BR Forums Feedback

JaiS

Re: Site Suggestions & Forum Feedback

Post by JaiS »

Hello,

The exact name is inconsequential as long as it is human sounding and pending directions from you it made sense for reasons highlighted by you in your post above. It has been subsequently changed as requested by you.

These are the forum guidelines.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

why are the moderators so oppressive.. :(( :(( :(( :(( :((
we are in the internet, aren't we??

so why this nazi like oppression. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

they locked down 2 of my threads.

they tell me 2 discuss it in existing threads.
they seem 2 hv lost their minds.

how can i , when these threads are totally differrent from the existing threads.
u can ask shiv, he had seen one of them.

we hv to do something abt this.

i am pretty sure, that they had not even read my posts.
coz they locked it within a minute.
Last edited by kumar_k on 23 Nov 2008 18:40, edited 1 time in total.

:rotfl: :rotfl: what's happening? Are we under attack by some clone army? Too much of Noise now a days..
Hariprasad

Post by Hariprasad »

kumar_k is on a roll :rotfl:
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

Is it wrong if,
i want to contribute to this forum with all that i know and find interesting.

senior members,
cant u tell the moderators to take it easy, and find some other and more productive work.
instead of locking all threads without even reading through it??
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

it takes time and effort to post something good.
and that mod , he just ruins all my effort.
and discourages me from actively participating in the forum.

i think this forum is not controlled by nazi's or commies.
and i am not a propaganda agent or a paki.

so please, do something about it..... :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

dear kumar_k,
as a matter of fact the 'senior members' are having a laugh at your expense. :lol:

when you registered on this board you agreed to the stipulated terms, in particular :
.........You agree that “Bharat Rakshak” have the right to remove, edit, move or close any topic at any time should we see fit..........
and kindly run-off to read the forum guidelines at the top of the page.
(which are printed in RED so that people with millisecond attention spans don't miss it) :)

please don't waste our time with inane topics.
do tell me what extra information you have on the LCA that merits a new thread instead of the existing one ?

plz understand that nobody is discouraging you from participating but BRF is a little different from other boards. lurk around for sometime to get the hang of it.
regards.

p.s. also, please DO NOT use a lot of emoticons and/or large fonts/all caps etc.
let's not turn this into a circus.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

i am not talking about the lca..

the threads that i mind being deleted were:

Future Aircraft Carriers
FMBT t 95
chinese jxx program

these threads were unique and did not deserve to be locked out so quickly.
i shud hv been given some time.
to add on it.

looking fr ur reply.
and i am writing this bcoz i want the seniors 2 help me out, and not laugh at me.

Bismillah, so many IB4TLs missed out. Hey Rahul, not fair, you are not giving us a decent chance.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Rahul did not lock them. Only shiv managed an IB4TL before bredator jinn strike... :mrgreen:

kumar_k

(a) Please read the forum guidelines.

(b) It is advisable to lurk a while and get a feel for the forum culture before you post.

(c) Please respect copyright. Posting huge excerpts, scanned pages etc from copyrighted material is not allowed.

(d) Large inline images (like the aircraft carriers) affect the page formatting. A simple link would suffice.

(e) These topics have been discussed for years on BRF. If you have some new viewpoint or question, we welcome it. However, please use one of the pre-existing relevant threads.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

i do not know why the seniors are behaving like nobles.
their attitude simply sucks. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
i had a very good opinion abt this forum.

nayak, hariprasad and sunilupa.
if u are not capable of helping pls do not reply.

and to the mods.
i dont think that jxx, other futuristic aircraft carriers and t95 tanks hv been discussed here.

i know, that it's not rahul. :evil: :evil:
i can see the name "Gerard" everywhere. :evil: :evil:
u cud hv told me, and i wud hv modified the images. :evil: :evil:
and summariseed the excerpts. :evil: :evil:
and the pictures hv not been scanned frm any book.
they are meant for free and non commercial use :evil: :evil:
renukb

Post by renukb »

Nayak wrote:Abduls can't post fonts greater than size 150, but the option for Huge (size 200) is provided.

:(( :(( :((
Don't insult people by taking names... It is bcoz of some Abdul's, India is still independent... Have you ever heard of or Remember the name 'Abdul Hameed' the 1965 war hero?

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/bollyw ... 11108.html

kumar_k wrote:and to the mods.
i dont think that jxx, other futuristic aircraft carriers and t95 tanks hv been discussed here.
They have.

I changed your username (to kumar_k) to conform with forum guidelines. Let us know if you want another name.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

Shiv wrote: Welcome akumar. I am happy to see you start all these threads at every possible opportunity

The admins of this forum (who have no better work) will tell you to read the forum guidelines, but I think those forum guidelines need to be trashed.

i will start a new thread to reply to your post..Sorry for using your new thread.
ok if it has been discused already,
then why am i not able to see it in the search.??

And,
then why is this message from a senior.??

or is the privilege of posting new threads available only to the seniors?? :twisted: :twisted:
Or bcoz admins cannot take actions against them?? :evil: :evil:

u cannot be so narrow minded,
it is a forum, and we r allowed 2 post our views here??
u cud hv waited fr the other mods 2 decide, on my threads.
but u locked it within minutes...
Last edited by kumar_k on 23 Nov 2008 20:18, edited 1 time in total.

Future Aircraft Carriers
FMBT t 95
chinese jxx program

to add on it.

looking fr ur reply.
and i am writing this bcoz i want the seniors 2 help me out, and not laugh at me.
over here we try to keep thread proliferation to a minimum so that really important ones are not lost in the noise.

if you want a new thread for T-95 what do you think the "Artillery and Armour" is there for ?
do tell me WHY it is not sufficient for your needs ?

same for
1)future AC ---> international military discussion.
2)j-xx ---> china military watch.

BTW, uninformed speculation is not encouraged here and there will be NO reconsideration on that, irrespective of what you think.
secondly, I note that you have continued on an emoticon spree in spite of my request. I may not be so kind next time.
thirdly, it does not matter who locked your topic, whether gerard or any other mod. plz understand that any other mod would also have done the same, including me

I'll ask this one more time, have you read the forum guidelines after all our requests ?
if you don't answer and continue posting inanities I promise I'll simply remove them. :)

kumar_k wrote:ok if it has been discused already,

And,
then why this message from a senior.??

or is the privilege of posting new threads available only to the seniors?? :twisted: :twisted:
Or bcoz u cannot take actions against them?? :evil: :evil:
shiv ji can be cruel at times ! :twisted:

FYI, the person was himself a very accomplished mod until a few days ago(he resigned on his own) and a no-nonsense one at that ! :wink:

also, anybody can start a new topic, you just have to find the right issue !
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

Future Aircraft Carriers
FMBT t 95
chinese jxx program

to add on it.

looking fr ur reply.
over here we try to keep thread proliferation to a minimum so that really important ones are not lost in the noise.

if you want a new thread for T-95 what do you think the "Artillery and Armour" is there for ?
do tell me WHY it is not sufficient for your needs ?

same for
1)future AC ---> international military discussion.
2)j-xx ---> china military watch.

BTW, uninformed speculation is not encouraged here and there will be NO reconsideration on that, irrespective of what you think.
secondly, I note that you have continued on an emoticon spree in spite of my request. I may not be so kind next time.
thirdly, it does not matter who locked your topic, whether gerard or any other mod. plz understand that any other mod would also have done the same, including me

I'll ask this one more time, have you read the forum guidelines after all our requests ?
if you don't answer and continue posting inanities I promise I'll simply remove them. :)
well i am new to this thread.
i hv read the rules.
and it does not mention the use of emoticons.

anyway,
all i am saying is that u cud hv given me some time, or u shud have warned me.
i was abt to add more to the threads. but u stopped me dead in between.
and u all are the mods, and bcoz u know more that i do abt this forum.
why did'nt u shift all that data fr me.....??
now all that stuff that i wrote has vanished.
and i need to do all that all over again, it is frustating u c??

all i am saying is that u cud HAVE GIVEN ME SOME MORE TIME.
is this too much to ask for??

it gives an impression that the mods enjoy flexing their muscles to show their power, on helpless fellows like us.

if shivji can post a new thread on T95 or the FMBT,
why can't i??

please reply soon..
i would appreciate other senior member's participate.
thanks.

I wish i could write a javascript that could eat all the emote-icons on this page...A BR version of Pacman

By the way, i am a very old member & i have not read any guidelines ....and been none the worse for it... Sometimes commonsense & etiquettes are all that one needs to find the way..for those who still cant figure out the left from the right..there are guidelines.

BTW..i notice some people have a joining date as 1970....we had web then? More importantly, BR was present then!

kumar_k wrote:
Shiv wrote: Welcome akumar. I am happy to see you start all these threads at every possible opportunity

The admins of this forum (who have no better work) will tell you to read the forum guidelines, but I think those forum guidelines need to be trashed.

i will start a new thread to reply to your post..Sorry for using your new thread.
ok if it has been discused already,

And,
then why is this message from a senior.??

Or bcoz admins cannot take actions against them?? :evil: :evil:

u cannot be so narrow minded,
it is a forum, and we r allowed 2 post our views here??
u cud hv waited fr the other mods 2 decide, on my threads.
but u locked it within minutes...
Sorry kumar and welcome to BRF. Please do not use so many smilies, and please read the forum guidelines. It will explain some admin actions to you. You are not being targeted.

Every single BRF member is an enthusiast such as yourself. Many have questions that cannot be answered and many have answers for which questions have not yet been asked. It clutters up the forum to have a new thread started for every news item or doubt that someone has. You are better off lurking for a bit on the forum before you start posting.
kumar_k wrote: if shivji can post a new thread on T95 or the FMBT,
why can't i??

please reply soon..
i would appreciate other senior member's participate.
thanks.
I can't. I was only joking because some enthusiastic new members such as yourself do things that end up being amusing to a lot of old codgers and fuddy duddies. Nothing personal - you are welcome - but you need to join the forum like you would join a stream of fast traffic on a busy highway from a slipway on the side. If you stand out - you are heading for a collision.

BTW..i notice some people have a joining date as 1970....we had web then? More importantly, BR was present then!
Unix time, or POSIX time, is a system for describing points in time, defined as the number of seconds elapsed since midnight Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) of January 1, 1970, not counting leap seconds. It is widely used not only on Unix-like operating systems but also in many other computing systems.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

i hv been lurking around BR for the past 4 years.
it remains as my prime and last knowledge source on the indian armed forces.

i understood the emoticon part, srry fr that.
and that request thread was a mistake.
as i pressed the new post button.(but it was fr new threads)

i wanted to post,and my post was locked.
without even giving me an opportunity to complete my threads.
or any prior warning.

OK, so i get it now. I am expected to remain as a trainee for the next 5 or 6 years.
until , the grace of the almighty moderators falls on me and i am allowed to start threads, or post freely.

If u r not allowed to even complete ur threads, how can u contribute.??
if a post is to be deleted atleast give the author some time to express himself.

btw,china's secret sub base was not locked.
it shud hv been posted under china military watch. ??

F-16, F-18, Grip, MiG-35 and Rafale Technical Resource Only
it cud hv been accomodated in mmrca article..??

there are 2 articles on chandrayaan 1
all of them cud hv been integrated in aerospace discussion or atleast under the indian space article.
shiv wrote:Many have questions that cannot be answered and many have answers for which questions have not yet been asked.
shivji, now is that not an easy answer to get away with.??
u r a senior member.

i am just asking for justice.

Just tell me that all my argument is in vain.
And my case is simply hopeless here.

and i will not post any more.
i promise to be a silent member from now.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

have the pigs started flying? pakis are teaching indians how to respect their war heroes who have kept india "still independent".
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

kumar_k wrote:i hv been lurking around BR for the past 4 years.
it remains as my prime and last knowledge source on the indian armed forces.

i understood the emoticon part, srry fr that.
and that request thread was a mistake.
as i pressed the new post button.(but it was fr new threads)

or any prior warning.

OK, so i get it now. I am expected to remain as a trainee for the next 5 or 6 years.
until , the grace of the almighty moderators falls on me and i am allowed to start threads, or post freely.

If u r not allowed to even complete ur threads, how can u contribute.??
if a post is to be deleted atleast give the author some time to express himself.

all of them cud hv been integrated in aerospace discussion or atleast under the indian space article.
shiv wrote:Many have questions that cannot be answered and many have answers for which questions have not yet been asked.
shivji, now is that not an easy answer to get away with.??
u r a senior member.

i am just asking for justice.

Just tell me that all my argument is in vain.
And my case is simply hopeless here.

and i will not post any more.
i promise to be a silent member from now.

For how long will i have to wait to get a simple Reply from the Almighties.?

This is the THIRD and LAST time I'll answer these queries.
here goes.
or any prior warning.

why your thread was locked has been explained about 100 times by 50 people.
inane threads are not supposed to be completed. and the admins have to take a call on that.

if you are actually interested in discussing these things why not repost the content ?
I understand that gerard has removed some posts for copyright violation and you are upset about it. please realize that this is a serious matter and he has every right to do so in the interests of the forum.

this is nothing personal. next time please post the links (which is a must).
cool down buddy ! :)
the trainee/brfite/oldie tags hold NO importance whatsoever. it's just a reflection of post count.you lose your trainee tags as soon as you cross 100 posts, it's not up to the moderators.
also you will frequently find many respected posters with trainee tags, it is not a measure of a poster's value.

what's this 'chip on the shoulder' about almighty mods ?
FYI, most of the current group of moderators started out as trainees just as you are.
same goes for the INS Tabar-piracy/Indian Navy thread right ?
the point is some topics are allowed threads of their own if
a) they concern really important happening news as in this case. these can also be archived which is not possible for regular threads.

OR

Edit1 :

b)very specific topics that are important enough to have an exclusive thread AND more importantly, has to have enough information available in the public domain to sustain a thread.
the original MRCA thread was hijacked by the personal opinions of various enthusiastic members which is why we had a "F-16, F-18, Grip, MiG-35 and Rafale Technical Resource Only" thread.
you mean threads I suppose. there is only one. as I said CY-1 is an important enough event to merit a thread by itself.

edit 2: just a request, please avoid using words like 'hv', 'cud' etc if you want to be taken seriously around here.
DISCLAIMER : Before you complain about oppressive moderators and what not,
this is not a moderator directive, just a fact of how BRF thinks in general. :wink:
regards.
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

BhaiiLog,

After all this commotion and tamasha going on, I started browsing the archives and I have one suggestion:

In every archived thread can't we not provide the link to the thread that was followed from it. Lets say Indian Space Discussion needs to be archived. After archiving the thread lets say someone starts a follow up main thread. We should provide a link in the archive to point people to where the derivative threads have gone.

Just my 0.0002 paisa.

OT post, but I guess I am watch evolution taking a step backwards one post at a time.

Adminullah Rahul_mian and Gerarduddin, hats off for your patience, the temptation to swing the heavy hammer must constantly weigh you down. I don't think I would have resisted that long !!

I would like to use this post to present a hilal-e-jurrat to the over-worked, under-paid admins of BR.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
mohan

Post by mohan »

lakshmikanth wrote:BhaiiLog,
In every archived thread can't we not provide the link to the thread that was followed from it. Lets say Indian Space Discussion needs to be archived. After archiving the thread lets say someone starts a follow up main thread. We should provide a link in the archive to point people to where the derivative threads have gone.
Isn't that already done? I remember that was how it used to be..and I think that is how it still is..besides, you can always use the search function..

Sorry to bring in something out of topic...

For about 20 minutes (5:00 to 5:20 PM EST) .... I kept getting "Mx number of SQL connections" error when trying to navigate across BRF....I guess there were some 161 guests and some 20 members at that time accessing the thread...moderators am sure u wud already know abt this...but just a heads-up in case you dint....guess the number of people wanting to voice their thoughts was too over-whelming for those 20 mins....
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

ok i understand...

use emoticons as less as possible
use existing threads, unless the content is too important...
and only formal english ..

any more ..??

sorry for all that trash above..
Saral

Post by Saral »

admins: my post counts looks unreasonably low.. is it because of trashed threads?

yes boss. we all lost post counts with the forum upgrade.
Shivani

Post by Shivani »

kumar_k wrote:any more ..??

Yes, get some grasp of grammar and learn how to format your post. Among other things:
  • Capitalize the first letter in your sentences. The I too, unless you slave for Indu Jain.
  • Do not finish sentences with a random numbers of dots. One is sufficient.
  • Do not hit the 'Enter' key randomly. This is not your fault; you are ahead of other students in your class. Your teachers will cover the formation of sentences and paragraphs next year.
  • Take permission from parents. Let them view this website. Post here with their consent.
Do not feel sorry for the trash you have contributed. Education is a slow process. :)

On similar~ish note:

Administrators, can the moderator(s) be motivated to type properly? When moderators use words (phrases?) like "pls" and "thx" it is rather naive to expect members to contribute in a legible manner.

Shivani wrote:[
Administrators, can the moderator(s) be motivated to type properly? When moderators use words (phrases?) like "pls" and "thx" it is rather naive to expect members to contribute in a legible manner.
I doubt it - that particular moderator is still in middle school.
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

Shivani wrote:
kumar_k wrote:any more ..??

Yes, get some grasp of grammar and learn how to format your post. Among other things:
  • Capitalize the first letter in your sentences. The I too, unless you slave for Indu Jain.
  • Do not finish sentences with a random numbers of dots. One is sufficient.
  • Do not hit the 'Enter' key randomly. This is not your fault; you are ahead of other students in your class. Your teachers will cover the formation of sentences and paragraphs next year.
  • Take permission from parents. Let them view this website. Post here with their consent.
Do not feel sorry for the trash you have contributed. Education is a slow process. :)

On similar~ish note:

Are you thinking that i am a 10 year old, who is just loittering around the forum?
if, yes then i doubt your intellect .

Why is the Bombay attack thread "Terror Attacks in Mumbai" not figuring on the Homepage, considering its the most active thread!
Its a pain to search for it, when it should have automatically been on the homepage as a link

due to a SW issue no threads from outside mil is shown on homepage.

Rahul M wrote:due to a SW issue no threads from outside mil is shown on homepage.
Request you to add it as a news item link on the left side

AdityaM wrote:
Rahul M wrote:due to a SW issue no threads from outside mil is shown on homepage.
Request you to add it as a news item link on the left side
good idea - done!
kumar_k

Post by kumar_k »

where should i post pics of :
different and unique military vehicles??
They are not Humorous pics.

Moderators, Please Guide me..

why not search the thread before asking ?

1) misc. pics thread if pics are Indian.
2)international military if foreign.

For 2), do NOT post inline pics unless these are thumbnails, give links only.
tutorial for posting pics/thumbnails given in FIRST post of misc. pics thread.

Dreaded and Oppressive Adminullahs,

How long does 1 ban warning last ? The first one was on 26th Aug 2008 and the second one on 28th Nov.

I can't believe that beedees are tolerated on this board whereas a response to WKK results in a ban warning.

:(( :(( :((