Indian Army : News and Discussion

Re: Indian Army : News and Discussion

Why India cannot afford to give up Siachen?

http://www.rediff.com/news/column/why-i ... 120413.htm

If Vikram Sood felt compelled to write this then it is contrary to some folks here who think MMS and other retards will not sell us out.

He even points out that this time its not the usual talk for sake of talk nonsense.

The US needs to withdraw with some level of echandee - and will do anything to get its way

So the majority of BRF which feels that MMS for whatever lollipop from the US will do this - zre more likely right
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

SIPRI world arms database records since 1950

one may get data on arms purchase of any year, country with details.
(Sorry to post in wrong thread)

Merit, talent to be recognised in Army's new automated recruitment process.

With the Army deciding to fully automate and streamline the recruitment process, merit and talents of candidates would come to the fore and there would also be transparency, according to Brigadier Pankaj Sinha, Deputy Director, Recruitment—Southern States.

He said candidates, after undergoing Medical and Physical Fitness tests, would be asked to take tests on computers at the fixed centres. Initially it is likely to be introduced in the technical category and consequently for all categories. The tests would be designed such that candidates could take it even if they did not have basic computer knowledge. “They just have to click the right answer. We will also provide them 15-minute training prior to the test,” he said.

There would be three computerised test centres in Tamil Nadu before this year end, he told reporters here last evening. Brig Sinha was here to inspect the Army recruitment rally currently underway in the city.

He said under the open rally system, there was no application and candidates need not pay any fees. Since there are no middlemen, candidates should be careful about touts promising to get them through, he said, adding police had been requested to keep tabs and initiate action against touts.

Brig Sinha said the Army had introduced a new regulation, disqualifying those with tattoos from joining the army. The rule has been implemented from a medical point of view as tattooing could cause some nervous disorders. Maintaining that the Army is still a prestigious service, Brig Sinha said they had filled up all vacancies from Tamil Nadu and also absorbed people for additional vacancies from other zones.

All districts in the country were given proportional representation. Six per cent of Army recruits are from Tamil Nadu, he said, adding “we are able to get the best candidates from Tamil Nadu.”

He said awareness programmes are being organised regularly in educational institutions to motivate students to join the Army.

Army to buy new air defence system after General's letter.

Army has initiated the process of acquiring new gun systems to take on enemy aircraft and missiles, a month after its chief General VK Singh raised the issue of obsolescence of air defence systems in a letter to the Prime Minister.

"The Army is planning to procure Air Defence Guns have a calibre of more than 30mm and is capable of engaging air targets," Army officials said.

The process to acquire these guns has been initiated after General Singh in his letter to the Prime Minister that was leaked contended that 97% of the air defence guns were facing obsolescence.

They said the service has issued a global Request for Information in this regard recently listing its requirements.The Army has specified that the gun should be capable of being transported by broad gauge rakes of the Railways.

The Army Air Defence has initiated several other tenders also for replacing its Russian-origin air defence systems.

For upgrading the capabilities of the Army Air Defence (AAD), the Defence Ministry recently said that it ahas signed contracts for procuring Akash Missile Systems and steps were being taken for upgrading Self-propelled Air Defence and Schilka air defence systems.

After the Army Chief pointed out these deficiencies to the government, Defence Minister AK Antony had held meetings to review the capital acquisitions of the force. (Till then the so called "Non Corrupt" minister was sleeping and waiting for instructions from the "high command")

The Defence Ministry has also taken several steps to do away with the shortage of tank ammunition and has signed contracts with the Russian Rosobornoexport for supplying ammunition for the T-90 tanks.

with the Indian defence forces going on a money splurge on world global arms market to the tune of 100 billion dollars over the next decade, the 6 firms blacklisted will be ruing the day they got caught.
They will be out of contracts for the next decade.
stunning and lethal blow at least in terms of Indian trade.
If India keeps up its commitment of not trading with them for 10 years, then it will surely send shivers down the spine of other defence companies not to mess with us trying to corrupt officials.
This is one positive outcome of the Mr incorruptibly corrupt raksha mantriji. :twisted: :evil:

Due to the above and intense competition with others can India leverage the contracts to get the technology and better prices.
or it will take a govt-govt sponsored acquisition.
Will this give a fillip to local production.
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

If India keeps up its commitment of not trading with them for 10 years, then it will surely send shivers down the spine of other defence companies not to mess with us trying to corrupt officials.
Isn't there something wrong with the picture???

Instead of punishing the corrupt officials we are going after the companies??
And then we wonder why we don't have the proper equipment!!!

Drag the a$$holes officials out in public and seize their property.
Throw them out of the government and barred from public service.
Make sure that they and their families are forced to beg on streets.

As a nation and society, how much tolerance should one have for such markedly anti-social behavior?

--Ashish

Misraji wrote:
Instead of punishing the corrupt officials we are going after the companies??
And then we wonder why we don't have the proper equipment!!!

Drag the a$$holes officials out in public and seize their property.

--Ashish
Ashish,
there are 2 aspects here-
1) defence companies blacklisted should run the penalty time. No contracts for 10 years. period.
2) Indians who cooperated with corruption should have cases registered and penalised according to the law. This is understood impliictly. if we take strict action in 1) the second will take care of itself to some extent.

The defence companies are foreign- nothing much can be done by Indian govt except stop giving contracts to them. it will bite surely hard as Indian pie is nearly 100 billion in 10 years.

Pitfall is we may lose on some good weapons.
Fillip should be given to local production.
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

krisna wrote: --SNIP--
2) Indians who cooperated with corruption should have cases registered and penalised according to the law. This is understood impliictly. if we take strict action in 1) the second will take care of itself to some extent.

--SNIP--
How many officials do you hear off being charged as such?..... Zero
How many companies do you see being black-listed? ..... IMI, Bofors, Denel .... This list will just keep on increasing.

The answer is crystal clear.
Throw the officials out. Given the magnitude of the problem, act first, ask later.
If you are suspected of impropriety, you get thrown out. Period.
krisna wrote:
--SNIP--

The defence companies are foreign- nothing much can be done by Indian govt except stop giving contracts to them. it will bite surely hard as Indian pie is nearly 100 billion in 10 years.
--SNIP--
Again!! Money talks.
Tell them. If you want the contract, throw out the guy who offered the bribe.
You think one man is worth more than a contract?
That will work.

--Ashish

Ashish,
dont fight with me, it is not between you and me.
read my original post.
:((
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

krisna wrote:Ashish,
dont fight with me, it is not between you and me.
read my original post.
:((
Apologies if my post came off as argumentative.
Its just that I can't believe how complacent/soft we have become as a nation.

If there is corruption scandal, the first thing our MOD does is ban the company.
Its like, "What the HELL!!!"
Look inside. Bury the guy who took the bribe.
Then we can take care of outsiders.

We have taken this democratic values thingie too far!!

--Ashish

Vipul wrote:Army to buy new air defence system after General's letter.

For upgrading the capabilities of the Army Air Defence (AAD), the Defence Ministry recently said that it ahas signed contracts for procuring Akash Missile Systems and steps were being taken for upgrading Self-propelled Air Defence and Schilka air defence systems.

After the Army Chief pointed out these deficiencies to the government, Defence Minister AK Antony had held meetings to review the capital acquisitions of the force. (Till then the so called "Non Corrupt" minister was sleeping and waiting for instructions from the "high command")
Its not sure its quite that simple. While acquisition of the Akash had already been sanctioned, the larger issue is what comes next. The obvious answer was mobile SAMs. There is a strong school of thought that calls for retiring all air defence artillery and switching exclusively to missiles. The Russians for example have upgraded their gun systems but have no replacements planned once they retire. The US Army has completely phased out all air defence artillery in favour of missile based defence - Avenger, Patriot, THAAD. The IA's drive to acquire similar classes of SAMs has met with strident opposition from the IAF which views it as an encroachment on its turf.

Point is, the new RFI and upgrade proposals have been issued after the recent pressure on the govt, but the jury is still out on whether that was the right call. I suppose if nothing else, they should be effective against UAVs and moderately useful against cruise missiles.

Misraji wrote: How many officials do you hear off being charged as such?..... Zero
How many companies do you see being black-listed? ..... IMI, Bofors, Denel .... This list will just keep on increasing.

The answer is crystal clear.
Throw the officials out. Given the magnitude of the problem, act first, ask later.
If you are suspected of impropriety, you get thrown out. Period.
That's one way of looking at it. But you and I both know what the state of the Indian judicial system is. Were the govt to take action primarily against individuals, the companies would end up with a relaxed attitude towards corruption - why worry when you know the case will carry on interminably. Its possible that many companies end up unfairly accused, but then it is also possible that the MoD is privy to facts that while true may not be provable in a court of law.

Think of it like the Indian countryside; everyone knows so-and-so is a dreaded don, but were you to try in him western style system, he'll continue to have a ball and terrorize the public. Practically he can be handled only when the police and administration collude after receiving the necessary political backing (think Nitish Kumar's Bihar).

Coming to the blacklisting of companies, there is certainly a price being paid in the short term when frivolous allegations hold up arms procurement, but over the long term a clear message goes out - the way to 'handle business in India' is changing, and all companies would be best served by rigorously and transparently sticking to the straight and narrow.

Surya wrote:Why India cannot afford to give up Siachen?

http://www.rediff.com/news/column/why-i ... 120413.htm

If Vikram Sood felt compelled to write this then it is contrary to some folks here who think MMS and other retards will not sell us out.

He even points out that this time its not the usual talk for sake of talk nonsense.

The US needs to withdraw with some level of echandee - and will do anything to get its way

So the majority of BRF which feels that MMS for whatever lollipop from the US will do this - zre more likely right
More voices coming out and the article even mentions about MMS and his Nobel prize ( this coming from a ex-MI man). So, can imagine something good not happening in the background:

X-post:
sum wrote:You know that something not so good is brewing if a ex-MI honco is forced to write a column warning GoI not to conceed on Siachen:
India can ill-afford to pull out from Siachen
Ever since a massive avalanche claimed over 100 Pakistani lives in Gyari near Siachen, which coincided with a cordial meeting between prime minister Manmohan Singh and president Asif Ali Zardari in New Delhi last week, there has been a surfeit of speculation and suggestions about demilitarising Siachen.

Every Indian soldier empathises with the affected Pakistani families. It was a massive, though rare avalanche and a colossal tragedy, but life in the defence forces is hazardous – much more so in Siachen, where avalanches, crevasses, frost bites and pulmonary edema are daily occurrences.

Indian troops deployed at 20,000 ft, lose 180 men on an average every year – 95 per cent of them to these causes. Pakistani troops at much lower heights of around 12,000 ft also lose an average of 100 men but half of them to our fire during their attempts to dislodge our troops. Wars are a costly affair not just in terms of money. All nations pay this price in the interest of national imperatives, as they must.

That, however, does not warrant obfuscating ground realities, historical facts and strategic issues. Facts first. India occupied Saltoro ridge in 1984 by pre-empting Pakistan’s impending occupation of Bila Fondla by a mere couple of days. India had no plans to hold the area during winter but incessant attacks by Pakistan to retake the passes compelled India to stay. Pakistan has much easier supply lines including roads and mule tracks and greater reinforcement potential in Siachen.

Indian troops take upto a week of climbing to reach their positions and are entirely helicopter maintained. In case Pakistan ever occupies these heights, we may never be able to take them again. The LoC was demarcated upto Pt (NJ 9843), from where it was to continue north to the glaciers. Saltoro Ridge connects NJ 9842 to a point exactly north of it after taking a minor easterly detour, which in fact is territorially advantageous to Pakistan. In practice, boundaries always adhere to geographical logic.

For India, Saltoro Ridge forms the only defensive bulwark against China, overwhelming the Nubra and Shyok river valleys in Ladakh, and if we vacate, Pakistan can do likewise. If anything, Pakistan must recognise that we have not transgressed into the northern areas of Gilgit – Baltistan which historically belonged to the Kingdom of Mahraja Hari Singh, and do not legally belong to Pakistan even today. This is an area of great strategic importance to both countries as this enables the only possible surface connectivity between India and Afghanistan. There is no historical, political or military justification for Pakistan to deny us the right to be there. Yet, year after year Pakistan has launched attacks to dislodge Indian forces from Saltoro.

In fact we came pretty close to losing our dominance in 1988. Then Brig Pervez Musharraf was commanding the SSG Brigade at Skardu and this author headed the Military Intelligence in the Corps HQ at Srinagar. A chance interception of telephonic conversation between a Pakistani captain and his wife alerted us. Close observations of Pakistani movements and a detailed intelligence appreciation of possibilities led us to conclude that a major attack by more than one SSG Brigade against the central glacier was imminent.

That appeared too audacious. Senior commanders and intelligence experts were not prepared to endorse this assessment. But the Pakistan Army has never lacked audacity even in deceit. Only professional insistence by the author persuaded the Army Chief, General Sunderji, to order precautionary reinforcements. The attack came exactly as predicted and, Musharraf having got a bloody nose could do only two things. First, he profusely abused his troops who had indeed fought bravely and second he pledged to avenge his defeat, which eventually manifested in the form of Kargil.
President Nixon has been quoted to highlight how India was forever inclined to marginalise its territorial peripheries. Jawaharlal Nehru put faith in the Chinese professions of ‘Hindi Cheeni Bhai Bhai’, and oblivious to the crucial strategic significance of Aksai Chin, gifted it away to China as a desolate area where not a blade of grass grew.
There has been much motivated talk of Manmohan Singh earning passage to history through the award of a Nobel Peace Prize. Can India permit him to follow his ambition by gifting away Siachen to Pakistan as a great confidence building measure and saving both India and Pakistan a few thousand crore rupees apiece?

Our defence forces will not be party to the proposal. Insha Allah.
:-o :-o

From a 2007 report:
It is after two decades of occupation that the army is nearing a zero casualty syndrome on the Siachen glacier, with no casualty being recorded due to cold.

With the availability of state of art medicare facilities, best battle field robes and equipment, high living conditions and Indo-Pak border truce since November 2003, the Siachen casualties have declined.
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... casualties

Now the IA casualities due to cold etc at Siachen are zero. Zilch. So why does the author borrow from the Paki Officers rediff article and quote this crap..
Indian troops deployed at 20,000 ft, lose 180 men on an average every year – 95 per cent of them to these causes.

Gen VK Singh stalled stopped BEML's 1,000 truck order in 2010
And ordered Global tender for 6x6 and 8x8 trucks.

ToiLet reporting.
NEW DELHI: Bharat Earth Movers Limited (BEML), which is in the eye of the storm kicked up by the Army chief's claim about a Rs 14-crore bribe offer, was preparing to supply 1,000 Tatra trucks in 2010 when General V K Singh stalled the entire acquisition.

Sources said BEML, the Bangalore-based defence PSU, had on the assurance of the then Master General of Ordnance (MGO) of the Army in 2010, had taken "advance action" for supply of 1,000 Tatra vehicles. All these vehicles were to of 6x6 and 8x8 variants.

It is not clear if Gen Singh refused clearance after September 22, 2010, the day he was allegedly offered the bribe by Lt Gen Tejinder Singh on behalf of Tatra.

Tatra truck purchases are usually sent by MGO directly to the ministry of defence (MoD), BEML later pointed out to the MoD. But in 2010, the Army chief had asked for the Tatra file and put the acquisition on hold.
Instead, the Army moved a proposal to the Defence Acquisition Council, headed by defence minister A K Antony, for a competitive global tender for the purchase of 6x6 and 8x8 trucks.

The last order for Tatra trucks were placed with BEML in March, 2010, a few days before Gen VK Singh took over as the Army chief on March 31. The last order was for 788 vehicles out a total projected requirement of 3,296.

While the last order was placed by MGO Lt Gen Vinay Sharma, his successor told the BEML that there was no requirement for new vehicles to be acquired from revenue budget.

The Army is presently processing the global competitive tender, which could take several months to complete.

The forces' stand on Tatra acquisition would be a key component of the ongoing CBI probe into Gen Singh's allegation that he was offered Rs 14 crore bribe for clearing the purchase of Tatra trucks.

While many of the documents related to Tatra deal - from the Army HQ, MoD and BEML - have been handed over to the CBI, indications are that the agency is yet to get any 'breakthrough' documents to show corruption trail in the Tatra deal.

CBI officials would be meeting with Gen Singh, who was away in Punjab on Friday, for collecting further clarification to his written complaint about the bribe offer.
Iteresting bit is there that MGO sends proposal directly to MOD. COAS is not in the picture. VKScalled for the file and asked for Global tender in DAC. He inadvertantly stepped into the 'Gravy Train' which got delayed and might get eventually derailed.

Last order was in 2010 before VKS took over.

As Gen VKS is being shunted out on the manufactured DoB by Man mohan, Antony on the orders of 2G --> The next step of the game is being put into action.

Next two years are going to be very dangerous for India, even during the last few months of the UPA I, Man mohan managed to get the 123 fiasco through. Wonder what will be the list this time? Reservations in armed forces, dilution of AFSPA, what else?

Manmohan Singh is He is really the Man he is, he is must step down from the PM ship owing moral responsibilities for all the scams and fiascos. I wonder how he sleeps in night when he is told that soldiers dont have sufficient ammunition to last 2 days and we have 2 trouble making nations we have fought 6 wars in last 6 and half decades. I really ask him what makes him go to sleep in night? Please advise.

Altair wrote:Manmohan Singh is He is really the Man he is, he is must step down from the PM ship owing moral responsibilities for all the scams and fiascos. I wonder how he sleeps in night when he is told that soldiers dont have sufficient ammunition to last 2 days and we have 2 trouble making nations we have fought 6 wars in last 6 and half decades. I really ask him what makes him go to sleep in night? Please advise.
IMHO I would prefer these 2 "good " men - PM and DM to stay on course till the end of this regime for the precisely the above reason.
Want more scams to be unearthed. Investigations will be launched if it comes to their notice(however late or by default).
At least they do not stop it irrespective of the outcome.
If any other wily politician comes to power, the leaks will be suppressed and we will never know of it again to the detriment of the nation.
Better to know and whine and not know at all. :(( :((
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Altair wrote:Manmohan Singh is He is really the Man he is, he is must step down from the PM ship owing moral responsibilities for all the scams and fiascos. I wonder how he sleeps in night when he is told that soldiers dont have sufficient ammunition to last 2 days and we have 2 trouble making nations we have fought 6 wars in last 6 and half decades. I really ask him what makes him go to sleep in night? Please advise.
Jesus holy Christ man! You want Dr. Singh to step down because soldiers only have two days worth of ammunition in the front lines? That poor olde man is trying to fight poverty, illiteracy, infrastructure latency, and corruption in the government while boosting the Indian economy into a global powerhouse. Leave the sabre rattling to Pakistan because if they start shit, the IN can blockade Karachi and the entire paki forces will bring to a halt in a week or so and then India can waste the MotherF*****s, Samuel L Jacskson style.

Altair wrote: I wonder how he sleeps in night when he is told that soldiers dont have sufficient ammunition to last 2 days and we have 2 trouble making nations we have fought 6 wars in last 6 and half decades. I really ask him what makes him go to sleep in night? Please advise.
He is known to lose sleep only when next of kin of terrorists and their sympathizers are effected.

Otherwise his sleep is not disturbed. On the night when Rajbala was beaten to death by Delhi Police as a part of police brutality to break up Baba Ramdev's satyagrah at 1 PM at night, we are told that Man mohan had retired after a hard days work at 8 PM.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Altair wrote: I wonder how he sleeps in night when he is told that soldiers dont have sufficient ammunition to last 2 days and we have 2 trouble making nations we have fought 6 wars in last 6 and half decades. I really ask him what makes him go to sleep in night? Please advise.
He is known to lose sleep only when next of kin of terrorists and their sympathizers are effected.

Otherwise his sleep is not disturbed. On the night when Rajbala was beaten to death by Delhi Police as a part of police brutality to break up Baba Ramdev's satyagrah at 1 PM at night, we are told that Man mohan had retired after a hard days work at 8 PM.
Did Indra Gandhi lose any sleep when blue star happened? Did Vajpayee lose any sleep when the Hindus and Muslims started to slaughter each other? Just because Manmohan Singh is trying to keep the fragile peace with a trigger happy nation does not make him the devil. No commander can sleep at night when they know they have sent their men to the abyss, and he doesn't want to send the entire Republic of India to war against the Madrasa educated idiots who hold the button to unleash nuclear hell.

Anyways, if we want to continue political banter, we should do it somewhere else.

Gurinder P wrote:That poor olde man is trying to fight poverty, illiteracy, infrastructure latency, and corruption in the government while boosting the Indian economy into a global powerhouse.
If that is your sense of humor I am not amused. Our economy has slowed down considerably in case you have not noticed. Our Armed forces are weaker. There is a bigger list but it is OT here. I am only rising here because IA appears weaker under MMS leadership. Any self respecting man would hang his head in shame and put papers.

Altair wrote:
Gurinder P wrote:That poor olde man is trying to fight poverty, illiteracy, infrastructure latency, and corruption in the government while boosting the Indian economy into a global powerhouse.
If that is your sense of humor I am not amused. Our economy has slowed down considerably in case you have not noticed. Our Armed forces are weaker. There is a bigger list but it is OT here. I am only rising here because IA appears weaker under MMS leadership. Any self respecting man would hang his head in shame and put papers.
For a long time when Man mohan's blatant acts of omission and commissions which went against Indian interests were put out, the sort of saving grace argument used to be "look he has still not hurt our conventional military power after all other aspects are tenuous but a strong military even without nukes is what counts" and "he is a politician like any other"

I am glad that even that misplaced hope (born out of desperation) is now exposed. The first step of fixing issues is being aware of them.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Altair wrote:
That's pure unadulterated BS. All the nations in the world are in an economic slump of sorts, but India and China are still growing. As for the forces, what do you call the $12 billion MMRCA contract? Or the IN just inducting the Akula this month and the Vikramaditya coming this year? The forces have been growing and they are being modernized and the training is becoming world class since India has been shed in brighter colors this past decade thus allowing the forces to train with western nations plus Pakistan has been seen as a backstabbing nation. Don't blame the entire problems of the nation on one man, just because you do not like him. And I am not being humorous when I say this.

Akula and Vikrmaditya were signed on during NDA, ditto for MMRCA etc etc.

We should just be glad that Man mohan did not actively work to over turn those, like he overturned 60 years of autonomy in nuclear space.

In any case this government has dragged its feet everywhere it could w.r.t. arming India. Its a miracle that even some things went through being stopped.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

NDA also isolated India by detonating the nuclear bomb(s). And it was this government that went ahead with refinancing Vikramiditya, closing the MMRCA and getting the Akula. And the government is taking its time in precurement because it does not want a repeat of the bofors thus leaving the navy and air force gimped like the army. Maybe if foreign vendors and Indian politicians weren't so greedy, the army would have its artillery and the airforce could have shed its flying coffins since the 90's but I do remember it was Manmohan Singhs economic policies that saved India from economic collapse in the 90's.
Last edited by Gurinder P on 14 Apr 2012 23:51, edited 1 time in total.

As Gen VKS is being shunted out on the manufactured DoB by Man mohan, Antony on the orders of 2G --> The next step of the game is being put into action.

Next two years are going to be very dangerous for India, even during the last few months of the UPA I, Man mohan managed to get the 123 fiasco through. Wonder what will be the list this time? Reservations in armed forces, dilution of AFSPA, what else?
Paki FDI in the Indian defence sector??

Gurinder P wrote:NDA also isolated India by detonating the nuclear bomb(s). And it was this government that went ahead with refinancing Vikramiditya, closing the MMRCA and getting the Akula
I see another one who thinks India should "stay in its place" and support those who actively work in keeping India "in its place"

Sanku wrote: As Gen VKS is being shunted out on the manufactured DoB by Man mohan, Antony on the orders of 2G --> The next step of the game is being put into action.

Paki FDI in the Indian defence sector??
Good catch, yes Paki FDI too.

Gurinder P wrote: That's pure unadulterated BS.
Please dont confuse yours with mine.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Gurinder P wrote:NDA also isolated India by detonating the nuclear bomb(s). And it was this government that went ahead with refinancing Vikramiditya, closing the MMRCA and getting the Akula
I see another one who thinks India should "stay in its place" and support those who actively work in keeping India "in its place"
If you want to be a war mongerer, be my guest. But the battles of this century will be faught in the stock house not likely on the battlefield, especially when it concerns china.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

Altair wrote:
Gurinder P wrote: That's pure unadulterated BS.
Please dont confuse yours with mine.
I'm sorry that you are confused, that it required to you to confuse the bs in your statement into thinking my counter argument was laden with bs.
Last edited by Gurinder P on 15 Apr 2012 00:06, edited 1 time in total.

If you want to be a war mongerer, be my guest. But the battles of this century will be faught in the stock house not likely on the battlefield, especially when it concerns china.
Gurinder P, do not derail discussion by posting inane stuff. There is no substitute for capability (economy as well as military).
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

prahaar wrote:
Gurinder P, do not derail discussion by posting inane stuff. There is no substitute for capability (economy as well as military).
Tell me, if their is no economy, how can soldiers be fed? How can new equipment be purchased? When two regional powers go head to head, it will primarily be through economics, like the USA vs USSR. The world thought the two would start ww3 but the fight was pure economics. My theory is going to be this:

1) Pakistan is not India's major threat, due to that country is crumbling in on itself and the security of it's nuclear stockpile coming into question.

2) the sun is setting on the American Empire and it is rising over China and India. Therefore I believe these two nations will aggressively start building their armed forces and the clear winner will be the nation that doesn't go bankrupt doing so

start new thread with link to this page in first post.

*NO* politics.