Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

nits wrote: thing i am bit amused is what stops us to ban travel for 2 weeks from this countries instead of insisting on RT-PCR which will not be 100% full proof mechanism and we all know there are always loop holes in this guidelines
To add to what Amber has said in his post:
If for e.g. 200 people fly from the UK to India, even in the worst case, not more than 30 will have covid, so 170 others get penalised with as travel ban. More significantly, the airline will simply stop operating, penalising flyers from India who do not have covid. Those that desperately want to get to India, will do it by flying via other countries, in which case we wouldn't be able to detect their covid - they wouldn't know either.

Better to test on arrival so people from all incoming flights (outside the bubble) know their covid status.

Been to India recently, COVID test on arrival at Delhi airport was efficient, but the sample collection was done in such a haste that I'd have hard time believing they got anything from my nose. No throat swab was taken. All booths had very junior female staff in full ppe kits, lack of training or attention I'm not sure. I tested negative, another RT PCR a month later at a local lab with proper swab collection also came negative. In Hyderabad, mask wearing in malls, hospitals, airports is ok, elsewhere its quite variable. Poorer sections usually less attentive, ditto in private settings with family and friends. Personal observations onlee.

https://swarajyamag.com/news-brief/bhar ... ishna-ella
Bharat Biotech's Intranasal Covid-19 Vaccine Completes Phase 2 Trials: Krishna Ella
As the world is now concerned regarding the newly found “variant of concern” Omicron and its effect on vaccine caused immunity, in India, chairman and managing director of Covaxin developer Bharat Biotech, Krishna Ella stated that it has completed Phase 2 trials for the Covid nasal vaccine, which is expected to be more effective against the virus.

Ella told Business Line, “It's going to be a lot of new science, which even the Western world is not aware of, and that’s the reason we are keeping details confidential. The nasal vaccine can stop virus transmission.”
"We are coming out with a nasal vaccine, we are thinking that Covaxin can be given as the first dose, the second dose can be given a nasal, that is also strategically, scientifically very important because with the second dose if it is a nasal one, you stop the transmission of the virus...," he said at the Times Now Summit 2021 while adding that if someone has been infected or has just received one dose of the nasal vaccine, it works well.
Earlier, while talking about the booster dose, Ella said that six months after the second dosage is the best time for a booster dose of Covid-19 vaccine and noted that in comparison to Covaxin, Bharat Biotech is considering nasal vaccination as a booster dosage because scaling up capacity is much easier.

Nasal vaccine ipso facto stops transmission.

Either the developer is confused or the reporter is. Jaguar another garbage report.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Posting on behalf of a friend for general awareness. WHO skips Xi so as to not offend Chinese people, but casually uses Covid which is offensive to many Indians/Hindus that have a similar name.

"I posted on WHO's fb page a comment asking why WHO did not hesitate to name the Wuhan virus disease as Covid when there are 1000s of Indians named Kovid but has avoided naming the new variant as "Xi" because some people are named "Xi." I also posted this comment on my own fb page. Both these posts have been removed by facebook. Ha Ha Ha!! fb is being very partisan and unfair to its members :x :x :x :x "

Vaccine status: at the end of November.
India with ≈ 1.24 Billion Vaccines shots. ≈450 Million (48% of all adults) fully vaccinated and ≈ 790 Million (84% of all adults) with at least 1 shot.

Each graph: This is more than Entire Europe, Or North America, Or South America+Africa.

Please get vaccinated.

India offers vaccines, medical supplies to support African countries hit by Omicron variant
India on Monday offered to supply Covid-19 vaccines, life-saving drugs, test kits and medical equipment to African countries to fight the new Omicron variant of the Coronavirus.

This is good. India (under the present admin, especially) was always very generous. Similarly help is being sent from other countries.

Was interested so watching SA data pretty closely. SA is sharing (many scientists are analyzing it) the data nicely. In a few days I think there will be enough data to estimate SUTRA parameters - with good confidence and can run some what-if- scenerios for India's context..At present with immunity level (about 80% - considering all vaccines and natural etc) the situation is relatively under control -- but with increase beta it we should be ready if there is any new wave. We would know in a week or so.

Sharing some latest update from provinces in South Africa.
- All provinces reporting an increase in cases now; GP still of most concern followed by WC
- Case incidence up to 12 new cases per 100k in GP, still below 2 in rest other
- New hospital admissions in GP doubling every week.
(Shared from Prof Ridhwaan Suliman)

(The analysis is consistent with early graphs and analysis by some of our own (Indian) scientists who are studying this)

Reports: Covaxin to be shipped to Botswana. Nice to know that there is stocks to available for exports. (Covaxin will be exported to eight countries — Paraguay, Botswana, Vietnam, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Cameroon and the UAE. Botswana in southern Africa.. about 11 Million doses. (Per Indian News Papers)

Okay - I posted lot of graphs - as long back as in June/July - using models by SUTRA. Those graphs are in this dhaga - and the 'prediction' came out to be extremely accurate.
Last time update was 3 months ago - here: <here link>

(August - 29 post - Please do see the context and assumptions in the original post)
The "status quo" graph is quite close to actual graph - about 10k / day (daily values)

Assumption that no new contagious variant appeared - remained true in September and October and November (almost).
Assumption about vaccine rates also was more or less correct.
(Things sort of became routine and less dramatic - good news - No longer looking at daily data - and the IITK website stop updating state/district level graphs of the model)

Now it seems there is a new variant -- going to change the beta parameter -- Looking at SA data to see/estimate to see how this will effect India. Hopefully in few days there will be a reliable values to plug in and see new graphs ..

We are in a better position than 3 months ago - More vaccines combined with natural immunity (estimated by authors of Sutra as around 80%), it may not be enough if this new variant is as contagious as the reports and data show. -- (in that case we will see a wave) but let us wait and get some good data-

This is about India, US case is more worrisome - plotting that too.

Meanwhile what to do?
- Get vaccinated ASAP (if not fully vaccinated or boosted - do it now).
- Children (if eligible) get vaxxed. (Initial reports says - hospitalization of young children is unusually high).
When indoor and in crowd (with strangers) - use mask

(This is also a good reason to accelerate vaccine drive - can we get 12 or 15 million per day in next 2-3 weeks - add another 200 Million to fully vaxed figure - before the omicron becomes a problem in India. Can we start 12-18 years or younger people.. while we delay/slow the virus by managing travel etc..).

putnanja wrote:Given that covaxin is whole virus vaccine, will there be better response for covaxin? Also, I remember reading that Flu vaccines have 2-3 types of inactivated virus in them (they sort of predict which variants are most probable that year and include them). How long does it take for say Covaxin to include delta and omiron virus too in its vaccine and test them out ? another 6-8 months?
Sharing a nice article (highly recommend to read it in full) from FT which answers your questions and more.

Here is the article:

Drugmakers race to test vaccines against new coronavirus variant
Unfortunately, article is behind a paywall

Mods - please remove if not relevant; but i got this as forward. Dark humor but shows how world reacted in past few hours

In just 48 hrs everything just went upside down. Looking at all the updates and social media posts, I could not help but write the below - outlining the absurd response from the countries. Maybe, some of them will realize what has actually transpired.

South Africa: Hey guys, look what we discovered in our labs while researching Covid19 variants and mutations

World: What??

SA: It's a new variant of Covid19 - seems to be different than others. Let’s work together and study it further.

World: What? You have a new variant of Covid19?!?!

SA: No, we just found a way to 'identify' a new variant. It seems, it has already been detected in HongKong, Israel and Botswana.

UK: Hey guys, no offence, but we already have 45,000 cases a day, we don't wear masks everywhere, allow large gatherings. However we cannot risk getting a new variant.

SA: But we just identified it and showed you guys how to check for this variant. It did not originate here. We have advanced labs because we do research on AIDS, TB and other communicable diseases.

UK: Thank you for the research. However, a complete travel ban on you and your 5 neighbors.

Netherlands: We heard UK banned flights to you because you have the new variant, and so we are also imposing a ban on you and your neighbors!

Namibia: Hey! What did we do? We have less than 20 new cases a day since a month now!

EU: Guys, we have a situation in our hands.

Namibia: The situation where Germany has had 76,000 cases a day and other countries are breaking daily records for cases?

EU: No, not that situation.

Lesotho: Is it that UK still has 40,000+ cases a day and doesnt seem to have it under control?

EU: No, UK isn't a part of us anymore, and not our concern.

Malawi: We hear Poland has some serious rise in cases and hospitalisations.

EU: Really?! We have no idea. We must look into it. but not what we are talking about now.

Eswatini: What situation then?

EU: We heard that South Africa has a new variant and their numbers are rising rapidly. Since some of you are next to them, we need to close travel to the region with immediate effect!

SA: Dude, we just identified it! We only have a few cases in the region. Especially when compared to what you guys have. What’s with the knee-jerk reaction?

Namibia: Knee-jerk - that's the word we were looking for.

UAE: We are closing flights to Southern Africa, we don't want to risk it. Sorry guys.

USA: We are looking into this and studying the variant. We won’t ban flights yet.

SA: Thank you USA. Finally a voice of reason!

Mauritius: Sorry SA and the variant group, I saw some other countries refer to you as that. We are friends and all, but we are concerned about our tourism and economy,. So we will also ban you guys for now until we know further.

SA: We thought you were family. Goes to show how money is more important!

Belgium: We already have 1 new case of the new variant. Thanks a lot, SA.

SA: We literally just showed you how to identify it.

UK: Thanks a lot, SA. Now we also have 2 cases of it.

SA: What about our vaccinated people?

World: Nope. We need to run tests first and figure out what this virus can do and how effective the vaccination is against it.

WHO: Hey guys, a quick question. The next Greek alphabet is 'Xi'. What do we do? China? Are you here?

China: Don't you dare! Leave us and our president out of it. Call it something else. And we don't allow anyone in anyway. So the variant is not our concern.

WHO: We got it boss. It's now called Omicron.

WHO: Sorry, we meant Sir. You are not our boss.

SA: It's true what they say - no good deed goes unpunished. The next time we won't tell you guys about the next mutations or variants we find.

World: Sorry, can't hear you. Too busy dealing with the outbreak that you caused. How about we talk about this later?

Namibia: It's the weekend, let’s braai & go camping and let the world figure this one out themselves. We are still open to everyone. And if you wish to travel here, ask your leaders to start thinking before making decisions.

To be continued.....

Written by Nrupesh Soni.

On one hand, it explains why India hasn't banned travel. On the other, it doesn't mention India's actions at all. Maybe we'll get a mention if we offer some vaccines for free?

Ironically, it's written by a desi sounding guy, who has the usual western blind spot when it comes to India and what she does.

India Offers Vaccines, Ventilators and Research Collab to Africa to Combat 'Omicron' - https://thewire.in/diplomacy/india-sout ... icron-help

Xi Pledges a Billion More Vaccines for Africa in Wake of Omicron, Xi said 600 million doses will be donated while the rest will be jointly produced by Chinese enterprises and African countries - https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -to-africa

nits wrote: ..thing i am bit amused is what stops us to ban travel for 2 weeks from this countries instead of insisting on RT-PCR <snip>
The thinking of the scientists behind is the following : ((and I fully agree with this as this becomes clear with modeling of the spread - not obvious without doing actual math )
- The total ban will at the most delay any possible peak by a two-three week period. This variant of virus seems to be quite contagious, and it has been going around for about a month (Honk Kong traveller travelled to Africa before Nov 11), so in all likely hood it is already in India and will spread. (Mathematics of exponential growth in virus spreading is complicated so it is difficult to explain without math modeling).
The decision, IMO, is based on input from Indian Scientists. (Similar recommendation is being made to US government)
Prof Vidyasagar tweeted now:
Omicron has been around for several weeks and is already present in many countries. Restricting outbound travel is not sound. Testing inbound passengers, and sequencing genomes of those who test positive, would be better.

Why you shouldn’t panic over the Omicron variant

Researchers led by Hatziioannou, of the Rockefeller University in New York, created a synthetic version of the virus that contained many of the spike protein mutations that Omicron carries. They found that neutralizing antibodies from people who had recovered from COVID-19 and then got an mRNA vaccine dose were able to fend off the mutated synthetic virus. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/scie ... on-variant

well ...natural infection with a booster follow up is not the same as vaccinated X3 with a mRNA vaccine which targets few spike proteins!! So the analogy is wrong here

https://www.express.co.uk/news/science/ ... strictions
Covid new variant: Omicron's 'very mild' symptoms could be 'Christmas gift' say experts
THE South African doctor who raised the alarm over the new COVID-19 variant has said patients with Omicron have "very mild symptoms" in what could be a "Christmas gift" for experts concerned about its spread.

srin wrote:^^^^ Use this:

https://archive.ph/JtW46
Thank you! The racists who wrote that article say that whole inactivated virus based vaccine might fare better against omicron variant and mention a still under-development France vaccine, but doesn't mention Covaxin which has been approved by WHO! :roll:

srin wrote:^^^^ Use this:

https://archive.ph/JtW46
Ah the whole virion vaccine they're talking about here is Valneva. Valneva has a total of 160 million doses on order from UK and EU. They have delivered zero doses to date and are yet to receive Phase 3 approval: https://covid19.trackvaccines.org/vaccines/69/

Covaxin has delivered over 160 million doses to date, with orders much larger than that, and of course the WHO EUL: https://covid19.trackvaccines.org/vaccines/9/

https://twitter.com/CBSNews/status/1465 ... 04162?s=20 Omicron in Europe before it was detected in Africa
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Looks like Maharashtra government has come out with extreme draconian rules for all international travelers. Mandatory 14-day quarantine for ALL passengers regardless of where they come from. This rule is totally at odds with rules laid out by Center. This is going to upset several travel plans for people traveling from US.

FYI: Six leading experts from US and India - including Prof Manindra Agrawal will be talking about Predictive Modelling & Pathogen Surveillance on Dec 2, 2021. Prof. Agrawal will talk about machine learning techniques married with epidemiological ones for predictive modeling. If there is interest I will share a link but details many perhaps can also be gotten from usiaid website.

First case of Omicron in California (per @CDCgov).
(SFO Airport - Other major US Airports too are on look out - close surveillance program).

Meanwhile this looks really bad - if this report from the newspaper is verified.

>>In Norway there is a suspected omicron outbreak of 40-50 out of 120 fully vaccinated people, ( also tested negative before attending a company Christmas party last Friday… One employee had just returned from SA and tested positive.

>>https://www.dagbladet.no/nyheter/var-pa ... p/74788583

(In USA - The guy came to SFO on 25th (from SA) started feeling sick on 29th - details on PressConf of California authorities - fully vaccinated (but not boosted) by Moderna)

IndraD wrote:https://www.express.co.uk/news/science/ ... strictions
Covid new variant: Omicron's 'very mild' symptoms could be 'Christmas gift' say experts
THE South African doctor who raised the alarm over the new COVID-19 variant has said patients with Omicron have "very mild symptoms" in what could be a "Christmas gift" for experts concerned about its spread.
Yes, I have seen this kind of report being printed in many papers - this is little speculative IMO, possible (I myself mentioned it many posts above) but there are other reports - hospitalization are unusually high in the province.. we will know when we have better data...
"<data/link .moving average of hospitalizations Draw your own conclusions...(New hospital admissions in GP province were doubling every week)
I think within next few days we will have pretty good numerical values for beta (R) and how much immune escape this variant is - (I keep hoping for the best but I am worried)

^^^All of Europe is on the at-risk country list.
UK got a special mention :)
All pax from at-risk list to home-quarantine for 7 days even if tested negative at Indian airport.

Amber G. wrote:Meanwhile this looks really bad - if this report from the newspaper is verified.

>>In Norway there is a suspected omicron outbreak of 40-50 out of 120 fully vaccinated people, ( also tested negative before attending a company Christmas party last Friday… One employee had just returned from SA and tested positive.

>>https://www.dagbladet.no/nyheter/var-pa ... p/74788583
Details from Norway is quite bad - "--so many are suspected (how many with omicron - test will take time).. only vaccinated had access, and everyone had to test negative in advance." "
"120 people participated in the event .. "Some of the participants had recently been to the Cape Town office. ..Though from what I hear from people from there that Norway is quite relaxed as Mask mandates etc - Indoor event, large gathering .. no masks etc..

Meanwhile from (nicd.ca.za data base (genomic-surveillance-update) : Omicron dominates November sequencing data at 74% of genomes (n=183/249). Sequencing is ongoing to determine prevalence of Omicron in other provinces.

Of the 8,500 new cases tracked in South Africa 6,168 are in Gauteng province where roughly 70% of the cases are Omicron.

More and more countries are starting to become stricter wrt to vaccinations and travel.
Canada & Israel for example will(or soon) require full vaccination from almost *all* travelers,

Some of my doctor friends were talking about coivd vertigo/inner-ear-problems.."Our study showed evidence that the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19 can directly infect the inner ear," said Konstantina Stankovic, chair of the otolaryngology department at Stanford. Link: https://scopeblog.stanford.edu/2021/12/ ... inner-ear/

Also an interesting article about "The Omicron"weird" genome and there's much uncertainty about how and when it originated.
(Link: https://www.science.org/content/article ... Z8.twitter

I think the world and the hoi polloi will not be able to take any more of this "we are doomed, this virus variant is deadlier than all previous virus combined and BTW it is R0 is 100" line of thought.

The gloom and doom scenario has been played again and again. People are itching to get out and have a life. So my only request is for responsible posters to just state the facts and leave the doom and gloom scenarios off the table. If R0 of Xi-Omicron is 3x of delta-Wuhan which is 2x of the ordinary-Wuhan, then state that and let the reader draw the conclusions. The readers are generally smart to draw their own conclusions.

Omicron may be deadly, however lets not build up the gloom and doom.

Get vaccinated, preferably Covaxin otherwise Covidshield. Get boosters if you are eligible. Follow mask and hygiene (I want to see the drop in TB infection) and carry out with life. Party. But keep it low decible. Savour those moments.

Accept the fact that there is vaccine hesitancy. Even in India. I was seeing it in my family, friends and their family circles as well.

Gentle persuasion for getting them vaccinated went a long way. Going gloom and doom actually is counter-productive. The inner rebellion of all humans wake up. It is the innate human tendency to just do the opposite of what they are coerced to do. Even if what they are doing is not in their self interest. Extreme example of it is Jauhar.

Here is an article from Swarajyamag https://swarajyamag.com/news-brief/vacc ... first-dose

TN Health Minister has clearly stated this:
Tamil Nadu Health Secretary J Radhakrishnan on Saturday (Nov 20) urged to all eligible persons of the state above 18 years of age to get vaccinated against Covid-19.

The State has so far achieved a level of 75 per cent in respect of first dose and 38 per cent in second dose vaccinations. Still about 1 crore persons between the age group 18 and 44 years and about 50 lakh persons above the age of 45, and mostly above 60 years are yet to take first dose, he said in a statement.
India always has different challenges and is always a very difficult case. Due to its diversity and sheer size and independence and democracy. At the same time India has civilizational capacity to defy all odds and win.

Given that more need to be vaccinated and at the same time may require a booster dose, innovative way of encouring people to do the right thing need to be thought through.

some one was mentioning UK and Europe..

November 24, 2021:South Africa tells Pfizer they don't want more shipments of the vaccine.

November 26, 2021: WHO says that the Omicron variant was discovered in South Africa on November 24, 2021.

November 26, 2021 onwards: Many countries rush to ban flights and immigration from South Africa.

Did Pfizer collaborate with the WHO to punish South Africa for refusing more shipments of the vaccine? These theories are being talked on social media quite strongly… not sure how much truth is in them

sources:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... ews24-says

who.int/news/item/26-11-2021-classification-of-omicron-(b.1.1.529)-sars-cov-2-variant-of-concern

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/omicron-va ... rt-raised/
madhu

Post by madhu »

2 Omicron Cases Detected in Karnataka;
Two cases of the new Covid-19 variant, Omicron, were detected in Karnataka, making them the first infections from the new strain in India. The Health Ministry said the patients are two men aged 66 years and 46 years.
since there are no international flights operating from Bangalore, I think we there is a large number than detected.

Just a curious Q - only fully vaccinated people can fly - so it means carrier of virus from one country to another are vaccinated people only ?

https://theprint.in/health/bruce-lee-as ... on/774521/

COVAXIN was developed with mutations in mind.
The mRNA vaccines, such as those of Pfizer and Moderna, are designed to produce a portion of the spike protein inside the cell by transcribing it from the codes contained in the piece of mRNA. Thus the body learns to identify the virus using that part of it. However, Omicron has about 50 mutations, many of them on the spike protein and its receptor binding domain (RBD).

“The RBD had two mutations in the Delta variant and here there are 10. If the structure of the domain changes then how well the lock and key arrangement works with other vaccines is a question. In the case of Covaxin it is a little like a Bruce Lee assault, when three different and potentially fatal sites are targeted at the same time

For receptor binding to occur, ipso facto, there needs to be three dimensional structural conservation. Not necessarily base pair conservation. Ignoring coevolution etc.

I have to report that some very good biochemists may have some reluctance/difficulty in accepting this concept.

This view would make many mutations viable. As long as the atomic interactions with receptor were conserved. And not necessarily as in conserving particular amino acids but bond distances and reactivity.

One can also postulate compensatory mutations that permit even lower fidelity to the original DNA sequence and continued functionality.

IndraD wrote:
COVAXIN was developed with mutations in mind.
The mRNA vaccines, such as those of Pfizer and Moderna, are designed to produce a portion of the spike protein inside the cell by transcribing it from the codes contained in the piece of mRNA. Thus the body learns to identify the virus using that part of it. However, Omicron has about 50 mutations, many of them on the spike protein and its receptor binding domain (RBD).

“The RBD had two mutations in the Delta variant and here there are 10. If the structure of the domain changes then how well the lock and key arrangement works with other vaccines is a question. In the case of Covaxin it is a little like a Bruce Lee assault, when three different and potentially fatal sites are targeted at the same time
Please avoid theprint links

Here is the coverage

https://www.medicalbuyer.co.in/will-cov ... ve-to-say/

https://www.msn.com/en-in/money/topstor ... ar-AARnF6Z