Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Intention is not part of the judgment. Obviously everyone is going to say they didn't intend to. It's entirely a question of whether the obstruction was material. E.g. two teams passed the baton and the one behind had to bump into the one in front after both people already passed the baton - that is not material since the baton change is done and the two teams have active runners already in motion, and the accident happened in the back. They may knock either or both of them down, but it's not a disqualification, probably just a warning at most. On the other hand if you reflexively step even once into the inner area just to avoid stepping on someone's foot, you get disqualified since the action is material even if not intentional.

But Hima was the active baton holder (our #3 runner) and the woman who fell had already just made the pass (their #2). This is going to be entirely a question of whether the obstructed affected Hima materially, i.e. forced her to swerve, jump or break stride. Any of these are material, and if we prove this adequately at arbitration from the video feed, Bahrain will be disqualified. It all depends on how close the two were, what path Hima was taking and how much action she had to take to get over the obstruction - it these are deemed material, we win.

Asian games day 11th India

Athletics (Medal event)

Men's 20km Walk | Start List | 4-30 AM | Irfan Thodi Kolothum, Manish Singh Rawat

Women's 20km Walk | Start List | 4-40 AM | Soumya Baby, Khushbir Kaur

Women's Heptathlon Long Jump | Purnima Hembram, Swapna Barman | 7-30 AM
Women's Heptathlon Javelin Throw | Purnima Hembram, Swapna Barman | 9 AM
Men's Triple Jump Final | Rakesh Babu, Arpinder Singh | 4-45 PM
Women's 200m Final | Dutee Chand | 5-20 PM
Men's 1500m Qualification | Heat 1 Start List | Manjit Singh | Heat 2 Start List | Jinson Johnson | 6 PM
Men's 4 x 400m Relay | Qualification | India | 6-45 PM

Boxing
Men's Light Fly (49KG) Quarterfinals | 12-15 PM | Kim Jang Ryong (DPR Korea) vs Amit (India)
Men's Light Welter (64KG) Quarterfinals | 5-15 PM | Dheeraj (India) vs Baatarsukh Chinzorig (Mongolia)
Men's Middle (75KG) Quarterfinals | 1-45 PM | Vikas Krishan (India) vs Tanglaitihan Tuoheta Erbieke (China)
Womsn's Fly (51KG) Quarterfinals | 2-15 PM | Sarjubala Devi Shamjetsabam (India) vs Chang Yuan (China)

Bridge
Mixed Pair | Qualification Round 3 - Round 1 Start List | 7 AM | Arunkumar Sinha-Rita Choksi, Bachiraju Satyanarayana-Kiran Nadar, Rajeev Khandelwal-Himani Khandelwal

Men's Pair | Qualification Round 3 - Round 1 Start List | 8-30 AM | Pranab Bardhan-Shibhnath Sarkar, Subhash Gupta-Sapan Desai, Sumit Mukherjee-Debabrata Majumder

Women's Pair | Qualification Round 3 - Round 1 Start List | 8-30 AM | Aparna Sain-Feroza Chothia. Hema Deora-Marianne Karmarkar, Vasanti Shah-Bharati Dey

Men's Pair Qualification Round 4 - Round 1 Start List | 1 PM | Pranab Bardhan-Shibhnath Sarkar, Subhash Gupta-Sapan Desai, Sumit Mukherjee-Debabrata Majumder

Women's Pair Qualification Round 4 - Round 1 Start List | 1 PM | Aparna Sain-Feroza Chothia. Hema Deora-Marianne Karmarkar, Vasanti Shah-Bharati Dey

Mixed Pair Qualification Round 4 - Round 1 Start List | 1 PM | Arunkumar Sinha-Rita Choksi, Bachiraju Satyanarayana-Kiran Nadar, Rajeev Khandelwal-Himani Khandelwal

Canoe/Kayak Sprint

Kayak Four (K4) 500m Men | Kayak Four (K4) 500m Men Heats | Heat 1 Start List | India | 7-20 AM

Kayak Double (K2) 1000m Men Heats | Heat 1 Start List | 9 AM | Naocha Singh, Ching Ching Sing Arambam

Cycling Track (Medal event)

Women's Omnium | Scratch Race | Manorama Devi | 7-30 AM
Men's Sprint | Qualification | Esow Esow, Ranjit Singh | 7-50 AM
Men's 4000m Ind. Pursuit | Qualification | Menjeet Singh | 8-25 AM

Handball
Men's handball main round Group 3 - Match 9 | India vs Indonesia | 12-30 PM

Hockey
Women's semi-final | India vs China | 6-30 PM

Kurash (Medal event)
Women 63KG Round of 32 | 12-30 PM | Koolivand Azar (Iran) vs Binisha Biju (India)

Men 81KG | Round of 32 | 12-54 PM | Manish Tokas (India) vs Sobirov Muso (Uzbekistan)

Men 81KG | Round of 32 | 12-54 PM | Kumal (India) vs Bayanmunkh Gaajadamba (Mongolia)

Women 63KG Round of 16 | 1-36 PM | Megha Tokas (India) vs To be defined

Pencak Silat (Medal event)
Women's Double | Gold Medal Start List | Simran Sonia | 8-30 AM

Sailing
49er Men | Race 12 | varun Thakkar, Ganapathy Chengappa | 10-30 AM

Soft Tennis
Mixed Doubles Preliminary Round | 1 PM | R Dhiman, A Tiwari (India) vs Yu K, Cheng C (Chinese Taipei)
Mixed Doubles Group F | 1 PM | Namita Seth, AC Patel vs Altankhuyag D, A Munguntsetseg A

Squash
Women's Pool B | 11 AM | India vs China

Mixed Doubles Round of 32 | 10 AM | Amalraj AA, MS Patkar (India) vs Aji DP, Indriani L

Volleyball
Women's semi-final | 3 PM | Hong Kong vs India

How do I watch India's Day 11 Events live?

India's Day 11 Events will be telecast live by the Sony Network.

What time will India's Day 11 Events start?

The first event involving Indian athletes is scheduled to begin at 4:30 am IST.

Where can you follow India's Day 11 Events online?

All Asian Games 2018 Events will be streamed live on Sony Liv. For live updates, you can follow sports.ndtv.com.
nash

Post by nash »

In our case, they disqualify our country men/women without any protest but here, where officials should follow the norm and disqualify the other team we have to protest and need to put our case.

Anyway all finger cross for tomorrow's judgement.

nash wrote:In our case, they disqualify our country men/women without any protest but here, where officials should follow the norm and disqualify the other team we have to protest and need to put our case.

Lakshmanan's disqualification in 10000m was not obstruction of others but stepping into the inner area. That's an automatic disqualification every time no matter what the cause, no way around it. He only made one step , but that's all it takes.

here is the mixed relay video. look at 3:45

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DKQNXmML-k
nash

Post by nash »

nash wrote:In our case, they disqualify our country men/women without any protest but here, where officials should follow the norm and disqualify the other team we have to protest and need to put our case.

Lakshmanan's disqualification in 10000m was not obstruction of others but stepping into the inner area. That's an automatic disqualification every time no matter what the cause, no way around it. He only made one step , but that's all it takes.
Yes, I agree, but my point is : Lakshmanan got disqualified as he violates the rule, in the same way Bahrain should also get disqualification as they have also violated the rule.It should not be the case of protest and all

nash wrote:Yes, I agree, but my point is : Lakshmanan got disqualified as he violates the rule, in the same way Bahrain should also get disqualification as they have also violated the rule.It should not be the case of protest and all
I don't think this is really a big deal. These are two different things - one is a case of lane infringement into the interior, which is cut and dried disqualification. The other is a case of obstruction of others , which has to be material, and generally begins with a protest. The Bahraini Nigerian obstructed both us and others (Kazakhstan, China etc). We were most impacted, since they were in lane 1 and we were in lane 2, according to this image. The video doesn't really show the act of obstruction clearly, since it's to the bottom right of the video at that point. They'll need more feeds. Lakshmanan's case was much simpler - that one pic of him touching the interior is enough proof. When it comes to other forms of obstruction, it's usually left to someone to protest first, because all kinds of things happen, especially in a relay, that they cannot otherwise expend effort looking up in detail on their own.

There is a huge gap of almost 20+ meters between 1st and 2nd, proving impact would be difficult.

Picklu wrote:There is a huge gap of almost 20+ meters between 1st and 2nd, proving impact would be difficult.
That is irrelevant. Remember our #1 runner was 30m ahead of theirs. Retroactive justification "Even if she wasn't blocked we'd not have won , kya faida hain" isn't how it works.

The basis of determination is, has an active runner been impeded materially ? Doesn't matter if the end result would have been the same. The Nigerian #2 after passing baton fell right in front of our active #3 (Hima) and our claim is that Hima was blocked by the falling person who intruded into lane 2, causing Hima to swerve, jump over and get hit as she tried to avoid the obstacle.

We are well within our rights to appeal. If we win, the Bahrainis have little recourse to argue back claiming lack of intention, since that is not a consideration - as long as it has been judged material, a disqualification stands regardless of intention.

The matter is really all about how much proof we can offer in terms of material impact of the act. Just as it takes only one step into the inner area to disqualify you, it takes only one obstruction of an opponent who's very close by and forced to change line of run, to cause a disqualification.

There specific rules in running as to how much you can or cannot interfere with the movement of another runner. Fundamentally, you cannot swerve into the path of someone who's already running a straight line, causing them to swerve in kind, trip/jump or break stride. E.g. if you're leading and the one behind has taken a straight line to overtake you on the right, you cannot move right - you MUST keep your line and let them overtake if they can, and can only prevent it by running faster to tire them out as they try to overtake. Likewise, if you overtook someone on the right, you have to let them keep their inner line and cannot step in front of them until you're at least 1-2 stride ahead of them.

So the questions are:
- how close behind was Hima
- how much did she have to move out of way
- to what extent is her claim of jumping over / being hit by the fallen person correct ?
Both video and the trackside marshals will be used. If she was close behind and it's accepted that she had to take evasive action, Bahrain will be disqualified. It's hard to prove because no clear video is evident as yet. The side on photo lacks perspective of exactly what transpired.

Is it a coincidence that Malsi countries are winning more medals when games are played in a malsi country?

we need a sharp sunil gavaskar type among officials
To handle such cases. But we generally do not

Dutee Chand wins silver in 200m
M_Joshi

Post by M_Joshi »

India's protest against Bahrain in 4 x 400 m Mixed Relay rejected. Biased Jury or weak representation from our side?

Arpinder Singh wins Gold in Triple jump!

suryag wrote:Dutee Chand wins silver in 200m
She won 1st place among Asians . Silver only because these are the Afro-Asian games . She again pushed China’s defending champion Yongli to bronze .

Swapna Burman wins Heptathalon gold. This is gold no 11. Now we have bettered our tally from 2014.

Swapna Barman wins gold in women’s heptathlon . Incredibly brave performance as she has apparently badly injured her jaw (broke jawbone ?) in high jump and yet soldiered thru in pain to keep her lead in the rest of events .

Supratik wrote:Swapna Burman wins Heptathalon gold. This is gold no 11. Now we have bettered our tally from 2014.
how much more to go?

Few athletic events, Hockey, Boxing, Bridge, Golf, etc.

Team is doing great despite being cheated out of the mixed relay.

With 11 golds and 54 total medals already, we should blow pass the 57 in Incheon at the previous AG and maybe even the 65 in Guangzhou in 2010 with four days left?

Note, the Indonesians has surged into the 4th spot with 88 medals. They are playing the home field advantage to its hilt. In some ways, they are a competitor of ours as a major power in the tier immediately after the East Asian triplet.

We need to make 4th place a goal and get there.

Once ensconsed in fourth, we can make our assault on the top three once our economy catches up.

The truth is we should be challenging for the very top spot with our population and wealth. We need to make advancing at each Asian Game a goal. Otherwise, being haphazard lumps us even behind pretenders like Indonesia and Iran.

chola wrote:Team is doing great despite being cheated out of the mixed relay.

With 11 golds and 54 total medals already, we should blow pass the 57 in Incheon at the previous AG and maybe even the 65 in Guangzhou in 2010 with four days left?

Note, the Indonesians has surged into the 4th spot with 88 medals. They are playing the home field advantage to its hilt. In some ways, they are a competitor of ours as a major power in the tier immediately after the East Asian triplet.

We need to make 4th place a goal and get there.

Once ensconsed in fourth, we can make our assault on the top three once our economy catches up.

The truth is we should be challenging for the very top spot with our population and wealth. We need to make advancing at each Asian Game a goal. Otherwise, being haphazard lumps us even behind pretenders like Indonesia and Iran.
More than half of their medals are in their traditional sports.

May be if we held AG we could use bullock race, horse race, gilli danda, kite flying, bante (marbles), kho kho, etc to get hundreds of medals.

^^^ LoL. Kite flying with glass twine, super deadly! Seriously, we hadn’t hosted one since 1982. It is time we do another.

India defeats china 1-0 Women's hockey semifinals. Finals to be played against Japan (who have not lost a match yet)

Beebul you are thinking this wrong . We don’t need all kinds of sports . We need a few sports with medal density . Kabaddi should have 6 weight classes with smaller teams . We need some desi individual sport with 6-10 weight classes or variants . All separate medals . Don’t make the mistake of proposing 1-2 team sports where we spend 6 days flying kites for one medal ... that’s what we have with kabaddi now and it’s a waste .

SBajwa wrote:Few athletic events, Hockey, Boxing, Bridge, Golf, etc.
Squash - we won the team gold last time and we can shoot for it again in both men’s and women’s team. Sourav Ghosal wasted his top seeding in the individual event to only win bronze so he can make up in the team event .

Athletics has been impressive with 5 golds so far . Could have been 10 but for Africans blocking us - literally in one case . Pity that Bahrain were not disqualified - I’m guessing there was insufficient proof due to lack of videos .

How about Indian martial arts like?

Kalaripayattu.
Thang Ta (Huyen Langlon)
Silambam.
Gatka (Shastar Vidya)
Sqay.
Mardaani Khel.
Kushti (Malla Yuddha)
Lathi.

Bajwa Saar, with all due respect please stop coming up with sport names most of us have not even heard of :) instead tell us how you’d make a popular sport medal dense . Weight classes, variants , whatever ... think of team sizes too since you can’t sent 15 member squads for each without having to send hundreds of people for one sport .

Yes, I think at least one Indian martial art in different weight category should be included. The women's hockey team has a tough fight against Japan.

Athletics, Swimming and diving is where we should focus on along with various individual sports.
We do not have any men athletes this year in Discus throw (Vikas Gowda retired), pole vault, hammer throw and assorted other athletics events.

even sports like bowling and cycling.

Cycling has 4 events Cycling BMX, Cycling mountain bike, Cycling road, Cycling track.
Canoe-Kayak sprint and canoe-kayak slalom
Last edited by SBajwa on 29 Aug 2018 21:13, edited 1 time in total.

These games are some sort of joke. Indonesia had 4 golds in 2014 Asian Games and now they have 30 Golds, 22 Silver and 36 Bronze total of 88.

India finished at 8th position in 2014 and right now we are in 8th.

India’s day 12 schedule at Asian Games 2018.

On Day 12 at the Asian Games, hockey will reach its semifinal stage in the men’s event. The singles’ events in Table Tennis will also begin, where Sharath Kamal and Manika Batra will be leading India’s charge in men’s and women’s categories respectively. All the Indian players in Table Tennis will play their round-of-32 matches on day 11.

In Athletics, Seema Punia will be in action in the women’s Discus throw.

Squash event will feature India’s duo of Dipika Pallikal and Joshna Chinappa, as they take on Hong Kong, China in the pool match.

Athletics

Men’s 50 km: Sandeep Kumar – 4:30 AM

Women’s Discus Throw: Sandeep Kumari, Seema Punia – 5:10 PM

Women’s 1500m final: Chitra Unnikrishnan, Monika Chaudhary – 5:50 PM

Men’s 1500m final: Manjit Singh, Jinson Johnson – 6:05 PM

Women’s 4 x 400m – India – 6:50 PM

Men’s 4 x 400m – TBD – 7:10 PM

Men’s 5000m final – Lakshaman Govindan – 6:30 PM

Bridge

Men’s Pair Semifinal 1&2- Pranab Bardhan/Shibhnath Sarkar, Subhash Gupta/Sapan Desai, Sumit Mukherjee/Debabrata Majumder- 8:30 AM

Women’s Pair – TBD – 8:30 AM

Mixed Pair – TBD – 8:30 AM

Canoe/Kayak

Women’s K1 Single 500m (Gold Medal match): Soniya Devi Phairembam – 7:20 AM

Cycling

Men’s Omnium:

Scratch Race: Dilawar – 7:30 AM
Tempo Race: Dilawar – 9:35 AM
Elimination Race: Dilawar – 2:36 AM
Points Race: TBD

Women’s Sprint: Deborah, Aleena Reji – 7:50 AM

Diving

Men’s 1m Springboard: Ramananda Sharma Kongbrailatam – 12:50 PM

Equestrian

Jumping (individual): Final (Round 1) – Kaevaan Kaevic Setalwad, Zahan Kaevic Setalwad – 6:30 AM (Gold Medal Event at 1:30 PM)

Hockey

Men’s Semifinal: India vs Malaysia – 4:00 PM

Judo

Men’s -81 kg: Harshdeep Singh Brar – 7:30 AM

Kurash

Women’s under 78 kg:

Round of 32: Jyoti Tokas vs Paranwit Meesri (Thailand) – 12:30 PM
Round of 16: Amisha Tokas vs Nyugen Thi Lan (Vietman) – 12:48 PM

Men’s under 90 kg (Round of 32): Danish Sharma vs Muhammad Dhifa Alfais – 12:36 PM

Squash

Women’s Pool: India vs Hong Kong, China – 11:00 AM

Table Tennis

Women’s Singles (Round of 32):

Mouma Das vs Szuyu Chen (Chinese Taipei) – 10:45 AM
Manika Batra vs Nanthana Komwong (Thailand) – 6:45 PM

Men’s Singles (Round of 32):

Sharath Kamal vs TBD – 2:00 PM
Gnanasekaran Sathiyan vs TBD – 7:30 PM
Vadivel

Post by Vadivel »

SBajwa wrote:These games are some sort of joke. Indonesia had 4 golds in 2014 Asian Games and now they have 30 Golds, 22 Silver and 36 Bronze total of 88.

LOL I looked up Indonesia golds, they have got 14 golds in penka Silat , first time hearing about it :rotfl:

https://en.asiangames2018.id/medals/noc/INA

rhytha wrote:
SBajwa wrote:These games are some sort of joke. Indonesia had 4 golds in 2014 Asian Games and now they have 30 Golds, 22 Silver and 36 Bronze total of 88.

LOL I looked up Indonesia golds, they have got 14 golds in penka Silat , first time hearing about it :rotfl:

Check other medals too
3 Gold 2 silver and 1 bronze in sport climbing <--How do you judge it?
2 gold 1 silver and 3 bronze in paragliding <-- how do you judge paragliding ?
1 gold 1 silver and 1 bronze in jetski <-- I guess jetski racing?
2 silver 2 bronze in skateboard <-- gymnastics like competition?
Vadivel

Post by Vadivel »

SBajwa wrote:
rhytha wrote:

Check other medals too
3 Gold 2 silver and 1 bronze in sport climbing <--How do you judge it?
2 gold 1 silver and 3 bronze in paragliding <-- how do you judge paragliding ?
1 gold 1 silver and 1 bronze in jetski <-- I guess jetski racing?
2 silver 2 bronze in skateboard <-- gymnastics like competition?
Jet ski :rotfl: 12 medals shared between 4 countries, all 4 countries got a gold.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jet_ski ... sian_Games

they have used host country privilege to the max, while we only pushed in kabbadi and tent pegging.

with limited resources we have to decide what is the real goal
- to promote a healthy sports culture in the country
- or chase after medals at all costs using niche targeting

silver for duttee chand in 200m, behind yet another honorary 'arab' . she is the smallest of the whole 8.

And stadiums are totally empty not even token people! What is wrong here?

https://www.news18.com/news/sports/asia ... _top_pos_3

rickshaw pullers daughter wins heptathlon gold. for years her struggles were more due to an extra finger on each foot and no custom shoes.

Singha wrote:silver for duttee chand in 200m, behind yet another honorary 'arab' . she is the smallest of the whole 8.
It's not another. It's the same Nigerian fake Bahraini who won the 100m from her by a whisker too. Good to see Dutee beat Wei Yongli both times (100m and 200m) to win silver behind the African. And Arpinder beat Cao Shuo to triple jump gold. Wei and Cao were gold medalists in those events in 2014.
Athletics at 2014 AG
Athletics at 2018 AG

India to bid for 2026 Youth olympics, 2030 AG and 2032 OG. I am not sure if OG is a good idea at our stage of sport achievements.