Terror Attack At Army Camp In Jammu And Kashmir's Uri

Re: Terror Attack At Army Camp In Jammu And Kashmir's Uri

shaun wrote:On a different note, in the midst of such suicide attack , do the base commander have proper situational awareness. Fratricides may happen . How are the situation best managed ??

1st thing 1st , do we have wearable IFF tags for personnels who are responsible for perimeter security . There are active signalling devices based on on-cooperative identification technique.The device transmits electromagnetic signals (from the visible to IR range) that are usually coded to reduce the risk of compromise . Commercial products include IR beacons based on microelectromechanical (MEMS) technology which sends pulsed signals up to ten kilometres away.

These bases are too much vulnerable and needs updated technology with sound planing like fortification and doing away with vegetation in such camps.
why not simply have dogs, ordinary healthy mongrels, around the perimeter of the camps at night or even during the day times?? They are more reliable and fool proof than "microelectronics" any day.
menon s

Post by menon s »

This attack is planned for sharifs unga meet...if we react now we will play into their hands.
So announce closing indian embassy in isloo . Ask all porkis to leave India in a weeks time. In a week unga meet will be over.

Donot shell. The amassing of mil hardware will alert the porkis. Instead get the navy to fire cruise missiles into paki camps in pok.

A different perspective.

For a moment, lets go back in time (before Pathankot attacks). A group of highly trained group of 24 jawans has been identified to go across the border and destroy PA camps, terrorists cells and cause as much damage as possible, and return knowing fully well all those 24 jawans may not return back, would we be better off on an offensive?

Now fast forward. 17 lives lost in Uri and 7 lives lost in Pathankot (24 total), are we better off defending? Which one would have been a better choice?
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

abhijitm wrote:
chandrasekaran wrote:The tamasha has started... Give actionable intelligence! So I believe dossier is being prepared.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 394359.cms
So same old pathankot repeat. We will give them proof and then access to the base for investigation. Then we will ask same favor from them and they will say kiss my @ss. We will cry and throw some tantrums. Big dady khan will cuddle modi and co and give all the 'moral support' and he will also scold pakistan 'naughty boy don't do this again'. And everything will be back to 'normal'... until the next attack... and then we will give them proof and then access to the base...........
Lets go kinetic tonight We will figure out what the consequences are tomorrow. If we hit then tonight we can draw the line in the sand and tell allies to choose between us and them. Anyone with them are enemies and should be suitably dealt. But a response should go out tonight.

Here's a really stupid way to respond"

"India should form its own “fidayeen” (suicide) squad, former army chief Shankar Roy Choudhury told news channel NDTV on Sunday, reflecting the rage in the military brass over an extremist attack in north Kashmir’s Uri that killed 17 soldiers."

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... =also-read

Why do we need this? I mean there is a whole Afghan NDS infrastructure plus homegrown soosais. All it takes is money.

Lt Gen H S Panag(R)
@shazoom1 @newslaundry India no longer considers Pak a Westphalian State. An absolute position. So, consequence will be there.

Army is as much as fault here as the govt. machinery for they are for all practical purposes part of the same system . If you cannot secure your perimeter you will have such losses.

Just caught the last bit of action on UndY where Gen Roy did indeed say non state option. But my question is, is it so easy. I mean it takes one heck of a bunch of motivated, brainwashed bunch of pigLets to do what they did in Uri knowing fully well that there is only a one way ticket. Such indoctrination does not come overnight. So where will India find someone similar who can sneak into GHQ in Rawalpindi and take out a few generals? The "bad" Talibunnies did that a while back, but with no state support, TSP seems to have cleaned them up.

Anybody know what Uncle's reaction has been? Usual platitudes? I puked when Lisa Curtis took issue with Gen. Roy and said India has built an international reputation as a responsible power bla bla. And then they go and fund TSPA. Pukeworthy.

Here is my thinking. An attack of this kind, if TSPA is not visibly punished, they will be laughing their arses off as they surely are. Plus, it is highly motivating to other pigLeTs in the waiting. And gives oxygen to the separatist pigs in the valley and the stone pelters. It will only reinforce the belief they have about India: "Hlithi hui deewar ko yak dhakka aur dho". So while I am all for cultivating assets that can strike deep inside TSP, but the more immediate need IMO is that for this attack alone, there must be a visible price that TSPA pays. If Uncle and China can come around and declare TSP a terrorist state, then that would obviate the need for an Indian military response. But the chances of that are even lower than a meteorite striking me where I am now, so that leaves only the Indian response.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

This is going to be a long protracted low intensity war for now and it has begun. There is willingness to punish Pakistan and finish the problem for good and not leave half-hearted unfinished business. The Indian govt and establishments are upping the ante notch by notch. Until we reach a critical mass of support in our favor from both external and internal factors, it wont go full blown unless we are attacked directly by Pak.
I think India rallied and have enough support from external forces (countries) of India's pov on issue with pak, menace of islamic terrorism and support for our cause. It is the internal forces (disruptive) that we need identify, expose and rally to align to the cause. I think this is being done at several levels and have some more length to go. Along with this India need to encourage, strengthen and support the disruptive forces within Pakistan.
With this attack India has the right and justified to go after (covert or overt) the terrorist training camps in PoK. One more step up.

I think beyond a point China would not be willing to support Pak as this would be widening the conflict and getting involvement of several other countries in the current world situation. If China is drawn to war it would be the biggest loser without any potential gain. Its huge bustling and advanced cities will come under threat, loss of international market especially west and impact on its economy and also potential loss of territory. In view of all this China may pull Pak to avoid escalation beyond a point.
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

This is possibly the continuation of Paki response to our PM's independence day speech and continuing paki bashing by Modi in all speeches. Since Paki's soft options like complaining in foreign countries did not work, and India has finally turned the corner with respect to the media storms over pellet guns, now, this. The timing is to also distract us during UNGA meet.

It is about time, we take some action in paki soil. Anything we do would be a start and something to build on. Time for Doval to really try out the defensive offense strategy. Hope it happens.
Last edited by Indranil on 19 Sep 2016 03:58, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please change your user id to a more human sounding name.
Paarth

Post by Paarth »

India has many options, we have excellent means to slip into sindh or even porki panjab with special forces, kill the porkies in IB kill in numbers and get back, pakis should think about responses now not Indians, we have massive special forces time to use them. Not only LOC we can raid anywhere.
Its the time for response, enough of this we will serve revenge cold, its time to start, if we dont have enough resources in porkistan then we should certainly exercise this, porkis are doing this from 4 decades now we should start responding. Time to start killin them porks.

Diplomatically, India can use the threat of all out war as a bargaining chip to impose international sanctions on Pakistan. This will work 10 out of 10 times.
Militarily, a land grab has to be done.
Covertly, there will be attacks in Pakjab, on their capital with big scores.

And that will be it.

India has to get a system in place where the Paki COAS will lose his job if India wishes so. Dirt on him be outed, or something arranged militarily that there is overt loss of face. The Paki COAS has to be fearful of crossing a redline.

Until this is done, terrorism will never stop.

And then, we have to really really give peace a chance ...
Last edited by Gagan on 18 Sep 2016 21:37, edited 1 time in total.
anjan

Post by anjan »

negi wrote:Army is as much as fault here as the govt. machinery for they are for all practical purposes part of the same system . If you cannot secure your perimeter you will have such losses.
You can't secure everything everywhere. There will always be rear areas that are vulnerable. Otherwise you have to hole up in little fortresses, call them "green zones" like the Americans and lose the countryside. You cannot have the army busy defending itself. This is worse than our other new strategy of sitting and guarding a wall. An Army must move and hit. The only real answer is political. The will to retaliate.

There are only two real legal ways to look at this. Either Pakistan sends them or it has no control over them. They're culpable if the first and have ceded sovereignty if the latter. Either way there should be plenty for the legalists at South Block. We simply have no appetite for war or even the vague possibility of it.

Thanks shiv for the bank address and a/c

gakakkad wrote:
chanakyaa wrote: After spending billions and billions of rupees on fancy hardware, photogenic news conferences with foreign dignitaries, LEMOA and all the alphabet soups, if this is the outcome, what is the effing point?? I feel sad to say but incidents like these happen and allowed to happen because not a single politician in the top tier ever held a gun in his/her hand to defend the country. Seeing your fellow soldier take a bullet next to you is painful, very painful. Imagine if Ukranian nazis killed 17 Russian soldiers. How would Russia respond? Superpowers are made by their actions not by intentions and talks...sadly.
What did ruskies do to the Turks after they murdered the pilots?

Thousands of turkish special ops /turkish citizens fighting with and as jihadists killed in syria by russian air strikes. Hope that answers your question.

Even in middle of an ambush people watch their backs here 4 people sneaked into a small camp and took out 17 soldiers . This was not some large base which needed to be defended it was a small compact perimeter question is what was the bandobast for the watch specially when everyone knows Uri is a hot area.

This is not about what can be done or not done issue is have we learnt lessons from the past ?

negi wrote:Army is as much as fault here as the govt. machinery for they are for all practical purposes part of the same system . If you cannot secure your perimeter you will have such losses.
Here it starts blame the victim, only in India.
Last edited by Suresh S on 18 Sep 2016 21:45, edited 1 time in total.

The fact that a meeting has to be held itself sends a message that politically there is not enough preparedness.

Militarily there has to be preparedness to enact a pre-determined set of responses. Any attack of this nature, and there will be more, has to have counter responses almost immediately and reflexly.
The PA units deployed near the LOC, are culprits anyway. They are there only to push in terrorists - no other job. They should be taken out.

anjan wrote:
You can't secure everything everywhere. There will always be rear areas that are vulnerable. Otherwise you have to hole up in little fortresses, call them "green zones" like the Americans and lose the countryside. You cannot have the army busy defending itself. This is worse than our other new strategy of sitting and guarding a wall. An Army must move and hit. The only real answer is political. The will to retaliate.

There are only two real legal ways to look at this. Either Pakistan sends them or it has no control over them. They're culpable if the first and have ceded sovereignty if the latter. Either way there should be plenty for the legalists at South Block. We simply have no appetite for war or even the vague possibility of it.
This is not a rear area. It is only about 7-6 Kms from the border. It's about as close as it gets.

I ahve already donated to the earlier link but this one posted by Arjun is also tax exempt under section 80G. This extends to all security forces and is more general.

https://ndf.gov.in/

https://ndf.gov.in/aboutndf.php

Please note that Firefox is doing the usual crib about security certificates etc.

National Defence Fund

The National Defence Fund was set up to take charge of voluntary donations in cash and kind received for promotion of the national defence effort, and to decide on their utilisation. The Fund is used for the welfare of the members of the Armed Forces (including Para Military Forces) and their dependents. The Fund is administered by an Executive Committee, with PM as Chairperson, and Defence, Finance and Home Ministers as Members. Finance Minister is the Treasurer of the Fund and the Joint Secretary, PMO dealing with the subject is Secretary of the Executive Committee. Accounts of the Fund are kept with the Reserve Bank of India. The fund is entirely dependent on voluntary contributions from the public and does not get any budgetary support. The fund accepts online contributions. Such contributions can be made through the website i.e. ndf.gov.in, pmindia.gov.in and www.onlinesbi.com website of State Bank of India. Collection account number is 11084239799 with State Bank of India, Institutional Division, 4th Floor, Parliament Street, New Delhi.The fund has also been allotted a Permanent Account Number (PAN) AAAGN0009F.

The Income and Expenditure Statement of the NDF for last five years is follows:-
(Rs. in crore)
Year Expenditure Receipts Balance
31.03.2012 45.14 73.05 862.52
31.03.2013 5.72 76.69 941.50
31.03.2014 61.99 80.68 956.85
31.03.2015 33.98 84.72 1007.59
31.03.2016 46.86 83.53 1044.26

Schemes under the National Defence Fund

1. A scholarship scheme to encourage technical and post graduation education for the widows and wards of the deceased personnel of Armed Forces and Para Military Forces is being implemented. The scheme is being implemented by the Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare, Ministry of Defence in respect of armed forces. In so far as personnel of paramilitary forces and Railway Protection force are concerned, the scheme is being implemented by Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Railways respectively.
Salient Features of “PM’s Scholarship Scheme” being implemented out of National Defence Fund:-

1. The scheme applies to armed forces (including paramilitary forces). Monthly scholarships are awarded to wards of

(a) Ex-service personnel (below officer rank only),

(b) their widows,

(c) widows of personnel died in harness due to causes attributable to line of duty and

(d) wards and widows of in service personnel of paramilitary forces and Railway Protection Force. Scholarships are available for education at technical institutions (medical, dental, veterinary, engineering, MBA, MCA, and other equivalent technical professions with suitable AICTE/UGC approval). For wards of widows and widows of personnel died in harness due to causes attributable as at (b) and (c) above, there are no rank restrictions. The scheme extends to the wards of all para-military forces also. Under the scheme 4000 new scholarships are given every year for wards of ex-servicemen of forces controlled by Ministry of Defence, 910 new scholarships for wards of forces controlled by Ministry of Home Affairs and 90 new scholarships for the wards of forces controlled by Ministry of Railways. However, from the academic year 2015-16, the number of new scholarships has been enhanced to 5500 for wards of ex-servicemen of forces controlled by Ministry of Defence, 2000 for wards of forces controlled by Ministry of Home Affairs and 150 for the wards of the forces controlled by Ministry of Railways. Initially, the scholarship rate was Rs. 1250 per month for boys and Rs. 1500 per month for girls. The annual scholarships rates have been revised to Rs. 2000 per month for boys and Rs. 2250 per month for girls.

2. Annual grant of Rs. 15 lakh from NDF is being released to the SPG Family Welfare Fund to undertake various welfare activities for the benefit of its personnel and their families.
(Updated as on 03.08.2016)
Army Welfare Fund Battle Casualties Fund is clearly meant for IA alone & for specific instances. The battle part may be a bit misleading as Siachen bravery is also considered (perhaps Siachen is considered - given the reality - an active battle field).

MaharathiArjun wrote:
Thank you.

Did my small bit.

Eternal respect for these brave children of India who are sacrificing their today.

https://ndf.gov.in/

Use National Defense Fund.
Last edited by Karan M on 18 Sep 2016 21:51, edited 1 time in total.

snahata wrote:
Here it starts blame the victim, only in India.
Negi is right.

It's not about blaming the victim.

When you are dealing with men's lives, there is no room for complacency.

Vivek K wrote:Saddened by the loss! We need to also think about the families of those killed. Can we setup donations?
Army Welfare fund
Shiv Ji,

the branch is as under

IFSC Code:- SYNB0009055, SYNDICATE BANK, DELHI, SOUTH BLOCK

Bank: SYNDICATE BANK

Address: DEFENCE HEADQUARTERS, SOUTH BLOCK, NEW DELHI
State: DELHI
Branch: DELHI, SOUTH BLOCK

IFSC Code: SYNB0009055 (used for RTGS, IMPS and NEFT transactions)

MICR Code: 110025051

check branch at this link
https://ifsc.bankifsccode.com/SYNB0009055

Guddu wrote:Since Chanakyan theories have not yet been espoused as yet, here's one: the HM's meeting is to show to Pak that nothing has changed, we will exchange dossiers and kaddi ninda, DGMO mumbles the usual stuff, we present a show as bumbling nincompoops, while the chiefs sit and plan action in another room.

24 hrs window is nearly over

Nothing as usual

I will lock this thread tomorrow after any stragglers have vented here

Terrorist attacked a Brigade at URI 0515 hrs, they attacked Adm block of Army, it constituted unarmed soldiers refilling Diesel in barrels

NirmOhi ‏@Bete_N0ire 2h2 hours ago
Terrorist lobbed 17 grenades in 3 minutes, thus igniting the dump & creating massive fire burning barracks & tents in a radius of 150 metres

13 soldiers burnt alive instantaneously. 32 soldiers injured with severe burns. 4 terrorist have been killed, search is still on.

The plan was to kill unarmed troops & storm Medical Aid Unit & then to explode themselves after entering officers mess.
#UriAttack

This information was revealed by the Map carried by terrorists which was marked & indicated with markings in Pashtun language.
#UriAttack

The moment Diesel dump exploded, militants got disoriented due to smog & subsequent explosion & headed straight towards Soldiers barracks!

One millitant was gun down by a gallant 19 year old Dogra soldier, he challenged remaining 3 militants & sustained severe head injury.

A bullet hit his Helmet, he was evacuated by colleagues. since the barracks was empty the militants took defensive position in side barracks

19 retweets 16 likes
Reply Retweet 19
Like 16
More
Later Para Commandoes (SF) stormed the building & sent all millitants to hell.
17 soldiers martyred, 30 injured.
Please pray for them!

Dipanker wrote:
gakakkad wrote: What did ruskies do to the Turks after they murdered the pilots?
Turkey suffered huge financial losses due to Russians boycotting their products and stopped tourism to Turkey. Some Turken fighting against Asad also got bombed.

Russia did exact its price.
So would Pakistan...if it has any finances..

I think we can gift some more MI-25/35 helos, Prahaar missiles, OFB 52 caliber Dhanush to Afghanistan. They may hit some Pakis by mistake, because Indian Brass is busy doing Ninda, then Neendra (sleeping)
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

Singha wrote:24 hrs window is nearly over

Nothing as usual

I will lock this thread tomorrow after any stragglers have vented here
And I humbly request that the "Modi Achievements" thread be closed as well.

Why are people still suggesting covert action? We need to show pakis and everyone else that we will punish from now on, we will retaliate.
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

Is this guy for real ? The top most minister in the cabinet ?

India will intensify efforts to isolate Pakistan internationally :eek: :oops:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 394810.cms

We don't have similar financial leverage on Pakistan as the Russians did over Turkey but we still we should be able to punish by other means, with long term objective of dismembering Pakistan into rump state of Punjabistan. This should be part of the policy. In the short term border skirmishes should result into LOC moving westward into POK.
parshuram

Post by parshuram »

Saddest part is an Indian Army ex Ajai shukla goes on Ndtv and says that indian army won't respond bécause army simply don't have the capability !!!!. Disgusting
anjan

Post by anjan »

anjan wrote: You can't secure everything everywhere. There will always be rear areas that are vulnerable. Otherwise you have to hole up in little fortresses, call them "green zones" like the Americans and lose the countryside. You cannot have the army busy defending itself. This is worse than our other new strategy of sitting and guarding a wall. An Army must move and hit. The only real answer is political. The will to retaliate.

This is not a rear area. It is only about 7-6 Kms from the border. It's about as close as it gets.
It's a brigade HQ. They don't by design have any serious combat capability. Being X Kms from the border is irrelevant. Yes, there will be a CoI to see if anything can be done to better secure the place but ultimately you can't change the constitution of a Brig HQ without stripping front line troops from where they're really needed. Otherwise you're just looking further and further inward to the point where all the Army is doing is force protection. Like the west in recent conflicts.
Luit

Post by Luit »

The defence forces do what they can with the meagre resources available. I have noticed that access control is inadequate in most bases. One would be surprised to compare the quality of bunkers at the loc on opposing sides, indian ones will not withstand 155 shells from the pakistanis.

The present dispensation has shafted the armed forces worse than the previous one, clean image, mann ki baat and all that may look good, but it doesn't suffice in war

Edit : post from phone
Paarth

Post by Paarth »

parshuram wrote:Saddest part is an Indian Army ex Ajai shukla goes on Ndtv and says that indian army won't respond bécause army simply don't have the capability !!!!. Disgusting
Going by the way porkis attack and our Army doesn't respond in the same language, I mean what stops army of destroying bunkers and roast couple of 100 porks? If special forces cant go inside porki areas near LOC :-? . Modi has again and again said army has free hand on LOC. Where is the cost paki military is paying for this aggression? Ajay Shukla might be correct only. Take it with a bucket of salt. :( :(
Last edited by Paarth on 18 Sep 2016 22:55, edited 2 times in total.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

parshuram wrote:Saddest part is an Indian Army ex Ajai shukla goes on Ndtv and says that indian army won't respond bécause army simply don't have the capability !!!!. Disgusting
WHile I am not a fan of the man himself, maybe he is right and we should correct the problem.
If he is wrong though, then he is a slimy scum from NDTV cabal.

Well he is talking about his achievements. A disgrace for all the officer corps of the IA.
Paarth

Post by Paarth »

Luit wrote:The defence forces do what they can with the meagre resources available. I have noticed that access control is inadequate in most bases. One would be surprised to compare the quality of bunkers at the loc on opposing sides, indian ones will not withstand 155 shells from the pakistanis.

The present dispensation has shafted the armed forces worse than the previous one, clean image, mann ki baat and all that may look good, but it doesn't suffice in war

Edit : post from phone
who is to blame here, dont tell me Indian army dont even has budget to fund good solid bunkers and at-least secure its advance bases specially in places like uri?
Army also should take the blame for not securing its camps effectively.

anjan wrote:
It's a brigade HQ. They don't by design have any serious combat capability. Being X Kms from the border is irrelevant. Yes, there will be a CoI to see if anything can be done to better secure the place but ultimately you can't change the constitution of a Brig HQ without stripping front line troops from where they're really needed. Otherwise you're just looking further and further inward to the point where all the Army is doing is force protection. Like the west in recent conflicts.
Agree with you anjan. Today its the IA. If IA (unrealistic) becomes 10x in size and every base is festooned with machine guns at every inch, then the terror attacks will just move deeper into India. Will we put security forces at every cm of indian soil and make india into the world's biggest garrison state? Can we even do a fraction of that.
We have to find a new way to deter TSP and like it or not, there is no easy way for the babus to figure out a non escalatory path which allows dossier giri level of safety while IA takes the hits for india's sake. We have to start hitting back pak hard. World and turdesais and butts can go fck themselves.