2020 US election results discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2020 US election results discussion

^^^I'm sorry you feel that way. It is not directed at you. Harris is on equal footing with DJT in many regards.

Vivek K wrote: Instead, India should engage and make this administration pay India the attention it deserves. And BRF should focus on what GOI can do to keep the Biden administration focused for working India in the region and beyond.
While some Indian-Americans will keep propping anti-Indians like Kamala, Pramila, Ro Khanna because "they have Indian sounding names" and then expect India to adjust itself and bear the brunt.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Vivek K wrote:Well why didn't the PM wait like Russia and China?

But I don't agree with your views on Harris conspiring with anti-India elements. Biden has jumped with Republicans to fund Pak Military? Come now - that is a considerable spin of the truth.

The truth always lies somewhere in between. A nation does not have permanent friends - only interests.

Bill Clinton won US Presidency on an anti China platform. He talked about not giving the MFN status to China in his campaign and that resonated with the population that elected him in 1992 only to find that he was the most pro-China President that through globalization helped China's rise.
He has no choice as the US is India's largest trading partner. There is too much to lose if you don't hedge your bets.

Biden has conspired with the Republicans since the beginning. In 1972, he was elected as a Democrat when his state went for Nixon. He was instrumental in placing sanctions on ISRO in 1992/93 regarding the cryogenic engines and instrumental in military aid to Pakistan along with other Republicans. Go take a look at his record. He has family interests in China and views his family as political royalty like a Kennedy or Bush. He has policy statements on India's internal affairs are stated on his website. This is fact.

Bringing up Harris as role model is disgusting at the best and insulting to all Indian Hindus at the worst. Biden is not going to survive a full 4 years if elected next month. He will voluntarily step down or removed with the 25th amendment. It brings Harris into the spotlight which deserves full scrutiny.
Wtfare you on about .. Just because Biden is an old system politician doesn't make him republican or anti-India ...Newsflash anti-India sentiments were bi-partisan till the turn of the century with a few minor exceptions .Yeah no shit he voted for ISRO sanctions and gave military aid that helped Pak .That was the prevailing thought in US foreign policy in those days .But this is 2020 not 1990 , India is crucial to current US policy in Asia and he will toe the line . Being pro-Pak was useful to US so they were pro-Pak ...Now being pro-India is useful to them so they are pro India ..Its not rocket science

Look at how quickly Modi dropped Trump and is "looking forward" to Biden , Seasoned leaders only focus on what benefits his country rather than some naive expectations of "friendship "

And no Biden has zero interests in a dynasty like Bush/JFK , One of his son has has already died and the other has no political ambitions , Neither does anyone else in his family .Also the 25th amendment /Kamala Harris stuff is as BS as Trump's Election fraud nonsense ..Its created to scare conservatives into action because they are afraid Harris will turn America into some far left land while convinietntly ignoring that she was a LEO herself and her policies are nowhere near
Bernie or AOC.

Honestly i've seen less conspiracy theories on 4chan than what you've been posting in this thread
Last edited by ramana on 20 Nov 2020 00:31, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited ramana

Someone posted the meaning of Trumpery in my whatsap group. I assumed it was another internet hoax. No, it is true and it is from 1400s!
1. something without use or value; rubbish; trash; worthless stuff
Word origin
[1425–75; late ME trompery deceit ‹ MF tromperie, equiv. to tromp(er) to deceive + -erie -ery]
How prescient!
Collins

AkshaySG,

Quit using bad language. Biden-Harris policies have been articulated and both have a track record. They will follow that track record and have not indicated otherwise.

Rony wrote:
Vivek K wrote: Instead, India should engage and make this administration pay India the attention it deserves. And BRF should focus on what GOI can do to keep the Biden administration focused for working India in the region and beyond.
While some Indian-Americans will keep propping anti-Indians like Kamala, Pramila, Ro Khanna because "they have Indian sounding names" and then expect India to adjust itself and bear the brunt.
Ro Khanna another India hater is lobbying CA governor for Harris's potential vacant senate seat.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Mort Walker wrote:AkshaySG,

Quit using bad language. Biden-Harris policies have been articulated and both have a track record. They will follow that track record and have not indicated otherwise.
Lol what bad language ?? ..Stop pushing baseless theories and you won't get any pushback . Trump's own lawyers have signed documents in court saying there is no fraud , https://twitter.com/marceelias/status/1 ... 3605286912 ... His own appointed DHS,CISA and other officials are saying there is no fraud , Republican Govs and SOS's are saying there is no fraud , Republican judges are saying there is no fraud and have dismissed 29/30 lawsuits and yet you keep repeating the same things

Anyone with half a brain knows that Trump's only hope is de-legitimize the electio hoping he will get some pushback from local legislatures and maybe cause some chaos when the house meets to tally EC votes ..That's it . Even he knows he won't be Pres come Jan 21 but it helps his base immensly if he keeps them charged up on allegations of "fraud and conspiracy " because the populace gobbles them up

It harms the integrity of the discussion forum when any and every crazy theory gets posted

Rony wrote: While some Indian-Americans will keep propping anti-Indians like Kamala, Pramila, Ro Khanna because "they have Indian sounding names" and then expect India to adjust itself and bear the brunt.
Your thoughts - are just that. Let actions verify your thoughts and we can debate again.

And from my viewpoint - India has burned every opportunity to rise and reach its destiny by ignoring domestic industry for imports - from Vijayanta, Marut to Arjun, LCA, and others in the military arena and several more in the civil arena. Corrupt officials run rampant and destroy India's fabric - set that right and India will be stronger than all her enemies together.

Trump seems to have called one of the MI commissioners and said .....
It is highly unethical and immoral and amounts to political interference in electoral process.

First the two republican commissioners did not want to certify (it is their prerogative and it is fine). Then they had a change of heart (?) and the commission certified the vote unanimously. The deadline for certification passed and certification became final. Then Trump called. Now one of them wants to rescind. You can draw your own conclusions.

AkshaySG wrote:
It harms the integrity of the discussion forum when any and every crazy theory gets posted

When posters post views, just as you've done, in preference to their personal positions and not actual policies, it is more harmful.

Admin Note: All Indian-americans commenting here - you are posting on a NatSec forum of the country and civilization that is India as well as the security of its diaspora. So make sure you have an India angle to your posts since this forum really is not about "I hate his/her face, because I am on the other side". Indulge in that exercise in your own social media profiles, but not here.

There is a lot of gap between scaremongering and fan-boism, that we all would like to hear. Please co-operate

Vivek K wrote:
Rony wrote: While some Indian-Americans will keep propping anti-Indians like Kamala, Pramila, Ro Khanna because "they have Indian sounding names" and then expect India to adjust itself and bear the brunt.
Your thoughts - are just that. Let actions verify your thoughts and we can debate again.

And from my viewpoint - India has burned every opportunity to rise and reach its destiny by ignoring domestic industry for imports - from Vijayanta, Marut to Arjun, LCA, and others in the military arena and several more in the civil arena. Corrupt officials run rampant and destroy India's fabric - set that right and India will be stronger than all her enemies together.
Vivek,

You're sidetracking the discussion. India's economic and military rise is nascent and works through a messy parliamentary system and inherited bureaucracy from the British. It needs 5-10 years to come to fruition. The issue here is, will US policy continue to be one of non-interference and cooperation? I can guarantee you that a potential Biden-Harris administration will start with pin pricks just as the Obama and Bush administrations have done. India does not need that at this time. All other stuff will be feel good empty words, but actual policies of looking the other way at Chinese perfidy and Pak terror, is troublesome.

Mort Walker wrote: You're sidetracking the discussion.
Mort - this thread is titled "2020 US election results discussion". You have brought in "your anticipated" impacts of Biden Presidency into this thread - sidetracking it. So I am entitled to sidetrack a little. And you cannot brush aside the treatment of immigrants worse than ever in the history of the US. Our children get racist taunts in the environment we live in now thanks to the Toxic Presidency of Mr. Trump.
India's economic and military rise is nascent and works through a messy parliamentary system and inherited bureaucracy from the British. It needs 5-10 years to come to fruition.
What will happen in 5-10 years? In 5 to 10 years India will still be debating FGFA/LCA MK2/Rafale improvements/Mig-35/Su-xx etc. Artillery barrels will still be bursting and Dhanush, ATAGS will be struggling for orders. What are you talking about. The time to have built up was in 2014? What will change in the next 10 years? Indian Democracy is 70+ years old. We have fought several wars in that period. The time to build up was after 1971 - improve the Marut and not buy the Jaguar. It will never happen. The Rafale purchase will end up killing LCA's serial development. India will never have enough hardware to fight offensive wars.
The issue here is, will US policy continue to be one of non-interference and cooperation? I can guarantee you that a potential Biden-Harris administration will start with pin pricks just as the Obama and Bush administrations have done. India does not need that at this time. All other stuff will be feel good empty words, but actual policies of looking the other way at Chinese perfidy and Pak terror, is troublesome.
Unfortunately - US elections are not decided in India. Mr. Trump self imploded/destructed by his toxic treatment of minorities and immigrants. And the results are now in. Mr. Trump lost. So now he is trying to damage the US's image for his personal benefit. The elections were fair but he cannot accept them because he lost. Simple.
Last edited by Vivek K on 20 Nov 2020 01:37, edited 2 times in total.

AkshaySG wrote:Wtf are you on about ..
AkshaySG wrote:no shit
This is neither acceptable language nor does your tone meet forum standard. Please keep in mind you're not a Democrat or Republican here. You're an Indian. The people you're replying to are fellow Indians. Address them accordingly.

Even if you're both US nationals with diametrically opposite political affiliations, that is irrelevant here on BRF . Put it aside and address fellow posters starting from the basis of your common identification here. Your differences are simply topics to be addressed cordially and with a minimum of emotion, certainly not in the manner you have.

The kind of angry emotional FB/Twitter/SM language about US politics should stay there. It has no place here.

Vivek K wrote:So I am entitled to sidetrack a little.
I
No you are not. Please report if you feel any sidetracking happening.

And no more of this speaking with each other - state your case and how it affects Indian interests and move on.

<POOF>

Nothing relevant to India

Absolutely - if fair rules are applied, the forum will cool down. A lot of "Biden Presidency Impacts" have come into this thread.

Which US administration has *not* looked the other way on Pak terror? All of them have condemned terrorist attacks in India, but not one has ever directly blamed the Pakistani state or army for them. Obama writes in his book about knowing that the paki army had relations with terrorists but could not or would not say it out aloud when he was the President, even after the OBL raid. No US president will do that as long as the pakis maintain their usefulness to the US and the state dept. is still worried about losing all influence in pakistan to the chinese. Even under Trump and whatever he has said about them, they eventually still got their IMF bailout. That is just how international relations work unfortunately and all countries including India understand that.

And this is not limited to US-India either. Think of what would happen if the Israelis reacted to successive Indian govts. the way you are about US govts. We constantly vote against them in those sham resolutions in the UN, loudly proclaim our commitment to the Palestinians and even join in condemning Israel from time to time. The most we have ever done is abstain. The Israelis would be well within their rights to be angry at us. But they know how the game is played and our relations are stronger than ever. This dhoti shivering about how a new US administration will spell doom for India needs to stop. It is no different from those dunderheaded journalists and "intellectuals" having wet dreams about Biden or whoever forcing us to rescind the article 370 decision. Not happening. India has its usefulness to the US as well and they won't push beyond a limit. A limit which is well within our capacity to handle and we have been doing it for ages.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

Trump did not have toxic treatment of all minorities and immigrants. His jibes were mainly towards muslim immigrants/minorities from ME/Pakistan and illegal immigrants from south. Lets not swipe with a broad brush as attack on all minorities and immigrants. Thats what the media narrates and creates fear mongering. There were only a handful of racist attacks on Indians and have been rightfully condemned. Couple of these were mainly due to misidentification as middle easterners/muslims. Compare that to the terror attacks and how many got killed. Consequently now there are security checks and major hassle at airports, schools and all events. This is normalized now in peoples' minds and forgotten.

What Trump did was needed to secure his country and people and strengthen and make America financially strong. Yes in this tumultuous times of changes there will be inconvenience and hardship for new immigrants. At some point America as a nation will need to evaluate what is the limit to the immigration. Is it going to be open border, open for all and limitless? What will be the consequence down the line? Whether it is India or America these things matter for the nation and its people.

I see in US today it is Leftists+Islamists vs Evangelists+nationalists vying for power. Neither is or has been India's friends and were banded together against India in the past. Now as they are at each other, India has to work with them in their own merits to its advantage.

Vivek K wrote:
What kind of worldview is it to force a Pakistani POV on India? Would you be proud if tomorrow she uses that power against Indian interests as she was when forcing S Jaishanjar to meet Jeyapal?
Are you certain that she is going to work against India - even before she has had the opportunity to act? Do you think that the geopolitics of the world require US to even take note of Pakistan? A lot of assumptions are being made here.
Thats what she did though in the past. Why deny that? Today, tomorrow she may behave differently based on what politics demands. Please stop worshipping politicians and be a bit more skeptical. This is BRF. Not USRF.

Vivek K wrote: Are you certain that she is going to work against India - even before she has had the opportunity to act? Do you think that the geopolitics of the world require US to even take note of Pakistan? A lot of assumptions are being made here.
Thats what she did though in the past. Why deny that? Today, tomorrow she may behave differently based on what politics demands. Please stop worshipping politicians and be a bit more skeptical. This is BRF. Not USRF.
the amerikis and whiteys in general think that democracy, freedom and sovereignty for them is different from what they are willing to permit non whiteys to think that they have access/entitlement to.

their values are superior and more refined than what non whiteys are entitled to just because they classify non whiteys as inferior and deserving of less.

which is why they think that they have the god given right to interfere in the non whiteys internal affairs and there are many brown sepoys and house niggers who willingly subscribe to this racist and/or colonial view.

there seems to be a hypocritical construct to what the goras do.

they treat you like dirt and are undeniably racist but at the same time, they cynically insist on holding the non whiteys to a higher and often unattainable moral standard, a spurious standard that they themselves don't/cannot follow.

and one suspects that mylapore maami, aka, "comma la" will follow the ancient written script to keep her vote bank happy

i recently read that बायडनवा & comma-la won by a margin of around 5 million votes and of this, the ropers mobilized 1.5 mil votes as a bloc.

if this is true, then बायडनवा & Comma-la will have to pay the piper, no

This may first show up in some crucial appointments that बायडनवा will make. let's wait and watch.

comma-la might even make a quasi private visit to India, maybe with dilli and madras on her itinerary.

Chetak ji despite my warnings you are twisting names, you get a warning for now

<POOF>

<POOF>

<POOF>

<POOF>
Last edited by ShyamSP on 20 Nov 2020 08:14, edited 1 time in total.

chetak wrote:the amerikis and whiteys in general think that democracy, freedom and sovereignty for them is different from what they are willing to permit non whiteys to think that they have access/entitlement to.

their values are superior and more refined than what non whiteys are entitled to just because they classify non whiteys as inferior and deserving of less.

which is why they think that they have the god given right to interfere in the non whiteys internal affairs and there are many brown sepoys and house niggers [and a few otherwise well meaning people] who willingly subscribe to this racist and/or colonial view.
Sadly, quite.

[This] was added by me.

<POOF>

<POOF>

Despite seeing the pandering done to Islamists, and explicit opposition to internal affairs of India like CAA/Art 370 etc, some still think these politicians will be pro-India, and want India to work extra harder to win them over. If this is not groveling, don't know what it is.

Its laughable someone brings Modi into it. Like any other democratic leader in the world, they work with all election winners and leaders of countries. Just because Modi congratulated Oli or Imran on assuming power doesn't mean anything. Its basic courtesy that one extends.

Problem with the current combination is that their ideology is against India. The way Pramila Jayapal/Ilha omar etc tried to run roughshod over India on CAA or the way other democratic city councils rushed to condemn India is telling. And Biden/Harris have it on their manifesto opposing it and wanting to work with India to address "human rights". It is a fact that Trump administration has been less inclined to interfere in India's internal affairs, and same can't be said about incoming ones who have made their intention clear. And they have a constituency who will hold their feet to it. God knows there is no shortage of folks in state department who would love to lecture India again. All the anti-India crowd like Pramila, Ro Khanna, Ilha Omar etc will now have a field day with an administration which has their back.

I guess at least this thread exposes all those who were claiming to uphold India's interest here on BRF and venting against those opposing CAA/Art 370 etc, and then went and voted for same folks in US who were opposed to it. Shows how much "Bharat rakshaks" they are.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

<POOF>

Looks like this circus will continue till January per reports? Or is there a specific timeline by which the court cases have to be addressed by?

putnanja wrote:Despite seeing the pandering done to Islamists, and explicit opposition to internal affairs of India like CAA/Art 370 etc, some still think these politicians will be pro-India, and want India to work extra harder to win them over. If this is not groveling, don't know what it is.

Its laughable someone brings Modi into it. Like any other democratic leader in the world, they work with all election winners and leaders of countries. Just because Modi congratulated Oli or Imran on assuming power doesn't mean anything. Its basic courtesy that one extends.

Problem with the current combination is that their ideology is against India. The way Pramila Jayapal/Ilha omar etc tried to run roughshod over India on CAA or the way other democratic city councils rushed to condemn India is telling. And Biden/Harris have it on their manifesto opposing it and wanting to work with India to address "human rights". It is a fact that Trump administration has been less inclined to interfere in India's internal affairs, and same can't be said about incoming ones who have made their intention clear. And they have a constituency who will hold their feet to it. God knows there is no shortage of folks in state department who would love to lecture India again. All the anti-India crowd like Pramila, Ro Khanna, Ilha Omar etc will now have a field day with an administration which has their back.

I guess at least this thread exposes all those who were claiming to uphold India's interest here on BRF and venting against those opposing CAA/Art 370 etc, and then went and voted for same folks in US who were opposed to it. Shows how much "Bharat rakshaks" they are.
The issue is a lot of people voted for their choice of political candidate based on personal reasons, being US citizens which is fine. One can actually sympathize with that POV. Trumps reign was marked by a rather nasty spike in extremism and many desis/brown folks were very upset with it, judging from anecdotal accounts.

The issue is they are conflating that as equal to being good for India and loudly decrying those who point to the extremely problematic track record of the candidates in question vis a vis India.

Suraj makes a valid and telling point that if India had developed the capability to truly be a great power and hence weild deterrence, we would not be bothered which candidate had won. Or for that matter developed the capability to craft its own PR heavy narrative.

Sadly we aren't there yet by any means, hence all the concerns. NaMo and co have to do what they do to keep ties on an even keel, but needless to say its good we did what we had to do vis a vis Article 370 and CAA during Trumps time.

Its extremely instructive to see how folks who loudly castigate this GOI on patriotism and loudly bemoan how India does nothing, is yet to develop decision making capability etc at the same time give a free pass to KH and JB for their prior actions, stating they are politicians and hence need not hold a view which Indians should be comfortable with. Talk about contradictions. Another gentleman castigated Indians by bringing in Jinnah of all people. As if Indians in any manner conspired against Harris or Jeyapal forcing them to take anti India positions. Totally illogical.

By all means vote for a candidate based on your local requirements or your personal choices, but why spin that as some attempt to address the Republic of India's interests? Thats a whole different ball game.

Karan M wrote: By all means vote for a candidate based on your local requirements or your personal choices, but why spin that as some attempt to address the Republic of India's interests? Thats a whole different ball game.
This is a succinct definition of what posters should not pull off under guise of “I know”

Karan M, sadly, none of the posters here seem to be close a running/serving politician or bothered to get into a big PAC, to provide insights or analysis beyond what their favorite URL is providing.

My only hope is in second gen Indian-Americans traveling to India and “discovering roots” etc (corny and a cliche, I know) , while the first gen is put out to pasture in some depressing old age homes while still talking about how awesome and accurate their choices were.

Mort Walker wrote: Ro Khanna another India hater is lobbying CA governor for Harris's potential vacant senate seat.
If Nancy Pelosi is reelected speaker of the house then Ro Khanna will not get anything. She is quite pissed off at him for calling her out for her tactics during he last round of stimulus discussion.

She seems to be a vindictive old woman.

Karan M wrote:Looks like this circus will continue till January per reports? Or is there a specific timeline by which the court cases have to be addressed by?
IIRC, the election has be certified by the 14 of the Dec for a transition of power. If if doesn't happen then the power will be handed over the proterm speaker of the house that by all indications will be Nancy Pelosi in Jannuary. The election can be certified in due course of time after that.

So for all intents and purposes if Trump fails succeeds in jamming the system. Then we are looking at Nancy Pelosi as an interim president. But we still have nearly 2 months for the whole process to play out.

Karan M wrote: Its extremely instructive to see how folks who loudly castigate this GOI on patriotism and loudly bemoan how India does nothing, is yet to develop decision making capability etc at the same time give a free pass to KH and JB for their prior actions, stating they are politicians and hence need not hold a view which Indians should be comfortable with. Talk about contradictions. Another gentleman castigated Indians by bringing in Jinnah of all people. As if Indians in any manner conspired against Harris or Jeyapal forcing them to take anti India positions. Totally illogical.

By all means vote for a candidate based on your local requirements or your personal choices, but why spin that as some attempt to address the Republic of India's interests? Thats a whole different ball game.
Yup, I think your last two paragraphs hit it on the head. People in US have personal issues that they feel democrats might better address, and will vote for them. But to spin it around and say that its good for India is laughable. It's perfectly valid that the issues that matters to them personally as US citizens might favour democrats who are not favourably dispositioned towards India. They put their interests first like everyone does, and as US citizens, that is their right. But please don't lecture Indians that your choices are good for India too, especially when their demonstrated actions in recent past hasn't been favourable to India in any way. Just accept that your personal interest and India's interests might not coincide. No need for spin.
Last edited by putnanja on 20 Nov 2020 12:43, edited 1 time in total.

saip wrote:Someone posted the meaning of Trumpery in my whatsap group. I assumed it was another internet hoax. No, it is true and it is from 1400s!
1. something without use or value; rubbish; trash; worthless stuff
Word origin
[1425–75; late ME trompery deceit ‹ MF tromperie, equiv. to tromp(er) to deceive + -erie -ery]
How prescient!
Collins
how is this relevant to Indo-US relations?! could you please take your pet peeves elsewhere, sire?!

Karan M wrote:Looks like this circus will continue till January per reports? Or is there a specific timeline by which the court cases have to be addressed by?
IIRC, the election has be certified by the 14 of the Dec for a transition of power. If if doesn't happen then the power will be handed over the proterm speaker of the house that by all indications will be Nancy Pelosi in Jannuary. The election can be certified in due course of time after that.

So for all intents and purposes if Trump fails succeeds in jamming the system. Then we are looking at Nancy Pelosi as an interim president. But we still have nearly 2 months for the whole process to play out.
There are other paths and outcomes too incase of a logjam as was detailed in a recent video by Farid Zakaria and others.

Lot of gossip going on among some Indian members about US elections.

Just to remind everyone, India follows a policy of multi-allignment. Whether rep or dem, it doesn't have much effect on India.

If the indo-china war does happen, believe me, the politicians in new delhi will not rely on the so-called "QUAD". India barely has any trade relations with the countries in the east so don't expect Indians to fight in those wars.

India gained intricate experience on how the world operates after the 71 war. Nothing has changed since then.