Indian Army: News and Discussions 15 Apr 2012

Sri

Re: Indian Army: News and Discussions 15 Apr 2012

Post by Sri »

Deleted

Repeated post
Last edited by Sri on 11 Jan 2013 22:51, edited 1 time in total.

Last edited by Samay on 11 Jan 2013 18:23, edited 2 times in total.

pratik wrote:While living in Australia, i am not eligible to register a complain to Human Rights commission. Can someone from India submit the complain online using the following URL?

http://164.100.51.57/HRComplaint/pub/Ne ... laint.aspx

Also... After living most of mylife overseas... I have finally decided to surrender my indian citizenship. As i have lost the hope of my Bharat. (Due to this recent event and Government response; General Anti-Hindu attitude of central government; Ladies safety.... We have failed everywhere)
I am feeling sad :( ..but also accept that we (Indians) are not MAHAN any more..

I also do not understand that why we are keep debating weapons, defence quipments etc here... If our armed forces do not wants to use it..

Good bye to my love Bharat and Hello to Australia...
Why don't you stay back in "zannat e karachi" in suaristan/porkistan? Here a beautiful video of your jhant-e-kachara , watch from 1:48 :-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDpuAHkV ... verified=1

krishnan wrote:Image

There, simple reaction
One simple request to all of you guys, please dont post ^^his image here, at least not here.
Whenever I see his picture ,I feel ashamed that he is our pm.I dont think any pm of any country is so ignorant.
Remember strong warning from Obama on national channels after atack on US consulate in Egypt ?..

3 days have passed after those brave souls left their mutilated body, but this man hasn't spoken or openly condemned it, forget about taking some hard action.

I dont know whom he serves, but not the people, for whom he has to work.

First post on its main page has some troops with balachavas

http://www.firstpost.com/

wondering?

beating up a dead lion serves any purpose than encouraging a live ass!

how many billion times one has to say this: it is in your joint hands : vote. This is still democracy. Ask for change, even if that means how the gov is enabled!

At the least i would have expected the PM of this country to be present at the time when body of these brave soldiers were cremated and paid his personal homage to the martyrs and took that opportunity to speak with press and condemn this cowardly act , perhaps he must be burning the midnight lamp to see how he can salvage his peace proposal.

Dilli Billi does not have the stomach to fight Paki , Parliament Attack and 26/11 has adequately shown if there was any proof needed , Now all we have today is that terrorist and war criminal Hafiz Sayed threatening India that Kashmir battle will get uglier

believe me, there is no burning lamp in dilli. if people wishes are taken off the agenda, the basic principles of lamp functioning seizes to exist. and this is the problem, with many to understand given the responsibility of socialistic setup [that only gov should do this and that].

it is not working.. it never worked except with a good king-ship. I don't think we want to return to the days of queen-ships either.

The Pakis looks like want to protect the infiltration routes, the ones they continuously keep discovering and we keep plugging them continuously, they are trying to force this by firing on any new bunker construction saying we are in violation of the 2003 ceasefire agreement. With 2014 approaching, Hafeez suar might be detailing that he needs x many routes be available so that y terrorists can be sent in so that z% of effect can be seen on the Indian side.

The beheading is obviously an intimidation tactic that we don't cut down their posts providing fire cover to infiltrating terrorists and also ensure that known gaps on the Indian side aren't closed by IA. This intimidation by PA need to be countered by continuing to wipe out the posts being used as springboards for terrorists or providing covering fire for them. Make amends to the 2003 ceasefire agreement so that it allows newly discovered infiltration routes to be plugged.

This is a layman's perspective and I don't see this message coming across boldly in the news media, its mostly 'tu-tu main-main' rhetoric
member_23858

Post by member_23858 »

Narayana Rao wrote:In fact the nation remembers Jawans only when there is war, floods earthqacks etc. We in general do not care for them. The rules of war were framed long back by Europians to be used on the wars between then and to expect Pakiland to honor them is too much.
NarayanRao ji, while it is true, that MANY in the nation remember the Jawans when there is war, etc. NOT all Indians are like that.. Indians DO CARE for them. And the incidence was not to be viewed under the lens of "rules of war" or "rules of engagement". Its Basic Human quality which is expected out of any professional army. However, time and again, the mercenary force, that is the Pakisatan Army has shown that they are anything but professional.
Boreas

Post by Boreas »

The Hindu and DNA have done unimaginable damage by publishing those two articles. Who ever from MoD/PMO/Army built up and leaked the grandma story had made a monumental strategic blunder. Bad PR for nation. And the reason it is not us but pakis who are shutting down the trade route.

Samay wrote:
krishnan wrote:Image

There, simple reaction
Ghoogi ?

Six things about Pakistan
http://www.firstpost.com/
ॐ One, Pakistan’s reason for existence is anti-India.
ॐ Two, if the idea of Pakistan is non-existent, and the idea of India is what enrages Pakistan
ॐ Three, there is no point differentiating between the Pakistani state and its people
ॐ Four, if the idea of India has to win over the non-idea of Pakistan, we have to let them stew
ॐ Five, India must thus always keep the powder dry
ॐ Six, the Pakistanis understand only strength

Pakistani soldier's killing response to provocation: India
India asserted that Indian troops had resorted to “controlled response” in retaliation against unprovoked firing by Pakistani troops at Mendhar
At LoC, we’re like goalkeepers in penalty shootouts, say jawans
RAJOURI: Rage, shame and betrayal make for a combustible mix and in Rajouri, just 10 km from LoC, the Indian Army is oscillating between the three. Of these three, rage is the most visible on the faces of soldiers ambling through the crowded streets of this border town. The desecration of their comrades' body has cut deep.

This insult is something that every man in uniform takes as a personal blow. The Army is working overtime to calm down troops thirsting for revenge. "We shall strike but at a time and place of our choosing. Now is not the time," said an angry Capt Martand Singh.
:
:

From the article above ...
The articles by two Delhi-based journalists known for their access to intelligence agencies seemed to suggest that it was the Indian Army that had precipitated the Pakistani attack because of its disregard for rules that govern the LoC ceasefire.

What has particularly shocked the men in olive is the naming of a junior commander in Uri. Brig GS Rawat has been painted as a "latter day out-of-control Dirty Harry". One of the stories says he is an officer known to be aggressive. It has reference to his past record. "What does that mean? That brigade commander on the LoC should be docile? To name a brigade commander is bizarre; it makes it seem as if he is fighting his private war," said Major AS Tomar, who just finished tenure on the LoC.

Many like Maj Tomar see a subtle government hand in this, designed almost to absolve the government in Delhi or Srinagar of any responsibility for the latest setback to their Pakistan policy. This narrative nudges towards the Uri incident as a latter day mini Kargil that justifiably provoked a Pakistani retaliation. :evil:

The GoI thinks it is too clever and that people won't realize that. What they are doing is hitting the morale of the people who are busting their ass trying to save the country!

GOI is only good for stealing the tax money of indian citizens, while persecuting the common man. Take a look at the issue of the IA's ammunition capacity, its a deliberate policy of keeping the Army under equipped.
Add shameless, third rate politicians to the mix - like our current PM who doesnt care about Indian citizens and their lives (unless they belong to politically useful minority) and you have the current state of affairs. BTW that lady saadhvi Pragya (of the real danger, Hindu terror..) is now reported to have got cancer, wonder how much is due to the forced chemicals the wonderful GOI subjected her to in the guise of interrogation
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

The signal that the GOI is giving the Jawans is that we lost. This will induce a loss of morale, and it will be a negative spiral of morale after that. Who would want to fight a losing battle, everyone would just want to "come back alive" at any cost.

I saw on TimesNow that Gen V P Malik was incensed that MMS was briefed about the incident by the NSA and the Foreign Secy (or MEA?). Not by Army Chief as per past practice.

This is surely shameful and shows the distance between the Military and our peacenik PM.

'Insensitive' Akhilesh skips slain jawan's funeral.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav has drawn much flak for not attending the funeral of the Indian soldier who was killed by the Pakistan army along the Line of Control, despite the fact that the soldier belonged to the state.

His critics feel that the chief minister did not even care to send his representatives to the funeral that was carried out with military honours in Mathura on Thursday.

Both the Bahujan Samaj Party and Bhartiya Janta Party have been vocal in condemning Akhilesh, who has been accused of being "totally insensitive."

As an afterthought to the criticism, the chief minister on Friday sent a cheque of Rs 20 lakh to the family of the slain soldier.

Earlier on Thursday, Akhilesh had told mediaersons in Ghaziabad, "Two jawans were killed near the LoC. One of them belongs to a village from Mathura. The UP government has decided to give an ex-gratia relief of Rs 20 lakh to the family."

He was in Ghaziabad to attend the closing ceremony of a national-level weightlifting championship.

The two soldiers gunned down by the Pakistan army on January 8 were identified as Lance Naik Hemraj and Lance Naik Sudhakar Singh. While Hemraj hailed from UP, Sudhakar belonged to Madhya Pradesh, where the chief minister personally went to attend the funeral and handed over a cheque of Rs 15 lakh to the bereaved family.

However, 29-year-old Hemraj, who died a martyr, was only honoured by the army. Civil authorities did not attend his funeral.

Hailing from Shernagar village in Mathura district, Hemraj is survived by his wife, mother, two tiny daughters and a son.
Flaying the chief minister, BJP veteran and Lucknow MP Lalji Tandon said, "The UP chief minister decided to send Rs 20 lakh only after the MP CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan had shown the gesture."

He went on to add, "I feel that because of the politics of vote, the Samajwadi Party preferred to ignore the incident. I am sure that Akhilesh Yadav would have condemned the incident if Pakistan was not involved and that is highly condemnable."

BSP supremo Mayawati was also vehemently critical of the CM and his party for its failure to pay due respect and homage to the departed martyr. "A soldier, who was the son of the UP soil, had laid down his life for the country in very exceptional circumstances and the chief minister does not find time to even send a representative to stand up with the bereaved family," she said.

She told reporters, "This only reflects the insensitivity of the Akhilesh Yadav government, which must provide financial assistance to the family and a job to the hero's widow.

Just imagine what is in store for India if Mulayam's dream of becoming PM through the Third Front becomes a reality.
peter

Post by peter »

Is it just a coincidence that all the "rogue" officers being mentioned have rajput sounding names:
1) Gulab Singh Rawat
2) Martand Singh
3) AS Pundir
4) R Chauhan

IndiaToday's illustration of Indian and Pak force deployment near the borders.

Story

PICTURE
Last edited by Nikhil T on 12 Jan 2013 09:03, edited 1 time in total.
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

Frankly, I don't understand how many times now the Army is going to repeat its own mistake of trusting this weak political leadership.
Short of starting a war, go and take action on your own.

They killed two of you guys, go and kill 20 of them. Start an artillery barrage.
Let PA complain as loudly as they want.

Jawans on hunger-strike!!!! Stupidest thing I have ever heard in a while.
What the hell is an Army? Is it supposed to be a Gandhian force or an organization that can bend the enemies to its will??

--Ashish

misraji

stop believing every stupid report

jawans are not on hunger strike
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

@Surya:
Thanku. Thats good to know.
Completely caught me by surprise when I read that report.

--Ashish

The articles by two Delhi-based journalists known for their access to intelligence agencies seemed to suggest that it was the Indian Army that had precipitated the Pakistani attack because of its disregard for rules that govern the LoC ceasefire.

What has particularly shocked the men in olive is the naming of a junior commander in Uri. Brig GS Rawat has been painted as a "latter day out-of-control Dirty Harry". One of the stories says he is an officer known to be aggressive. It has reference to his past record. "What does that mean? That brigade commander on the LoC should be docile? To name a brigade commander is bizarre; it makes it seem as if he is fighting his private war," said Major AS Tomar, who just finished tenure on the LoC.
Shame on both of you %^#&@, Saikat and Praveen Swami.

Hope you both get your just desserts for your "outstanding" work in this case!
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

sum avare,
forget those two hopeless people. Im more worried about the comments following the granny article in The Hindu.

sample this,
Thanks Hindu. This changes my view of the whole story. India as a responsible country shouldn't have broken the terms of the Cease Fire. I fail to understand the objection Army has over movement of old lady
who wanted to be with her sons. Was it difficult to find this out
another one..
This is why India needs -'TheHindu'. While all other media is busy in telecasting 'we are good-they are bad' type of stories by highlighting the death of two indian soldiers and raising passions of the people, TheHindu went to the root cause of the issue.
yet another..
Praveen Swami's front page report is really praiseworthy for the objective manner in which it brings out the complexities of manning the LOC which results in both sides occasionally straying from accepted norms. The sequence of events from Sept 2012 that he has described has hardly been mentioned in our frenetic and sensation ridden visual media. Swami's report deserves to be widely circulated in all languages for the benefit of all our thinking citizenry.
Yathaa praja thathaa raja.... :roll:

Comments on the Hindu are heavily moderated. Often the most commie, anti-national ones are from people with the most Sanksritized names. Very likely they are all fake.

Above is most likely right. Not a single comment that I have written on "The Hindu" articles has been published in about 10 years. Maybe something like 20 comments. Never passed thru "moderation"...

Try starting with Assalam Aleikum and ending with peace be upon you, I'm sure the comment will be published regardless of the body of the message

You're probably right there mahdi ...

I have warned before

saikat is a snake (with due apologies to the beautiful world of snakes)

be careful if you are dealing with him
Asit P

Post by Asit P »

One event, three reactions:

(1).India may have to look at options: IAF chief on Pak violations

(2).Govt will not give in to 'wild calls for revenge': Salman Khurshid

(3).............................. : MMS, Sonia, Rahul et al
Ghatotkacha

Post by Ghatotkacha »

Couple of questions I think about:

1. I don't know exact parameter to qualify for gallantry medal. Isn't these two soldiers qualify for some kind of medal? According to one other soldier's account these two fought, warned rest of patrol in time and fought while saving others. If it were not quick-thinking and fast reaction of these two scout, rest of patrol would have been victim of the well prepared ambush and we would be seeing lot more bodies without head. Or MMS and co will play some politics on this matter too?

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/v ... ory/261308

2. I don't understand, why Pakistan would want to stir trouble on their eastern border if they are already in huge trouble in their western border? Or, they want to re-unite their people (jehadi + army) once again by starting a war against common enemy India?

I really wish Gen. V.K Singh was still the Army Chief at this time. We would been seeing an interesting development :)

I can't tell any difference between statements made by Salman Khurshid and Salman Bashir. Such great teamwork. True patriots these two.

This "wild call" is like music to the ears only.

Gentlemen, Rajeev Ranjan of UndeeTeeVee has rocked once again.. this time with an indepth program on the Ladakh Scouts...
Wow, the regiment has seen so much action and earned many battle honors.
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-i ... o-featured

What was intriguing was the reference to this regiment as the most decorated regiment? can any gurus confirm this? they were labelled as the youngest regiment by one officer (which was also difficult to believe as IA had inducted couple of other regiments since then)

anyway.. kudos to Rajeev Ranjan.

Shrinivasan wrote:<SNIP>What was intriguing was the reference to this regiment as the most decorated regiment? can any gurus confirm this? they were labelled as the youngest regiment by one officer (which was also difficult to believe as IA had inducted couple of other regiments since then)<SNIP>
Well, I cannot comment on the most decorated regiment bit but it sure is the youngest regiment in the IA. It went from a deputation force (for officers) to a full fledged regiment of IA post their performance in 1999. I don't think IA has raised any other regiment in its infantry post this. Also, I hope you're not confusing raising and induction of battalions with new Regiment.

Chindu moderators I think are racists to the level of which IP address one is commenting from. More communal than being commies.