Neutering & Defanging Chinese Threat (09-08-2014)

Re: Neutering & defeating Chinese Threat (09-08-2014)

China wants Bhutan to become the Himalayan equiv. of another African "Bhutan-tustan".Exterminating the Hindu monarchy in Nepal achieved ,Bhutan is the next target.But Tawang and Ar.Pradesh is the great prize given the huge importance and stature of the monastery there next only in importance to Lhasa and the Potala palace.Set up centuries before the British arrived by a former Dalai Lama,with the current DL regularly visiting it,where he escaped from Tibet,it holds enormous power and respect for Tibetans.It is a rival to any Chinese claim over Tibetan Buddhism and is in India.China can NEVER hold onto Tibet as long as Tibetan Buddhism flourishes in India, that too just across the border!

schinnas wrote:@rajfortyseven
#China #PLA pelts stones at #India Army Video geolocated 33 43 12N 78 45 49E
PLA regularly violates engagement procedures stipulated earlier

https://twitter.com/rajfortyseven/statu ... 1557891072
Looks like BRF was first again :mrgreen:

It is the Chinese soldiers who appear to have red banners as evidenced by this photograph from a past confrontation.

The procedure AFAIK when patrols from the two sides confront each other is for each to show the other a banner in which both sides claim that the other is trespassing on their territory and then leave the area. But in this case at Finger 4 the Chinese attacked the ITBP and presumably tried to breakthrough the Indian lines, but were successfully blocked.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

ldev ji, full marks for honesty, zero for realpolitik.

We're dangling on the edge of viable territory. Without Maj Shaitan Singh's heroics, even this strip would have been in Chinese hands. We need to push in thrice the numbers and gain 15kms to the East. DBO and Chushul will be the only lifelines in winter and they will make their moves this winter.

The problem with the cheeni army/ITBP incident is that now both sides, particularly Indians will carry some protective tools, knuckle busters (hard to see on videos), some martial artists, a tit for tat escalation will occur...matter of time before bullets fly.

Guddu wrote:The problem with the cheeni army/ITBP incident is that now both sides, particularly Indians will carry some protective tools, knuckle busters (hard to see on videos), some martial artists, a tit for tat escalation will occur...matter of time before bullets fly.
Bullets flew long time back in 2009... as usual we whitewashed it

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 011353.cms
Simmering tensions along the mountainous frontier with China appear to have become serious with a revelation that two jawans of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police, the sentinel force along the Line of Actual Control (LAC), were injured in bullets fired from the Chinese side

The firing in an area identified as Kerang in northern Sikkim took place a fortnight ago but has been kept under wraps.

This sort of chinese street thuggery needs to be nipped in the bud. We should simply place snipers at strategic locations. Fire a warning shot if there is aggressive behavior and then shoot. That will stop this kind of nonsense. Enemy needs to respect our will to defend the territory. If any show of disrespect they should be forced to withdraw or escalate.

Even at Dokalam plateau, where the Chinese are hopping mad at least in public, there has been no shooting because each side understands that it can escalate quickly out of control. Till date both sides have refrained and that is a good policy.

What India can do however is to tell the Chinese that aggressive patrolling by them will prompt aggressive patrolling by us and then follow up with just that. The mistake that has happened is that the Chinese kept pushing forward and we kept falling backwards. I can't be sure but that IA does not patrol up to its claim line of finger 8, it does not even venture to finger 6 i.e Sirijap. IIRC, The IA was asked to curtail its patrols the last time there was a similar situation .
Last edited by pankajs on 20 Aug 2017 20:03, edited 1 time in total.

ldev wrote:How will Chinese use of force in Doklam manifest by Lt General H S Panag
Nice article. The (retd) General believes that at the 'best' a limited war will take place, and that too it is unlikely to go beyond the Dokalam area.
Nations armed with nuclear weapons do not, and I dare say, cannot fight a full scale conventional war that causes major loss of territory, large scale casualties and destruction of economic infrastructure. The probability of even a limited war in multiple sectors along the LAC is relatively low. The probability of a limited war in the area of confrontation is much higher.
This is a little surprising. The author assumes that in a limited war if China starts to prevail, India will hold back and accept a local defeat, and not escalate. I doubt this premise is correct. If China starts something in Dokalam, and starts to gain firmly, I dont think GOI is going to keep it localized. The Dokalam move by India, I see it as a indicator for not just current but future Chinese road-building activities. So India cannot afford to lose this conflict, especially locally. Given troop strength and supply lines, I think China needs to think twice before restarting their 'Border Roads' military adventure in Dokalapur. If the author assumes that China wont escalate after being pounded to bits.....well, possibly, but that would mean the end of the current way of doing things in China (in many ways).

The author raises a good point about cyber warfare during winter when ground operations are not possible. In fact, this is a primary concern. No GPS can be a major problem for some missiles. Similarly, hacking into civilian systems can bring the war into hinterland and not remain at the border. THe author is going to publish some solutions to this next month, :) meaning, he thinks Chinese and Indian soldiers will be sharing more dhokla at Dokalapur for another month or two.

Whatever the colours of banners and clothes the kicked man retreated towards the lake and the retreating men returned to pick up a colleague who was hit by a stone. Now if anyone wants to insist that the group retreating towards the lake were Indians I am going to laugh at that.

In fact the man who got kicked - in the final seconds of the video gestures to other men asking them to follow him so it was a senior ass that got kicked. The man who delivered the flying kick had a firearm strapped behind him. As per reports it was a mixed crowd of Indian army and ITBP. ITBP had warm balaclava type hats, Indian army were in helmets.

SriKumar wrote: Nice article. The (retd) General believes that at the 'best' a limited war will take place, and that too it is unlikely to go beyond the Dokalam area.
Nations armed with nuclear weapons do not, and I dare say, cannot fight a full scale conventional war that causes major loss of territory, large scale casualties and destruction of economic infrastructure. The probability of even a limited war in multiple sectors along the LAC is relatively low. The probability of a limited war in the area of confrontation is much higher.
This is a little surprising. The author assumes that in a limited war if China starts to prevail, India will hold back and accept a local defeat, and not escalate. I doubt this premise is correct. If China starts something in Dokalam, and starts to gain firmly, I dont think GOI is going to keep it localized. The Dokalam move by India, I see it as a indicator for not just current but future Chinese road-building activities. So India cannot afford to lose this conflict, especially locally. Given troop strength and supply lines, I think China needs to think twice before restarting their 'Border Roads' military adventure in Dokalapur. If the author assumes that China wont escalate after being pounded to bits.....well, possibly, but that would mean the end of the current way of doing things in China (in many ways).

The author raises a good point about cyber warfare during winter when ground operations are not possible. In fact, this is a primary concern. No GPS can be a major problem for some missiles. Similarly, hacking into civilian systems can bring the war into hinterland and not remain at the border. THe author is going to publish some solutions to this next month, :) meaning, he thinks Chinese and Indian soldiers will be sharing more dhokla at Dokalapur for another month or two.
Agree, his premise is that to avoid a pre-ordained defeat in a traditional "3rd generation" conflict with infantry & artillery the Chinese will resort to stand-off PGMs and missiles to decimate Indian positions at the local level and thereby prevent an Indian counter-offensive which he presumes will be a counter offensive to gain territory. And he assumes that this stand off PGM attack will happen during the winter when it will be doubly difficult for the logistics tail of the Indian Army to support that territory gaining localized counter offensive.

He is making the following assumptions:

That India will keep the confrontation local to that specific sector.

That the only Indian counter offensive is one to gain territory and that too in that specific sector.

Both are very critical assumptions and both could be wrong. But then again he is a retired General from the Northern Command....I just hope that the IA is not locked into such strait-jacketed thinking.

Quick read. I disagree with the General on 2 bits

1. AFTER pulling its troops back use Missiles and PGMs to push India back. Arre bhai, India has clearly stated that its is willing to withdraw provided the Chinese too withdraw simultaneously. So if the Chinese are willing to withdraw first I see no reason for India to not withdraw on its own back to Doka La. The Chinese will not need missile and PGMs to clear that area. We will clear the area on our own. We will also level it and clear up the road before we leave. India really has not issues with withdrawing.

2. Hitting IA on Doklam plateau is on thing. Hitting them on Doka La is another because Doka La happens to be Indian territory on which there is no dispute .. at least the Chinese haven't disputed it till date. The moment they hit Indian territory the IA can really open up on their base/ logistics / supply in the Chumbi valley. This considering that India is never the one to escalate.

I cannot presume to teach the General but my understanding is that during the Nathu La incident that is what IA did. Kept on pounding the Chumbi valley for 3 days non-stop till the Chinese threatened to call in air support per one account. We could zimply follow the same routine. We kept it local during the Nathu La incident and we can keep it local this time too.

---deleted-
Last edited by SriKumar on 20 Aug 2017 20:29, edited 1 time in total.

Pankaj u were right about the location of the fight, 4th finger and square shaped protruding piece of land .Shivji the troops to the right are Indian, reason being they are retreating towards their own territory. Have a closer look at the terrain on google earth. The square piece of land on which they are fighting is broader towards the left of screen and narrows towards the right which is heading towards Indian side of pangong, by going to the left of screen our boys will be heading to chinese territory.

ldev wrote:Agree, his premise is that to avoid a pre-ordained defeat in a traditional "3rd generation" conflict with infantry & artillery the Chinese will resort to stand-off PGMs and missiles to decimate Indian positions at the local level and thereby prevent an Indian counter-offensive which he presumes will be a counter offensive to gain territory. And he assumes that this stand off PGM attack will happen during the winter when it will be doubly difficult for the logistics tail of the Indian Army to support that territory gaining localized counter offensive.

He is making the following assumptions:

That India will keep the confrontation local to that specific sector.

That the only Indian counter offensive is one to gain territory and that too in that specific sector.

Both are very critical assumptions and both could be wrong. But then again he is a retired General from the Northern Command....I just hope that the IA is not locked into such strait-jacketed thinking.
^^^ True. Both are critical assumptions, and in my reading, assumptions that will give China the advantage to dictate the course of the war (goals) as it pleases. In this event, the conclusion of a war is forgone. Even if IA is locked into this thinking (I am quite sure IA has worked out scenarios for everything including a full-blown war), the difference this time is in the leadership. And if China did not understand that in 2014 when XI visited India, Doval in his recent visit would have conveyed it, I am guessing. The move to stop their road-building activity was a political decision IMHO. And GOI did have the option to look the other way if it wanted (and keep this quiet). GOI did not, and I take this to mean that it is prepared to match/exceed the extent to which China takes the war (militarily, or economically)

The threat of cyber warfare is real, though one school of thought is that we are somewhat protected, because much of India is analog as opposed to digital (this line of thinking is similar to the situation on the borders, where we dont develop roads as the Himalayas protect us!). There was talk of India developing a cyber warfare command, dont hear much about it anymore. Collaboration with Israel or US may help in testing Indian cyber weaknesses. Would like to suggest to mods to consider a separate thread to discuss India-China cyber capabilities, since Cyberwarfare will almost certainly be a component in the next war with China.

Added: This seems to be a good summary for India https://cenjows.gov.in/pdf/synergyartic ... 56_824.pdf
Am surprised, we still dont have anything formal, just a patchwork of agencies, where the left hand would not know what the right is doing.
Last edited by Guddu on 20 Aug 2017 20:55, edited 2 times in total.

Per one report the process of forming the Cyber and Space command has been set in motion.

snahata wrote:Pankaj u were right about the location of the fight, 4th finger and square shaped protruding piece of land .Shivji the troops to the right are Indian, reason being they are retreating towards their own territory. Have a closer look at the terrain on google earth. The square piece of land on which they are fighting is broader towards the left of screen and narrows towards the right which is heading towards Indian side of pangong, by going to the left of screen our boys will be heading to chinese territory.
Sorry. Disagree. If we assume they are fighting on the tip of the peninsula that is square they are going towards the Chinese loop road. The Chinese are the guys who came on boats and "got lost" They are heading back to where they got lost. Uniform colours, banner colours etc mean nothing. The Indian army says Chinese on right, Indians on left. That is exactly what I see as the two groups separate and that is exactly what I am convinced of.

The other thing I can't understand is why people are disputing the Indian army story. Basically the Pakis and Chinese think we are liars. Many people here also think we are liars

http://www.spacedaily.com/reports/Oh_bo ... h_999.html
'Oh, bother': Chinese censors can't bear Winnie the Pooh -[Beijing (AFP) July 17, 2017]
Has Winnie the Pooh done something to anger China's censors? Some mentions of the lovable but dimwitted bear with a weakness for "hunny" have been blocked on Chinese social networks. Authorities did not explain the clampdown, but the self-described "bear of very little brain" has been used in the past in a meme comparing him to portly Chinese President Xi Jinping. Posts bearing the image and the Chinese characters for Winnie the Pooh were still permitted on the Twitter-like Weibo platform Monday. But comments referencing "Little Bear Winnie" -- Pooh's Chinese name -- turned up error messages saying the user could not proceed because "this content is illegal." Winnie the Pooh stickers have also been removed from WeChat's official "sticker gallery," but user-generated gifs of the bear are still available on the popular messaging app. Comparisons between Xi and Pooh first emerged in 2013, after Chinese social media users began circulating a pair of pictures that placed an image of Pooh and his slender tiger friend "Tigger" beside a photograph of Xi walking with then-US President Barack Obama. In 2014, a photographed handshake between Xi and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe was matched with an image of Pooh gripping the hoof of his gloomy donkey friend Eeyore. And in 2015, the political analysis portal Global Risk Insights called a picture of Xi standing up through the roof of a parade car paired with an image of a Winnie the Pooh toy car "China's most censored photo" of the year. Qiao Mu, an independent media studies scholar and former professor at Beijing Foreign Studies University, said the blocked bear content was unsurprising given the ruling Communist Party's sensitivity to depictions of its leader. It is a particularly sensitive year as Xi is expected to consolidate power at a key party congress this fall. "It's very murky what's allowed and what isn't, because officials never put out statements describing precisely what will be censored," Qiao said, noting that many Winnie the Pooh photos were still proliferating on the Chinese internet. In other contexts, references to the staple Chinese breakfast food "baozi" have been taken down for evoking the president's nickname: "Steamed Bun Xi," Qiao said. On Monday many Chinese social media users were testing the boundaries of the restrictions imposed on the bear who groans "oh, bother" when things don't go his way. "Poor Little Winnie," one Weibo user wrote. "What did this adorable honey-loving bear ever do to provoke anyone?"

One thing that is amply clear in the high resolution video is that that stone pelting is happening right on the loop road as it can be clearly seen in the long shot.

Right or left or was it an ambush and the video got cut off etc is not clear as it ends abruptly.

shiv.u r not understanding the geography and directions in the video. the indians withdrew in the general direction phobrang..lukung( right)...hans in general direction srijap ( left) //if u looking down into the lake from the north shore. the camera is pointed in general direction maan merak village.

....Godalmighty, this video analysis is getting a bit old. Post after about about sun angle, lake angle, style of the Chinese kick, darkness of uniform etc. Its going in circles at this point after numerous posts. It is a slow news cycle and maybe this has become something of a time-filler. :)

I'll go with what shiv said: that IA took this video, GOI released it, and their statement on the video stands.

Added later: Great sugggestion below. In fact, Bhut Jholokia, IIRC, was developed or researched by DRDO or some defence entity at one point. And at that time, I was wondering about its use.
Last edited by SriKumar on 20 Aug 2017 21:06, edited 2 times in total.

sarkar wrote:Chinese are pushing us to escalate the situation. Given the fact that they attacked with iron rods and stones, may be with an intention to severely injure or kill our soldier without even firing bullet. They want the conflict and want us to fire the first bullet. This is time to being clever and use innovative ideas to pin down these chinese goons.

Our jawans should be issued each one bag of laal mirchi power ... preferably assamese bhoot jhaluka type. They should smear or throw that power on lizardlings generously. I know first hand that lizardlings are scared to death of that laal mirchi power.

Time to take territory rather than do political analysis or even a frame by frame analysis paralysis. Except in Dokalam we are still within our side of the LAC everywhere else. Need to push the envelope further before I believe something changed since 2014.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

Is Eleven waiting for BRICS to give NaMo a warning? Who gives a $hit for the warning anyways. My worries are hat PLA might hit just before winter comes and run back to mama....

manjgu wrote:shiv.u r not understanding the geography and directions in the video. the indians withdrew in the general direction phobrang..lukung( right)...hans in general direction srijap ( left) //if u looking down into the lake from the north shore. the camera is pointed in general direction maan merak village.
You say I am not understanding. I say you are not understanding etc. Please cut the crap. You know damn well what I think and I am not about to agree with anything other than what the Indian army and its spokespersons have said. To me the situation is as clear as crystal. I am not asking you to believe me so please don't keep telling me what to think. I say what I think. If you agree fine. If you don't agree I don't care.
samirdiw

Post by samirdiw »

Philip wrote:But Tawang and Ar.Pradesh is the great prize given the huge importance and stature of the monastery there next only in importance to Lhasa and the Potala palace.Set up centuries before the British arrived by a former Dalai Lama, with the current DL regularly visiting it,where he escaped from Tibet,it holds enormous power and respect for Tibetans.It is a rival to any Chinese claim over Tibetan Buddhism and is in India.China can NEVER hold onto Tibet as long as Tibetan Buddhism flourishes in India, that too just across the border!
A radical idea is to change the game instead of adjusting to the game. We could relocate the monastery (brick by brick if need be for the core temple ) along with the artifacts, scriptures and the entire population (only around 12k) to somewhere in Central India in agreement with the Dalai Lama before his time comes. Sure the land itself will have some Buddhist value but the entire soul itself will have moved somewhere else and will continue to thrive.
For the Chinese, the loss of the monastery, its scriptures, and followers with no hope of controlling via force for ever will be devastating.

This could also provide more flexibility to the Indian army in the defense of the area.

I think the boats are tempting targets.

Marten wrote:ldev ji, full marks for honesty, zero for realpolitik.

We're dangling on the edge of viable territory. Without Maj Shaitan Singh's heroics, even this strip would have been in Chinese hands.
Very minor nitpick Marten ji
This exact area is Maj Dhan Singh Thapa's area. He was at Srijap, a few kms to the east

SriKumar wrote:....Godalmighty, this video analysis is getting a bit old. Post after about about sun angle, lake angle, style of the Chinese kick, darkness of uniform etc. Its going in circles at this point after numerous posts. It is a slow news cycle and maybe this has become something of a time-filler. :)

I'll go with what shiv said: that IA took this video, GOI released it, and their statement on the video stands.

Added later: Great sugggestion below. In fact, Bhut Jholokia, IIRC, was developed or researched by DRDO or some defence entity at one point. And at that time, I was wondering about its use.
World's hottest chilli in a hand grenade
http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/worlds-h ... ade-413086

5 minutes ago I was thinking the same. small explosive on the base with marcos

Last edited by UlanBatori on 20 Aug 2017 21:56, edited 1 time in total.

A dog is like winnie the Pooh?
No wondel, the chinere al balking at the LAC

Indian troops on left. Chinese on right QED

https://twitter.com/bennedose/status/899307838488461316
A comparison of a Google earth image with video grab of Pangong area fight
kmz file: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3JNY ... 0YzWHhyNm8
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

manjgu wrote:shiv.u r not understanding the geography and directions in the video. the indians withdrew in the general direction phobrang..lukung( right)...hans in general direction srijap ( left) //if u looking down into the lake from the north shore. the camera is pointed in general direction maan merak village.
You say I am not understanding. I say you are not understanding etc. Please cut the crap. You know damn well what I think and I am not about to agree with anything other than what the Indian army and its spokespersons have said. To me the situation is as clear as crystal. I am not asking you to believe me so please don't keep telling me what to think. I say what I think. If you agree fine. If you don't agree I don't care.
As they say in Mumbai, 'hai fidha to aa ch***, nahi fidha to maach***'

-M

Their mania for bannermen has long roots

https://www.britannica.com/topic/Banner-system

I'm just catching up on the video chatter here, but I'm surprised no one has mentioned the obvious: the great Beebuls Ribelation Almy, second largest military in the world, multiple carriers, tom croosers, de-straw-yers, and subs, has been reduced to being exposed on a (99% likely) Made-in-China smartphone by some Ah-San as a bunch of stone pelters ?

What happened to this ?
Or this ?
Or even this ?

Instead with $150 billion defence budget they do this:

The cellphone video from Pangong Tso is a fabulous coup. What's crore kamandu at GHQ Pindi to think now ? "We spend time and money sending Mirpuris over to throw stones at Indian Army while feeling safe behind PLA's might. Why are THEY doing exactly the same thing with the average zhou in PLA, hainji ? Next time we start another war with Hindoooos is this what they're going to do - use sticks and stones on the other end while we get mauled, hainji ??'

samirdiw wrote: A radical idea is to change the game instead of adjusting to the game. We could relocate the monastery (brick by brick if need be for the core temple ) along with the artifacts, scriptures and the entire population (only around 12k) to somewhere in Central India in agreement with the Dalai Lama before his time comes. Sure the land itself will have some Buddhist value but the entire soul itself will have moved somewhere else and will continue to thrive.
For the Chinese, the loss of the monastery, its scriptures, and followers with no hope of controlling via force for ever will be devastating.

This could also provide more flexibility to the Indian army in the defense of the area.
This is a RADICAL idea :eek:? So the response to their disputing the area, is to move everything of value out of there to a "safe" location? And you also want to move the population (because, after all, it is only around 12K)?? No go, no way. Whatever is there of value in that area, stays there, and stays safe, and there will be no dispute. India will make sure that there is no dispute. Next you'll want to move all the army divisions out of there to keep them safe. And I say - expand the population there to more like 120K.

The well rounded corners of the rectangular protrusion tells me it has been leveled by the Chinese and must be intended for use as another boat jetty. It must have happened recently and gone unchallenged ?

A shooting war in that sector can remain localized, unlike in the Sikkim area. This is where we need to exercise a more robust version of salami slicing to push the PLA around further west. We can achieve a lot even with not going as far as liberating Tibet, which contains the escalation.