Re: Indian Missiles News and Discussions - May 2017

Yeah. Will upload when I get home.

it looks very similar to the bombs that F-16s carry. the mk80/82/84 (upto 2000lb) most of which are now either converted to GBU LGB or JDAMs.
ambati

Post by ambati »

Singha wrote:sometimes engines and pipes may be sprayed with some insulating material before use ?
I dont think so this engines are designed for one time use. insulating material i think are use for cryogenic engine

Kakarat wrote:
Prasad wrote: Saars this 500kg GP bomb model was there at AI at the ARDE stall right next to the HSLDs. Looked similar to the 450kg hsld.
Explosives - Main filling 192kg Torpex -4B
Booster charge 240g RDX/Wax(95/5)
Targets- bridges, railway tracks, runways, docks, bunkers.
Any pictures available?
To be frank the coverage and pictures from AI17 was way less than the earlier ones
I had edited a large number (500-600 may be) of pics to put on BRF, but could never figure out how the BRF gallery works exactly. And now my laptop has gone kaput and all my data is stuck.

I should have pics of all those bombs. I did take pic of every single bomb there.
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

DRDO Newsletter Aug 2017

DRDO TESTED ANTI-TANK GUIDED MISSILE NAG SUCCESSFULLY
The capabilities of the top attack 3rd generation ‘fire and forget’ ATGM Nag are unique and comprises many advanced technologies including Imaging Infrared Radar (IIR) Seeker with integrated avionics—a capability possessed only by few nations in the world.

ARDE CARRIES OUT SUCCESSFUL FLIGHT TRIALS OF 500 kg GENERAL PURPOSE BOMB

Besides the Sukhois, the are going to qualify the bomb for the Jaguars too. It is time to re-engine those cats.

Prasad Please do find the pics of the 500kg wala.
Looks like a lot more explosive than the HSLD.

Kakkarat, Yes. I think most of the hardware will survive.

Look at the pepper shot unlike fragmented cubes or shrapnel hitting it.

JayS, Try to recover your data. Usually they sell a USB case in which you can install your crashed disk and it recovers well as external drive.
Happened many time to my family!!!!

A Sharma wrote:DRDO Newsletter Aug 2017

DRDO TESTED ANTI-TANK GUIDED MISSILE NAG SUCCESSFULLY
The capabilities of the top attack 3rd generation ‘fire and forget’ ATGM Nag are unique and comprises many advanced technologies including Imaging Infrared Radar (IIR) Seeker with integrated avionics—a capability possessed only by few nations in the world.

ARDE CARRIES OUT SUCCESSFUL FLIGHT TRIALS OF 500 kg GENERAL PURPOSE BOMB

Thanks a lot. So that tweet is a cut and paste from this report....

The 500Kg looks qualified based on Su-30 MKI drop tests.

The Parliamentary committee report (2016-2017) also notes the realization of the 500 kg is a big achievement and was tracking its progress.

Next on other planes.

We know its shape and aero characteristics is fit for Griffin kit.

So this one will be a game changer.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Kakarat wrote:
Any pictures available?
To be frank the coverage and pictures from AI17 was way less than the earlier ones
I had edited a large number (500-600 may be) of pics to put on BRF, but could never figure out how the BRF gallery works exactly. And now my laptop has gone kaput and all my data is stuck.

I should have pics of all those bombs. I did take pic of every single bomb there.
I could hand over the enclosure that will help you transfer data. If needed, could also bring one or more lappies along to help. And it is not a long walk etc so just let me know.

ramana wrote: Kakkarat, Yes. I think most of the hardware will survive.
Sir, These are my points why I feel its not a ABM target
1. The colour scheme - ABM Targets are White-Read and regular SSM are Green-Brown, from the photos it seems to have a Green-Brown Scheme
2. The ABM targets are marked as Program AD and not as Prithvi or P-II
3. I don't see any penetration of any kind, I see only sea corrosion and salt sediment or growth. can you mark the point where you think there is penetration
4. I also feel if it was hit by a warhead of any kind it would have fragmented and spread across a large area due to the action of atmosphere and velocity it would be traveling at

Marten wrote:

I could hand over the enclosure that will help you transfer data. If needed, could also bring one or more lappies along to help. And it is not a long walk etc so just let me know.
Thanks for the offer saar. Trying to get new motherboard. Mine's onboard graphics chip has gone kaput actually. Tried baking it, worked for a while but died again. Then I got busy in other stuff. If I don't get a motherboard soon, I will definitely take your offer. :)

But I should have unedited pics in camera still. Will try to post relevant pics of these bombs under discussion.

Warhead used on ABM missiles. If the warhead exploded at some distance, the target does not necessarily disintegrates.

Thakur_B wrote:

If I remember correctly, these new gp bombs have better concrete penetrating properties (0.75 meters of rcc, if I am recalling it correctly) and better aerodynamics for use with pgm kits.

Edit: It's actually upto 3 meters of RCC.

https://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/tenders/vi ... icro=12902

I saw this tender long back.

Its for the 450 HSLD and not the GP 500 kg.

nam wrote:Warhead used on ABM missiles. If the warhead exploded at some distance, the target does not necessarily disintegrates.

Many of the holes look like "exit holes" where the shrapnel/bearings have passed right through the cone. This is in keeping with the knowledge that true high velocity injuries in humans from shrapnel are more vicious than some bullet wounds. I think shrapnel in the vicinity of an explosion start out flying at insane velocities far higher than typical "high velocity" bullets at 600-700 mps
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

Indian Air Force likely to start trials of Astra missile from today

This series of tests are particularly aimed at testing the seeker of the missile. The seeker provides the missile guidance as it tracks and locates targets. The seeker being tested is a newly developed indigenous system. It is being tested for the second time, defence officials said.

taking a keen look at legendary bases like masroor karachi and mushaf sargodha on google earth, they are
- built to a very good std probably from nato specs and US consultancy
- have a lot of hardened parking areas
- well dispersed

i doubt even a DT 'day of rage' salvo of 56 thawks would permanently destroy these, maybe shut them down for 2 days. and none but khan has so many repeat salvos to lob.

with that in mind, the role of much cheaper gliding munitions (garuda, garudamma) both IRNSS guided and sensor fused is paramount in future.

I think we could also use a subsonic LO jassm/slam class air launched missile like Popeye but desified and produced in large numbers for the whole fleet. we will surely get the 50km range AASM with rafale but they are costly and lacking in the range to outshoot the MRSAMs that Cheen will proliferate and position down the threat axes.

the concept of medium alt LGB delivery or lo-lo-lo jaguar type run is unworkable for heavily defended targets. any major node with have a mix of LR and SR SAMs.

Singha wrote:i doubt even a DT 'day of rage' salvo of 56 thawks would permanently destroy these, maybe shut them down for 2 days. and none but khan has so many repeat salvos to lob.
Singha ji, in the context of India Pak future wars, which will be for a short duration not more than few days, what's the difference between completely destroying an airbase and shutting them down for few days.

Singha ..i dont think India will go for hardened shelters..( even in 71 war we initially went for the planes/shelters but soon realised better to focus on the runway). the focus will be on the runways/strip which is the weakest link. even shutting down a major air base for few days is a big win in India/pak context. Well war is a cat/mouse game...how to elude each others defences with better tactics/ electronics/weapons.

Prasad wrote:
Kakarat wrote:
Then whats new about it? carriage & separation tests are done only for new design to check compatibility

Look at the one on the wing it looks different, looks more like a Mark 82 General Purpose Bomb
Saars this 500kg GP bomb model was there at AI at the ARDE stall right next to the HSLDs. Looked similar to the 450kg hsld. Its 3m long. slightly longer than the hsld.
Explosives - Main filling 192kg Torpex -4B
Booster charge 240g RDX/Wax(95/5)
Targets- bridges, railway tracks, runways, docks, bunkers.
Wax in a bomb ?

Singha wrote:taking a keen look at legendary bases like masroor karachi and mushaf sargodha on google earth, they are
- well dispersed

i doubt even a DT 'day of rage' salvo of 56 thawks would permanently destroy these, maybe shut them down for 2 days. and none but khan has so many repeat salvos to lob.

with that in mind, the role of much cheaper gliding munitions (garuda, garudamma) both IRNSS guided and sensor fused is paramount in future.

I think we could also use a subsonic LO jassm/slam class air launched missile like Popeye but desified and produced in large numbers for the whole fleet. we will surely get the 50km range AASM with rafale but they are costly and lacking in the range to outshoot the MRSAMs that Cheen will proliferate and position down the threat axes.

the concept of medium alt LGB delivery or lo-lo-lo jaguar type run is unworkable for heavily defended targets. any major node with have a mix of LR and SR SAMs.
What about special forces ops? New tactics and technology are being introduced by such units which render the aircraft at airbases very vulnerable especially the ones parked in open. They will also enable the targetting of critical radar systems which in turn will further open the gates through which our aircraft will roll in.

In past wars the Airforce used to clean up the path which was then used by the ground forces. Mark my words, in future wars the ground forces would do the same for airforce. There is a reason why IAF raised the Garud force.

A Sharma wrote:Indian Air Force likely to start trials of Astra missile from today

This series of tests are particularly aimed at testing the seeker of the missile. The seeker provides the missile guidance as it tracks and locates targets. The seeker being tested is a newly developed indigenous system. It is being tested for the second time, defence officials said.
From the news:
“At least eight trials have been planned in this series and if weather permits, the tests would start from Thursday,” the official informed and added that the missile would be fired in a war-like situation.

Last year, the IAF had cleared limited series production of the missile and decided to obtain at least 50 missiles to gauge its performance before giving bulk order for its all fighter aircraft.

The missile tested during last December had successfully demonstrated its aerodynamic characteristics, repeatability, robustness and endurance capability. The IAF and the DRDO are also working on integrating the missile on light combat aircraft Tejas.
KaranM, you were bang on the buck. The new facility is indeed for LSP production of Astra.

PS: The report says:
The single stage and solid fuelled Astra is more advanced in its category than the contemporary beyond visual range missiles. Travelling at a speed of Mach 1.2 to 1.4, it is capable of engaging and destroying highly maneuverable aerial targets.
Is the Mach number correct..?
Last edited by JayS on 31 Aug 2017 12:54, edited 2 times in total.

Karthik S wrote:
Singha ji, in the context of India Pak future wars, which will be for a short duration not more than few days, what's the difference between completely destroying an airbase and shutting them down for few days.
runways and parkings can be repaired, but aircraft destroyed are severe losses and might take years to recover.
these aircraft will be parked inside strong shelters or camouflaged under nets.

india has put out tender for a comprehensive suite of airbase security soln. given the billions of $$ a/c in each base i guess everyone does it too
http://tenders.gov.in/viewtenddoc.asp?t ... no=1&td=TD

with US funding and guidance the paki elite bases already have many of these from the 70s I think. the bases in NE and E need a lot of upgrading to reach the stds of gwalior and jodhpur.
Pakis have atleast 500 JDAM kits and might obtain more on loaner from KSA. they can work with upto 2000lb bombs and cheen has its own tribe now

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/620 ... craft.html

With militarily active borders on both sides of the country, Indian Air Force proposes to construct 108 new generation hardened aircraft shelters at a cost of more than Rs 5,000 crore to protect its fighter fleet.

The hardened blast panes are meant to safeguard the frontline Su-30MKI, Jaguars, Mirages and the upcoming Rafale aircraft from 2,000- pound enemy bombs in case of a war.

Each of these shelters, sources told DH, could cost more than Rs 50 crore as they would be made up of reinforced concrete, would be having iron doors and maintenance facilities.

Blast panes are integral part of a military air field where combat aircraft are kept during the war to save the metal birds from enemy bombs and missiles. The existing IAF shelters are capable of withstanding a blast from a 1,000-pound bomb. The new generation panes will be designed to withstand the hit by a 2,000-pound bomb, which the IAF apprehend the enemies may be possessing.

Besides, these shelters would be large enough to accommodate the big Su-30 MKI aircraft and will have proper maintenance facilities.

They would also be fitted with iron doors to minimise the chances of fragmentation damage from a missile strike.

While the proposals are under the consideration of the defence ministry since 2015, sources said the air headquarters had made a fresh pitch for its approval given the rapidly changing security dynamics in India’s neighbourhood.

Construction of hardened blast panes is a key part of the IAF’s plan to improve the infrastructure of its air fields particularly for the bases in the North East and Leh.

Two other components of the plan is to improve the infrastructure in Nyoma and Kargil airfield so that more fighter flying is possible near India’s border with China and Pakistan, respectively.

Singha wrote:taking a keen look at legendary bases like masroor karachi and mushaf sargodha on google earth, they are
- well dispersed

For such high value targets wouldn't the start be with the brahmos which would have much higher hit and damage rates.
Last edited by Cain Marko on 31 Aug 2017 13:22, edited 1 time in total.

Singha wrote:
Karthik S wrote:
runways and parkings can be repaired, but aircraft destroyed are severe losses and might take years to recover.
If the runways and imp infra in airbase are shutdown for few days, the planes become target practice. Sargoda is 200KM from the border, it will be among the first things that will be taken out inside 5 mins of any conflict. Here we are assuming that BrahMos can't penetrate those shelters in the first place.

I am not sure about penetrating power of US bunker buster like GBU 37 vs BrahMos, but here's pic of damage cause by PGM duing gulf war. Not sure which bomb it was.

Point with pakis is that war will not last more then few days, one way or the other, so long as their planes don't take off it doesn't matter. If we will repeat the generosity/stupidity of 71 is another matter.

I noticed same thing as SIngha, you look at PLAAF and IAF bases, so many aircraft are uncovered. Our Aircraft Hangers in AVntipura also don't look that sturdy. But PAF bases Sargodha, Jacococabad, Mianwali etc, all of them have good hangers and Not 1 of PAF F-16's are lying out in the open. You need something like 200-300 strikes to take of these Airbases.

I guess bomb the Runaway with P-II Anti run weapons, while it is in repair launch Anti radiation missiles to take out Radar networks, sams, attack the OIl Depots Bouchers and accurate GPS guided Stand off bombs for each of those Hangers. We would need to neutralise the entire 6 by 6 km of the base.

I laugh at people sometimes when people say what do you with soo many missiles with respect to Pakistan. Truth is we need to take out the PAF out of the Equation pretty fast and then Target the PA missile Launchers within the First few hours, electricity generation units palces, OIl depots, Ammunition Depots, PN Ports ships, submarines, Railway Yards , Bridges, Artillery units,Gas fields, Tank columns and even food depots. Leaving the country powerless, ammunition less and with food shortage so that we can focus on our miltary objectives

Indeed, as one Soviet said during cold war, missiles need to come out of factories like sausages.

There was no Generosity from our side in 1971 war, it was costly attacks against PAF bases. We would need to use a Few hundred Prithvi-II to close the RUnway and 30- ship of attacking aircrafft with STand off weapons to take out the SAMs, Related Radars, Bunkers, OIl Depots, Ammunition Depots and AIrcraft Hangers.

Basically we need a Huge load of BM's and lots of PGM's to do this. Brahmos a Few will be good but the Bulk of the damage will ahve to be done by 500kg and 1000kg bombs.

seems to me something like 5000 Pralaya and 1000 P2 will be needed to POUND anyone even in a short 14 day war.

and that backed by unlimited number of 500kg and 1000kg bombs.

thats what the bomb the pakis back to stone age plan needs. destroy/chase the PAF out of the equation in 3 days and then spend the rest 11 days taking out every economic and infra target in a set of 1000s - 100s of bridges, 10s of railway junctions, 10s of POL sites, refineries, steel mills, chemical plants, ports, power plants, machine tools plants ...inflict enough pain to last years and years. hit military plants with 100s of heavy weapons. with a 200 mil population they can always rebuild the military ranks but the economic impact should last a decade and cause civil unrest.

and we'd still need to keep an equal number of missiles in reserve incase china joins later.

we probably have 10X less than whats really needed. our holdings and general posture is just tracking the minimal needs to fend them off. we dont scare anyone, not even maldives.

it is high time our large pvt sector is put to use for munitions on a soviet union type scale....we must become the arsenal of democracy to survive.

"Blast panes"? wtf. Blast pens

Singha wrote:
Karthik S wrote:
Runways can and will be repaired, but they cannot be hidden - so they make easier targets. Multiple dispersed pens require attackers to be loitering over the airfield looking for them - in an environment where there will be decoy unprotected aircraft parked outside the pens, and some pens will be empty. Ultimately no matter what is hit (pens, runway) and what they are hit with (aircraft, missiles) what is required is for the sky to be clear of enemy aircraft - even for a matter of hours while more and more and more pounding can take place.

A first round of attacks will be against airfields, SAM sites, radar sites and comm centers. There will probably be 2 or 3 waves of such attacks and most probably fairly high attrition..

Massed missile attacks will not cut it. Pens need direct hits. "nearby" damage is what they are designed to protect planes from and from some direct hits. It was in ww2 that they dropped 1000 bombs for one hit. We should not repeat that with 1000 expensive missiles for one hit. But then how do you send accurate PGMs at hundreds of targets - some of which will be decoys and some not seen at all? Getting airfields is easier. Missiles may be best for known radar and SAM sites.

So manned aircraft will go in, And after that recce aircraft will go in to photograph the extent of damage and another wave of attackers to take out whatever was not damaged in the first 2-3 waves. As long as the air can be kept clear of fighters by simply taking out the airfields - repeated attacks can gradually take out bunkers, pens, buildings, whatever. It will be great allahoakbar if all this can happen in the first 2-3 days of war. We should get that lucky..

500Kg GP Bomb -

450Kg HSLD -

Remember that HSLD was developed for high-speed carriage and hi-speed, high altitude release. Existing ones were draggy and imposed drag penalties on modern fighters. The new GP bombs following similar shaping isn't very surprising therefore. Either will put a heavy dent in anything :mrgreen:

I always thought about why not have 200-300KM missiles with warhead of 2-3 tonne containing clustered PGM with the sole purpose of striking runaways. Gives the initial wave 4-5 hours before they are repaired. These can be fired at regular intervals, blocking any takeoffs.

Ofcourse there are SAMs to be deal with.

Our new 125kg glide bomb/pgm will do this job. A Su-30MKI can release around 100 such bombs from safe distance and not only take out the runway but the associated soft targets like hangers, fuel dumps, ammo stores, radars. comms, housing, storage, barracks, tower etc.

Aircraft give away early warning. A missile on the other hand gives very short warning.

Prasad wrote:500Kg GP Bomb -
http://i.imgur.com/CySbZSl.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/XNtaTY5.jpg

450Kg HSLD -
http://i.imgur.com/JQgmi84.jpg

Remember that HSLD was developed for high-speed carriage and hi-speed, high altitude release. Existing ones were draggy and imposed drag penalties on modern fighters. The new GP bombs following similar shaping isn't very surprising therefore. Either will put a heavy dent in anything :mrgreen:
Thanks Prasad for posting this information

nam wrote:I always thought about why not have 200-300KM missiles with warhead of 2-3 tonne containing clustered PGM with the sole purpose of striking runaways. Gives the initial wave 4-5 hours before they are repaired. These can be fired at regular intervals, blocking any takeoffs.

Ofcourse there are SAMs to be deal with.
Runways are very thick and very hard. A 200 ton aircraft hitting the ground on landing produces a very hard impact so runways are not easy to crater. And runways are built to take 1000s of such impacts You need munitions that dig themselves in and lift out the concrete. Of course 250 kg dumb bombs (and bigger) will do the trick - maybe 125 kg as well if they hit the runway at high speed.

Watch how the runway cratering munitions dig in and explode

https://youtu.be/LJB-yBZbXw4?t=128

Yeah, I was thinking of cluster of 250/300/500 kg PGM in a missile able to carry 2-3 tonne SRBM. The missile delivers the PGMs over airfield, each then fly off to specific location of the runway and do their "digging".

Basically what a aircraft would do but in a missile.