Social Media Watch Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Social Media Watch Thread

venkat_kv wrote:it seems people are filling the blanks with their pet peeves/thought process in the absence of any info that comes from the sources they trust or from the govt.
I don't disagree. But this govt. should be mindful of the resentment that might be building up what with post-poll violence in WB with BJP workers at the receiving end, Kerala Bakrid lockdown lifting while stopping kavadi yatra, etc. Of course, I am mixing up domestic with ecternal. But how many people, who are impatient, would be willing to make such a finer distinction?!

Question for koo gurus: does the account get deleted or suspended if you don't use it for a few months? I tried to revisit after a couple of months and cannot access my old account from my phone. Could some kind soul please advise how I can regain access to my old profile?

Today is a crappy day @ Twitter

1) @totalwoke - hands-down the best satire handle, was suspended by Twitter. Our new IT Minister seems as useless as his predecessor. Useless, with a Wharton degree

2) Sushma Swaraj's husband had someone file an FIR against @bharadwajspeaks, the best history teacher in India. This was because of his amazing thread about the history of Mizoram. Bharadwaj has deleted his Twitter account

India needs a deep-cleanse of our internal vermin, followed by the external ones

Prem Kumar wrote:Today is a crappy day @ Twitter

1) @totalwoke - hands-down the best satire handle, was suspended by Twitter. Our new IT Minister seems as useless as his predecessor. Useless, with a Wharton degree

2) Sushma Swaraj's husband had someone file an FIR against @bharadwajspeaks, the best history teacher in India. This was because of his amazing thread about the history of Mizoram. Bharadwaj has deleted his Twitter account

India needs a deep-cleanse of our internal vermin, followed by the external ones
Saar, are you really comparing the performance of an IT minister of a country by some twitter handle being suspended ( I have not even heard of this satire handle till you mentioned it)?

You don't know what you missed :)

And no: the IT Ministry is gauged by their repeated failures over the years to stand upto Western electronic media. Their track record is there for all to see. The new guy hasn't seem to have done much either - all we see is news every 3 days that Twitter is in violation of Indian IT Laws. Ok, so what is the IT Ministry doing about it? Nothing.

The latest incident is yet another example of Twitter left bias & arbitrariness.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Delhi HC Asks Twitter Whether It Is Serious With Respect To Complying With New IT Rules
The Delhi High Court (HC) affirmed on Thursday that Twitter has been totally non-compliant towards the amendments to the Information Technology (IT) Rules and even queried whether the social media giant wants to comply with the new guidelines or not.

Moreover, the HC added that Twitter’s way of putting across its stand was ‘unacceptable’ and that the company was worsening its case in the courtroom.

Actually, Twitter Inc filed an application in the court saying that its new chief compliance officer (CCO) and resident grievance officer (RGO) are ‘contingent workers’.

After examining the same, Justice Rekha Palli mentioned, “I am not happy with this affidavit. You are not using the word ‘interim’ but are now using the word ‘contingent’. In fact, it sounds much worse. Appointment has been done from a third-party contractor.”

The HC asserted that the new rules require a key managerial individual or a senior employee to be appointed as the CCO-cum-RGO. On the other hand, Twitter hired a contingent worker from a third-party contractor.

“He (CCO) is categorical (in his affidavit) that he is not an employee. This itself is in the teeth of the rule,” the judge mentioned, as reported by the Times of India.

The court added that sanctity must be given to the rules and that there should be some seriousness with respect to the same. It straight up asked Twitter whether it is serious regarding complying with the rules.

Twitter asked for two additional weeks to submit a better affidavit. The judge made it clear that the company is being given a long rope and that they shouldn’t expect the court to continue going on the same way.

Thus, they have been given another chance to place a better affidavit that puts more responsibility to the individual who is appointed as the CCO and the RGO.

This groveling & begging is distasteful to watch. First the Govt, now the courts
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Amazon hit with record EU data privacy fine
Amazon.com Inc (AMZN.O) has been hit with a record $886.6 million (746 million euros) European Union fine for processing personal data in violation of the bloc's GDPR rules, as privacy regulators take a more aggressive position on enforcement.

The Luxembourg National Commission for Data Protection (CNPD) imposed the fine on Amazon in a July 16 decision, the company disclosed in a regulatory filing on Friday.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Anjem Choudary: Islamist hate preacher banned from Twitter
He was convicted on terrorism charges in 2016, which included inviting support for the terrorist group Islamic State.

Reacting to the news of his ban, he told Sky News: "That was quick, a record, just five days after I set up my account."
Something to smile about :)

Prem Kumar wrote: And no: the IT Ministry is gauged by their repeated failures over the years to stand upto Western electronic media. Their track record is there for all to see. The new guy hasn't seem to have done much either - all we see is news every 3 days that Twitter is in violation of Indian IT Laws. Ok, so what is the IT Ministry doing about it? Nothing.

The latest incident is yet another example of Twitter left bias & arbitrariness.
Even POTUS could not do anything about his own account getting permanently banned from FB and Twitter. What superpower do you think the Indian IT minister has to stop an anonymous satire handle from suffering the same fate?
Sonugn

Post by Sonugn »

Organisation of Big Tech companies that operate anti-terror database labels BJP as non-violent extremist fringe group;
Organisation of Big Tech companies that operate anti-terror database labels BJP as non-violent extremist fringe group

GIFCT, an organisation formed by Facebook, Twitter, Microsoft and YouTube, listed the world’s largest political party Bharatiya Janata Party under the Right-Wing fringe groups that indulge in non-violent extremism.
On page 62 of the 177-page report titled Broadening the GIFCT Hash-Sharing Database Taxonomy: An Assessment and Recommended Next Steps, BJP has been listed with two other right-wing non-fringe groups, Australia First party and National Socialist Movement.
All preparation for the next general elections by big tech.

Pressure for de-platforming BJP will be next.

"Conspiracy to save democracy" - desi version (except that they are revealing their cards in open)

How much Indian voter is effected by the social media platforms. Pro BJP types don't care about the messages on whatsapp or echo chambers in twitter.

Anti BJP voters don't care about anything about the media and are totally convinced about Modi being the devil himself. No amount of any counter ever reaching them.

In view of this will it make any difference.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

nachiket wrote: Even POTUS could not do anything about his own account getting permanently banned from FB and Twitter. What superpower do you think the Indian IT minister has to stop an anonymous satire handle from suffering the same fate?
Tbf they didn't dare ban him while he was the Potus. And I get the feeling that the same thing awaits bjp's ministers if they somehow manage to bungle in 2024.

But then again if they have data suggesting that not many indians use twitter, then they probably don't care.

Edit: just saw the above post.
Yes, it still does matter and will make a difference. Indian voter may not be affected by social media for now but that's not going to be the case forever. When we have aspirations to become a $10 trillion economy then people will too get rich and have enough time to get affected by social media.

Having your own ecosystem (like the khangressi ecosystem from the last 75 years) would be a great asset then

Sir, and this is my anecdotal experience only, hardly 3 to 4 persons in my apartment building are on Twitter.

But those guys post screen shots of tweets (mainly political) on the society whatsapp group of some 120 members. And there are comments from at least 30 to 40 members on those posts. I have seen some of those posts being forwarded to friends and family in other groups as well.

So while not over estimating their reach, let's also not under estimate also..

Agree, SM penetration is no longer limited to urban gentry. What Manish_p described is how most of India uses SM. WhatsApp is a powerful force multiplier.

Adding to the above, let us also not forget that Whatsapp is owned by Facebook.

If BJP has any self respect , then it and its leaders must quit Twitter and FB and Instagram
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Saar - I understand everyone's angst. What should we do with regular media then? Politics is the art of possible. Let's not forget every country is struggling to get these guys under some sort of control/law and have not been successful.

Facebook has started to provide a monthly compliance report.Twitter will comply too. And google has promised it will comply too. One step at a time.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.newind ... 337637.amp
NEW DELHI: Google received 71,148 complaints from individual users in India in May and June combined, which resulted in the removal of more than 1.54 lakh pieces of content, as per the company's latest monthly transparency reports.
The US-based company has made these disclosures as part of compliance with India's IT rules that came into force on May 26.
Relevant excerpts from the article stating Google's compliance with the Indian laws.

If Google can bent. So will the others. If not then they can be sued into oblivion.

The twits of twitter have no clue what to do. They are banking on being thrown out of the country.

I don't think that they will be thrown out. With the removal of intermediary protection from twitter. They will be faced with so many lawsuits that either they will leave by themselves. Or their lawyers will become billionaires in dollar terms.

Popular Indian history account @BhardwajSpeaks (@TrueIndology) posts a long informative thread about history of Mizoram using government documents and old historical sources. Former governor of Mizoram, @governorswaraj a megalomaniac who still uses "Governor" in his twitter handle long after retirement, threatens Bhardwaj with a police case and bullies him claiming that the tweets threaten the fragile peace in state.
Bhardwaj deactivates his account after multiple bullying and threatening tweets even though he had provided authentic information and had not disrespected anyone.

Today that bully baboo makes his own account private after getting huge amount of well deserved hate for his bullshit. These are the sutiyas who make an implement government policies. Thookne ka mann na karey in logo pe.

https://twitter.com/BharadwajSpeaks/sta ... 0368674817
Last edited by jamwal on 31 Jul 2021 18:03, edited 1 time in total.

There is only so much the state can do against bullying on SM no matter what PoV you are for or against. If you are not ready to fight out motivated police complaints or file counter complaints because the laws are hazy and Govt machinery doesnt know which way to go, then better keep shut.

Just like if you can't handle the reactions then dont stand up in a nukkad and give a speech. In real life people will take you on based on how many supporters they see gathering around you to gauge your strength. SM subscribers or followers simply dont translate to raw strength.

If you have something controversial to say, do it first on a real nukkad or manch, garner supporters who can take stones to cover you or throw (back) stones at your opponents, then expand on SM.

Conflating SM popularity with real life satta will oblige you to learn some hard lessons

jamwal wrote:...Former governor of Mizoram, @governorswaraj a megalomaniac who still uses "Governor" in his twitter handle long after retirement, threatens Bhardwaj with a police case and bullies him claiming that the tweets threaten the fragile peace in state. ..
Isn't the retired Governor the widower of Smt. Sushma Swaraj?
Sonugn

Post by Sonugn »

Manish_P wrote:
jamwal wrote:...Former governor of Mizoram, @governorswaraj a megalomaniac who still uses "Governor" in his twitter handle long after retirement, threatens Bhardwaj with a police case and bullies him claiming that the tweets threaten the fragile peace in state. ..
Yes, he is the same person.

He has also worked a lot on the Mizo peace accord when he was in office.

m_saini wrote:Do trust the current GoI but don't understand what's so special about Twitter? Why the special treatment? Is it because we don't want to piss off woke America?
m_saini'ji, here is where you are mis-understanding. Twitter deserves special treatment. Not because Jackie D'asSorley is smart., just because he is so dumb that to gain attention for eyeballs the wrong way and GOI has decided that twitter will be whipped back and submit to Indian laws like any incalcitrant truant student is made to.

Twitter wants GOI to ban it so that it can go around the town playing victim. GOI just says all companies must follow rules. The rules are legislated from parliament and hence are Indian laws and must be followed while in India. If Twitter is not following it, it will be made to follow it. And that judgement is not going to be done by GOI but by the independent courts who are anyway too independent.

Google, Facebook and everyone else came and said that they will follow Indian IT laws. Only Twitter has been recalcitrant. And Indian Judiciary will step in and whip their butts.

Here is the latest:

https://scroll.in/latest/1001367/comply ... w-it-rules

The single-judge bench of Justice Rekha Palli took objection to the submissions.

“What is this term contingent worker?” she asked Poovayya. “What does this mean? This gives an impression that his duties are based on some contingencies.”

She said that appointment of the officers through a third-party contractor did not amount to compliance of the IT rules and asked Twitter to file a fresh affidavit within a week. “I don’t know what your company wants to do...If you want to do it, comply wholeheartedly,” Palli remarked.

This is going to be a slow process. The reason is simple, this cannot be unwound by a whim of some dynast.

srin wrote:If BJP has any self respect , then it and its leaders must quit Twitter and FB and Instagram
And the leave the space to two finger Tejpal & Shoma Chaudhary types?

Is this for real? So there is such a thing as a "non-violent extremist." Or do they mean that the BJP is extremely non-violent? This is actually great if they really classified the BJP this way, because even the worst detractors are forced to admit that the BJP is non-violent.

Or if being a "non-violent extremist" is such a bad thing, then maybe the Taliban should learn how to be even more terrifying, by upping their game to non-violent extremism. That'll show the world!
Last edited by sudarshan on 31 Jul 2021 22:26, edited 1 time in total.

Sonugn wrote:
Manish_P wrote:
Yes, he is the same person.

He has also worked a lot on the Mizo peace accord when he was in office.
He has gone native with Mizos. He doesn't allow any criticism of Christian bigotry and persecution of Hindus in Mizoram despite given evidence. He is also having illusions of grandeur. Has got the word "governor" in his Twitter handle and pretends he is some kind of a big shot ("I don't read tweets myself, my staff presents the tweets to me that I should read"). He is living in past glory and his mind is stuck in the time when he was in Mizoram. Also looks to be hungry to be counted among the power elite, but has no mass base and is not a politician. His tweets are full of flattery of Mizo leaders who he may have interacted with in the past, almost groveling to be remembered by them.
Last edited by sanjayc on 31 Jul 2021 22:30, edited 2 times in total.

Vayutuvan wrote:[
I don't disagree. But this govt. should be mindful of the resentment that might be building up what with post-poll violence in WB with BJP workers at the receiving end, Kerala Bakrid lockdown lifting while stopping kavadi yatra, etc. Of course, I am mixing up domestic with ecternal. But how many people, who are impatient, would be willing to make such a finer distinction?!
I understand that GOI can always do better outreach. Like there is always a better way. At the same time, if the popln. love to outrage and think with their a$$e$ and vote in the very people inimical to their well being, then they deserve it.

Yes, there will be large segments who are not comfortable with the new reality. They want the old privileges in their own utopia. Those segments will never be happy.

sanjayc wrote: He has gone native with Mizos. He doesn't allow any criticism of Christian bigotry and persecution of Hindus in Mizoram despite given evidence. He is also having illusions of grandeur. Has got the word "governor" in his Twitter handle and pretends he is some kind of a big shot ("I don't read tweets myself, my staff presents the tweets to me that I should read"). He is living in past glory and his mind is stuck in the time when he was in Mizoram. Also looks to be hungry to be counted among the power elite.
The calming influence of Ms. Sushma Swaraj is sorely missed. A chide or two from Ms. Swaraj would have put all delusions of grandeur in its place. That control is not there anymore. And neither the attention he was getting earlier.

disha wrote:...and GOI has decided that twitter will be whipped back and submit to Indian laws like any incalcitrant truant student is made to.
If you've watched the movie "Amadeus," there is a point where Mozart tells the pope that "it is obvious that I don't please you, why don't you dismiss me?" And the pope says "I have no intention of dismissing you. You will remain in my service, and learn your place."
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

disha wrote:...
Google, Facebook and everyone else came and said that they will follow Indian IT laws. Only Twitter has been recalcitrant. And Indian Judiciary will step in and whip their butts.....
...This is going to be a slow process. The reason is simple, this cannot be unwound by a whim of some dynast.
That's fair Dishaji and if GoI have decided to take this route, I support the decision.

It's just I'm, personally, not too confident about our courts, they do tend to take their time decades. Even the SC judges were recusing themselves from WB post-poll violence cases. If/when the Delhi HC judge whips them, they could always go to SC and who knows what reason they might come up with for not "doing the needful", so to say. Going to courts can be a very double-edged sword.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

I have recently switched to brave browser and duckduckgo search engine. I don't have a account on Facebook, Twitter, reddit or Instagram. I only use YouTube, whatsapp and telegram. I use VPN whenever I go on the internet. So what more can I do to switch from the big tech platforms? Any suggestions?

AshishA wrote:I have recently switched to brave browser and duckduckgo search engine. I don't have a account on Facebook, Twitter, reddit or Instagram. I only use YouTube, whatsapp and telegram. I use VPN whenever I go on the internet. So what more can I do to switch from the big tech platforms? Any suggestions?
Same here. Brave + duckduckGo are chill. I retain accounts in FB and twitter but seldom use anymore. Stopped watching mainstream news yrs ago. Even WhatsApp i barely see aajkal.

Lotsa time formerly there now goes to OTT, Telegram and Medium. Only.

The good news is that @bharadwajspeaks is back on Twitter and that idiot @governorswaraj has protected his account.

That Swaraj guy was a lawyer representing the Mizo terrorist group and looks like he went native. Was rewarded by Congress (who else) with a Governorship. Vatican would've been happy - and be happier still if Mizoram secedes.

Married Sushma Swaraj.

We have another example: Nirmala Sitharaman's husband is a Stan Swamy lover.

This is the level of ideological messed-up'ness that we see among the BJP top-brass. A deep-cleanse is required & will take time.

chetak wrote:Image
I see the name "Kabir" in most of Indian films. Most of Bollywood people giving neutral names to their kids. Apart from "Taimur" bachoo, names are neutral. Not Hindu definitely and not Musilm either. Aryan ,Ayan , AbRam,Suhana , Yug , Nysa ,Aarin ,Hreann, Hredhaan, Klaan , Saierea , Shakya , Mahika , Mahira, Araia,Nitara, Araia, Adira, Riaan,Nevaan, Imara and more (did some research :P . Most of the names look like coming from desert tribes. It seems parents are parking their kids in the acceptable zone as future Bollywood fauna and fora. More Muslim and liberal type producers and directors are going to populate Bollywood. I personally , am pained by strange out of world names in film these days. I have not watched film Kabir Singh and never will :). Am happy like this.

rsingh wrote:
I see the name "Kabir" in most of Indian films. Most of Bollywood people giving neutral names to their kids. Apart from "Taimur" bachoo, names are neutral. Not Hindu definitely and not Musilm either. Aryan ,Ayan , AbRam,Suhana , Yug , Nysa ,Aarin ,Hreann, Hredhaan, Klaan , Saierea , Shakya , Mahika , Mahira, Araia,Nitara, Araia, Adira, Riaan,Nevaan, Imara and more (did some research :P . Most of the names look like coming from desert tribes. It seems parents are parking their kids in the acceptable zone as future Bollywood fauna and fora. More Muslim and liberal type producers and directors are going to populate Bollywood. I personally , am pained by strange out of world names in film these days.
rsingh ji

from twitter (via whatsapp)
Post independence we gave Education in the hands of Missionaries & History in the hands of Communists. We left the films, theatre & arts in the hands of Jihadi's & the country in the hands of Nehru-Gandhi dynasts.

They all together tried to wipe out the centuries old glorious heritage, culture & history of this great land in these past 70 years. Mughals became Indians & the Indian's became Kaafir's.

Akbar became tolerant & Maharana became a facist. Afghani infilrators became Kashmiri's & Kashyap Rishi's lineage, Pandits became refugees in their own land. Western looters became rich & the prosperous rich nation became poor.

British stooge Nehru became the PM & the nationalist freedom fighter Savarkar became a terrorist. Maoist became Intellectuals & the learned became Bhakts. Terrorist became activists & the army became killers.

Conversion became secular & Ghar Wapsi became communal. Yoga became scientific & Yogi's became unscientific. Propaganda became the truth & reality of Mughals became lies. Appeasement became right & being right became Facism. Sold out journalists became the the torch bearers of truth & the truthful became hate mongers.

Jai Shree Ram became conservative & Bharat Tere Tukde Honge Inshallah became liberal. For the sake of our motherland act now & learn to be unapologetic.
need one say more....

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1424 ... 61219.html

After @DisinfoLab publishes an article exposing ISI links behind sustained disinformation campaign about Kashmir issue, #witter removes their verification tag.
It'll be good to know the identity of the people who moderate twitter.

https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1425 ... 34690.html
Social history of a Lutyens' Liberal (a thread):
Your great grand uncle was a protégé of Motilal Nehru and even went to jail in 1923. Your grandfather, however, joined the ICS. They said he looked almost like a gora saheb when he donned his sola topee. (1/n)
There he is, in the third row in the annual Gymkhana Club tennis association photo, taken in 1942, standing with other Indians while the goras sit on chairs in the front row. Your mother said her father was "very fair-skinned", but he looks brown as a nut in the photo (2/n)
Your maternal grandmother came from an illustrious family. They were very close to Tagore and the poet had even named your grandmother. There were several ICS officers, famous doctors, one of the first Indian High Court judges, and other luminaries in your lineage. (3/n)
Your mother, the youngest child, was born in 1951. She grew up in London, since Nehru sent your grandfather there to work at the Indian High Commission. The old ties with Motilal helped him recognise your grandfather’s merit. "He's a good fellow," Nehru told Krishna Menon. (4/n)

Your grandfather returned to India in the early 60s & rose to become foreign secretary as a young Indira became PM. By the time he retired Mrs Gandhi was beginning her coup against the Congress 'syndicate'. The PMO was increasingly being run by PN Haksar & Romesh Thapar (5/n)
Meanwhile, your mother met your father in DU – he in St Stephen’s College & she in Miranda House. Together they had gone on protests against the Vietnam War, listened to the Beatles and fallen in love. They got engaged and left for England for 'higher' studies (6/n)
Your father studied economics at Oxford, often spending time with JR Hicks in the Nobel laureate’s rooms in All Souls. It had a great influence on your father’s attitude to the economy when he was to join the Finance Ministry & later the planning commission (7/n)
Your mother read literature at Cambridge, and attended drama lectures by Raymond Williams. It made her a quasi-Marxist, critical of USSR, but still firmly on the Left. She later joined Delhi University as a professor and wrote several books on Indo-Anglian writers. (8/n)

Your childhood was spent hearing about nation-building & uplift of the poor. You took piano lessons & played Fur Elise for guests on your grandmother’s old piano, beneath the Jamini Roy original. You went to a top private school in Delhi & your friends were just like you (10/n)
Your weekends were spent reading in the leafy gardens of your Lodhi Road bungalow. Famous writers, artists, scholars and activists, flitted in an out of your home. They were mostly your mother’s friends & they all knew each other as well. (11/n)
Weekend lunch was often at the Delhi Gym or at the IIC. After that, your mother sometimes took you to the Cottage Industries Emporium near Connaught Place. Her own mother was a friend of Kamladevi Chattopadhyaya, and she loved Indian handicraft (12/n)
Then the mid-80s happened. Your parents took you on a trip to London. Your hair looked different after that. You picked up some London slang & pretended that's the way you always spoke. You began calling all desserts ‘pudding’ – including the Rasmalai that the cook made. (13/n)
All your friends tuned into BBC radio’s UK Top40 at night, to learn which songs were ruling that week. You began to get pirated tapes from Palika Bazaar and spent nights playing and rewinding them to write down the lyrics of the latest chartbusters. (14/n)

When you finished school & joined Stephen's, several big things were happening around you. Rajiv Gandhi lost his massive mandate. Your mother backed VP Singh openly. Your father, being a senior bureaucrat, kept it to himself. The USSR collapsed & the Berlin Wall came down (15/n)
Your mother began questioning her faith in socialism. Your father too began saying that India needs market reforms. Your parents had acquired a new set of friends – economists at World Bank or IMF, officials at CII & FICCI and even a newly minted RBI governor (16/n)
Then came Mandal. College shut down for a while, as Hindi-speaking students from the hinterland took to the streets. There were heated discussions on Merit vs Affirmative Action in your drawing room. Your mother backed reservations, your father was ambivalent. (17/n)

You were pro-Mandal, but wanted some restrictions in skilled jobs: No reservation in medicine or building bridges. That’s what all your friends believed too. You had all just ‘discovered’ that you were Brahmins or Kayasthas and railed against caste injustice (18/n)
What made you even more opposed to the anti-Mandal agitators (“all upper-caste Biharis” you told your mom) was that they were also campaigning for a Ram Mandir at the Babri Masjid site. You cried, hugging your friend in the D-School café, the day the Masjid was demolished. (19/n)
Your mother didn’t eat that night. “This is not the India my parents and grandparents fought for,” forgetting entirely that they were ICS officers during the Raj. “You need to leave the country,” she told you. “Don’t over-react,” your dad said. “This is just a fringe.” (20/n)

You were going abroad in any case. You won the Inlaks Scholarship to do a PhD at Oxford. If you hadn’t got that, you’d have managed the Rhodes or Nehru-Cambridge or something. Everyone on the board knew how good you were. They had known you from the time you were a child. (21/n)
Like your mother, you had studied literature. Your PhD thesis was going to be a Derridean look at Magical Realism. Your mother frowned upon your post-modernist proclivities, but proudly told her friends and colleagues that you were a genius at literary theory. (22/n)
You moved to a multi-disciplinary post-Doc at Chicago under Homi Bhabha. When Bhabha moved to Harvard, many believed, he will bat for you to get tenure as well. Things didn’t turn out like that, and after a low-paying part-time gig at NYT, you returned to India (23/n)

You got a job as a senior-assistant editor on the op-ed page in a leading newspaper, almost immediately. All the senior editors knew you. “Don’t thank us, we should thank you for agreeing to join us,” one of them said. The 2004 elections were round the corner. (24/n)
You celebrated when the results came in. The way Delhi had changed, had made you too believe that India WAS Shining. Thankfully, it wasn’t, & the Congress came back to power. “India is secular at its core,” your mother said that evening. “Aberrations cannot survive.” (25/n)
The new UPA govt dragged your parents out of retirement. Your dad was made an advisor to the Planning Commission. Sonia Gandhi herself called your mother and told her to be part of a committee on education that was to help the National Advisory Council. (26/n)

Everyone you called ‘uncle’ or ‘aunt’ was getting involved. They wanted to 'help' Manmohan Singh’s govt & ensure that the ‘communal parties’ couldn't return to power. IIC & Gymkhana Club were once again abuzz with the sound of forks & knives & pretend kitchen-cabinets. (27/n)
You had graduated to India Habitat Centre. It was more chic, especially when friends from NYC were visiting. Some college friends were minting money on Wall Street. When they visited, they took you to Spice Route and Wasabi by Morimoto (28/n)

Your own salary was now ridiculously high. The credit-fuelled investment drive & the stock market boom had pushed up media company valuations as well. It translated into big pay packets for senior journalists, and you were now the OpEd editor (29/n)
You were eating at top restaurants, flying business class, staying at top hotels abroad, indulging in LV bags (“no logo on it, please”), & filling your South Delhi home with Good Earth cushions & crockery. “It's traditional Indian craft, Ma,” you’d say, “just finer.” (30/n)
When you needed to renew your passport, you called your dad’s junior colleague in the MEA. You called your friend Jyoti (Scindia) when your electricity meter caught fire, and the BSES chaps wouldn’t respond. If the minister can’t help you in need, who can? (31/n)

Of course, you hated nepotism and corruption. Taking help from friends when it’s an emergency (like passport renewal) is a different matter altogether. Needless to say, you backed the Anna movement & Arvind Kejriwal. The UPA had become corrupt, & needed to be reformed (32/n)
By 2013, it was clear that the UPA wasn’t going to return for another term. You began re-connecting with your old mates at NYT. One of them was now a senior editor. Is there any chance of a job? “No way,” he said. “The job-market is terrible here. Print is dying.” (33/n)

You gradually changed your mind about Narendra Modi. Your OpEds were now about how India’s strong institutions will make the Gujarat CM a more moderate PM. By now, you had accepted that his victory was inevitable. You started posting friendly tweets, to cosy up to him. (34/n)
You kept up your attempts at a reproachement in the first few months after the Modi govt had taken over. But, to no avail. The PM & the new team at the centre simply weren’t going to let Lutyens’ liberals like you back into the corridors of power. (35/n)
By 2016, you had learnt your lesson, and became more vocally critical of the Modi govt. The PM gave you many occasions to believe that he was finished – demonetisation, GST, unemployment. You wrote furiously against it all, convinced of the importance of your opinions (36/n)

But the newspaper’s proprietors had other ideas. First, your editor-in-chief lost his job. Then, a few months before the 2019 elections, it was your turn. “Modi is losing,” you told your best friend, over an Artichoke Panini. “They’ll beg me to return then, but I won’t” (37/n)
Then 2019 happened. “It’s the EVMs,” you all agreed that night. You had spent the day in TV studios and in fending off RW trolls on twitter. “India is finished,” you said, “I could’ve been a professor at Harvard. What a mistake to have returned.” (38/38)