Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

COVID-19 Vaccination Update - Day 300 (11/11/2021 7PM)
Cumulative 1st dose administered = 746,581,655 (80% adults)
Cumulative 2nd dose administered = 360,862,498 (38% adults)
Total: = 1,107,444,153
(Incredible but it seems entirely possible that by the end of this month we will have 50% adults fully vaccinated)
Meanwhile:
Strengthening of Prime Minister’s ‘Har Ghar Dastak’ campaign with State Health Ministers:
Urges all Health Ministers for Collective Efforts to Ensure that no citizen is left without protection of COVID19 vaccines
Assures States of required Vaccine supply: “No shortage of vaccines in the country”
“While Vaccination is our ‘Suraksha Kawachh’, we must not forget COVID appropriate Behaviour”

You are conflating the questions which need to be asked:

1. Does the mRNA Pfizer and Moderna vaccines result in increased heart attacks of those who have received at least one dose, but have not contacted COVID-19.
2. Why does the CDC NOT have a nation wide myocarditis study on the subject?
3. Is there more data from the NEJM paper https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2110737 ?

Amber G. wrote: Interesting part was the three 'adverse' reports in non-placebo group - *none* was related to vaccine. In one case (kid you not), the cause for hospital visit was that the child swallowed a penny and has to see the doctor... (All cases are monitored and every doctor visit etc is reported but swallowing a penny is not vaccine related ..:) )
Really!!! Please see this testimony about a kid now in wheelchair because of Pfizer vaccine from Cincinnati, Ohio.

I am a big supporter of vaccines, but to brush aside/hide serious injury like this is criminal. Me and my kids did not have any adverse reaction, doesn't mean no one else did. Her parents were big supporter of vaccine too, that is why they let their child get this experimental vaccine. Their second kid got placebo in same study. There was NO investigation by FDA, CDC or Pfizer since this was reported from June 2021. God knows how many more injuries like this were brushed under carpet by CDC & FDA.

Based on what I have been seeing from so called reputable institutions for the last few years. Both about India and other circumstances. I am extremely suspicious of anything that comes out of the western publications.

I have been singularity impressed with the scientific rigor displayed by the Indian medical and scientific/ technical bodies in dealing with the pandemic. Interms of the flow of accurate and timely information.

They have changed guidence what data changed. They dropped drugs from the treatment regimen when full data becomes available.

They unlike western" scientific" institution were not wedded to a particular approach to doing things.

Regardless of what anyone says about our systems. They mostly worked the way they were designed to work.

The hospital system have to get a lot better. But that is a function of economic development and the resources it will add to improve the system.

Fingers crossed for the 3rd, 4th and 5th waves.

pfizer ke dalal in India, dukh dard of the sold out leetle preecks

If you are dependent on other's failures for your own success, you don't deserve success in the first place
(WAU)

The fight against COVID has a significant number of Indian stalwarts mounting the attack.

jealous hans, stuck with a dud and no way out

Indian origin scientist named as the primary contributor to invention of Moderna's COVID-19 vaccine

NOV 10, 2021

A scientist of Indian origin has been identified by Moderna as the primary contributor to its Covid-19 vaccine.

A filing by the company for its patent application for the coronavirus vaccine using the revolutionary RNA technique listed Pune-educated bioinformatics scientist Mihir Metkar as the "first named inventor", a designation that usually recognises the primary contributor to the invention.

He is also listed as one of the inventors in two other Covid-19 vaccine patent applications by Moderna to the US Patent Office.

Moderna's is of the new class of vaccines that use what is called messenger RNA (mRNA) that cause the body to create some proteins similar to that in the Covid-19 virus and trigger the body's immune system to make antibodies that will fight the coronavirus if it invades the body. (Conventional vaccines use either dead viruses or parts of them or a modified version of the gene of a different virus.)

Metkar's identification as the "first named inventor" is in the document filed by Moderna to dispute the US government's National Institutes of Health (NIH) assertion that its scientists should also be credited as inventors of the vaccine, which was developed in collaboration with it and with $1.53 billion provided by the administration of former President Donald Trump under the Operation Warp Speed programme to quickly produce vaccines.

Vladimir Presnyak and Guillaume Stewart-Jones are listed after him in the original application for the patent.

Metkar received his MSc degree from the Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology at the Savitribai Phule Pune University and worked at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) in Pune as a project assistant before coming to the United States, according to his LinkedIn profile.

He did his PhD at the RNA Therapeutics Institute at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester and worked there as a post-doctoral fellow before joining Moderna in 2018, the profile said.

In a separate patent filing, Moderna listed Sunny Himansu, who has an MBBS degree, as one of the two inventors of the Betacoronavirus Vaccine.

Moderna's vaccine is one of the two main vaccines in the US, and about 164 million doses of it have been given so far in the US, according to the Centers for Disease Control.

In addition, millions of people have been vaccinated in Europe and elsewhere with the Moderna vaccine.

The other main vaccine used in the US is the Pfizer-Biotech, which was developed in Germany and used mRNA.

The third vaccine from Johson & Johnson is also used in the US. It was developed by J&J's Jansen Pharmaceutical, whose global head of research and development is Mathai Mammen.

The patent document naming Metkar as the "first-named inventor" was filed on behalf of Moderna by an intellectual property law firm that asserted that the three NIH scientists who collaborated with them should not be considered co-inventors as the NIH has asked.

If the NIH scientists are recognised as co-inventors, the NIH and the government may be entitled to receive a share of royalties from the use of the patents and also be able to allow others to make the vaccine.

An NGO, Public Citizen, has pointed out in a letter to the head of the NIH that co-ownership of the patent "can empower the US government to authorise" other manufacturers around the world to use some of the patents to make the vaccine.

The group said that with "huge gaps in global vaccine access", the need for the government to exercise control over the vaccine technology "only grows more urgent".

Bharat Biotech had to address multiple issues:
* WHO
* Production.
* Research.
* Negative Propaganda.

Seems some "Judas & Brutus" have learned nothing from Mughal Barbarism and Colonial Slavery...

Quick to deride their own country..

and here is the vomitus from pappu's own congi IT cell

So, how does it happen that a 50+ half eyetalian janeau wearing cashmeri brahmin geezer is not considered a jumla politician

As they say a picture is more than a thousand words. Best cartoon I have seen in a while. Thx Chetak

Meanwhile: 100% first dose coverage (and 65% Fully vaccinated) provided by 462 public and private vaccination centers in Mumbai
Mumbai achieves 100% first dose Covid vaccine coverage
Mumbai launched the first phase of Covid-19 vaccination for healthcare workers on January 16, along with the rest of the country, with just 10 vaccination centres

Nearly ten months after the nationwide Covid-19 vaccination programme was rolled out, Mumbai has achieved 100% first dose coverage on Saturday. The city’s target adult population is 9,236,546, and by noon on Saturday, 9,239,902 first dose has been administered in the city, according to the CoWin dashboard. Mumbai’s second dose coverage stood at 5,983,452, nearly 65% of the city’s adult population.
Vaccination Status in India: November 13, 2021
People with at least 1 shot: 752 Million (80% of adults)
Fully vaccinated: 370 Million (40% of Adults)

Today's active count of cases is at 135918 is the lowest this year. Feb 12 it was 135926 when the delta variant hit. Hope there are no more variants this time. At the rate it is trending we should see less than 50k by year end.

A unique/detail comparison of 4 different vaccines (Pfizer, AZ, Sputnik, Sinopharm) for the immune response that they induce, and across all major variants, shows major differences.
(Study from Mongolia - about 60-70 persons fully vaccinated and all 4 vaccines are used there)

Link: https://www.cell.com/action/showPdf?pii ... %2900510-2
>>>Different SARS-CoV-2 vaccines are approved in various countries, but few direct comparisons
of the antibody responses they stimulate have been reported. We collected plasma specimens in
July 2021 from 196 Mongolian participants fully vaccinated with one of four COVID-19
vaccines: Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Sputnik V and Sinopharm. Functional antibody testing
with a panel of nine SARS-CoV-2 viral variant receptor binding domain (RBD) proteins reveal
marked differences in vaccine responses, with low antibody levels and RBD-ACE2 blocking
activity stimulated by the Sinopharm and Sputnik V vaccines in comparison to the AstraZeneca
or Pfizer/BioNTech vaccines.
The Alpha variant caused 97% of infections in Mongolia in June
and early July 2021. Individuals who recover from SARS-CoV-2 infection after vaccination
achieve high antibody titers in most cases. These data suggest that public health interventions
such as vaccine boosting, potentially with more potent vaccine types, may be needed to control
COVID-19 in Mongolia and worldwide.
>>>

Main points:

Responses from high to low: Pfizer/BioNTech > AstraZeneca > Sputnik V > Sinopharm
Breakthrough infections in June to early July 2021 were due mostly to the Alpha variant
After breakthrough infection, high antibody levels are seen in all vaccine groups

(

Austria introduces lockdown for unvaccinated — About 65% of Austria's population is fully vaccinated - one of the lowest rates in western Europe.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Covid-19: India allows quarantine-free entry for travellers from 99 countries
NEW DELHI: India on Monday allowed fully vaccinated (with approved jabs) arrivals from 99 countries — including US, UK, UAE, Qatar, France and Germany — to travel quarantine-free in the country.
The decision comes as the country allowed foreign tourists on non-charters. India had suspended tourist visas last March and resumed them from October 15 by allowing them in on charters.
Apart from a Covid negative report within 72 hours of departure to India, travellers from these 99 countries (called Category A) will also need to upload their fully vaccinated certificate on the Air Suvidha portal.

As India opened its doors to fully vaccinated international tourist from all over the world beginning Monday (Nov… https://t.co/C0cc4wAAvB
— Indiatourism Mumbai (@IndiatourismM) 1636956146000

“There are countries which have an agreement with India on mutual recognition of vaccination certificates of nationally recognised or WHO recognised vaccines. Similarly, there are countries which presently do not have such an agreement with India, but they exempt Indian citizens fully vaccinated with nationally recognised or WHO recognised vaccines. On the basis of reciprocity, the travellers from all such countries which provide quarantine-free entry to Indians are allowed certain relaxations on arrival (Category A Countries),” say guidelines issued by the Union health ministry on November 11.
For fully vaccinated from Category A countries, it says: “If a traveller is coming from a country with which India has reciprocal arrangements for mutual acceptance of WHO approved Covid-19 vaccines (Category A): If fully vaccinated: They shall be allowed to leave the airport and shall self-monitor their health for 14 days’ post arrival.”
Some countries are currently considered to be “at risk” (from Covid point of view) by India which include-countries in Europe including UK, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe and Singapore.

COVID-19 Vaccination Update - Day 304 (2021/11/15 7PM
Cumulative 1st dose administered = 753,206,853
Cumulative 2nd dose administered = 375,943,018
Total: = 1,129,149,871

^^From the above 'countries at risk' list and 'allowed countries list(99)' some countries are in both the list - except China, New Zealand and South Africa. Looks like if you are on at risk list and also on the 99 list you will be allowed in without any quarantine as long as you are FULLY Vaccinated. People from those three countries will have to undergo post arrival covid test AND home quarantine for 7 days and re-test on 8th day even if they are fully vaccinated.
From 11.11.2021Algorithm for 'Guidelines for International Arrivals' (dated 11th November 2021)
I am planning on going to India first week of Dec. That is the reason I was trying to make sense of those lists.

Countering waning immunity:

The new data from England today shows a booster (3rd) shot increased vaccine effectiveness from 44% to 93% for Astra Zeneca and from 62.5 to 94% for Pfizer, vs symptomatic infection, age 50+
(First I have seen which provides solid evidence for 3rd shot clinical impact of AZ/Covidshield - all prior reports were with Pfizer's) and adds to the RCT and Israeli data summarized ...
Perhaps this new data led to a change in policy, expanding 3rd shot boosters to all age 40+ in the UK

CDC has upgraded India to Level 1 (Low). Next month I will be transiting through Canada (Vancouver) en route to Delhi and Canada is in Level 3 (High). Many European countries (including UK) are in Level 4 (Very High) category even though they had higher vaccination rates than India. This is a complete turn around for Covid control.
CDC
Raja

Post by Raja »

There are still some countries having exceptional rules for India and handful of other countries. For example, if you are traveling from India to another country via Dubai, you need a RT PCR test even if you are vaccinated and the final destination doesn't require it. It makes no sense since it is not required for Russians for instance (or any other white majority country). Unfortunately, due to only bubble flights allowed, Emirates was the only reasonable option for me to fly with on my dates. Felt gross paying for the overpriced flight to them.

Meanwhile: India has about 385+ Million people fully vaccinated..(First time that this number is more than partially vaccinated (about 375) ..).. And vaccines are starting to be exported to its neighbors, Indonesia and African nations.

COVID-19 Vaccination Update - Day 306 - 2021/11/17
Cumulative 1st dose administered = 757,549,626 (81% of adults)
Cumulative 2nd dose administered = 386,212,072 (41% of adults)
Total = 1,143,761,698

When are we starting vaccination for 12-18? I thought we approved Zydus for this age range

^^^Zydus, I think is already approved (EUA - emergency), Covaxin and may be Covavax (Novax - which has EUA in a few countries but not in India or USA yet) will be in the list in near future. We will see when the things start moving but my sense (from scientists, newspaper reports etc) is that it will take about 6 weeks (beginning of 2022) before it starts practically in India.
(At present, I think Zydus will be for adults (18+) only initially and things may get start moving for kids in 5-6 weeks.. FWIW: Hope we move faster but I trust the admin to get the timing right)..

Another aspect I am curious, what is India's strategy for 3rd (booster shot) would be as from data it seems that we will need it in next year (9-12 months time-frame),, Again at present I am very satisfied with current status -- hope we continue with this speed and get 2 shots to as many people as fast as possible.

Amber G. wrote:Countering waning immunity:

The new data from England today shows a booster (3rd) shot increased vaccine effectiveness from 44% to 93% for Astra Zeneca and from 62.5 to 94% for Pfizer, vs symptomatic infection, age 50+
(First I have seen which provides solid evidence for 3rd shot clinical impact of AZ/Covidshield - all prior reports were with Pfizer's) and adds to the RCT and Israeli data summarized ...
Perhaps this new data led to a change in policy, expanding 3rd shot boosters to all age 40+ in the UK

Is the booster shot different from the first two shots for AZ? Hope we start giving boosters to elderly from early next year.

PS: I got my booster of Moderna today

Now that India has opened up for tourists and USA has opened up for Indians the price of tickets to India has sky rocketed. Now economy tickets are being quoted north of $3,000. I got mine more than 6 weeks back and was able to get free tickets using miles. Same tickets are being quoted at more than double the miles.
Raja

Post by Raja »

Next 4-5 months are going to be tense. I hope that we can avoid the 4th wave. It's not clear yet, if we will be able to. Most likely we need to quickly cover the 50+ population with a booster shot.

After many weeks of trending down, today the active cases went up, albeit by 200 or so. Hope this is NOT a reversal of the trend like it happened on Feb 12.

saip wrote:Now that India has opened up for tourists and USA has opened up for Indians the price of tickets to India has sky rocketed. Now economy tickets are being quoted north of $3,000. I got mine more than 6 weeks back and was able to get free tickets using miles. Same tickets are being quoted at more than double the miles.
That's more of a combination of seasonal activity and aviation fuel prices which gone up over 10% in the last 6 weeks (which you can thank the US govt. for).

saip wrote:After many weeks of trending down, today the active cases went up, albeit by 200 or so. Hope this is NOT a reversal of the trend like it happened on Feb 12.
Still much better than 9.3 million active cases in the US.

Raja wrote:Next 4-5 months are going to be tense. I hope that we can avoid the 4th wave. It's not clear yet, if we will be able to. Most likely we need to quickly cover the 50+ population with a booster shot.
Predictions are hard, as Neils Bohr said, especially about future but a few points:

- IIT Hyderabad supported new website (re-incarnation of covid19india dot org ) has the data in very user-friendly form along with projections, etc. May be in a one or two weeks (when all the hype about the 'third wave' dies down) the graphs etc will be more conveniently available to general public. (They are working on it for quite some time).

We have not gotten any new significantly worse variant in August, September, October and till now November. The projection then (see my earlier posts) under 'optimistic scenario' turned out to be quite accurate.

- It is quite reasonable to think that by the end of this year we will have near 100% (90%+) adults who would have at least one vaccine. The value is now around 82%. The fully vaccinated value, let us assume will be around 65% (of all adults). It terms of total population (including children) these values are about, say conservatively 60% (at least 1) and 45% (fully vaccinated). Combining this with serosurvey data (natural immunity in population yet to be vaccinated), this is herd immunity

- Keeping this in mind, different scenarios - I am fairly optimistic - No new wave. *Worse* case scenerios - the wave (peaking around Jan/Feb 22) will still be quite small (smaller than first wave) - most likely just a ripple.

- What is most important, India has learned a lot from the second wave - our medical system is much more ready. - The vaccines works - especially for prevention of deaths and serious complications and hospitalization. (For example There will be no shortage of Oxygen - logistics for medicine distribution is *much* more robust etc).

- Meanwhile - Masks, ventilation, avoiding crowd will help tremendously - keeping beta low to keep those who are still not eligible for vaccines. Lockdowns and other extreme measures are not necessary (and will not be too beneficial)

- Single most useful and practical is *use of masks* (N95 if possible) especially if you are in a crowded indoor area.

We should rethink and keep following science as we get more data, but for next 6 weeks let the vaccines delivery go as fast it can.. new candidates (like children, booster shots) can be added but it should not disturb the speed of current operation. IMO Starting with next year (6 weeks from now) roll out the vaccinations for children as fast as possible.

(It is also good to hear that vaccine exports are starting again - Modi has said 5 Billion vaccines in his G20 Conference - Other countries are also promising more, needs a global solution otherwise new mutants will keep us busy).

saip wrote:Now that India has opened up for tourists and USA has opened up for Indians the price of tickets to India has sky rocketed. Now economy tickets are being quoted north of $3,000. I got mine more than 6 weeks back and was able to get free tickets using miles. Same tickets are being quoted at more than double the miles.
That's more of a combination of seasonal activity and aviation fuel prices which gone up over 10% in the last 6 weeks (which you can thank the US govt. for).
May be so. More likely because of pent up demand that went up. Everyone suddenly woke up. I bought a business class ticket from Del - SFO - DEL on 11/8 for $2500. Today I checked it is like 5000! 100% increase in two weeks!

Another good place to check latest data (after www.covid19india dot org is not there) - Thanks to three premier institution's volunteers (available for next few months) - Semantic Web India -
https://www.incovid19.org/

Efficacy of COVID vaccines satisfactory, finds ICMR study as over 115 crore inoculated in India so far
The first nationwide measurement of the real-world effectiveness of Covid-19 vaccines Covishield and Covaxin have shown 80% and 69% efficacy against severe disease, respectively. Although lower than the protection reported in clinical trials, the figures are still considered to be good..
The study, submitted to The Lancet for publication, showed effectiveness was the highest with a gap of 6-8 weeks between two shots of Covishield and Covaxin. Importantly, efficacy estimates were similar against Delta strain and sub-lineages.

In Phase 3 trials, Covishield had shown nearly 100% protection from severe illness and it was nearly 93% for Covaxin ..

Atmavik wrote:

Is the booster shot different from the first two shots for AZ? Hope we start giving boosters to elderly from early next year.

PS: I got my booster of Moderna today
Great. Booster shot for AZ is same as first two shots.. (and actually a few countries are allowing (and some are actually recommending) mix and match. Israel has extremely good results for making most of its population get the booster - some countries are now even thinking of making the booster shots as policy. US's FDA (and Canada) has approved for all 18+. I think a few states in India has asked the center to get booster shots for Covaxin and Covidshield "allowed" -- policy may change in a few months. (There is a recent study - largest I think - about covaxin/covidshield real life data and results are similar to other nations).

(All adults in my extended family in US now are fully (3 shots :) ) vaxed. All 5 years and up have gotten both their shots (They were in trials and unblinding of trial told us that all got a real thing.) Two younger children (around 3 years) have shots (don't know placebo or real thing).

Meanwhile some good news on Covovax/Novavax - It is not approved in US or India but got EUA in Indonesia, Philippines etc (and a few more countries - and a few more are likely to join soon.
(India is exporting 20 Million doses of Novavax to Indonesia).

Few items:

- SII is expanding its Novavax production capacity by a billion doses.
- Novavax achieved its goal of 100M doses per month in Q3, and is on track to achieve its goal of 150M by December. (About 600 M doses in 2021)
- 9 EUA filings have been done, covering most of the world. The vaccine has been approved by the 4th largest country, Indonesia, and many more approvals are expected soon. (Likely UK may give approval soon along with countries like Canada etc)

- With 2.1 billion in orders and likely 2022 revenues of $22B things indeed look good.
Link(s):Novavax -- A Billion More Doses, Covid Authorization And Much More

India allows export of 20 mln Novavax vaccine doses to Indonesia

saip wrote:
May be so. More likely because of pent up demand that went up. Everyone suddenly woke up. I bought a business class ticket from Del - SFO - DEL on 11/8 for $2500. Today I checked it is like 5000! 100% increase in two weeks!
Factors affecting the tkt price hike:
1. Pent up demand suddenly going sky-high
2. The airlines cant find enough pilots/aircrafts in operational mode to meet the demand
3. The airlines want to make up for the lost revenue from this sudden surge in demand.

I won't be surprised if the carriers have colluded, and hence hoodwinked the US fair competition rules, to make a killing in this travel season. But it will take years for the trial lawyers to collect data and bring class action lawsuits.

Amber.G, thanks for your replies...sorry for late posting.

People who have received their 2 shots earlier this year would be beyond 8 months time come Feb/March 2022...so high time GoI takes a decision on the 3rd booster shot. They can make it "optional" and also NOT free...I at least know of 3-4 adults who will NOT take the vaccine if its not free (even though they are earning handsomely their 2 shots were through free scheme of GoI).

If there are no future waves in India, it is due to other factors (like achieving herd immunity through contraction or vaccination) rather than Covid norms compliance. To be fair, it is getting rather onerous to comply with mask requirements for 1.5 years plus (that too for people who have to go to office on a daily basis with N95 masks)...in my office 60%+ people have stopped wearing masks and regular sanitisation/washing. Actually, I am among two people who still wash hands using soap on a regular basis :)

Anyways, long term Covid compliance is ruled out...we have to find other ways to beat this...combination of regular vaccines and other means (such as Covid pills)...

What is the hold up regards to Novacox in India? Both Biological-E & Novacox vaccines were supposed to be approved by now in India. Biological-E are saying that they should receive approval by end of this month!
Last edited by Zynda on 20 Nov 2021 22:28, edited 1 time in total.