Quick Clot Kits For Jawans - 1st Round Donations Delivered!!

VishnuCK

Re: Buying Quick Clot Kits For Our Jawans - A Humble Proposal

Post by VishnuCK »

Sorry if this has already been addressed earlier, but since i couldn't find a similar question after quickly flipping through the 7 and odd pages of discussions on this proposal I thought id post this to the group.

"Instead of some of us trying to buy a few kits would it not be much better for all of us to pool what ever we can contribute to one single source within BR and then have them place a bulk order so that we can procure them at a much lower cost than each one of us buying them individually. Please ignore my post if this has already been addressed earlier and i will go read the postings again and do the needful.

Vishnu
nitinr

Post by nitinr »

Hi,

Sorry if a repeated Q. How can i contribute? I am outside of India. How can I am make a contribution for this noble cause.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

nitinr wrote:Hi,

Sorry if a repeated Q. How can i contribute? I am outside of India. How can I am make a contribution for this noble cause.
Contact Kobe, places223 at jee mail dot com. Your contribution probably will be used in second round. :)
nitinr

Post by nitinr »

Hi Kobe,

You have mail.

Hi Kobe,

I am waiting for your reply regarding the paypal.
kobe

Post by kobe »

Sunil,
All paypal pmts are received, but some
contributors who have listed pmts as "charity"
have created additional work for me in that I need
to call paypal and explain that they are NOT charity
and that I don't have a tax-free tax ID for those
transactions. I will do that soon as I just finished
a couple of travels.

I have a reply from a Corps Commander on the issue.

He lauds the philanthropic effort but advises that AG's Branch be contacted for guidance to assist those involved in their noble cause.
abhiti

Post by abhiti »

I will also suggest that people use the feedback link on the site below to get PM's attention. Things to remember:
1) Take your medication before writing any note, you are writing to PM of India not some two cent reporter.
2) Use it only for non partisian actionable cause, it is a total waste trying to change Congress' politics using the link below.

http://pmindia.nic.in/

abhiti wrote:I will also suggest that people use the feedback link on the site below to get PM's attention. Things to remember:
1) Take your medication before writing any note, you are writing to PM of India not some two cent reporter.
2) Use it only for non partisian actionable cause, it is a total waste trying to change Congress' politics using the link below.

http://pmindia.nic.in/
abhiti,

Since you already thought of it first, why don't you use the feedback link that you have posted and write to the PM to get his attention on the issue? :)
kobe

Post by kobe »

Sunil & others please see the document regarding paypal.
Also, there are a couple of pledgees who have not acted on their pledge,
i will be removing their access from the document.

Tomorrow (Friday) in Delhi our first meeting is scheduled with
Sagar FFT. we will keep you posted.

thanks.

Ok Kobe, I have cancelled the paypal, and will post you a check.
kobe

Post by kobe »

Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

abhiti

Post by abhiti »

Raja Bose wrote:abhiti, Since you already thought of it first, why don't you use the feedback link that you have posted and write to the PM to get his attention on the issue? :)
I did that already. Posted the link so that more folks can chime in...

Kobe, RB

I received a notification from paypal confirming the transfer of funds on 22nd April 2009 .I assume the funds have actually been deposited in the relevant account .I had sent a mail to Kobe ji for confirmation ,kindly confirm .Apologies for confusion (this was my first experience with Paypal :oops: ).
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

What is this "secret" document that is being referred to ?. No Offense.. But I am waiting for something concrete to emerge from the posts on this thread, before I decide to pledge.

Gurudev Kobe ji had sent a 'Google Document' link to everyone who had mailed him regarding this initiative . Basically a list to track the amount collected for the Kit.

Tilak ji, email kobe at place223 at geemayle . However, we are now (finally!) in the last stages of the whole process with IA-end already hauling a$$ and making tpt arrangements etc. so any donations will have to be sent quickly.

Note to all: The donations are not classified as charity (such as those allowed under 501(c) in US, 80G(5) etc.) as this is an individuals-only private effort hence please don't mark your donations as charity (or donations to a non-profit org.) or take them out as charitable deductions in your tax return.

negi wrote:Kobe, RB

I received a notification from paypal confirming the transfer of funds on 22nd April 2009 .I assume the funds have actually been deposited in the relevant account .I had sent a mail to Kobe ji for confirmation ,kindly confirm .Apologies for confusion (this was my first experience with Paypal :oops: ).
negi, email sent to you.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

@ RB, Kobe. Can anyone pls confirm if my payment has been accepted on your end. I havent put it as charity so shouldnt have any problems accepting it. :) Payment sent before 10 days.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Kobe, can you pls enlighten this SDRE kaffir by letting know any new developments on this front?

AFAIK is lastly Paypal headache has been sorted out. Sorry for being bit impatient.
kobe

Post by kobe »

hi gaurav_s,

1) your paypal pmt is received and its documented
2) mandeep is back from election duties and he has a meeting on monday with the army CinC, (mandeep's (correct) suggestion was to get an OK from the very top army brass of the said units before delivering the QC, so we are following a safe route so as not to ruffle any feathers)
3) in parallel raj malhotra (our BR jingo in delhi) met a delhi based army officer who has offered full logistics support to buy and deliver the Quikclots
4) so thanks for the patience and we are doing everything possible to get the QC delivered, the full method and contributors list with pmt amount will be published as quickly as its done
5) Hindustan Times reporter (Rahul Singh) is in touch with us so he can do a follow up story as soon as the project is completed

Minor Detail:
Thanks to generous and trusting contributions from many of you, we have surpassed $10,000 mark in actual money received. It will result in a minimum of 120 packets of QuikClots for the Jawans. We are finalizing plans for a) transfer the money to india b) get press coverage, c) deliver the packets to the jawans. Thanks again for your patience

Final Call: BR Super Jingo Seetal Bhai has just sent in his generous amount, anyone else intending to make a contribution, please act now. This is because the total amount has suprised everyone and has motivated us to extend the deadline to allow for anyone else wishing to contribute. .

PS: "act now" means, send me an email preferrably from your gmail. at
places223 at gmail

I should say KoB and RB(twins in SFO :) ) did a great job. The sheer amount of paperwork and the coordination that they have handled, seriously guys if we had a BR ratna award your names would be on the top of the list. Again no amount of words will be enough to appreciate their efforts.

Jai Hind

kobe you have email
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Kobe you have mail from me (Creative Common @ G).

kobe saaar, awaiting your reply.
kobe

Post by kobe »

sunilUpa wrote:kobe saaar, awaiting your reply.
Sunil, Tilak

I have replied to you both.

Please note:

1) End of this month 5/31/2009 will conclude the money collection phase-1. And new payments will be discouraged.

2) Based on lessons learned to improve efficiency and after establishing more india based jingo-assets we will do it again (for sure).

Tilak

Post by Tilak »

kobe wrote:Sunil, Tilak

I have replied to you both.
Kobe.. Done.. Check your mail..

PS: Mod Babus can you guys delete the mail id from my earlier post. Thanks in Advance.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Would a pharma consider purchasing patent on Quickclot subject to DRDO recommendation (if convinced after a trial period) to manufacture for COIN units ? :roll: Besides lack of training for medics and the absence of First Aiders is also an issue which could be addressed by pvt health giants,it doesnt hurt to provide some st john's recommended techniques and courses to the forces as social responsibility!
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Kobe You have mail from me
Jayram
kobe

Post by kobe »

jayram,
reply sent
thanks.
parikh

Post by parikh »

Kobe ji any updates for us.
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Haloooooo!.. update on status.. bliss anybody?
VikB

Post by VikB »

Please do let know of the progress on this wonderful initiative.
Based on its success, do tell when is the second round being undertaken.

My feeling is that we should not publicise it in the media. There is no point in getting media attention unless we are able to use the same to make the kit available as a standard thing with the army.
My two pence.
VB

Sorry for the lack of updates. Right now situation is that everything is ready to go but Army is contributing its share of red-tape - this has been the situation for the last 1 month or so.

**** Please No More Donations or Pledges as Things are getting close to a Finish ****

Thanks!

AoA
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Raja Bose wrote:Sorry for the lack of updates. Right now situation is that everything is ready to go but Army is contributing its share of red-tape - this has been the situation for the last 1 month or so.
Thanks for the update..

*** A detailed E-mail update has been sent to all donors ***

Vasanth and MortWalker, your e-mails are not on record. Please post them here or drop me an e-mail so that I can send you guys the e-mail update.
Thanks!

OK...time for some updates.

The donation and associated material has reached Mandeep (BR admin) in India. He is managing the interaction with the IA and the associated media coverage. The handover (hopefully in the next week) will take place at the Jat Regimental Center, Bareilly, U.P. where Mandeep will present the donation on behalf of B-R to the Commandant of the Center. After the actual handover takes place, I will post pics of the event on this thread.

If anybody lives near Bareilly U.P. and would like to attend, please post your name and e-mail here so that I can get in touch with you.

Thanks!

TIA.