Tejas Mk.1 & Mk.1A: News & Discussions: 23 February 2019

basant

Re: Tejas Mk.1 & Mk.1A: News & Discussions: 23 February 2019

Post by basant »

FWIW

Did HAL fumble with the production of Tejas FOC? [Reality check]
The first FOC Tejas SP21 took skies on 17th March 2020, followed by the first flight of SP 22 on 24th September 2020. The Indian Airforce based on the user experience recommended some software patches and these were to be incorporated in the subsequent units.
Current Status of FOC Units
  • SP21 is delivered and SP22 is ready

SP23 and SP24 – Jets are ready and only a few components are to be added which were delayed due to COVID delays.

SP25 and SP26 nearing completion – The coupling stage is almost complete.
This makes one delivered, one ready for delivery and four aircraft in advance stages. Also, a larger bunch is already loaded on the jigs. Despite hurdles created by Covid-19, HAL is well poised to achieve its target of eight aircraft by end of March 2021. In the worst-case scenario, HAL will for sure deliver six jets make up numbers in coming months.

I mentioned it before I have given up on HAL ever building LCA in large number till HAL is booted out and the production is moved over more competent player. Don't expect LCA production ever come close to timelines no matter how many lines are created and how many orders are placed.

Great news! Every item that is produced goes through teething troubles! Good it is happening now. They will put solutions in place to avoid this from happening in the future.

GOI disinvestment from HAL is a good thing! BRF should help find a buyer.
basant

Post by basant »

I think if even 6 FOCs fly by the end of financial year, it should be OK. Remember that IOC-2 happened in Dec 2013, SP-2 came out after more than 3 years! May be I should be a little more appreciative of HAL. And let's also not forget that not only their funding is less but the government has been taking deliveries and not paying dues.

I do agree. Everyone jumps at HAL for the slightest slipup forgetting the trash purchased from foreign vendors. HAL will solve the problems they face. Disinvestment may help them be more savvy in responding to criticism. When GOI cannot place orders in time and IAF forgets to pay the bills timely, why blame HAL for everything?

UTTAM and associated EW should be ready now to integrate into the Tejas. Only the engine is missing, so we have to see orders for several hundred GE404 engines. I don't think a Biden administration should interfere, but I have no faith in those anti-India scoundrels as to what they may do next. They may put all sorts of restrictions to force India to buy the F-18. Some 400 GE404 engines should have been bought in the last few years as the incoming administration would be reluctant to slow down an existing deal.
venkat_r

Post by venkat_r »

Did Obama administration sty to stop any deals or did it nothing any new engine deals with India? Looking for any similarities but assuming that this should be less of an issue.

venkat_r wrote:Did Obama administration sty to stop any deals or did it nothing any new engine deals with India? Looking for any similarities but assuming that this should be less of an issue.
The LCA program has been on since the 90s and has run through democrat and republican governments. Nations have interests and no friends. We always forget that and get needlessly distracted. The GOI has had 20-30 years to stock up on GE engines. If they haven't - whose fault should that be? And anyway it seems that the GOI wants the program to die a slow death. Their (IAF/MOD/GOI) unwillingness to release orders for the last one year is a clear indicator that they want to wind down the program and only import weapons.

India wants to remain a client state instead of becoming a strong power. All purchases point to Indians distrusting Indian industry and scientists. The only star in an otherwise dark spectrum is ISRO.

Others would have reverse engineered the GE engine to learn from it and develop the Kaveri by now.

venkat_r wrote:Did Obama administration sty to stop any deals or did it nothing any new engine deals with India? Looking for any similarities but assuming that this should be less of an issue.
In 2004, an order for 17 F404 engines was placed, and additional order for 24 F404 engines was placed in 2007, after the successful of producing LSP-1.
https://www.geaviation.com/press-releas ... t-aircraft

I can't find any release from GE Aviation which states the order for 99 F414 engines for the Tejas Mk2. It is stated in the Indian press around 2013, but don't know if it actually happened.

AFAIK, no other orders aside from these 41 engines have been placed. Perhaps assistance from Snecma or Safran is coming, but I doubt it will be in my lifetime. IMHO, the LCA Tejas will be sidelined after production of two squadrons. All indicators are in that direction. After so many successful production units, the time has come for large scale production, but how will that happen without an order for engines?

This is the first time since 1993 that an incoming administration has been covertly hostile to India, but will sell many F404 engines if India wants, however they will put enough poison pill stipulations in through regulatory and legal means. The engines should have been ordered in the last 4-5 years.

iakhan,

A few post induction glitches handling process is being ironed out.
Let's see.
la.khan

Post by la.khan »

Vivek K wrote:The LCA program has been on since the 90s and has run through democrat and republican governments. Nations have interests and no friends. We always forget that and get needlessly distracted. The GOI has had 20-30 years to stock up on GE engines. If they haven't - whose fault should that be? And anyway it seems that the GOI wants the program to die a slow death. Their (IAF/MOD/GOI) unwillingness to release orders for the last one year is a clear indicator that they want to wind down the program and only import weapons.
While you have solid grounds to say the bolded above, if GoI wants to kill the program, is there a Plan B for Tejas? For Rafale, the IAF Cheif of the day said there is no plan B. What about Tejas? Whether Tejas is inducted or not, foreign imports costs money. Which the GoI is hard pressed for.

Also, note there is no sense of urgency in any of the stakeholders - GoI, PM (whether MMS or NaMo), DM RNS, FM NS, IAF, bureaucrats in MoF and/or MoD, HAL, ADA/DRDO, media. Maybe, each one of these know something we don't know. What gives?

Falling IAF squadron numbers is an uncontested fact. It is as though our borders are settled and have nothing to worry about. As of today, we have two hot borders where anything can happen. A few squadrons of Tejas IOC/FOC/Mk1/Mk1A/whatever would have helped :evil:

The only people who gnash their teeth are BRFites.

Your second para is erroneous.
They are working hard to iron out problems brought up at last minute.

One side brings up an issue.
Other side says ok can't do it.
Rest try to resolve.
Next they bring new issue!

The inertia in our defense set up is unbelivable, I guess it has been there for 1000 years, nobody believes the danger they are in till they actually see the Bomb or bullet out to get them.

I must appreciate the US and UK- they are so security conscious, the Chinese have also shown similar will power

Alpha Tocol has completed the roll-out of the 1st full 'Rear Fuselage Assembly' for the Tejas Mk1.

Twitter link
LCA's Rear Fuselage:

Alpha Tocol successfully rolled out the 1st 'Rear Fuselage Assembly' complete with bracketary activities with approvals from DGAQA in FOC configuration late Oct. Supplier's scope of work included fabrication of main jigs, ICY tools, machining of components, special process & structural assembly of rear fuselage.

Present on occasion were D. Maiti, ED (CP), EP Jayadeva, GM, LCA Tejas Div, SM Vasagam, GM, Aircraft Div, Col HS Shankar, CMD Alpha Design Tech & officials of Alpha Tocol & HAL.

Kartik - this happened in October and was reported here on BRF. Its great to hear that and augurs well for the LCA if there will be orders for additional aircraft. If additional orders will not be placed then we've added Alpha Tocol to the list of dying Indian industries.

Aditya_v - totally agree with you! If Indian defense planners had been visionary, IAF fleet strength would have been in much better shape now. It is amazing to note that a) a country that prides herself on being a world power shamelessly goes begging for arms, b) sets up pathetically small production lines. Yes I wish we were more like China.

It is clear though that the IAF and IA do not have room for domestic hardware. And Khan sahab, it is imports or bust for the two forces. There is no plan B.

It is erroneous to say PM (NAMO) is indifferent towards LCA. He has mentioned Tejas by name specifically in context of Make In India, IAF modernization plan etc etc on at least half dozen occasion. He is known not to have a loose tongue. So where does the matter rest?

Let's see HAL has not delivered the promised LCA FOC. Is someone expecting that NAMO will leave PM duties for few months and work at HAL and tighten some screw faster and get these planes through finish line?

We have not also heard much about MK1A. It looks like some order has been placed, but you keep on hearing once money will be released for 83 planes, they will start the R&D and they expect the R&D (as it is minor effort - so argued) will be completed in 20 months. I could be very well wrong, as there are contradicting public info (LSP-2 is for Uttam, similarly to LSP have been fitted with 2050), but no definite information on what is going on with LCAMK1 R&D. In the world over, R&D precedes production by many years, it is highly unpredictable and cannot be scheduled, but here every ones knows it will take x months to qualify MK1A (this is on top of when we cannot manufacture a already R&D completed plane in time - FOC LCA). Where does this problem lies? Everywhere - ADA, HAL, IAF, MOD. LCA is like an orphan, as stated above, NAMO loves it but it cannot go around doing R&D for ADA, manufacturing for HAL, force IAF to have a plan B (they still perhaps need ONLY Rafale, but when manufactured in France, are waiting 2-3 months to transfer it to India, that too when we are almost at war). It makes you wonder is there more to Plan A?

This is the best top set up that we have. But starting from Mr. Krishna Menon infamous Jeep scandal in 1948 (point to note, chacha inducted this guy later as defense minister so that the scandal remains within the 'family', to Bofors (1984) to Agusta Westland/HDW/....the culture of corruption has hollowed everyone (and I repeat everyone). Now we have a uncorrupt head, but the body, limbs still needs to be non corrupted. That takes time. That is the monster we fight. That explains everything that is wrong with India (and its defenses).

Sadly a half clown who could not win an election and become PM (as he considers that his birth right) is willing to burn the country with that corrupt rest of the body whose corrupt gravy train has stopped (they are found everywhere, even in hallowed institutions that we cannot name) . This also has foreign sponsors who do not want an independent and self sufficient India.
Last edited by fanne on 28 Dec 2020 21:48, edited 2 times in total.

Vivek K wrote:Kartik - this happened in October and was reported here on BRF. Its great to hear that and augurs well for the LCA if there will be orders for additional aircraft. If additional orders will not be placed then we've added Alpha Tocol to the list of dying Indian industries.

Aditya_v - totally agree with you! If Indian defense planners had been visionary, IAF fleet strength would have been in much better shape now. It is amazing to note that a) a country that prides herself on being a world power shamelessly goes begging for arms, b) sets up pathetically small production lines. Yes I wish we were more like China.

It is clear though that the IAF and IA do not have room for domestic hardware. And Khan sahab, it is imports or bust for the two forces. There is no plan B.
This is only with NRI's, for resident Indians we dont dream of being any power or believe in this pride business- some section of NRI's feel ashamed to be associated with a country like India, we just want to have the necessary military and Economic capabilities that nobody messes with us and daily life for a vast majority is comfortable.

Really? And so we go on dividing ourselves. But this does not deserve a rebuttal.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

fanne wrote:It is erroneous to say PM (NAMO) is indifferent.....
+1008

Let's see HAL has not delivered the promised LCA FOC. Is someone expecting that NAMO will leave PM duties for few months and work at HAL and tighten some screw faster and get these planes through finish line?
More excuses. Purchase orders can be placed before FOC and IOC. It was done by the US congress in 2001 for the F-35 program to purchase nearly a squadron of F-35 variants through an SDD, but the F-35 didn't get to IOC until this week, yet several hundred have been ordered. At some point you have to say stop on the requirements change. The EL/M-2502 and GE F404 engines work. Yes, UTTAM is coming along fine and will be there for Mk2. Similarly, Safran will help develop the Caveri, but Tejas orders are needed now. Rajnath has to quit doing pujas and touching the feet of Dassault. He has to tell HAL and the IAF to get their act together and accept the Tejas Mk1A right now as it is. If orders are placed now, FOC and FWC can come in a reasonable timeline. Once the LCA Tejas production gets underway, then the scope for corruption declines considerably for spares and munitions through 3rd party intermediaries.
It is erroneous to say PM (NAMO) is indifferent towards LCA.
He's not indifferent, but the MoD and IAF certainly appear that way, and they may be providing poor guidance to the PM. The orders for 83 Tejas Mk1A should have been placed by now.
Last edited by Mort Walker on 29 Dec 2020 14:34, edited 2 times in total.

Vivek K wrote:Really? And so we go on dividing ourselves. But this does not deserve a rebuttal.
Sorry if I came across as offensive, but one of the ways India haters put down in India you Indians claim to be great power and put down. I would like to remove this great power etc and just focus on the essentials for next 20 odd years and climb the ladder.
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

We need to focus on developing the entire manufacturing ecosystem rather than just focusing on Tejas aircraft..

Industry level in the country is quite pathetic! Just my personal experience speaking.
When we are importing soldering irons and ball bearings, why would anyone believe we can manufacture aircrafts at scale. Forget about lasers, semiconductors, IC, sophisticated optics, etc.
Much of our celebrated 'innovative techonology' companies are just assembly technology. Be it drones, robots, machines, electric vehicle, anything. Hardly any IP or indigenization.

Need to dedicate the next 10 yrs to manufacturing R&D. Unfortunately we don't seem able to even name the problem yet.
All I have seen in conferences and discussions is blah blah AI, blah blah IoT. As though that can solve our manufacturing problem!

Production can never happen without orders. We need to take a risk sometime

Please see what Ramna ji has said. It has nothing to do with money not available. Finance (which GOI controls) may not be the only impediment.

Good news. Now place the order :)

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 91905?s=20 ---> So HAL CMD pretty confirmed today that Tejas Mk1A will be delivered at the rate of 20 aircraft per year.

Rakesh wrote:Good news. Now place the order :)

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 91905?s=20 ---> So HAL CMD pretty confirmed today that Tejas Mk1A will be delivered at the rate of 20 aircraft per year.
Great news indeed! All 83 by 2024 or before 2025? A bit hard to reconcile with the delivery of just 6 Tejas this year but this is massive news.

Sounds right as the capacity to produce is 19 per year (8 on the old assembly line, 8 aircrafts at the new plant and 3 at the Jhugaad assembly space created at the old parking hangars of Kiran jets)

HOPE and PRAY the information is right; cannot take may more KLPD's

This is the direct quote:
The CMD of the public sector giant, on being asked if his company could make 20 Tejas per annum, said “easily”. He said ramping up production is not a big issue. The production line is fixed as per the number of order. As of now we have only 40 Tejas on order. Once we get the order of the next 83 Tejas Mark1A jets, we are geared up to make 16 planes and ramp it up to 20 per year.

The production speed depends upon the size of the order. Setting up a new line costs Rs 1,500 crore. With ramped up production, we can do the 83 Tejas Mark 1A jets within four years.
There is a big difference between "we can" and "we will". Especially in the case of HAL as we are finding out with the Mk1 deliveries.

Don’t forget to add 36-months (from order placed to first lot deliveries) to the 4-years completion target (at 16-20 units/year). Total number of years of at least 7-years.

Roughly, translates to
Feb-Mar 2021 —> order placed
2024/5 —> first batch deliveries
2028/9 —> final deliveries

The other thing to consider is how long Mk1A qualifications take. New product IOC/FOC remains unknown and that can delay production timelines.
Last edited by srai on 01 Jan 2021 04:27, edited 1 time in total.
ashbhee

Post by ashbhee »

Great news indeed! All 83 by 2024 or before 2025? A bit hard to reconcile with the delivery of just 6 Tejas this year but this is massive news.
How is that possible? Didn't they say the first one will be delivered 3 years after the signing contract? I will be happy if they deliver one 2024.

Admiral you know I am one of the converted flock yeah ? But I was expecting a signature ceremony before mid-night of 31st December.
We have patiently waited on the Mk1A but this is starting to stretch it a bit too much.

Anyhow ... other than the tweet is there any official release of info by HAL ?
basant

Post by basant »

Khalsa wrote:

Admiral you know I am one of the converted flock yeah ? But I was expecting a signature ceremony before mid-night of 31st December.
We have patiently waited on the Mk1A but this is starting to stretch it a bit too much.

Anyhow ... other than the tweet is there any official release of info by HAL ?
TBH, at the moment I'd be happy if and when they place order, they don't say anything like first 3 products will undergo rigorous testing in all weathers and in all regions before giving go ahead to the rest. At one level it might be okay that we are spending money on foreign products citing Chinese threat and that China is hostile to us. Else we could even be even buying JF-17s during Xi's visit as part of defence partnership and strategic depth. No, this is not a snide remark on Ka-226T. It is a successful product with already 4 helos sold out to 2 countries. :roll:

I am okay with even Aero India deadline, but why can't some CCS minister say so publicly? Why should we rely on Congress party to fight for HAL?

The production speed depends upon the size of the order. Setting up a new line costs Rs 1,500 crore. With ramped up production, we can do the 83 Tejas Mark 1A jets within four years.
Didn't Nirmala Sitaraman already pay for second Tejas line in 2018 budget?

How many times this line will be set up by HAL?

LCAs final role maybe narrowed down to reconnaissance and trainer. This will release the su30/rafale for full air superiority roles.

But nothing compares to a surprised raid by a stealth jet. Without the su57, we are on our own.

Btw, good luck with HALs production expertise. I thought a gujarati PM would drop the hammer but apparently there is a lobby that prevents production to shift out of HAL.

nvishal wrote:LCAs final role maybe narrowed down to reconnaissance and trainer. This will release the su30/rafale for full air superiority roles.

But nothing compares to a surprised raid by a stealth jet. Without the su57, we are on our own.

Btw, good luck with HALs production expertise. I thought a gujarati PM would drop the hammer but apparently there is a lobby that prevents production to shift out of HAL.
Su57 is not a true"5"th gen stealth fighter., its RCS is more or less comparable to the Rafale that is already deployed by IAF ! (which actually has some other tricks in its sleeve)

https://theaviationgeekclub.com/did-you ... -the-f-35/

nvishal wrote: Btw, good luck with HALs production expertise. I thought a gujarati PM would drop the hammer but apparently there is a lobby that prevents production to shift out of HAL.
Not sure if there's any correlation with being Gujarati and setting up production line. PM has already openly called out bureaucracy. There's no open source knowledge of what's going on with LCA. IR probably knows but may not be at a liberty to say. I have seen schedules get scuttled by years in MIC due to teething issues with everything at disposal. I'm sure that everything's not at disposal in the case of India which is not a fighter producing powerhouse.

In reality, only open metric that one can follow is GE engine orders. Orders are not there and that's what should be of a concern. I'm not sure what's the GE lead times are after the chini virus.

83+40= 123 Tejas. Add Mk2.
That means death of imports.

So lot of struggle on both sides.

Add the RR engine in the works.

Essentially very tough to import combat jets after 2024.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

Vivek K wrote: Others would have reverse engineered the GE engine to learn from it and develop the Kaveri by now.
china has been buying Boeing commercial planes from the same time India started buying them, why are we yet to see a successful commercial jet engine from china so far?
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

ramana wrote:83+40= 123 Tejas. Add Mk2.
That means death of imports.

So lot of struggle on both sides.

Add the RR engine in the works.

Essentially very tough to import combat jets after 2024.
I'm sure the import lobby will find a way... Even right now with barely enough budget for approved and pending acquisitions we have an Airforce pushing for 114? MRCA and a Navy pushing for 57 MCBRF

Even if those numbers drastically come down that's still tens of Billions of dollars in phoren fighters.

The response of IAF towards Mk1 A once they start using it in ops will go a long way towards determining if we're gonna do away with imported maal in large quantities