Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - May 16 2009

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - May 16 2009

arun wrote:Found this story quintessentially Pakistani given that it reflects in the domestic sphere the aggressive style of begging adopted internationally by the Pakistani State:
Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Beggar kills salesman in Faisalabad

LAHORE: A beggar on Monday shot dead a salesman working at a bakery in Faisalabad after the worker refused to give him alms …………………. the accused entered the bakery …………… to beg for money, drinks and food from the salesman ……………… Upon refusal, the enraged beggar took out a pistol and opened fire …………………
Daily Times
Zia's dream come true P'stan for sure :mrgreen:

arun wrote:Beggar kills salesman in Faisalabad

LAHORE: A beggar on Monday shot dead a salesman working at a bakery in Faisalabad . . .
Daily Times
Beggars roam with pistols ? Just like a begging Pakistan State roams around flaunting nukes ?

Added Later: Chetak has put it correctly.

A prosperous Pakistan - Edit in DT
The “transit route war” which began with India helping Iran build the Chabahar port right next to Gwadar is hopefully at an end; and after Pakistan’s opting for its true role in South Asia, the gas pipeline will serve to integrate the regional economies. Pakistan’s geopolitical, significance will be demonstrated to the world after the pipeline is completed and Iranian gas from gasfields near the Gulf is used by industries right next to the Indian border. After that, Pakistan will not be able to avoid prosperity . . .

On how federal revenues are divided among provinces
Currently, the federal divisible pool is shared between the provinces on this solitary criterion: Punjab gets 57.88, Sindh 23.28, NWFP 13.54 and Balochistan 5.30 percent.

Indian domination unacceptable
Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) Punjab President Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi on Monday asked the US to hand over drone technology to Pakistan {look at the demanding tone. That's what mards are made of, especially when they are of the TFTA Martial Race}, saying Indian domination in the region would not be accepted at any cost.

He said Pakistan’s nuclear assets and the issue of Kashmir were also discussed. Elahi said the US delegation had said that the PML-Q’s apprehensions were real and the US would review its policy towards Pakistan.

We want the same nuclear deal as India
If the government is really serious about the matter, it will have to make the issue of civilian nuclear cooperation a central item on our bilateral agenda with the supplier countries and do some heavy lifting in the key capitals, first and foremost in Washington. Now that Clinton has acknowledged that past US policies towards Pakistan have been “incoherent,” the government should press Washington for more “coherence” in its nuclear cooperation policy towards Pakistan and India. The opposition parties, in particular the PML-N, can, for their part, help by raising the issue of the India-US nuclear deal and the denial of nuclear technology to Pakistan in the Parliament and prodding the government to give it its due priority.

SSridhar wrote:After that, Pakistan will not be able to avoid prosperity . . .
Pakis have the tendency of treating disaster and prosperity in same manner :rotfl:

The Swat Operation: Perils & Possibility = Maleeha Lodhi
In a rare show of unity, leaders of 43 parties and religious organisations from across the political spectrum assembled in Islamabad in a meeting convened by Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani on May 18 to endorse the security operation.
No, they didn't. In the May 18, 2009 APC Resolution, there is absolutely no reference to the 'security operation'. In fact, such a reference in the original draft was dropped because of opposition from many parties, especially PML-N, JUI-F, JI, PTI etc. Maleeha Lodhi is, as usual, lying.
The clear stance taken by the head of the Pakistan Muslim League (N), Mian Nawaz Sharif . . .
Nawaz Sharif is playing a huge double game. His stance is not clear at all. He has spoken with a forked tongue on this issue. At times he has been ambiguous and at other times he has supported the Government's action. However, very senior colleagues in his party have clearly said that the government had been hasty in launching military operations without giving a chance for the peace deal to work.
This political consensus, together with the changed public mood . . .
There is no political consensus and there is no mood cange among the Pakistanis. As always, the Pakistanis support terrorists. The IRI poll conducted in April 2009 clearly said that 72% of the population want a peace deal with the Taliban, not Army action.
. . .growing support for the counter-insurgency campaign from a large and influential section of religious scholars and ulema.
What growing support ? The Deobandi and Wahhabi clerics are supporting the Taliban and opposing the Army operation. The weak Berelvi clergy and the insignificant Shi'a alone may be supporting the operation.

50% terrorists come from Southern Punjab
“Religious militant outfits are engaging 50 per cent young people for terror acts in the country from South Punjab, 40 per cent from the Frontier, nine per cent from Sindh and one per cent from Balochistan,” said Asad Rehman, of Sungi, an NGO, during a consultation on ‘Development in FATA: Opportunities and Challenges’.

And from Central and Northern Pakjab come a whopping 0% terrorists!

All figures in Pakistan are pulled out of the musharrafs, as and when need arise!

SSridhar wrote:50% terrorists come from Southern Punjab
“Religious militant outfits are engaging 50 per cent young people for terror acts in the country from South Punjab, 40 per cent from the Frontier, nine per cent from Sindh and one per cent from Balochistan,” said Asad Rehman, of Sungi, an NGO, during a consultation on ‘Development in FATA: Opportunities and Challenges’.
but that is good taliban :mrgreen:
meant for India only

till 2006-07 she worked for mushy in west and was heard as a important voice of pakistan in west,played an important role in making c.powell ,bushy happy
now shes back again,
it seems the players in piglistan dont change in the background, one could say
' the team remains the same'
possible elements of isi web for different functions remain the same, thats why isi is called by piglets as their first line of defence

SSridhar wrote:Indian domination unacceptable
Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) Punjab President Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi on Monday asked the US to hand over drone technology to Pakistan
See the connection between Elahi and that beggar who pulled out a gun and shot the bakery owner? Its in the genes, my friend, in the genes.

raghunath wrote:
SSridhar wrote:After that, Pakistan will not be able to avoid prosperity . . .
Pakis have the tendency of treating disaster and prosperity in same manner :rotfl:
Till now, pukistan had been dodging prosperity. Alas!

SSridhar wrote:Indian domination unacceptable
Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) Punjab President Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi on Monday asked the US to hand over drone technology to Pakistan {look at the demanding tone. That's what mards are made of, especially when they are of the TFTA Martial Race}, saying Indian domination in the region would not be accepted at any cost.

He said Pakistan’s nuclear assets and the issue of Kashmir were also discussed. Elahi said the US delegation had said that the PML-Q’s apprehensions were real and the US would review its policy towards Pakistan.

And, one of these days we can expect some in the US to accept this view, WRT India, too. The US has followed it for eons and would gladly continue if not for a stupid Pakistan.

NRao wrote:And, one of these days we can expect some in the US to accept this view, WRT India, too. The US has followed it for eons and would gladly continue if not for a stupid Pakistan.
Absolutely. Forget the distant past. In recent days and months, the US has one by one accepted Pakistani PoV on such matters as deployment on the eastern borders, 'incoherent' policy of the US wrt Pakistan in the last three decades, need for more aid, PA sincerely fighting the Taliban etc.

I think the way to treat USA would be by the book!

We should have a big list of criticisms we have with the American policy in Pakistan, and every time Holbrooke visits India, we should take out the list, and ask them, on which items do they think they have made progress, and what evidence do they have of having achieved this. Later on the list should be published in the media. Everything should be pressed into a structured and repetitive format.

The Americans do not understand, unless it is drilled into them repetitively. I think Pakistan has learned that. They keep on repeating about their anxieties with Indians, their begging, their demands for stopping drone attacks, their demands for getting drone technology, yada, yada, yada. All the complex strategic talks, just do not stick. The points are forgotten. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive.

RajeshA wrote:I think the way to treat USA would be by the book!

We should have a big list of criticisms we have with the American policy in Pakistan, and every time Holbrooke visits India, we should take out the list, and ask them, on which items do they think they have made progress, and what evidence do they have of having achieved this. Later on the list should be published in the media. Everything should be pressed into a structured and repetitive format.

The Americans do not understand, unless it is drilled into them repetitively. I think Pakistan has learned that. They keep on repeating about their anxieties with Indians, their begging, their demands for stopping drone attacks, their demands for getting drone technology, yada, yada, yada. All the complex strategic talks, just do not stick. The points are forgotten. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive. Everything has to be repetitive.
but everything has to be repetitive
i.e, more partitions of pakistan
more coups
more bhuttos
more bomb blasts, more bomb blasts...............
oh just one got off in porkistan :mrgreen:

Good post. Great wisdom.

We should have a big list of criticisms we have with the American policy in Pakistan, and every time Holbrooke visits India, we should take out the list, and ask them, on which items do they think they have made progress, and what evidence do they have of having achieved this. .........................
Perhaps it is too much to ask of our netas.

But then let us see, with MMS back with a bigger majority, who knows which way the wind will blow.

I still think India is in a decent position - BUT ONLY because of Pakistan. Pakistan will certainly act to make the US more uncomfortable than India can even dream of doing.

On the topic of India generating a list - I think one item on this "list" is enough. Drub the US into pushing for a pure democracy in Pakistan - with the TSPA taking a back seat. Make it a very public issue. Specially with the recently concluded Indian elections as a background this is a very good time to corner both the US and Pakistan. Chiding them publicly should be the way to go forward - after all these are the common values that are held within the India and the US.

X Post.

B. Raman rightly states that US policy towards Pakistan will have an adverse fallout on India. This now should be repeated ad nauseam as suggested by Rajesh A:
Commentary

Is Obama Another Jimmy Carter?

Bahukutumbi Raman, 05.25.09, 11:35 AM EDT

……………… Israel and India have been the most affected by the perceived soft policies of the Obama administration. ………………

India, too, has been noting with concern the total confusion, which seems to prevail in the corridors of the Obama administration over its Af-Pak policy. Some of the recent comments of U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton about alleged past incoherence in U.S. policy toward Pakistan--and about the part-responsibility of the U.S. for the state of affairs in the Af-Pak region--have given comfort to the military-intelligence establishment and the political leaders in Pakistan.

Obama's new over-generosity to the Pakistani armed forces and his reluctance to hold them accountable for their sins of commission and omission in the war against terrorism have convinced the Pakistani leaders that they have no adverse consequences to fear from the Obama administration. India would be the first to feel the adverse consequences of this newly found confidence in Islamabad vis-a-vis its relations with the U.S.

Jimmy Carter took a little over three years to create the image of the U.S. as a confused and soft power. Obama is bidding fair to create that image even in his first year in office. ……………………

Forbes
Last edited by arun on 26 May 2009 19:53, edited 1 time in total.

So, the only signal i am getting from these threads is that despite all the naach-gaana over the impending collapse of Pakistan(in BR), the last laugh is on us and the US yet again makes history repeat and ensures that the only loser at the end of the next four years is India(Pak would have been pumped with $$ and India gets lectures after every new attack from pak which will get more and more brazen)?

basically put US on defensive before the talks begin with a laundry list like "you are a liar, you took my pencil, you didnt wash your hands after bathroom, you peeped through the neighbors door, and on top of it you are planning to hit me. Even after that not caring about what my dog says, I am talking to you" - now can we talk?
Rahul Shukla

Post by Rahul Shukla »

U.S. appeals to China to help stabilize Pakistan (LA Times)
Beijing, which is hesitant to get more deeply involved, is asked to provide training and even equipment to help Pakistan counter a growing militant threat.
China also has a huge economic presence in Pakistan. China's ambassador, Luo Zhaohui, said in a speech this month that there are an estimated 10,000 Chinese engineers and technicians working in the country.

Tilak wrote:U.S. appeals to China to help stabilize Pakistan
Updated at: 0925 PST, Monday, May 25, 2009
WASHINGTON: The Obama administration has appealed to China to provide training and even military equipment to help Pakistan counter a growing militant threat, U.S. officials said.

According to Los Angeles Times, the proposal is part of a broad push by Washington to enlist key allies of Pakistan in an effort to stabilize the country. The U.S. is seeking to persuade Islamabad to step up its efforts against militants, while supporting the fragile civilian government and its tottering economy.

Richard C. Holbrooke, the administration's special representative for Pakistan and Afghanistan, has visited China and Saudi Arabia, another key ally, in recent weeks as part of the effort.

The American appeal to China underscores the importance of Beijing in security issues. Washington considers China to be the most influential country for dealing with isolated, militaristic North Korea. Beijing also plays a crucial role in the international effort to pressure Iran over its nuclear ambitions.
-------

The baton is being passed...
Rahul Shukla

Post by Rahul Shukla »

Pakistan to wipe out militants, US senators assured (Dawn)
ISLAMABAD: The president and the prime minister assured a delegation of US senators on Monday that Pakistan was committed to wiping out militants from its soil and expressed hopes that success in the fight against terrorism would ultimately benefit the entire world.

The delegation comprised Patrick Leahy, Mark Warner and Sheldon Whitehouse.

sum wrote:So, the only signal i am getting from these threads is that despite all the naach-gaana over the impending collapse of Pakistan(in BR), the last laugh is on us and the US yet again makes history repeat and ensures that the only loser at the end of the next four years is India(Pak would have been pumped with $$ and India gets lectures after every new attack from pak which will get more and more brazen)?
It all comes down to this single thought: Bharat is strong enough to defend itself using overt and covert ways, diplomacy and politics. The only thing needed is on Bharat's part, it is a coherent strategic strong will and clear thinking. No matter what BRF discusses, we can only hope that the elected ones in Bharat have what it takes. If they do, then Bharat will not be a loser. There are two broad aspects as I see them:

1) Garner so much economic clout that you can affect decisions on the world stage. For ex. China's about 2T forex reserves and huge manufacturing base. That alone lets you buy your way out of many troubles and put your enemies into many.

2) Have a very strong commitment towards military - in both indigenous R&D and acquisitions. The non-proliferation business is clearly crumbling and Bharat's neighborhood is not becoming any safer anytime soon. The preparations to defend Bharat Mata should be done at the higheset levels of priority ("Yuddh star par").

I am sure some of it is being done already since this is all common sense. The only concern (for the lack of a better word) is that how much of it is being done.

I think the Indian Govt. has been too timid in talking down to the US. Somehow we think, that if we make public our horror, let alone our anxiety and discomfort with American policies, we would cease to be American friends, and they will run off with China, or horror of horrors, they may even get mad at us.

After our elections, India is in a unique position to give the Obama a dressing down on their AfPak strategy. This dressing down has to be public and repetitive. The world needs to know what bothers us. Till now, we let it be known in private conversations with a few of their diplomats, and who knows how much of that really works up the channels to their leadership, or how much of it, finds a mention or consideration in their policies.

I believe, the Republicans in the Congress and beyond are looking for arguments on how to make Obama look weak and stupid. As an intellectual and speaker par excellence, all their arguments do not stick either. But if India makes some good arguments with a good sound bite quality to them, they would indeed be picked up by the Republicans. They need a friendly country accusing the Democrats on being weak and indeed stupid on terrorism. That gives their arguments more credibility.

Wasn't Security supposed to be Obama's weak point? Well, whadyano! IT IS! Obama Administration is pumping money into Pakistan, which in the end will only flow into the pockets of the Taliban and America-hating Jihadis!

Wasn't Human Rights supposed to be Democrat's strong point? Well whatdyano! IT ISN'T! Obama Administration is throwing money at an Army, intent on displacing millions of innocent civilians! Is that Human Rights? Where are the liberals?

After the Iraq War, and the 12 billion to Paki Generals in GWOT and all the accountancy scandals, shouldn't the Obama Administration be accounting for every penny spent. Well whatdyano! THEY DON'T WANT TO! Watered down benchmarks!!! Watered-down accountability and transparency requirements!!!

Obama will pay heed to India and that too positively not necessarily out of foreign policy and strategy considerations but due to pressure from American media, the Republicans and other Democratic contenders!

Perhaps the world has indeed changed for India in the last 5 years! India could have a constituency in USA gunning for us! After the George Bush honeymoon with India and after Indian elections, we should cultivate this constituency. We need to help this constituency to make a plausible case, why USA needs to put India front and center of any Asia Strategy, and anything not facilitating that is tantamount to endangering American vital security interests in the region. We should not wait before Obama doctrine for Asia becomes concrete and works against Indian Interests.

Obama has invited PM Dr Manmohan Singh to visit USA. Why? Is it simply to mollify India into complacency and to let the American knife delve deeper into India without much protest or resistance from our side, so that we do not protest at becoming a collateral calamity. This should not be the case. We should not go there begging for an ear and consideration for our woes. We should go there as the only alternative that the US has. For that India needs to prepare the right cricket pitch beforehand!

Let truth be told. American Pakistan policy is contradictory to Indian national interests, and harmful to American interests as well!

The other shoe conveniently falls:

Taliban seek return to peace deal in Pakistan
Taliban militants in Swat Valley have announced that they are willing to disarm if the Pakistani government allows sharia, or Islamic law, to be implemented in the region, a spokesman for Taliban mediator Sufi Mohammed said.
Now all Pakistan needs and the US has an urge to fulfill is more aid. Now the Taliban also need to be rehabbed.

SSridhar wrote:We want the same nuclear deal as India
If the government is really serious about the matter, it will have to make the issue of civilian nuclear cooperation a central item on our bilateral agenda with the supplier countries and do some heavy lifting in the key capitals, first and foremost in Washington. Now that Clinton has acknowledged that past US policies towards Pakistan have been “incoherent,” the government should press Washington for more “coherence” in its nuclear cooperation policy towards Pakistan and India. The opposition parties, in particular the PML-N, can, for their part, help by raising the issue of the India-US nuclear deal and the denial of nuclear technology to Pakistan in the Parliament and prodding the government to give it its due priority.
The Democrats overplayed/over hyped the Fak Ap strategy unless this is a clever move on their part to renege on the follow-thru of the IUCNA deal by putting forward TSP claims for ==.

i dont want to discuss what the american people like but democrats had created more problems for america than republicans ,at least in last 20 yrs or so, it was a republican president who tried to solve an already messed up situation,while democrats behave like lawhorians worldwide,one day friend,the other day enemy.
i guess, by the end of his 4 yr tenure ,obama will be playing a bill clinton with India, i guess this to be a strong possibility from all angles.
By then pigs will be armed head to tail.

Self deleted..

(Will phrase message better later)

archan wrote
I am sure some of it is being done already since this is all common sense. The only concern (for the lack of a better word) is that how much of it is being done.
Why the doubt? Surely, if it is all a matter of common sense, then surely Bharatyia people must be having it? If they have it, surely they must have had the common sense to elect a GOI with common sense? Surely if GOI has common sense, they must be implementing their common sense strategy!

brihaspati wrote:
archan wrote
Why the doubt? Surely, if it is all a matter of common sense, then surely Bharatyia people must be having it? If they have it, surely they must have had the common sense to elect a GOI with common sense? Surely if GOI has common sense, they must be implementing their common sense strategy!
Get over the elections already yaar..
As to why the doubt? well one cannot be claiming about being sure about anything while sitting in their living room and typing away on their PCs! :D
Seriously, your post has a tone that tries to portray that I am a part of those Bhartiya people who support Congress and not the party I supposedly should be supporting. That, if true, is a not so intelligent assumption.

Pakistan is showing fast growth in it’s IT sector these days.
Guess why?

http://newzonfire.com/2009/05/24/pak-ne ... r-country/

Excerpts..
Since the release of Google Map Maker, a service that allows you to create a map by adding or editing features such as roads, businesses, parks, schools and more. Pakistanis have contributed a lot in populating its maps in Pakistan. Now, google maps even give driving directions in Pakistan, as reported by ProPakistani.
Before coming to US, in Pakistan, I have been using the Operating System made by Pakistanis that was unknown by the world and I think it was the best Operating System I have used ever.
:shock:

Reactions to the Pakistani/Bangladeshi Koran rioters in Greece

Muslim anger ignites violent new response
Chanting "God is great" and waving leather-bound copies of Islam's holy book, about 1,000 Muslim immigrants demonstrated with a march on Parliament Friday.

When the crowd dwindled to about 300, remaining protesters began throwing rocks and bottles at police and smashing windows at a luxury hotel in central Syntagma Square, according to an account by the Associated Press.

Far-right-wing vigilantes replied over the weekend by setting fire to a Muslim prayer hall. Taken together, the incidents represent some of the worst sectarian violence witnessed in modern Greece.
Unrest in Greece's community of Muslim immigrants is something new, analysts say.

"For so many years, they've been scared and defensive," said Takis Geros, a lecturer of anthropology of the Middle East at Panteion University. "To suddenly come out in broad daylight with their faces exposed and trash 75 cars indicates a massive change in attitude."
"Sometimes the humiliation is such that were made to feel by Greeks as if were not human beings," said Ejazulhaq Syed, a representative of the Pakistani community in Athens who has lived in Greece for 35 years. "But the violence [against us] had nothing to do with religion but with the bad economic situation and having too many foreigners in Greece."
shynee

Post by shynee »

PBS Frontline/World airs tonight - PAKISTAN UNDER SIEGE

Airs Tuesday, May 26, 2009, at 9 P.M. ET on PBS (check local listings ). In this special edition, FRONTLINE/World reports three stories from Pakistan.

shynee wrote:PBS Frontline/World airs tonight - PAKISTAN UNDER SIEGE

Airs Tuesday, May 26, 2009, at 9 P.M. ET on PBS (check local listings ). In this special edition, FRONTLINE/World reports three stories from Pakistan.
Thanks for the reminder.

Pookistani Strengths
Apparently, there are four. Read on and, well, be prepared to throw up.
The first of these strengths is the mountain of international goodwill that presently exists for Pakistan.
Evidently evidenced by the mountain of $$$ being thrown at their feet.
In this sense, our nuclear arsenal (together with a powerful military) represents the second strength.
Yep! Its been four weeks and the mighty pooki army and airforce is still trying to get rid of 5,000 "miscreants".
The third strength is this country’s energy, agriculture and trade corridor potential — representing an opportunity to develop the economic elements of national power.
Now, all the pookis need to do is to coerce India to agree to using these corridors!
Our fourth strength is a nascent, imperfect and chaotic democracy, one that is dominated by flawed but still, relatively secular parties.
Relatively secular is, well, relative. Anyone compared to the porki-tellibunnies will be seen as relatively secular.

Please note that all four "strengths" rely on "external factors and appraisers" to confirm and verify that pookistan does indeed have these "strengths".