Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Re: Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Rakesh wrote:I am being superstitious, but the Navy appears to be cursed when it comes to submarines. Kilo issues, HDW 209 issues, Scorpene issues, Akula issue and now Arihant issue. What gives?
Falling training standards?
Sabotage?
Prithwiraj

Post by Prithwiraj »

Another thing Media access and transparency. I doubt if any such issues if happened in Chinese Navy it will be discussed so openly in public media. Even though this is not an excuse for the Indian Navy issues which remains serious

Rakesh wrote:Navy’s minesweeper deal falls through after South Korea talks fail
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... BNcRN.html
This is distressing. The MCMVs have become the AJT deal of the IN. We lost so many young pilots because the government was inexplicably unable to sign a deal to buy AJTs. I hope to god we do not learn a similarly horrific lesson in the next war because of lack of minesweepers. Not that it would make any difference to the bean counters. It's not their lives at stake.

Scandalous,the casual manner in which the MOD keeps on rejecting deals,time and again.I wonder how long they would patiently wait for cushy govt. housing in Lutyens' Bagh with their wives wielding the frying pan and rolling pin! There has to be accountability in the empire of babudom,elevated from kingdom earlier.

The new Chinese DDG to be part of their CBGs,carries 120+ missiles of various types. When you compare that figure with the measly number of B-8s aboard our Kol/Vizag class DDGs,our DDGs as said sev. times,will be hard put to deter massed salvoes of missile strikes form the enemy.In addition,there is no second layer of QR anti-missile defences,which could be installed in larger number. The IN will definitely need in the future a cruiser class of at least 12,000t+,similar in size to a Slava class CG,4-6 such vessels reqd.,whose primary task is air defence including the ability to counter ABMs. Also equipped with BMos-H,etc.,and a strong ASW package in the form of sensors,UUVs,Helos and weapon systems (ASW missiles,TTs and MBUs),these vessels could also serve as command centres for smaller task forces.

Philip wrote:Scandalous,the casual manner in which the MOD keeps on rejecting deals,time and again.
No deal can be signed if the South Koreans want deviation from contract terms. Not possible in a democracy. There will be another tender or we will go on our own. There is no other way.

Kakkaji wrote:
Rakesh wrote:I am being superstitious, but the Navy appears to be cursed when it comes to submarines. Kilo issues, HDW 209 issues, Scorpene issues, Akula issue and now Arihant issue. What gives?
Falling training standards?
Sabotage?
If a submarine hatch is open to the sea, it stands to reason that it would have a sensor for indication of its status.

Sensor malfunction??

Philip wrote:Bad news day.MCM make in India deal again scrapped.Fresh Intl.RFI to be issued and the IN'S Arihant had her plant flooded and was "crippled" when
by human error a valve/ hatch was opened by mistake.Was out of action for months, esp. during the Doklam crisis,still is.Hindu front page report.

MCM reg. Will be speeded up promises MOD/Goa yard.
SSBN flooding much more serious perhaps why ATV-2 launch was delayed and low-key.ATV damage reqd. cutting of piping, etc. in the clean up. This happened 10 months ago!

Some years ago the Viraat almost sank at harbour when the wrong sea-clock was opened by mistake flooding her engine room.The IN in recent years has been hit by a spate of accidents.The two latest involving both our N-subs in a serious matter, reflecting poorly on the IN even as it embarks upon a much needed expansion of the sub fleet and navy in general.
sounds more like leadership issues to me.

I cannot recall things being this bad, ever.

Vishnu Som‏Verified account @VishnuNDTV

First ever footage on Indian Navy MiG-29Ks landing at night in pitch darkness on the aircraft carrier INS Vikramaditya.

https://twitter.com/VishnuNDTV/status/9 ... 8445658112

DM on 29K

https://twitter.com/VishnuNDTV/status/9 ... 8864233473

uddu wrote:
Philip wrote:Scandalous,the casual manner in which the MOD keeps on rejecting deals,time and again.
No deal can be signed if the South Koreans want deviation from contract terms. Not possible in a democracy. There will be another tender or we will go on our own. There is no other way.
If a deal takes over 10 years to come from RFP to the price negotiation stage, then no manufacturere can keep to the original price.

It is a vicious circle.

When they say that the new RFP will be on fast track now because all the details have been sorted out, it implies to me that they are planning to sign a final deal with the same vendor, at the new 'negotiated in detail' terms.

Their plans can go awry if another vendor responds to the new RFP with slightly better terms, and then they will be forced to go into a new 10-year testing and negotiation cycle with the new vendor.

Rinse and repeat.

It is an infinite loop. :(

^ No one makes money in contract negotiations start another RFP and money will flow from various vendors to all parties involved. You drag it out and enjoy the lavish benefits.

srai wrote: But will these planes still be in production by the time a decision is made some 10-years later?
Make in India saar for either plane. Basically screwdrivergiri.

Even for screwdrivergiri, the production lines in the home country needs to be operational. There are hundreds of parts and sub-assemblies suppliers that feed the final assembly line. Looking at past license production ToT deals, first two stages involve assembling planes from CKD and SKD in India. So that would mean OEM still needs to have their production suppliers active in the home country for them to manufacture CKDs and SKDs and supply them to an Indian final assembly.

On top of that, first lot (at least a squadron worth) are supposed to be delivered by the OEM directly to the IN.

The other thing to point out is the order quantities are too small--57 units only--for the OEM to transfer assembly line to India.

Since rafale-M has only one customer (French navy), how many teething troubles still exist? The FA-18 has enough revs and block upgrades in place to be mature. It is hard and specialized product, picking up FA-18 makes more sense of the two players. Although since we have one stobar carrier in play, it would be preferable to just get the F-35B 5-6 years from now allowing it time to mature and this will serve on both the indigenous carriers.

IMO, the end-target for both 100 IAF SEF and 57 IN fighter is the JSF. They can't directly say they want a particular plane but can put out an RFI (and the lengthy timeline of DPP process - a decade plus) to get the plane they finally want.
Prithwiraj

Post by Prithwiraj »

Have anyone seen any pic of IN submarine arm participation during the defense minister visit?

srai wrote:^^^
IMO, the end-target for both 100 IAF SEF and 57 IN fighter is the JSF. They can't directly say they want a particular plane but can put out an RFI (and the lengthy timeline of DPP process - a decade plus) to get the plane they finally want.
Why not? Why can;t we open dialogue to just purchase the JSF? 157 is a very large quantity. Get FACO line and use same factory to produce AMCA when ready. Make it at HAL. AMCA will follow our LCA mkX style anyways. FACO line will serve us well and local industry can play a large part.

Cybaru wrote:
srai wrote:^^^
Why not? Why can;t we open dialogue to just purchase the JSF? 157 is a very large quantity. Get FACO line and use same factory to produce AMCA when ready. Make it at HAL. AMCA will follow our LCA mkX style anyways. FACO line will serve us well and local industry can play a large part.
If there is a drop of truth to it then why the recent RFI went to Boeing for F-18 and not Lockheed for JSF ?

Same for SEF, why only F-16 and Gripen are the contenders ?

To me this is true that 100 SEF and 57 for Navy can and will have commonality. I will put my money is on Rafale since we already own it and it checks all the boxes ( naval variant available, massa sanction/bug proof, independent, Ambani brothers MOU(make in India), snecma help with Kaveri). By the time this drama is done we will have AMCA (with Kaveri), that is what we should plan and I believe forces/goverment working towards

Even that scenario is good. I was making the F-35B suggestion as a way to eliminate the billion dollars that will go towards emals (Enough to add another 10 planes) plus be able to fly from our smaller 45K carrier as well. if higher thrust m88 in the form of kaveri is available and certified on Raffy, nothing like it, especially if it can take off from any indian carrier.

^^^ Good, I mis understood like its like another attempt for massa passand wares promotion like some do along with ones that do for Rusky maal. Anyways lets not derail this thread for fighters. I have some chaiwala news, that chindu farticle on arihant is not correct an attempt for navy to divulge something(issue clarification )because they have no clue on what is going on.

Btw another good news if some members (Gagan et al..) who follow Google earth go to ship building center image from Dec'17 you will see that new baby there is of around 140 meters if that is the case then one going through trails (the aridaman) is definitely bigger baby.

Chaiwala won't say a word on this ,I say we have at least 4 or could be more boats in the water based on what I am collecting info from open source.
Last edited by krishna_krishna on 10 Jan 2018 07:11, edited 1 time in total.

No flavour of F-35B is in the running for either RFIs

Thanks for sharing that chaiwallah stuff. Yeah I personally don't believe "S1" is land based reactor stuff (No saboot though). As for Foraan maal, I would rather see 500 LCA mk1 and 100 NLCA, 3000 Arjun 1/2/3/4 and 3000 ATAGS and all.

krishna_krishna wrote: have some chaiwala news, that chindu farticle on arihant is not correct an attempt for navy to divulge something(issue clarification )because they have no clue on what is going on.
Okay my own opinion (NO chaiwallahs involved). If we assume that Arihant has been water much longer (5-6 years before inauguration, wouldn't it have been time to refit or do minor maintenance?

IAF-Navy ‘battle it out’ in Arabian Sea as defence minister watches
By Sujan Dutta | Express News Service | Published: 10th January 2018 09:16 AM |

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on board INS Vikramaditya | indian navy
NEW DELHI: The enemy came in three waves, the last being close to midnight of Monday-Tuesday.

They came in twos—heavy Sukhoi 30Mki combat aircraft of the IAF took off from Pune’s Lohegaon base to ‘attack’ the Indian Navy’s INS Vikramaditya carrier battle group sailing in the Arabian Sea off Goa from different directions.

The carrier was carrying a precious target: defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman. On INS Vikramaditya, the crew was at action stations. Each wave of the ‘enemy’ was engaged by a counter-wave of the MiG-29K carrier-borne fighters flying in twos.

Related Article
Navy capable of defending India against any threat: Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman
The IAF and the Indian Navy were not warring. They were simulating a battle for the defence minister. Sitharaman was the first VIP on board for a day and night at sea, hosted by the Navy. The event is usually a formality but this was something else.

PM Narendra Modi also made his first visit to a military establishment onboard the INS Vikramaditya after assuming office in 2014.

This time the Navy and IAF pulled out the stops to record many firsts: the first time a VIP was hosted at night, the first time she witnessed carrier-borne operations in the dark, the first time INS Kalvari, India’s latest submarine, was part of an exercise. Pictures of the simulated battle were transferred through data links to the command centre of the 44,500-tonne INS Vikramaditya where Sitharaman was explained the operations by Navy Chief Admiral Sunil Lanba, and the chief of the western naval command, Vice Admiral Girish Luthra.

“They were un-alerted air-strikes,” said one navy officer, “and she was watching realtime.” “Back on shore after a memorable and awe-inspiring visit - a day at sea. INS Vikramaditya and other ships of the fleet show the great class they belong to! The nation salutes you. Dedication and professional excellence showcased. Jai Hind.,” the defence minister tweeted on Tuesday afternoon on landing in Goa.
Another potential target for the IN to delal with in "real time" the future! This base is v.close to the Indo-Iranian JV port expansion at ChahBahar,which is not an Indian mil. facility at all.WE should also look towards expanding our footprint in friendly nations in the IOR littoral to counter China.
China Plans New Naval Base in Pakistan
BY MAREX 2018-01-08 17:10:47

On Friday, a Chinese defense analyst and a source close to the People's Liberation Army confirmed that China's navy plans to set up a base near the Chinese-built port of Gwadar, Pakistan. It would be China's second overseas base after a recently-built facility in Djibouti.

“China needs to set up another base in Gwadar for its warships because Gwadar is now a civilian port,” said analyst Zhou Chenming, speaking to the South China Morning Post. “The Chinese naval flotilla patrolling in the Gulf of Aden and other warships escorting Chinese oil tankers in the Indian Ocean need a naval base for maintenance as well as logistical supplies because they can’t buy much of what they need in Pakistan."

The news appears to confirm a recent report from a retired American officer regarding negotiations for a new Chinese naval base at Jiwani, a small fishing port on a peninsula west of Gwadar. According to a recent column by Col. Lawrence Sellin (U.S. Army Reserve, ret'd), the agreement would involve upgrades to the port and to a nearby airfield, and would require the creation of a security zone.

When Pakistani officials first proposed the Chinese port project at Gwadar in 2011, they described it explicitly as a forward naval base for Chinese warships. “We have asked our Chinese brothers to please build a naval base at Gwadar,” defense minister Chaudhary Ahmed Mukhtar told the FT at the time. However, in response to the recent reports of similar Chinese plans, Pakistan's government dismissed the news as "propaganda" intended to interfere with Chinese-Pakistani development projects.

“There is no proposal of building any Chinese military base near Gwadar. This is all propaganda against the development of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) and strengthening of relations between Pakistan and China,” Foreign Office spokesman Mohammad Faisal said.

China's Foreign Ministry has also dismissed previous reports of Chinese ambitions to build a base in Pakistan. Last year, spokesperson Hua Chunying called rumors of a potential naval base at Gwadar "irresponsible remarks" and "hearsay."

China backs Pakistan on anti-terrorism policy

Last week, the Trump administration blocked a $1 billion military assistance package for Islamabad over the continued presence of terrorists on Pakistani soil and Islamabad's allegedly insufficient efforts to remove them. The U.S. State Department asserts that Taliban and Haqqani network fighters are using western Pakistan as a base for their attacks on government forces in Afghanisan, and American officials complain that Pakistan is doing too little to combat them.

China's Foreign Ministry immediately defended Pakistan against these allegations. “We have said many times that Pakistan has put forth great effort and made great sacrifices in combating terrorism. It has made a prominent contribution to global anti-terror efforts, and the international community should fully recognize this,” said spokesperson Geng Shuang at a regular press briefing. "China stands ready to further deepen cooperation with Pakistan in various fields to bring greater benefits to the two peoples."

Analysts expect that as Geng suggests, Pakistan is likely to deepen its ties with China in the wake of the suspension of American aid. China is already providing tens of billions of dollars in assistance for Pakistani infrastructure projects and has worked closely with Islamabad's defense establishment for years. However, cautions columnist Shamil Shams, the absence of American support could come at a price: China will now have greater leverage to set the terms for its development and defense projects within Pakistan.

Minesweepers have non magnetic hulls with extreme shock protection to protect them from surface & underwater explosions in close proximity. Very closely guarded technology. Requires a lot of expertise and know how to develop. A holier grail than super silent DE submarines.

This is what a minesweeper has to survive on a daily basis https://fas.org/man/dod-101/navy/docs/e ... w_wpns.htm

how come south korea with no great nautical credentials other than churning out merchant ships is able to offer exportable minesweepers and we cannot build our own.

all they ever had were american hand me downs just as we started off with UK hand me downs.

if anything this exposes the intellectual bankruptcy of the country with people abandoning traditional streams of pure science and engineering in favour of either foreign shores or ITvity :lol: every darn thing from a suspension bridge, to a tunnel to a harbour tug needs a foreign consultant to either provide the design or vet something or provide some missing piece of technology

we have lost confidence in ourselves and the ability to take risks. everyone wants a readymade solution. none including the govt are willing to fund 5 projects of which only 1 might be a good success and 4 end up unused or fail.

how many of our young naval architects from IIT kgp head for naval architecture and how many to the nearest IIM or US consulate ? :twisted:

our cupboard is bare and our lack of internal abilities vs cheen's technology base is getting brutally exposed and the gap is increasing year by year not decreasing. fig leaves of less money does not cover up the lack of meat in the undies.

i go to campus interviews where i talk to candidates all in the top 300 of GATE and forget any manufacturing or traditional engineering, all they want to get in on is the application sw side of ITvity because thats where the big money and glamour is. maybe 1 out of 20 is doing something low level in the HW that too by glueing together open src from x y z and writing up a buzzword laden report. basic programming skills are lacking due to easy sugar of pulling solns off the net now, a luxury which older gen did not have. they talk up a good game but does not stand up to even benign scrutiny.

if anything our engg brats are getting worse not better.

Failure of vision, well knowing that the Natya and Yevgenya Sov. era vessels would have to be replaced.The least we could've done after decades of using them was to have developed a desi (improved) clone of either of them.

More bad news.Fire aboard INS Shivalik.No casualties so far TV media report.

Singha,
Give the MCMV R&D order to L&T, Bharat Forge with access to assured funding and with permission to closely work with DMRL and NSTL and then see what happens.

we have lost confidence in ourselves and the ability to take risks. everyone wants a readymade solution. none including the govt are willing to fund 5 projects of which only 1 might be a good success and 4 end up unused or fail.
Singha ji, I’m afraid it is worse than that. For I cannot detect any lack of confidence in a people who can climb to the very top of some of the West’s most iconic firms. Why is the desi CEO so successful, so confident of his or her ability in the gora environment? Even in midst of western prejudice over skin color and ethnicity?

Yet in the very society where our kith and kin dominate, we must go to the gora sahib in every field?

Why?

You know why. In our heart of hearts, WE know why.

It is that peculiar selfish cynicism that we as a people have when around others of our type.

It is the same reason why intelligent, good desis throw trash on our streets. Hey, everyone else does so why shouldn’t I? It is the same for using black money and cheating on taxes until Modi had to drop the bomb of DeMo. Every other desi is doing it, why shouldn’t I?

Fund multiple projects so we can have backup plan? Who’s going to be the ones that failed? Can I ever rise again if I fail? I bet that other ******** is getting more than his share because he is a damn relative of the Admiral!

Now with a gora JV or gora consultant, I am protected from the clutches of these other desis.

I know in my heart, I am just as good as this gora but I am not better than the machination of my fellow desis. The gora lends an air of decency and safety from my own kind.

Singha wrote:how come south korea with no great nautical credentials other than churning out merchant ships is able to offer exportable minesweepers and we cannot build our own.

all they ever had were american hand me downs just as we started off with UK hand me downs.

if anything this exposes the intellectual bankruptcy of the country with people abandoning traditional streams of pure science and engineering in favour of either foreign shores or ITvity :lol: every darn thing from a suspension bridge, to a tunnel to a harbour tug needs a foreign consultant to either provide the design or vet something or provide some missing piece of technology

how many of our young naval architects from IIT kgp head for naval architecture and how many to the nearest IIM or US consulate ? :twisted:

our cupboard is bare and our lack of internal abilities vs cheen's technology base is getting brutally exposed and the gap is increasing year by year not decreasing. fig leaves of less money does not cover up the lack of meat in the undies.

i go to campus interviews where i talk to candidates all in the top 300 of GATE and forget any manufacturing or traditional engineering, all they want to get in on is the application sw side of ITvity because thats where the big money and glamour is. maybe 1 out of 20 is doing something low level in the HW that too by glueing together open src from x y z and writing up a buzzword laden report. basic programming skills are lacking due to easy sugar of pulling solns off the net now, a luxury which older gen did not have. they talk up a good game but does not stand up to even benign scrutiny.

if anything our engg brats are getting worse not better.
minesweepers are very special ships. They do very dangerous work that needs to be done in keeping harbours and harbour entrances clear of a variety of sophisticated mines that can be laid by enemy subs.

The russian lot we use came in two batches and have hulls made of, IIRC, some very low magnetic signature steel or GRP. What remains of them now, must be very long in the tooth.

The equipment that they carry is very specialized and so maybe there are no takers for its indigenisation and manufacture in India.

Singha wrote: how many of our young naval architects from IIT kgp head for naval architecture and how many to the nearest IIM or US consulate ? :twisted:
Naval architects probably have to jump to IT once they land in US and wait in GC line for ever :twisted: . I doubt jobs in Naval engineering would be easy to find in US since currently almost exclusively most naval industrial activity in US is focussed on defence...probably worse than Aerospace.

Sorry for OT.

chola wrote:....
Now with a gora JV or gora consultant, I am protected from the clutches of these other desis.

I know in my heart, I am just as good as this gora but I am not better than the machination of my fellow desis. The gora lends an air of decency and safety from my own kind.
Some truth here. That's what happened for a long time with the Indian cricket team—gora coaches. Why? because nobody wanted to argue with the gora and they all wanted to make sure no Indian got that job. Sort of an 'all chiefs and no Indians'.

India’s nuclear submarine base gets a big boost—thanks to Narendra Modi govt
The approval for the submarine base had been awaited since 2010. Now, Phase II of Project Varsha gets 676 hectares of forest land while Phase I work is in full swing.

Cosmo_R wrote: Some truth here. That's what happened for a long time with the Indian cricket team—gora coaches. Why? because nobody wanted to argue with the gora and they all wanted to make sure no Indian got that job. Sort of an 'all chiefs and no Indians'.
Except in the National Team’s case everyone IS an Indian save for the chief! lol

Zynda wrote:
Singha wrote: how many of our young naval architects from IIT kgp head for naval architecture and how many to the nearest IIM or US consulate ? :twisted:
Naval architects probably have to jump to IT once they land in US and wait in GC line for ever :twisted: . I doubt jobs in Naval engineering would be easy to find in US since currently almost exclusively most naval industrial activity in US is focussed on defence...probably worse than Aerospace.

Sorry for OT.
I doubt the Defense Industry jobs which involve building Aircrafts/Ships/Land systems or its parts would be open to anyone who is not a US citizen.Even IT Vity jobs in the Lockheed Martins and Northrops of the world requires Citizens with TSC (top secret clearance) . There are other low level jobs which do not require TSC but public trust clearance.

Indranil wrote:India’s nuclear submarine base gets a big boost—thanks to Narendra Modi govt
The approval for the submarine base had been awaited since 2010. Now, Phase II of Project Varsha gets 676 hectares of forest land while Phase I work is in full swing.
From the news link:
The DRDO, which is tasked with creating infrastructure for strategic forces, had in the past found great difficulty in acquiring land for critical projects needed to store, service and manufacture equipment for nuclear assets like missiles and warheads.
What the heck is wrong with us? Is Environment more important or the Nation's Security? Its not as if a little laxity towards environment is going to end this world. The Environment mafia is becoming uncontrollable. This needs to stop.

Cosmo_R wrote:
chola wrote:....

Some truth here. That's what happened for a long time with the Indian cricket team—gora coaches. Why? because nobody wanted to argue with the gora and they all wanted to make sure no Indian got that job. Sort of an 'all chiefs and no Indians'.
Most often, what you are paying for and looking at the leadership for is to set the right culture. This is intangible. The coach or director isn't there to tell you how to hold the bat or spin the ball. He/she is there to bring in accountability, responsibility, a winning attitude and an enabling environment for people to do their best. And often, such a person is best brought in from the outside when the problem you have is a negative culture and internal politicking.

Indian Navy urgently need minesweepers: Parrikar
http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 622_1.html
"What has been cancelled is the consultant's role. A particular consultant's tender was not as per rules and regulations, so they are re-floating it. What is big in that," he wondered. "The exercise carried out by Goa Shipyard could not be completed because of certain terms and conditions set by the Korean company, which were beyond the scope of the tender. "So what do you expect? There has to be retendering. So they have ordered retendering. Now, this has nothing to do with the order," he maintained. Parrikar said that a delay of six months to one year in a long-tenured contract was absorbable and therefore not a cause for concern. "It can be minimal. These are projects for eight years, ten years. So they can absorb the delay. A six-month delay can be absorbed. In an 8-10 year contract or a 12-year contract, you can absorb one year (delay). Percentage-wise, it is not very big," he said.

Fire breaks out in INS Shivalik's engine room, doused after six hours.

A fire broke out in the engine storeroom of INS Shivalik on Wednesday. No casualties have been reported due to the fire.

The fire was doused after six hours, said reports. The Navy has ordered an inquiry into the matter.

An Indian navy ship INS Shivalik is the lead ship of her class of stealth multi-role frigates built for the Indian Navy. She is the first stealth warship built by India. INS Shivalik was built at the Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) located in Mumbai. Construction of the vessel began in 2001 and was completed by 2009.

She underwent sea trials from thereon before being commissioned on 29 April 2010.

Apart from India, only the US, Russia, UK, France, Sweden, Japan, Italy and China have the capability to build stealth warships of this size and class.

Gurus I am planning to write to DM to have this MCMS to be funded in house, as this is critical need for the navy and by the time new ship comes it would be very late. We definitely have L&T and other shipyards that can copy our current old ships and make something that we can use it in short term Please support on Social medial if you can , more people write the better.

I am of the opinion even though old ships the Pondicherry class ships can be copied and we have enough steel technology in country to produce less magnetic steel than what is on that ship, which would be definitely better than what we have currently. We can definitely have this in parallel to other planned acquisition. We can also supplement it with new unmanned system from Saab like below :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsXkebc3068

Apart from Russia, the EU nations have sev. v.good designs.I can't remember how long it was advocating one of those types with a modular package too.