Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Re: Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Russan toilets are the best. Whaat?

I also know a friend of mine. We shared same underwear in college. He made death star weapon but stupid DRDO rejected.
Also I think wqhen I B$, I come up withn gems like this.
"All talk,little else" he said. He manufactures world-beating products sold exclusively in to the US,EU,etc
Note the word etc in client list when product is Ichkluisive my lord
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

Philip wrote:JWith the GTRE's abysmal performance over decades and so much moolah too gone down the drain,
How much money has India spent on GTRE?

The picture of WSI-Dhruv in IA and IAF colors is the biggest takeaway for me from the show. The icing on the cake is news about IAF and IA getting 10 and 5 numbers of LCH each from the pre-production series. I cannot emphasize enough the amount of firepower and kind of capability these birds provide to our forces. And on a large scale.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

k prasad wrote:
UK and France usually will operate within NATO ambits, so they have US AWACS already. In many ways, we should count the US AWACS fleet withinthe UK/France force numbers, for most of their operations. When they have unkil ka lamborghini to play with, Why pay for their own? Also, in terms of area to protect, they have almost no threats like the ones we face (IOR + Western Border + North + East).
Somehow the NATO argument does not seem to work for nuclear weapons - which they both own, ignoring the same NATO fact. They need those extra AWACS for US style NATO surveillance over distant oceans - not across their borders.

k prasad wrote: 3) Another point about high altitude operation - Imagine what that does for your Line of Sight - at 5000 m *above ground*, LoS is 250 km. At 10,000 m, that increases to 357 km. But now, Imagine if your aerostat is above to tether only 2000 m above a 3000 m high base - LoS is now only 160 km. Barely useful for early detection of air targets flying nape-of-the-ground, or within valleys. So depth of coverage is vastly inferior to AWACS.
Tibet is, on average at 12-14000 feet, and the Himalayas tower over Tibet at 18-22,000 feet. An AWACS flying in India would be completely blind to aircraft flying in the shadow of mountains that tower 1.5-2 km higher than the plateau. The populated areas of Tibet (South Tibet) fall in the shadow region even for an AWACS flying at 30,000 feet - it would have to cross the Himalayas to see what is happening in the areas that are hidden behind the mountains.

Nap of earth invading aircraft would be nap of earth at 14000 feet inside Tibet. To come to India they would have to rise to about 25000 feet and be seen against clear sky by ground based radars
Those are good points shiv. Most of these aircraft will be flying at and above cruising altitude in this case. Which will still allow it to see deep and wide. Some shadows maybe there, but by and large, they should be able to get a first look onto the other side.

Service Ceiling (15,500 m) ~50K ft
Cruising altitude 9,000 ~ 12,000m (30-39k ft)

Aero India was not dull when it came to promoting Indian made stuff. People who were looking to make insane profits selling imported maal did not do deals. Regarding a comment made by someone that airlines like Indigo who signed a 200 aircraft deal in Farnborough or Paris should have used Aero India - I agree in general with that comment - but unfortunately the civil aviation sector has a different and even more low key airshow in Hyderabad. Farnborough and Pairs are combined military and civil.

Philip wrote:JayS,the DRDO engaged a co. whose MD is a close pal,to develop blisks.He allegedly obtained some paltry funding,the major fin. input from his own resources.He developed them,but since then has got no orders from the DRDO and becos of its funding cannot do a thing about it,like selling the tech/product abroad! This was a few years ago.He curses the day he ever got involved with the DRDO. I know another highly respected gent who owns a major group,who also is fed up with the DRDO after decades of supplying them/developing for them certain products.
"All talk,little else" he said. He manufactures world-beating products sold exclusively in to the US,EU,etc.Some of these may have even found their way back into the country in some key systems that we import.

My assessment is that for both these entities/products,there is a vested interest in them NOT succeeding! We are simply forced to import engines for all types,as well as engines for another key system,of which we're buying hundreds for all 3 services. This is the difficulty that pvt. idustry has,dealing with the DRDO/Babudom.Lucrative turfs of the DPSUs must not be disturbed. With the GTRE's abysmal performance over decades and so much moolah too gone down the drain,has anyone ever asked why there has been no inquiry into its shoddy performance and re-organisation of its management?
Like the non-performing NLCA,we'll always be churning out "tech-demonstrators"! Useful for science museums,but not for the armed forces.
Phillip Sir, I have been there done that, in some sense. Have dealt personally with govt organisations. I have decent idea about the system. To be able to succeed in Indian Defence sector, one needs infinite patience. Even heavyweights like Tatas who would simply pull some strings elsewhere and get things done are struggling here.

In my opinion, the single biggest factor thats keeping our defense sector from blossoming is Babudom. Be it MoD babus, DRDO/HAL babus or Armed forces babus. And these babus are empowered by the GOI ministers. GOI never really had proper intentions to develop our MIC. babus are just doing what their bosses have taught them to do over last 70yrs. Everyone wants to fill their own pockets, national security be dammed. There are some babus who are not bad per se but they don't want to take responsibility for failure and thus simply keep on with the system as it has been. There are some good babus who care but the system brings them down eventually by simply frustrating them over the time.

But I do not consider money in GTRE down the drain, or NLCA to be a wasteful TD. There is entropy in any organization. Only thing is some nations inundate key organisations with ample funding and make sure that doesn't stall the work. While we here want Mangalyaan in Maruti800 price, that to fully working without a single issue on the very first day of Entry into Service.

Though my first visit to Banagalore City and Airshow via Flight previous two visits to the Show is when I traveled via Railways.

Just a noob question , Who came with the Idea of building Campa Gowda Airport so far from the city at such God Foresaken place that it take atleast 1.5 hour to reach it in non-traffic condition ?
jayasimha

Post by jayasimha »

It was my Idea. Thanks for your sincere interest to know.

^^ :rotfl: :rotfl:

Sadly that place is just too far from Bangalore city but I guess they had no choice

To acquire even half the land in Bangalore, the govt has to spend 1 year KA budget. The Base price of bangalore has been hiked considerably to get more revenue. Land acquisition has become costly now inside bangalore and this is why the phase 3 metro project cost has almost doubled.

Austin wrote:Though my first visit to Banagalore City and Airshow via Flight previous two visits to the Show is when I traveled via Railways.

Just a noob question , Who came with the Idea of building Campa Gowda Airport so far from the city at such God Foresaken place that it take atleast 1.5 hour to reach it in non-traffic condition ?
Don't worry - Bangalore will reach the airport in a few years..
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Austin wrote:Though my first visit to Banagalore City and Airshow via Flight previous two visits to the Show is when I traveled via Railways.

Don't worry - Bangalore will reach the airport in a few years..
Some of us are banking on that!

For Aero India 2023, we will have direct metro connectivity that can accomodate 72*6 passengers on each train. Eventually, all 6-8 lac visitors will reach the show in time for the last flight display.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Vijainder K Thakur‏@vkthakur 6h6 hours ago
LRDE developed Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) for surveillance, reconnaissance & precision targeting on display at #AeroIndia2017

Is this the one they made for N-ALH?

shiv wrote:Aero India was not dull when it came to promoting Indian made stuff. People who were looking to make insane profits selling imported maal did not do deals. Regarding a comment made by someone that airlines like Indigo who signed a 200 aircraft deal in Farnborough or Paris should have used Aero India - I agree in general with that comment - but unfortunately the civil aviation sector has a different and even more low key airshow in Hyderabad. Farnborough and Pairs are combined military and civil.
This year they did have a combined news conf at AI -17. Guess they are heading in that (combined) direction.

Marten wrote:
shiv wrote: Don't worry - Bangalore will reach the airport in a few years..
Some of us are banking on that!

For Aero India 2023, we will have direct metro connectivity that can accomodate 72*6 passengers on each train. Eventually, all 6-8 lac visitors will reach the show in time for the last flight display.
From my observation many visitors are not just people who bought tickets for business days or people associated with Stalls in Business areas and Armed Forces Personal including PSU but a significant crowd are also of those Free Pass ( Relatives/Friends/Unkle/Aunt who gets these passes from PSU/Armed forces personal ) , My observation is they also form a significant part of the visitors.

I think the relatives/uncle types should be limited to last 2 days of the event , Most come to see the AirShow any ways , The first 3 days is best limited to paid/business/PSU Employee/forces people who are participating directly in these events , That way its easy to manage the crowd too and serious people can spend more time talking to right people in exhibition area. JMT

On Bangalore will reach the airport , I can just hope the beautiful city does not get over developed and become concrete jungle like Mumbai and the Climate/Place remains what it is ( old timers tell me the climate was much cooler then what it is now ) the amount of trees and greenery seen around is quite impressive and the space is ample , Mumbai city suddenly feels so claustrophobic and polluted

shiv wrote:Aero India was not dull when it came to promoting Indian made stuff. People who were looking to make insane profits selling imported maal did not do deals. Regarding a comment made by someone that airlines like Indigo who signed a 200 aircraft deal in Farnborough or Paris should have used Aero India - I agree in general with that comment - but unfortunately the civil aviation sector has a different and even more low key airshow in Hyderabad. Farnborough and Pairs are combined military and civil.
Airlines are encouraged to sign off the deals at big airshows like Franborough or Paris as how big/ranking of these shows depends on the commercial value of deals signed at these airshow.

Nick_S wrote:Vijainder K Thakur‏@vkthakur 6h6 hours ago
LRDE developed Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) for surveillance, reconnaissance & precision targeting on display at #AeroIndia2017

Is this the one they made for N-ALH?
This SAR was presented at IRSI-2015 as well. At the time, they had a 1m resolution Stripmap mode tested, and were developing a higher-resolution spotmap mode as well. They got some pretty decent imagery with it. Had a very interesting conversation at that time with the head of that program about their algorithms and future devs (can't remember/divulge details).

I dont exactly remember what platform they tested it on, but I think it was a Dornier.

JS.Spot on Babudom our worst enemy.Let's hope that the next Air Show is a big improvement infrastructurwise and that biz visitors get their special time.

What did India's largest plane-maker, HAL, say at the Aero India 2017?[/b

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/aero ... 83333.html

the government-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) is India's biggest plane-maker, here are the key takeaways from the press interaction held by the HAL on the sidelines of the Aero India 2017.

They are involved at the cutting edge of India's military and to an extent, civil aviation. From frontline fighters to basic trainers to designing doors for civil liners, the government-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) is India's biggest plane-maker.

Key takeaways from the press interaction held by the HAL on the sidelines of the Aero India 2017.

BUILDING SUKHOI 30 MKI IN INDIA:
We've produced 183 against order of 222 planes. By 2020 we will complete it. Our current capacity is to build 12 aircraft per year

LCA TEJAS: Three aircraft given to IAF and the squadron has been operationalised. Plan is to complete 40 Mk 1 LCA by 2019-20.

LCA TEJAS MARK 1A:
IAF has approved 83 aircraft in this configuration with enhanced outsourcing for private sector. From eight aircraft a year, we will build 16 by investing in a second line which is being built at a cost of Rs 1000 cr (50 per cent from HAL, 25 per cent from IAF & 25 per cent from Indian Navy). LCA Mark 1A development with maintenance ease, refueling, AESA and SPJ will make it Mark 1A and we have released request for quotations for AESA. Trials to be done by 2018 and LCA MARK 1A from 2018 and will build 83 in numbers at least for now. LCA MARK 1A is GE 404 and we are looking at KAVERI and exploring possibility of reviving it. GTRE is putting the efforts. By March 2017 we will know the progress.

ADVANCED LIGHT HELICOPTER:
Of the 159 wanted, 136 delivered and all will be done by 2017-18. Additional order for 73 concluded. The contract will be signed within a few days for our armed services

LIGHT COMBAT HELICOPTER:
LCH has done 850 flights and basic configuration has been frozen. Limited Series Production cleared (10 to IAF and 5 to Army). It is the only combat chopper which can operate at 20,000 ft.

HELICOPTER PRODUCTION:
We have produced 360 Cheetah and 28 Chetal till date.

JAGUAR UPGRADE:
DARIN III upgrade designed by us and all requirement of Initial Operational Clearance completed and we will be upgrading 61 JAGUAR to DARIN III standard

MIRAGE UPGRADE - IOC upgrade at France and Final Operational Clearance (FOC) done by us and 51 MIRAGE aircraft to be done by HAL.

HAWK I - Is the 100th produced aircraft by us, HAL. Owned and upgraded by HAL.

SUKHOI 30 MKI UPGRADE:
HAL the lead agency for Sukhoi 30 MKI upgrade. Will have back to back contracts with Sukhoi Design Bureau. Two phase upgrade. First phase to start within 90 days.

HTT40:
Our basic trainer had its first flight in June 2016. An order of 106 planes from the IAF is expected. We are entering the stall and spin trial and once done, we will take a managerial decision to produce. It has been funded by us.

INTERMEDIATE JET TRAINER:
It will come out of the grey and much-delayed stall and spin will be accomplished too. This year you will see it.

FIFTH GENERATION FIGHTER AIRCRAFT PROGRAMME WITH RUSSIA:
The committee has submitted its commercial and contractual report to the contract government committee. We hope our government will move on a positive note in the next few months. FGFA our discussion is complete. From our side, confident that this opportunity will not be missed in participating in FGFA.

INDIA's LIGHT UTILITY HELICOPTER:
Successfully carried out its maiden flight in September 2016 and intend to complete certification by 2018 and start delivering by 2019-20

INDIAN MULTI ROLE HELICOPTER:
A full scale mock up of Indian Multi Role Helicopter at our stall and we want it to have a service ceiling of 20,000 ft with carrying capacity of 24 people. Can do all roles including VIP duties.

UAV DEVELOPMENT:
Mini UAV of 80 kg ready for production. It can do day and night surveillance. Development of 10kg rotary UAV taken up. December 16, 2015 the first flight was done. Upto 500kg class rotary UAVs we want to build.

INDO RUSSIA MTA IS DEAD:
Multi-role Transport Aircraft is not progressing well. It is currently on a stop mode. No work is going on over the MTA. It was a JV formed with Russia and both governments have put in their money. It will be a collective decision.

SERVICEABILITY:
Every HAL supplied platform has 65 per cent serviceability and Sukhoi 30 MKI maximum serviceability of 68 per cent. We have given a proposal to MoD to become Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) for Sukhoi in India.

COMMONALITIES OF PARTS FOR HELICOPTERS:
Commonality of parts achieved in helicopters is a lot. Except the Light Combat Helicopter, all helicopters have a lot of commonalities.

R & D AT HAL:
6.5 per cent of our budget committed to R&D. Over Rs 1000 cr is the R&D budget. We are the largest among defence PSUs investing in R&D.KAMOV 226T - The shareholding brief has been signed before President Putin and PM Modi during BRICS. We are now awaiting the Russian Presidential clearance and then MoD will lay down the process of making Kamov 226T.

WRITER IS A SENIOR SPECIAL CORRESPONDENT WITH INDIA TODAY TV & TWEETS @JRPUR
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

^^ "ADVANCED LIGHT HELICOPTER: Of the 159 wanted, 136 delivered and all will be done by 2017-18. Additional order for 73 concluded. The contract will be signed within a few days for our armed services"

Are these numbers for ALH correct ? Only 136 delivered ?
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Thanks k prasad.

Nick_S wrote:Thanks k prasad.
Thanks for what, Nick saar? :-)
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

My Latest Photo:

Su-30MKI left bank after departure: http://www.airliners.net/photo/India-Ai ... KI/4241505

Did you guys know that air superiority fighters of the IAF were on continuous CAP over Aero India?

Austin wrote: INDIAN MULTI ROLE HELICOPTER: [/b]A full scale mock up of Indian Multi Role Helicopter at our stall and we want it to have a service ceiling of 20,000 ft with carrying capacity of 24 people. Can do all roles including VIP duties.

INDO RUSSIA MTA IS DEAD:[/b] Multi-role Transport Aircraft is not progressing well. It is currently on a stop mode. No work is going on over the MTA. It was a JV formed with Russia and both governments have put in their money. It will be a collective decision.
Austingaru thanks for that report.

The happiest news of 2017 is that the "M" in IMRH stands for multi. I was worried that it stands for eeeek :eek: - I can't even say it. I was worried that M stands for "medium"

I think the Russians already have an MTA like aircraft that they will want us to use and pay for.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

My Latest Photo:

Su30MKI taxiing out for the morning demo http://www.airliners.net/photo/India-Ai ... KI/4242717

Austingaru thanks for that report.

The happiest news of 2017 is that the "M" in IMRH stands for multi. I was worried that it stands for eeeek :eek: - I can't even say it. I was worried that M stands for "medium"
Medium must be one of the most distasted word on BRF...

After "light" onlee :lol:

Completely OT. I think these terms "light", "medium" etc., are mainly meant for folks who are familiar with their context. There is huge scope of misinterpretation by many of the aam janta. This was around 2004...one of the lecturers in my undergrad class started abusing LCA (Tejas name was christened by then but not its usage was not popular) in the class. He started comparing LCA to F-16 and he was extolling the F-16 characteristics while downplaying India/DRDO/IAF/LCA etc. I was listening to him while grating my teeth and one statement he made pushed me to the Edge. "LCA is so light that if I blow air on it from my mouth, it will either trip over or get swooshed away". Thanks to BRF, I had learnt the context of light and I corrected him on what light means and also argued how the F-16 evolved and we should allow LCA to mature in similar ways. The argument went on for a few more minutes and in the end he got pissed and sent me out of the class. But in reality, he was impressed with my knowledge enough (or audacity or both) to provide me with a recommendation letter for my higher studies :D

Rakesh wrote:This is HUGE! I have not seen this picture before, so forgive my excitement!!! :)
Enjoy Jingos...if you already have not seen it!
Do not forget to click on the magnifying glass on the top right hand corner of the photo.

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipN ... ZUdWlwOEZ3

Ok, what am I missing here in this photo, rakesh ji?? Apart from showing the deployment of astra on a line aircraft..

shiv wrote:Did you guys know that air superiority fighters of the IAF were on continuous CAP over Aero India?
Any link to this news?

JTull wrote:
shiv wrote:Did you guys know that air superiority fighters of the IAF were on continuous CAP over Aero India?
Any link to this news?
That was little birdiestan news

https://www.facebook.com/AeroIndia2017/ ... 095359578/
A video on AI2017 from Photo yogi!!

The album for AI-2017 pictures is up here.

Members can post the pictures there. After login, a directory will be created within aeroindia2017 folder. Upload your pictures there.