2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

shravanp wrote:Chetak saar.

(wearing a CT hat)
The entire episode to me does not seem to add up. Or rather make sense. I don't find a strong reason for Taliban to kill Siddiqui guy in such a brutal manner, when Taliban is a proxy of Pakis who in turn are the main beneficiaries of Siddiqui types of reporters in India. I totally get that Taliban are monsters and worst possible scum on the planet. However the "be-rehmi" qatl of him seems like he was punished for something that he truly deserved (and we all know what for).

Makes sense because Taliban's and their predecessors the Mujahideen were legendary for not leaving any room for doubt. Indian would automatically lead to RAW suspicions, religion notwithstanding. This is also part of signaling to India and other countries that they do not want in their landscape. Danish just happened to be a person with the wrong associations - Indian citizenship, Reuters and so on and so forth. Torture comes with the territory. If he was a white guy, it might be less but anyone else will face the music. I want to see what they do with the Chinese shemales who will land up for construction work. Probably nothing.

One more point to make is that the smashan ghat is one of the most powerful places in the world. When your intention is to mock at the practices of the heathen and make money off it, there will be consequences.
Last edited by Jarita on 02 Aug 2021 18:51, edited 1 time in total.

what about the hundreds of doctors who have been killed, attacked, assaulted, abused, and vilified by politicians/"relatives" of patients.

No such law to protect them or don't the doctor's count

We Want To Address The Larger Issue Of Safety And Security Of Judicial Officers, Says CJI NV Ramana Taking Congnizance Of Dhanbad Judge Assassination Case

don't think that this is true, so will they remain "minority" even at 80% of the population and grab all benefits to the detriment of others

Centre Has No Power To Redetermine 'Minority' Status": Kerala High Court Dismisses Plea Seeking Re-determination Of Minority Status Of Muslims & Christians In State

chetak wrote:Centre Has No Power To Redetermine 'Minority' Status": Kerala High Court Dismisses Plea Seeking Re-determination Of Minority Status Of Muslims & Christians In State
Then who has that rights? Hizzoners? :roll:.

Sachin wrote:
chetak wrote:Centre Has No Power To Redetermine 'Minority' Status": Kerala High Court Dismisses Plea Seeking Re-determination Of Minority Status Of Muslims & Christians In State
Then who has that rights? Hizzoners? :roll:.
In effect what the Kerala High Court has said is the minority classification is part of the 'Basic Structure Doctrine' that Supreme Court spelt out in the Keshavananda Bharati case.

nandakumar wrote:In effect what the Kerala High Court has said is the minority classification is part of the 'Basic Structure Doctrine' that Supreme Court spelt out in the Keshavananda Bharati case.
This case seems to be a very interesting one (and for perhaps all for wrong reasons). Every thing including Indian Constituition is man made. Then how can there be a rule, that what ever is written there cannot be changed at all? How can X'ians and Muslims remain as minorities even when their population percentage is not very small? This verdict seems to be that religion based reservations & special privileges will be given to X'ians and Muslims even if they are 99% of the population in India. And we are still supposed to be a 'secular republic' :roll: .

This sounds like whatever was decreed in the 7th century should stay etched in stone forever.

Sachin wrote:
nandakumar wrote:In effect what the Kerala High Court has said is the minority classification is part of the 'Basic Structure Doctrine' that Supreme Court spelt out in the Keshavananda Bharati case.
This case seems to be a very interesting one (and for perhaps all for wrong reasons). Every thing including Indian Constituition is man made. Then how can there be a rule, that what ever is written there cannot be changed at all? How can X'ians and Muslims remain as minorities even when their population percentage is not very small? This verdict seems to be that religion based reservations & special privileges will be given to X'ians and Muslims even if they are 99% of the population in India. And we are still supposed to be a 'secular republic' :roll: .
I suppose even the Supreme court can pass judgement only on something that that has been enacted by parliament " Basic Structure" , but parliament enacts legislations that would change with time. So if parliament can enact a bylaw, I don't think the Supreme Court can go against it., as it would be purely extrajudicial and outside their prerogative.

from twitter

And just like that, we have all forgotten.

Kerala relaxed restrictions for secular festival and a surge of covid happened.

It has vanished from media.

Even in the little bit of debate around Kerala model, the mention of the secular festival has been omitted.

Secularism.

As part of the same narrative, the commie state meanders on... trampling on the rights of those who have been relegated to the wilderness of the people who don't matter

As post Eid Covid cases surge, Kerala Health Minister asks people to avoid crowds and if possible, even events, celebrations during Onam festival.

Even the pretence of appearing even handed has been done away with!

chetak wrote:from twitter

As post Eid Covid cases surge, Kerala Health Minister asks people to avoid crowds and if possible, even events, celebrations during Onam festival.

Even the pretence of appearing even handed has been done away with!
i think it should happen. Curtail onam celebrations and go on with Eid and all. Let the Hindus who support commies and those sitting on the fence get a taste of what is to come

They do it because they can get away with it, even if people are beheaded for eating during Ramzan time in Kerala it will be justified and people will Vote. The INC alternative is just as Jihadi as the Commies, both are 2 sides of the same coin.

Try getting lemon just juice, something to drink or eat in Malappuram district of Kerala during Ramzan time.

https://twitter.com/excomradekerala/sta ... 1148883969
khatvaanga

Post by khatvaanga »

kit wrote: i think it should happen. Curtail onam celebrations and go on with Eid and all. Let the Hindus who support commies and those sitting on the fence get a taste of what is to come

someone on twitter mentioned that removing restrictions for Eid was probably a calculated plan so that they can shut down Onam. Looking at things, I don't think it is too far fetched idea now..

Amnesty International and other ‘liberal democratic global forces’ will fix Modi through WaPo, Le Monde, Guardian: Catholic priest Jegath Gaspar Raj

2 August, 2021
OpIndia Staff

Chennai-based catholic priest and the convenor of Tamil Maiyam, Jegath Gaspar Raj, recently appeared to affirm in an interview what has long been suspected: foreign organisations connive with the western media establishments to undermine the Modi government.

In a recent interview with Liberty Tamil, the catholic priest admitted that foreign organisations conspire with Western media outlets to oust PM Modi from power. He said Amnesty International and other “liberal democratic global forces” will defeat PM Modi with the help of foreign-based media outlets such as The Washington Post, Le Monde, Guardian and other organisations. A transcript of the interview published on YouTube on the 25th of July is available here.

“…Be it Washington Post, Le Monde or Guardian and other Western papers, the forces uniting against Modi are Renaissance forces, the Liberal democratic progressive forces. But, liberal democratic global forces will defeat him! They will fix him, you wait and see,” Gaspar Raj said when asked about the central government’s actions against social media platforms.

Rahul Gandhi has become mature but pro-RSS leaders surrounding him confuse his decision-making: JGR

The catholic priest also seemed to fawn over former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, stating that the Wayanad MP has become mature as he had called to purge the Congress party of people who supported the RSS. Gaspar Raj said he sees Rahul Gandhi as a “liberal democrat” who would usher the country in the era of liberal democracy.

However, he lashed out against Rahul Gandhi’s retinue, adding that they confuse him instead of providing him with proper counsel. Gaspar Raj said he has witnessed many incidents when RSS agents within the Congress party have confused Rahul Gandhi. He also added that the circle of leaders around Rahul Gandhi advise him to be extra-cautious and prevent him from meeting people.

When asked about past Congress party members who supported the RSS, Gaspar Raj said former President Pranab Mukherjee was one among the veteran Congress leaders who sympathised with the RSS. The catholic priest also claimed that RSS promoted the ‘Sanatani’ thought process, which is quite dominant within the Congress party.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwzVkLS5VEI&t=4s

Mahatma Gandhi was an RSS supporter, Arvind Kejriwal propped up by the RSS: Gaspar Raj

He even went on to claim that Mahatma Gandhi was also an ardent supporter of ‘Sanatan’ Dharma and by extension, an RSS supporter. “Many of his activities, be it the Poona Pact, be it making religion a Centre list subject, in many many issues, he was a ‘Sanatani’,” he said.

Gaspar Raj even referred to Gandhi Ji as a cunning person, stating that his calculation was correct in ascertaining that BJP-like or pro-Hindutva government would not have been possible if Pakistan and Bangladesh had stayed with India. By this assertion, the catholic priest was insinuating that Mahatma Gandhi agreed to the partition of India and the creation of Pakistan.

“Gandhi was soft-RSS; he knew that with Pakistan and Bangladesh (and their Muslim majority population) a future soft-RSS government in India will not be likely,” Gaspar Raj said.

Gaspar Raj further alleged that it was RSS who brought Arvind Kejriwal to public life. The catholic priest surmised that Kejriwal was propped up by the RSS to defeat the Congress party. According to him, RSS thought Congress has outlived its usefulness after setting up a united Indian state and the time was ripe to undermine the party by introducing Arvind Kejriwal.
English translation for the video in URL : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwzVkLS ... bertyTamil

Anchor (A)
Jagath Gaspar Raj (JGR)

comments within square brackets are editorial.

A: Welcome Liberty Tamil viewers. In today's interview,
we have with us the Convenor of Tamil Maiyyam and Political Analyist Jagath Gaspar Raj.

A: Hello.
JGA: Hello, Hello.
A: Rahul Gandhi has given an important statement, I see it as something that should become a topic of discussion at the national level. He has said that RSS agents in Congress should be weeded out/removed. What is your view on this statement by Rahul Gandhi? Such an allegation has been previously made by many, including you - that Congress and BJP are one and the same when it comes to many issues (such as the Ram Temple issue, Reservation, etc.); that Congress is soft Hindutva while BJP is hard Hindutva. Has Rahul Gandhi realized this just now?

JGA: Just as you said, within Congress, there has always been a very powerful 'RSS-force' or RSS-thought process. People with a 'Sanatana' thought process [Sanatana is dog whistle for Hindu] are dominant within Congress. Even Mahatma Gandhi, whom you all adore, was a 'Sanatani'. Many of his activities, be it the Poona Pact, be it making religion a Centre list subject, in many many issues, he was a 'Sanatani'. Let me tell you something more: today Pakistan says India was partitioned. Gandhi was a cunning person - he was a Gujarati Baniya, not a Brahmin. His calculation was correct. He knew that if Pakistan and Bangladesh were to be with India there was no way a future BJP-like government (pro-Hindu government) would be possible. In fact, Gandhi was in favour of (a separate) Pakistan and hence the partition. Gandhi was soft-RSS; he knew that with Pakistan and Bangladesh (and their Muslim majority population) a future soft-RSS government in India will not be likely.

At that time, the foreign-educated Congress leaders, leaders who were barristers/lawyers, were of the view that the post-partition government of India should be a liberal, progressive, modern democratic government. Nevertheless, sections of the Congress inner circle has always had a soft-RSS standpoint. You could see this in play during the opening up of the Babri Masjid, their bunglings regarding the Mandal Commission report, etc. Take NEET now, was it brought by the BJP? No, NEET was introduced by Congress.

A: Even today, the only opposing voices against such issues is from Tamil Nadu; Congress and leaders like Mamata don't oppose the BJP's policies in NEET or the New Education Policy, as vehemently as Tamil Nadu.

JGR: Now Rahul Gandhi is better able to understand the machinations of BJP. We are all human beings, there is always genuine doubt in one's mind regarding issues unless you are a hard-headed RSS person, hard-headed ISIS idealogue, etc. Every day you think, even if you are a hardcore Periarist, you think, oh, they should not have done this. I am a Christian, even I sometimes think that the Church should not have taken some stand on an issue, that it is not right. I say that, even though I am of the Church. I am able to honestly scrutinize it. This is intellectual honesty. So Rahul Gandhi will also think. He is 47 years of age. He is a seasoned man, a mature person. He will have an understanding of how dangerous an organisation is RSS. I say this usually, it (the RSS) puts up an elaborate front, but it is actually an organization that is against humanity itself, not just against the nation. It has expansionist ambitions...it is in league with Sinhalese majoritarianism, it has absorbed in the Buddhism of Myanmar and Thailand. It wants to dabble in geopolitics in this way. It even tries to coerce Facebook to remove everything related to the Tamil Eelam issue. Linguistic memories, ethno-nationalism...it tries to inject these into the future Empires. By future Empires, I do not mean BJP or Congress, DMK or ADMK. The future empires are going to be Google, etc. The RSS is scheming now to a part of this Empire.

A: The current BJP government is attacking these empires now (Google, Twitter, Facebook, etc.)

JGR: Those attacking are not those Empires (Google etc.) The attacking party is what we call Renaissance. Today, the Church is irrelevant in the European landmass, honestly speaking. People attend them for namesake, merely as a cultural memory. Like festivals in our place.

Christianity has transformed itself into a progressive, modern vision for humanity. Who is behind this Renaissance? They are the ones who rebelled against the erstwhile Church hegemony. They are the same forces responsible for modern European democracy. If you ask me, whether American or European democracy is more promising for humanity, I certainly think it is European democracy. Because the forces behind European democracy are the ones that made human rights a fundamental right. They established the principle that sovereignity belongs to the individual and the people and not to the government or state. This was said before long back by our Tamil ancestors as well. Today is the era of state tyranny. The European landmass has contributed to this political thought process. What you have in Europe is the fruits of a Renaissance caused by a forward-thinking/progressive Christian thought. So, the attack on BJP/RSS is from this line of thought (the liberal, progressive Christianity of Europe). Take Amnesty International - Facebook did not pin down NSO, the Israeli firm involved in the Pegasus scandal. It was Amnesty that exposed this whole episode of illegal spying. Amnnesty International is an arm of Liberal Democracy. So you should not see it that way (as Google/Facebook attacking BJP/RSS).

Today, actually, in Covid issue, be it Washington Post, Le Monde or Guardian and other Western papers, the forces uniting against Modi today are Renaissance forces, the Liberal democratic progressive forces. It is difficult for people from here (India) to defeat Modi. But, liberal democratic global forces will defeat him! They will fix him, you wait and see. They (BJP and RSS) will call it a conspiracy by foreign forces against India. (To BJP and RSS): say the conspiracy is against you, not against India. It is a conspiracy against the havoc you made. How is it justified? (referring to Pegasus spying). Can I spy on your private life? Just because a person critcises the government, can I go into their bedroom? Can I take your photograph and tarnish you? The discussion has digressed. But, basically it is liberal democratic forces (who are against BJP/RSS and Modi).

A: You see Rahul Gandhi in that mould? (as an usherer in of liberal democracy)

JGR: Yes, I see him as a liberal democrat.

A: Nehru himself criticized RSS. During his time there were people like Sardar Vallabhai Patel, Lala Lajpat Rai. There were people who were in Hindu Mahasabha and RSS while being Congress members. The Congress permitted these double memberships. Even Narasimha Rao is seen by some as an RSS-sympathizer.

JGR: Pranab Mukherjee too.

A: Yes, Pranab Mukherjee as well. There are many such names, what I know are only a few. In that light, do you see a schism within the Congress as a Nehru-family Congress and a soft-RSS Congress? No one apart from the Gandhi family has spoken about eradicating the RSS strain within Congress.

JGR: Well, the 'Establishment' the power centre is always 'Sanatani' and upper caste. In fact, it is the RSS that feels that Modi and Amit Shah are not needed anymore. The RSS feels they (Modi and Shah) are past their expiry date. If they continue to be in power, there will be a bad name for India on the world stage. There are many ongoing conflicts: with China, with Pakistan. Taliban has also shown up now. Even Bangladesh, they have gone far ahead of us in terms of HDI. Therefore, these two people have become liabilities. The 'Santanic' forces needed the Congress (and the Nehru family) till the time they united the 640 princely states, and assuaged the multi-polar caste conflicts to some extent and set up the Indian state.

A: Was Nehru in favour of this?

JGR: Yes definitely. See, today, when it comes to national unity, the RSS and Congress are on the same page. How is this possible? 'Sanatanam' needs the Indian state. The Tamils don't need it (the Indian state). The Telugus don't need it. The Kannadigas don't need it.

A: Bengalis don't need it too.

JGR: Yes, they don't need it. But 'Sanatanam' needs a united India. Many, like the, Menons, Warrier, Namboodris, who are in close relation with RSS may need a united India too. Whereas, the Ezhavas, Pulayars and Paraiyars don't need it.

If Periyar were to be alive today, do you think he would have been able to freely say what he once said then [secessionist ideas]? You are a Periyarist, you tell me. It is difficult. In Periyar's time, the Indian state was in a chaotic, lava-like state. Because of that Periyar could speak freely [secessionist talk]. However, today the (Indian) state is strong, like a fortress. The State is under the control of 'Sanatanam'.

A: Beyond 'Sanatanam', the need for a strong Central government is not just favoured by BJP or RSS. Even the Congress favours it.

JGR: Congress is 'Sanatanic' too.

A: It was, indeed. But do you think Rahul Gandhi is now stepping out of that mindset? In terms of removing subjects from the Centre list to the State [more federalism], etc. As a followup to his resolve of eradicating RSS (elements in Congress).

JGR: There is an existential crisis in the Congress, if Congress as a party will survive. He has an understanding that the Congress needs to make policy-based firm stands on certain issues, to ensure its survival. All these could be reasons for what he said.

As for RSS, why did RSS bring in Kejriwal (to public life)? It is the RSS that brought in Kejriwal. It is to weaken...I am telling you, according to the 'Sanatana' RSS, Congress has outlived its usefulness after setting up a united Indian state. Now, after 50 years (of independence), the RSS has achieved two things. First, it has 'Sanatanised' [Saffronized or brought into the Hindu-fold] communities that used to be firmly behind the Congress. Take the last West Bengal elections, a big share of BJP's votes came from Dalit, Tribal, and Adivasi communities. This has happened in a number of states. It is just co-option. If someone from a community is made a minister, the entire community is happy. Take L. Murugan. Since he has been made a minister there is this feeling that the entire Arundathiyar community's life has been transformed. This is a tactic of the BJP/RSS. Apart from this, the RSS/BJP tries to pervade the subculture of communities with the goal of inducting them into the larger 'Sanatan' or 'Vedic' fold. They want to bring communities within the Vedic agenda and this social engineering is complete. Secondly, by using Congress, they have strengthened the Indian state as well.

Now they ('Sanatan' forces) feel Congress is useless, so let us just takeover the state. We can take over the state and control it for long.

A: Do you think Rahul Gandhi's statement will strengthen Congress? We think BJP talks about Goshalas and Cow protection in Tamil Nadu. But, in states like Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, it is the Congress that is championing such issues. These are their electoral promises. Given this, how will Congress-men take up this progressive thought of Rahul Gandhi?

JGR: Rahul has not spoken about cow protection. He has only asked RSS-agents inside Congress to exit. In fact, in many situations, these RSS-agents within Congress confuse Rahul Gandhi. I have seen this many times. Long ago, I even tried to meet Rahul Gandhi in Delhi, regarding Tamil Eelam issue. Those who have met him, call Rahul Gandhi a nice person. But there is a circle around him that prevents anyone from meeting Rahul Gandhi. Even if someone meets him, this circle warns Rahul Gandhi to be careful.

A: During Gujarat election campaign, Rahul Gandhi removed his shirt and signed in a notebook [in a temple] that he is from this Gotra and a upper caste Brahmin. We also saw that in the recent West Bengal elections, Mamata Banerjee specifically asked to not mention her caste in some context. From this, one gets the feeling that even Rahul Gandhi is in the "Gujarat model". At the same time, he comes to Tamil Nadu for the election campaign and says he will present Modi with Periyar books.

From all this, are we to understand that he is juggling with two varying sets of thoughts?

JGR: Definitely. Everyone undergoes changes. What I was at age 25 is different from what I am now at 57 years old. Many changes have occured. Ten years back, I wouldn't have spoken so sharply as today. I will second guess, that if I said something, everyone is a particular community will be worried. I was more carful then. But today, I am not since there is no other way. If an entire community supports RSS, then I have no other way but to oppose you. I am not responsible if you misunderstand me. I feel Rahul Gandhi has also undergone such a change.

A: Do you see his statement as something mature and bold?

JGR: Correct.

A: He has matured but he has also become brave. Has he concluded that this is how it should be? That this is the only way and he has moved from the Right Wing to the Left Wing?

JGR: Yes. Proper mid.

A: He is in the middle?

JGR: Proper mid.

A: Okay, okay. You discussed today's political situation, the happenings behind it. You also spoke richly about the framework underlying the politics and how to understand it all, for the benefit of our viewers. Thank you very much.

JGR: Thanks.

Fin.

Sachin wrote:
The Basic Structure doctrine even if applied by the Kerala High Court (I have only read news report) is subject to judicial review by the Supreme Court. But whether that is correct or not, who can tell? Even the Supreme Court need not be right or wrong. It is just that they say they are right. And they are the last word.

nandakumar wrote:
Sachin wrote: This case seems to be a very interesting one (and for perhaps all for wrong reasons). Every thing including Indian Constituition is man made. Then how can there be a rule, that what ever is written there cannot be changed at all? How can X'ians and Muslims remain as minorities even when their population percentage is not very small? This verdict seems to be that religion based reservations & special privileges will be given to X'ians and Muslims even if they are 99% of the population in India. And we are still supposed to be a 'secular republic' :roll: .
The Basic Structure doctrine even if applied by the Kerala High Court (I have only read news report) is subject to judicial review by the Supreme Court. But whether that is correct or not, who can tell? Even the Supreme Court need not be right or wrong. It is just that they say they are right. And they are the last word.
Is the Basic Structure doctrine a judicial document ? Its a legislative one as far as i understand. Courts have no business in enacting or commenting on legislations., thats the role of parliament !

^^^ at least this explains my theory why Hindu religious customs festivals rituals are well entrenched in the south
At least the south didn’t have to change too many names barring few(like Mumbai and Chennai and Tiruvanathapuram)
Sure some martial folks from the north will always be very upset but truth is always too bitter to swallow

[quote="chetak"]Amnesty International and other ‘liberal democratic global forces’ will fix Modi through WaPo, Le Monde, Guardian: Catholic priest Jegath Gaspar Raj

Is this dude Gaspar Raj a "priest" or a politician? His entire interview is about politics. Is there any spirituality at all in these religions or these are just political parties wearing the cloak of religion?

sanjayc wrote:
chetak wrote:Amnesty International and other ‘liberal democratic global forces’ will fix Modi through WaPo, Le Monde, Guardian: Catholic priest Jegath Gaspar Raj

Is this dude Gaspar Raj a "priest" or a politician? His entire interview is about politics. Is there any spirituality at all in these religions or these are just political parties wearing the cloak of religion?
Jihadis, missionaries ... its all about politics, spreading the religion, and taking over. It's never about their prayers. It's always how to capture power and propagate

vijayk wrote:
sanjayc wrote:
Jihadis, missionaries ... its all about politics, spreading the religion, and taking over. It's never about their prayers. It's always how to capture power and propagate
this guy is directly connected to the dravidian and DMK top tier.

Also to the SL separatists lot of "freedom" fighters since before the IPKF days

runs some sort of revolutionary radio service or something like that

sanjayc wrote:
chetak wrote:Amnesty International and other ‘liberal democratic global forces’ will fix Modi through WaPo, Le Monde, Guardian: Catholic priest Jegath Gaspar Raj

He is being honest, mainstream media and INC should also state this.

X posted from the Indo US thread

the agenda of the shaheenbagh wokes have been dashed once again.

their imagined expectations and hopes from the biden administration have been dashed once again.

mylapore maami has also lapsed into silence on the India front

What does Antony Blinken’s firm but graceful refusal to pass judgement on India show?

There is just too much at stake in Indo-US relationship to let self-righteousness taint it.

Oopali Operajita |
August 3, 2021

Blinken (verb): to assiduously and tactfully refuse to be drawn into controversy; to maintain pivotal, cordial relationships, notwithstanding a cacophony of patently instigated noises, and, thereby, render those noises irrelevant.

The recent visit to India by the US Secretary of State, Antony Blinken, cemented the robust and time-tested relations between the world’s largest and oldest democracies. On the agenda for urgent discussion: Covid-19, Afghanistan, the Quad, and a raft of other pressing matters that could brook no delay. In the wake of this visit, and, in particular, the press conference that he and India’s External Affairs Minister, S Jaishankar, held at the conclusion of their talks, there was a flurry of articles trying to gloss over the fact that Blinken categorically — and graciously, in deference to accepted diplomatic protocol — refused to be drawn into any kind of commentary on India’s internal affairs. These articles epitomise a refusal to accept what is true. If only he had cried havoc and let slip the dogs of war! We might work ourselves into a lather all we want, and read dozens of meanings into his statements on both democracies, but the truth is that Blinken assiduously avoided being judgemental about India, saying that he approached India with a sense of “humility”. He alluded to our democracies as “works in progress” and offered up tangible praise for India as a democracy. I, therefore, name this sage diplomatic strategy the art of Blinkening, infused with fresh meaning and depth as it has been, by Antony Blinken. There is just too much at stake in this crucial relationship to let self-righteousness taint it. It takes a large dollop of naïveté to assume that any leader is simply going to jump into an arena now populated by activists and belligerent mediapersons, and, thereby, jeopardise important bilateral relations. The real world does not work that way. The very act of requesting another nation to interfere in India’s internal affairs is both immature and treacherous, and epitomises our colonial hangover.

Calling the US-India relationship “one of the most consequential relationships we have with any country on earth,” Blinken added: “Finally, our bilateral relationship is strengthened by our shared values. As two of the world’s leading democracies, we take seriously our responsibilities to deliver freedom, equality and opportunity to all of our people … Part of the promise of democracy is the constant striving for better. Those values are at the heart of our democratic systems. They’re at the core of the vast array of partnerships connecting our countries, not only between our governments but also between our private sectors, universities, civil societies, and most of all between our people.” As someone whose professional and personal investment in, and connection with, North America dates back to 1980, and whose areas of specialisation are cross-cultural communication, international relations, and public policy, I believe I have a reasonably accurate take on exactly what Blinken meant. He was not fudging around; what he said, with discernible eloquence, came from the heart.

In the above context, a couple of comments in the media need responses: One Indian journalist thinks Blinken “waffled painfully, trying his best to say nothing when asked about the Modi government’s democratic backsliding. But Dr S Jaishankar leapt in, right after, to reveal the three issues the US raised with India.” This is inaccurate, and sheer fabrication: I watched the press conference live. Blinken chose to reply first, to Courtney McBride of The Wall Street Journal, when she asked him about his perception of India as a democracy, and here is an excerpt from what he said: “I’m happy to start … The most remarkable democratic elections in the world, in many ways, are here in India, just by sheer numbers. It’s the largest expression of free political will by citizens anywhere on earth … And we celebrate that the world’s oldest and the world’s largest democracies are dedicated at heart to a shared set of values that I believe will ensure not only the success of democracy, but the success of the relationship between India and the United States.” Now, for someone who was trying to say nothing, Blinken said rather a lot, and there wasn’t the slightest trace of a waffle or discomfiture in his response.

In a predictably wilful and schismatic map of misreading, a writer at another daily refers, in a tweet, to her article which magnifies, out of proportion, Blinken’s discussion of “CAA, love jihad and farmers’ protests with civil society representatives”, hoping, desperately, to delineate this meeting as the reason for a US Secretary of State’s India visit. This is a risible and misfired attempt to diminish the centrality and positive outcome of the Blinken-Jaishankar dialogue, and the Blinken-Modi meeting, as if they were postscripts.

All those manufactured and spurious correlations, the hectoring and the cotton candy cozenage — they were all astutely banished. “Blinkened”, if you will. Blinken complimented India as a strong and resilient democracy, on more than one occasion, and with elegance. India now looks forward to President Biden’s visit.

The writer is a Distinguished Fellow at Carnegie Mellon University. Views are personal
khatvaanga

Post by khatvaanga »

this guy is directly connected to the dravidian and DMK top tier.

Also to the SL separatists lot of "freedom" fighters since before the IPKF days

runs some sort of revolutionary radio service or something like that
Thanks for posting the i/v Chetakji. Was enlightening. Need to re-read it and derive actionable points for opposition from it.

Rsatchi wrote:^^^ at least this explains my theory why Hindu religious customs festivals rituals are well entrenched in the south
At least the south didn’t have to change too many names barring few(like Mumbai and Chennai and Tiruvanathapuram)
Sure some martial folks from the north will always be very upset but truth is always too bitter to swallow
Not very well known, but the south also fought back as hard as the north. The advantage the south had was of geography - the invasions were lesser in number compared to the Gangetic plains, for example. There was also a relatively recent revival of Hindu traditions thanks to the Bhakti movement, Adi Shankara, etc. that when the islamic hordes showed up, the population was strongly in support of resistance. Hence the authority derived by the Vijayanagara empire (the first single kingdom to rule all of south India), followed by the Marathas and various Nayaka rulers, Mysore, etc. These guys ensured that the destruction wrought by the hordes was repaired and restored to the same level as before, in fact, to an even better state (the Srirangam temple is an example in this regard).

Brilliant. With milords like these who needs external enemies :roll:

Preventive detention can’t be invoked over law & order fears, says Supreme Court

Maybe the government can implement this order immediately by removing all security given to all the judges. Since security is, by definition, Preventive. Secondly an attack on an individual judge can not be deemed as 'public disorder' in any form...
OmkarC

Post by OmkarC »

chetak wrote:Image

According to PVNR, a trustworthy astrologer based in US, Yogi ji is likely to take the mantle of PMship from NaMo after he wins a third term:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBZ1WoiyWTo

His disclaimer:

BTW, those accusing me of being a "BJP astrologer" should note that I correctly predicted the victory of many of BJP's foes, such as Mamata Banerjee in WB 2021, Kejriwal in Delhi in 2015 and 2020, KCR in Telangana in 2018 and YS Jagan in AP in 2019. I only try to decipher destiny and do not create/change it.

arshyam wrote:...
Not very well known, but the south also fought back as hard as the north. The advantage the south had was of geography - the invasions were lesser in number compared to the Gangetic plains, for example...

One can refer to a 3D type topographical map of India posted earlier in this thread (or some other thread) to see how it was easier for the invaders to conquer large swathes of the plains in Northen India, once they had got past the khyber ranges.

The western and eastern ghats helped slow down the south-ward expansion. (from a pure geo-logistical perspective)

Manish_P wrote: Preventive detention can’t be invoked over law & order fears, says Supreme Court..
Maybe the government can implement this order immediately by removing all security given to all the judges. Since security is, by definition, Preventive. Secondly an attack on an individual judge can not be deemed as 'public disorder' in any form...
Then when can preventive detention be applied? Cr.PC has any many provisions to 'encourage' people to behave themselves. Cr.PC Sec. 107, 109, 110 are all examples of the same. The judicial establishment is becoming a laughing stock. And this again when there are 1000s of cases pending in the various judicial courts. There are poor defendants who are in the sub jails, because they cannot provide bail & surety. And often they have spent more time in jail than the jail term prescribed for the offence they had committed.

kit wrote:
nandakumar wrote: The Basic Structure doctrine even if applied by the Kerala High Court (I have only read news report) is subject to judicial review by the Supreme Court. But whether that is correct or not, who can tell? Even the Supreme Court need not be right or wrong. It is just that they say they are right. And they are the last word.
Is the Basic Structure doctrine a judicial document ? Its a legislative one as far as i understand. Courts have no business in enacting or commenting on legislations., thats the role of parliament !
I am not too familiar with the legal nuances. But I think it was first enunciated in the Keshavananda Bharti case.

Sachin wrote:
Manish_P wrote: Preventive detention can’t be invoked over law & order fears, says Supreme Court..
Then when can preventive detention be applied? Cr.PC has any many provisions to 'encourage' people to behave themselves. Cr.PC Sec. 107, 109, 110 are all examples of the same. The judicial establishment is becoming a laughing stock. And this again when there are 1000s of cases pending in the various judicial courts. There are poor defendants who are in the sub jails, because they cannot provide bail & surety. And often they have spent more time in jail than the jail term prescribed for the offence they had committed.
Have they ever mentioned/ discussed any ideas and any action plan to reduce the number of pending litigations... especially the ones going on for say more than a decade?

To being with, is there any official info/graph on the aging of the on going cases. As in how many are under a year old, how many between 1-5 years, how many between 5-10, how many between 10-20, 20-30, ...

Genuine query.

Manish_P wrote:Brilliant. With milords like these who needs external enemies :roll:

Preventive detention can’t be invoked over law & order fears, says Supreme Court

Their views and statements are an assault on common sense. SC is increasingly looking clownish. Need to review what kind of judges are being hired and their academic background. Doesn't look like high caliber stuff.

Manish_P wrote:...
To being with, is there any official info/graph on the aging of the on going cases. As in how many are under a year old, how many between 1-5 years, how many between 5-10, how many between 10-20, 20-30, ...
Genuine query.
Got the answer to the second part of my own question..

National Judicial Data Grid

0 to 1 years:- 30,96,322 (29.57 %)
1 to 3 years:- 33,49,304 (31.99 %)
3 to 5 years:- 16,79,067 (16.04 %)
5 to 10 years:- 16,36,418 (15.63 %)
10 to 20 years:- 5,55,720 (5.31 %)
20 to 30 years:- 1,16,500 (1.11 %)
above 30 years:- 37,408 (0.36 %)
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Thank you. I imagined the case load distribution was much worse. As in babbooz, it is the quality that seems to be necessary not too much quantity. Incremental 10-20 % can make the numbers look manageable to put 90% cases in the less than 3 years category

Manish_P wrote:
arshyam wrote:...
Not very well known, but the south also fought back as hard as the north. The advantage the south had was of geography - the invasions were lesser in number compared to the Gangetic plains, for example...

One can refer to a 3D type topographical map of India posted earlier in this thread (or some other thread) to see how it was easier for the invaders to conquer large swathes of the plains in Northen India, once they had got past the khyber ranges.

The western and eastern ghats helped slow down the south-ward expansion. (from a pure geo-logistical perspective)
I think you were referring to this map, which illustrates the point clearly.

Source

It was a similar one

Here in this post
anupmisra wrote:Shiv has this topographical relief map of Aryavarta (Indian Subcontinent) on his teetar page which I find very interesting. Note the unimpeded access to the northern plains of India from Afghanistan and Sindh. Only Pakjab stood in the way.

Kaivalya wrote:^^^
Thank you. I imagined the case load distribution was much worse. As in babbooz, it is the quality that seems to be necessary not too much quantity. Incremental 10-20 % can make the numbers look manageable to put 90% cases in the less than 3 years category
Yessir. I was surprised as well... i had expected at least 25%-30% cases to be over 10 years old.

BR forums have helped me move on from relying on perceptions to hard data analytics. It has also helped that over the years the data is available to the general public, thanks to digitization and the internet.

Coming back to the issue at hand, about 2 years ago i saw a twitter exchange between a reputed IT entrepreneur and the then Law Minister Shri. Ravi Shankar Prasad (who also held the IT portfolio). The minister had accepted suggestions about using AI (statistical algorithmic tools) & technologies like video conferencing to help reduce the backlog of cases and also ensure faster disposition of cases in the future by giving judges, lawyers as well as appellants faster information of similar cases in the past - the processes, the documentation, the arguments as well as the final judgements etc.

Here is a recent article on the topic - AI in the courts
Artificial Intelligence can help reduce pendency of cases, increase efficiency of judiciary. But before its adoption in the legal system, challenges related to privacy, data protection and other ethical issues must be addressed.

The use of AI in the justice system depends on first identifying various legal processes where the application of this technology can reduce pendency and increase efficiency. The machine first needs to perceive a particular process and get information about the process under examination. For example, to extract facts from a legal document, the programme should be able to understand the document and what it entails. Over time, the machine can learn from experience, and as we provide more data, the programme learns and makes predictions about the document, thereby making the underlying system more intelligent every time. This requires the development of computer programmes and software which are highly-complex requiring advanced technologies. Additionally, there is a need of constantly nurturing to reduce any bias, and increase learning.

One such complex tool named SUPACE (Supreme Court Portal for Assistance in Court Efficiency) was recently launched by the Supreme Court of India. Designed to first understand judicial processes that require automation, it then assists the Court in improving efficiency and reducing pendency by encapsulating judicial processes that have the capability of being automated through AI.

from twitter

This message is from a professor from amu

Please see this chart, I am going to unmask the international nexus behind #Pegasus
(via@vijaygajera)

and also read this thread
This thread will help you to understand the whole gang that works only to do propaganda. Also, you will see their Indian connection too!
https://twitter.com/vijaygajera/status/ ... 4119565313

chetak wrote:from twitter

This message is from a professor from amu

“India is required” .. by who? What happens exactly when we don’t follow the same template that Congress has laid out for 60 years? What is the implied threat by domestic muslims that is being spoken about?