Bharat Rakshak - 20th Anniversary

Re: Bharat Rakshak - 20th Anniversary

I believe that the day, 1st July is of significance. A 20th anniversary bash shouldn't be held on any other day except the 1st of July. Checked the calendar, its a saturday.

While jingos keen about Aero India can always visit there, hosting a 20th Anniversary bash/meet on any day except the 1st of July isnt doing justice to the significance of the occasion !

imho onlee.

Edit : SwamyG ji has made an excellent suggestion.
I tried looking for contact information for Sh. Ajit Doval ji, and i landed upon this.
http://www.pmindia.gov.in/en/list-officer-pmo/

Once we finalize the modalities of the anniversary celebrations, I really wish that we write to Sh. Doval extending an invite.

Far fetched, maybe. There is no harm in trying though !
jai

Post by jai »

Reaching him is easy, getting him more difficult given his extensive travels with the PM and otherwise !! Chanakya is a very hardworking and busy man !

SwamyG wrote:A wonderful idea, and good luck !!!

Please aim for the sky, try to get Ajit Doval as a speaker :-) Maybe we will end up with his son (no disrespect to Shaurya Doval). I know he is the NSA and does not have the time, but I see him still on speaking assignments.
Perhaps BRF can officially connect with Vivekanand Foundation to get Doval ji as speaker.

Although my preference will be Major General Bakshi, as he will bring extra josh and loads of "thermobarics", plus even if you get Doval ji yes to attend the event, any emergency or unforeseen may force him to cancel.

Can we also get Gen. Husnain?
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Though I know that very few (if at all anyone) would prefer it, but still I'll give my hopeless shot at this :(( .

If we host the event in Ahmedabad, I'm ready to take all the responsibility of logistics. I can get a retired Army Colonel who is well known + knowledgeable (who has stories to tell from his cash-mere posting) and someone from RSS as the guests.

BTW, Would an event at Pipavav Shipyard interest anyone? The place is bit remote though.

PS: why the banguluru-ites should have all the fun all the time? I'm feeling jealous :oops: .

I think seeing the lack of participation for a mega meet, it is better each metropolis hold their individual meets.That I assume would be a better idea.

X-Post
Make some rules for future.
- if you want to retain title "OLDIE" you have to attain at least one jirga/ year
-Moderator initiates at least one jirga/ year
Brite are all over the world. there has to be local serious jirgas (+ gupshup jirga ending with whiskey jirga;

Ready for European Jirge (centrally located in Brusselabed) Any taker? End of June '17 is perfect. BTW how many of us are here?

Actually I am realising that I can make it quite interesting. Visit to Ypres (Monument Indian solders who fought in WWI) and visit to the Bastogne war Museum (Battle of Bulge). Day (days) spiced with Belgian Beer degustation........can be fun. Transport all over Europe is cheap . Ryanair jindabad (specially for kanjoos England wallah) or just drive.

Rsingh ji,
Can do Brussels next year. Advanced notice needed as I still hold Indian passport and need to apply for a visa to visit continental Europe.
Tublai Khan

Post by Tublai Khan »

Anything Pindeginous in Kolkata?

panduranghari wrote:Rsingh ji,
Can do Brussels next year. Advanced notice needed as I still hold Indian passport and need to apply for a visa to visit continental Europe.
Good Sir, will let you know well in time.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

^^^any one for loya jirga in NYC or around?

ranjan.rao wrote:^^^any one for loya jirga in NYC or around?
+1 to somewhere in Khan
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

^^somewhere? anywhere?
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

Unfortunate that we cannot have one big event. However, to reconcile, may be we should have a 20th anniversary booth in AI 2017. Would be happy to contribute what I can for this even if I cannot attend in person.

Talking about fake indian desh, how about NJ?

Added later: We should host this in a native american reservation and use the opportunity to highlight the human rights violations meted out to "Not so" Indian people.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

GS...nice idea.....seems to be lesser enthu due to diwali season..lets see over time......we can try to have syed akbaruddin join us if we have some audience..i saw him at Times^2 and seemed very gracious...

GShankar wrote:Unfortunate that we cannot have one big event. However, to reconcile, may be we should have a 20th anniversary booth in AI 2017. Would be happy to contribute what I can for this even if I cannot attend in person.

Talking about fake indian desh, how about NJ?

Added later: We should host this in a native american reservation and use the opportunity to highlight the human rights violations meted out to "Not so" Indian people.
NJ is a good idea. Almost every desi has a relative there

Admiral D.K. Joshi can be Chief Guest.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

Lets see who all for NJ?

I am all in for the meet.Would ideally prefer it to be in BLR for obvious reasons. I second the suggestion that the date is a crucial thing so having it on 1st July is the best thing to celebrate the 20th anniversary of our founding. I am based out of BLR and can connect with hoteliers if the mods want to get an idea on the pricing for the event.

Looking forward for the mega meet..

Cheers!!
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

ranjan.rao wrote:Lets see who all for NJ?
I am in.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

should have clarified earlier, I meant Jersey City. My being there is still not sure, might be flying to swades over the weekend itself, will get to know, but dont mind helping in organizing the visit.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

BTW anything happening on Delhi meet?
Paging RohitVats
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

Jersey city even better, cuz I come from LI. If there's any folks from LI, we can carpool or take a train together to JC.
Mukhi

Post by Mukhi »

Anyone interested in Chicago??
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

you mean Long Island? JC would be good for people as most bharatnivasis stay there only, places like exchange place or newport would be good options. Has anyone here attended any BRF meet before?

Tublai Khan wrote:Anything Pindeginous in Kolkata?
depends on the time.
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

Congrats BR on your anniversary. I remember the dial up days, the old portal - and the corporate id only rule. Hence I could only join when I got my first job. Nevertheless - for the last 10 years I have had coffee and BR every morning. Jai Ho BR!!!

If we have someone at Seattle - then I will be happy to meet.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

ranjan.rao wrote:you mean Long Island? JC would be good for people as most bharatnivasis stay there only, places like exchange place or newport would be good options. Has anyone here attended any BRF meet before?
Yep. I can come to JC. I havent been to BRF meet before though so this wud be a first timer.
manju

Post by manju »

are there any meets happening in the South India.. would love to attend one.. Last I attend was a decade back in bay area..

Mukhi wrote:Anyone interested in Chicago??
?

looks like i will be in NCR at that time. Are there any plans

Anything happening now?

Happy 20th Bday to us! Congrats to all who've made this institution what it is.

Happy Birthday!!

many many many returns of the day for this small corner of the web for patriotic Indians !!

20 years - Fantastic!
I've been part of this for 18 years!
mave_tg

Post by mave_tg »

Happy B'day BR. Wishing all..
Mukhi

Post by Mukhi »

Happy Birthday. I believe I have been part of the sideline viewer community for most of the 20 year. Not a day go by when I check few times a day.

Also attended two meets and remember meeting Anurag, Rahul and N Rao I think.

To all the Admins and Mods, Thanks for helping this child grow to an adulthood.

Happy Birthday Bharat Rakshak! Twenty Years...WOW! I still remember the infacy days with Seetal Patel, Harshvardhan Vedak and Rupak Chattopadhyay in 1996/1997.
sarang

Post by sarang »

Happy Birthday, Bharat Rakshak.
Greetings to all crew and members.
ITS 20.
GREAT achievement.
seems more like a family than a forum