Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

80,29,73,353 crossed.

We'll probably be near 1 crore for today Saturday 18 Sep 2021.

The PIB and MoHFW reporting has lost sync with the CoWin platform numbers the past two days, so I have a hard time establishing the data here.
What I know:
Thursday 7pm data was 77,17,36,406 https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1755551
The Friday 8am report was 77,24,25,744 (+63,97,972) https://www.mohfw.gov.in/pdf/Cummulativ ... er2021.pdf
The Saturday 8am report was 79,42,87,699 (+(2,15,98,046) https://www.mohfw.gov.in/pdf/Cummulativ ... r20211.pdf
Current CoWin total: 80,31,92,140

They are all outdated in some manner. CoWin is nearest to the reality, but given Friday was ~25 million and today is ~8.5 million, that is 772+25+8.5 = around 806 million right now. Other notable figures at this point:
* Crossed 600m first doses on 18th
* Crossed 200m fully vaccinated also on 18th
* the month to date is 155 million
* Past week is 70 million (May full month was 60 million)

At this time the CoWin platform is the most reliable. The rate of vaccination and count reconciliation going past midnight creates discrepancies. MoHFW gives a breakdown of each state and they need a couple of hours to compile their daily reports. Unfortunately for MoHFW, the numbers are moving so fast they can't get a breather.

CoWin has only been useful for running daily total. That has always been the case for me. It always lagged in cumulative totals.

This remains true - you can see the counter ticking up but cumulative number is static. It's fine, not a major problem - even the CDC repeatedly goes back and revises their own tracker data.

I'll wait for them to fix their totals. I prefer to track PIB data because its searchable.

What I meant was that you can add the daily total to the baseline of 16 Sep 2021, and then go forward. Eventually MoHFW will catch up.

That’s exactly what I did originally to get 806 million .

Just a question for data crunchers. At the current rate of vaccinations which is like ~10 Million per day, would we not run out of eligible adult population soon for first jabs?

The most jabs will then be second doses. And generally people tend to neglect the second dose until cajoled and called and maybe even dragged kicking and screaming.

Hence the vaccination rates may come down. Unless GOI and Health Minister has figured out a way to motivate them to come for 2nd jab.

Also India can open up for Vaccine tourism? For non-western countries?
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

They should announce some sort of a vaccine passport scheme for the fully vaccinated. It is a great motivator. Ofcourse the usual suspects will do their 'kagaz nahi dikhayenge' nach but will soon come around.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8248252
Ivermectin for Prevention and Treatment of COVID-19 Infection: A Systematic Review, Meta-analysis, and Trial Sequential Analysis to Inform Clinical Guidelines
Background:
Repurposed medicines may have a role against the SARS-CoV-2 virus. The antiparasitic ivermectin, with antiviral and anti-inflammatory properties, has now been tested in numerous clinical trials.

Areas of uncertainty:
We assessed the efficacy of ivermectin treatment in reducing mortality, in secondary outcomes, and in chemoprophylaxis, among people with, or at high risk of, COVID-19 infection.

Data sources:
We searched bibliographic databases up to April 25, 2021. Two review authors sifted for studies, extracted data, and assessed risk of bias. Meta-analyses were conducted and certainty of the evidence was assessed using the GRADE approach and additionally in trial sequential analyses for mortality. Twenty-four randomized controlled trials involving 3406 participants met review inclusion.

Therapeutic Advances:
Meta-analysis of 15 trials found that ivermectin reduced risk of death compared with no ivermectin (average risk ratio 0.38, 95% confidence interval 0.19–0.73; n = 2438; I2 = 49%; moderate-certainty evidence). This result was confirmed in a trial sequential analysis using the same DerSimonian–Laird method that underpinned the unadjusted analysis. This was also robust against a trial sequential analysis using the Biggerstaff–Tweedie method. Low-certainty evidence found that ivermectin prophylaxis reduced COVID-19 infection by an average 86% (95% confidence interval 79%–91%). Secondary outcomes provided less certain evidence. Low-certainty evidence suggested that there may be no benefit with ivermectin for “need for mechanical ventilation,” whereas effect estimates for “improvement” and “deterioration” clearly favored ivermectin use. Severe adverse events were rare among treatment trials and evidence of no difference was assessed as low certainty. Evidence on other secondary outcomes was very low certainty.

Conclusions:
Moderate-certainty evidence finds that large reductions in COVID-19 deaths are possible using ivermectin. Using ivermectin early in the clinical course may reduce numbers progressing to severe disease. The apparent safety and low cost suggest that ivermectin is likely to have a significant impact on the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic globally.

Meta-analysis of 15 trials, assessing 2438 participants, found that ivermectin reduced the risk of death by an average of 62% (95% CI 27%–81%) compared with no ivermectin treatment [average RR (aRR) 0.38, 95% CI 0.19 to 0.73; I2 = 49%]; risk of death 2.3% versus 7.8% among hospitalized patients in this analysis, respectively (SoF Table ​Table22 and Figure ​Figure3).3).

There is no data to prove people need to be cajoled into second doses. I would be EXTREMELY careful making such arguments. The reason is that we don’t need to combine the amount of pseudoscience out there with even more subjective assumptions. Never rush to conclude anything. Always look at the data first, and check your potential conclusions against that. Your conclusions stand upon your data, and if you have no data you only have an opinion.

Those pointing at the west should look at the data - the US has one bloc fully vaccinated and another not at all . Same for Europe. Neither have a large population with just one dose. Almost 100% of both US and Europe are 2-dose vaccines with 28 day interval.

India is not remotely like that. Because 90% of our vaccinations are a vaccine with 12-16 week interval, we carry an enormous population with just one jab . Tracking back 4 months for a 4-month interval vaccine, we have done 600 million vaccinations between June 1 and today. The first doses will be done real soon, within 3 months. Second doses will be done 3-4 months after.

Currently over 400 million people have just one jab. 200m have both. There is no other major national with such a skew. The data tells you absolutely nothing about ‘hesitancy’ or ‘cajoling read’. Please avoid idle arguments like these.

What the government has done is very carefully address the potential for a population to hesitate. It fixed supply. It fixed accessibility. It’s gone to the extent of WR breaking daily drives, where individual states exceed entire continents, and India alone vaccinates more than rest of world combined. It set up a digital mechanism there people get certificates trivially once both doses are given. It made tracking daily counter a national pastime.

This is a government that knows how to execute. Do not get in its way with dangerous theoretical arguments that feed actual on the ground negativity.

The daily totals of second dose are now catching up with the daily totals of first dose.

For Saturday till 7pm:

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage ... ID=1756130

First dose 40 lakhs+
Second dose 36 lakhs+

I think that by the end of this month, daily totals of second doses may start exceeding the daily totals of first dose as the people who got first Covishield dose from June-end onwards start getting their second dose.

I think Bio E will be late to the party.

disha wrote:Just a question for data crunchers. At the current rate of vaccinations which is like ~10 Million per day, would we not run out of eligible adult population soon for first jabs?

The most jabs will then be second doses. And generally people tend to neglect the second dose until cajoled and called and maybe even dragged kicking and screaming.

Hence the vaccination rates may come down. Unless GOI and Health Minister has figured out a way to motivate them to come for 2nd jab.

Also India can open up for Vaccine tourism? For non-western countries?
While Suraj has addressed your concern, I see a positive development from our current vaccination rate.
The 2nd doses will mostly come from Covshield (SII), because that's what the 1st does people recd. I believe most of our eligible population will be fully vaccinated, just when BB and ZC start ramping up production, which means a lot of their output can be exported.

Let me present a contrarian argument about BioE and Covaxin. We know SIIs miraculous 200m dose per month rate is enabling world beating vaccination rate. SII is doing 35m this month and 50-60m in Oct. BioE is aiming for 70m in Oct.

This is great for accelerating completion. Why ? Because we get the most of the vaccine with highest interval (3.5 months) early and then we get high volumes of a vaccine with 28 day interval . As we approach the taper of first doses, the idea is simple - use more BioE and Covaxin and export Covishield, because we can then do the second doses 1 month later instead of 3.5 months later .

Depending on only Covishield will extend the completion date because the last person given Covishield gets dose 2 only 3 months later …
Karna

Post by Karna »

SandeepA wrote:They should announce some sort of a vaccine passport scheme for the fully vaccinated. It is a great motivator. Ofcourse the usual suspects will do their 'kagaz nahi dikhayenge' nach but will soon come around.
At least in Mumbai, you need to be fully vaccinated to take local trains which is a motivation to not forget. Offices are opening up which again require full vaccination.

But haven't come across any anecdotal evidence which suggests ppl are forgetting or purposefully letting go of the second shot.

Resistance if it exist, is for the first shot. Daily income earners are hesitant since it takes time to get the shot at a government facility and if they feel unwell the next day it means loss of income.

Suraj wrote:This is great for accelerating completion. Why ? Because we get the most of the vaccine with highest interval (3.5 months) early and then we get high volumes of a vaccine with 28 day interval . As we approach the taper of first doses, the idea is simple - use more BioE and Covaxin and export Covishield, because we can then do the second doses 1 month later instead of 3.5 months later .

Depending on only Covishield will extend the completion date because the last person given Covishield gets dose 2 only 3 months later …
But Sir, when 90% of first doses administered so far have been Covishield, their second dose will also have to be Covishield.

Only if Bio E can get into the supply chain before mid-November, can it have a chance at getting some first shots (and thus the following second shots). Otherwise, the 30 crore doses of Bio E supplied after mid-November will not be used for the adult population of India.

Or, am I analyzing it wrong?

I’m suggesting that Covaxin or BioE are not ‘late’. Going forward all first doses should be either of those to the extend possible during the taper, ie maximize their user for the last 100m first doses . Then that means those will need second doses one month later and not 3-4 later.

So far arguments suggest that when they arrive they could be exported . I’m saying the reverse - use them and export excess Covishield after keeping aside enough to do second doses. That way we can taper faster…

I hope we also evaluate the need for a booster, irrespective of what the US decides. Our vaxx are not the same as they are using, and hence their safety concern driven decisions will not apply to us.

We should have also done more of our own independent studies for Ivermectin as prophylaxis and treatment. The west has gone nuts. They've been taken over by their political feuds, PRC penetration and big pharma lobbying for new drugs vs repurporpising cheap existing ones. As a result we've to increasingly go our own way, and find our own answers, whether they be drugs or vaccines.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

SandeepA wrote:They should announce some sort of a vaccine passport scheme for the fully vaccinated. It is a great motivator. Ofcourse the usual suspects will do their 'kagaz nahi dikhayenge' nach but will soon come around.
There is no vaccination without aadhar. So that faltu nonsense is not going to fly
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Kakkaji wrote:The daily totals of second dose are now catching up with the daily totals of first dose.

For Saturday till 7pm:

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage ... ID=1756130

First dose 40 lakhs+
Second dose 36 lakhs+

I think that by the end of this month, daily totals of second doses may start exceeding the daily totals of first dose as the people who got first Covishield dose from June-end onwards start getting their second dose.

I think Bio E will be late to the party.
Kakkaji, if we remove 1.5 billion bat soup people and 1 billion goras, than there is a good 3-4 billion people is SE Asia, Africa, Central and South Americas and Eastern Europeans who can be a ready market. So let's chime on and not be too worrisome sirjee.

Somewhere deep down, I sense this vaccine maitri will be relaunched with full vigour and will blow modernas and pfizers of the world out of the park. And this really announce the coming of age of Modi and Bharat as a whole.
Karna

Post by Karna »

ritesh wrote:
There is no vaccination without aadhar. So that faltu nonsense is not going to fly
You need to have a photo id. Having aadhar is not required.

I don't think other vaccine manufacturers are going to miss out.

Zycov is approved for age 12+, Covaxin is in testing for age 2+, BioE's Corbevax is in testing for age 5-18. We are a young country, and we have substantial adolescent and child population that is going to be likely targets for next phase.

Karan M wrote:I hope we also evaluate the need for a booster, irrespective of what the US decides. Our vaxx are not the same as they are using, and hence their safety concern driven decisions will not apply to us.

We should have also done more of our own independent studies for Ivermectin as prophylaxis and treatment. The west has gone nuts. They've been taken over by their political feuds, PRC penetration and big pharma lobbying for new drugs vs repurporpising cheap existing ones. As a result we've to increasingly go our own way, and find our own answers, whether they be drugs or vaccines.
Listen to what members of the ICMR are saying. In India there are areas where nearly 90% of a district has Covid antibodies and at least one shot of the vaccine, which has led to hybrid immunity. Only a serological study of such districts can tell where one needs to apply further doses. In the west, big pharma needs large population samples of mRNA vaccine administration in order for them to refine and produce specific cancer and other disease mRNA treatments. It’s a huge hundreds of billions of dollars cash cow.

We have to come up with a robust answer which doesnt depend on complex studies, which we can neither afford or carry out in the manner prescribed given red tape, and when the time-frame between mutants (natural or artificial) is so narrow. Best we come up with an answer that manages to address the worst case scenario and we prep accordingly. A repeat of Wave 2 style chaos will simply not be accepted by the folks of India (despite their own antics in perpetuating the same).

A serological study isn’t that hard since testing is going in districts with higher infection rates. It allows best use of vaccines to immediately reduce the active case load and wipe out this virus. However, if there is no shortage of vaccines, particularly when nasal spray and non injection based delivery systems become available late this or early next year, might as well get everyone a 2nd dose or booster dose (for those who are HCW or FLW).

Karna wrote:
This will help in opening up the workplace and markets. Though the city almost seems to be back to it's normal self.
Personal observation (maybe other forums members from Mumbai might add) -

Till last week (or say 10 days ago) i would see about 7 out of 10 people wearing masks* but in the last week on i am seeing barely 2-3 people out of 10 wearing masks.

I have noticed that the vast majority who are not wearing it are teenagers, young to middle aged males and street vendors

Don't know what's changed... hope it is just a local anomaly in my area (north western suburb).. but i am not so sure.

*(it's another thing that barely 2 out of those 7 would wear it properly covering the nose and mouth)

India's investment in pharma has paid rich dividends. We did not need to run around begging for vaccines. We need to develop a similar eco system for defense hardware. India's vaccination drive is inspiring and a model for the world.

The ecosystem for a military industrial complex can only begin when ALL imports of defence items are stopped. Invest in domestic platforms, let DRDO, HAL, Bharat Dynamics and others develop and then have private companies like L&T, Tata, and Kalyani Group build for production. The pharmaceutical companies in India get big government and foreign orders, and they have their own R&D that let's them have partnerships. A model like that is needed for defence production.

If India can produce a billions of doses of COVID-19 vaccine, then why can't it have 1000 Tejas and 1000 Arjuns?

Suraj wrote:This is a government that knows how to execute. Do not get in its way with dangerous theoretical arguments that feed actual on the ground negativity.
Suraj, you are being unnecessarily harsh. Yes, you proved your point that data does not currently support vaccine "hesitancy" for 2nd dose.

At the same time, PM is already on the offensive to stem the lethargy against 2nd dose. In his address to the nation, PM Modi clearly stated that people need to move forward with 2nd dose for complete protection. And not to be lethargic. So there is some concern about 2nd dose lethargy and this is not "western-style resistance". Nobody here is doubting the ability of the current GOI to execute. Least of all me.

My post was made before I heard PM Modi's address. Further, I do not have the delusion that my posts are read by millions, and even my queries feed actual on-the-ground negativity. Hence instead of going on a rhetorical tirade, you could have as well restricted your response that the data does not currently support 2nd vaccine lethargy.

It is good that there is a reservoir of 400m people coming online for 2nd vaccine in the next 2-3 months and hence the per-day rate of vaccinations can be sustained. Political vultures & mediapimps will twist the numbers their way and that is what might come your way to address in 2nd vaccination jabs from a data perspective.

^^^Be careful man. Surajsan has been researching this quite well and has the data on it. This is his bailiwick and you're risking a ban.

disha: There's already a lot of people talking loosely of terms like 'hesitancy'. I'll argue that no one can quantify it, not even you. You can neither define it precisely, nor can you offer data to support it because you don't have a definition.

I'll tell you what terms like 'hesitancy' and 'second dose lethargy' or whatever is - it's a subjective result of people idly talking and either stupidly or deliberately keeping others from going to the vaccination center. And SM amplifies the stupidity.

There's no objective data supporting behavioral changes at certain points. There IS subjective behavior on the part of people just trying to make up some kind of conclusion on the back of no data.

Another example of this is the LW currently busy arguing that we did 25 million vaccinations by hoarding supplies for days/weeks. This is very trivially debunked because supplies any given day have been within 2-3 million of trailing 7-day vaccinations for several weeks now, with the latter almost always more. In other words, supply is simply a function of ongoing vaccination rate, NOT related to future intent.

My earlier request stands - please avoid stating conclusions with no evidence whatsoever. It doesn't even matter if you use appeal to authority (e.g. something PM allegedly said). If that's the evidence, it's best to just post the speech and we can analyze.

One of the most dangerous banes of the moment is people making up behavioral tendencies that become a self-fulfilling prophecy. You may strongly feel something 'might happen', but that offers no reason to assert it. Lots of people strongly feel 'vaccines will make you sterile / implant 5G brain control devices inside body / insert-some-BS'.

Trying to claim your theory is more plausible than such BS claim is not helpful - you must realize those people are using exactly the same argument to peddle their claims. The entire construct of such subjective arguments needs a pause. They're not helpful. They're just paths by which harmful behavior is being transmitted by social media.
Karna

Post by Karna »

Manish_P wrote:
Karna wrote:
This will help in opening up the workplace and markets. Though the city almost seems to be back to it's normal self.
Personal observation (maybe other forums members from Mumbai might add) -

Till last week (or say 10 days ago) i would see about 7 out of 10 people wearing masks* but in the last week on i am seeing barely 2-3 people out of 10 wearing masks.

I have noticed that the vast majority who are not wearing it are teenagers, young to middle aged males and street vendors

Don't know what's changed... hope it is just a local anomaly in my area (north western suburb).. but i am not so sure.

*(it's another thing that barely 2 out of those 7 would wear it properly covering the nose and mouth)

As ppl are getting vaccinated, their guards are dropping. Also their is a fatigue factor. Have seen in my complex and nearby areas in Mumbai north east.. So not a local anomaly I would say. Local shop keepers no longer bother..

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Be careful man. Surajsan has been researching this quite well and has the data on it. This is his bailiwick and you're risking a ban.
No I don't desire to warn or ban anyone. That is fundamentally counterproductive.

The goal here is to emphasize the popular tendency to explain unknowns through theoretical claims with little analytical basis. Have you been on Reddit ? There's a horrifying number of crackpot theories backed by claims/anecdotes that have been beaten into submission as 'data'.

This is a sign of the times. People want some strongly held basis to explain their position. Some of these are reasonable but nuanced. Some are complete nonsense, and there's a large gulf in between. A lot of these are extremely heavy on nuance, but the average person doesn't have time for nuance.

BRF is a small collection of people with the ability to parse and track topics of detail and nuance, i.e. you're far above average intelligence and awareness. That's why I'm appealing to people here to avoid being driven by your natural instinct, and instead learn to actively act against it. I would fail to convey that by warning or banning someone.

A lot of theories are the result of idle attempts to make sense of a once in century moment. Even some of the worst crackpot theories are simply a funny idea gone viral due to someone else's willingness to misinterpret it.

When you want to craft an idea, you keep it simple and positive. E.g. "wash your hands, wear a mask". Then there are the stupid negative but simple terms like "GDP is going up because GDP = gas, diesel, petrol". It only takes 2-3 hops of conversation for all nuance in a detail to be lost.

This is why I'm emphasizing not making claims. Just post the source data. A few very narrow conclusions are likely evident, but nothing further should be parsed. It's dangerous. It simply enables a lot of people who lack your level of understanding; that's why your own nuanced understanding is irrelevant.

The danger lies in others lacking the ability to understand nuance and just making stuff up. That's why I never use 'hesitancy' as a term. I get what it's trying to convey, but it's not a quantifiable factor - it's a subjective aggregation of people unable to make sense of what's happening around them and literally hesitating. The goal is to avoid adding to the misinformation overload.
Anoop

Post by Anoop »

A question for many members who follow this topic - how does the distribution of vaccines take place in India? Is there a transfer of custody from the Central Govt to State Govt doctors? Or is the vaccine shipped direct from the manufacturer to the vaccination centers? Who manages the cold storage requirements along the way? And how is the data rolled up from the individual vaccination centers to the PIB daily reports - through the CoWIN app? Thank you.

Vivek K wrote:India's investment in pharma has paid rich dividends. We did not need to run around begging for vaccines. We need to develop a similar eco system for defense hardware. India's vaccination drive is inspiring and a model for the world.
Mort Walker wrote:The ecosystem for a military industrial complex can only begin when ALL imports of defence items are stopped. Invest in domestic platforms, let DRDO, HAL, Bharat Dynamics and others develop and then have private companies like L&T, Tata, and Kalyani Group build for production. The pharmaceutical companies in India get big government and foreign orders, and they have their own R&D that let's them have partnerships. A model like that is needed for defence production.If India can produce a billions of doses of COVID-19 vaccine, then why can't it have 1000 Tejas and 1000 Arjuns?
<OT>
Agree 100% with Vivek ji and you. IMHO there is one very significant difference in the Pharma and Mil-Ind industries - the end consumer in the pharma industry is the common man with all the freedom to accept/reject a particular product and also buy from competition, whereas the end consumer in the defense still remains the sarkaar/babu (the soldier is the contracted user - he has to use what is assigned to him)
</OT>

Karna wrote: As ppl are getting vaccinated, their guards are dropping. Also their is a fatigue factor. Have seen in my complex and nearby areas in Mumbai north east.. So not a local anomaly I would say. Local shop keepers no longer bother..
Ah OK. So it is probably not a hyper-local phenomenon.

Then i think the number of new cases in the crucial next 7-10 days should give us a good idea if the combination of vaccination (partial and complete), previous exposure resulting in natural anti-bodies etc have helped Mumbai get very close to herd immunity

I hope esteemed forum members like Amber G are tracking the numbers closely and perhaps could share some early thoughts about the trends (as compared to their computed Models)

These two bit colonials who still think that "rule britania" is still in force and their empire rules the world should be taught an unforgettable lesson.

reciprocity in all matters should be enforced strictly with britshits, and they must be banned from entering India from any country in the world.

So India which uses AZ and has supplied the very same AZ to the UK is now not good enough to pass muster

maybe we could order 10-20 nuclear submarines from them to placate the britshit govt

vaccination apartheid, anyone............

UK government's AZ vaccines are made in India which also administers the very same vaccine off the very same production line so what exactly are they insinuating

@AlexInAir
UK government confirm tonight that if a person has been vaccinated in Africa, or South America, or countries including UAE, India, Turkey, Jordan, Thailand, Russia…

…you are considered “unvaccinated” and must follow “unvaccinated” rules = 10 day home quarantine & tests

3:51 am · 18 Sep 2021·Twitter for iPhone

The score from a few moments ago is 77 lakhs or 7.7 millions we still have nearly 4 hours in the day left.

Appears to be another big scoring day.

Oxford AstraZeneca is covidshied. So most Indian's are ok traveling to UK.

But this is still BS.
Raja

Post by Raja »

Pratyush wrote:Oxford AstraZeneca is covidshied. So most Indian's are ok traveling to UK.

But this is still BS.
No, they are apparently basing it on the country where the vaccine was received. So, even if you had a pfizer vaccine in say Nepal, you cannot travel to UK. I am not sure what exactly is their reasoning behind this policy.