Upcoming India-Pakistan War - Force Balances, Strategy, Tactics, etc.

Re: Upcoming India-Pakistan War - Force Balances, Strategy, Tactics, etc.

Indian Air Force bases with Su-30MKIs https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sukhoi_Su ... _Su-30MKIs
we can muster all 240 for duty in west if push came to shove .... 14 squadrons total.

Bareilly AFS: 15 Wing – No. 8 Squadron IAF Eight Pursoots (since mid-2007) & No. 24 Squadron IAF Hunting Hawks[83]
Bhatinda AFS: 34 Wing – No. 17 Squadron IAF Golden Arrows (since June 2012)[citation needed]
Chabua AFS: 14 Wing – No. 102 Squadron IAF Trisonics (since 8 March 2011)[83]
Halwara AFS: 34 Wing – No. 220 Squadron IAF Desert Tigers (since 25 September 2012)[83] & No. 221 Squadron IAF Valiants (since 24 April 2017)[84][85]
Jodhpur AFS: 32 Wing – No. 31 Squadron IAF Lions (since 1 October 2011)[83]
Lohegaon AFS: 2 Wing – No. 20 Squadron IAF Lightning (since 27 September 2002) and No. 30 Squadron IAF Rhinos (since 21 March 2005)[83]
Bhuj AFS:27 Wing - No. 15 Squadron IAF Flying Lancers.[83]
Tezpur AFS: 11 Wing – No. 2 Squadron IAFWinged Arrows (since 15 June 2009)[83]
Maharajpur AFS: 40 Wing - TACDE (since October 2010)[86][87]
Sulur AFS to get Su-30MKI aircraft in 2016.[88][needs update?]
Thanjavur AFS to host a squadron of 16–18 Su-30MKIs beginning in 2017.[89][90]
Kalaikunda AFS: New squadron raised to further strengthen the eastern sector[91]

I think SU-30 MKI fleet is 260-8 crashes 252, and another 2 will be delivered next month. Just Nitpicking but 12 of these bird s make a difference.

Suresh S wrote:others more knowledgeable than me will I am sure write the details but this is one way this war is going to unfold.
It will start when we least expect it. it will start with a Bramhos barrage in early morning both from land and from the Arabian sea. IAF will play a decisive role in the coming battle. PAF will cease to remain a serious threat after the first 48 hrs. Almost simultaneously with Bramhos barrage IAF will attack both from the west and from south(like israel). Attacks from west (Iran) and even north (tajikistan) are possible. PAF will have their attention diverted in every direction. They do not know which way it is coming from.Bramhos barrage will be directed at radar sites , sites of BM and cruise missiles and air defense batteries. I expect paki army HQ, ISI HQ will be hit. Expect HQ of jaish and Lasker will be hit.

Viky will play an important roll .There will be a naval blockade of pakistan.Large part of it,s navy is going to be destroyed.

Land battles will rage on all along the LOC and international border in Rajasthan, Punjab and Gujarat. I do not expect india to grab large parts of paki land except in kashmir that also in defensible positions only.

The threat of Nukes will always remain. I do not expect these to be used but of course to discount these entirely will be foolhardy. if pakis use nukes than all bets are off.
Sorry sir,
Before and land grab ets Suresh please read Rohit Vats posts on Pak defences and then analyse wrt our Engineering other support capabilities.

Karthik S wrote:I think it will boil down to air campaigns. There is no point in engaging in prolonged land battles. Air campaigns need to neutralise their airfields, HVTs, known missile launch sites along with artillery and armour of pak army.
Sir even if Goering had won the airway the Wehrmacht would have had to invade Britain to truly break the British spirit.
The Pak Army has a a hugely exaggerated influence in the Pak Def set up and I see no way other than a decisive land battle wherein we capture territory as something to once and for all rid them of the myth of 1 paki = 10 Indians. I say Indians as we have many Muslims serving with distinction in the Army and particularly in the JakLI.

As Chola sir mentioned, once PAF threat is taken care of, Mig 27s and Jaguars can be used in ground attack role taking on paki army's assets.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Singha wrote:Indian Air Force bases with Su-30MKIs https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sukhoi_Su ... _Su-30MKIs
we can muster all 240 for duty in west if push came to shove .... 14 squadrons total.

Sulur AFS to get Su-30MKI aircraft in 2016.[88][needs update?]
Thanjavur AFS to host a squadron of 16–18 Su-30MKIs beginning in 2017.[89][90]
Singha saar,

Thanjavur has the Sukhois already. Sulur, not yet.

How many jaguars do we have? 110+39 ?

How many have been upgraded so far if thats in public domain only ?

Mig27 we only have 40 left right ?

Mig21 bison 125 were upgraded shall it be fair to say around 115 are active ?

Tejas 1 squadron is now available and surge north

Y I Patel wrote:Speaking of Corps Commanders, by an interesting twist of fate, GOC 14 Corps is none other than Lt Gen Y K Joshi, better known as the commander of 13 JKRIF battalion of PVC honorees Capt Vikram Batra and Rifleman Sanjay Kumar - the conquerors of Pt 5140 during the Kargil war. If 14 Corps sees action, this will be poetic justice for the treachery of Kargil. I hope it does. My most ardent dreams center around what 14 Corps can do.
Not just this, IAF Chief Dhanoa was in Kargil.

He hasn't forgotten Sql Ldr Ahuja's death and 20 years later he has an opportunity to settle the score.

More than anything else, destruction of PAF F16 should be the objective. Nothing is going to break the morale than watching F16 been shot down.

Attrition of PAF should be the policy, every time PA tries it's terror trick against us.

Pakistan has Mughal-e-Azam Strike Fauj of 500 M-1A1 tanks, 7000 T-90Xerox Chinese tanks, 2000 ApaChin attack helicopters from China, and 200 F-16s carrying 1-Megaton bombs each, all ready for the Final Drive to Dilli. Last spotted (only a small percentage) per a post in another thread, that is correct.
Revenge For KhemKaran
Revenge For Asal Uttar
Revenge For Longewals
and most of all,
Revenge for Dacca
How are the puny yindoo forces described in the 50 posts above this, going to be any match for this?
More to the point, in any real attack, Pakistan can use the Syrian/Iraq ISIS tactic: Drive a dozen suicide-bomb trucks preceded 500 yards ahead by mine-detonators (small problem if they are too close...) THEN drive the main attack force of tanks through. This is what was done in Mosul and most other "successful" invasions of well-defended lines.

Attack may occur in flat Punjab terrain or Rajasthan or Gujarat-Sindh border.

I do not see that India has a counter to this. Standard response to a massive rolling artillery barrage is to duck inside trenches and pillboxes and bunkers and hope to survive the concussion and absence of a direct hit, then sit up, half-dazed and bleeding and operate the guns and rocket launchers as the infantry advance. Watch "A Bridge Too Far". Same thing happened after Koniev/ Zhukov's cosmic-scale barrage across Oder River in the drive to Berlin: Despite the absolute devastation there were enough German artillery/machine gun operators left to cause massive casualties among the advancing Red Army. Same thing in Normandy: MASSIVE aerial bombing with total air superiority plus Naval bombardment from a large number of warships, all concentrated on the beaches - and look at how many died at Omaha Beach etc.

But the SuperIED trucks are a different thing altogether. No defensive line has survived that so far: only an accurate, cool ATGM hit on every suicide truck while still a mile or two away, has had any real effect.

Add to this that unlike Syria/Iraq, India cannot expect 100% air superiority and freedom. Plus PA tanks will come with AA-missiles.

PA has converted some of its large M113 APC holding into bakhtar shikan ATGM launch vehicles with a retractable firing mechanism on the roof. these will operate from ambush positions and are small and agile being based off the M113. while they cannot 10 soldiers like a regular M113, the regulars could have dismounted infantry with smaller ATGMs , reloads of heavy ATGMs, comms vehicles and MMGs also to form a composite anti tank unit.

IA has expressed little interest in having a large holding of such Namica vehicles unless DRDO makes the Nag hit a moving target 12km away in 55C heat and makes Nag lighter by 5kg.

so soldiers coming out of BMP2 and lugging around Milan2T and reloads is mostly what we have. and BMP2 can fire konkurs. I would not lay much hope on T90 firing refleks.

http://vatsrohit.blogspot.com/2017/08/i ... uided.html

and the rudras do not have an ATGM because neither pars or spike came through.

Thats a TOW firing vehicle Singha ji.
http://russian-tanks.com/m113-series-vehicle.php

This is the RBS70 M113

BS is usually on jeeps but some pics exist on local IFV.
https://www.armyrecognition.com/pakista ... tures.html

like a smaller co running rings around a ponderous mammoth PSU, their sharp focussed purchases and upg programs (even with the usual bribery) would put our MOD led acquisition programs to shame. they have gotten value for the money and got it in better time.

True they arm themselves the best they can while we disarm ourselves and trust they want peace.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Nice summary of war with The Mighty Army That Hath Never Won A War Nor Fought A Battle Where They Did Not Make An Heroic, Speedy Advance To The Rear Swiftly and With Style (AKA Mughal-e-Azam)

Now, moving on, what do we expect to be this war's objectives? Punish Pulwama? How? By inflicting a sound defeat on Mughal-e-Azam? By capturing territory? By crippling Pakistani economy? Personally, I prefer blockading their ports for a few months. Let them try to keep their economy afoot and their energy demands met with just the Iran land route and their Chinese friends. If the Pakistani navy tries to break the blockade, sink it and then watch their righty army of 500 Abrams (shiver), 7000 chinese moving targets (o, the terror), 2000 chinese flying targets (I've wet my pants), 200 F-16s (I want to die to escape this nightmarish landscape of fearsome warmateriel), 1 megaton bombs (the horror! the horror!)

I would advise the might Mughal-e-Azam to adhere to Islamic principals of maintenance and war-readiness and that it's soldiers be ready for the traditional and very Heroic, Speedy Advance To The Rear Swiftly And With Style.

UlanBatori wrote:Blah... blah... blah... boiling down to "look my chinese sugar daddy's dick is bigger than thine."

@ Singha, Aditya,
That was most definitely possible a decade back. They also had FMS & G2G w/US and we didn't. But after we opened the Arms pipeline to Israel, France, US & ramped up our domestic firms, its no longer the case. I mean we kept hearing about night blindness of Indian tanks etc. Alpha (set up by ex-BEL R&D Head Col. Shankar), has upgraded hundreds of IA T-72s and BMPs with Israeli TISAS/TI sights. Similarly, lots of low viz. procurements have taken place. Plus our mass deals take place and in vast numbers w/local production at BDL, BEL, OFB etc.

If the balloon, goes up, wouldn't this be the first time PAF will be facing the full might of IAF on western Pak?

All the fights so far, had IAF divided across East & West.

We also have BMP with ATGM.

Singha wrote:so soldiers coming out of BMP2 and lugging around Milan2T and reloads is mostly what we have. and BMP2 can fire konkurs. I would not lay much hope on T90 firing refleks.http://vatsrohit.blogspot.com/2017/08/i ... uided.html
I am not sure you have it right in this case.

Milan2T is deployed by our SF, infantry via Jeeps and via dismount both (same as the PA on their jeeps, and dismount - difference being Milan 2T is a lighter missile and our entire missile + launcher set up is also lighter). PA has Bakhtar Shikan and TOW-2/2A (latter is their pride & joy, and carefully husbanded but without regular replenishment would be getting long in the tooth).

For BMPs, we use Konkurs-M via launcher on turret. BMPs are superior to M113, integral turret cannon+ ATGM, fired under armor + night sights

Refleks issue on T-90 was resolved and mass purchases made (w/assembly at BDL). Only problem being that Refleks is an expensive alternative to cheap long rod APFSDS as on western tanks without autoloader issues.
https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 938090.cms

Rudra lack of weapons is an issue, but we do have Mi-25/35 fleet with a range of ATGMs.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Will the balloon go up? An analysis of sorts...
1. On the one hand, we have a pissed off Indian govt that is raring to punish and avenge decades of terrorist death by a thousand cuts.
2. On the other hand, we have Pakistani Army (not govt), which cannot be seen to back down without giving ground to India (they would lose their sole excuse for existence and preeminence in Pakistani political landscape. They will have to go down the tried military coup road if they do and this time without Uncle Sam's tacit blessing.)
3. Pakistan will willingly use nukes if they think they can get away with it (that is, if they think that they can save their high command and if they think that the Americans or Russians or pretty much any other civilized nuclear power won't join us in nuking them back into the Stone Age in retaliation for first use.) I'm inclined to think that the Americans under Trump or the Russians under Putin likely will, though it'll probably be a false flag attack using one or more of the roughly hundred nukes that were unaccounted for in the chaos following the collapse of USSR. The plausible deniability
4. The Americans are not ready for a major war and they will try to defuse the situation. (their armies are almost spent after almost two decades of low intensity warfare (but without draft it was high intensity for the standing army as they did not expand the ranks and did not up war materiel production to account for attrition from wear and tear and being used up on battlefields. They are re-arming now and are starting to retrain for a major conventional bloodletting, something that I expect will take a decade. They do not want India weakened by nukes (we're a key piece in their anti-china alliance.)
5. The Russians have their arms full trying to secure their European border. Their aggressive expansions into Ukraine, Georgia, etc are to establish naturally defensible lines for a smaller army (one that they can support given their demography slow death.) They are also kind of overextended, a fact evidenced by their very late entry into the Syrian civil war (they went in only after Hezbollah, Iran and the pro-Syrian factions couldn't cut it against the Obama armed and trained raghead fanatics from Saudi Arabia and elsewhere and they did not commit a lot of troops.) They also aren't sending a huge number of troops to support Maduro now that Trump's USA is trying to get the socialist killer overthrown.
6. The Chinese aren't ready for a war. They are still building up their navy - which won't be ready until 2040 or thereabouts, which is when their last planned aircraft carrier will be commissioned and ready for combat operations. Their army isn't going to be much use in the Himalayas except for short raids (but raids in strength as demonstrated by the war we have already fought with them.) They can't guarantee security of Pakistani trade or energy supplies (their navy isn't ready and their OBOR infrastructure isn't up to the task of supporting Pakistan for an extended period. Finally, any war will destroy all their investment on OBOR within Pakistan. They will have to write-off about 60 billion USD, which will probably be the death knell for their overstretched banks.
7. Indian Armed Forces aren't really ready yet. We will win a war - no one who is rational doubts that - but we're still in the middle of a major re-equipping. The IAF numbers are still trending down, the IN is rebuilding and reinventing itself for Bluewater Ops, and the IA is not as strong on artillery as they would like.
8. Pakistan's army is even worse off. Without Uncle Sam's bribes, they are having to make do with rebuilding very old fighters and with JF-17 as well as other Chinese monkey models.

Given these factors, I'm inclined to think that we'll stop short of war, though the Pakistani army will saber rattle a lot (notice all this talk about having hospitals ready, moving troops to the front, etc.) But if it must be war, I would want our army's primary thrust be around the lahore sector with the aim of encircling and cutting the city and cutting off the main highway from Karachi to Islamabad.

Pakistan Nuke Doctrine
First, Pakistan appears to be amending its nuclear threshold and response options The article also mentions the same...with present four threshold

For the aar-paar ladaai, what's the missile strengths of Pak. What's their numbers in their short term missiles and how far they can come?

"If We Attack With 1 Nuke, India May Finish Us With 20": Pervez Musharraf
Addressing a press conference in the UAE on Friday, Mr Musharraf said: "Indian and Pakistan relations have again reached a dangerous level. There will be no nuclear attack. If we would attack India with one atomic bomb, then the neighbouring country could finish us by attacking with 20 bombs. Then the only solution is that we should first attack them with 50 atom bombs so that they cannot hit us with 20 bombs. Are you ready to first launch an attack with 50 bombs?
how will they his us with 20 or 50? :)

I think we need to put to public all their missiles count and then see what they can do. I am fairly confident PAF will be toast in few hours once IAF takes care.

We should also factor in Porki allies, as they have a history of supporting it during wartime. Unlike 1999 war, lines are very well drawn now IMHO.

1. China, can provide large enough unit of fighter (J-7) to replenish PAF depleting numbers during war. They can also provide Radars/artillery/MRLS units to augment their for force multipliers.

2. Saudi Arabia, is packed with best of the best western weapon system. Although UK/US may protest, but we should still factor in involvement of F-15s/Eurofighter in worst case scenario.

3. Turkey, again they can augment their F-16 fleet, or attack helos.

Given China's heavy investment in OBOR, Saudi getting Porki mercenary support for their Islamic Coalition force, and Turkey's longtime history of supporting PAF, we should make sure that these actors are in our war-gaming scenarios.

relevant video on obstacle crossings

Sid wrote:We should also factor in Porki allies, as they have a history of supporting it during wartime. Unlike 1999 war, lines are very well drawn now IMHO.

1. China, can provide large enough unit of fighter (J-7) to replenish PAF depleting numbers during war. They can also provide Radars/artillery/MRLS units to augment their for force multipliers.

2. Saudi Arabia, is packed with best of the best western weapon system. Although UK/US may protest, but we should still factor in involvement of F-15s/Eurofighter in worst case scenario.

3. Turkey, again they can augment their F-16 fleet, or attack helos.

Given China's heavy investment in OBOR, Saudi getting Porki mercenary support for their Islamic Coalition force, and Turkey's longtime history of supporting PAF, we should make sure that these actors are in our war-gaming scenarios.
Good points Sid sir.

How will China route the equipment to pak? Can't be over PoK surely. Naval route will be difficult given IN will cover the harbors. The same goes for KSA and UAE. Also, we have to assume that they will be willing to risk losing their most valued air assets for pakis sake.

surveillance

equipment inducted on such a short notice is not easily used..spares..training..maintenance procedures etc etc..only some basic equipment can be used immediately .. if the ballon does go up..its not going to last more than 5 to 6 days

darshhan wrote:
AshishAcharya wrote:I think the most important question we must ask ourselves is what is Pakistan's nuclear threshold? And can their delivery systems penetrate our defenses and hit our Cities. And what should we do to intercept it.

Another important thing is to make sure China/USA stays out of this war if we are preparing to make Pakistan bleed. We can't let it turn into a two front war with unkil secretly supplying Pakistanis with their weapons and China helping pakis against Indian 'aggression'. For that to happen, we have to isolate Pakistan at world stage like we had done in 1971 ( when it was committing a genocide ) use whatever means to make sure every other country stay out of this war.

If China and USA refuse to help Pakistan, Pakis will surely run to their Islamic ummah for help. And we must to do everything in our power that they also Don't interfere.

After we are done isolating pakis we must make sure that our spares/supplies are not cutoff by Russia/France/unkil/Israel ( our biggest defense partners)
The question is irrelevant now. I did an informal survey amongst my friends, acquainted and relatives. Almost 90% are ready to die in a nuclear war, provided Pakistan is punished and eventually destroyed. I am ready to bet this is true for most of the country too. In fact I make it a point to ask the same question to almost every one I am meeting these days. And invariably I am getting the same distance.Gone are the days when Pakis could commit massacres like 26/11 without repercussions. The generation has changed. Even Late Bharat Verma had predicted this.

I myself might not be alive after nuclear war. My property worth Crores will definitely be destroyed but I am totally ok with it. I guess this is the best part of being a hindu. For us the physical body is just a vehicle or a chariot which is transporting the atman to its next destination. All that Nuclear bomb can do is to destroy this physical body. Our atman will still be there. So what is the fuss? The sooner the merrier.
One question to ponder is whether an aarpaar type war will serve any purpose other than giving an already dying tsp a meaningful death in that they could then have the satisfaction of hurting a rather fast progressing India?

Note also that India will be much better prepared for such a war with every passing year. For example. By 2022, s400 and Raffles will be available amongst other assets, which will make a huge difference.

I feel the attack should be one that hurts and is very visible. Bringing obvious shame and attention to their impotence but leaving ample opportunity for their rape class to hide under burkha of being civilized.

Perhaps a missile strike on some camps or jem hq or even better, targeting an f16 or a warship. Ready pickings.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Madness. You're okay with destroying millennia of history and possibly our entire culture because a madman fanatic killed 40 fellow citizens? Wow!

Hopefully, no one in command authority is this fanatical. There is no difference between the raghead dimwits and us if they are.
darshhan wrote:
AshishAcharya wrote:I think the most important question we must ask ourselves is what is Pakistan's nuclear threshold? And can their delivery systems penetrate our defenses and hit our Cities. And what should we do to intercept it.

Another important thing is to make sure China/USA stays out of this war if we are preparing to make Pakistan bleed. We can't let it turn into a two front war with unkil secretly supplying Pakistanis with their weapons and China helping pakis against Indian 'aggression'. For that to happen, we have to isolate Pakistan at world stage like we had done in 1971 ( when it was committing a genocide ) use whatever means to make sure every other country stay out of this war.

If China and USA refuse to help Pakistan, Pakis will surely run to their Islamic ummah for help. And we must to do everything in our power that they also Don't interfere.

After we are done isolating pakis we must make sure that our spares/supplies are not cutoff by Russia/France/unkil/Israel ( our biggest defense partners)
The question is irrelevant now. I did an informal survey amongst my friends, acquainted and relatives. Almost 90% are ready to die in a nuclear war, provided Pakistan is punished and eventually destroyed. I am ready to bet this is true for most of the country too. In fact I make it a point to ask the same question to almost every one I am meeting these days. And invariably I am getting the same distance.Gone are the days when Pakis could commit massacres like 26/11 without repercussions. The generation has changed. Even Late Bharat Verma had predicted this.

I myself might not be alive after nuclear war. My property worth Crores will definitely be destroyed but I am totally ok with it. I guess this is the best part of being a hindu. For us the physical body is just a vehicle or a chariot which is transporting the atman to its next destination. All that Nuclear bomb can do is to destroy this physical body. Our atman will still be there. So what is the fuss? The sooner the merrier.
Last edited by Arun.prabhu on 25 Feb 2019 20:52, edited 1 time in total.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Been looking over the Paki Naval assets

If the balloon goes up, then these should come under some loving scrutiny of the IN and IAF.

In and around Krachi..

1. PNS Mehran - Shared usage of assets of infra with PAF -> Hosts the onions..
2. PNS Qasim - SSG (N) and Pak marines base
3. Karachi naval docks - Their biggest naval base with Surface and subsurface combatants berthing and re-supplying
4. PNS Hameed (VLF station near Karachi) - Need to go down as soon as the shooting starts

Balochistan..
1. PNS Makran -> Hosts their Helo arm. Might also serve as a place to hide air assets away from Indian assault
2. PNS Akram -> Another resupply point in Gwadar
3. PNS Ahsan -> Logistics, ELINT and re-supply point
4. Jinnah Naval base -> I suspect, some critical naval assets are already moved here and to the docking facilities in Gwadar. Slightly far away from IN's reach

So whats on Brahmos ER ? is it deployed? whats the advertised range of air launched Bmos?

Is SAAW inducted? !!

What are anti-missile systems that India currently has (not the future s-400s or ABM stuff) to counter the short term missiles of Pak?

Guys, please dont ask leading questions about current Indian eqpt especially latest kit. Pak stuff is fine.