Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

ssmitra

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by ssmitra »

ParGha wrote:
ssmitra wrote:
Policing methods and operating procedures are archaic at best and left over from the British system with the sole aim of subjugating the population. What you say about "friendly local constable " is very true but its also true if he misbehaves with you or your family and you object.
Of course I would object (and much more), but more importantly and first off I wouldn't give him reason to do so. I wouldn't force people to shut-down their businesses and disrupt others' lives. I wouldn't gang up with a couple of hundred young men from my area and bottle up a dozen policemen. I wouldn't start pushing around peace-officers. I wouldn't start throwing stones at them. I wouldn't do any of these especially if my neighborhood has a reputation for occasionally hosting tangos. Heck, I wouldn't unbuckle my seat-belt without requesting due permission and reaching for the release slowly, deliberately and in clear view. I don't endanger his life or well-being, hence I would object if he did. The young men in those mobs have done all that... and more. You see why I wouldn't object to seeing them paid back in some small measure for their misdeeds?
my point is we have become a nation with one of the strongest economies. May be we should start spending more on our jawans and also retrain and re-equip our police.
I think immediate and responsible presence is more important than gear. Nip things in the bud, if you will. Gucci-gear equipped police aren't necessarily more effective. But if you can spend on numbers AND gear, all the power to you.
you miss my point, I am not talking about them beating the crap or shooting at the rioters. When you riot and burn property whether you are a hindu in gujrat or a muslim in kashmir you deserve to get shot at and beaten up.
I am talking about protecting the police and jawans themselves with better gear. Gucci-gear police may not be more effective but can you really say that the gear DOES NOT provide better protection for the jawans.
abhishek

Post by abhishek »

Holy $#!&, look at our SPG dudes,

Kunal

Post by Kunal »

that looks like an echo e90

http://www.echo1usa.com/news/E90/
dinakar

Post by dinakar »

http://www.network54.com/Forum/211833/t ... ndo+Images
Found a picture in this link saying "ONly Available picture of a SFF Female Operator"... :eek:
Is she really from SFF :?:

abhishek wrote:Holy $#!&, look at our SPG dudes,

Does he look mean, or does he look mean?

Is the SPG toughie actually sporting a hairdo??
Looks to have walked out straight from a movie set!!!!!! :eek: :eek: :twisted:

rshyam wrote:http://www.network54.com/Forum/211833/t ... ndo+Images
Found a picture in this link saying "ONly Available picture of a SFF Female Operator"... :eek:
holy s&^*, what a collection of pics there ! well she is para qualified if I am seeing things properly. comparing with the Dapon's picture here, that may be true !
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/LAND-FORC ... &Itemid=26#

great find in that case rshyam !

Actually, we would have lots of SFF female pics(not in uniform,of course)...
Any Dalai Lama pic with a few women around him would most probably mean the women are SFF....

Btw, amazing collection of pics...love the pic of Capt.Sudhir Verma of 9 SF in complete ethnic Afghan dress!!!!
Also, the snippet about Romeo force getting its name from leaving love letters on dead terrorists is :twisted: :twisted:

rshyam wrote:http://www.network54.com/Forum/211833/t ... ndo+Images

I guess you are right.. lol I rememebr in 1992-93 a pakistani based terror group kidnapped a bunch of foriegners in Kashmir. Indian SF went in for the rescue but the search was called off as the SAS was sent under heavy diplomatic leverage and Indian SF said that they would act as guides. the SAS said bugger off and ended up spending a few weeks gettin lost in the mountains. A few weeks after that the hostages heads were found. The SAS and Indian SF do not share a good relationship after that. They are persona non grata here. Indian SF have trained with the Royal Marine Commandos and the SBS actually helped raise the MARCOS..but SAS is not really favoured.

PS. India too has heavy intense RainForest. 2nd SF are earmarked for Jungle Operations only. The Counter Insurgency Jungle WarFare School in Mizoram is where ALL foriegn SF units come to train even before going to the High Altitude Warfare School.

Acharya saar,Link for the above conversation?

sum wrote:Acharya saar,Link for the above conversation?
the one quoted in the post.

:oops: ..
Just got lost in the stunning pics and didnt read the other stuff in the posts.

abhishek wrote:Holy $#!&, look at our SPG dudes,

:eek: :eek: :shock: Where was this shot?? Any other enlarged pics of these rock solid protectors?? would like to take a close up details....amazing

btw...looks like wesley snipes in Blade...

Looks like an FN Herstal P-90. Interesting.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Larger Pic.. Hope the Equipment upgrade spreads to the Rest of Indian Armed Forces SF units.

The Kneepads etc are cosmetic to a degree. I am more impressed with the Sling he is using for the Gun. Seems like a Snake Chalker SEAL 3 point sling.. Anybody?

From ToI..

NEW DELHI: Even as the gala Independence Day celebrations unfolded at the Red Fort on Friday morning, many were left gawking at the SPG commandos accompanying the Prime Minister. Armed with automatic weapons and wearing bulletproof vests, these commandos almost looked like movie stars as they evoked much awe among the audience.

ht[url]tp://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/At_I-Day_gala_SPG_men_turn_heads/articleshow/3369722.cms[/url]

ASPuar wrote:Looks like an FN Herstal P-90. Interesting.
As per Wiki...yes

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FN_P90

P-90 demo.....nice
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UMX3UOh28M

check out the list of countries using this weapon....any other official sources??
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

check out the list of countries using this weapon....any other official sources??
AFAIK the ones in Pakistans Inventory were bought in token numbers for trial and eval purposes. (As per SIPRI)..this also includes the FN-2000 Assault Rifle.

Whereas India bought the P-90 specifically for the SPG. no other Org will be using it. for other IMO the M-TAR and the Desi MSMC should suffice.

BTW..here are older pics of the same guys... The Difference in Equipment is astounding..!!!!

rkhanna wrote:BTW..here are older pics of the same guys... The Difference in Equipment is astounding..!!!!
yes including hair style..yesterday...oily hair nicely combed...today....some kinda Scandinavian hair doing.. :D

thanks rkhanna for the enlarged pic and highlighting the difference(s)

Wish i could have a glance at one such warrior in my lifetime... :P
Truely kick a#@ stuff....wonder what other secret weapons are we withholding?
rajkhalsa

Post by rajkhalsa »

From these pictures...

Caption: Pakistani Ranger's Brigadier Qaiser Khan Tareen (L) shakes hands with India's Border Security Force's Deputy Inspector General Mohammad Aquil during a ceremony to celebrate Pakistan's Independence Day at the India-Pakistan border in Wagah August 14, 2008. (Reuters)

...note the uniform of the BSF General. Digital pattern? Is the BSF rolling out a new uniform? If so it would make sense that the brass would show it off first. I remember reading that the Indian Army was mighty impressed with the MARPAT uniforms of the Marines during joint exercises last year, and had read articles hinting that a new digital patterned camo was in the works. Could this be a first sighting?
Last edited by rajkhalsa on 16 Aug 2008 18:59, edited 1 time in total.

Its amazing how quickly equipment is sanctioned when our politicos a$$es are on the line.

In the meantime the SF guys wait for months to get the babus to sign off

Still very neat equipment.
Mandeep

Post by Mandeep »

The BSF DIG's uniform seems to be a personal choice. The regular camo uniform of the Force is different.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

I'm very impressed with the gear on the SPG guy. What sort of comm equipment do these guys carry around? It is encrypted of course. But clearly there are signs that these guys are interacting with Phoreign agencies doing similar work.
This particular guy could stare at the bad guys and they'd have a heart attack right then and there, all the gear is superfluous. :twisted:
Good to see India emerging phrom the socialist tinge for once.
SPG Keep it up :)
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

^ ^ ^
Mandeep, I'm not sure that the SF DIG can change the camo on personal choice unless there are orders for a camo change. Usually it is the higher ups that sport the new uniforms and then it starts to trickle down.
Also the Indian guy looks a lot fitter than the TF and not so TA obviously Punjabi pakistani guy...
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

sum wrote:Wish i could have a glance at one such warrior in my lifetime... :P
By the next independence day, we will see the "scary, out of movie-set" personnel guarding events of every chief minister/central minister with enough clout to have their way. Almost like their "I have italian tiles in my house..." kinda thing.

So, don't worry. Pray one of those infuential politicos open a JN/IG/RG bridge/road near you :)
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Apparently by the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi ..Delhi Police will have complete SWAT and Riot Control Teams all dressed up to look like Zee Germans!!!.. Its more about show and what we need. What we need the most is basic Body armour and Decent Helmets for our Jawans all over the place. SPGs with P-90s is less of a requirement IMO.
VickersB

Post by VickersB »

^^ these pakjabis look like pak-jalebi halwais from Lawhore :rotfl:
Mandeep

Post by Mandeep »

If one takes a close look at our security forces, it'll soon be evident that almost everyone wears whatever they like as far as operational clothing or camo uniforms are concerned. The BSF DIG in any case is sufficiently senior in rank to be a law unto himself. I doubt whether his seniors, the IG, Additional DG or DG would pull him up for wearing non-standard uniforms.

This anything-goes uniform business just doesn't make sense in an army for God's sake. I'll bet we are probably the only major army that allows this. Can someone enlighten us again on why this is allowed and why we don't have a strict rule for all ranks?

Victor wrote:This anything-goes uniform business just doesn't make sense in an army for God's sake. I'll bet we are probably the only major army that allows this. Can someone enlighten us again on why this is allowed and why we don't have a strict rule for all ranks?
Yeah, that's not going to change no matter what. I have broached this topic along the lines of discipline and cohesiveness so many times only to be told by members here that since the Jawans are doing their job, nothing else matters (or something along these lines). Even in the army there are people who don't care. One Colonel told me that in any army, there are things in three levels of modernization. One totally upgraded, another in transition and the third waiting for upgrading. He said that it applies to uniforms too. And its true, since it takes some time for things to set up, and he finally put forward a year as rough time period for the uniforms thing to sort out.

This was nearly two years ago.

So there.
malushahi

Post by malushahi »

vivek_ahuja wrote:This was nearly two years ago.

So there.
Right on Vivek, I figure the attitude is not just endemic but thrives on the exoticness. Couple of years ago a relative wanted the laal-topi from US because he did not fancy the standard issue. This year another one wants digital camos. Make what you can of it.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

A picture from the previous meeting. Notice: same pakjabi.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

But the BSF does have a camo. These are from the BSF official website:
malushahi

Post by malushahi »

p_saggu wrote:But the BSF does have a camo. These are from the BSF official website:
These are the standard OFB issue. I guess RajK was alluding to the digital print camos worn by the DIG.

That SPG dude that looks like a younger Mithun-da, what is the blonde toupee doing in his head? Bollywood all the way. Me likee :rotfl:
The Kneepads etc are cosmetic to a degree. I am more impressed with the Sling he is using for the Gun. Seems like a Snake Chalker SEAL 3 point sling.. Anybody?
The kneepads are more than cosmetic. You cant do much if your knees gets shrapnel or even if you hit it inadvertently on something. Particularly in cluttered urban combat areas where you need to duck, dive, roll etc. Heard this from a seasoned SWAT chap in massaland as well as someone in India. Apparently, after BPJs and helmets, they are considered a good thing to have by most of the urban combat forces nowadays. And thanks to advances in tech, they are almost unnoticeable and has sweat bands etc.
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

Caption: MIZORAM 12-08-2008: (JUNGLE WARFARE TRAINING IN MIZORAM) A sniper of the Indian Army Special Forces personnel taking position during the jungle warfare training at the specialised counter-insurgency range of the Indian army's famous Counter-Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School (CIJW) in Vairengte in Mizoram on August 12, 2008.

SVD ? he probably needs a greener camo !

Rahul M wrote:^^
SVD ? he probably needs a greener camo !
Whatever....gave me shivers

A Sharma wrote:Image
Caption: MIZORAM 12-08-2008: (JUNGLE WARFARE TRAINING IN MIZORAM) A sniper of the Indian Army Special Forces personnel taking position during the jungle warfare training at the specialized counter-insurgency range of the Indian army's famous Counter-Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School (CIJW) in Vairengte in Mizoram on August 12, 2008.
Can only imagine the chaos ten of such guys sitting on tree tops in a jungle can cause to a militant group walking through the forest...

The guys(with the amazing Gillie suit) will be virtually indistinguishable in the thick foliage.... :eek:

Also, does the IA have a specialised sniper school or do the individual units teach the best of their men/recruits of the ghatak platoons sniping lessons?

A Sharma wrote:Image
Caption: MIZORAM 12-08-2008: (JUNGLE WARFARE TRAINING IN MIZORAM) A sniper of the Indian Army Special Forces personnel taking position during the jungle warfare training at the specialized counter-insurgency range of the Indian army's famous Counter-Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School (CIJW) in Vairengte in Mizoram on August 12, 2008.
Can only imagine the chaos ten of such guys sitting on tree tops in a jungle can cause to a militant group walking through the forest...

The guys(with the amazing Gillie suit) will be virtually indistinguishable in the thick foliage.... :eek:

Also, does the IA have a specialised sniper school or do the individual units teach the best of their men/recruits of the ghatak platoons sniping lessons?
I agree Sum he does look pretty darn formidable...Salute to these amazing men. The Indian Armed forces should set up a dedicated training school for these shock troopers (If they already haven't)

I observed one thing though that even though he has an immaculate Gille suit I havent yet seem IA sniper's guns with muzzle flash suppressors, my point is that if they are going to this extent to make themselves blend with the surroundings should they also have sound and flash suppressors on them guns.
(I do imagine that these will have an effect on the bullect velocity and energy, however if they keep the sniper hidden I think they are well worth it)