India-China War 2013 - Trigger: Incursion into India

Re: India-China War 2013 - Trigger: Incursion into India

Cross-posting from "Managing Chinese Threat" Thread

As long as one has Chinese nuclear missiles stationed in Tibet targeted at our cities, we would find it difficult to go up the escalation ladder.

So ...
  1. We need just as many land-based nuclear missiles targeted at Chinese cities on the Eastern coast.
  2. We need nuclear-weapon submarines not far from Chinese Eastern shore.
  3. We need a much bigger deterrent, so Buddha needs to smile more often.
  4. We need a deep tunnel and bunker busting bombs.
  5. We need a very exact knowledge of geological fault-lines running through the region and how and where to strike to cause a targeted earthquake.
  6. We need to bring Nepal and Myanmar in our sphere of influence with an intensive civilizational luring.
  7. We need to train and arm each and every able-bodied Tibetan male for an insurgency in Tibet against Chinese rule.
  8. We need to support the insurgency in Turketstan in indirect ways.
  9. We need to raise a few more mountain strike forces and otherwise get conventional superiority over China.
  10. We need a huge expansion in our MIC.
This would give us the confidence to take cudgels with China anytime they so wish.

This doesn't mean we have to wait till all of this is in place before the throw out the Chinese from their current camps within India. But for a more durable "peace" the above would be necessary.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Rajesh ji you are ready to write an article on this.
Are you going to write ?
And is anyone going to publish? We are a minority in academics and media anyway :P
In the internet world at least BR will.
May be others can pitch in as well.
It would be good to have likeminded voices broadcasted.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Sometimes I cry that many knowledgeble persons on BRF are so far away from reality...
dont mistake me I do have laughter at such..

Deterent is not bums, a donkey with Tiger skin will not deter anybody, it only brings death quickly...

Deterent is that psychological fear the enemy feels with the unified power of arms, determination, unity in action and thought, the cultural value system of freedom, pride and zeal to fight for the right cause last but not least diplomacy.

India today especially under the current leadership is no way near to project deterent or detegent.

Our Military leadership is in cruise mode for promotions,
Our civil leadership is for amasing wealth
Our political leaderships insatiable lust for power money and riding over the people does not cae for good governance.

there are few islands of people with good old values and patriotism who cant alone by themselves protect the nation.

so this too shall pass, just be ready to mark the India Map with more disputed territory, occupied territory, etc.....

so come back to reality, Our forces are not equiped to take on PRC nor can our coffers afford a war
let us focus on call centers and make few dollars more

Virendra wrote:Rajesh ji you are ready to write an article on this.
Are you going to write ?
And is anyone going to publish? We are a minority in academics and media anyway :P
In the internet world at least BR will.
May be others can pitch in as well.
It would be good to have likeminded voices broadcasted.
What is the point of this?
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

I don't think we need too many dollars to protect ourselves from China.
If that were the case, Vietnamis wouldn't have been able to beat the Chinese back with a bloody nose.
I don't remember Vietnamis losing any major chunk of land to China.
Are we saying we are monetarily worse off than the Vietnamis were to China back then?

GoI should announce a national picnic party and invite all able bodied youngsters to camp in new tents, with 24 hr Bollywood movies on big screen outdoors, loud music and fun. It is after all a localized event as per highest sources and a disputed area. If they can have a picnic we should too in disputed areas. It is all for peace and understanding only across cultures.

Virendra ji,

I simply write here. Whoever wishes to read, is free to read here. Whoever wishes to cross-post to some blog is also free to do so!
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Bade saab

we have a new one from Chinee

Chinee Hindi Bhai Bhai, tum chennai chele jao

Published on Apr 30, 2013
Strategic experts don’t buy 'localized’ misadventure in Chinese incursion: Times of India
NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had tried to soothe a frazzled nation by saying that the Chinese incursion into Depsang Valley in eastern Ladakh on April 15 was a "localized" affair, and the government had a plan to resolve it.

But strategic experts believe this latest round of border problems between India and China is the most serious till date, and unlike the government, they don't think the Chinese are going to vacate any time soon and that this may lead to other similar face-offs in other sectors along the Line of Actual Control (LAC).

Bhaskar Roy, Chinese security expert, says, this time India has not depended on its own strength to stand up to China. There is a Chinese saying, "Respect the strong, blackmail the weak".

Former foreign secretary, Kanwal Sibal, observes, while the PM has suggested that the matter should not be escalated, the fact that the Chinese ambassador was summoned by the foreign secretary has already done so. Any Chinese intrusion across any point at the LAC will always be a local affair and hence, says Sibal, the implication is that the Chinese can keep doing it and we will keep reacting to it like this in the face of "uncompromising attitude of the Chinese and their determination to question our sovereignty.

Strategic affairs expert Brahma Chellaney says, it will be nationally demeaning if either foreign minister Salman Khurshid's visit to Beijing on May 9 or Chinese Premier Li's Keqiang trip to India on May 20 takes place while the intruders stay put and fortify their positions. Singh has given only comfort to the aggressor by his remark that the intrusion was a local affair, he says, with Beijing welcoming his comment. "To make amends, Singh should at least signal that good-neighbourly ties demand respect for the territorial status quo and that he hopes Beijing will withdraw its intruding troops so that Khurshid's Beijing visit and Premier Li's New Delhi stopover can go ahead," he says.

Jayadeva Ranade, another China expert, says, this intrusion was unprovoked, but this is not an "isolated" incident, as the government is trying to show. There have been similar incursions in many areas along the LAC particularly since 2008, he says. "Beijing remains transparently unmoved by the adverse media publicity and damage it has caused to India-China relations. It has neither moved to resolve the situation despite three flag meetings at the level of local army commanders and communications from New Delhi requesting resolution. Beijing has thus made it abundantly clear that it will defuse the situation only at a time of its choosing. Beijing's stance confirms too that the stand-off is not a local incident provoked by the action of a local commander, but one initiated with the full knowledge of China's senior leadership," Ranade explains. He says that the timing may be coinciding with Singh's Japan visit and probably be a signal from China warning India against New Delhi's Tokyo outreach. "Beijing is adept at using a blend of threats and promise of military retaliation to deter an adversary from taking actions contrary to Beijing's interests," he adds.

While the PM's statement would appear to substantiate the Indian official position that the conflicting perceptions of the LAC in the Western sector has resulted into this situation at the Daulat Beg Oldie (DBO), says Alka Acharya of the Institute of Chinese Studies, an early resolution does not seem imminent. "To that extent it is localized in northern Ladakh, south of the Karakoram Pass. But to the extent that it has brought about a situation which earlier "intrusions" did not, it has to be treated with more than the usual response," she says.

"In many ways, the responses have been initiated but the manner in which the talks are continuing, an early resolution does not seem imminent. We appear to be reaching the point where both sides are upholding the position that they are operating in their own territory- question is will both agree to restoring status quo ante," she adds.

For a war to be fought. You need willingness to fight. What you have right now, is a government that sees phantoms every where.

The only reason this govt. Has not blamed the RSS fot the PRC action is the fast the PRC is an athiest power. Give another week. The GOI will declare victory and get back to loot and plunder.
So I say Ib4tl

Pranav wrote:
RajeshA wrote: such logic can go very wrong! It is like - "Why blame the rapist, when the parents did not teach their girl to wear modest clothes?" kind of logic.
So you want to go and fight external enemy while you are still enslaved and controlled by internal enemy?
Another thing to keep in mind is that house divided with many working "not" for the national interest will open second second internal front to do permanent damage. If Chinese have made serious caluclative move then they have factored this in by using their and their friends assests within India. we have too many loose ends, unfortunatly promoted by our own lethargic attitude. India need a minor defeat , a kick to wake up from idiotic negeligence in governence and rule.
MMS declaring this a localized event says volume about his attitude toward the national security. Is it disgusting, demorlaizing or plain stupidity of the leadership cursed upon us ?
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Pranav wrote:I think it would be best to make it a repository for data and analysis.
That too is a function of this thread!
But discussion is also part of the mix. What use is dry data if it doesn't move a thing - either in China, in GoI or within us?!
rohitvats ji has spoken in favor of having a China Study Group where information is collected for posterity. But this thread deals with everything around this incident.
I agree as I was going to ask the question as per what good is the data if it cannot be utilized successfully despite years worth of accumulation. Perhaps the website itself needs promoted to educate (especially the younger generation?). At times I feel that most of the valuable discussions and opinions stay on the forum and do not make it to the destination(s).
Last edited by Garooda on 30 Apr 2013 21:23, edited 1 time in total.

@nitingokhale: China offers to disengage from current face off site. India says will consider if China agrees to withdrew fully. This during 3rd flag meet

Good news

shyamd wrote:@nitingokhale: China offers to disengage from current face off site. India says will consider if China agrees to withdrew fully. This during 3rd flag meet
What does "India says will consider if China agrees to withdraw fully" mean? What is there to consider? Do we want them to stay?

And if there is something else, what is there to consider? What is the deal?

^ Looks like China will propose both sides disengage from that theater. Siachen saga at work.

That is good news for some.

It seems the UPA pattern is

Allow others to come and violate you. Then negotiate return to status quo. During negotiations then make concessions. Then claim these concessions bear the solemn promise of GoI and hence cannot be questioned.

In the case of the Italian Marines it followed the same pattern. The Italian Marines killed Indian citizens. They were allowed to return to Italy. Then GoI pleaded with the Italians to return them. They were brought back with the solemn promise of GoI that they would not receive the death penalty.

Now the Chinese have invaded and conquered part of India. GoI did not do anything to strengthen the region and allowed the Chinese to walk in. Now GoI is pleading with them to return to status quo and go back to Tibet. Now GoI is again preparing to give some solemn promises to China which weaken our position.

Why cant we just fire Brahmos missiles on the camps and be done with it? We are firing in our own territory arent we? What am I missing?

Altair wrote:Why cant we just fire Brahmos missiles on the camps and be done with it? We are firing in our own territory arent we? What am I missing?

Altair. One heavy machine gun will do the trick. But the idea is to settle without force.

Why can't government order some Indian troops across LAC about 20km in response? Is there a secret/default pact with CPC?

Altair wrote:Why cant we just fire Brahmos missiles on the camps and be done with it? We are firing in our own territory arent we? What am I missing?

Altair. One heavy machine gun will do the trick. But the idea is to settle without force.
And Why? :-?

What went down at 3rd flag meeting between India and China- report by Sudhi Ranjan Sen and @nitingokhale http://t.co/QqvSlMuEda

DDM. So PRC offered to "move tents few feet back". India hopes this is behind the LAC. Obviously something is missing in translation - as the article appears quite contradictory and rushed. we also told them we won't have any pre-conditions for talks.

Why are there no street protests - either self-organized or Government-controlled?

We had people on the streets protesting against VIshwaroopam, against Vivekananda being described as striking a "masculine pose" etc etc.

Why not one for national security?

Prem Kumar wrote:Why are there no street protests - either self-organized or Government-controlled?

We had people on the streets protesting against VIshwaroopam, against Vivekananda being described as striking a "masculine pose" etc etc.

Why not one for national security?
Did we have any when the Italian Marines absconded? No!

China Study Groups's leaks today, every major newspaper running this: China may never leave Ladakh: Intelligence officials
Chinese troops, who have intruded almost 19 kms into the Indian territory in Ladakh, may never leave the area. According to assessments by senior government and intelligence officials China’s People’s Liberation Army soldiers camped in Raki Nullah in eastern Ladakh may never go back across the Line of Actual Control (LAC).

Sources say China may have initiated the intrusion to see how India would react on the ground. Until now India’s response has been only diplomatic even though it has been 15 days since the Chinese soldiers simply walked over to the Indian side and set up tents. There has been no military action by the Indian side.

Indian intelligence officials feel that Chinese troops might not leave Ladakh. IBNLive.
They say India has no leverage to get them to return as any military action by India now carries the risk of the Chinese escalating the issue. If India camps in Chinese territory then China could occupy more Indian areas close to the LAC as it has far more forces at its disposal than India.

So India may be wary of surrounding the Chinese camp and cutting off their supplies. This manoeuvre should have been carried out at the beginning of the face-off.

The Chinese could declare their intention to resolve the face-off during the visit of the Chinese premier Li Keqiang in May. But that would only underscore India’s own weakness on the ground and may set the stage for more Chinese provocations.
More was leaked in other newspaper articles.
Last edited by shyamd on 30 Apr 2013 22:40, edited 1 time in total.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

the only way to get protests on to the streets against the PRC action is

1) Kannada evergreen hero Rajkumars Temple in Himalays was desicrated by Chinese
2) Tamil ever green Hero MGR Kovila was demolished by Chinese in Himalays
3) NTR statue was demolished in the Himalayas by Chinese, KCR and CBN will fight in Hyderabad against each other
4) Prophets (PBUH) Hair was stolen from Mecca and Chinese destroyed it in Himamlays, ML Owissi will fight in Hyderabad, Cochin, coimbuttur

The chinese will get scared and vacate the Tibet itself
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

thanks ShyamD the defeatism shows how well we are prepared, there were fantasy thread war in Tibet on this forum......

Oh well

in retrospect Nehru was a very brave man to send troops with .303 and canvas shoes into Tibet.....

They have 3 units on standby to mount similar intrusions and resupply the PLA troops on indian soil.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Chinese have asked India that both sides should pull back from their current positions.
I don't believe it. That effectively means -
They pull back from our land where they have illegally encroached.
We pull back from our own land.

So Chinese stay on border or just inside our border .. and we stay way behind our border ??
How is that a reasonable preposition, even if it means a demilitarization of sorts (for now)?
Such things if considered, will cost us the next war very dearly.

Virendra
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Intelligence failure

Adm Sushil Kumar

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/not-j ... /1109359/0

Not just another border incident.

The Ladakh intrusion by China points to India's imperative to review its strategic priorities

It is almost with disdain that a bunch of Chinese soldiers have set up camp inside Indian territory. Baffled by this defiant Chinese intrusion into Ladakh, the Indian establishment has chosen to downplay the incident. What is worrisome is that we seem to have no answers to such repeated Chinese provocations across the Line of Actual Control (LAC).

This stand-off may be defused diplomatically, but what it really shows is the PLA's contempt for our military capability. This raises a serious question: why do we continue to remain militarily fragile vis-a-vis China, despite being nuclear-armed, with a deterrent that boasts of an ICBM capability?

A candid assessment will reveal we are operationally disadvantaged across the LAC. In handling border situations, nuclear deterrence is hardly of consequence, as the military equation is determined solely by "conventional" war-fighting capability. In this respect, it would be absurd to compare our war-fighting capability with that of the PLA. China belongs to a different league and we would only be deluding ourselves if we believe that our nuclear deterrent has a sobering influence on China.

Removing the intrusion during the Kargil war, or launching Operation Parakram, may have worked with Pakistan, but against the PLA, a coercive manoeuvre would be a different ballgame. Our strategic calculations would need to keep in mind the PLA's aggressive war-fighting doctrine of "Forward Defence", matched by its robust build-up along the entire McMahon Line.

Handling the Sumdorong Chu situation in 1986 was commendable, but we need to remember that the PLA has come a long way since then. With a vastly upgraded conventional war-fighting capability, the PLA has rapidly modernised its armed forces in comparison to ours, which have been degraded through years of neglect. We consequently lack the refinements needed for manoeuvre warfare in our mountainous borders with China. With improved border infrastructure and massive airlift resources, the PLA can deploy up to four full-fledged mountain divisions to any point along the LAC within 24 hours. In contrast, our troops remain bogged down by decrepit border infrastructure and lack of mobility. That is the ground reality.

As the chairman of the chiefs of staffs committee, when I visited our forward outposts on the Chinese border, I was heartened by the brave faces of our field commanders, though they knew they would be outclassed.

But why are we in such a paradox — nuclear-armed, yet militarily fragile? It is because we have deluded ourselves that nuclear deterrence reduces the need for conventional force levels and, taken in by this flawed proposition, scarce national resources have been diverted to build a nuclear war-fighting machine that will never be used. Influenced by nuclear warfare gurus with a "nuclear mindset", we have misplaced our strategic priorities. Where our foremost need has always been to equip and modernise our conventional force levels to match our vastly superior northern neighbour, we have merrily stockpiled a nuclear arsenal. The overriding need has always been to build up our conventional combat capability, for that is what credible deterrence is about. More, nuclear deterrence remains counterproductive unless matched by an effective and credible conventional war-fighting capability. What ultimately matters is "conventional deterrence", which not only prevents a war but, if the need arises, ensures a credible response. And that is the dilemma we face, with the Chinese soldiers defiantly squatting inside our territory in Ladakh.

It is mistakenly believed in some quarters that China is preoccupied with its domestic agenda and problems in the South and East China Seas and would rather not stir up a border conflict with India. To military professionals, this would seem unconvincing, for it is China's belligerence and huge capability that remains our concern. Moreover, China has always been a non-status quo power, which remains miffed at being constantly compared to India. Dismissing the PLA's intrusion into Ladakh as just another border incident may have geostrategic implications viewed in the context of China's longstanding territorial claims.

Hopefully, we are not going to make the type of strategic blunder Great Britain made in the 1960s and 1970s, when it opted for the Polaris-Trident programme to bolster its nuclear deterrence. Massive resources were diverted that emasculated Britain's conventional war-fighting capability. It cost the Royal Navy dearly. An atrophied Royal Navy realised the consequences of this folly much later in1982, when it could barely assemble a motley group of ships to sail for the Falklands. A navy that took centuries to build and proudly ruled the waves was eclipsed by the misplaced strategic priorities of its government. The Ladakh incident may blow over, but it ought to act as a wake-up call to review our strategic priorities.

The writer is a former chief of the Indian navy and chairman, COSC
Long ago in a BRM article I had said "Conventional forces have to be built up tp ensure the nuke threshold remains high"

Looks like MMS in his economy at all costs has neglected this fact and forgot China will laways challenge India. So he is in the Nehruvian trap of delusion.

But the good news is he appears to have bolstered the nukes as the Admiral is saying which we should credit MMS.

One could argue we are pursuing improving our conventional forces across the board - albeit most purchases/programs only went through in the last 2-3 years, whilst we dont have them right now, we will over the coming 4/5 years. In fact there are 50 naval ships currently under construction and another 100 in various stages of acquisition process.

Our admirals today are also engaged in setting up operational turnaround bases, forward-operating bases and naval air enclaves with a view to enhance India's surveillance efforts in the IOR. We have placed assets and opened new bases close to the Malacca too.

shyamd wrote:One could argue we are pursuing improving our conventional forces across the board
Really and Saudi Arabia is a evolved secular friendly democracy I suppose?

Sanku, What was the need to bring in KSA?

pentaiah wrote:the only way to get protests on to the streets against the PRC action is

1) Kannada evergreen hero Rajkumars Temple in Himalays was desicrated by Chinese
2) Tamil ever green Hero MGR Kovila was demolished by Chinese in Himalays
3) NTR statue was demolished in the Himalayas by Chinese, KCR and CBN will fight in Hyderabad against each other
4) Prophets (PBUH) Hair was stolen from Mecca and Chinese destroyed it in Himamlays, ML Owissi will fight in Hyderabad, Cochin, coimbuttur

The chinese will get scared and vacate the Tibet itself
This pretty much summarizes where our aam-aadmi's priorities are

RajeshA: this situation is far more grave than the Italian Marines case and is something which can mobilize a nation. Even if I put my cynical hat on, the GOI can easily drum up a "grassroots protest" in Delhi demanding stern action from the Government & give the event enough media oxygen. This is a tried and tested trick that Governments world over do. The Chinese especially do this.

Our Govt also does it, when it helps them in their local agenda of sidetracking some silly issue or to score stupid political points. One would assume that there would be a modicum of patriotism and the willingness to use their well-honed political skills to stab someone other than their own countrymen

Shyamd: that report & the GOI's action is like declaring a walkover after the first over is bowled. If the Chinese want war, let's give it to them. Escalation - bring it on!

The entire nation will be behind the GOI and our Armed Forces.

ramana wrote:Sanku, What was the need to bring in KSA?
Could not think of any other example which would be as far fetched as a statement that GoI has been doing a good job in conventionally arming services over last few years.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Intelligence failure, and we have been putting up with incursions and excursions of PLA in Arunachal as well.

Time to give digital copies of Panch Sheel to MMS so that he can read at bedtime

Friends this is the prediction Rudradev ji made in Sep. 2011 about 'Why China would attack us, I am only taking last few parts but urge everyone who has not read it to read in full:
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1449423
Rudradev ji wrote:Because it may be that China really wants a war. Against India, with Pakistan as its ally.

China has been acting for the last several years, more aggressively than ever towards all its neighbours. Not ONE conciliatory move is made, but panga is taken with Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam, the Philippines AND India at every opportunity. Why?

Because China needs a war. Or at least, one very powerful faction in the Chinese govt, including the PLA, is convinced that China needs a war.

Why does this faction think China needs a war?

It's like this. Throughout the '90s, the Chinese accumulated what they thought was going to be their greatest source and permanent guarantee of wealth; forex reserves of Western currencies, and more importantly, debt owed by Western governments. Mainly the US government.

That component... debt holdings, in the form of US treasury bonds and such, grew enormously through the '00s, as the US borrowed money to finance its wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Meanwhile, Chinese export markets in the US also grew enormously in the '00s... until things reached a point where Chinese industries relied on US consumer markets to absorb a very large portion of their output.

When the '08 financial crisis hit the Western world, especially the US, China's b@lls went into their mouth. It was a double-threat for China. On the one hand, all the US debt they held could become devalued in case of a depression. On the other hand, if US consumers stopped buying things, Chinese industries (which relied on US markets to absorb their output) would suffer. The resulting impact felt at home, by the Chinese economy, could have devastating consequences for a totalitarian regime.

So what option does a country have when so much of its wealth is in the form of debt? It must monetize the debt. It must turn the debt into something real, as soon as possible, before that wealth (in the form of treasury bonds) becomes more and more devalued as a result of its debtor's financial troubles.

How can China monetize the debt it holds? Here are some ways.

1) It can demand that the US pay up. But the US doesn't have money. If the US prints money, then China's own holdings become further devalued (as it happened with QE2, which further aggravated the situation.) Same for other Western countries, such as EU nations, which are also reeling financially.

2) It can print money and inject it into its own economy to increase domestic consumption. But this will inevitably lead to inflation, and cause civil unrest. Very bad idea, beyond narrow limits. Keeping tight control over money supply is much healthier from a totalitarian regime's point of view.

3) It can invest money into tinpot countries and gain goodwill. To some extent China has been doing this. But sooner or later, some returns have to be there no? So far, what returns have been generated by China's magnanimous projects in Sudan, Zimbabwe etc.?

4) It can start a war. It can arm up, invest wholesale in defense R&D, in procurement of foreign weapons systems and manufacture of its own weapons systems. And it can use these weapons systems in the pursuit of other kinds of power... geostrategic power. An additional benefit to this method of monetizing its debt is that it does not lead to civil unrest (at least as long as China can claim victory) but rather, to an upsurge in jingoistic nationalism that strengthens the position of an authoritarian government.

There you have it. Starting a war is likely considered a good option, given the prevailing economic situation, by a powerful faction within the ruling establishment of China. The US and West do not care if China starts a war with India; it will damage two of their biggest competitors. And Pakistanis of Section B, above, very much want this to happen and want to participate on the Chinese side.

The ONLY thing that would make the Chinese hesitate in starting a war with India would be India's possession of a credible nuclear deterrent. And what has Bharat Karnad told us, between the lines, about that?

In summary, I am guessing that the GOI has understood all this. It understands that the danger of a two-front aggression by China and Pakistan is not just real but imminent. It has calculated that we cannot win, and that we cannot count on external help to win. It may have calculated (ref: Karnad) that we do not even have a credible nuclear deterrent to prevent this from happening.

So in a sense, just as we are the only hope for Pakis of Sections D and E... Pakis of Sections D and E are our only hope to avert disaster. That's why we're seeing the policies we're seeing, IMHO.
Rudradev ji wrote: Gakakkad ji, the answer to your question "why go to war, why not just invest in weapons" is borne out by a truism which we have seen in action ever since WW I. The existence of a military industrial complex in modern states, inevitably leads to military conflict.

China has ALREADY been investing in weapons R&D, manufacture and procurement since the late '90s, more and more throughout the last decade. Now it is doing so even more intensely as a means of monetizing its debt. But as this happens, the pressure to use what has been accumulated, is also rising. Let me try to explain with an example.

Every year in the CPC politburo, different factions have to come up with requests for budget allocation. One very powerful faction may be the Militarists... PLA plus defense/armaments contractors. They are the ones who stand to benefit, when China decides to monetize its debt by investing in weapons R&D and procurement.

But there are other factions also. Let us say, in 2003, the Militarists put forth a budget of $10 billion (just a random figure.) Meanwhile, some party member from Shenyang wants $2 billion to build a Hello Kitty amusement park. Some other guy from Harbin wants $5 billion for a dam/irrigation project.

The Militarists insist that they should get the priority. After all China is in danger. Japan is acting tough on Senkoku Island. India has recently tested nukes and they might weaponize soon. Dalai Lama said something threatening in his speech.

Also, CPC economic czars favour the idea of spurring the economy by spending on defense, so the Shenyang guy and the Harbin guy are denied. The money is granted to the Militarists to manufacture SSNs and aircraft carriers.

This goes on every year. Let us say in 2009, the Militarists want $20 billion. They say that Taiwan is behaving very aggressively, Vietnam is taking control of the Spratly Islands, India is raising mountain divisions in "South Tibet" etc.

This time the Shenyang Hello Kitty guy and the Harbin Dam/Irrigation guy are more adamant in their refutation. They say, "we already had to go without funds because you Militarists were talking about Japan/Senkoku and Indian nukes in 2003. You got your money, what did you do with it? How are we more secure?"

However, once again the CPC czars favour the idea of monetizing the debt by spending on defense. So they give the Militarists $20 billion to spend on JF-17s, BMP knockoffs, IRBMs and whatever else.

But at the same time, pressure from the factions opposed to the Militarists is rising. Pretty soon the Militarists have to show results to justify all the money they have been getting, and the money they plan to keep getting in future.

One day in 2011, news comes that India is about to test the Agni V. This is a moment-of-truth for the Militarists. They HAVE to do something to justify the funds they have been getting all this time, at the expense of other interests, in order to keep future tranches of money flowing.

Note that at this time, even the opposition from the other Non-Militarist factions in the Politburo works in favour of starting a war. In my example, the Harbin guy and the Shenyang guy will start asking: "you have been taking money for years and years, while we have had to do without the Hello Kitty Amusement Park and the Dam. Now you tell us that India may soon have missiles capable of reaching Harbin! Meanwhile your precious SSNs and Carriers are rusting in the harbour. You have been given what you asked for in terms of budget, how are you going to serve our interests?"

The Militarists have painted themselves into a corner with their justifications for building a Military Industrial Complex. Their only choice is to say, now is the time, and manufacture a case for war. They go to town with propaganda, declaring that Vietnamese aggression in the South China Sea has reached unacceptable limits; that the ally Pakistan is now more anti-US than ever before; that the US is now weak and not likely to interfere in any war prosecuted by China; that India must be crushed before it deploys Agni III and test Agni V. They drum up a war-beat of "now or never."

Conflict is then a fait accompli; as it was for the Germans in 1914, the Americans in 1965 and 2003, the Russians in 1980. The political dynamics of a Military Industrial Complex will necessarily shift the equilibrium towards war. Whether it's a constitutional monarchy or a democracy or a socialist republic or a dictatorship doesn't matter. It always happens.

Of course, the factions opposed to the Militarists in the CPC politburo, will right at this moment be advancing the same counter-arguments against war that you have cited. India can cause a lot of pain in retaliation; Security Council will not support us; other countries like SoKo/Japan will get more nervous.

But given historical precedent, all these sensible reasons are simply ignored or consumed by war hysteria, which the Militarists are trying to build up. For everything there is a counter argument: India will only become more powerful given time, we must consolidate "Southern Tibet" or we will lose our chance, India must be taught a lesson before it commits to increasing naval presence in the South China Sea or forming a military alliance with US/Japan/Australia. Given the political momentum, war is inevitable.

Now to Kanson's question about Taiwan. If PRC wanted a war, why would they pick India and not Taiwan? I think the answer is, they're still not sure (despite US' apparent weakness) that US and Japan will not rush to Taiwan's defense. However, they may calculate that this is not true of India. With Pakistan on their side, and US staying out of the conflict, the PRC Militarists may feel more confident of securing a military "victory" against India than one against Taiwan.

Also, Kanson, about Agni V testing this year. If it happens, it is a good thing. It is a sign that we are not idly waiting with the axe over our heads, that we are trying to close the window of opportunity for China to prosecute a two-front war against us. Still, for the present Agni V is untested and I don't know if Agni III is even deployed. IF what Bharat Karnad says is true, 20kT weapons is the most we have. So the assessment, that GOI is trying very hard to avoid war by courting certain factions within Pakistan, holds good.

Fortunately, as we all know, Agni V was successfully tested since the time I made this post.
Rajesh ji, if possible add this to the first post of this thread.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

What if we import massive amounts of Chinese weapons with our dollars
There by creating shortage if weapons for china itself
No?

Or they could just be salami slicing this area for some tactical reasons, like with Aksai Chin and the road to Tibet