Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Neeraj Chopra had a bad day at office. Finishes 6th.

caster semenya brutally thrashed the field in 800m w.

the CAR stans have definitely upped their game and reached USSR era levels or better.

Jinson Johnson finishes 6th in 1500m. Timings have improved.

ovein

Post by ovein »

^^ sorry for the stupid question, the above is a state wise medal tally of where?

The recently concluded Asian games I believe, where we won 71 medals in total.

Seems fairly pointless and misleading.

unless you want to create a north vs south vs east vs west divide
ovein

Post by ovein »

this table is wrong. ( e.g. hima das is from Assam, and it doesnot seems in that list. haryana won 18)

indian express has a better reprentation.

indianexpress.com/article/sports/asian-games/asian-games-2018-india-medal-tally-state-wise-5336769/lite/

Yes I know the table is wrong - I can name at least 3-4 people for some other states that are undercounted. But I'm not going to argue that. No one should. The table is fundamentally wrong and of dubious credibility, and doesn't deserve a serious conversation.

the table is very unindian to say the least

fanne wrote:the table is very unindian to say the least
But very DDM.

I didn't check the table data but if any one state has an outsized contribution then other states should study its methods to see what it is doing right and perhaps emulate those methods. this is part of analytics like any other.

no need to huff and puff about it.

It is clearly Haryana and Punjab. They have taken sports to the grassroots. As Sandeep's picture shows astroturf in villages and proper wrestling mats in villages. Now even shooting ranges in school. There are youtube videos on the same. Other states have mostly not done that.

India beat Pakistan in football semifinal(SAFF championship) in Dhaka : 3-1. :)

This is the B team.
M_Joshi

Post by M_Joshi »

Supratik wrote:This is the B team.
Yes Chettri, Jeje, Jhingan etc were not playing. It was mostly U23 team.
India U19 played France U19 few days back & lost 0-2. Not too bad considering they are ranked no. 1 & we are at no. 96 in FIFA standings. Don't think France sent their B team because other 2 teams in the tournament were Croatia & Slovenia.

India senior team wil be playing against China in an International Friendly on 13 Oct in China. Both teams will face each other after 21 years. China is ranked at 75.

World shooting championship results. Overall second but juniors have done much better than seniors.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_ISSF ... mpionships
nash

Post by nash »

Supratik wrote:World shooting championship results. Overall second but juniors have done much better than seniors.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_ISSF ... mpionships
I think overall we are third and this time we are much better than 2014

https://twitter.com/India_AllSports/sta ... 4848673792

India_AllSports
‏ @India_AllSports

World Shooting Championships | India finish at 3rd spot with 27 Medals
11 Gold
9 Silver
7 Bronze
What an amazing performance: From just 2 medals in last Championship (Granada 2014) to 27 now in 2018
Well done to the federation, coaches & above all the shooters
#ISSFWCH

Shooting prospect looking bright in Tokyo

China tops here too!!
They seem to be on a rampage everywhere

http://www.rediff.com/sports/report/coa ... 180921.htm

India's junior shooting coach Jaspal Rana has claimed that a 'tweak' in selection policy kept 16-year-old Asian Games gold-medallist Saurabh Chaudhary out of the national team for one year.

Chaudhary, the son of a farmer from Kalina village in Meerut, went on to win the gold medal beating a field of multiple world and Olympic champions in Palembang, Indonesia, in the process becoming India's youngest shooter to win gold at Asian Games.

"He was out of the national team for one year because the policy was twisted by certain influential people within and outside the NRAI (National Rifle Association of India)," Jaspal said in an interview.

The four-time Asian Games gold-medallist added, "Saurabh was the number one shooter in senior ahead of Jitu (Rai), who was supported by one NGO.

"Saurabh was disqualified from one of the trials due to 'so-called grip problems'. I eventually intervened, told a few coaches and the disqualification was revoked."

Saurabh's trial scores were better than Jitu before the Asian Games. World Championship silver-medallist Jitu, who has won a plethora of medals in top international tournaments before losing his touch, is being backed by Olympic Gold Quest.

Rana doesn't want his teenage prodigies to get 'carried away' by the money, attention and laurels coming their way following a string of overwhelming results.

"I am not angry but the thought definitely makes me feel bad and saddens me. They have a long way to go and are yet to see the bitter truths of life, the failures, which eventually make one strong," Jaspal said.

"As they set out to scale higher peaks, these promising shooters and all the stakeholders involved must be careful that they don't get distracted and keep working hard," he added.

The 42-year-old Jaspal, one of India's finest exponents in pistol shooting, has played a key role in moulding the likes of Manu Bhaker, Anish Bhanwala and Chaudhary.

According to Jaspal, it would be wiser if shooters are given access to money only when they are mature enough.

"Staying on top is really difficult. Young kids have to learn how to rise from failures, life will teach them all these lessons. Money should be given in a way they are not affected. The crores the govt gives should not be given at one go."

"They should get access to money once they are mature enough, till then keep it as FD (fixed deposit) in their name and secure their life."

"When you get carried away by money and fame, I feel bad about it, because I have seen people getting out of the national squad. You can check the record. I teach them to accept defeat in a graceful manner"

Referring to the controversy around one of the Indian contingent's deputy chief de missions travelling business class after the Asian Games and the ensuing anger expressed by some volleyball players, he said, "All of them are suddenly talking of business class-tickets and all."

"The change in their (young shooters) attitude, discussions on Porsche Cayenne and Maserati all of a sudden, I wonder why... the luxury of life."

"Look at (Virat) Kohli and (Sachin) Tendukar, they have sweated it out everyday to get where they are."

He lauded the National Rifle Association of India and government for helping with infrastructure, coaching, foreign training and funds, but wants the government to keep a tab on every penny it allocates, to curb misuse.

"Money is being spent on sending teams abroad, foreign coaches, but are you monitoring the money given to athletes for schemes like TOPS? I think it has to be monitored properly."

Teen sensations Bhaker, Chaudhary and Bhanwala grabbed podiums and headlines with their fearless approach, with Japsal, in their own words, playing a crucial role in their success.

And while the unassuming coach has his feet firmly grounded, he wants his shooters also to remain grounded.

"My appeal is to the parents: please do not interfere in the training programme, they need to fight the battle, it's my responsibility but you (parents) will be the biggest loser."

Japsal said the task only gets tougher now with rising expectations.

"Their performance has raised expectations, the government is allocating funds and private sponsors are also involved. We will have to repeat what we have been doing. Mind you countries such as China, Korea and Japan are not going to remain quiet. They are not really not happy with that, so only it gets tougher for us."

He credited the NRAI president Raninder Singh for the success of the junior shooters.

"This is not happening out of the blue. You are reaping the rewards of many years, the junior programme that was started by the NRAI president.

"During the world championship, he would order cake for all the winners. This kind of gesture is quite motivating."

India beat Vietnam 1-0 in AFC U16 championship.

India draw Iran 0-0 in U16 AFC championship. Iran missed a penalty i.e. it was saved by the Indian goalie.

India draw Indonesia 0-0 in AFC U16 championship. Move to QF. But very tough draw against South Korea.

Another young sporting talent rises up: 19-year old Sreeshankar Murali broke the national record in long jump, with a huge 8.20 metres. He jumped 7.95 at the Asian Games, where 8.24 won gold and 8.09 was bronze. His 8.20 is also the world's best u20 jump this year.

Rio 2016: gold 8.38m, bronze 8.29m
London 2012: gold 8.31m, bronze 8.11m
Beijing 2008: gold 8.34m, bronze 8.20m

Essentially, if he can consistently hit the 8.30m level, he can medal at world level. He's coached by Robert Bobby George, husband and coach of 2003 world championship bronze winner Anju Bobby George.

India loose 1-0 to SK in U16 AFC cup QF. Spirited play against an Asian leader. Overall they have done well in the tournament. Well played.

Yet another athletics record broken recently - Subramani Siva pole vaulted 5.30m . A lot of scope to improve this, since the previous record was 5.1m and he seems to be the only top level pole vaulter in the country. He should soon be at 5.5m with the help of better poles and smoother technique - which should get him at least CWG or AG medals. Gold at AG was 5.7m, silver and bronze 5.5m .

Women's world boxing championship will be held in Nov.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports/oth ... hip/291651

U-19 asia cup going on in BD.

India met BD in semis and collapsed to 172, raising high hopes in BD camp. alas they were all out for 170. :lol: :lol:

scorecard : https://www.cricbuzz.com/live-cricket-s ... a-cup-2018

to enjoy some rona dhona.
http://www.banglacricket.com/alochona/s ... 844&page=4

India doing well in Youth Olympics so far. 2 golds, 3 silvers till day 3. Manu Bhaker and Jeremy L have won gold.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/India_at_ ... h_Olympics

India at the para-asian games 2018.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_Asian_Para_Games

Saurabh Chaudhury wins gold in shooting in YO 2018.

3 Golds and 3 Silvers now!!!

Pretty good performance in the Youth Olympics. From no golds ever won before, to 3 golds so far, and 3rd position in the medal table.

I'm surprised no one's talking about the Sultan of Johor cup hockey. So far the results read:
bt Malaysia 2-1
bt New Zealand 7-1
bt Japan 1-0
bt Australia 5-4
Last game against GB. We've already advanced to the final.

The junior team is much better!!! India was 4-0 against Australia at one time! Then it was 5-2 for long time while Australia scored 2 goals in last 2 minutes. 5-4 with 29 seconds left! we made it!!

India has won both the pistol shooting golds so far at the Youth Olympics - men's 10m and women's 10m. The remaining event is team 10m . Hopefully we can win that too, and thereby corner all the pistol shooting golds .

Rank Country          G    S    B   Total
1	 Russia (RUS)	13	2	1	16
2	 Hungary (HUN)	7	1	1	9
3	 India (IND)  	3	4	0	7
4	 Italy (ITA)	  2	4	6	12
5	 Colombia (COL)	2	2	2	6
     Romania (ROU)	 2	2	2	6
7	 China (CHN)	  2	1	2	5
8	 Japan (JPN)  	  2	0	3	5
9	 Venezuela (VEN)	2	0	0	2
10	South Korea (KOR)	1	3	5	9
Jeremy Lalrinnunga's gold in the Men's 62kg weightlifting event involved a total of 274kg. The kid's 15 years old. The senior national record is 275kg. About a year ago, he used to lift 235kg. If he gets to 300kg, that's world/Olympic medal territory.
nash

Post by nash »

https://www.news18.com/news/sports/afri ... 05157.html
Africans Running in Asian Games Was Human Trafficking: Adille Sumariwalla

"I wear two hats and there are two ways of looking at it. My strong view is that the athletes are bought, used and thrown out by the Arab countries. What they are doing is completely wrong," said Sumariwalla

Sumariwalla, also a council member of the world athletics body IAAF, said further that these African runners did not qualify properly to represent their adopted Arab countries. "They are not given citizenship, they are given only residency, given fake passports, on the basis of which they are participating and once they finish they are thrown out; that's human trafficking. I am opposed to human trafficking and have done it tooth and nail in IAAF (meetings),"

He said the future looked bleak for those countries in trying to adopt the same methods and winning medals, many of them of the golden hue. "I have got that waiting period increased to three years.

They need to be given full citizenship and in places like Qatar the (country's) constitution does not allow that. Either they have to change the constitution or figure out how to include them," he added.

"In the Asian Games we won eight silvers and lost eight gold medals (to Africans). But having said that while explaining to athletes I told them we are done with the Asian Games and we should be able to fight with Africans at all levels. The next stop is the world level, so be there."
Good that some one has spoken about it, let see what happen in next asian games.

It means the hockey assembly line is good. Need people who can convert it to world beaters at the senior level.