REPUBLIC DAY 2017

Re: REPUBLIC DAY 2017

Guys thanks for the vid link, this shows we did the right thing voting for Modi.

Two things:

But the optics in the enclosure which 99 perc of India sees, was all wrong. RM was flipping through a pamphlet as she walked past. This is the same RM who has worked non stop to move Su-30 serviceability from 46 perc to 63 perc. And at that one moment, all his contributions get overshadowed. For a military which prides izzat above all, that one move may have made many veterans hearts feel they had a GOI that cares.

Second,
Also, nobody expects them to bow or show extra deference, just standing with respect when bravery awardees come in.

These peoples families have lost everything. In years to come, two things will matter. The nemory their nations top elected officials understoid the depth of their contribution, and second, they are treated well by the veterans administration of the MOD. Both matter.

shravanp wrote:@Rakesh: That's just my opinion. I feel that Prez awarded it, and the widow was given due respect. (Had PM/RM had awarded I am sure they would have stood up). It's not about demeaning. Let's not drag down the discussion to this level. PM/RM are doing stupendous job and for them to not stand up when they are not awarding is 'just'.
Just what? Say It. Spit it out!

The president is the C-in-C of the Armed Forces. He gives out awards. That is protocol.

To ask the RM or the PM or whoever else is on that stage, to stand as a mark of respect, is not a herculean task.

Rakesh, also this:

http://anviksha.vakmumbai.org/when-the- ... -the-road/

Home » History » WHEN THE VICTORIA CROSS WINNER HAS TO CROSS THE ROAD
WHEN THE VICTORIA CROSS WINNER HAS TO CROSS THE ROAD

Excerpts from the book “Toward Resurgent India ” written by Lt Gen( Retired ) M M Lakhera — Freedom First – August 2009

I had gone to UK as Dy Leader of Indian Delegation to take part in 50th Anniversary Celebrations of victory in Europe during Second World War.

I along with four other army officers had just stepped out after attending the inaugural session and were waiting on the roadside for the traffic to ease so as to walk across the road to the vehicle park. Among those with me was Honorary Captain Umrao Singh, a Victoria Cross Winner.

We were all in our ceremonial Indian Army uniform.

All of a sudden a car moving on the road came to a screeching halt in front of us and a well dressed gentleman stepped out.

He approached Umrao Singh and said, “Sir, may I have the privilege to shake hands with the Victoria Cross winner?” He shook hands with him. Evidently he had spotted Umraio Singh’s medal from the car and had stopped his car to pay his respect to a winner of highest gallantry medal of his country.

Then he looked at me and said, “General, you are from the Indian army.” When I replied in affirmative, he gave out his name saying that he was Michael Haseltine.

I was absolutely astounded as the recognition dawned on me that he was the Dy Prime Minister of UK . I was totally overawed by the courtesy shown by a dignitary of second highest status in the British Government and humbly thanked him for having invited our delegation to the VE day function.

Again his reply was typical of his sagacity, “ Sir, it is We, the British who should be grateful to your Country and to your Armed Forces, who had helped us win both the first and second world wars. How can we ever be so ungrateful to forget your country’s great contribution?

Suddenly I became conscious that all the traffic behind his car had come to a standstill.

I hurried to thank him and politely requested to move along to relieve the traffic hold-up, although there was no honking !

He stated, “Sir, How dare I drive off when the Victoria Cross has to cross the road. I shall hold the traffic.”

Respecting his earnest feeling, I and my colleagues quickly crossed the road. Reaching the other side I looked back and saw that Mr. Heseltine was still standing for the Victoria Cross to be safely across. He and the traffic moved on only after we waved them off with a salute.

That is the type of regard they have for their decorated soldiers. Most of the civilized country do.

I have always aspired that similar respect could be shown to our military heroes – at least Param Vir Chakra or Ashok Chakra winners – by the leaders and citizens of our country.

@Rakesh ji :Im not opposing standing up as a matter of respect by everyone on the dais.
Im opposing the shrill name calling for failure to do so.

@optics, i believe that the outrage is being generated because we actually saw this event.One can only wonder how the other families are dealt with wrt respect and confort in their moments of grief. We dont get to see that.

If the 'suggestion' of standing up is accepted and put into practice, i will certainly appreciate it.But i will NOT abuse the PM/RM for not doing so at the moment.

Nothing will ever return their family members to them. A few minutes of standing wont hurt our political leaders either. NaMo and Parrikar IMHO are exactly the kind of karm yoddhas who can lead this change and will not take it as an affront to their ego to do this small gesture. They both take their nationalism seriously. Wish we could convey our feelings to them in a direct, respectful manner.

Karan: These people do not want the PM to stand during an award ceremony. They will get an erythema (superficial reddening of the skin, usually in patches, as a result of injury or irritation causing dilatation of the blood capillaries) if the PM has to do this.

Folks, Modi is the PM. Which means he is the Leader of the people. But with that leadership comes responsibility. He is not Bhagwan. Do not treat him like one. He can stand. It does not demean his office or his person.

nirav wrote:@Rakesh ji :Im not opposing standing up as a matter of respect by everyone on the dais.
Im opposing the shrill name calling for failure to do so.

@optics, i believe that the outrage is being generated because we actually saw this event.One can only wonder how the other families are dealt with wrt respect and confort in their moments of grief. We dont get to see that.

If the 'suggestion' of standing up is accepted and put into practice, i will certainly appreciate it. But i will NOT abuse the PM/RM for not doing so at the moment.
Show me one post where any of us has demeaned the PM or called him names. No one is abusing the PM.

With regards to optics. If a tree falls in a forest (and on one is around) does it make a noise? Just because you do not see it, does not mean it does not happen.

There is always a problem. Where does respect stop? If PM speaks to the lady some people may be happy. But I want defence minister also to speak - or else he is not interested in defence. Then Home minister must greet the lady and so on. Ultimately each of us is satisfied only when a particular ritual is conducted. Unless we see that ritual happening its no good. Or else the opposite if also possible - since everyone cannot meet the lady - simply post the medal and citation to her by speedpost and be done with it.

What I find most ridiculous is the fact that it is the dead man who is getting respect here. The lady is incidental. She is bereaved and it is completely brainless to call her brave or as some kind of heroine. I bet she never ever wished for her to be a brave heroine of this type where big big people are coming and talking to her to satisfy TV watching Indians. I bet my left testimonial that she would have been happy for her husband to be a total non hero who came home, spent his life with her and died of senile dementia at age 96 like most of us are going to do.

I think we really should stop talking about the friggin business. We live in an age when a 1/250 second photo shows the defence minister's hand in his pocket or on his balls and we call it disrespect to armed forces. Someone blinks and he is asleep. What sort of timepass morons are we?

Replying to you is always dangerous. I do not know when I am going to get a verbal assault...but here goes (going to run in my foxhole right after)...riding into the danger zone...
shiv wrote:What I find most ridiculous is the fact that it is the dead man who is getting respect here. The lady is incidental. She is bereaved and it is completely brainless to call her brave or as some kind of heroine. I bet she never ever wished for her to be a brave heroine of this type where big big people are coming and talking to her to satisfy TV watching Indians. I bet my left testimonial that she would have been happy for her husband to be a total non hero who came home, spent his life with her and died of senile dementia at age 96 like most of us are going to do.
I have a better suggestion. Do not show it on TV. Who cares? But if anyone (PM, RM, Secretary or whoever) happens to be in the room/stage when the award is being given...how does ur izzat disappear by you standing? This is not to show the millions on TV who are watching. This is just to show the bereaved family member some respect. Is that too much to ask?
shiv wrote:...senile dementia at age 96 like most of us are going to do.
:D :rotfl: :lol: Why do you wish such fate upon us kind, but strategic :mrgreen:, armchair jarnails?
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

+1 Agree with Shiv saar here.

This supposed disrespect etc is just nonsense. If she gets her dues on time and if her children are taken care of, her izzat is given due respect.

NaMo specifically went up to her and bowed twice. That namaskar and bowed head is the mark of respect. All of this Brit nonsense is just that...
Last edited by Marten on 26 Jan 2017 22:20, edited 1 time in total.

Rakesh wrote: Show me one post where any of us has demeaned the PM or called him names. No one is abusing the PM.

With regards to optics. If a tree falls in a forest (and on one is around) does it make a noise? Just because you do not see it, does not mean it does not happen.
Surya wrote:shameful of PM and RM to be sitting yet another year when a widow is being presented with a medal

poor thing - heart goes out to her - alone
Kashi wrote: Oh please!! Protocols be damned.. If the PM can break the protocol to greet Obama and Al Nahyan at the airport, surely there's no harm in standing up for the brave martyr.

It's not nitpicking, but as a small gesture would go a long way as arshyam pointed out.
Bala Vignesh wrote:
Kashi wrote:
Oh please!! Protocols be damned.. If the PM can break the protocol to greet Obama and Al Nahyan at the airport, surely there's no harm in standing up for the brave martyr.

It's not nitpicking, but as a small gesture would go a long way as arshyam pointed out.
Second that!! Its a mark of personal respect, not protocol!! For all his hype about being pro military, this action goes against his supposed stand..
Surya wrote: Rubbish

Forget the military we are talking of disrespecting the Veer Nari- the image of her pulling her plastic raincoat, her tears alone in a sea of humans - is horrible-

If sitting and leafing through pamphlets is ok then Why not go one step further spread your legs and scratch your crotch - ater all its all dikhava
All this thundering for lack of standing @ the award ceremony which was done posthumously.
Do the thunderers even have the slightest of idea of whats the "protocol" for all those other gallant jawans who laid down their lives ? Why arent yall thundering that PM/RM break protocol and visit everyones family ?

Like ive maintained all along, i do not oppose the PM/RM standing up in respect.But if they are not, its no grounds to talk rubbish about them.
need to stop waving the grieving widow card to buttress ones own set of specific morality and manner of showing respect. :evil:

The President who is the C-I-C is awarding the medal to a soldier's family.

I don't see how any one else can standup while a soldier to soldier honoring is underway.

They have to sit. Or else its disrespect to the President and the military chain of command.
No ifs and buts.

Added latter.
On Twitter there are images of the hand written Constitution and the page showing the signatures.

Rajendra Prasad was the president of the Constituent Assembly.

Yet Jawaharlal Nehrus singe first to get his name for fame like the signatories of the US Constitution.

However for protocol Rajendra Prasad had to squeeze in his name at a slant angle to show he had accepted the Constitution as the President of the Constituent Assembly.
Nehruji was trying to upstage the President.

When the President is awarding a military honor for anyone else to be standing on the stage is disrespect to the chain of command.

Rakesh wrote: I have a better suggestion. Do not show it on TV.
In fact I was predicting that if Modi had done that all 22 or 47 Cameras of Doordarshan full of government servants eager to please his immediate boss would have focused on Modi and later claims would (I expect) have been made that the lady has been honoured by Modi speaking to her, and furthermore Modi would have been praised as the most sensitive PM ever. Personally I think it was about the dead hero. Not Modi and it should remain that way.

Incidentally - in a slow phase last year I downloaded the whole fleet review video of Doordarshan and individually cut out every single scene of VIP faces and Modis face being shown. I must be mad - but Doodarshan were showing 20 seconds fleet review and 15 seconds Modis' face - for two and a half hours. Rest of the time it was Pranab's face. It was a stupendously bad video and I made it a little less boring and reuploaded it and found that the sound had been cut off. It would have been soosai for me to insert the sound so it is now a soundless boring video with no politcian's face. If you need to fall asleep - here it is shortened to 25 minutes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOs-cKh7TZY

Marten wrote:If she gets her dues on time and if her children are taken care of, her izzat is given due respect.
Marten, in a number of occasions that never even happens. See below...

Kargil hero wounded by government: Maha Vir Chakra winner shot five times is denied border war benefits
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/in ... efits.html
First, the Army denied Kumar the disability benefits he is entitled to after being classified as 80 per cent disabled by an Indian Army medical board. When they did - after Kumar moved the Armed Forces Tribunal - they took two years.

Kumar is still being denied the ex-gratia benefits he is entitled to as a Kargil veteran. And the state government, which was to allot Kumar agricultural land for being a gallantry award winner, has marked out the prize at a location almost 500 km from his Sikar home.

The Army didn't give Kumar his disability pension - he 'retired voluntarily'. The Army paid up only when the Armed Forces Tribunal bench at Jaipur pulled it up for the 'inhuman and unfortunate decision that deserved to be deprecated'. A penalty of Rs 30,000 was imposed on the Army for its 'lack of sensitivity'. The Army took another two years to implement the tribunal's order of April 12, 2010. And it's still not all right.
This is a Param Vir Chakra (India's highest medal for bravery) winner....

Double demotion for Kargil hero
http://www.mid-day.com/articles/double- ... hero/70467
Havildar Sanjay Kumar, a Param Vir Chakra winner, has been downgraded to a Lance Naik. The Ministry of Defence refuses to give any explanations.
Major Gen (retd) Sheru Thapliyal, who was military advisor during Operation Vijay, was livid when told about the development. Calling it the most unfortunate thing to have happened to a Param Vir Chakra awardee, Maj Gen Thapliyal said, "It's great injustice to the highest gallantry award winner of the country. How can a soldier expect respect from society when the Army itself is not respecting its best lot."

Marten, some more...

From Rs 5,000 to Rs 2 crore: States differ in rewarding gallantry medal winners
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... Ai4rK.html
Hangpan Dada’s Ashok Chakra, the country’s highest peace-time gallantry award, will get his widow a cash grant of just Rs 20,000. The army man was from Arunachal Pradesh, one of India’s most frugal states when it comes to rewarding soldiers for their bravery. Had he been from Haryana, his wife Chasen Lowang Dada would have received Rs 1 crore.
Kin of Param Vir Chakra winner to sell off medal
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india/kin ... lAjSJ.html
One of the first winners of Param Vir Chakra, honorary captain Karam Singh, had died in penury. Today, his family is being forced to sell his medal just to keep the home fire burning.
Family of second Param Vir Chakra recipient to auction medal
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/o ... 545518.ece
Talking to The Hindu, the hero's 21 year-old-grandson, Satnam Singh, narrates how the family was ignored by different governments while granting benefits to war decorated soldiers. While the Union government did not find the family eligible for allotting a gas agency, the State government has not considered them for reservation in any job.

"The reason they offer is both ridiculous and disheartening. The Union Defence Minister, Army Headquarters, Punjab Chief Minister's office and Sainik Welfare Board argue that our family was not eligible to any benefit as my grandfather was alive when he received the PVC. All benefits were given only to those who received the decoration posthumously," he says displaying the large bunch of papers, which are copies of "futile" communications the family has made with various authorities.
Another Param Vir Chakra winner - Naib Subedar Bana Singh
http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/Bana_Singh_P.V.C.
C: I understand that you had a good offer from the Punjab Government?
BS: The Punjab Government has a deep respect for the Indian Army. They have offered me Rs 25 lakhs and a monthly allowance of Rs 15,000 and a 25 acre plot if I accept to move to Punjab. But I refused.
C: Why?
BS: Because I consider myself a State Subject of Jammu and Kashmir. My own State gives me Rs 160/month only as an allowance for having won the Param Vir Chakra, the highest bravery award. It is the way we are treated in Jammu and Kashmir.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Admiral, let's just leave it at that.

I have seen how much time the Navy took to help someone quite well known, loved and cherished - second generation officer died on duty. Respect should be demonstrated in such things and not meaningless PR s**t.

Saar: I am not here for any meaningless PR shit. As I said in my first post on this topic, “This is not about being petty and giving an appearance on TV to the millions who watch. This is just simple, basic RESPECT for a soldier who served the nation.” But I am going to leave it.

Unfortunately many here have taken this "non-standing" thing as a criticism of Modi or Parrikar. It is not. Almost no PM/RM has stood up before. So why blame them.

But that does not make it right. I ask any of you here. If the wife, the mother or the father of a PVC, MVC, VC, AC, SC, KC came in front of you, would you be able to stay seated. Hakeem, you asked where does respect stop? I ask you, will you be able to stay seated even if the President, PM, RM and everybody has already paid respect?

If not, then every damn soul in that dias and parade ground should stand up to pay respect to the family of a fallen soldier of the highest order. The very moment of the felicitation. Absolutely yes!

Jai Hind.
Marten

Post by Marten »

Indranil, did you watch h the proceedings today? Or the video posted by uddu Sir? At around 57.30, the PM paid his respects to the widow. If the RM ensures her dues are paid immediately instead of the typical 3-5 years, it would be a true mark of respect. Let's not create protocol and supposed marks of respect or disrespect based on our interpretations and opinions.

Added later: I understand, appreciate, and very much support the sentiment. However, would put long-term needs over pointless gestures. My opinion onlee - need not be right and will probably change once the situation changes.
Last edited by Marten on 26 Jan 2017 23:31, edited 1 time in total.

Happy Republic Day to All!
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Rakesh wrote:Indigenous Medium Power Radar ARUDHRA, in service with the Indian Air Force
https://twitter.com/livefist/status/824544609682329601
Oh boy! I'd love to rub this photo in Prasun "Arudhra is EL/M-2084 onlee" Sengupta's face.

There are Protocol Depts in GoI, MoD & Services, who do deliberate on these matters.

There are practical organisational behaviour aspects as well.

Historically when Kings stood to speak, Knights & Soldiers dismounted horses and knelt. This was to ensure everyone had a clear line of sight to see what the Supreme Commander was doing and hear what he said. That was important since strategic vision / guidance during war or specific battles typically came from the King/Supreme Commander. Also soldiers were motivated to the cause seeing/hearing King/Supreme Commander.

Similarly, if Brigade CO is addressing, the Battalion COs stand or sit behind, so as not to take away focus from what the senior officer is doing/speaking and ensure everyone has clear line of sight and sound to him.

Hence, if the President is standing in a ceremony, others, including PM & RM, who're junior to Supreme Commander, are NOT supposed to stand or do anything that would take away focus from what the Supreme Commander is doing/speaking.

PS - Just saw Ramana's comment correctly explaining this.
Last edited by tsarkar on 26 Jan 2017 23:47, edited 2 times in total.

tsarkar wrote:Hence, if the President is standing in a ceremony, others, including PM & RM, who're junior to Supreme Commander, are NOT supposed to stand and take away focus from what the Supreme Commander is doing/speaking.
Well that ends that debate :) I stand corrected.

40 years ago, Indian Air Force's jumbo danced across the skies
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 789364.cms

tsarkar wrote:Hence, if the President is standing in a ceremony, others, including PM & RM, who're junior to Supreme Commander, are NOT supposed to stand and take away focus from what the Supreme Commander is doing/speaking.
Well that ends that debate :) I stand corrected.
Happy Republic day to you saar. :)
btw Erythema ke liye what should I take ? :mrgreen:

use topical cream to resolve that itch. it will go away :D

Vishal Jolapara wrote:I'll need to ask around to see if any of my DEL mates went, I interacted with one in the morning and going by the dreary skies - he didn't seem keen on taking any photography gear along.

I'm hoping more folks will upload their photos later in the day/days to come & i'll share whatever i'm able to find :)
Thanks in Advance, Vishal

Sid wrote:What was that radar after ATAGS? Cameramen completely missed it
There was troop level radar after brahmos and swati radar after atags.
Last edited by K Mehta on 27 Jan 2017 00:57, edited 1 time in total.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Can we make a list of all relevant items displayed this republic day
Flypast of Mi17v5 with the flags
Flypast of 2 dhruv +2 wsi dhruv
1 t 90 of the 48th armoured regiment
2 bmp2 equipped with Milan ? Anti tank missile.
3 dhanush
4 troop level radar
5 akash
Etc
Please correct if I am wrong
Last edited by K Mehta on 27 Jan 2017 01:07, edited 2 times in total.

6) ATAGS

Marten wrote:Indranil, did you watch h the proceedings today? Or the video posted by uddu Sir? At around 57.30, the PM paid his respects to the widow. If the RM ensures her dues are paid immediately instead of the typical 3-5 years, it would be a true mark of respect. Let's not create protocol and supposed marks of respect or disrespect based on our interpretations and opinions.

Added later: I understand, appreciate, and very much support the sentiment. However, would put long-term needs over pointless gestures. My opinion onlee - need not be right and will probably change once the situation changes.
1. Yes, I saw what Modiji did. As I said earlier, my problem is not with him.
2. There is no "supposed" mark of respect in standing up. It is mark of respect.
3. I was about to point out the basis of the protocol, but TSarkar beat me to it. What I am about to write next is my personal opinion. If it is inappropriate, I ask others to report me, and other BR admins to act strictly on me. Unfortunately, I don't think it will change my feeling about this (in the post script, I give my reason). Honestly, I find this protocol ridiculous. Firstly, because others standing up takes no emphasis away from the actions of the president. If anything, it emphasizes it more. Secondly, is the President the emphasis? With the highest respect to him and his position, I say no.

Nothing more on this from me. Tagra Raho Chasen!

P.S.
When I was in class VIII, my history teacher took a leave of absence for about a week. When she returned, our principal announced in the school assembly the reason for her absence. She had accompanied her family to Delhi. Her brother was awarded the Kirti Chakra posthumously. And while this was being announced, many including me could not take their eyes of her. A diminutive small figure, proud and taut and poignant at the same time. She did not utter a word or want any respect. Her gaze, her posture, her being demanded respect.

Six months later, she took a longer leave. This time it was her son. He was an IAF pilot who refused to bail out of his plane while flying over a crowded area. They found only a small part of his charred thigh. This time again she said nothing. Just stood there looking into space. Poignant and strong. Not a tear. Not even a flinch. I don't know how she did it. I cried.

This woman's entire family was in the armed forces. Brothers, husband and son. I found her equally brave. That evening I went home and told my parents that I want to be a pilot in the IAF, and if required be a martyr because that is the highest honour I can give them. My parents, being civvies, got scared. They made sure that I miss the NDA forms. To this day, they have not heard the last of it from me yet. My father has asked for my forgiveness on this many times. He knows he won't get it. It is my biggest regret and will be so to the end of my life.

To not stand up for the family of the recipient of the highest gallantry awards posthumously. That is is shameful to me. And will stay so to my last breath.

ramana wrote:On Twitter there are images of the hand written Constitution and the page showing the signatures.

Rajendra Prasad was the president of the Constituent Assembly.

Yet Jawaharlal Nehrus singe first to get his name for fame like the signatories of the US Constitution.

However for protocol Rajendra Prasad had to squeeze in his name at a slant angle to show he had accepted the Constitution as the President of the Constituent Assembly.
Nehruji was trying to upstage the President.
Look at the left hand of the page (under No 14 - Urdu), you will clearly see the signature of Prime Minister Nehru. Right above it, you will see the signature of Dr Rajendra Prasad.

Arudhra MPR missed its time in limelight due to shoddy camera work.

LRDE(DRDO)-BEL's Medium Power Radar Arudhra (AESA, 4D, S-Band), said to have a range of 300 Km against fighter sized targets.

http://i.imgur.com/T3lPztx.jpg
https://s23.postimg.org/59n1snq4b/LRDE_ ... ra_MPR.png

Indranil wrote: 1. Yes, I saw what Modiji did. As I said earlier, my problem is not with him.
2. There is no "supposed" marked of respect in standing up. It is mark of respect.
3. I was about to point out the basis of the protocol, but TSarkar beat me to it. What I am about to write next is my personal opinion. If it is inappropriate, I ask others to report me, and other BR admins to act strictly on me. Unfortunately, I don't think it will change my feeling about this (in the post script, I give my reason). Honestly, I find this protocol ridiculous. Firstly, because others standing up takes no emphasis away from the actions of the president. If anything, it emphasizes it more. Secondly, is the President the emphasis? With the highest respect to him and his position, I say no.
Sir., what you are proposing is replacing one protocol with another.

If the armed forces or at least the ex-generals and ex-soldiers also feel this way as you feel., then do bring it to the RM or PMO attention and I am sure they will change the protocol and adhere to the protocol. If the protocol says stand., they will stand. This government listens. Slowly maybe. Maybe you do have to shout out more. But it does listen. Unlike governments of previous 65 years.

However the rona-dhona and #Blow2Modi that went on in previous pages is unprecedented., even admin-class posters contributed to the rona-dhona. That is "NO MARK OF RESPECT" - supposed or not.

Indranil wrote:Unfortunately many here have taken this "non-standing" thing as a criticism of Modi or Parrikar. It is not. Almost no PM/RM has stood up before. So why blame them.

But that does not make it right. I ask any of you here. If the wife, the mother or the father of a PVC, MVC, VC, AC, SC, KC came in front of you, would you be able to stay seated. Hakeem, you asked where does respect stop? I ask you, will you be able to stay seated even if the President, PM, RM and everybody has already paid respect?

If not, then every damn soul in that dias and parade ground should stand up to pay respect to the family of a fallen soldier of the highest order. The very moment of the felicitation. Absolutely yes!

Jai Hind.
+1000

ref protocol - am checking on it from one of the people who stand behind the President - believe its a carry over from the darbar protocol - ie. nothing written - just followed

Thanks Vishal for the pics

Rakesh wrote: Look at the left hand of the page (under No 14 - Urdu), you will clearly see the signature of Prime Minister Nehru. Right above it, you will see the signature of Dr Rajendra Prasad.

This is lowly.

Why is the constitution lowly? Wait a second...do you mean lovely?

He is talking about JLN upstaging the Rajendra Prasad.

Indranil wrote: Hakeem, you asked where does respect stop? I ask you, will you be able to stay seated even if the President, PM, RM and everybody has already paid respect?
Respect to the wife? What I have done is essentially send the man to his death. I can make excuses that it is his job and he is paid for it. But he goes ahead and dies protecting me and my family - and then I make a big song and dance about respecting his widow? I can imagine the worst scum among leaders who have taken bribes and delayed defence equipment also "standing up to give respect to a woman whose husband is dead" . Would she able to show her anger by throwing the award at a useless leader who is getting limelight and credit at such a time? What sort of chicanery is that?

It is NOT the PM who is honouring the man or his lady. It is the entire nation. The respect that the nation pays is embodied symbolically by the president. It is not as though Pranab Mukherjee is doing it for himself. Asking the entire nation to stand up at that time would be unimplementable. How does an elected leader place his respect and sympathy over and above that of the nation?
Last edited by shiv on 27 Jan 2017 06:59, edited 2 times in total.