2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Re: 2020 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

Ambar wrote:Image

I will never understand this guy's angles and his agenda. I don't know what gripe he has now with the Tatas winning a transparent bid to build the new parliament building or being a bidder for 'Air India' which was built by scratch by the Tatas before Indira Gandhi expropriated its assets.

This guy is rotten !., is he saying an adopted child does not belong to a family ?! . I don't care what he professes to be, but he is really something, no wonder the BJP holds him away at arms length somewhere in a no no land.
triank

Post by triank »

Rsatchi wrote:To all Athirathi's and Maharathi's a foot-soldier's question:
PDM in Paxtan vs Shaheen bhag/Farmer strike
Do you think there is more than that meets the eye.
Is there an 'nebulous co-ordination' committee in a third country funding and co-ordinating these dharna's
Is it chini funded or western/soros funded??
The advantages/disadvantages to these groups(who are funding) from status-quo-ante!!!
from what little i know through an NRI sikh-friend, money has been poured in by the sikh diaspora (ofcourse that'd also include many KhaliKhopdistani orgs outside), as well as by desi sikh orgs, making it 'organic' by & large. my friend also contributed money for it as a 'fraternity feeling thing', as he has many ppl back here in his village (even though he carries a pretty balanced view of the whole matter, is not a KK, and wants india to do away totally with the MSP-mandi burdensome socialist policies gradually, was miffed with statements like those from that maddawg yograj & others, plus the toxicity on SM).

the recent decision to probe any foreign-funding & ill-intention is largely to investigate the workings & designs of KK & jihadi orgs outside (esp in connection to the gheraoings of indian embassies), and additionally if they have any roles to play in the agitation in india.
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

triank wrote:today is goa liberation day.

in the same vein, here're some articles which i found while searching for an old rediff blog of an indian in portugal who was informed about the portuguese inquisitions in goa by a local portuguese friend of his...though couldnt find that blog now, but in the course found these couple of articles the snippets of which can be worth sharing with your whatsapp contacts esp friends-family & even more esp the fence-sitters among them:

https://m.rediff.com/news/2005/sep/14inter1.htm
('Goa Inquisition was most merciless and cruel' - by novelist richard zimmler)

https://m.rediff.com/news/slide-show/sl ... 130813.htm
('vasco da gama needs to be tried for crimes against humanity', by historian jbp more)

ofcourse several more articles/videos also can be found from people like shefali vaidya, francois gautier (also the museum of whom i had the good fortune of visiting atleast twice), etc.

I well remember the Liberation of Goa. I was a Goan born and living in Kenya at the time. My mother was about to travel to Goa to visit relatives but had to acquire Indian citizenship for her to proceed.Our family were very pro India and my uncle had been jailed for 6 years by the Portuguese for anti-Portuguese agitation in the villages of Bardez takula though he was out of jail when liberation came.

Your two articles are basically rubbish. A Jewish author, who has a novel to promote, claims that "some historians" (unnamed) think the Inquisition in Goa was the most cruel ever and we are supposed to accept it as gospel. That is a pretty weak claim.

The Inquisition was set up to weed out Crypto-converts ie those who professed one religion in public but practiced another in private. In Spain and Portugal, it was applied to Muslims and Jews who pretended to convert to Catholicism but retained their original religion. In Goa, it was applied to Catholics who were Hindus in private. Their methods were savage but those were the times they lived in (remember that the Mughals were building pyramids with the skulls of Hindus in Delhi around then).

Your second reference is even weaker, a historian who seems determined to denigrate Vasco da Gama. Saying that he just built on the accomplishments of others belittles ignores the fact that he rounded the Cape of Good Hope and sailed up the east coast of Africa to Mombasa and Malindi where he built a commemorative pillar (which I have seen) and then sailed on to Muscat and India (with an Indian pilot whom he did acknowledge).

The second charge, that Da Gama killed Innocent pilgrims, I have not heard before. It may be other Portuguese such as Alfonso de Almeida or Dom Francisco de Almeida who were soldiers that established outposts in Muscat and Goa. In the process the Ottoman Turks sent out their fleet to fight them and there was a war between the Portuguese and the Turks into which the muslim rulers of India were drawn. The Portuguese captured a dhow that carried one of the wives of the Mughal Emperor (on the Haj) and held them to ransom. Many of them died. I think that this is what the writer is referring to. It was war and these were Muslims who they were fighting.
Lastly, note that this second author is a biographer of MA Jinnah.

Apple, Wistron admit to lapses in payments to workers in Karnataka facility
BENGALURU: Apple and its Taiwanese contract manufacturer Wistron on Saturday issued separate statements acknowledging that there were lapses in payments to workers in its Narasapura facility near Bengaluru in October and November. The facility, which employs 12,000 people, saw large-scale violence and destruction of company assets last Saturday.

Apple said it was very disappointed with what happened and its preliminary findings indicate violations of its Supplier Code of Conduct by failing to implement proper working hour management processes. “We have placed Wistron on probation and they will not receive any new business from Apple before they complete corrective actions,” it said.

Sources told TOI that Wistron has sacked Vincent Lee, vice-president of the innovation business group in Wistron Infocomm Manufacturing India. Lee, who is based in Taiwan, had called upon Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa earlier this month when he visited Bengaluru.

Aldonkar wrote:Your two articles are basically rubbish. A Jewish author, who has a novel to promote, claims that "some historians" (unnamed) think the Inquisition in Goa was the most cruel ever and we are supposed to accept it as gospel. That is a pretty weak claim.
This is nothing less than holocaust denial. Even Goan church doesn't make this kind of claim to whitewash the Inquisition. You have no idea what you are talking about. This is on the same level as "Jews were behind 9/11"

Aldonkar wrote:

in the same vein, here're some articles which i found while searching for an old rediff blog of an indian in portugal who was informed about the portuguese inquisitions in goa by a local portuguese friend of his...though couldnt find that blog now, but in the course found these couple of articles the snippets of which can be worth sharing with your whatsapp contacts esp friends-family & even more esp the fence-sitters among them:

https://m.rediff.com/news/2005/sep/14inter1.htm
('Goa Inquisition was most merciless and cruel' - by novelist richard zimmler)

https://m.rediff.com/news/slide-show/sl ... 130813.htm
('vasco da gama needs to be tried for crimes against humanity', by historian jbp more)

ofcourse several more articles/videos also can be found from people like shefali vaidya, francois gautier (also the museum of whom i had the good fortune of visiting atleast twice), etc.

I well remember the Liberation of Goa. I was a Goan born and living in Kenya at the time. My mother was about to travel to Goa to visit relatives but had to acquire Indian citizenship for her to proceed.Our family were very pro India and my uncle had been jailed for 6 years by the Portuguese for anti-Portuguese agitation in the villages of Bardez takula though he was out of jail when liberation came.

Your two articles are basically rubbish. A Jewish author, who has a novel to promote, claims that "some historians" (unnamed) think the Inquisition in Goa was the most cruel ever and we are supposed to accept it as gospel. That is a pretty weak claim.

The Inquisition was set up to weed out Crypto-converts ie those who professed one religion in public but practiced another in private. In Spain and Portugal, it was applied to Muslims and Jews who pretended to convert to Catholicism but retained their original religion. In Goa, it was applied to Catholics who were Hindus in private. Their methods were savage but those were the times they lived in (remember that the Mughals were building pyramids with the skulls of Hindus in Delhi around then).

Your second reference is even weaker, a historian who seems determined to denigrate Vasco da Gama. Saying that he just built on the accomplishments of others belittles ignores the fact that he rounded the Cape of Good Hope and sailed up the east coast of Africa to Mombasa and Malindi where he built a commemorative pillar (which I have seen) and then sailed on to Muscat and India (with an Indian pilot whom he did acknowledge).

The second charge, that Da Gama killed Innocent pilgrims, I have not heard before. It may be other Portuguese such as Alfonso de Almeida or Dom Francisco de Almeida who were soldiers that established outposts in Muscat and Goa. In the process the Ottoman Turks sent out their fleet to fight them and there was a war between the Portuguese and the Turks into which the muslim rulers of India were drawn. The Portuguese captured a dhow that carried one of the wives of the Mughal Emperor (on the Haj) and held them to ransom. Many of them died. I think that this is what the writer is referring to. It was war and these were Muslims who they were fighting.

the moguls did it, the portuguese did it and both were justified, given the times they were living in, so the Hindu's should simply shut up and accept what was done to them in the name of the desert religions.

Is that what you are really saying.

No one gives a rat's who the guys were who did the actual goan inquisition.

It's enough to know that they were all fanatic portuguese catholics and their church as well as the pope who are yet to apologise for the genocide of the goan Hindus.

A pox on their houses, and that of their descendants and their descendants ad infinitum.

go to the mangalore coast and also to kerala to see how many left goa, forced to abandon lands and property because they did not want to convert. Maybe the ones forcibly converted were not allowed to leave or couldn't leave for so many reasons. The hundreds of temples that these uncultured aholes destroyed because they thought that the Hindus were the children of lesser gods.

so what about the millions of ricebag crypto converts in India right now, doing exactly the reverse of what the goan Hindu's once did after being converted to catholicism by force, should we ask for the descendants of the portuguese inquisitors to come back and string them up.

goa is the only place in the world where you will find a brahmin christian. :mrgreen:

these present day cryptos are gobbling up the tax payers money, no

there is a lady called Shefali Vaidya who has done a lot of work on the goan inquisition by portuguese missionaries

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnV36P6 ... &index=959

The Barbaric Goan Inquisition by Portuguese Missionaries | Shefali Vaidya ji's Unmissable Talk

and read: The Goa Inquisition: The Terrible Tribunal for the East by Anant Kakba Priolkar, if you don't like gora writers

Last edited by chetak on 19 Dec 2020 23:06, edited 1 time in total.
AdityaVM

Post by AdityaVM »

Aldonkar wrote:

And that atrocity somehow justifies this atrocity?

Your post assumes that Indians(Hindus, basically) are okay with what the Mughals did so they should just shut up about the Portuguese Barbarism.
No.
No Hindu is actually Okay with what the Mughals did. The reason you think so is because you see very little reactions to it or even discussions about it. This is deliberate because that dark chapter of our history has been consciously and with full knowledge and co operation of the Lutyens' historian brigade has been wiped out of our memory by not teaching it.

Its like we all share collective civilizational amnesia.

Lets just do a thought experiment. Imagine for one moment that every Indian is mandated to learn about the true scale of horrors that our ancestors endured by way of compulsory history courses and prime time documentaries. I guarantee you, that the entire RoP ecosystem and the JNU brigade will collectively shit themselves because they know that their entire edifice will burn away into nothingness in the white hot rage that will follow when Hindus learn just what horrors their ancestors endured in the hands of desert death cults.

And that gentlemen, is the reason why this will remain a thought experiment.

The gentleman before me is right. This is on the same level as saying " There was no holocaust"

Ack Thoo.

chetak wrote: and read: The Goa Inquisition: The Terrible Tribunal for the East by Anant Kakba Priolkar, if you don't like gora writers
This book can be downloaded from here as a PDF file:
https://ia803109.us.archive.org/20/item ... iolkar.pdf
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

sanjayc wrote:
Both of you seem to have misunderstood my meaning. What I am saying that the first quote was from someone that had a book to promote and so he chose a painful example to ensure publicity. The times it happened in were much harsher than today I am sure that Hindus in their wars with whomever did kill lots of people, but I agree that they never had a process like the Inquisition.

I was asking for proof (which the article did not provide) of such historical claims and you have pointed me at and I will read them.

On the second link which the OP posted, the ship captured was owned by a wife of Akbar (and mother of Jehangir) who though a Hindu Rajput, owned ships that transported Haj pilgrims. The Portuguese captured one of these and killed large numbers but they wer Muslims and I was pointing at the bias of the "historian" concerned.

By the way the Manglorean Catholics are Goans who fled there to escape the Inquisition - the irony is that the Portuguese were persecuting Catholics! A reason why I don't practice religion. The Manglorean Catholics went on to suffer terrible fates in the hands of Tipu Sultan.
Last edited by Aldonkar on 20 Dec 2020 00:44, edited 1 time in total.
Theeran

Post by Theeran »

Theeran wrote:Fake id. That is not Sumanth Raman's account.
no one said that it was.

that other guy is sumanth c raman, a bootlicking congi stooge
So we are to believe unsubstantiated news from fake sources.

Theeran wrote:
no one said that it was.

that other guy is sumanth c raman, a bootlicking congi stooge
keep track of what's happening and what goswami is planning to do

its no secret

Aldonkar wrote:
sanjayc wrote:
Both of you seem to have misunderstood my meaning. What I am saying that the first quote was from someone that had a book to promote and so he chose a painful example to ensure publicity. The times it happened in were much harsher than today I am sure that Hindus in their wars with whomever did kill lots of people, but I agree that they never had a process like the Inquisition.

I was asking for proof (which the article did not provide) of such historical claims and you have pointed me at and I will read them.

On the second link which the OP posted, the ship captured was owned by a wife of Akbar (and mother of Jehangir) who though a Hindu Rajput, owned ships that transported Haj pilgrims. The Portuguese captured one of these and killed large numbers but they wer Muslims and I was pointing at the bias of the "historian" concerned.

By the way the Manglorean Catholics are Goans who fled there to escape the Inquisition - the irony is that the Portuguese were persecuting Catholics! A reason why I don't practice religion. The Manglorean Catholics went on to suffer terrible fates in the hands of Tipu Sultan.
I was referring to the Hindus who fled the portuguese

By the way the Manglorean Catholics are Goans who fled there to escape the Inquisition - the irony is that the Portuguese were persecuting Catholics!

There is no irony at all in that Guv. The Catholic Inquisition was all about persecuting Catholics, which the better Christians of Luther perfected.

https://www.indiatoday.in/news-analysis ... 2020-12-18
As farmer protests continue, here’s a comparison between India and China farming policies

The ongoing debate on India’s farm policies invites comparison with China whose agricultural output, investment in research and development concerning farming practices and incentives to farmers are better.

Lot of good/interesting charts and facts

IMHO, the elephant in the room is this,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Land_use_ ... by_country

India had the largest parcel of arable land in the WORLD. A discussion on productivity levels is long, long overdue.
Theeran

Post by Theeran »

Theeran wrote:

its no secret
I get that but just be aware of these fake IDs. No use celebrating Republic launch until it is done. Almost all TN journalists have a fake id trolling them.

By the way Sumanth ayya is fighting dmk in a big way these days. Useful until the elections.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/pr ... 708651.cms

Two startups want to change the country’s rustic rural-farm infrastructure and increase the profitability of the farmers, albeit in completely different ways. While Ergos offers storage solutions to small and marginal farmers, Arya Collateral addresses the needs of medium farmers. Will they be able to fix what conventional systems in Indian agriculture have failed to do so far?

Theeran wrote:

its no secret
I get that but just be aware of these fake IDs. No use celebrating Republic launch until it is done. Almost all TN journalists have a fake id trolling them.

By the way Sumanth ayya is fighting dmk in a big way these days. Useful until the elections.
sumanth ayya's wife is part of the local judiciary.

he has interests to protect and channel appearance fees to collect on a daily basis and that doesn't jell with a genuine anti DMK stance.

The bar council is under the firm control of the dravidians and the ejs and they are known to be violent.

We will celebrate the launch of any republic channel when we actually see it but until then we remain hopeful. It doesn't mean one is spreading fake news.

goswami has publicly vowed to take his channels not merely regional+national but also global by a particular deadline.

currently, there is no one in India with his huge reach on the electronic media

His english channel already has a lot of Hindi content with most reporters repeating their spiel in both languages. This is certainly not a coincidence.

My cable guy says that a new set top box is needed to get both english and hindi republic channels. This seems to be a common problem so the english channel sort of caters in part to hindi audiences as well. So now, many other channels have started to do the very same thing, hoping to catch english and hindi audiences.

this guy is constantly innovating and that scares both stakeholders, the other bootlicking media owners, as well as most of the politicos and other lootyens/commie/naxal/BIF scum

Lisa wrote:IMHO, the elephant in the room is this,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Land_use_ ... by_country

India had the largest parcel of arable land in the WORLD. A discussion on productivity levels is long, long overdue.
Lisa ji,

why else do you think that the BIF and specifically the two abrahamic desert cults are so eager, in the major part, to convert and dominate the Indian farm resource space, especially in the agriculture sectors.

every country is more than eager to dump their farm sector produce in India and kill off the local industry that grows and feeds the Indian populace.

cheap, technically adaptable manpower, data and food including fresh water resources will dominate the international mindspace in the decades to come.

Oil has done all the good/bad it could possibly do and countries overly dependant on them are in the forefront of scrambling for the new oil

Apologies if posted earlier

https://telecom.economictimes.indiatime ... n/79810586

So Wistron admits irregularities in payments and sacks its India VP Vincent Lee. Must have been pretty big lapses if a VP is being sacked. I wonder what is the ethnicity of this Vincent Lee. If he is not Indian, I think he is just adapting his past practices from china and south east asia.

Meanwhile in china
Things China Doesn't Want You To Know
@TruthAbtChina
Thousands of workers are protesting unpaid wages at a Pegatron factory in Shanghai. Pegatron is the second largest Apple iPhone manufacturer after Foxconn.

Some workers have been injured or arrested.

December 19, 2020
There is a video in the tweet.
https://twitter.com/TruthAbtChina/statu ... 26337?s=20

It looks more and more probable that some one at Wistrom tried to apply chinese/se-asian tactics in India but had no idea how things work in India. Though I don't condone the violence, especially given that communists and outsiders were involved, hopefully this will be a good lesson for the govt, bureaucracy and more importantly foreign companies trying to set up manufacturing in India.

chanakyaa wrote:Apple, Wistron admit to lapses in payments to workers in Karnataka facility
BENGALURU: Apple and its Taiwanese contract manufacturer Wistron on Saturday issued separate statements acknowledging that there were lapses in payments to workers in its Narasapura facility near Bengaluru in October and November. The facility, which employs 12,000 people, saw large-scale violence and destruction of company assets last Saturday.

Apple said it was very disappointed with what happened and its preliminary findings indicate violations of its Supplier Code of Conduct by failing to implement proper working hour management processes. “We have placed Wistron on probation and they will not receive any new business from Apple before they complete corrective actions,” it said.

Sources told TOI that Wistron has sacked Vincent Lee, vice-president of the innovation business group in Wistron Infocomm Manufacturing India. Lee, who is based in Taiwan, had called upon Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa earlier this month when he visited Bengaluru.
As I said earlier, violent worker unrests don't happen in vacuum. In this day and age, companies still have the gall to shortchange the workers. Sad part is, this is the norm rather than exception.

vijayk wrote:https://www.indiatoday.in/news-analysis ... 2020-12-18
As farmer protests continue, here’s a comparison between India and China farming policies

The ongoing debate on India’s farm policies invites comparison with China whose agricultural output, investment in research and development concerning farming practices and incentives to farmers are better.

Lot of good/interesting charts and facts
I am not an agriculture expert. But from the little I know, multiple cropping of rice is in a given unit of land increases yield per hectare. For instance large chunks of land is used to cultivate rice three times a year. I suspect that is responsible for high yield per hectare for a given calendar year. utilisation. For instance a large chunk of land is used to grow three rice crops in a year. So naturally output per unit of land in a given year would be higher. In contrast in India crop diversity is a feature. In Punjab the land is used for rice which is then used to grow wheat
and in a few cases the land is also used for a third crop to complete the year. I have heard that Monsanto was putting pressure on the Punjab Government to delay cropping of rice after wheat harvest so farmers can be persuaded to grow GM corn. So yield per hectare is not apple to apple comparison.

I don’t understand all the support for workers violence on this forum. If you are underpaid then the usual escalation ladder is HR, Labor courts and media. In this case a commie leader led them straight from stage 1 to Bolshevik revolution causing massive damage to the facility. Not only that there was a massive theft of iPhone which is shameful.What did they achieve in the end? If this is how we have to settle matters then why even bother with any due process and law? Let’s all sit on a dharna blocking roads and rail traffic, destroy public property and take out our anger on bystanders.

Wisitron shortchanged the workers but they had no right to violence and damage the factory.

vimal wrote:I don’t understand all the support for workers violence on this forum. If you are underpaid then the usual escalation ladder is HR, Labor courts and media.
Doesn't work. Labour commissioner system is broken and corrupt as hell. Courts take year to settle the case. Media / PR is available at a pittance. You go against the corporate and you find yourself out of job. That is the sad reality. Just look at this case, it has taken close to 10 days just for the fact to come out that the workers were not being given their due share after a massive ruckus.

In the contracts that I manage, I have to arm twist the contracting agencies to release the minimum wages, ESI, EPF dues. Despite all the laws, without a Danda from principal employer, the agencies flout rules with impunity. The more unscrupulous agencies open new accounts for workers, confiscate the ATM cards, show full minimum wage transactions in account and withdraw a portion of salary credited to workers as cash thus evading punitive action from principal employer.

With the speed with which Apple has distanced itself from Winstrom indicates Apple has credible info that Winstrom management was well aware of the shenanigans and Apple wants to sidestep the legal sitaron that will follow.

Further, violence does not happen in vacuum. It usually takes weeks or months of failed peaceful efforts before even demonstrations happen. Because workers know they are easily replaceable. In a country where firms employ engineers to do the work of machinist, machinist to the work of fitter, fitter to do the job of unskilled helper, workers know they will be replaced immediately at the first sign of trouble making.

Just my 2 paise.

Contracting Agencies flout rules as they wish and in many cases, the agencies have a back-end deal with client about getting selected/renewed (usually is the case if the client is a Govt. org) and thus the workers are at the mercy of the employers whim. The employer rarely gets any rap from the client/law unless the incident/violations are so massive & attract a lot of media attention. And in India, its always an employers/hirer's market and with so much abundant labour supply, people are aware that they are easily replaceable and it is very difficult to go against the organization/system. And many of these contracting agencies are run in small offices with minimal staff & usually with few (some times just one) HR personal (if any). First response by the above kind of employers to any disgruntle is to quit, which makes any kind of further conversation really challenging.

Still, violence is not the way to go...

ramana wrote:Wisitron shortchanged the workers but they had no right to violence and damage the factory.
wisitron misunderstood/misjudged/wilfully decided to capitalize on the so called "anxiety" of India to open up the manufacturing sector and invite FDI into the country.

very contrasting and different takes on how the same dynamics works in dissimilar ways in India and in china.

now they know. :mrgreen:

but we still have to take the head of the many snakes in the militant unions. That game is over in India.
triank

Post by triank »

Aldonkar wrote: ...
perhaps. however da gama seems to have had a hand in the persecution of the 'naasraanis' (syrian xtians) too, who in turn had betrayed the Hindu rulers who had given them refuge.

-------------------

your sunday cringe-binge dose:

bhaade-ka-abdool butting in with his "5 karod ki chai ambani ke saath"! :rotfl: :((

makes one feel that for such room temperature (@the cold-wave in the north) IQ cuteiyas, having democracy & voting rights was/is a mistake. the latter should've been privileges instead to filter out such dumbocrazies, granted only after a compulsory IQ-test & furnishing details of a basic proper qualification (after ofcourse furnishing the famed dreaded *kaagaz* :mrgreen: !)
triank

Post by triank »

Ex-ISRO Scientist Makes Soil From Stubble, Grows 70 Food Crops
https://www.thebetterindia.com/245175/i ... il-ros174/

"There were also very few articles or videos that explained the soil variety that can be used in India’s climatic conditions. I did my research, and started preparing Amrut mitti, which is a mix of compost, dried leaves, cow dung and urine, to grow these plants. To date, I do not purchase any soil, and only prepare my own. The raw material is sourced from my society, home kitchen and farmers in a village,” she says.
triank

Post by triank »

# amit shah suvendu adhikari tmc bjp telegraph headline dec 2020 commedia

ANI@ANI · Dec 19

WB: Eleven MLAs, an MP & a former MP join BJP in presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah. The MLAs are Suvendu Adhikari, Tapasi Mondal, Ashoke Dinda, Sudip Mukherjee, Saikat Panja, Shilbhadra Dutta,Dipali Biswas, Sukra Munda, Shyamapda Mukherjee, Biswajit Kundu & Banasri Maity

twitter.com/ANI/status/134…

LoL, political cartoons are sometimes genius !

Kancha "The Intellectual" Shepherd teaching history. :mrgreen:

this guy hasn't taken his meds in the longest time and has also gotten his hands on some really choice afghani botanicals.

WATCH Video

via@reddy2002_varun

Cyrano wrote:LoL, political cartoons are sometimes genius !
absolutely crystal clear, telling and timely.

leaves no doubts in anyone's mind as to the antagonists involved

Himanta Biswa Sarma@himantabiswa·Dec 19

What a momentous day! People of Assam reasserts faith in PM Sri
@narendramodi as @BJP4India registers a massive victory in Tiwa Autonomous Council, winning 34 out of 36 seats. Heartfelt gratitude to people and our committed @BJP4Assam karyakartas.

Congratulations

View from Taipei, Taiwan

EDITORIAL: Wistron riot should serve as warning
Government officials on Tuesday said that they would assist Wistron in its negotiations with New Delhi after the Taiwanese company’s plant in southern India’s Narasapura industrial area was damaged when workers rioted.

Minister of Economic Affairs Wang Mei-hua (王美花) said the nation’s representative office in India was seeking information from New Delhi and promised government support to Wistron if needed.

Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) Legislator Wen Yu-hsia (溫玉霞) urged the government “to take a hardline stance helping Wistron negotiate with the Indian government,” CNA reported on Wednesday.

It is good that the government expresses support for Taiwanese businesspeople operating abroad, but it should maintain a neutral stance on the issue until an investigation has been completed.

The workers claim that they were not paid the wages originally negotiated, and while this is not an excuse for violent or destructive behavior against the company or its property, if found to be true, it could impact the company’s operations, or those of other Taiwanese companies.

Hon Hai Precision Industry — a key supplier of components to Apple — came under fire when numerous employees at its complex in Shenzhen, China, committed suicide in 2010 and 2011, allegedly due to poor working conditions.

Wistron is also a supplier to Apple, and US companies such as Apple, Nike and Dell have increasingly come under pressure to investigate labor conditions at their suppliers.

Reuters reported that Wistron is being investigated by Apple over working conditions at its plants.

Apple is an important client for many Taiwanese companies, while South Asia and Southeast Asia are becoming increasingly important areas of operation for the companies, which are seeking to reduce their reliance on China, particularly due to the US-China trade dispute and the COVID-19 pandemic.

The government is also attempting to improve relations with nations in those regions through initiatives under its New Southbound Policy.

That is why it is important for the government to remain neutral until it can determine the details of the dispute between Wistron and its employees at the Narasapura plant, which had been going on for three months before the riot occurred.

Disputes about the working conditions of migrant workers employed in Taiwan have been ongoing for years, so it is not impossible that Taiwanese employers overseas are engaged in similar practices.

The government should audit overseas employers through its representative offices when such disputes arise, as it is in the interests of the nation to help resolve disputes in a manner that shows that Taiwan is a champion of workers’ rights.

Taiwanese companies want to maximize profits to justify the costs and challenges of moving operations from China to elsewhere, but the long-term damage to a company’s reputation would exceed any short-term gain if they violate workers’ rights or the labor laws of the nation in which they are operating.

US Senator Marco Rubio and US Representative James McGovern in March proposed a bill that would bar imports to the US of goods made using forced labor in China’s Xinjiang region after a public outcry about the treatment of Uighurs.

Taiwan has worked hard to present itself as democracy that protects human rights, in stark contrast to China. If Taiwanese companies gain a negative reputation with regard to workers’ rights, Taiwan also risks being the target of legislation.

The government should ensure that Taiwanese companies operating abroad hold themselves to the high standards expected of a democracy. Destruction of property should not be tolerated, but neither should unfair working conditions.

triank wrote:Ex-ISRO Scientist Makes Soil From Stubble, Grows 70 Food Crops

"There were also very few articles or videos that explained the soil variety that can be used in India’s climatic conditions. I did my research, and started preparing Amrut mitti, which is a mix of compost, dried leaves, cow dung and urine, to grow these plants. To date, I do not purchase any soil, and only prepare my own. The raw material is sourced from my society, home kitchen and farmers in a village,” she says.
These kinds of small scale fixes and jugad are bandaids only. they won't work in the long term and they don't scale.

by the way give me 35 tons of stubble and 5 tons of chicken litter per day and I will give you 5 tons of methane - purified to the same or higher levels than GAIL one from NG as well as execellent nitrogen rich organic manure. all in a modern closed loop controlled plant.

cost is ~20 cr. INR which can be recovered in three years afte 25% GoI gives back after six months of plant operation. finance can be arranged if one is willing to put in 20% and guarantee the input.

40 tons biomass per day has to be guaranteed.
triank

Post by triank »

Vayutuvan wrote:
triank wrote:Ex-ISRO Scientist Makes Soil From Stubble, Grows 70 Food Crops

These kinds of small scale fixes and jugad are bandaids only. they won't work in the long term and they don't scale.

by the way give me 35 tons of stubble and 5 tons of chicken litter per day and I will give you 5 tons of methane - purified to the same or higher levels than GAIL one from NG as well as execellent nitrogen rich organic manure. all in a modern closed loop controlled plant.

cost is ~20 cr. INR which can be recovered in three years afte 25% GoI gives back after six months of plant operation. finance can be arranged if one is willing to put in 20% and guarantee the input.

40 tons biomass per day has to be guaranteed.
she though already is scaling it up the urban gardening & farming space (a puneri woman has a similar e-venture for compost, purchasing dry leaves from housing societies). and with one production plant producing atleast 12 tonnes of organic soil, i imagine the extent could be increased with more such units on a larger commercial scale. but the scope seems ltd to the same, urban farming/gardening itself.

the other idea also sounds good.

-------------------------------------

(the protests-organising unions now finding it increasingly difficult to retain people at the venue and bring in more. protestors are getting bored & leaving with their tractors & trailers-lorries.)