Indian Manufacturing Sector

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Manufacturing Sector

Quick question

I am working with a couple of folks on a wearable device. We have a prelim design but looking for some company to build prototypes and build final product.

Is there a company in India that can do?

L&T builds cryostat for USD 20 bn global fusion projec.

Engineering and construction giant Larsen & Toubro on Tuesday said it has achieved a major milestone under 'Make in India' initiative by building a cryostat for USD20 billion global fusion project. The final assembly or top lid sectors of the cryostat, a key part of the world's largest nuclear fusion reactor being built in France, were dispatched on Tuesday from the company's Hazira manufacturing complex in Surat district in Gujarat.

Larsen & Toubro (L&T) in 2012 chosen by ITER-India to manufacture and install cryostat - a vacuum pressure vessel made of 3,850 tonnes of stainless steel. L&T Group Chairman AM Naik termed it a "moment of pride for India and Larsen & Toubro".

"The heavy engineering arm of L&T, India's leading engineering, construction, technology, manufacturing and financial services conglomerate, has flagged-off the most complex and final assembly of cryostat, the largest stainless-steel, high-vacuum pressure chamber in the world. "This is an important milestone in the global nuclear fusion arena as well as a moment of pride for the Make in India initiative," the company said in a statement.

The cryostat assembly weighing 650 tonne is to be installed with other cryostat segments for ITER (International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor) in a reactor pit in southern France.

L&T has already delivered the base section, the lower cylinder and the upper cylinder for the cryostat. The cryostat's function is to provide cooling to the fusion reactor and to keep very high temperatures at its core under control. A virtual flag-off ceremony of the final assembly was held at the company's Hazira manufacturing complex.

Dr Bernard Bigot, Director-General, ITER Global, KN Vyas, Chairman Atomic Energy Commission, India, UK Baruah, Project Director, ITER-India, V K Saraswat, Member, NITI Aayog, A M Naik, Group Chairman L&T and SN Subrahmanyan, CEO & MD, L&T, joined the ceremony virtually.

Naik said: "It is a moment of pride for India and for L&T in particular as we have gathered to flag-off the last section of the Cryostat Vessel for the most ambitious clean energy project limitless carbon free energy that will power the future. L&T has always been proud of this global collaborative research to build a greener planet."

Subrahmanyan the company has used innovative and digital manufacturing techniques to ensure uninterrupted supply of high-precision assemblies to ITER. "This will further pave a way for the installation of cryostat at the project site in France and eventually lead to the demonstration of large scale feasibility of fusion power. It has empowered India to tread towards Atma Nirbhar Bharat by acquiring knowledge in this highly specialised field of science and technology,” Subrahmanyan added.

Anil V Parab, Executive Vice President and Head, L&T Heavy Engineering told PTI that ITER is a USD 20 billion project and India is contributing 9 per cent of the project component.

"With the supply of the Top Lid sector, we have successfully completed our India scope of the project ahead of the schedule. The fabrication of these components has been an engineering marvel both in terms of its massive size and its stringent quality standards.”

The project scope for L&T Heavy Engineering is divided into three aspects, the company said.

L&T's Heavy Engineering business won this prestigious contract from ITER India, a wing of Department of Atomic Energy, for the ambitious mega scientific project, conducted in collaboration of seven elite countries, including India, and with a project outlay of around USD 20 billion.
mukkan

Post by mukkan »

vijayk wrote:Quick question

I am working with a couple of folks on a wearable device. We have a prelim design but looking for some company to build prototypes and build final product.

check https://www.vvdntech.com/ there may be other smaller and bigger players
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

Some photos of Larsen & Toubro made cryostat.

Dexter

Post by Dexter »

https://www.aist.go.jp/sst/en/exhibitio ... index.html
Since size of semiconductor foundry is a major bottleneck what does such minimal fabs mean for India ?
Dexter

Post by Dexter »

mukkan wrote:
vijayk wrote:Quick question

Might try karkhana.io as well

https://superr.in/economy/i-tried-start ... -in-india/

I tried starting a manufacturing unit in India…

By Rohan Shah
dateJuly 23, 2020

So this is the story of me trying to start a manufacturing unit in India…

Quick facts:
Land Size: 3 Acres OR 1,20,000 sq.ft.
Factory Shed / Warehouse Building.
State: Maharashtra
District: Sangli

Do note that, Maharashtra state is considered to be one of the most liberal and best states in terms of “ease of doing business” in India.

I started the process around November 2019. It’s been more than 9 months and I am still at least 4 months away from getting the permission that allows me to construct anything on my agricultural land.

The NA Permission

Yes, you need to obtain “permission” before you build any manufacturing structure on your own land with your own money. This permission is called the NA or Non-Agricultural Certificate.

So let’s get this certificate! 

To get that, I went to the Sangli District Administration Office. The building looks quite good.

Collector Office, Sangli

After asking around a bit, I was told that I could get the NA permission from the “Revenue Department” office.

And so I went there.

There I was told to get a list of documents.

Level 1 – The Application:

Documents Required:

7/12 8AAffidavit (Self)Application Form (Self)All Land Records Since 1950 (Tahshildar Office)Official Plot Map (Gat Nakasha)9/3 – 9/4 (Document showing ownership of land and other details as on 1950)

The first two documents are available online and easy to get. The 3rd and 4th documents were also easy as the format was already available, I just had to fill them up and sign on them.

The last three documents were not easy to get. It took me more than 3 months and 2000 Rs in legal fees and more than 20 visits to different offices more than 10 kms apart.

But I finally got them. I thought this was it. I was now going to get the prestigious NA certificate.

And so I bought a file and filed all these papers in it and went to the “Revenue Department” Office.

I submitted the file. And was told that the application will be reviewed, discussed in a meeting and then if the application is approved, the procedure for NA-ing the land could be started.

After about a month, I got a call from the Revenue Department asking to visit them for further procedure.

There I was handed a letter, addressing 11 different departments and asking those departments to give me a NOC (No Objection Certificate). I was told to get all the 11 NOC’s by showing this letter to each department and any other additional documents they might ask.

Level 2 – The 11 NOCs:

Actually, there are more than 13 NOC’s required to be obtained but this letter only mentions 11 of them.

After applying to each of these places, they give their own list of documents which require one or two more NOC’s each.

Public Works DepartmentMahaVitaranGram Panchayat NOCClear Land of Any Transmission LinesMahaTranscoIrrigation DepartmentGram Panchayat NOCPay the Irrigation Tax – 1,89,000 Per HectareMap showing distance from nearest RiverLegal Form showing the Agreement by Adjoining Farm Land HoldersHealth Department, Zilla ParishadGram Panchayat NOCPrimary Health Center NOCForest DepartmentMIDCBusiness CenterMaharashtra Pollution Control BoardTehshildar (Taluka)Town Planning DepartmentGram Panchayat NOCMSEB NOCBuilding Plan – LayoutMojni Nakasha (90 days)Legal Form showing the Agreement by Adjoining Farm Land Holders

Okay cool. I said to myself. After 4 months, all I had to do was to take this letter to each of these offices (after finding their address, located somewhere in the district) and then get their letter. Easy peasy, I thought.

But no! Once I reached the first “PWD” office, they gave me a list of documents required by them to grant me NOC. 

And so did MahaVitaran. And Mahatransco. And the Irrigation Department…!

1. The PWD NOC

I understand the reasoning behind the need for a PWD NOC. What if they’re planning to build a road through the land on which we intend to do our construction. It’s certainly worth notifying the public works department before we do any construction activity. 

And the PWD NOC was easy to get. It took more than 4 months but no one asked for any bribe nor did anyone ask for any extravagant documents or signatures. 

I have no problem with this one.

2. Mahavitaran NOC

Again, Mahavitaran is the Maharashtra state owned company. It owns the low-tension electricity transmission lines which provides electricity to houses, commercial spaces and farms. (Not industries). 

The requirement for the Mahavitaran NOC is that “if” there are any lines going through the farm land, then the land owner must get them removed. I also agree with this idea. 

Even though removing these lines cost a lot, it is an important step for safety. So again, not a problem.

3. MahaTransco NOC

Again Mahatransco is the same as Mahavitaran except that it provides high-tension electricity transmission for industrial use. 

But there’s a problem here. 

If there are no high-tension lines, as is the case in our land, a self-declaration by the farm owner that there is no Mahatransco line should be sufficient. 

The problem I face: 

I applied for NOC. They came and checked. Their person signed and wrote that there is no Mahatransco line. And then they gave me that paper and asked me to get signatures from two village authorities. The Talathi and The Circle Officer.

And both of them denied it. 

And that’s it. 

Mahatransco would not accept it without the signatures. And these two people would not sign it at any cost. 

What should a mere mortal with no government or political connections do about this?!

And that’s it. Stuck there forever.

4. Irrigation NOC

Not only do they need 11 documents, each of which requires almost a month to obtain, they also want us to pay Rupees 2,89,000 (That is more than twice the Average Per Capita National Income of India ~1,35,000) “because” our land falls within the area served by a canal from the Irrigation Department.

Now, to begin with, Indian farmers don’t pay for electricity and water. So they just keep the Switch for the water pump turned ON always. Whenever electricity is available, the water keeps getting pumped into the farm, flooding the farm with unnecessary water.

Anyway, let’s assume that I don’t care at all about the water and electricity being wasted by the farmers.

All I care about is that I should get a water and an electricity connection and I should be billed at whatever price that prevails and I will pay the bill.

But no. Someone is taking the pain to setup a manufacturing unit. Someone is taking the pain to provide employment. “So let’s just milk out as much as we can from this person so that we can continue giving free things to these “majority” farmers and keep getting elected.”

5. Health Department, Zilla Parishad  NOC

Why do you need the health department’s “permission” to start a manufacturing unit on your land? Well maybe because the government is interested in creating as many hurdles as possible so that these “public servants” can milk as much money as possible from the fool who wants to start a business and create employment.

Also, they gave me a list of documents. These documents were to be uploaded on to a website. And as always, the website doesn’t work.

So it’s stuck because the website isn’t working.

6. Forest Department NOC

No problem.

7. MIDC NOC

MIDC NOC is understandable. They procure land and offer it for cheap prices for manufacturing purposes. Therefore it is necessary to confirm that the land on which you are building is not a part of any upcoming MIDC project. 

And the process was fast here. No one asked for any bribes. So I have no problem with this one.

8. Udhyog Kendra NOC

This office was created to facilitate the creation of business capacity in the district. But now it just adds to the burden by being in the list of barriers to be completed before you can start a business.

But fortunately I got it with one application and within one week, so it should just be removed anyway.

9. MPCB NOC

Got it within a few days without the need of any documents. And it’s the Pollution Control Board, which is necessary to save the environment. So I am fine with it. As long as it’s fast.

10. Tahsildar NOC

Applied for this NOC in the Tahshildar Office at Miraj. No response. No letter. No communication. And no person is willing to talk about what one should do next.

It’s been more than 4 months. Just total silence.

Obviously, they are playing “hard to get” to get me to pay some bribe and initiate the process. But after going through all this, I am not going to pay any bribe to anyone.

So, it’s just stuck there. Been more than 4 months.

11. Town Planning Department NOC

This is one of the most important NOC according to many experienced “agents” who have been in this N.A. game. A lot of money needs to be sprinkled for this NOC or they can delay your project infinitely.

They require the following documents:

Gram Panchayat NOC
MSEB (Mahavitaran NOC)
Land Counting Map (Mojani Nakasha)
Land Co-holders Affidavit
12. Gram Panchayat.
So as this is a requirement in almost all the NOC’s mentioned above, I went and applied for the Gram Panchayat NOC.

And they openly demanded bribes after waiting for four months.

So the Gram Panchayat NOC is stuck because of non payment of bribe.

And many other NOC’s depend on the Gram Panchayat NOC, so they are stuck too.

And this is how, ladies and gentlemen, brother and sisters, India will treat you if you try starting a small manufacturing unit to create jobs, useful products and prosperity for yourself and a few others.

It’s been more than 9 months, I went from one office to another. From one Taluka to another, most of the times to find out that the concerned person has decided to stay at home that day.

The office in the village, the “chavdi” as it is called in Marathi runs on the whims of one person and this one person could appear at the office any day and disappear any day. All you can do is sit and wait till the evening and “hope” that this person arrives before 6 PM.

So what next?
Well, I have found out that the law governing these rules is based in the “Maharastra State Land Revenue Code”. I will try to challenge this process in the court as well as protest for change so any one could start or construct anything of their choice on their land without much delay.

My request to you is join me in this mission to really make India a place where Businesses come up like weeds grow on fertile land. Currently even though there is a lot of aspiration in the people and lot of people want to start something, laws like these act as a concrete layer on fertile land to completely halt any entrepreneurial willpower in the rural and the poor people of India.
nishant.gupta

Post by nishant.gupta »

Manish_Sharma wrote:https://superr.in/economy/i-tried-start ... -in-india/

By Rohan Shah
dateJuly 23, 2020
I guess this is the typical problem of new laws and rules being made which instead of replacing the previous ones, add on to them. As new departments come up for various reasons, they just add on to the issues.

This article reflects the desperation faced and why all the middle men in the system are the ones who really enjoy their lives.

Heartbreaking read

He has put an update..... what to say! I wonder if that is the real case.. How can a new joiner know that you need 11 NOC, but doesn't know it was to be done by the department?

Looks like when the post became viral.. sarkari babus realized this will reach the big man himself, sooner or later..

An interesting story, but the person's case has particular needs that made it harder for him. That's not to say there's no problem, of course. The number of NOCs and chasing approvals is quite unnecessary. These are things that are very easily benchmarkable, and the person has done us a favour by benchmarking one particular use case in a single state. Generally, the government can use examples like these to benchmark particular investor actions, e.g.
1. big foreign investor investing in predefined SEZ/EPZ area
2. big foreign investor building a greenfield or brownfield plant outside SEZ for local market - inside or outside previously defined industrial cluster.
3. small entrepreneur purchasing space for factory in designated industrial cluster or SEZ
4. small entrepreneur setting up greenfield factory in place of choosing, especially if rezoning is required.
Time, number of permits etc an all be quantified for these. It is beyond argument that India has significantly enhanced its ease of doing business position in recent years, but that's a very macro number, and a more micro break down of individual paths like those listed above are also important to benchmark and improve.

nam wrote:He has put an update..... what to say! I wonder if that is the real case.. How can a new joiner know that you need 11 NOC, but doesn't know it was to be done by the department?

Looks like when the post became viral.. sarkari babus realized this will reach the big man himself, sooner or later..
If he had a stack of Rs. 2,000 notes, then the Revenue Dept. would have moved along quickly. That or he has to get a local neta involved, feed him/her money, and approvals will come.

If the question is money to government agencies involved, then go ahead and charge a significant fee with a 1-page form so that the manufacturer can get to producing and employing people.

By Rohan Shah
dateJuly 23, 2020

So this is the story of me trying to start a manufacturing unit in India…

So what next?
Well, I have found out that the law governing these rules is based in the “Maharastra State Land Revenue Code”. I will try to challenge this process in the court as well as protest for change so any one could start or construct anything of their choice on their land without much delay.

My request to you is join me in this mission to really make India a place where Businesses come up like weeds grow on fertile land. Currently even though there is a lot of aspiration in the people and lot of people want to start something, laws like these act as a concrete layer on fertile land to completely halt any entrepreneurial willpower in the rural and the poor people of India.
Sad! But this is for just the beginning. Once you start manufacturing, the horrors go up ten fold. I can list 8 years of horrors and loss of parents - but who will care? Sab chalta hai! Let’s import onlee! We’re SDREI - Short dark rice eating importers!!

I had posted in the Strat forum on this story, that trying to setup a mfg unit in agricultural land is bound to face such hurdles be it in India or in a developed country. The courageous entrepreneur should consider setting up his unit in a notified industrial zone/park where most of these approvals would already be taken care of. However the govt approvals process can and must be made simpler.

Some positive news on this front:

Govt to appoint an IT firm to implement a single window system

Such measures have been attempted before in fits and starts, hope this Govt goes the full distance and makes an enduring improvement.

I agree there should be local industrial parks with all the approvals & infra in place. However the point in even if it has to be done by the department itself, why do they have to go through so many NOC!

It is fundamentally file pushing from one place to another... and meant for middle men to extra money to smooth the process.

Another way to look at is:

In a country where liability laws are notoriously difficult to enforce and compensation of third party victims is rare (remember Bhopal ? Recent LG gas leak in Vizag ? Ever heard of someone punished for land/water/air pollution? Ground water overuse?), all these checks during setup and operation serve as some kind of preventive mechanism. But at the cost of development, job creation and economic growth.

nam wrote:He has put an update..... what to say! I wonder if that is the real case.. How can a new joiner know that you need 11 NOC, but doesn't know it was to be done by the department?

Big Man means Uddhavji ?

kvraghav wrote:

Big Man means Uddhavji ?
Center. The IAS officers would know what was coming. Revenue secretary is IAS.

The mere fact that no one in the chain of 11 departments, felt it weird to see the applicant asking for NOC, tells you this is the process! Others probably use middle men to do the legwork, he did it himself and put out the story.

I pointed this out on the blog and the guy deleted the comment.. he probably didn't want more trouble.

amar_p wrote:I had posted in the Strat forum on this story, that trying to setup a mfg unit in agricultural land is bound to face such hurdles be it in India or in a developed country. The courageous entrepreneur should consider setting up his unit in a notified industrial zone/park where most of these approvals would already be taken care of. However the govt approvals process can and must be made simpler.

Some positive news on this front:

Govt to appoint an IT firm to implement a single window system

Such measures have been attempted before in fits and starts, hope this Govt goes the full distance and makes an enduring improvement.
Haryana had done something like this - a Single Window Agency for change of land use (agri to indl). So when we received approvals from the SWA for the change, we hired a contractor to build a boundary wall. As soon as the first maybe 200 m of wall was constructed, warrants were issued in my father and my name for violation of town Planning Laws. The Town Planner was a participant of the SWA meeting. It was not till he received the desired sweets, did he release the NOC and then had the boundary wall demolished. So what did the SWA achieve? In addition - no power allotment was done and sweets had to be provided to the power persons, same for the pollution control etc.

So these processes should not be devised to help Government officials make money - but to genuinely help industry.

https://swarajyamag.com/insta/lithium-i ... e-in-india

Lithium-Ion Battery Maker ATL Buys 180 Acres Of Land In Haryana; Plans To Invest Rs 7,000 Crore In India

by Swarajya Staff
Aug 12, 2020 08:32 AM

In a positive development, Japanese multinational electronic company TDK Corporation owned Amperex Technology Limited (ATL) which manufactures rechargeable lithium-ion polymer (LIP) batteries has acquired 180 acres of industrial land in Haryana, reports Economic Times.

ATL's purchase of 180 acres of land for a price of Rs 550 crore in Industrial Model Township (IMT) Sohna close to the city of...
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cit ... t&from=mdr

"COIMBATORE: A Coimbatore-based automation company says it has unveiled a health monitoring system which can also act as an attendance recorder system. The system can do away with the need of security personnel at offices checking every entrant’s body temperature and then recording the entrant’s name"

mechanic designs power tiller to clear weeds
Rajanna-Sircilla: Farm mechanisation is the mantra for increased productivity in the agriculture sector now. But there is one area of agriculture activity that is still dependent on manual labour and the plough, particularly in cotton fields — weeding.

And with the sector facing acute shortage of labour with the launch of National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, it has become a challenge of sorts for cotton farmers to deal with this part the activity, which has to be done at least four times before the crops are harvested. Needless to say, it also causes a hefty dent in the farmers’ pockets that adds up to the production costs.

However, a solution to this may soon be available if the innovative ingenuity of a 55-year-old mechanic from Rajanna-Sircilla district who has designed a power tilller for the task works out well. It certainly has caught the attention of IT and Industries Minister K T Rama Rao who tweeted on Wedensday stating: “Loved this idea of a power tiller by a rural innovator from Yellareddypet mandal in Sircilla district.” The Minister went on to request the Tworks team to work on the idea and hold a demonstration for Agriculture Minister S Niranjan Reddy.

Ragi Kishan, a native of Boppapur, a tiny village in Yellareddypet mandal, has put together a power tiller that may well solve the problem of manual weeding. Kishan is a popular motor mechanic in Yellareddypet and surrounding areas, and he has been running a workshop at Gollapalli for the past 35 years. He is considered an expert in motorcycles, jeeps, vans, school buses, millers, JCBs, harvesters and other vehicles.

Kishan, moved by the plight of farmers, decided to help them and within a month, designed a power tiller at a cost of Rs 45,000.

Speaking to Telangana Today, Kishan said the power tiller, two feet wide and six feet long, can move easily between cotton plants because of the distance between rows. It removes weed with the help of three ploughs and a blade fixed to it. “It is possible to remove weeds in one acre within two hours and it requires just three litres of diesel,” he said, adding that since the tiller has dual facility of KG wheels and tyres, it can also move on roads like any other vehicle.

Explaining the functioning, Kishan said in the field, the tyres have to be removed and replaced with KG wheels to start clearing the weeds. “I used a second hand engine for my prototype. The cost would go up by another Rs 20,000 to Rs 25,000 if new engines are used,” he said.

Kishan is also planning to upgrade the power tiller by fixing rotavator as well as sprinklers to spray pesticides that would make it a multi-utility gadget

nishant.gupta wrote:

By Rohan Shah
dateJuly 23, 2020
I guess this is the typical problem of new laws and rules being made which instead of replacing the previous ones, add on to them. As new departments come up for various reasons, they just add on to the issues.

This article reflects the desperation faced and why all the middle men in the system are the ones who really enjoy their lives.

All over the developed world land use is regulated. Particularly Agri land is protected. Industrial units have to be planned. There must exist sufficient road, power and other infrastructure. Else local roads may be over burdened. I totally support the idea of planned industrial development. This is applicable in most developed countries.

There are several Industrial parks with ready permission available. You will be allotted land, based on the requirement. It is also possible to purchase existing factory space from others.
Last edited by Rishirishi on 15 Aug 2020 05:52, edited 1 time in total.
durairaaj

Post by durairaaj »

Manish_Sharma wrote:https://swarajyamag.com/insta/lithium-i ... e-in-india

Lithium-Ion Battery Maker ATL Buys 180 Acres Of Land In Haryana; Plans To Invest Rs 7,000 Crore In India

by Swarajya Staff

In a positive development, Japanese multinational electronic company TDK Corporation owned Amperex Technology Limited (ATL) which manufactures rechargeable lithium-ion polymer (LIP) ...
There is some thing fishy about this news. ATL is a Chinese company. There is nothing Japanese about this.
Company Website: Link

A Chinese company owning 180 Acres is too much. A battery company does not need 180 Acres. They claim they are not building an industrial township. It doesnot feel right, that to closer to Delhi.
Edit Note:
Ok, It seems TDK has bought this company in 2005. Wiki Link

Rishirishi wrote:

All over the developed world land use is regulated. Particularly Agri land is protected. Industrial units have to be planned. There must exist sufficient road, power and other infrastructure. Else local roads may be over burdened. I totally support the idea of planned industrial development. This is applicable in most developed countries.

There are several Industrial parks with ready permission available. You will be allotted land, based on the requirement. It is also possible to purchase existing factory space from others.
Brilliant! You missed the point of the article entirely. Of course this is the least we have grown to expect from you. Next try to look at Indian labor laws and tell us why you support laws written in 1900s or before.

Vivek K wrote:
Rishirishi wrote:

Brilliant! You missed the point of the article entirely. Of course this is the least we have grown to expect from you. Next try to look at Indian labor laws and tell us why you support laws written in 1900s or before.
Please point out what i missed? Or at least bother to counter my argument.

durairaaj wrote:
Manish_Sharma wrote:https://swarajyamag.com/insta/lithium-i ... e-in-india

by Swarajya Staff

In a positive development, Japanese multinational electronic company TDK Corporation owned Amperex Technology Limited (ATL) which manufactures rechargeable lithium-ion polymer (LIP) ...
There is some thing fishy about this news. ATL is a Chinese company. There is nothing Japanese about this.
Company Website: Link

A Chinese company owning 180 Acres is too much. A battery company does not need 180 Acres. They claim they are not building an industrial township. It doesnot feel right, that to closer to Delhi.
Edit Note:
Ok, It seems TDK has bought this company in 2005. Wiki Link
180 Acres is a massive piece of land. Teslas Gigafactory is some 1000 acres. So perhaps is it genuine. I think such large projects should be build along less productive land like in parts of Rajastan.
nishant.gupta

Post by nishant.gupta »

Rishirishi wrote:
Vivek K wrote: Brilliant! You missed the point of the article entirely. Of course this is the least we have grown to expect from you. Next try to look at Indian labor laws and tell us why you support laws written in 1900s or before.
The entire point of the article was to discuss the archaic methods of granting permission to develop industry on own land. The sheer number of permissions and bribes needed. The reasons which in a lot of cases don't even exist any more. The apathy of the entire system towards someone who wants to start an industry in his own land. The sluggishness with which such permissions are given. The greed with which the people who drop in to get such permissions are eyed......

The entire point of the article was to discuss the archaic methods of granting permission to develop industry on own land. The sheer number of permissions and bribes needed. The reasons which in a lot of cases don't even exist any more. The apathy of the entire system towards someone who wants to start an industry in his own land. The sluggishness with which such permissions are given. The greed with which the people who drop in to get such permissions are eyed....
The bribes are definitely a huge problem. In actual effects the permission authority, in reality becomes a kind of a toll to the politicians and bureaucrats. Because any permission can be won, just simply bribe your way. We agree in this. I will NOT define this a problem. Rather it is a DESIGN to steal money.

But my point was a bit different. Should it be the right to build what ever you want on your land? Industrial land is available all across India, with all the permissions in place. It will have the proper road and utilities infrastructure in place. It may cost a bit extra, because it in the price the facilities will be charged. If someone builds outside the designated areas, then it is just fair that the land must meet certain standards. Unfortunately plans will be bent, rules bypassed and what not. The result are well planned cities, that turn into disasters. Noida is a good example. Builders have been permitted to build very high and dense. Little or not infrastructure like, parks, bike paths, bus lanes etc has been charged the builders.

Is this for real?

nishant.gupta wrote:
Rishirishi wrote:
The entire point of the article was to discuss the archaic methods of granting permission to develop industry on own land. The sheer number of permissions and bribes needed. The reasons which in a lot of cases don't even exist any more. The apathy of the entire system towards someone who wants to start an industry in his own land. The sluggishness with which such permissions are given. The greed with which the people who drop in to get such permissions are eyed......
The whole point rishirishi was trying to make was that in India, for example, in Krishna district, the land is earmarked as agricultural land, means it cannot be used for any other purposes than agriculture. Such lands cannot be owned by entrepreneurs, but only farmers. In agricultural land also, there are different types of lands some which can give 1 crop, some which can give 2 crops and those that give 3crops a year.

If there's a patch where there's 10000 acres of agricultural land and you want 3 acres in the middle to be converted to industrial land, it's just stupidity.

There are many industrial lands which are typically non agricultural land where one can purchase 3 acres and govt provides electricity, road, water etc. they also give a lot of incentives based on employment generation in those sez's. What manish is trying to do is to get the sympathy of people like you who are ever ready to say everything bad with Indian laws, Indian babucracy is not business friendly etc. That gives a lot of psychological gratification, but it's stupidity. You don't need any noc's, all you need is your project plan, your finances, and skills, everything is provided by the government through single window, you can turnkey your business.

vijayk,

Looks like a scam. To release these electrons would require significant energy, but this thing uses 30W. For it to be effective, you would die from such a device due to thermal effects, and if it was really effective, you would die from ionizing radiation. Your chances of survival are higher if you got COVID-19.

I suspect this is some sort of air ionizing device, like an air purifier. More than likely some thin exposed wires with a current on them being blown with a small fan (64 CFM from the spec). At Rs. 19,999 it is a scam. Take a digit off and make it Rs, 1,999 should be the correct price.

Mort Walker wrote:vijayk,

Looks like a scam. To release these electrons would require significant energy, but this thing uses 30W. For it to be effective, you would die from such a device due to thermal effects, and if it was really effective, you would die from ionizing radiation. Your chances of survival are higher if you got COVID-19.

I suspect this is some sort of air ionizing device, like an air purifier. More than likely some thin exposed wires with a current on them being blown with a small fan (64 CFM from the spec). At Rs. 19,999 it is a scam. Take a digit off and make it Rs, 1,999 should be the correct price.
Got it. I was wondering about it.

Even US Consulate tweeted about this.
Device to prevent Coronavirus! USFDA clears Shycocan which neutralises 99.9% virus floating in closed spaces
Updated: Jul 29, 2020 11:04 AM
By Srinath Srinivasan

Bengaluru-based Organization De Scalene has received clearance from the US Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) and the European Union to licence and manufacture Scalene Hypercharge Corona Canon (Shycocan), a device that has the ability to neutralise 99.9% of the coronavirus that might be floating in the air in closed spaces. It can be used to prevent infection and is not medicine or an alternative to a vaccine that can cure infected people.

Designed by a team led by Dr Rajah Vijay Kumar, who had earlier designed Cytotron, a machine to treat cancer more effectively, it does not emit any harmful radiation. “Everyone, including the middle class will be able to afford this device. It will be priced cheaper than a smartphone and will be launched at the stroke of midnight on August 15,” said Kumar

The device is effective in closed spaces of up to 1,000 sq ft or in places up to 10,000 cubic metres, such as waiting rooms, offices, malls and other public areas. “It will also be effective in congested places and will bring down transmission drastically,” Kumar said.

The device emits photons, which then collide with air particles to emit electrons that neutralise the Spike-protein or S-protein in coronavirus and was designed to mitigate common cold and flu at Scalene’s campus much before the Covid-19 pandemic struck. “The virus gets neutralised even before it enters the human body. So an individual does not get infected. Since this is light we are talking about, the process is almost instantaneous,” explained Kumar.

At the moment, the USFDA has given humanitarian licenses to manufacturers and in India, about seven manufacturers have signed up to make the device. “The USFDA and the European union have their own standards and they have put the device through over 26 tests in some of the top labs of their region,”he said. “Currently there are no competitors to this product,” Kumar observed.
https://www.shreis.org/kumar-bio
[..]
Dr. Kumar started independent research into cardiovascular cartography in 1993 and successfully developed the first prototype of HAEMOTRON in 1998. Early cardiovascular studies on Indian air force pilots were carried out with Dr. Rayol John Augustus, at the Flight Simulation Division, Aeronautical Development Establishment, Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), Ministry of Defence, Bangalore India. These studies were also the basis for Ph.D. projects in cardiology. The first basic device was proposed as a non-invasive standard test for Indian Air Force pilots. The first prototype of the HAEMATRON was developed in 1998. The result of the early studies was first presented at the European Society of Cardiology congress in Barcelona, Spain in 1999, and later at the IEEE-CBMS, at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, USA in 2001. The HEMOSEIS 256™ is a CE certified diagnostic device that provides comprehensive information on cardio-pulmonary and renal physiology within 256 heart-beats. The device has received FDA’s “non-significant risk” certification based on a pilot study conducted in the USA by Shreis Scalene Cardiotech LLC. HAEMOTRON was commercialized in 1999 and today there are over 150 installations in about 20 countries. HAEMOTRON was renamed as HAEMOSEIS-256 in 2003.

Simultaneously with the developments in Medical engineering, Dr. Kumar and his organization were active in defence research with the collaboration with the Ministry of Defence, Electronics Directorate, and Republic of Hungary. Scalene worked on Force on Force Combat Training Systems (FOFTF), with MCEME in India. Global Positioning Systems (GPS) was another area that Scalene was actively participating. First ever cross country dynamic object tracking was conducted by Scalene, by dynamically tracking a moving object from Bangalore to Kashmir in 1999.[..]

https://www.livemint.com/market/mark-to ... 91524.html

India imports some 17 billion worth of carparts. 4,5 from China. There is only 10% duty on carparts. Hopefully this changes soon.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

Wish some desi company had acquired it from L&T.............

L&T closes Rs 14,000 crore deal to sell electric division to Schneider Electric
ET Bureau Last Updated: Aug 31, 2020, 07:44 PM IST

Larsen & Toubro has announced the much awaited closure of its deal to sell its electrical and automation business to France headquartered-Schneider Electric, after the two companies announced the Rs 14,000 crore-deal in May 2018.
L&T’s E&A division offered a wide range of low and medium voltage switchgear, electrical systems, industrial and building automation solutions, energy management systems, metering solutions and projects and services business. Schneider Electric will use related brand insignia for a specified period to leverage on the brand’s popularity.

Schneider Electric will acquire 5,000 employees and L&T’s manufacturing facilities in Navi Mumbai, Ahmednagar, Vadodara, Coimbatore and Mysore, and related subsidiaries in UAE, Kuwait, Malaysia and Indonesia.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/in ... content=23

TKiran wrote:If there's a patch where there's 10000 acres of agricultural land and you want 3 acres in the middle to be converted to industrial land, it's just stupidity.
Not really. 2nd gen Biogas plants which can take in rice straw require exactly something like this - 5 acres with 7000 acres to feed the plant which produces 5 Tons Per Day (TPD) industrial grade/fuel grade Methane. It is purified to better than imported NG. Input requirements are 40 TPD biomass - rice straw, bagass, chicken litter (which actually produces excellent N rich manure as a byproduct) and 100% pure CO2 which increases Algae yield in algae grown in glass tubes.

Vayutuvan wrote:
TKiran wrote:If there's a patch where there's 10000 acres of agricultural land and you want 3 acres in the middle to be converted to industrial land, it's just stupidity.
Not really. 2nd gen Biogas plants which can take in rice straw require exactly something like this - 5 acres with 7000 acres to feed the plant which produces 5 Tons Per Day (TPD) industrial grade/fuel grade Methane. It is purified to better than imported NG. Input requirements are 40 TPD biomass - rice straw, bagass, chicken litter (which actually produces excellent N rich manure as a byproduct) and 100% pure CO2 which increases Algae yield in algae grown in glass tubes.
If it's such a brilliant idea, I would not wait for NOCs. I would straight away start the business and use my profits (10% of profits always allocated for) to have a legal team to fight in court any objections raised by any government agencies. Simultaneously bribe the govt officials using the same 10% of profits. I don't think anyone of your neighbors would object to such an industry. The only risk is from a local politician who wants to know the secrets of your business. That can also be mitigated by openly offering to sell your business (along with know how) to the politician himself at 10 years profit. That's how business man thinks.

There are many emotional fools who are passionate about something they think is their innovation and they have to get benefited, they have to run, etc. Crazy ideas eventually fail in business even if someone gives them all the nocs in a platter. Before I started business I was also such a fool. Business is for monetizing your idea without attachment. It's called "Tamara aaku pai neeti bottu vale" in telugu.

Vayutuvan wrote:
But why does this plant have to be located right in the middle of a 7000 acre paddy lands? It might as well be in one corner and only that land need be converted to industrial purposes. A classic analogy is a sugar mill which crushes cane from a radius of 25 to 40 km. It can be done for a project involving paddy straw, as well.