Indian Roads Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Vasu

Re: Indian Roads Thread

Post by Vasu »

The inauguration of the Eastern Peripheral Expressway in the NCR region was a significant milestone.

Narendra Modi opens Eastern Peripheral Expressway
Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday inaugurated the 135 km-long Eastern Peripheral Expressway (EPE), which will channel away traffic not destined for Delhi and reduce vehicular pollution in the national capital.

The expressway will be thrown open to the public from Sunday midnight. It is estimated that it will divert 50,000 vehicles.

The six-lane expressway cost ₹ 11,000 crore, and will connect Kundli with Palwal in Haryana via Ghaziabad and Greater Noida in Uttar Pradesh.

The EPE is part of a project that also includes a Western Peripheral Expressway (WPE), and the two together form a circle around Delhi. The construction of the WPE is expected to conclude next month.

The EPE has been completed in 500 days, ahead of a target of 910 days. Access to the expressway is controlled by toll gates at all entries and exits.

The EPE has a closed tolling system, where toll will be collected only for the distance travelled. There are also weigh-in-motion machines installed at all 30 entry points to stop the entry of overloaded vehicles. Amenities for users include petrol pumps, motels, wash rooms, restaurants, shops and repair services.
* First 100% access controlled expressway
* weigh-in motion machines at all entry points to prevent overloaded vehicles from entering
* Closed tolling - pay only for the distance you travel
*India’s first highway to be lit by solar power besides provisions of rain water harvesting on every 500 metres on both sides
* There are eight solar power plants on this expressway having a capacity of 4000-kilo watt (4 MW)
* road will have auto challans for over-speeding
* equipped with smart and intelligent highway traffic management system (HTMS) and video incident detection system (VIDS)
* 2.5 lakh trees have been planted here including transplant of 8-10 year old trees and drip irrigation provision has been done.
* At least 50,000 vehicles going to Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan will be diverted, daily
* has 406 structures of which 4 are major bridges, 46 minor bridges, 3 flyovers, 7 inter-changes, 221 underpasses and 8 road over bridges (ROBs).

AWESOME 8)

jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

http://www.pib.nic.in/Pressreleaseshare ... ID=1534493

Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
Cabinet approves construction of a new 6 - Lane bridge with its approaches across River Ganga at Phaphamau, Allahabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Background:

It may be noted that there were only 13 bridges on river Ganges between Allahabad to Farakka before May'2014. After 2014, additional 20 bridges were planned, out of which five have been opened to traffic and seven are under construction on the above stretch, thus bringing the total number of bridges to 33. Out of balance 8 bridges, which are planned for construction, work on Farakka, Sahebganj and Mokarnah is likely to start very soon. The present Phaphamau bridge would be therefore 29th Bridge on river Ganges between Allahabad and Farakka.

allahabad to farakka is 750km. 28 bridges.

brahmaputra 900km stretch has a grand total of 5 (!)

even in bankrupt states like UP and Bihar, central funds never seem like a problem for such ventures.

there are many other inadequately bridged rivers in the NE big and small. village areas still had wooden bridges well into the 90s.

we need a massive civil works program not just in border roads but in the unserved interior as well.

Hoping to see a massive cable stayed suspension bridge in India, with main span in top 5 in the world. Brahmaputra with its width could easily be a potential location.

Karthik S wrote:Hoping to see a massive cable stayed suspension bridge in India, with main span in top 5 in the world. Brahmaputra with its width could easily be a potential location.
Doesn't the sea link in Mumbai have a cable suspension bridge?
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Singha wrote:allahabad to farakka is 750km. 28 bridges.

brahmaputra 900km stretch has a grand total of 5 (!)
Lot of things are happening.. If u are just looking at DDM You may not find..
PIB has lot of details.
http://pib.nic.in/newsite/pmreleases.aspx?mincode=57
I have already posted status/progress of railway connectivity to NER capitals in the railway thread..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Development of road network in NER

Ministry of Road Transport and Highways had approved a Special Accelerated Road Development programme for North East (SARDP-NE) in September, 2005 for development and improvement of roads in North Eastern Region.

In addition, Ministry of Road Transport and Highways have recently approved Bharatmala Pariyojana Phase-I, spanning over a period of five years (2017-18 to 2021-22), wherein roads of NER, aggregating to 3528 kms. have been included for improvement.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.

BB/NK/PK/KGS

(Release ID :178447)

JTull wrote:
Karthik S wrote:Hoping to see a massive cable stayed suspension bridge in India, with main span in top 5 in the world. Brahmaputra with its width could easily be a potential location.
Doesn't the sea link in Mumbai have a cable suspension bridge?
Opps, I was supposed to say suspension bridges such as Verrazano Narrows and Akashi Kaikyo.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

may be North east region need more than bridges.
578 M LONG TUNNEL AT THENG NORTH SIKKIM INAUGURATED
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

https://voiceofsikkim.com/2018/06/07/57 ... th-sikkim/
578 meters long vehicular tunnel inaugurated in North Sikkim
BRO in collaboration with the Delhi based construction company started tunnel construction since 2016, the tunnel was completed on 18 April 2018. The said tunnel will ease the traffic movement in the terrain, landlocked North Sikkim where every year road connectivity gets disrupted due to landslides almost for 3 to 4 months, places like Lachung, Lachen, Gurudongmar, Yumthang will be benefited from the said tunnel which is 578 meters long. The locals have shown their pleasure over the accomplishment of long-awaited tunnel demand.

Looks like a cave, need to do the walls.

Just wonder - is tunnelling under a river a better option than building a bridge on it ?

Karthik S wrote:Looks like a cave, need to do the walls.

That is how the Banihal Tunnel (Jawaharlal Nehru tunnel) looked like back in 1970s.

srin wrote:Just wonder - is tunnelling under a river a better option than building a bridge on it ?
Bridge should be cheaper than tunnel, as we've seen with elevated and underground metro.

Kiren Rijiju Verified account @KirenRijiju
May 26

This is beautiful road just before reaching Itanagar. My warm greetings to our dynamic Minister Shri @nitin_gadkari ji on his birthday. Let's support to clear land & other issues to fulfil his efforts of "Better roads for better future"

TN must be the only state that comes up with conspiracy theories even for an expressway. The kind of CTs and discussions going on about Chennai Salem expressway is beyond ridiculous. That state is going down in 10 years as planned by all phoren players.

^^ Thanks for your vote of confidence saar, very inspiring.

^^ What you are going to disagree now? Seems you are active on SSC, you probably would know what's going on with naam tumbler simon, manush etc floating CTs and general public buying into it from my discussions with people around me.

Where did I disagree? Just thanking you for your insight about "that state going down".

Karthik S wrote:TN must be the only state that comes up with conspiracy theories even for an expressway. The kind of CTs and discussions going on about Chennai Salem expressway is beyond ridiculous. That state is going down in 10 years as planned by all phoren players.
Ever heard of the "Kerala Expressway"? Did you know that had that happened, it would have split the state into two, and there would have been floods on the east and drought on the west. That was as per one see-near mulla retired as brinjibal of the top ranked injineering madrassas of the istate onlee.

And we still drive at the 'people's speed' of 60kph on two lane town roads between the major cities. What an equalijing factor onlee!!
Javee

Post by Javee »

Karthik S wrote:That state is going down in 10 years as planned by all phoren players.
Absolutely true, all the industrial groups make their investment decisions based on WhatsApp and Twitter forwards.

Karthik S makes a valid point. The recent Tuticorin riots, Koodankulam before that, Neduvasal...... I could go on about the Church funded agitations in TN.

The Chennai-Salem expressway is the latest

Industrialists need not go by WhatsApp forwards. But they will go by riots & political stability. DumeelNadu needs an urgent course correction if it doesn't want to go down the Kerala/WB way when it comes to industrialization.

Javee wrote:
Karthik S wrote:That state is going down in 10 years as planned by all phoren players.
Absolutely true, all the industrial groups make their investment decisions based on WhatsApp and Twitter forwards.
Boss you and Shyam, no need to get emotional. I am also from TN, speak to any Senior Managers and VPs of companies, everyone will tell you there's hardly any new investments/projects coming into the state including Chennai. Last year itself, IIRC, Chennai was 5th or 6th rank in office spaces under construction across all Indian cities. Imagine with all foreign sponsored protests, how the ranking will be in next 5 years, if "porattam" for everything continues without controlling the main "powers". Read news few weeks back about 50,000 SME closing down leading to loss of 5L jobs. Below news also states moving investments by big players shifting to AP.

https://www.ibtimes.co.in/thousands-lef ... ose-771437

"Tamil Nadu attracts less than 1% of investments in India" this is for last year.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cit ... 091926.cms

And all those disgruntled people in SMEs who lost jobs or can't get employment, guess who'd prey on them?

In one instance that i know TN lost an opportunity when it came to investing about 4000 cr last year, it would have created atleast 3000 extremely high paying jobs(avg 30L/annum) largely due to policy paralysis while amma was ailing and also due to too many procedural hurdles to make any headway forward.

Mumbai sea link cable suspension part is a small zone near the northern end
So while the bridge is very long ( tell me about it, i have run it thrice :( ) the shakina part is small

From the south end the slope is deceptively gentle but tires the legs unless one is uber fit then the steeper middle section beats the stuffing out of you

Would suggest visitors passing through mum take a taxi to worli diary in morning and run across it and back again. Makes for good social media pix. Cars are not allowed to stop

Singha wrote:Mumbai sea link cable suspension part is a small zone near the northern end
So while the bridge is very long ( tell me about it, i have run it thrice :( ) the shakina part is small
Wonder why we don't build huge arch and suspension bridges. Such landmarks improve the "image" of the city considerably.

Cost i guess . Cantilever bridges if adequate are far cheaper.
Suspension is needed when tall ships need to enter like verrazano narrows in nyc or japani bridges. In mumbai its just mahim bay with machwara boats and trawlers

A bridge from colaba to alibaug on mainland would need to tall asashi kaikyo std

suryag wrote:In one instance that i know TN lost an opportunity when it came to investing about 4000 cr last year, it would have created atleast 3000 extremely high paying jobs(avg 30L/annum) largely due to policy paralysis while amma was ailing and also due to too many procedural hurdles to make any headway forward.

Probably couldn't decide on how the spoils were to be divided up, with so many competing factions, all claiming to be the only true heirs of amma's legacy.

that is where blr despite its chronic corruption moves with speed and precision to nab these big slab investments.
roads , water, power, garbage, no problem saar we will see later ... you just come and pour concrete, plenty of land in ORR saar ...
I have seen big new tech parks run for months and months solely on captive diesel gensets until bescom laid power lines and they always run on tanker water onlee.

smooth, well oiled system of workarounds with big fish getting a cut on each - catering, water, transport.

nobody puts in tech parks and their ecosystem of ramshackle PG colonies faster than blr :twisted:

Karthik S wrote:
Javee wrote: Absolutely true, all the industrial groups make their investment decisions based on WhatsApp and Twitter forwards.
Boss you and Shyam, no need to get emotional. I am also from TN, speak to any Senior Managers and VPs of companies, everyone will tell you there's hardly any new investments/projects coming into the state including Chennai. Last year itself, IIRC, Chennai was 5th or 6th rank in office spaces under construction across all Indian cities. Imagine with all foreign sponsored protests, how the ranking will be in next 5 years, if "porattam" for everything continues without controlling the main "powers". Read news few weeks back about 50,000 SME closing down leading to loss of 5L jobs. Below news also states moving investments by big players shifting to AP.

"Tamil Nadu attracts less than 1% of investments in India" this is for last year.

And all those disgruntled people in SMEs who lost jobs or can't get employment, guess who'd prey on them?
Basically the Leftist-Secular dream of making a Kerala Industrially out of TN and providing cheap and willing labour to Gulf shiekhs to build thier kingdoms. But in TN most of these causes are taken by Minorities or Uber left persons who are AAPish type. Hopefully with good rains for Cauvery delta and smart alliances this situation is sorted out by Next year.
Javee

Post by Javee »

Karthik S wrote:
Javee wrote: Absolutely true, all the industrial groups make their investment decisions based on WhatsApp and Twitter forwards.

Haha, you are just parotting what the paid news media is circulating, if this is true, then how did TN become the 2nd largest job creator this year? Even then the news link you have quoted talks about the reasons on the closure and one big item is GST and credit availability.
Of the 3.93 million formal jobs, about 817,000 were generated in Maharashtra, 465,000 in Tamil Nadu and 393,000 in Gujarat. The remaining were created in 17 states, Delhi and Chandigarh.
https://www.ibef.org/news/maharashtra-g ... ormal-jobs
Usual hit job by Toilet paper. Here is the data from DIPP on the "actual" FDI inflows,
http://dipp.nic.in/sites/default/files/ ... ry2018.pdf

Can you go over the link and tell me how much % and absolute $ number TN received from April 17 to Dec 17??

There was political instability when Amma was hospitalized and during that time some new investments went to AP. AP could dole out incentives compared to TN, but at what cost?

Congrats to all! all is fine then.

Karthik S wrote: Read news few weeks back about 50,000 SME closing down leading to loss of 5L jobs.
One can believe WhatsApp forwards and spout some conspiratorial nonsense. Or one can believe DDM nonsense and spout disinformation. Your choice on which you want to do, but to the observer, they appear to be very similar. Being on BRF, I am sure you know how much credibility DDM/MSM has.

You mentioned some activity on another forum. You might want to consider reading a post in the TN economy thread on that forum, which disputed a Hindu article with some data.

On second thought, you can simply go to our own Econ thread here and see a relevant article posted by A_Gupta-ji, and do your own research and come to your own conclusions.
Karthik S wrote:Congrats to all! all is fine then.
Typical.

(This is getting OT here, so no more from me on this.)

arshyam wrote:
Karthik S wrote:Congrats to all! all is fine then.
Typical.
Well, just so you know, I live in the city in the fray. So I need not entirely depend on media reports to know where new investments are going to and what's going on with public in TN over all, and I really didn't want to engage more in your DDM vs my DDM debates. Last from me too.

This is the "Roads" thread. No more posts about anything else.

They should go for a high speed train not Metro for this corridor in Mumbai.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/mumbai-n ... k9ZoM.html

Supratik wrote:They should go for a high speed train not Metro for this corridor in Mumbai.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/mumbai-n ... k9ZoM.html
Disagree. The entire length of the proposed corridor is just 128km and passes through several towns, villages and urban areas. HSR makes no sense here because you would be able to have very few stops along the route. Metro is far more useful.

The centerpiece of this is the road of course, with the Metro in the median. Don't think that is possible with HSR. Additional land would be needed for it. Main purpose is to connect several highways going out of Mumbai and decongest the city by enabling some traffic in and out of JNPT and the upcoming Navi Mumbai Airport to bypass the city. 14000cr is a huge amount however. Lets see how it goes.

What I meant was RRTS like what Delhi-NCR is getting not bullet train. A 100 km plus metro will be too slow.

Meanwhile, EPE is still not being used by trucks.

https://indianexpress.com/article/citie ... h-5229593/

Per Bloomberg opinion, PM Modi's road plans face headwinds:
https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles ... e-in-india
The trouble is that companies that weren’t in the best position to handle the debt have been among the most aggressive. Late last year, of the 55 billion rupees of incomplete projects, about four-fifths were backed by financially weak companies. This year, of 104 projects awarded under the annuity model, 56 are facing financial closure issues from banks, according to analysts at Nomura Holdings Inc. They noted that companies with weak balance sheets were struggling.

The situation doesn’t look like it will improve soon. The cost of capital in India has risen sharply, and bank financing is increasingly restricted. Nervous lenders are looking for guarantees from road builders. Mumbai-listed Dilip Buildcon Ltd., a small company that’s won several HAM contracts, used up its entire working capital last fiscal year. Its debt-to-Ebitda ratio has ticked up alongside, but it boasts margins of 18 percent, the highest in the industry. The company is on the hook for at least six highway projects on the HAM model — that means a significant amount of equity and debt that still needs to be put to work.