Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

vdutta,
Thanks a lot. If you come across any other MARCOS pics from Navy Day celebrations, please post them too. Also, did anyone come across any good video footage of MARCOS demonstration at Navy Day? All I can find are footage taken by jingos using hand held cameras. Was the event not covered by any news channel?

vdutta wrote:more from the same stack

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/2655/610xcb.jpg
OOOOFFF! That guy really looks like he's been landed a heavy kick. Kasab should be used for such demos and he should earn his keep. Also Afzal Guru etc.

Is the right-hand-side MARCO's MP5 missing its mag?

No, the mag is very much there. Although, there is some motion blur present...so you may have been confused by that.

^^yeah, now I see it. I guess the mag is more worn than the weapon and almost seems to blend with the background grey. Saw the same phenomena with the CISF guys at T3 in Dilli - their MP5Ks are shiny while the mags are pretty well worn. The MP5Ks have a clip arrangement which makes them hang from the belt and allows the fella to quickly swivel it and shoot from the hip.

Raja Bose wrote:Is the right-hand-side MARCO's MP5 missing its mag?
It is like how Heath Ledger made the pencil disappear in The Dark Knight. In real life, that Marcos would keep an empty magazine upright in the chair and then slam the Paki down.

(answer's Doc-saar's comment on the dude's expression)

Al Quibble: despite good TFTA credentials, that impersonator looks too pretty to be a paki, not realistic :evil:
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

hnair wrote:
It is like how Heath Ledger made the pencil disappear in The Dark Knight. In real life, that Marcos would keep an empty magazine upright in the chair and then slam the Paki down.
BADASS
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

hnair wrote:
bad idea. i bet the paki will like it.

Gaur: i have seen video of this event on TV news. dont remember what channel but they showed it in news , not live though.

Why is ze Paki using INSAS ?
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

jamwal wrote:Why is ze Paki using INSAS ?
Why did the pakistani's in border use T 55's and not the type 59's?
Radhey

Post by Radhey »

sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

http://indianautosblog.com/2010/06/spot ... ial-images

six month old but still new as no other news or pic available in domain
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

http://gearheads.in/attachment.php?atta ... 48&thumb=1

any information regarding this TATA products?
Kunal

Post by Kunal »

thats the tata 8x8 independent suspension truck to try and replace tatra

Rescue operators reach the site where a Mi-26 chopper of the Indian Air Force crashed at theTechnical Airport in Jammu. AP Photo/Channi Anand
Daily Excelsior:
Seven Indian Air Force (IAF) personnel including a Squadron Leader and two engineers of the Konkan Railways Corporation Limited (KRCL) were injured. The helicopter was airlifting heavy road and tunnel construction machinery for the Northern Railways to Reasi-Sangaldan stretch of the Katra-Qazigund Railway Project. When it attained the height of just 30 to 40 meters above the airstrip, the helicopter all of a sudden crashed and fell on the ground near the runway with a big bang causing grievous injuries to all the persons on board. Rs 4 crore worth Temrok machine weighing 14 tonnes suffered extensive damage in the crash, official sources said.

This was the 19th sortie of the MI-26 to the Reasi-Sangaldhan belt, where machinery was being airlifted to pave the way for construction of approach roads up to the alignment of the railway track, official sources said while disclosing that early 18 sorties were conducted successfully since October 29 when the first sortie was made by the MI-26 carrying dozers and tipper:
A tipper being off loaded from a M1-26 helicopter at a remote area of Reasi district in J&K.

Daily Excelsior

^^^ both are not the same chopper one is Z2897 the one that crashed is z3xxx

family photo shoot.

LCA's from TD to LSP..

Cadets celebrate after the Combined Graduation Parade at the Air Force Academy Dundigal in Hyderabad on Saturday. A total of 171 flight cadets comprising 39 women flight cadets have passed out of the academy.

Vishal Jolapara wrote: Canon has now gotten very aggressive in .bhphotovideo.com/c/product/589104-REG/Canon_EOS_Rebel_XS_a_k_a.html]here[/url], everything you need to start-off - a decent dSLR Camera Body + wideangle-to-midrange + a telephoto lens

It'll be nice to see you at Yelahanka with that gear, me & Kedar will be glad to help you along Image
Vishal ji I have a a Canon 30D , 17-55 f/2.8, 10-22, 70 -300mm and unrelated to aviation photography I have a 30mm f/1.4 prime and a 60mm macro. I am planning to lose my gear and get a full frame. Plus I don't think that my 70-300 is long enough or fast enough :). Let's see where it goes. Do you have a lens to suggest?

For me the biggest problem is that I don't have the time and money to travel :).

indranilroy wrote:[ Vishal ji I have a a Canon 30D , 17-55 f/2.8, 10-22, 70 -300mm and unrelated to aviation photography I have a 30mm f/1.4 prime and a 60mm macro. I am planning to lose my gear and get a full frame. Plus I don't think that my 70-300 is long enough or fast enough :). Let's see where it goes. Do you have a lens to suggest?

For me the biggest problem is that I don't have the time and money to travel :).
err you guys can take that discussion to here

The Indian Army's new NBC recce vehicle.

NBC Vehicle

Pic courtesy TOI.

Edit: Don't know why the pic doesn't appear. Use the link.
Neeraj Bagga

Post by Neeraj Bagga »

^^^ This is a BMP2-Sarath
WIKIPedia: BMP-2 "Sarath" based NBC reconnaissance vehicle. Externally very similar to the basic vehicle but fitted with all kinds of sampling, testing and marking systems. The NBCRV was developed by DRDO and VRDE and has been ordered by the Indian army.

^^ By new I meant newly inducted at Pune. :)
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

Did you guys check, the vehicle has a 100mm gun and BMP2 doesn't have a 100mm, it has only 30mm.
I think this is a derivative of BMP 1.

^^^The gun in the pic is 30mm canon.

Some Classic Photos from Wg Cdr R S Chauhan's flickr stream (Added today)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/torqueavia ... 2454/show/

Jagan wrote:Some Classic Photos from Wg Cdr R S Chauhan's flickr stream (Added today)

Very nice - particularly a view of the Suryakirans as one of the pilots might see them.
girish.r

Post by girish.r »

Jagan wrote:Some Classic Photos from Wg Cdr R S Chauhan's flickr stream (Added today)

Very nice - particularly a view of the Suryakirans as one of the pilots might see them.
Second that! Stunning images! Thank you!
shelly

Post by shelly »

Amazing...!

These are the best photos that I've seen in a while. Is it possible to buy the prints ?

jamwal wrote:These are the best photos that I've seen in a while. Is it possible to buy the prints ?
You can visit his web site http://www.torqueaviation.com/. He is also prints Aviation Calender. So you can contact/email him from his website.

Many thanks
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Excellent photography... wallpaper worth!!!

Click on Image for Hi-Res

More at Tarmak007
http://tarmak007.blogspot.com/2010/12/b ... ndian.html

folks,

Can some one drop into SRM University, Chennai?

“Pride of India – Science Expo – 2011”, that is being organized during 03-07 Jan 2011 as part of 98th Indian Science Congress (ISC-2011) at SRM University, Chennai.
Star attraction at DRDO stall is the live exhibit MBT (Main Battle Tank) Arjun, which has become the pride possession of Indian Army forming two of its armored regiments. Other items on display include models of “Tejas” the first indigenous and worlds lightest flying Light Combat Aircraft; Strategic and tactical missiles and some of their sub-systems displaying cutting edge technologies that have been mastered indigenously; Rustom, Nishant and Lakshya Unmanned aerial vehicles; Unmanned ground vehicles, computerized pilot selection system; life support systems; “Combat free fall system” capable of dropping paratrooper from a height of 30,000 feet; Protective gear for protection against Nuclear Biological and Chemical agents. Major DRDO labs for the nine technology clusters of DRDO are participating in the expo with more than 100 exhibits and models along with charts and films during this mega event.

tarmak has a new article on wheeler island.

Hope this is not posted earlier.
women guards at wagah :)

krisna wrote:Hope this is not posted earlier.
women guards at wagah :)
Lovely. Could someone also post some photus of Paki donkeys in uniform stomping their hooves at Wagah for a laugh?