Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The statements about average daily vaccinations in the previous article look like complete throwaway material, given that the week of June 21 saw an all time high 45 million doses done .

The Bharat Biotech news is interesting but I’ll treat it as hearsay until indepenedently confirmed by Bharat Biotech themselves . The press are a long way from being trusted to report anything right .
Raja

Post by Raja »

According to my (potentially wrong) calculations, roughly 32.2% of adult population has been vaccinated with at least one dose. That number is over 50% for the "at risk" population. For fully vaccinated, it is just under 8%. We are getting there!

I assumed 18+ population of 94.4 crores.

In my opinion, govt. should start doing a weekly update in terms of % of adult population vaccinated (single and double dose). That will deter the dishonest and/or lazy elements in the media from keep talking about only the fully vaccinated %ages in terms of the entire population.
sankum

Post by sankum »

In Vikaspuri CGHS centre you have to take token at 6 AM in morning and will get vaccinated by 11am to 12PM. It is taking full 6 hours fot 45+ group to take second dose.
I have to take second dose till Aug 2. Will wait till that day or even delay till situation improves to 1 hour waiting . This is the situation in New Delhi.
sampat

Post by sampat »

guys, it it OK to take high blood pressure medicine and blood thinner medicine before corona vaccine (pfizer biocon)? or better to skip these on vaccination day
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

sampat wrote:guys, it it OK to take high blood pressure medicine and blood thinner medicine before corona vaccine (pfizer biocon)? or better to skip these on vaccination day
That's a pretty serious question that only your doctor will be able to answer given your individual circumstances.
I dont think you should take the word of anyone on an internet forum.
But that is just my view.
sankum

Post by sankum »

Only thing I have heard at vaccination centre is to take your normal meds before vaccination but not to take any medicine till 2 hours after vaccine.
I have taken my bp medicine before the jab in morning.
But at vaccine centre a lady who was on bp and blood thinning medicine quickly removed the cotton after jab and had small amount of bleeding from the injection point and new cotton pad had to be placed to stop bleeding.
I think 15- 20 minutes the cotton has to be placed in such patients to prevent bleeding.

sampat wrote:guys, it it OK to take high blood pressure medicine and blood thinner medicine before corona vaccine (pfizer biocon)? or better to skip these on vaccination day
My mother was advised that it was ok to take her BP and blood thinner meds before the (Covshield) vaccine. She had no after effects after both doses.

Prof Shamika Ravi
@ShamikaRavi
#COVID19India This is beginning to look ominous once again. Growth rate of active cases poised to become positive. Please follow strict covid protocols & don't let you guard down people! #MaskUpIndia & #GetVaccinated

COVID19India This is beginning to look ominous once again. Growth rate of active cases poised to become positive. Please follow strict covid protocols & don't let you guard down people! #MaskUpIndia & #GetVaccinated
Of course, covid protocols and vaccinations are *very* important.
Some more most recent analysis of data about the growth rate -

Disclaimer: There is lot of uncertainties so the following analysis should be taken with that in the view - The analysis is done by using SUTRA model to analyze the data and estimate the parameters to find root cause of this trend.

Few points: The worrying (active cases not going as fast as some predicted) data comes mainly from three states -
Kerala, Maharashtra and Manipur.

In all these cases (see graphs and details of each state below) it seems that:

All are going through "phase transition" (things are changing - and needs few more days data to stabilize) and the data is little fuzzy but:

- "contact rate" has not increased but "reach" has increased. The virus is spreading at newer (geographically more reach).
- The conclusion - not more transmissive variant - is supported by the fact that in-spite of genome testing now new variant has been found (yet and hopefully not in future).
- The data - (that is more "undetected" cases are being "tested positive" - is also consistent as there have been *much* more testing in last few weeks so less number of cases are "undetected".

This means - If things do not go crazy (people still use common sense with covid protocols and vaccine rate continue to climb) the third way - I believe (and hope) will be a ripple.

Here are some graphs for technically minded - (for details please see sutra-india's web site).

For Kerala: (Numbers were coming down nicely until mid-June, but then plateaued and now are rising. Parameter estimates, admittedly imprecise due to drift, but contact rate not increased but reach has increased by 25%).
This means either pandemic expanding to newer regions or due to a new mutant that is bypassing existing immunity to a significant extent. Genome sequencing done in Kerala has not thrown any such new mutant so far. So it is likely to the earlier cause , which is good news. We will know soon.

For Maharashtra:
( Things/data are much more sable and estimation is more precise - No change in contact rate and about 20% increase in reach. Genome sequencing has not found any new variant here as well.

Finally Manipur (A sharp rise is observed from 21st June and the model is unable to capture it fully yet,-- rough estimates done for parameters ... While reach has increased by 15%, contact rate has reduced by 10%! (and epsilon is gone up by 20% - unclear what's going on -- may be case where more undetected cases being discovered and the rise is temporary .. we will know soon,)..

(Credit for graphs - and basis of analysis - SUTRA team, IIT Kanpur and websites, publicly published )

Added later: You can get more detail graphs from https://sutra-india.in/ - at state or even district level.
Also posting the three scenerios for India.

Monday 7am: 37.73cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734693
Saturday 7pm: 37,57,10,173: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734470

37.73cr - 37.57cr = 16 Lakh doses on Sunday July 11th

Monday at 7pm: 38.11cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734890

Therefore Monday July 12th (7am-7pm) = 38.11Cr - 37.73Cr = 38 Lakh doses
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

is this news a hit job on Covaxin ? I thought covaxin was still in trials in US ?

https://uk.yahoo.com/news/6-fully-vacci ... 10774.html

S_Madhukar wrote:is this news a hit job on Covaxin ? I thought covaxin was still in trials in US ?

https://uk.yahoo.com/news/6-fully-vacci ... 10774.html
It's a hit job because the pre-print (link) itself contradicts them:
On the evening of the first night of the wedding, Patient 0b complained of fatigue but associated it with diabetes and jet lag. Patient 0a developed a cough two days after the wedding and both him and Patient 0b developed a fever three days after. Patient 0a and 0b tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 by nasal swab qPCR 4 days after the wedding at a third-party site. Patient 0a’s symptoms progressed over the following days and was admitted to the hospital on day 6 post wedding. He was transferred to Baylor St. Luke’s hospital in the Texas Medical Center with worsening symptoms. A month after the wedding, Patient 0a died from complications of COVID-19.

Five other guests have tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 following confirmed interactions with Patient 0a and 0b. All positive patients received Pfizer BNT162b2, Moderna mRNA-1273, or Covaxin BBV152 (Table 1). Six of these have experienced symptoms of COVID-19 (Table 1). Patient 1, who received the Pfizer BNT162b2 vaccine developed severe symptoms and was admitted to Baylor St. Luke’s hospital for monoclonal antibody infusion treatment (Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.) on ten days after the wedding.
The articles makes no statement about relative efficacy of one vaccine vs another, either in analysis or conclusion.

Yahoo.com is very anti-India. It is almost a clone of the BBC. I don't click on their stories anymore.

Sputnik V second dose shortage to delay India's full rollout: Dr Reddy's
India's full rollout of the Sputnik V COVID-19 vaccine will have to be put on hold until the Russian producer provides equal quantities of its two differing doses, Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Ltd said on Monday.

Dr. Reddy's had received about 3 million first doses by June 1 and about 360,000 doses of the second by early this month, the company and the Indian government have said.

"As a matter of responsibility, we would not like to announce a full-fledged commercial launch until we have an equivalent quantity (of the second dose)," Dr. Reddy's said in an e-mail to Reuters.

Dr. Reddy's, which originally planned a full rollout in mid-June, is currently running a pilot programme under which more than 195,000 doses have been administered at hospitals across the country.

"It is our commitment to ensure supply of component 2 in equal quantity and on time to all partner hospitals to whom we have supplied dose 1," the company said, declining to share more details ahead of its financial results.
This was expected. The Russians have had problems with the production of the second dose (which, unlike other vaccines, differs from the first dose) for a long time. That is why they are now trying to get the Sputnik V Light (which is just the first dose of 2 dose Sputnik V) as a single-dose vaccine like the Johnson and Johnson vaccine. Personally I think the Sputnik Light should be approved for use in India. They are claiming an efficacy of 78% for the Sputnik Light, as compared to 93% for the two-dose Sputnik V.

Looks like Dr Reddy's needs to pull some rabbits out of their hats, else their investment in the Sputnik V in India will go down the drain.

Documents for Covaxin nod submitted to WHO; decision soon: Bharat Biotech
Bharat Biotech on Monday said it has submitted all documents required for the emergency use listing (EUL) of its COVID-19 vaccine Covaxin to the World Health Organization and expects a nod at the earliest.

Last week, World Health Organization (WHO) chief scientist Soumya Swaminathan had said that the global health body is likely to take a decision on Bharat Biotech's COVID-19 vaccine Covaxin in the emergency use listing within four to six weeks.

"All documents required for Emergency Use Listing (EUL) of Covaxin have been submitted to WHO as of 9th July. The review process has now commenced with the expectation that we will receive EUL from WHO at the earliest," Bharat Biotech International Ltd Chairman and MD Krishna Ella said in a tweet posted by the company.

India sees slowest weekly fall in Covid-19 cases in 2nd wave
NEW DELHI: Covid-19 cases continued to fall in India but the rate of decline slowed considerably in the week ended Sunday, with five states led by Kerala registering an increase in fresh cases as compared with the previous seven days while Maharashtra and Assam showed only marginal decrease in numbers.

India recorded nearly 2.9 lakh new Covid cases in July 5-11, a drop of 5.5% from the previous week, when over 3 lakh infections were detected. This was the smallest decline in weekly cases since the second wave peaked in the country. The previous week (June 28-July 4) had seen a fall of 11.4% while the week prior to that had posted a dip of 18.6%.

The slowing down of the decline is worrying as India is still averaging more than 40,000 cases per day. Last week’s average was 41,256 while in the previous week it was 43,668. The main reason for the continuing high numbers, relatively speaking, is the persistence of the infection in pockets of the country. Kerala, which posted the highest count of new cases last week at 91,652, saw an 8.1% increase in infections. This was the second straight week of rising cases in the state.

Monday at 7pm: 38.11cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734890
Tuesday at 7pm: 38.5cr: https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetai ... ID=1735198

38,50,19,469 - 38,11,04,836 = 39,14,633

July has been a very consistent month so far. Every single weekday (Mon-Sat) this month well above 3 million doses. The lowest is 3.35m, highest is 6.45m . Pretty much any weekday is somewhere around the 3.7-4.2m range with a few outliers. This indicates that distribution is stable at least as a macro picture. The month to date is 50 million vaccinations between July 1-13 .

Have a question on the SUTRA model. The predicted value of fresh infections gets updated in the model to reflect current actual. From 15th May they have updated it at least 4 times to my knowledge with the latest model incorporate the actual upto 13th July. If the model value us what the actual is till as recently as a day or two ago, how useful is it for managing/ planning the health infrastructure for the future?

nandakumar wrote:Have a question on the SUTRA model. The predicted value of fresh infections gets updated in the model to reflect current actual. From 15th May they have updated it at least 4 times to my knowledge with the latest model incorporate the actual upto 13th July. If the model value us what the actual is till as recently as a day or two ago, how useful is it for managing/ planning the health infrastructure for the future?
I had the same concern. I appreciate the knowledge and intellectual rigor behind Sutra. However, it looks accurate, because the actual data is constantly updated, so at first glance, it appears to be what was originally predicted. Also, the figures for India are the sum of all States and the success of the model at state level has varied. For e.g. the predicted curve for Kerala a month ago looked different from what it is today - but at an all India level, the prediction of a month ago is in line with the model.

Suraj wrote:Monday at 7pm: 38.11cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734890

July has been a very consistent month so far. Every single weekday (Mon-Sat) this month well above 3 million doses. The lowest is 3.35m, highest is 6.45m . Pretty much any weekday is somewhere around the 3.7-4.2m range with a few outliers. This indicates that distribution is stable at least as a macro picture. The month to date is 50 million vaccinations between July 1-13 .
Funny how a French TV channel free to air in Chennai was going Bombastic about having achieved 800,000 vaccinations in France in a day. That's how life is 800,000 vaccinations in France are a success and 4 million vaccinations in India is a failure. That's the magnitude we have to fight against. Competition is really cut throat in India and there is way too much politics.

3 million doses per weekday isn't going to cut it. We will need over 6 million doses per workday if we want to vaccinate 1billion people (which we do, since vaccination will be rolled out to school going children 12+ in short order) within a year. 3 million/workday will be just enough for the booster doses next year. So while we can be proud of the rate, this is insufficient.

Sputnik and Dr Reddys are a joke IMHO. The Sputnik vaccine arrived in India during the early lockdown last year - there were videos circulating of the cryogenic containers being offloaded from an aircraft. Since then Reddys have had ample time to get the production sorted out. BB has done so indigenously and Serum institute has done with foreign IP input. I see Sputnik more of a publicity stunt than a real vaccine.

We all know that- just appreciate the mangtitude of problems this country faces. Actually we need to hit 1 crore vaccine doses day for 3.5 months to avoid a 3rd wave.

I don’t quite understand the purpose of the argument ‘X million per day is not enough, we need Y million’ where Y > X. That just sets up an argument about another level Z where Z > Y.

It’s more worthwhile to interpret the data. Stable daily supply of about 3.6m 7DMA right now, could be better for sure. But a stable supply (stable daily dose count and constantly stocked pipeline) means certain things - vaccinations can be planned ahead of time since supply is known. This enables planning and minimizes wastage.

Smooth supply reduces the amount of guesswork people have to do to get their shots - they call and get told “our center gets X hundred everyday and if you book 3 days out you will get a spot easily”. This is much harder to do when they have no way to advise such things. Such predictability reduces instances of frustrated people giving up, what often gets clubbed as ‘hesitancy’ - a very imprecise term in itself . While we’d all like more supply, smooth and predictable vaccination supply is beneficial in this manner.

Covaxin scale up challenges are hardly unique. Essentially every major vaccine has gone thru a ‘production hell’ phase. Most people don’t remember but Pfizer shut down their entire EU production for weeks in Jan-Feb due to yield scaling issues. It caused a massive furore. SII projected 100m/month in March but only succeeded in June. Covaxin is going thru it’s own struggles.

This is normal. It’s not for lack of trying or urgency on their part. This is not like scaling up a recipe to handle 3x more guests ‘triple the number of potatoes’. It is very common to find that a process that worked on a smaller batch stops working as effectively on larger batch sizes and they have to experiment with scaling approaches until they stabilize . The news article posted about Covaxin cell culture scaling speaks of this.

Let them work it out. There’s no need to demand ‘we need more’ because that’s about the most self evident fact here. It does not need stating.

There were/are 2 significant targets -

To fully Vaccinate -
1. 200-300mn by July/Aug/Sep (multiple statements, multiple targets but near enough to each other)
2. All adults by EOY 2021.
Per day calculations to hit these targets lead to 'x' mn/day required run rate. Can't expect "health journalists" to do basic division to save their lives, so we have to do it. And correlate with expected and actual supplies coming online and whether we can achieve these targets.

1. Suraj sir, not sure if someone criticized Covaxin rollout but it wasn't me. Sputnik rollout is messed up. Both Covaxin and Oxford/Serum Institute have done their homework and competently delivered after their respective challenging periods.
2. Prasad sir, agreed with your post. Two things to keep in mind:
a. Beginning early 2022, we have to start planning booster shots for the previously vaccinated, so the second target is a hard one.
b. The category of people suffering the most are the young school going kids who cannot get vaccinated. We have to roll out to 12y+ kids as well and this means we need more supply. BB's nasal spray could work wonders on this demographic.

Deans wrote:
nandakumar wrote:Have a question on the SUTRA model. The predicted value of fresh infections gets updated in the model to reflect current actual. From 15th May they have updated it at least 4 times to my knowledge with the latest model incorporate the actual upto 13th July. If the model value us what the actual is till as recently as a day or two ago, how useful is it for managing/ planning the health infrastructure for the future?
I had the same concern. I appreciate the knowledge and intellectual rigor behind Sutra. However, it looks accurate, because the actual data is constantly updated, so at first glance, it appears to be what was originally predicted. Also, the figures for India are the sum of all States and the success of the model at state level has varied. For e.g. the predicted curve for Kerala a month ago looked different from what it is today - but at an all India level, the prediction of a month ago is in line with the model.
I understand that if people have extensive interaction (geographically speaking) and more intense interactions such as very close contacts than before, then parameters initially estimated for the model is no longer valid as a predictor of the future. So in fairness they should say that because social contact intensity changed their earlier model prediction has changed by X number. Now that would help policy makers change their stra strategy better.

Wednesday at 7pm: 39.1cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1735596

39,10,53,156 - 38,50,19,469 = 60,33,687

Good pick-up on Wednesday. Hope they maintain it for the rest of this month.

Kakkaji wrote:Tuesday at 7pm: 38.5cr: https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetai ... ID=1735198
Wednesday at 7pm: 39.1cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1735596

39,10,53,156 - 38,50,19,469 = 60,33,687

Good pick-up on Wednesday. Hope they maintain it for the rest of this month.
WOW

Yeah someone demands ‘we need 6m per day’ and gets 6m that day :)

Like I said, this month has been consistent- every weekday has been a minimum 3.35m, with two instances of >6m so far in July. In later days we will see if it was just a one day yensoy-inspired performance, or the start of the month end performance surge we saw in May and June as well. We are still only in the first half of the month.

https://swarajyamag.com/politics/vaccin ... y-on-track
Vaccination Update: India Is Largely On Track

I have the same data above in my own spreadsheet. I had used it to report the following in my most recent twitter thread:
https://twitter.com/surajbrf/status/1413933485111201794

It's good to see it has become an article now, though credit goes to the article writer himself for that.

Prasad wrote:There were/are 2 significant targets -

To fully Vaccinate -
1. 200-300mn by July/Aug/Sep (multiple statements, multiple targets but near enough to each other)
2. All adults by EOY 2021.
Per day calculations to hit these targets lead to 'x' mn/day required run rate. Can't expect "health journalists" to do basic division to save their lives, so we have to do it. And correlate with expected and actual supplies coming online and whether we can achieve these targets.
Targets have been made by various entities, multiple times. One can waste time finding what the targets were (my past google search threw up at least 3-4 different ones), whether they meant doses or total vaccinations - hard to say sometimes, given that the dosage volume, number of doses and dose separation are only clear after early trials or even midway through administration of doses.

Arguing 'there was a target for X' is a futile exercise here. It's not particularly rigorous in any manner, and offers just a nice round number to aim at. In about 2-3 days we'll hit the nice round number of 400 million doses. We have already crossed 310 million people with at least a single dose - over a third of adult population.

Even targeting X percent of population by a particular date itself isn't necessarily the best approach. If there is some metric that bears careful tracking, it is how many >45 and especially >60 are vaccinated by end September. It's a public health imperative to maximize the vaccinations of this group simply because they're 10x or more at risk of death - both the earlier waves were heavily dominated by these groups.

Aditya_V wrote:
Suraj wrote:Monday at 7pm: 38.11cr: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1734890

Funny how a French TV channel free to air in Chennai was going Bombastic about having achieved 800,000 vaccinations in France in a day. That's how life is 800,000 vaccinations in France are a success and 4 million vaccinations in India is a failure. That's the magnitude we have to fight against. Competition is really cut throat in India and there is way too much politics.
India has about 20X the population of France so in relative terms the equivalent of the French vaccination rate would be 16 million in a day.

Kudos on 6M/day for sure

We can no longer only consider 60+ or 45+ populations. We have to start looking at 18/21+ and 12+ very soon if we need to return to normalcy. I guess it is a matter of what we want to achieve (i) do we want to avoid the apocalypse like situation of April/May, or (ii) do we want to resume normal office and school going activities. At this stage with the R&D and vaccine manufacturing heft behind us we can start planning (ii) in addition to (i).
Raja

Post by Raja »

Suraj wrote: Targets have been made by various entities, multiple times. One can waste time finding what the targets were (my past google search threw up at least 3-4 different ones), whether they meant doses or total vaccinations - hard to say sometimes, given that the dosage volume, number of doses and dose separation are only clear after early trials or even midway through administration of doses.

Arguing 'there was a target for X' is a futile exercise here. It's not particularly rigorous in any manner, and offers just a nice round number to aim at. In about 2-3 days we'll hit the nice round number of 400 million doses. We have already crossed 310 million people with at least a single dose - over a third of adult population.

Even targeting X percent of population by a particular date itself isn't necessarily the best approach. If there is some metric that bears careful tracking, it is how many >45 and especially >60 are vaccinated by end September. It's a public health imperative to maximize the vaccinations of this group simply because they're 10x or more at risk of death - both the earlier waves were heavily dominated by these groups.
What kind of an argument is this? We are not talking about targets set by a random guy from the street. Targets were set by central government and communicated repeatedly by cabinet level ministers including the previous health minister. You cannot blame the media to calculate how likely we are to reach those targets based on the current rate of vaccination. If the targets are going to be not met, then it is the responsibility of the central govt. to communicate that and figure out if the targets were not met because they were unrealistic or something went wrong. Blaming media for not using the current targets set by the govt. as a benchmark is a bit rich.

Brace for a 3rd wave in the next month or so. Disturbing reports of massive gatherings for all kinds of private, public and religious festivals from many places in India. Masks and social distancing being ignored by people of all strata. Not good.
:(

Vietnam's health ministry is negotiating with India to secure 15 million doses of the COVID-19 vaccine Covaxin https://www.reuters.com/world/asia-paci ... 021-07-13/

Cyrano wrote:Brace for a 3rd wave in the next month or so. Disturbing reports of massive gatherings for all kinds of private, public and religious festivals from many places in India. Masks and social distancing being ignored by people of all strata. Not good.
:(

These people will bring the 3rd wave and then blame mudi for it.

Inspite of seeing the carnage between March to the middle of May. They haven't learnt their lesson.

After several days of decline the number of active cases WENT UP. Not at all good. Hope this does NOT portend the third wave. Only MH and KL both ruled by non-bjp have 100 k active cases.

Seems the gap between Total registration and vaccinated is now closed. A mere 1 lakh. New registrations are not touching the 30 lakh mark.