Understanding US thread-III

Re: Understanding US thread-III

NYT

WASHINGTON — Just days after President Trump spoke of a “running war’’ with the media, his chief White House strategist, Stephen K. Bannon, ratcheted up the attacks, arguing that news organizations had been “humiliated” by the election outcome and repeatedly describing the media as “the opposition party” of the current administration.

“The media should be embarrassed and humiliated and keep its mouth shut and just listen for a while,” Mr. Bannon said in an interview on Wednesday.

“I want you to quote this,” Mr. Bannon added. “The media here is the opposition party. They don’t understand this country. They still do not understand why Donald Trump is the president of the United States.”

No friend ever served me, and no enemy ever wronged me, whom I have not repaid in full.

-- epitaph of Sulla, tyrant of Rome.

Kashi wrote:
Arjun wrote:Any alignment with the West should of course be subject to (1) the US aligning with India's concerns on China / Pak (2) no EJ promotion in India and (3) no restriction on Indian emigration to these countries and continued meritocratic access of Indian Americans or Indo-British to elite institutions of learning, power and wealth.
Quite a tall ask isn't it? I mean is it really feasible to believe that the West will agree to an alliance on those terms? After all there are enough entrenched elements who see us as civilisational threats/antagonists.

no restriction on Indian emigration?? Would anyone in India stay behind, then?? :)

No restriction on Indian emigration sounds good. Essential for a Flee Democlacy.

Trump is the type who doesn't care what the world thinks about him. No log kya kahenge issues. He is confident about what he thinks and just does it. That is a good thing in a leader, though it can border into dictatorship.
The Left and Dems are shell shocked.
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

Used to think he's like kejri..all talk no action...he is definitely crazier
komal

Post by komal »

KJo wrote:Trump is the type who doesn't care what the world thinks about him. No log kya kahenge issues. He is confident about what he thinks and just does it. That is a good thing in a leader, though it can border into dictatorship.
The Left and Dems are shell shocked.
I can understand how ordinary GOOPERs have no knowledge of basic economics, but I am shocked that an Ivy League graduate doesn't understand that any tariff will be paid by Americans -- not by the the exporting nations.

A tariff on imports from Mexico to build a wall is a tax on the American consumer to pay for that wall.

The "active prevention" started as a continuation of the "civil" war. Started with such revered institutions as the Night Riders (who were mostly shot or hanged by Sherman's military polis, I believe). Until very recently, this has been a trademark of "Southern Democrats". The elephants were mostly in the cities, descended from carbet-baggers who came from Yankeestan. So until recently it was the elephants who waved the flag of Equal Rights, Adult Suffrage etc. It was the Democrats who waved the burning cross and pointy-headed bedsheet outfits.
Surely the party have switched names akin to the reversal of magnetic poles, and it happened due to LBJ signing a slew of Civil Rights related acts, but the people on the either side of divide are still the same people who fought the civil wars against each other, the progressive yankees of the north vs. regressive dixies of the south.

Northerners were progressive then and are progressive now, just the name of the party has changed, southerners were pro-slavery and racist then and the mindset still remains the same apparently for the majority even now.
komal

Post by komal »

Dipanker wrote:
The "active prevention" started as a continuation of the "civil" war. Started with such revered institutions as the Night Riders (who were mostly shot or hanged by Sherman's military polis, I believe). Until very recently, this has been a trademark of "Southern Democrats". The elephants were mostly in the cities, descended from carbet-baggers who came from Yankeestan. So until recently it was the elephants who waved the flag of Equal Rights, Adult Suffrage etc. It was the Democrats who waved the burning cross and pointy-headed bedsheet outfits.
Surely the party have switched names akin to the reversal of magnetic poles, and it happened due to LBJ signing a slew of Civil Rights related acts, but the people on the either side of divide are still the same people who fought the civil wars against each other, the progressive yankees of the north vs. regressive dixies of the south.

Northerners were progressive then and are progressive now, just the name of the party has changed, southerners were pro-slavery and racist then and the mindset still remains the same apparently for the majority even now.

The Democrats kicked out the racists in 1948 -- which to GOOPERs is recent history. The GOOPERs eagerly welcomed the racists to their party.

I can understand how ordinary GOOPERs have no knowledge of basic economics, but I am shocked that an Ivy League graduate doesn't understand that any tariff will be paid by Americans -- not by the the exporting nations.
A tariff on imports from Mexico to build a wall is a tax on the American consumer to pay for that wall.
komalji, I am far from being an ivy-league grajuate - in Ulan Bator only some hashish and kudzu grow - but a small correction 4 ur kind consideration onlee:

A tariff on imports from Mexico to build a wall is a tax on the American consumer WHO BUYS MEXICAN GOODS to pay for that wall
And a reduction of profit for those American companies who import Mexican goods, because they have to reduce the price a bit to stay competitive. So he is living up to this promise that he LOVES the Mexican people. His gripe is with the AMERICANS who export jobs to Mexico and import Mexican goods (and Mexicans) at cheaper prices, putting sand in the mouths of American workers and their children.

Sure, it would be right to be concerned about prices of vegetables in the US, since they probably come from Mexico. I doubt if bananas and coconuts grow in Canada. This may be a boost for imports from El Salvador, Cuba, Haiti, Colombia, West Indies etc.

The Democrats kicked out the racists in 1948

That's a GOOD one, komalji. :mrgreen: They may have kicked out the KKK which was bringing a bad name to racists but please look up "Voting Rights Act of 196x", and see who was ruling in the southern states where said act applie(d/s). Until the 1980s the GOOPERS were not allowed to raise their heads in most of the rural south. In fact DeMonetization of Confederate Money may have occurred only recently in those parts.
Watch "Beverly Hillbillies" to Understand the US.

Haley to UN: 'We're taking names'
AT THIS HOUR
Nikki Haley, US ambassador to the UN, spoke at the UN headquarters for the first time, stating that "those who don't have our backs, we're taking names."
Source: CNN
Fake media. So not really believable.

Buffett, Gates have hope for America after Trump ascension

By Jonathan Stempel and Jennifer Ablan, Reuters - 5:22 PM ET 1/27/2017
NEW YORK, Jan 27 (Reuters) - Bill Gates and Warren Buffett on Friday expressed optimism that the United States will move ahead as a nation, even as it works through political differences and gets used to the new Trump administration.
The world's two richest people were speaking to students at Columbia University after U.S. President Donald Trump started to unwind the work of his predecessor Barack Obama in a series of executive orders, prompting concern from critics over what the actions mean for Americans and their place in the world.
"I am confident that America will move ahead," Buffett said.
Gates, meanwhile, said the desire for innovation and support for research are "strong" and "largely bipartisan," despite differences on how to accomplish and fund both.
"This administration is new enough; we don't know how its budget priorities are going to come out," but there is much intensity to ensure that the executive branch and Congress encourage "amazing things," Gates said.
komal

Post by komal »

The Democrats kicked out the racists in 1948

That's a GOOD one, komalji. :mrgreen: They may have kicked out the KKK which was bringing a bad name to racists but please look up "Voting Rights Act of 196x", and see who was ruling in the southern states where said act applie(d/s). Until the 1980s the GOOPERS were not allowed to raise their heads in most of the rural south. In fact DeMonetization of Confederate Money may have occurred only recently in those parts.
Watch "Beverly Hillbillies" to Understand the US.
You are absolutely right. It was LBJ who fought Civil Rights legislation. It was Ronald Reagan who ended segregation. And if DT places tariffs on Mexican imports, it is Mexicans who will pay the tax.

And we should learn history from the Beverly Hillbillies.
komal

Post by komal »

panduranghari wrote:
komal wrote:He is Nehruvian Socialist at heart. He has no understanding of economics.
As a businessman who is successful, as a celebrity who has been successful, IMO Donald Trump understands economics more than most of us. Stop letting your hatred of him blind you from the positive qualities he most certainly has. Democrats preach collectivism practice individualism. While the Republicans who preach enterprise practices protectionism. Donald not being a career politician who real affinity to the Republicans nor Democrats, has shown no similar inclination going by his past actions. SO your assertion that he is a Nehruvian Socalist falls flat on its face.
He is absolutely a Nehruvian Socialist. He wants to dictate industrial policy to private corporations.
komal

Post by komal »

Haley to UN: 'We're taking names'
AT THIS HOUR
Nikki Haley, US ambassador to the UN, spoke at the UN headquarters for the first time, stating that "those who don't have our backs, we're taking names."
Source: CNN
Fake media. So not really believable.
What a clown. I'm sure Pakistanis are shaking in their boots.

komal wrote: You are absolutely right. It was LBJ who fought Civil Rights legislation. It was Ronald Reagan who ended segregation. And if DT places tariffs on Mexican imports, it is Mexicans who will pay the tax.
And don't forget, Democrat racism ended in 1948 in the USA

Let's see: The first Republican Governor of Alabama since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was around 1987.
The first Republican Governor of Mississippi since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was around 1992.
First Republican Governor of South Carolina since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was 1975, one term, then the next was in 1987.
First Republican Governor in Georgia was 2002.
First Republican Governor in Arkansas was 1981.

But don't let facts get in the way of your superstitions. CNN/IBN, The Hindu and NDTV are always right. :rotfl:
Last edited by UlanBatori on 28 Jan 2017 08:50, edited 1 time in total.

Donald J. Trump ‏@realDonaldTrump
Mexico has taken advantage of the U.S. for long enough. Massive trade deficits & little help on the very weak border must change, NOW!

My desi mutu friends are shaking in their shoes...one is desperately messaging me on fbook looking for reassurance that his cozy little sandbox wont get kicked over by the new badboy
komal

Post by komal »

komal wrote: You are absolutely right. It was LBJ who fought Civil Rights legislation. It was Ronald Reagan who ended segregation. And if DT places tariffs on Mexican imports, it is Mexicans who will pay the tax.
And don't forget, Democrat racism ended in 1948 in the USA

Let's see: The first Republican Governor of Alabama since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was around 1987.
The first Republican Governor of Mississippi since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was around 1992.
First Republican Governor of South Carolina since the Civil War/ Reconstruction was 1975, one term, then the next was in 1987.
First Republican Governor in Georgia was 2002.
First Republican Governor in Arkansas was 1981.

But don't let facts get in the way of your superstitions. CNN/IBN, The Hindu and NDTV are always right. :rotfl:
Not sure what your point is. That because there were racists in the Democratic Party -- that somehow negates their historic rule in Civil Rights. That Democrats kicked out the Dixicrats in 1948. They passed Civil Rights legislation knowing that it would cost them the WH for two generations.

I think in India that had Cong (I), Cong (O), Akali Dal, Akali Dal (Mann), DMK, AIDMK, CPI, CPI (M-L). So in the USA we had the equivalent of Democrat(N) and Democrat(Racist). The Democrat(Racist) are now in your GOOPER party. They went there 1981. Look up Phil Gramm.

I know you saw it on the Beverly Hillbillies.

Let me guess, you are one of those who thinks that a tariff on Mexican goods will be paid by Mexicans? You heard that Hee Haw. So it must be true.

May be we should have a thread for understanding DT?

Did the White House just mistake British PM for ***** star ‘Teresa May’?
The White House misspelled Theresa May’s name three times in official documents related to her US visit this week, possibly confusing her with retired British ***** star ‘Teresa May.
Staffers made the mistake in an official schedule for her meeting with President Donald Trump, where the PM will seek to cement London and Washington’s “special relationship.” :rotfl:

The error appeared in a document setting out plans for Friday’s talks, including a meeting in the Oval Office and a “working luncheon” following a joint press conference.
https://twitter.com/KaLebhour/status/824815182790717440/photo/1
‘Teresa May’ is the name of a former glamor model and ***** actress who has appeared in adult films such as 'Horny Housewives' and 'Petticoat Passions'.

The Churchill bust is back in the WH.Anyday we can take a little bit of nostalgia for the racist scum in exchange for 'Teresa May'.

Donald Trump tells Theresa May: 'Brexit is going to be a wonderful thing for your country' as two leaders hold hands at White House :rotfl:
Together, America and the United Kingdom are a beacon for prosperity and the rule of law. That is why the United States respects the sovereignty of the British people and their right of self-determination. :rotfl: A free and independent Britain is a blessing to the world, and our relationship has never been stronger.
And, by the way, my mother was born in Scotland -- Stornoway -- which is serious Scotland.

They went there 1981. Look up Phil Gramm.
Agree 100%. And 1981 is a few years after 1948 which is when according to you, Democrats stopped being racist. :rotfl:
Let me guess, you are one of those who thinks that a tariff on Mexican goods will be paid by Mexicans? You heard that Hee Haw. So it must be true.
Oh, good. Always guess, it beats reading or thinking. As I explained above, the Mexican goods tariff will be paid by those who import and buy Mexican goods. Just as a tariff on Chinese goods will be paid by those who import and buy Chinese goods.
Example: you buy a Made In Mexico BMW. YOU pay the tariff. I don't. I get a tax refund from Uncle Sam Don with the money that YOU pay. I see absolutely nothing wrong with that. I'll wave to you with the can of (Made in America) Coke that I can buy with that tax refund as you await the AAA to come tow your piece of junk.Mexican Bimmer.
But no, CNN says "AMERICAN CONSUMERS" will pay the tariff. So it must be true. They left out "OF MEXICAN GOODS" because that would strain the reading abilities of their believers.

If they put a tariff on Indian goods, it will be mostly Indians in America who end up paying more for pickles and rice and "Hot Mixture" and coconut oil and Kingfisher beer and Mattar Paneer. Likewise, if they put tariffs on Mexican goods, a lot of that will be paid by Mexicans in the US.

Just looked up the top 10 exports of Mexico yearly taken from Nov. 2016. They are:
1. Vehicles: US$90.4 billion (23.7% of total exports)
2. Electronic equipment: $81.2 billion (21.3%)
2. Machines, engines, pumps: $58.9 billion (15.5%)
4. Oil: $22.8 billion (6%)
5. Medical, technical equipment: $15.2 billion (4%)
6. Furniture, lighting, signs: $9.9 billion (2.6%)
7. Plastics: $8.3 billion (2.2%)
8. Gems, precious metals, coins: $7.1 billion (1.9%)
9. Iron or steel products: $5.7 billion (1.5%)
10. Vegetables: $5.6 billion (1.5%)

Of course, these numbers are total exports for them, but it turns out that 85% of their exports go to the US or Canada, 5.4% to Europe and 4.3% to Asia, so a good amount of that is destined for the US. Veggies are way down in the export list by value and fruits and nuts don't even make top 10 (another chart shows their fruits and nut exports were $3.6 billion and alcoholic beverages was only $3 billion) . Guess they don't export as many mangoes, bananas, Corona (yuck), Modelo, Dos Equis and tequila as I thought. Vehicles are their top export to the US. And since there isn't a Mexican brand of automobile, chances are very good that those plants are owned by American companies. Which means either:
(a) The companies are going to have to relocate jobs stateside to avoid taxes.
(b) Joe American is going to have to pay 20% more for certain GM or Ford vehicles, or buy a Toyota, which is more American than anything else.

So u can see where he is coming from. Cars are a targeted low hanging fruit along with large appliances like fridge washer ac that get made in mehico due to bulk and less shipping cost than china.

And cars have ecology of 1000s of ancillary industry

twitter
Media lied about Trump for a year, he still won. Media invented idea of #FakeNews & blamed it. Then media lied about even the Inauguration!

Such concern for the poor American consumer by the economic cognescenti.....! :D

somewhat similar to the concern for the poor Indian rural villager due to demonetision.....

I find it incredible that germany and japan with per capita income and education level similar to usa are manufacturing powerhouse and huge exporter while usa let its sector wither away to china and everywhere but usa.

How are the germans and japanis competing in manufacturing with similar cost of power and not even such a huge domestic market as usa?

Something does not compute. Does germany nd japan have a rust belt and declining manufacturing sector too?

Usa even has better universities and foreign student pull..hordes of cheaper donestic labour too incl illegal migrants looking for a toehold..

Who screwed the game and dropped the ball? Was it to drive record profits of wall street from 80s vs modest gains of germans japanis so that pious insiders like berkshire hathaway and mutual fnds could rake in gains for the upper middle class?

Someone sold the story of everyone can do services economy and let the bottom 50% take one for the team as it were

Japan is allegedly in economic decline for decades now yet the roads continue to best of breed, trains run to seconds mark and tfta stuff keeps churning out.....

UlanBatori wrote: If they put a tariff on Indian goods, it will be mostly Indians in America who end up paying more for pickles and rice and "Hot Mixture" and coconut oil and Kingfisher beer and Mattar Paneer. Likewise, if they put tariffs on Mexican goods, a lot of that will be paid by Mexicans in the US.
Ulan Batoriji,
Kingfisher is made in the good old US of A. Check this out: http://www.mendobrew.com/home.html
Pickles are made in Vilayat by the Pataks, and never fear Haldiram will make the hot mixture that burns my backside right here given half a chance.
So let DT do what ever he wants, we are safe.

Here is a POV on American manufacturing:
http://www.vox.com/the-big-idea/2017/1/ ... loss-trump
To be clear, I do think American international economic policy has been far, far from perfect. I could rant with the best of them about our failure to be a capital-exporting nation financing the industrialization of the world, a role from which we would ultimately benefit both economically and politically. I can rant about our reluctance to properly incentivize the creation and maintenance of the global treasures that are our communities of engineering practice. It is no accident that spinning machines were made in Lowell, Massachusetts; that automobiles were made in Detroit; minicomputers were made along Route 128, Massachusetts; that programs are written in Silicon Valley; and that hoverboards are made in Shenzhen, China. A community of engineers, technicians, and businesses that have seen the problems and methods of an industry up close and who know how to solve them is an incredibly valuable and difficult-to-create economic resource. We should not “protect” such communities regardless of cost, but we should nurture them.

I also believe that a rich country like the US should be saving more than it invests here at home: It is poor countries that need to invest more than they save. And the US should be taking that extra savings — the part that’s in excess over investment — and lending it out in dollars to poor countries where capital is scarce. Those countries should then be taking those dollars and using them to buy the capital goods from us that they need to equip their workers. They would be buying those machines from firms embedded in our communities of engineering practice, thereby profiting US companies.

The US should be running not a trade deficit but a trade surplus, as do the other two leading industrial powers, Japan and Germany. And to the extent that American workers share in the surplus created by healthy communities of engineering practice — which they always have, to a significant extent — this is good not just for the world economy as a whole but for US workers too.

And in order to run that trade surplus, the US should be facilitating manufacturing production and exports by following not a strong-dollar policy but an appropriate-dollar policy. A strong dollar is not in America’s interest if it means market prices are sending the wrong signals. An overly strong dollar tells engineering-based manufacturing and other industries that they are not useful to society. It signals to businesses that they should disrupt these communities and outsource more of their work. And that does serious damage.

So yes, I acknowledge US economic policy has been far from perfect. It has been far from perfect over the past 40 years in its macroeconomic stance — the Reagan and George W. Bush tax cuts, the belief that less regulation of finance in New York is always good, the belief that the value of the dollar is how we keep score.

The US should be running not a trade deficit but a trade surplus, as do the other two leading industrial powers, Japan and Germany

^^^ thats the mystery. All 3 are nearly same per capita income and hdi levels and life expectancy and tech levels and education

Nice oped by newt gingrich on the first week of the new imperium

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2017/01/ ... -week.html

Singha wrote:Japan is allegedly in economic decline for decades now yet the roads continue to best of breed, trains run to seconds mark and tfta stuff keeps churning out.....
Very good question, OT for this thread, surely. But CAN an economy function perfectly OK with zero rate of appreciation of its corporate stocks, and zero inflation? Why not? If everyone has jobs, decent middle class std of living, working as hard as they can, too busy to make any more babies than needed to replace themselves, why should there be a rate of stock price growth, hain??? (let me pause to :(( as I think of MY pennies in Japanese stocks for the past 15 saal). Reach a balance. Zero trade deficit, 100% employment (OK, 99%). Isn't this the model of MahaBali? Of course he was done in by petty jealosy then and hired away to ********, but not because his policies were not working.

So could DT shoot for such a fine state? DOW flat. Inflation zero. Long-term interest rates 5% to keep retirees fed. Companies pay a healthy dividend each year too, maybe 8%. Trade deficit zero. Debt balance zero. The US is actually self-sufficient in nearly all resources.

Back to Japan and Germany. I think they make it much harder than US to sell anything there. The legend about "quality" is not all that accurate: German cars are pakistan for the most part in reliability. Not all cars made and sold in Japan are that stellar either. Their roads DO develop sinkholes - there was a recent article about a huge one opening up in Fukuoka (probably collapsed the roof of their extensive underground city) but they fixed it in like 24 hours or so. In the US it would have taken a month, in India a few.

I think historically, US trade surplus was due to first raw material/forest product exports, then food, tobacco & cotton, then food, then Machine Tools, then cars, then airplanes, then electronics & computers,then weapons, then oil, then weapons and airplanes, then software. Now prime exports are weapons and toilet paper (forest product). Soon oil, natural gas, weapons and toilet paper. Machine tools, electronics, computers, cars, all off-shored, airplanes partly so, but weapons held close. Toilet paper is a vast natural resource from the huge forests.

BTW, what state has the honor of the first reported racist Polis Stop of the new Trump Administration? U guessed it. HiCalifornia.
Note where the report comes from, too. Why was this not in the herrowic California media, known for its fight for Freedom and Equality?
"neighbors called polis".

I wonder how much cheen is stealing from the c919 and airbus tianjin projects...all quiet and happy lately..dutifully running the xerox machines at night

Back in the 1990s/2000s the Boeing Top Brass used to say: "Hug a Chinese. That's where our profits are going to come from". I think the move of HQ to Chicago and first trial balloon of a plant in South Carolina, were prelude to shipping all production to China or Mexico. Claimed that "design integration" and "final assembly" would of course be done in the US. :rotfl:
1.5 decades later, I wonder how that bright idea has panned out.
komal

Post by komal »

They went there 1981. Look up Phil Gramm.
Agree 100%. And 1981 is a few years after 1948 which is when according to you, Democrats stopped being racist. :rotfl:
Oh, good. Always guess, it beats reading or thinking. As I explained above, the Mexican goods tariff will be paid by those who import and buy Mexican goods. Just as a tariff on Chinese goods will be paid by those who import and buy Chinese goods.
Example: you buy a Made In Mexico BMW. YOU pay the tariff. I don't. I get a tax refund from Uncle Sam Don with the money that YOU pay. I see absolutely nothing wrong with that. I'll wave to you with the can of (Made in America) Coke that I can buy with that tax refund as you await the AAA to come tow your piece of junk.Mexican Bimmer.
But no, CNN says "AMERICAN CONSUMERS" will pay the tariff. So it must be true. They left out "OF MEXICAN GOODS" because that would strain the reading abilities of their believers.

If they put a tariff on Indian goods, it will be mostly Indians in America who end up paying more for pickles and rice and "Hot Mixture" and coconut oil and Kingfisher beer and Mattar Paneer. Likewise, if they put tariffs on Mexican goods, a lot of that will be paid by Mexicans in the US.
Batorji -- do you reside on Gilligan's Island and listen to Rush Limbaugh 24x7?

Doctors/lawyers/dry cleaners -- whomever buys the BMW are going to raise the rates they charge their customers to cover the cost of the BMW. So it is their customers who will pay the tax.

More likely they lease the BMW through their business and will write the increased monthly payment off on their taxes. These people probably pay no taxes to begin with -- that is why they can afford BMWs. Hell, they will probably raise the rate and still write the increased payments on their taxes.

Besides their customers want to see imported cars in the parking lots of their doctors and lawyers. Who wants to use a doctor or lawyer who can't even afford an imported car?

What are the American alternatives to Chinese made goods? Please tell Walmart and Apple and me.

I guess there are no grocery stores on Gilligan's Island. Where do you think much of the fruit and vegetables and meat that the white buy comes from? Hint: it is not Kansas.

Taxing pickles, mangoes and papadams is the kind of tax strategy Nehru's IAS officers would design. Those sneaky Indians will sell the pickles to a company in Canada which will rebrand and repackage the product for sale in the USA. And the pickle bottles will say "Made As in India".

Like Nehru, the Donald, doesn't seem to understand how humans operate to avoid government interference.