Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

With this knowledge on March 17th why Kumbh mela wasn't given a go ahead ?
You mean "why kumbh mela WAS given a go ahead?". Valid point. Wasn't tablighi whatever not stopped last year?
Why farmer protests were still kept alive ?
Blood is on their hands for continuing the protests. Instead of Annadatas they have become COVIDdatas
Last year government stopped CAA protests because of Covid.
Why EC didn't postpone elections ?
Does EC have power to postpone? Only in a National Emergency they could do it. But EC should have banned politcal rallys.

All are incompetents but SC isn't. SC itself didn't think that there were any drastic steps to be taken around March 17th.

Listen folks, there's very little productive value in demanding any particular event from the past be undone. Discuss the present and future, and spare us 'learn from the past' stuff - pretty much all the references to past are frustrated whining, not any actionable discussion.

Railway deploys 19 Isolation Coaches at Sabarmati & Chandlodiya
https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/05/04/ ... andlodiya/
In the relentless fight against Covid, the Ministry of Railways are undertaking movement of Isolation Coaches to places of demand by respective states on a war-footing, mobilising workforce and material for this task through rapid action. The Railways has deployed a fleet of nearly 4000 Isolation coaches with almost 64000 beds to serve as Isolation Units.
At some locations, the Railway authorities have also provided new logistical solutions like supported ramps on stair-cases for hassle-free transport of sick patients besides facilitative conveniences like make-shift tents, area segregation for better isolation on railway platforms that serve as freeway for movement of medical personnel and supplies in these Covid care facility. It may be pointed out that Railway personnel worked rapidly to rehabilitate some of the ramps on a war-footing.
In Delhi, the Railway has catered to the full demand of State Governments’ demand for 75 Covid Care coaches with a capacity of 1200 beds. 50 coaches are positioned at Shakurbasti and 25 Coaches at Anand Vihar stations. 5 admissions were registered as on date with 3 patients discharged. 1197 beds are still available.
The utilisation of these facilities in the above-mentioned states, as per latest records, cumulatively registers 146 admissions with 66 subsequent discharges. Presently 66 Covid patients are utilising the isolation coaches. More than 3600 beds are still available at these facilities.

FWIW - Sharing some items:
(People who can take action, have already have taken notice and hope something good come out of the in a short timeframe)

Item 1 = >>>This seems to be an extremely useful idea - (Juggad!) ! May help in solving critical oxygen shortage in our hospitals.
IIT Bombay demonstrates conversion of Nitrogen generator to Oxygen generator: A simple and fast solution for the current oxygen crisis

If there are engineers etc here who are reading it.. please take a note and see what/how you can help..
In that atmosphere let me also share some other items (posted by some friends) which people may be interested in the invitation and opportunities to do some something to help.
Item -2
When India is facing a full-blown COVID crisis as people struggle for resources for their loved ones. Last year, IIT Kanpur's Startup Incubation & Innovation Centre stepped up to deliver Swasa N-95 masks and Noccarc invasive ICU ventilator amidst the national lock down. 50-60 Noccarc ventilators are being produced each day by IIT Kanpur incubatee Nocca. As the second wave of the deadly pandemic has put India's health systems to test, the SIIC team has again rolled up their sleeves and launched Mission Bharat O2. The initiative's objective is to enable development of oxygen concentrators and oxygen plants in India's need of the hour.

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur invites small and medium scale entrepreneurs from all over India to apply for the open challenge to scale up the production of Oxygen Concentrators (5 lpm, 10 lpm and 15 lpm capacities) and 500 lpm PSA Oxygen plants. The selected ones will receive technical support from IIT Kanpur and sourcing assistance from SIIC.
Interested can visit https://www.bharato2.in/ to know more and apply. We urge all eligible entrepreneurs to apply and contribute towards an Atma Nirbhar Bharat!
Item#3 - Another opportunity, especially for doctors and scientists who can do some zoom type consulting (or even talk/advise people) is to join reputable initiative launched by many reputable institutions. ..
One such site is: https://indiacovidsupport.com/ - This site is run by volunteers giving verified data about availability of oxygen/Ventilators/Resources at city level. (Once verified, you can join as a volunteer to update data etc)

Good resources are Twitter/ SocialMedia/Official_sites / e-mail - The top people in DST and other places are quite approachable.
If you are a medical doctor and can volunteer some time (even few hours a day), even if you are outside India but have good people skill and internet connection) there are things you can do which could be of immense help.

saip wrote:
darshan wrote:If Google is correct, Dr. Kapila's age was around 83. No information on other existing illnesses.
He was diabetic and cardiac patient.
If he was 83, how old would his father - in - law be?
He was 83, and only practiced 20 years?

Vivek K wrote:
Atmavik wrote:

that explains the drop shown in CoWin dashboard. states may or may not be as efficient in delivering vaccines.is there any way to track the total numbers? this is the worst possible time to shift gears.
Do they use different mechanisms to distribute? Shouldn't the distribution chain remain the same?

Shekhar Coupta is now using this 1.79 number to claim that vaccination rate has dropped to 1/2 of 3.6 million . he conveniently misses the fact that centers share is now only 50%. he mentions a bunch of other data but how can he miss such a big fact( unless he wants to)

he was the cheer leader to allow states and private companies to vaccinate and is now complaining. this guy should be named shoot and scoot

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viuB_i7ss5k

(for those who want to watch @ 17:45)

btw, i cannot access cowin dashboard. anyone knows how vaccination is progressing.
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

Single COVID-19 vaccine dose boosts protection in previously infected: study

https://www.thehindu.com/sci-tech/scien ... 472304.ece

https://science.sciencemag.org/content/ ... ce.abh1282

Older paper - https: //www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/artic ... 8/fulltext

If the competent member be kind enough to comment on this, I would be grateful

We need to ask higher ups in GOI to communicate their strategy and plan going forward.

People are really scared. Everyone I talk to know few of their relatives passed away. Oxygen is a problem. Definitely things are slowly improving but still a large gap.

Modi should come on TV and let people know how they are fighting. What is the vaccine strategy? Explain people to be vigilant and stay away from crowds. Warn people who are hoarding medicines or oxygen or hospitals exploiting. People are looking for leadership in this crisis.

Assur them about vaccine pipeline including nasal vaccine and how many doses are coming in next 4 months.

I am puzzled by lack of communication.

Please someone relate this to RSS

Sharing a cartoon which brought this reaction from Prof. Vidyasagar:

Left picture: Us briefing the media.
Right picture: The media briefing the public.

This is from a professor/surgeon - SJIC&R Bangalore
Vaccine hesitancy has been the biggest killer in the COVID epidemic. Take Karnataka's yesterdays [ April 27] data 180 out of 201 deaths were those who could have taken the vaccine by now. So that many occupied beds and had avoidable deaths. .

The conscience of every non vaccinated person must prick because if they get severe COVID they have denied another patient an opportunity for better care.

I am enraged over the fact that unvaccinated people who had opportunity to get vaccinated & get severe disease are those who are blocking beds and in effect denying care to others who could have got better treatment I People are afraid of vaccines but are not afraid of dying of COVID - the irony !! Afraid of dying of clots due to vaccine but people do not realise that they are at higher risk for dying of clots after COVID over the next 6 weeks after infection.

saip wrote: He was diabetic and cardiac patient.
If he was 83, how old would his father - in - law be?
He was 83, and only practiced 20 years?
How did you get that? Looks like he is still working at the time of his death.. During Vietnam War he was posted in Okinawa with US Army. That makes it more than 50 years.

Is there a conclusive advisory on how many days should one wait after recovery before getting vaccinated?

Suraj wrote:Listen folks, there's very little productive value in demanding any particular event from the past be undone. Discuss the present and future, and spare us 'learn from the past' stuff - pretty much all the references to past are frustrated whining, not any actionable discussion.
Suraj while I agree with you in principle but these questions must be asked and answers be made known. There is a grand narrative being set in media and international media that Modi didn't pay heed to any expert advice. Recently, Karan Thapar interviewed some expert and was trying to establish that narrative. TOI article I linked deliberately twisted facts. Someone pointed out that scientist concerned has clarified and you mentioned that you also follow him on twitter. See this type of information although publicly available is not known to public (at least ones who support PM Modi). Zakaria recently mentioned in an interview to a CNN anchor that media is slave of Modi and won't question him when he said that India has achieved victory over Corona. But PM Modi in his live session with CM mentioned everything about possible second wave etc... all of media pro, mixed and anti Modi -- none of them bothered to pick up and follow through. Our Milords were sleeping then as well only to wake up now and demand compliance.

You are correct when you mentioned that no one knew the actual size of this wave. I personally think at BRF we need to collect information, process, ask questions and generate authentic material to slay any attempt to unduly malign current central govt as if everything is it's fault alone.

May be we can have another thread to achieve this purpose. It's better to be proactive than reactively do this later on.

Thakur_B wrote:Is there a conclusive advisory on how many days should one wait after recovery before getting vaccinated?

Us cdc recommends that If one was treated with monoclonal antibodies or plasma to wait for 90 days. My aunt had to wait this period.

If you recovered naturally then there is no specific guideline for the wait period. But it is recommended that u eventually take the vaccine.

I found a GoI FAQ which says 14 days after resolution of symptoms. So will probably get a shot next week.

Thakur_B wrote:I found a GoI FAQ which says 14 days after resolution of symptoms. So will probably get a shot next week.
Please share that link.

Sumeet wrote:
Suraj wrote:Listen folks, there's very little productive value in demanding any particular event from the past be undone. Discuss the present and future, and spare us 'learn from the past' stuff - pretty much all the references to past are frustrated whining, not any actionable discussion.
Suraj while I agree with you in principle but these questions must be asked and answers be made known. There is a grand narrative being set in media and international media that Modi didn't pay heed to any expert advice.
Not the right thread for all that. Take it to the politics thread and worry about narratives there please.

This thread literally is the resource thread. It's meant to discuss technical and medical information, not politics.

Sumeet wrote:
Thakur_B wrote:I found a GoI FAQ which says 14 days after resolution of symptoms. So will probably get a shot next week.
Please share that link.
https://www.mohfw.gov.in/covid_vaccinat ... /faqs.html
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

4-6 wks after resolution of symptoms would be better..14 days is too early..

DrRatandip ji, what are the possible drawbacks of getting vaccinated this soon after recovery?

Atmavik wrote:
Thakur_B wrote:Is there a conclusive advisory on how many days should one wait after recovery before getting vaccinated?

Us cdc recommends that If one was treated with monoclonal antibodies or plasma to wait for 90 days. My aunt had to wait this period.

If you recovered naturally then there is no specific guideline for the wait period. But it is recommended that u eventually take the vaccine.
To add: The experts recommendations are: Minimum 14 days (After you are fully recovered) unless you were treated for COVID-19 with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma, you should wait 90 days before getting a COVID-19 per CDC (https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... s/faq.html) ("People with COVID-19 who have symptoms should wait to be vaccinated until they have recovered from their illness and have met the criteria for discontinuing isolation; those without symptoms should also wait until they meet the criteria before getting vaccinated. This guidance also applies to people who get COVID-19 before getting their second dose of vaccine)

The fear is being observed. No telling how long it will last. Many areas within GJ are pretty much in voluntary lockdown state with no activity going on other than essentials. People have started wearing the mask even while in home.

among all the doom and gloom this pandemic has brought out the worst of some people. here is a good story.

Kudos to Cadet Divyanshi, 2 DGBN, Delhi Directorate for arranging free oxygen refill to more than 50 persons including fellow NCC cadets,DU professors & civilians.Great service to Humanity.

https://mobile.twitter.com/NCC_Dte_Delh ... 1303036931

Kakkaji wrote:Anyone hear of any private hospitals offering vaccines yet? If so, which hospital, which vaccine, and what total charge for one dose?
Yes, a few are offering and it varies per region. You can look it up it on the cowin.gov.in website.
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

Any news/information on vaccines- COVAXIN production upgrade. I am eagerly waiting to have at the first available opportunity.
I am dialing the well known private hospitals here to check for availability, but who ever taking the phone dont have that information and asked me to contact again in 2 days. Sadly all the hospitals mentioned in cowin.gov.in still catering to only +45 and that too of meager quantities of 5 to 20 persons each day.

------------------------Different topic--------
Couple of fatal cases in the relatives circle or puzzling. Couple, one parent and kid living in blr. All of them not gone anywhere for the last several months other than milk and curd which was thoroughly washed before pouring in to the vessel. Other groceries through online and gone through the process of disinfectant spray after waiting period of 24 hours.

Even after this much protocols the family is broken now, first day morning grand pa in good shape and talking, in the afternoon a little loose motion and gone unconscious around evening with oxygen level just 50 %. Entire family including the kid tested positive. Grand pa died next day morning waiting for ventilator and hospital hopping's in ambulance. Husband admitted in hospital with body pain and weakness and don't even know the passing away of his father and the wife and kid in house with all symptoms.

No one know how they got infected after remaining so much alert. Is it what the community spread means? can the virus survive many minutes in the air and infect others (though with masks), such as at a place where people has to come one by one for paying money in shop, wind coming from next house etc.?
plushyphen

Post by plushyphen »

I've tried searching for this but couldn't find one.
Both the doctors treating me have independently advised me a clear 6 weeks after full recovery. I'm assuming there's an unwritten rule which most doctors are following.

On the topic on people dying even after being vaccinated, we need to remember, it is not the vaccine which provides protection. It is the anti-bodies.

It is same as drinking water, if one's body doesn't produce enough antibodies. Older people, immuno deficient people, all may not produce enough antibodies.

So let's not worry about exceptions and cause more anti-vax sentiments.

Medical Oxygen Plants

plushyphen wrote:
I've tried searching for this but couldn't find one.
Both the doctors treating me have independently advised me a clear 6 weeks after full recovery. I'm assuming there's an unwritten rule which most doctors are following.
What I have read is that you should wait 90 days after recovery. This is because since antibodies already exist inside you due to the infection, your body will not give a robust immune response to the vaccine and not much antibodies will be generated, leading to lower protection. Vaccines work best when there are no previous antibodies inside you from the same disease

RajaRudra wrote: No one know how they got infected after remaining so much alert. Is it what the community spread means? can the virus survive many minutes in the air and infect others (though with masks), such as at a place where people has to come one by one for paying money in shop, wind coming from next house etc.?
You didn't say their living situation and closeness to neighbors.

Eyes are often ignored parts. Many such cases and various scenarios possible. Lot of this kind of cases have many people that I know in GJ have started wearing masks within house when living in close proximity to neighbors or in multi story buildings.

These strains are much more virulent than previous ones. Few people that I know got infected that went outside only for vaccination and got infected. They live outside cities and in open area. And followed various disinfection protocols for bringing things into home.
sajo

Post by sajo »

If any dharmic bureaucrat or simply those of the other kind reading this forum, please enable CAPTCHA or some similar measure so that people stop gaming the COWIN system while booking slots by having bots do it for them. Actual humans need to have a fair chance at it.
arvin

Post by arvin »

Woudnt Aadhar registration and OTP login take care of that.
sajo

Post by sajo »

From what I have read, nothing that cant be easily automated. On the website the session stays up for quite sometime, and you dont need to login frequently with the OTP. Once registered with Aadhar and logged in, the bot can do the rest, watching out for slots, booking the first available one and confirming. Expert can please correct me if I am wrong.

No one know how they got infected after remaining so much alert. Is it what the community spread means? can the virus survive many minutes in the air and infect others (though with masks), such as at a place where people has to come one by one for paying money in shop, wind coming from next house etc.?
At present - especially with highly transmissive variants - *all* experts are emphasizing the danger of transmission..

Few practical aspects (My recommendations but consistent with experts) -
- Surface cleaning (disinfectant), washing vegetables, etc are good but *not* that sufficient/important as people thought, *good* ventilation, avoidance of crowds (especially inside) and *good* masks (N95) constantly wearing (social-distancing is not enough if there is poor ventilation etc) is *extremely* important.

- India's DST/ICMR etc's words "Maximum ventilation , Avoid Crowds, Wear Mask (preferably N95 or double mask) should be our mantra.

Note - Many countries in Europe made N95 masks mandatory in trains etc (they were giving it free) and CDC has issued advisory several times.

We (my daughter-in-law who is doctor taking a lead - shipped/sent or otherwise made sure) that N95 masks *all* used by our extended family (in USA, Canada, Europe and India) *all* the time in the outside the home - especially where ventilation is not good. Social distancing alone is of not that much help. We have been telling this to all who will listen. PLEASE WEAR MASKS (preferably N95) and avoid crowds. (To my family and friends in India, Swasa N95 masks are available online are are good).
Some of us did some mathematical modeling (results have been shared with others) about this aspect and the results we got surprised even some of us - the new variants are *that* worry-some in that aspect. There is a tool ( available at MIT site and few other places) which can "calculate" this aspect (for various type of variants) in case one is thinking of having or attending a gathering or travel via plane etc. Point is social distancing and ordinary masks are good for germs spread through water-droplets -- coughs/sneezes/talking do not project these droplets too far and are stopped by masks -- 100 nm corona viruses in the air will hang in there for a much longer time and ordinary masks (with holes 100 to 1000 times their size) are not sufficient).

Hope this helps.
Last edited by Amber G. on 05 May 2021 20:00, edited 1 time in total.

It may be better to take in registrations and then randomize the allotments in lottery like system.

Bart S wrote:
Kakkaji wrote:Anyone hear of any private hospitals offering vaccines yet? If so, which hospital, which vaccine, and what total charge for one dose?
Yes, a few are offering and it varies per region. You can look it up it on the cowin.gov.in website.
Sorry, Cowin site is not available outside India

sajo wrote:If any dharmic bureaucrat or simply those of the other kind reading this forum, please enable CAPTCHA or some similar measure so that people stop gaming the COWIN system while booking slots by having bots do it for them. Actual humans need to have a fair chance at it.
(Not a bureaucrat by any measure, but commenting here :))
The main concern here is to make it *easy* and *fast* so maximum number can get vaccinated as soon as possible..(being "fair" is sometimes overrated - especially if it slows down or makes the system complicated).
From what I know - Biggest concern is vaccine hesitancy and misinformation/mismanagement propagated by political leaders who should know better. Let us get as many people vaccinated as fast as possible ( CAPTCHA is not what I will worry about - rather than go after "bots" or those who program bots - I will go after those who are doing much more harm by playing political games ).. BTW CAPTCHA makes the system horrible for those who are blind/visually impaired.
(PS - When I invite big family for dinner I like to make sure everyone gets food as fast as possible - I worry less about id-checking, if anyone is jumping a line, or somebody hogging unfair portion by use of a bot :) :) ...)
Last edited by Amber G. on 05 May 2021 20:30, edited 1 time in total.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

I feel that using the ward election card data they should just start vaccinating ward by ward. This is also a good chance to improve citizen data for future planning purposes and service delivery. Not sure census was done this year but this one would be a once in a lifetime opportunity for the bureaucracy to improve citizen details (might also help working with banks as they do KYC). I am not sure if Aadhar details are accurate for all regions and usually such data collection will be frowned upon by our useless opposition parties. One thing I can see from the vaccination drive so far is that the bureaucrats have near ZERO understanding of local areas. hospital reachability, comms as they draw policies from the comforts of their offices. Local corporators, party offices should be all brought in to help out on the vaccination drives
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

Thakur_B wrote:DrRatandip ji, what are the possible drawbacks of getting vaccinated this soon after recovery?
-After first exposure of antigen due to infection it is expected that neutralizing antibodies will be present for 4 to 6 wks

- If pt takes vaccine during this period then it is likely that already present antibodies will neutralize newly administered antigen ( vaccine) too soon .. This wont allow body to develop enough IgG antibodies and memmory cells required for long term protection..