Wish you all a very Happy Ganesha Chaturthi... :)

गणपती बाप्पा मोरया... मंगलमूर्ती मोरया.. सभी मित्रों को गणेश चतुर्थी की हार्दिक शुभकामनाएँ..
vish_mulay

Re: Wish you all a very Happy Ganesha Chaturthi... :)

Post by vish_mulay »

Vakratunda mahakay suryakoti samaprabha ll
Nirvighnam kurume devo Sarva karyeshu sarvada ll

Ganpati bappa morya!

Happy Ganesha Chaturthi! :)

Vakratunda mahakay suryakoti samaprabha ll
Nirvighnam kurume deva Sarva karyeshu sarvada ll

Happy Ganesha Chaturthi! :)
member_23686

Post by member_23686 »

वक्रतुंड महाकाय सूर्यकोटि समप्रभा : ll
निर्विघ्नं कुरुमे देवो सर्वकार्येशु सर्वदा : ll

Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all. Below is the url for the famous Lalbaug Ganpati in Mumbai

http://www.facebook.com/LalbaugchaRaja2012
girish.r

Post by girish.r »

Happy Vinayaka Chaturthi :-)

Enjoy the modak. :D

One of my favorite festivals. Nothing, not even Diwali is celebrated, at least in Mumbai the way Ganesh Chaturti is. If you have not seen it in person, you are missing a great spectacle that brings out the best in the entire community.

The only thing I object to is the blaring of bollywood songs for 10 evenings from some of the mandaps. The only thing that should be loudly sung from the mandap is the the Aarti and any other devotional songs with a time limit.
Om Gam Gan-a-pat-aye Na-ma-ha

Ga-jaa-na-nam bhoot-gan-aa-dhi-say-vi-tam

Kapittha jam-boo phal-saara bhak-sha-nam

Uma-su-tam shoak- vi-naasha-kar-a-nam

Nam-aami vigh-naysh-var-paad-pank-ajam
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Wish you all a great vinaka chaturthi!
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Ganpati bappa morya!
brat

Post by brat »

Ganpati bappa morya.

Wish everyone a great Ganesh Chaturthi. May vidhnaharta take away all obstacles from establishing dharma in Bharat and beyond.

Aum Gam Ganapataye Nama:

Vinayaja Chaturdhi Subhakamkshaly to all.

May Vinayaka give right intellect to Indian leadership and remove the obstacles to establishment of Dharma in the world.

best wishes to all ! :)

Happy Ganesha Chaturthi!!

http://brothersjuddblog.com/archives/20 ... f_ego.html
THE ENDEARING LACK OF EGO:
Ganesha is elephant-faced, pot bellied and with short legs because he has no ego. And that is why the attributes which would otherwise be seen as disproportionate and strange now become endearing. We all have eight negative energies in some measure in us and we need to overcome them in order to control the ego. The ills that derive from these negative emotions manifest in a similar manner. It is divine power that makes you powerful, beautiful, desired... so do not ascribe it all to yourself, says Ganesha and that remains the most valuable lesson to success

Atri wrote:Image

गणपती बाप्पा मोरया... मंगलमूर्ती मोरया.. सभी मित्रों को गणेश चतुर्थी की हार्दिक शुभकामनाएँ..
That's a really beautiful idol. Is it from one of the Mumbai's famous pandals?
Happy Ganesh Chathurthi to all.

Happy Ganesh Chathurthi to all!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cHq8qVufAI

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all!

Ganapathappa Morya!
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

@parhta it is shrimant dagdusheth halwai Ganpati from pune.

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to every one.

Lots of modak and great food.

My late father in law wrote a detailed translation of the actual Sanskrit mantras chanted for the Ganesh pooja along with the rituals side by side with a Roman script text of the Sanskrit mantras. It was specifically written for people who read English and are uncomfortable with reading Sanskrit in any Indian script. I will scan all the pages and put them up as a public resource. To my knowledge this is a unique work.

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all Indians!

Partha ji,

Shrimant DagduSheth Halwaai Ganpati Mandal

One of the first "Saarvajanik" Ganpatis in country when Tilak started the public version of this festival.

There are 5 Ganesha Mandals in order of "Precedence".. They are called "Maanaache Ganpati" (Maan - Honor, vaguely, ganpatis of honor). The following order is considered important. Even during visarjana, this order is followed. Devotees visit the ganesha pandals by first finishing these 5 in this exact order and then visiting other pandals. These five are also popular 5 "molds" of Ganesha idols. Dagdushet Halwaai Ganesha is not considered as Ganesha of honor, although is immensely popular.

1. Kasba Ganpati

This is the "Graama devata" of Pune. Established in 1640 by Shivaji's mother Jijabai. This was the Kuladevata of Peshwa family along with many others. Tilak referred to this ganesha as the "premier" Ganesha in Pune. The public ganeshotsava mandal established in 1893.

2. Tambadi Jogeshwari Ganesha (Red/Maroon Yogeshwari temple ganesha) - A Yogeshwari (Devi in Bhavani/Durga form) temple was renovated by Shivaji. She is red due to rage while slaying an asura named tambrasura. This temple also has an attached Ganesha temple (Son of Parvati) and associated with this temple is this Ganesha Mandal. This is second in order of precedence. Mandal established in 1893.

3. Guruji Taalim Ganpati - Third Ganesha in order of precedence, also among the three oldest Public Ganesha Mandals. Established in 1887.

4. Tulshi Baug Ganpati - Established in 1887. Fourth Ganpati of Honor in Pune.This is the old and famous Ganesh mandal in Pune. This mandal is known for the huge size of the Ganesh idol.

5. Kesari Wada Ganpati - Fifth Ganpati of Honor in Pune. Lokmanya Tilak established this idol in year 1893. This mandal vows to take up social and cultural undercurrents of the society.

shiv wrote:My late father in law wrote a detailed translation of the actual Sanskrit mantras chanted for the Ganesh pooja along with the rituals side by side with a Roman script text of the Sanskrit mantras. It was specifically written for people who read English and are uncomfortable with reading Sanskrit in any Indian script. I will scan all the pages and put them up as a public resource. To my knowledge this is a unique work.
Deracinated souls, such as myself, will be grateful. Thanks.