2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

I am not sure why Modi isn't doing a national speech. Its much needed now. There needs to be only 1 message: "Get Vaccinated"!

Also, dispel a lot of doubts vis-a-vis vaccine, hospital, bed availability. Once Modi kicks it off, Harshvardhan can do a daily or weekly nationwide update on the evolving situation and steps taken.

A public portal on daily vaccine production, how much was purchased by centre, how much by states, # of daily vaccinations etc should be made available - like the Jal Jeevan Mission. Right now, many of us are clueless why our vaccination rate has dramatically come down: is it production constraint due to US raw material embargo, is it logistics, did the centre/states not purchase enough or vaccine hesitancy? We should be able to answer this basic question with data

I don't understand why Modi sarkar, which handled the 1st wave brilliantly (including communications), is so sluggish this time around

Just a regular roper on a normal day.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

moving on......

venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

Pratyush wrote:An observation that wish to share with members BRF. Since the beginning of the second wave and until the beginning of the last week my local residential Whats app group was filled with negative news and hate for NaMo.

I told people a few times to focus of the positives and told them to control anger. Or in anger & frustration they will create a circumstance that will increase the potential losses from this pandemic. I must admit that I was helped by an unfortunate event in Gurgaon ( thankfully, later proven to be fake) in making my point.

That calmed people down quick time. I haven't made any overt points favor of NaMo till now in the group. But the group has shifted focus from negative news to positive efforts in helping each other.

I hope that this template can be used to tame some of the anger, aggression & negativity.
I guess it's somewhat same all around Pratyush Saar. people are constantly in sky is falling mode. Even my group of engineering friends in whatsapp were venting about the usual stuff. where is the PM, not to be seen, he is putting his name on stadiums, vaccine certificates, but no where to be seen.

Had to explain a lot regarding vaccine coming online (most of it courtesy of BRF collections) and then also had to argue on how oxygen shortages also had to do with states also having dropped the ball.

Seems a lot of frustration going around, with one example being quoted of sonu sood from rndtv report saying his ngo had saved 20 people in a private hospital by arranging 15 cylinders. My friends were saying that if he in his capacity as a private individual is doing this, how much more can the central govt with their vast machinery could do. Had to explain that it was Central govt moving oxygen tanks in C17 and on special trains and importing oxygen generators and concentrators in the interim as more come online.

It then shifted to an all important quote of "questioning the govt" and criticism should be taken in right spirit, yet none felt that state govts have no fault in this.

It seesm the Dhruv Rathee modus operandi has gone fully online with MSM channels also following the same. It involves in sprinkling some truth, some half truths with varying degrees of lies to spread venom on the govt. The affected people with connect with the little truth and take the rest of the info at face value.
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

chetak wrote:Just a regular roper on a normal day.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

moving on......

why can't this tweet be reported and account suspended for wishing harm on people, I mean many accounts were suspended for far less.

In our continuing saga:

Delhi Court to hear on Central Vista project even after SC ruled otherwise:
https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... t-7309127/

Centre files response on challenge to vaccine policy, at least it is robust

https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... e-7308747/
arvin

Post by arvin »

arshyam wrote:Btw, is there an article/Twitter thread listing which politicians took which vaccine, if they did? For example, I don't recall seeing any report of RaGa or Mamata taking the vaccine. Wonder how many of these "leaders" secretly flew abroad to get vaccinated with the "safer" Pfizer or Moderna vaccines?
Good idea to make MPs and MLAs to share their vaccination status. #VaccinationProof for Saboot Gang.
Last year China's Covid-19 virus took out two top Congress leaders, Ahmed Patel in November and Motilal Vohra in December. Both of them were handling treasury. Puppet masters would have deemed it risky to loose Italian Signora and her Mammoni since both are in high risk age group.
No doubt they would have remedied the situation.

Prem Kumar wrote:I don't understand why Modi sarkar, which handled the 1st wave brilliantly (including communications), is so sluggish this time around
It is from NDTV, so take it with a train load of salt. But even if I am an RSS worker, my thoughts would have been the same. Worry Within BJP, RSS Over Covid Mismanagement, Electoral Impact: Sources. From what ever information available in public domain, the modus operandi of NaMo & A. Shah seems to be confusing every one, and it is also creating angst in the Sangh Parivar organizations. I am a very cynical person, and at times get a feeling that 'some people are getting too bigger for their boots'.

I can see one reason for the lack of communication - there is only one fix for this - vaccination - and we dont have stocks. Unless we can get the stocks - there is no point in rallying people. We cannot do a second lockdown and the oxygen issue came too fast which is being solved.

without vaccine schedule - we are stuck and stand exposed as a country to covid.

The real failure is in no communication about inevitability of the second wave and preparedness for it. Maybe they didn’t expect the scale - but if they had communicated something - then we can argue about the scale. But the full machinery revved as though covid problem was solved.
isubodh

Post by isubodh »

Prem Kumar wrote:I don't understand why Modi sarkar, which handled the 1st wave brilliantly (including communications), is so sluggish this time around
That also means we rely upon star performers from crisis to crisis and rarely take on ourselves to do a teamwork to fend of such crisis which are repeating

Vaccination is the only way to get this thing resolved by 2021 end. Modi had already addressed the nation twice in the last 3 weeks. All his efforts now, including foreign diplomacy, are to ensure vaccine supply both from within India and outside.

For people endlessly haranguing Modi sarkar, send me your photo. I will have it framed in a plaque that reads 'Criticism champion of the year' and send it to you for your living room. Because frankly, you and Bharat will win nothing else with this futile pursuit.

KL Dubey wrote:Vaccination is the only way to get this thing resolved by 2021 end. Modi had already addressed the nation twice in the last 3 weeks. All his efforts now, including foreign diplomacy, are to ensure vaccine supply both from within India and outside.

For people endlessly haranguing Modi sarkar, send me your photo. I will have it framed in a plaque that reads 'Criticism champion of the year' and send it to you for your living room. Because frankly, you and Bharat will win nothing else with this futile pursuit.
And, he probably saw what the daily briefings and regular press conferences did to Trump and his administration. Look at how often Biden (is allowed to) talks to the press. Even when it happens, it is completely controlled.

KL Dubey wrote:Vaccination is the only way to get this thing resolved by 2021 end. Modi had already addressed the nation twice in the last 3 weeks. All his efforts now, including foreign diplomacy, are to ensure vaccine supply both from within India and outside.

Things will become OK on the vaccine front in a couple of months, with no shortages
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

BJP hits out at Arvind Kejriwal government over Covid-19 crisis
NEW DELHI: The BJP on Monday slammed Delhi's Arvind Kejriwal government over the Covid-19 crisis, claiming the chief minister has been busy spending crores on publicity and "misleading" people while washing his hands of responsibility and leaving everything to the Centre.
Addressing a virtual press conference, BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra cited an RTI reply to say that the Kejriwal government has spent around Rs 805 crore on advertisements since 2015 but not opened a single new hospital in the city.
He has been making daily appearances on the TV, "misleading" people and "lying", Patra said, attacking the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader.
"You keep advertising, claiming there will not be any lockdown, no shortage of oxygen and that people will be delivered oxygen at home. When you saw that you cannot control the situation, then you pointed fingers at the Centre and washed your hands of your responsibility," he said.
Patra noted that Kejriwal had claimed on April 26 that his government will order 1.34 crore vaccines, which is worth nearly Rs 1,400 crore.
"Today, he's saying he has nothing. Only 8.93 per cent people over 45 years have got their second dose in Delhi. Only 48.03 per cent people over 60 years have received their first dose. Only 17 per cent people over 60 years have received second dose," he said.
Instead of pushing the vaccination programme in time, the Delhi government was busy advertising and is now doing politics over the availability of oxygen, Patra alleged.
Citing an interview of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) Commissioner Iqbal Singh Chahal in which he rejected suggestions that the Centre is to blame for oxygen crisis and said states are primarily responsible for making arrangement for the life-saving gas, the BJP spokesperson said Kejriwal made little efforts to augment its availability in the national capital.
Despite funding from the PM Cares Fund for setting up oxygen plants, the Delhi government failed to start any because it could not provide any site, he alleged.
Patra also hit out at the AAP over an alleged rape at Tikri border, where farmers' protest has been continuing, alleging that the name of one of its workers has cropped up, and he has been missing.

There are so many folks literally abusing Indian Govt/PM. Most of them were usual ba$tards but several new ones propped up by US.

Unfortunately Indian and world media is running crazy ...

Why don't they have a Control room with some efficient minister and IAS officers attending to different states and a media interaction to clarify.

There some chinese scum from Harvard saying all the aid is stopped in Delhi and no one is getting it. A friend of mine posts it continuously. Today asiatimes ran another pandemic article abusing Modi. Crazywal is doing his drama.

Why are these people not putting a coherent response. Modi himself doesn't need to do that. Meenakshi Lekhi or Smriti Irani can do.These people were great during 2014.

I am sure they are working on requests of all the states but need a co-ordination hand along with good PR.

shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Bollywood stars slammed for Maldives pictures in COVID-19
“For all of you vacationing in Maldives and Goa and exotic locales, remember it’s a holiday for you. It’s a [expletive] pandemic all over. So don’t be an insensitive idiot and post pictures of your privileged life. You are not only coming across as brainless, but also completely blind and tone dead,” posted Iyer on her Instagram Story.
Bhaiwood be damned. High on hyooman rights and patriarchy type of agendas whereas zero on basic humanity w.r.t pandemic.

shravanp wrote:Bollywood stars slammed for Maldives pictures in COVID-19
“For all of you vacationing in Maldives and Goa and exotic locales, remember it’s a holiday for you. It’s a [expletive] pandemic all over. So don’t be an insensitive idiot and post pictures of your privileged life. You are not only coming across as brainless, but also completely blind and tone dead,” posted Iyer on her Instagram Story.
Bhaiwood be damned. High on hyooman rights and patriarchy type of agendas whereas zero on basic humanity w.r.t pandemic.
the exact same discussion is going on in paki media circles also.

bollywood has begun to putrefy, socially and as media narrative trend setter.

the scum have been exposed

The BMC commissioner has begun to speak out and what he has to say is not pretty

quite contrary to the narrative being pushed by maha vasooli aghadi

I think this pandemic and abdication of responsibility by many states and simply blaming center calls for a Nation Health Service kind of setup.

1. NHS will manage hospital infra. Start with 2/3 major hospitals run by NHS in every district.

2. One medical college per hospital

3. Insurance coverage under LIC

4. Provide NHS to negotiate with doctors to use the infra for surgeries for nominal fees.

5. Completely independent infra like oxygen and necessary drugs and ability to negotiate with pharma.

6. Independent audits by forum of external doctors/state/center officers including judiciary?

With Hemanta Biswa Sarma now named as the CM of Assam, it is time to make use of Sarbananda Sonowal at center. The cabinet is woefully long in the tooth and Modi needs some pinch hitters with < 34 months to go in his 2nd term. Get rid of the duds and make use of the bench strength.

This pandemic was/is a good opportunity to educate whole India about how the interactions between various govts work from panchayat to center to courts to UPSC graduates.....

Not sure if BJP would successfully utilize it.

BIF knows how to fully exploit lack of education to their advantage. For some reason, BJP has decided to play along instead of keeping public in the loop and educating at the same time.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Ambar wrote:With Hemanta Biswa Sarma now named as the CM of Assam, it is time to make use of Sarbananda Sonowal at center. The cabinet is woefully long in the tooth and Modi needs some pinch hitters with < 34 months to go in his 2nd term. Get rid of the duds and make use of the bench strength.
Javdekar and N.Sitaraman need to go. I read through the SEBI's recommendation of NGO type of social stock exchange. Looks like N.Sitaraman had suggest those ideas.

darshan wrote:This pandemic was/is a good opportunity to educate whole India about how the interactions between various govts work from panchayat to center to courts to UPSC graduates
I don't know how much effective that would be. One thing, a majority of Indians still have a very twisted sense of socialism ingrained in their minds. That is, some one else should take care of their needs. So how much ever we try to understand state v/s centre relationships etc, with such mentality people would still be in a blame some one else mode. And the party with a best propaganda machinery will win (and today it is the "seculars" who have a clear lead here).
We had this subject 'history & civics' in school. The history books was all about Mughal kings, their wives and their mausoleums, followed by names of British Kings and British viceroys. Civics was even more trouble some, as at that age nobody was really bothered about the same. And the syllabus too was way too high for a school student. Parliament elections, President's appointment etc. was covered in detail. But nothing on topics closer to home like how local Municipal council was elected, how the local judiciary worked (magistrates - executive & judicial), how the local police appointments are done and even on simple stuff like what is an FIR and how it gets registered etc. It was like the classic Panchathantra story of a Brahmin on a boat boasting about his mastery of the 4 vedas, but then unable to swim when the need arose.
For some reason, BJP has decided to play along instead of keeping public in the loop and educating at the same time.
BJP is a political party, so they will not upset the apple cart :lol:. There are lots of brokers, agents who actually making a living out of these people's ignorance. And often these folks are the 'front desk' for taking bribes (they are the gophers who collect money and later pass it on to the others higher in the value chain). A simple case, I always remember. I had to get my marriage certificate from the local municipal corporation. I meet the Registar concerned, with all documents which I was aware off. He then tells that there has to be an application letter (in legal Malayalam) which needs to be made. This is NOT a form with a kind of check list for documents. And then he advices that I can take the services of some old men & women who sit near the parking lot. I meet one of these people who have got all the materials ready (pen & paper, clips etc.). They write out the application letter, and collected Rs. 50/- as service charge. And my application & documents was accepted in no time by the registrar. In 7-10 days, I got the certificate as well. Similar case happens at RTOs, Land Registration Offices, and Revenue offices. Police station & local courts; that is another epic by itself.

vijayk wrote:I think this pandemic and abdication of responsibility by many states and simply blaming center calls for a Nation Health Service kind of setup.

1. NHS will manage hospital infra. Start with 2/3 major hospitals run by NHS in every district.

2. One medical college per hospital

3. Insurance coverage under LIC

4. Provide NHS to negotiate with doctors to use the infra for surgeries for nominal fees.

5. Completely independent infra like oxygen and necessary drugs and ability to negotiate with pharma.

6. Independent audits by forum of external doctors/state/center officers including judiciary?
Sirji
I suggested this on my class Whats app group:
I was shouted down for being
1. Gora booting licking confused Desi :roll:
2. India is a huge country and NHS wont work
3. Private players are providing sterling work yada yada :eek: :eek:
And the biggest chorus was from guys owing Nursing homes/private hospitals

did anyone know of this

this explains a lot of things..............

IIRC, Sandeep Deo of ISD has commented about it before.

Sachinji and to the rest on the forum, a question:
Did our founding fathers make serious mistake on the State/Union/Concurrent list especially health
Now if we are to discuss pro and cons of NHS/Central/Medicare type central health system how easy it is to establish
Can the state governments tie any laws in knot by challenging in SC
Even though we have had Plague/Cholera/Malaria killing thousands even before the independence, simply because where the health is listed, the implementation of National health programmes have been not very successful barring Small-pox and Polio.
Those who have done medicine and remember the preventive medicine know what I alluding to ( look the various avatars of Malaria programme from control to eradication to control and the same with TB)
Any pandemic needing implementation on a war footing will be found wanting if the Central and State dont co-operate!

shravanp wrote:
Ambar wrote:With Hemanta Biswa Sarma now named as the CM of Assam, it is time to make use of Sarbananda Sonowal at center. The cabinet is woefully long in the tooth and Modi needs some pinch hitters with < 34 months to go in his 2nd term. Get rid of the duds and make use of the bench strength.
Javdekar and N.Sitaraman need to go. I read through the SEBI's recommendation of NGO type of social stock exchange. Looks like N.Sitaraman had suggest those ideas.
N Sitharaman, Javedkar, Ravishankar Prasad, Tomar, Sadanand Gowda and Harshavardhan to begin with. This should have been done 12-18 months into the 2nd term.

chetak wrote:did anyone know of this

Chetakji
Explains a lot about him doesnt it!!
Was there not some news about him setting up a company with Bezos/Amazon and getting preferential treatment on Amazon
Similarities with Bill :?: :?:
Bother possess corporate predatory behaviour despite billions in personal wealth
And both have saintly wives :) (or so we are led to believe by the media and I believe Sudha M is quite good)
Only Sudha being Adharsh Bharathiya Naari wont dump NM :lol:
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Rsatchi wrote:
vijayk wrote:I
1. Gora booting licking confused Desi :roll:
2. India is a huge country and NHS wont work
3. Private players are providing sterling work yada yada :eek: :eek:
And the biggest chorus was from guys owing Nursing homes/private hospitals
Thats expected saar. Can't paint them as villains. There will be business or commercial interests, however since this disaster management borders seriousness as same as military guarding the country's borders, it must be governed by Center. All business interests will eventually have to bend around or adapt to new paradigm (if it indeed happens that way).

shravanp wrote:
Rsatchi wrote:
Thats expected saar. Can't paint them as villains. There will be business or commercial interests, however since this disaster management borders seriousness as same as military guarding the country's borders, it must be governed by Center. All business interests will eventually have to bend around or adapt to new paradigm (if it indeed happens that way).
The whole hospital industry which has been roped in to provide care under Ayushman Bharat has been a huge failure and money grabbers this time. You can't trust them

Rsatchi wrote:
chetak wrote:did anyone know of this

Chetakji
Explains a lot about him doesnt it!!
Was there not some news about him setting up a company with Bezos/Amazon and getting preferential treatment on Amazon
Similarities with Bill :?: :?:
Bother possess corporate predatory behaviour despite billions in personal wealth
And both have saintly wives :) (or so we are led to believe by the media and I believe Sudha M is quite good)
Only Sudha being Adharsh Bharathiya Naari wont dump NM :lol:
they are playing both sides.

This is the guy who lobbied mightily because he wanted to become president of India, failing which, he wanted to be made India's ambassador to the US.

I would so love to read the intelligence reports on this bombast.

a lot of infosys guys had ambitions of entering parliament via the AAP route after making "charitable donations" to khujliwal.

wonder how much each of them lost in the attempt as did a couple of failed airline owners from bangalore

khujliwal, who so handsomely disposed off slimy salim @_YogendraYadav, and bhushan and admiral ramdas, would have made mincemeat of the infosys lot after looting them

https://bbmpgov.com/chbms/
The beds are now available in BBMP. Don't know about the actual status when someone books it but last week, this tool was showing availability as zero. This is what was achieved by the young MP of Bangalore.
Next week onwards, only doctors can put you on the queue for the govt beds based on your requirement .

kvraghav wrote:https://bbmpgov.com/chbms/
The beds are now available in BBMP. Don't know about the actual status when someone books it but last week, this tool was showing availability as zero. This is what was achieved by the young MP of Bangalore.
Next week onwards, only doctors can put you on the queue for the govt beds based on your requirement .
the congis and their roper pals are desperately whitewashing the evidence to bury all documentation of their scam.

they are vultures who feasted on miseries of the dying

Outlets are rNDTV will be salivating at chance to communalise & defame BJP whenever an opportunity presents itself. Just look at the tone of the headline of this article...went through the entire article and I could not find one sentence praising his actions.

BJP's Tejasvi Surya Avoids Key Questions On Communal Slur In "Bed Scam"

kvraghav wrote:https://bbmpgov.com/chbms/
I think last week itself (actually around evening or by night of the raid), BBMP website was "updated" with around 3,000 beds available.

Is there any unedited/not cropped clip of Tejasvi Surya's press conf. I am seeing lots of clips re-tweets with #TejasviSuryaExposed, of a clip which seem cropped or edited to frame a narrative where he is evading questions about reading out muslim names. Perhaps it is the original video, but I would like to see unedited one if available.

I saw it live. He did not evade questions but the reporters were very aggressive. One reporter was even shouting what right you have to visit the center. All said and done, the silent majority is going with him. The jobless peacefuls keep on bashing. His videos are getting more than a lakh views nowadays but before it was around 20 to 30k views. One another MP working well here is pratap Simha who is heading Mysore task force. He is handling it very well. The Zilla minister who is a congress convert has simply left it to him completely. We should also take a moment to applaud efforts of Jagadish Shettar here. It's because of him that we hear less noise about oxygen in KA. He is visiting every small defunct steel mills and reopening their small oxygen plants and arranging for higher capacity compressors.