Marshal of IAF Arjan Singh passes away

RIP Sir, India was lucky to have you at the helm at critical times.

Re: Marshal of IAF Arjan Singh passes away

It is a custom among Jats that when some person of this age life is celebrated with music, alcohol, parades, fire crackers, dances, etc.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arjan_Singh

Arjan Singh was born on 15 Apr 1919 in Lyallpur, Punjab (now Faisalabad, Pakistan), what was then British India in a distinguished military family. His father was a Lance Daffadar in the Hodson's Horse at the time of his birth, and retired as a full Risaldar of the Cavalry, serving for a time as ADC to a Division Commander. His grandfather Risaldar Major Hukam Singh belonged to the Guides Cavalry between 1883 and 1917. His great-grandfather, Naib Risaldar Sultana Singh was among the first two generations of the Guides Cavalry enlisted in 1854, he was martyred during the Afghan campaign of 1879. Arjan Singh was educated at Montgomery, British India (now in Pakistan). He entered the RAF College Cranwell in 1938 and was commissioned as a pilot officer in December 1939. As a distinguished graduate of the RAF College, Singh's portrait is now to be found on the walls of the College's west staircase.

Singh led No. 1 Squadron, Indian Air Force into combat during the Arakan Campaign in 1944. He was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) in 1944, and commanded the Indian Air Force Exhibition Flight in 1945. Singh almost faced a court-martial in February 1945 when he tried to raise the morale of a trainee pilot (later rumored to be the future Air Chief Marshal Dilbagh Singh) by conducting a low level air pass over a house in Kerala. In his defence, he insisted that such tricks were needed for every cadet to be a fighter pilot.

He was Chief of the Air Staff (CAS), from 1 August 1964 to 15 July 1969, and was awarded the Padma Vibhushan in 1965.[2] When appointed as Chief of the Air Staff of the Indian Air Force, he was just about 45. At such a young age, he commanded the Air Force in war. He has been the only Chief of the Air Staff to have headed the Air Force for five years as opposed to the regular tenure of two and a half to three years. He also became the first Air Chief Marshal of the Indian Air Force to be upgraded to the position of Air Chief Marshal from the rank of Chief of the Air Staff in recognition of his Air Force’s contribution in the 1965 war. He took retirement from his services in 1970 at the age of 50.

http://www.tribuneindia.com/news/nation ... 68091.html

by Roopinder Singh

Marshal of the Indian Air Force, Arjan Singh, DFC, has always had a larger-than-life image, and this is one person whose deeds continue to justify it. The Indian Air Force’s only Field Marshal has inspired generations of flyers ever since he joined the IAF in 1939 and was posted to IAF’s Number 1 squadron at Ambala in January 1940, flying in frail Westland Wapitis.

The man who led the IAF in the 1965 war has sold off his farm near Delhi, and entrusted a corpus of Rs 2 crore to a trust devoted to the welfare of retired Air Force personnel. Known for personal probity and punctiliousness, the MIAF has set a wonderful example in using personal wealth for the welfare of others.

“This is leadership from the front, which the IAF has seen right from the time he joined it in 1939, the gallantry in the Imphal campaign of 1944 and the conflict of 1965. It is unprecedented and completely selfless, which is what his actions have been throughout,” says Pushpinder Singh, editor of the Vayu Aerospace Review.

The Marshal of Air Force and Mrs Arjan Singh Trust will seek to open avenues of financial relief for ex-IAF personnel and their dependents who need assistance.

(Follow The Tribune on Facebook; and Twitter @thetribunechd)
The money has been invested in RBI bonds and it is expected that the returns from it will be Rs 16 lakh and “15 per cent of the interest will be added to the corpus and the rest disbursed to those applying for assistance,” says the MIFA.

MIAF Arjan Singh, his wife Teji Arjan Singh and their son Arvind Singh will be the trustees for life, but it will be run by the president of the Air Force Association and other ex-officio members of the IAF.

“I had full support of the family,” says Arjan Singh. His wife, Teji recalls that when she asked him, why he had put her name on it, he replied: “If you hadn’t agreed, how could I have done it?”

The farm that MIAF Arjan Singh sold was the last link he had with land, which was very dear to him. His grandfather, Risaldar-Major Bhagwan Singh, had a farm near Lyallpur, now called Faislabad, in Pakistan, where the young Arjan Singh spent his childhood, watching planes and dreaming of flying one, someday.

After Partition, the family was allotted 80 acres of land in Churwali village, near Adampur, Punjab. “I was also allotted a pucca house. Kartar Singh, a good man, used to look after the land and when I sold it, I gave the house to him. I sold off the land because I could not take care of it as I was in service. In fact, when I told Sardar Swaran Singh (the then External Affairs Minister), in whose constituency my land fell, how much I had sold it for, he chided me for selling it below the market rate,” he said in an earlier interview when this writer wrote his biography. The family also had land in Terai, which was tilled by his father Kishan Singh and other family members.

“I am no longer a Jat as you said in the book, I have no land now,” said Arjan Singh, recalling a comment made in the book, written two years ago, that the Jat in him was kept alive by the farm.
For this Aulakh Jat, giving up his land is a great gesture, and by setting up a trust for the welfare of others, Arjan Singh has set a shining example in a nation where such things have become rare. He has also instutionalised the trust by ensuring that family members do not run it. IAF officials “who are more in touch with the current needs” control it. This makes it even more important that his example be emulated. For this a climate has to be created, where such trusts are encouraged.

The founder of The Tribune Dyal Singh Majithia set up a number of trusts to serve the public, including The Tribune Trust, Union Academy (later known as Dyal Singh School and Dyal Singh College), Lahore, Dyal Singh Library and Dyal Singh College, New Delhi. The nation, on the whole, had gained a lot from philanthropic trusts like the Dorabji Tata Trust, which helped set up the first cancer hospital in Asia, and the Birla Educational Trust that runs hundreds of primary schools and colleges.

Unlike these luminaries, MIAF Arjan Singh comes from a service background. His father, Kishan Singh, a civil engineer, worked in Ceylon Railways. However he has always been large-hearted, and eventually it is not what you have that counts, it is what you give that makes a difference. The IAF will surely remember this magnificent gesture of its Field Marshal for a long time.

May god give your soul moksha

One of the greatest men to have served independent India in uniform. A truly historical figure. One of the immortals.

Sad. May he achieve Moksha.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 712993.cms
Indian war hero Arjan Singh's illustrious career: A timeline
TIMESOFINDIA.COM | Updated: Sep 16, 2017, 21:16 IST

Thanks for your service sir and RIP

My most sincere condolences to his family. May he rest in peace. The nation will miss you Sir.

JayS wrote:Sad. May he achieve Moksha.
He has died on Ekadesi very auspicious

Great Son of Mother India now attain his Moksha!
shyamal

Post by shyamal »

RIP Sir. Thanks for your service to our nation.
Snehashis

Post by Snehashis »

RIP Sir. Thanks for your service and the nation will miss you.
D.Mahesh

Post by D.Mahesh »

नभः स्पर्शं दीप्तम!
He personified the motto and ethos of the IAF. He is an inspiration for generations to come!
Last edited by D.Mahesh on 17 Sep 2017 08:02, edited 1 time in total.

Thank you for your services! We will celebrate your life!

http://im.rediff.com/news/2015/jul/28kalam-arjan.jpg

The iconic picture with the marshall saluting the president

That's classic please preserve it!

That picture and video brought tears to my eyes.A picture that should be hung in every Indian home and govt office. Marshall Arjan singh was in a wheel chair . He tried to get up on his own but it was difficult . You could see another officer holding him to steady him. A picture for generations of Indians to preserve , two great Indians , an inspiration to all Indians

Sir, thanks for securing the nation all these years. You were always an inspiration. RIP, sir.

With ACM Naik's grandson

My humble salutations to the first and only Marshal of the Indian Air Force.

May all sons & daughters of India be forever inspired by your life.

This brave soul have reached the divine guru, a process some of us call moksha. Salute to you sir, from a village boy who was born in the land that you guarded.

BTW, todays local paper says that the famous story of low pass over Kerala was actually over the home of a Keralite Airman, to let him see his village and folk. The paper says that it is as recited by the great man himself, and the version about the trainee pilot is wrong.

R.I.P Brave son of India.

'Because I could not stop for Death,
He kindly stopped for me..
The Carriage held but just Ourselves,
And Immortality.'

- You, Sir, shall be remembered.
Last edited by Manish_P on 17 Sep 2017 11:40, edited 1 time in total.
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

RIP Sir!

One phrase would sum him up in full."A legend in his lifetime",whose history in the IAF was the history of the IAF too,since he grew with it,the fledgling IAF of independent India,thrust into battle almost at birth.The country was lucky that he served as chief for 5 years,and took over at an early age too.He led by example.RIP great warrior!

A great warrior and a legend. Bhagwan unki aatma ko shanti de.

Passing of a Legend; he will be remembered for ages to come.

It is our fortune that all our Marshals, FM Cariappa, FM Manekshaw & Marshal Arjan Singh lived actively above 90 years and continued to offer their splendid service till the end. Great souls.

Rest in Peace, ARJAN Singh.
A giant amongst us all, we shall forever look skywards just as we did even when you were among us.
Ramesh

Post by Ramesh »

RIP brave son of India

RIP

Om Shanti

You have inspired millions and shall continue to do so long after you are gone...

legendary warriors will live forever in our hearts.
They never die.
Hope He continues to inspire young Indians in all walks of life.

twitter

So long MIAF Arjan Singh. . . .The Angels will Pilot you, and fly with you as Escort. This one retires now!!

Rest in Peace Sir!

The late Marshal looks like a Hero from another day and age. I would cast him in a historical epic -- from any period.

RIP.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

May his soul RIP.

Saw some fine photos of the great man by Sitanshu Kar, posting some here.

SSridhar wrote:It is our fortune that all our Marshals, FM Cariappa, FM Manekshaw & Marshal Arjan Singh lived actively above 90 years and continued to offer their splendid service till the end. Great souls.
What a soldier!!!

May he attain Moksha.

He has done more in this lifetime then many of us in a 100 lifetimes.

I think India should honor these three Field Marshals with statues near India Gate in the cardinal directions with the fourth statue of the Unknown soldier.

That would transition the memorial to the modern India.