 15 minutes, a morning Dr's consult and as needed. The team during day time was the best there could be and we are not sure about night care since we never got to see him at night. This is where I feel there is room for improvement as most patient worsen at night with lack of contentious monitoring.

So, I do believe, at lest for privet care at at Zydus Ahmedabad caliber facility, is the best there is. The challenge is, THERE IS NO MEDICINAL CURE YET. Therefore, the doctors are chasing the symptoms on a continuous bases. I feel the medical personals are getting tired form failure and family member's harrasements (we are no exception). I wished we had incorporated some Ayurvedic remedies as well along with allopathic treatments. The death rate has comedown significantly ever since the Ayurvedic remedies have been incorporated in the treatment.

All this are hind sites. But the truth is, till there is a Medicinal Cure, all we can do is preventative care, if you have to get hospitalize, even in government hospitals, incorporate Ayurvedic remedies, and hope for the best.

Sadly that wasn't the case with my dad. None of the private hospitals in the city he lived in is taking covid patients, so he had to go to the district government hospital. He walked into the hospital on his own and that was the last time my mother saw him because he was completely cut off from us for the next 2 weeks until his demise. Had he not been a very popular doctor in a small city, i think the outcome would have been much quicker but as the pressure piled on the DHO and the HoD of the covid unit, he was given the best care possible with the facilities they had. No one was allowed to visit not even his colleagues who themselves are doctors. And after his death, the body was taken directly to the cremation ground and only 2 people from my family were allowed.

I am increasingly reading about sudden deaths and cardiac arrests in patients who are in the recovery stage, not sure what exactly is causing it. We were told that they were administering him heparin blood thinner but since none of the family members were allowed there is no ways for us to know what doseage was being administered. The other worry was that he had a coronary bypass, and without coordinated care with a cardiologist and close consultation with family members we dont know if he was getting his daily heart medications either.

The thing with ayurvedic medication is that many of the allopathic doctors may not be willing to administer medicines without understanding its content, source and efficacy . I feel someone who is healthy and wants to take natural medicines as a precautionary measure can and should try ayurveda, but someone who is already infected with medium to severe condition may be difficult candidates because at that point they are already hospitalized.

Is it legally possible for local governments to compel private hospitals to treat covid patients? Maybe some national security law can be used to threaten prosecution for ones who do not comply if another more pertinent law is not available. It is simply impossible to manage a pandemic of this size if private healthcare centers do not pitch in fully. Especially in India with our dilapidated public healthcare setups in many places. I have not heard of any other country where hospitals are refusing to treat covid patients like this.

Amber ji, Mukhi ji, my condolences to you and your families. Thank you for sharing despite the circumstances.

I'm getting more and more worried about my parents in Hyd, especially my father who is 76, with heart conditions, diabetes, and some respiratory difficulties. The only thing they can count on seems to be prevention by social distancing, masks and scrupulous hygiene. But how long can people live like Parikshith even if they are able to ?!! :roll: :(

Each day seems a blessing.

Like Ambar ji's father, all of us, our families, the country and the world needs to find succour in being karma yogis and helping others with compassion.

I hope the temple in Ayodhya will help us remember the qualities of Maryada Puroshottama Ram and hopefully enable us to practice them in our lives.

nachiket wrote:Is it legally possible for local governments to compel private hospitals to treat covid patients? Maybe some national security law can be used to threaten prosecution for ones who do not comply if another more pertinent law is not available. It is simply impossible to manage a pandemic of this size if private healthcare centers do not pitch in fully. Especially in India with our dilapidated public healthcare setups in many places. I have not heard of any other country where hospitals are refusing to treat covid patients like this.
Apparently, under the colonial pandemic law it is. Unfortunately, many of the investors in the private hospitals are bureaucrats and other stakeholders. So they are making money like hoarders.
Someone who is familiar with the details of the pandemic law should be able to elucidate the application.