Physics Discussion Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Physics Discussion Thread

What do you know? Remember this was posted here in Brf...A rare picture of Albert Einstein, Hideki Yukawa, John Wheeler, and Homi J. Bhabha....
Amber G. wrote: Reposting a photo - posted before in brf..

(Here he accompanies Albert Einstein, Hideki Yukawa and John Wheeler in Princeton, NJ)
Here it is being unveiled by Dr. Chidambaram (former PSA to GoI) at OYC building of DAE Secretariat in Mumbai.
(The original photograph has been digitally remastered and painted by Shri Kailash Gharat of BARC. This painting will continue to inspire the scientific fraternity).
(L to R) walking through Marquand Park in Princeton, N.J., in 1954 : Albert Einstein, Hideki Yukawa, John Wheeler, and Homi J. Bhabha....

A paper in Nature reports the discovery of a superconductor that operates at room temperatures and near-room pressures. ( FWIW: I am not convinced :( - I have seen earlier "claims" by the same authors did not pan out and earlier papers were retracted )

There was lot of excitement in annual March meeting of APS. Of course, if it turns out to be a valid discovery it will be one of major breakthrough of the century.

Evidence of near-ambient superconductivity in a N-doped lutetium hydride

It's happening... The Cabinet of India approval of the LIGOIndia project has happened! A gravitational wave Observatory on Indian soil. Wow!

https://youtu.be/1pn4c6anYaU

Slightly off topic: has anyone read the book American Prometheus

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Prometheus

The soon to be released movie Oppenheimer is based on this book. Seems to be a detailed one at 700 plus pages….

James Webb Telescope's New Image Proves Time Existed Before The Big Bang!

More on Stunning new images captured of the universe

Q: are we back to the Hindu Vedic concept of creation according to RigVeda.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

Tanaji wrote:Slightly off topic: has anyone read the book American Prometheus

The soon to be released movie Oppenheimer is based on this book. Seems to be a detailed one at 700 plus pages….
I read the first half a while ago and then never went back to my kindle… Physics apart what a multi-dimensional person he was and also the pre WW2 era how they lived in the US amongst new inventions and their lifestyles was an eye opener for me…
sanman

Post by sanman »

Interference and interferometry have been used for a variety of useful applications where no other solution was possible.

Interferometry has enabled us to map the structure of tiny molecules, and has enable us to image distant astrophysical objects like faraway stars. It has been used to disprove the existence of the electromagnetic Aether. It is even being used at LIGO to study gravitational waves.

Now someone has created a novel variant of the classical Double Slit experiment, which instead of using spatially separated diffraction slits, instead uses temporally separated slits (ie. separated by time):

I then wonder what the applications might be for such newly demonstrated phenomenon. What could we do with this technique? What useful things could it reveal?
sanman

Post by sanman »

S_Madhukar wrote:
Tanaji wrote:Slightly off topic: has anyone read the book American Prometheus

I read the first half a while ago and then never went back to my kindle… Physics apart what a multi-dimensional person he was and also the pre WW2 era how they lived in the US amongst new inventions and their lifestyles was an eye opener for me…
One of my favorite, well written article about Oppenheimer is from Ash Jogalekar - worth reading for people seriously interested in his biography.
Oppenheimer I: “An unctuous, repulsively good little boy”

xpost:
By *all* accounts -- This is a BIG deal. Not only these kind of projects inspire more young Indian minds to pursue pure science but also engineering etc.
The Indian government will spend about $320 million to build LIGO-India (BTW, India has also approved similar unbelievable amount for quantum computing R&D too over next decade of so.
(picture credit: Caltech)

LIGO-India will help scientists better localize the cataclysmic mergers of neutron stars, Two LIGO detectors can localize these events to within 100 to 1,000 square degrees of sky ..when you add in LIGO-India, a third detector, the localization improves to just 10 square degrees of sky. This reduces the area that astronomers need to search through to pinpoint the merger events. In actuality, with LIGO-India now approved for construction, there will be five gravitational-wave detectors working together in one network, further improving the localization of mergers: LIGO-India, LIGO Hanford, LIGO Livingston, Virgo, and KAGRA.
A good article is: Gravitational Waves and LIGO India

IITB i hosted a study hub for g GW Open Data Workshop. There will be experienced #GWScience mentors at the hub to answer queries...
A very good background for scientifically inclined people - from Caltech: India Approves Construction of Its Own LIGO
sanman

Post by sanman »

Amber G. wrote:What do you know? Remember this was posted here in Brf...A rare picture of Albert Einstein, Hideki Yukawa, John Wheeler, and Homi J. Bhabha....
Here's another shot of the same quartet from a slightly different angle

Here's Homi Bhabha with Neils Bohr:

Homi Bhabha, Robert Marshak, and J Robert Oppenheimer:

Big roster of talent in this one - you can see Bhabha seated near the back (2nd-to-last row, 2nd from right), and included in this photo are assorted famous fathers of physics: Paul Dirac ( whom Bhabha had studied under) also Werner Heisenberg, Edward Teller, Hendrik Casimir

Homi Bhabha and Paul Dirac:

Satyendra Nath Bose with Paul Dirac

^^^ Thanks for these photos.
You may enjoy some of earlier posts/photos of Bose, Dirac and some anecdotes etc (say viewtopic.php?p=2385851#p2385851 or previous pages.

Tidbit: I am lucky enough to meet (and and interacted) with some of these guys. Bhabha was a very interesting personality..(He did have many of his star students in many universities etc). Dirac taught us a Quantum Mechanics class (I was a grad student then but audited that UG class - very modest but very friendly - Dirac also visited India a few times)

Reposting:

There are many great physicist in this picture. At least three are world renowned and widely known. Can you identify them and tell us when and where this photo was taken.

Recently Nobel Committee released the name of all nominations (from 1901-9166) including those who did not win the prize. There is one in the picture who was nominated 8 times, another 4 times and the third, the most famous of all, was a polymath, physicist, biologist, botanist and archaeologist, and an early writer of science fiction but is perhaps best known as an Electrical Engineer.

(Photo Credit: American Institute of Physics - Segre Archive)

How many can you identify?
sanman

Post by sanman »

Hmm, dunno why the links broke

Homi Bhabha with J Robert Oppenheimer

^^^In the middle is Prof Robert Marshak. Photo, I think was taken, in Rochester.
He worked in Manhattan Project (atom bomb)..(Shock waves as a result a nuclear explosions are known as Marshak waves). Apart from High-energy physics, he also worked in quantum optics.

U of R around when the photo was taken had famous Indian Scientists CL Mehta and George Sudarshan who worked with him. (I knew Prof Marshak and these guys pretty well).

George Sudarshan missed the Nobel, because the famous paper which Sudarashan presented at the conference but Marshak did not publish it in time (Marshak was Sudarsahn's adviser) and credit went to Feynman (who did win Nobel for that work which Surdarsan did before them. (Feynman did not know about Surdarshan's work and worked independently but later acknowledged and gave credit to Surdrashan)

From Wiki:
In 1957, Marshak and George Sudarshan proposed a V-A ("vector" minus "axial vector") Lagrangian for weak interactions, which eventually paved the way for the electroweak theory. This theory was later presented by Richard Feynman and Murray Gell-Mann, which later contributed to each winning a Nobel Prize in Physics. Sudarshan stated that Gell-Mann had learned the theory from him at the Rochester Conference. Similarly, Richard Feynman learned about the theory from a discussion with Marshak in a conference. Feynman acknowledged Marshak and Sudarshan's contribution in 1963 stating that the V-A theory was discovered by Sudarshan and Marshak and publicized by Gell-Mann and himself.

Another picture I like (Picture is in public domain taken in 1930) of two Nobel Laureates.

The amount of fraud committed on ECG Sudarshan is stunning. Another undeserving dude is Roy Glauber of Haarvaard who stole Sudarshan P-representation (now known as Glauber–Sudarshan representation) and won a Nobel. India needs to recognize ECG Sudarshan in Physics.

Even Albert Einstein did not come up with E=MC^2. Same goes for Bose-Einstein condensate.

bala wrote: .. India needs to recognize ECG Sudarshan in Physics.
ECG Sudarshan was honored padma vibhushan (among other awards) in India. He is quite renowned (and honored) in USA too. I wrote about him and Glauber in quite details in brf posts earlier a few times. Please do read them (use search function).

I know the group quite well - since these guys worked in U of R. Even then most did *not* like this Glauber fellow. He not only stole from others (Like Sudarshan, Mehta etc) but was quite an unpleasant and dishonest person.

There was a nice article in Times of India (and reprinted in few other US papers) by CL Mehta about the affair (He moved from U or R , where he worked with ECG and moved to IIT Delhi where he was prof /chair of Physics Department)

Worst part - and this is *really* embarrassing to Nobel committee as *many* pointed out - is Nobel which Glaube got was *entirely* Sudarshan's work. As many said - Nobel committee had right to choose anyone they liked , but it did *not* have right to credit someone else's work to Glauber.

Here is an article by R. Ramachandran worth reading: Elusive recognition

C.L. Mehta, a former quantum optics physicist from IIT Delhi who had worked with Sudarshan on the detailed aspects of the Equivalence Theorem, had this to say: "If Glauber's work on quantum optics deserves the Nobel Prize, the work of Sudarshan is even more significant. Even in late 1960s we felt very unhappy when people used to refer to [the result as] `Glauber's P representation' rather than as Sudarshan's diagonal coherent state representation. Some people, of course, took a compromised stand by calling it `Glauber-Sudarshan representation'. However, it was Sudarshan who pointed out the general validity of the representation as against Glauber's suggestion of its applicability in special cases.

Thanks Amber ji. ECG Sudarshan deserves 2 or 3 nobel prizes. India recognition should be on the scale of Nobel prize, maybe they start a new award for many outstanding Indians whose contribution were ignored by Western Cabal committees.

Curious about what remedy someone might pursue in such a case. Since the Nobel committee is a private organization they are not subject to laws like what went down in Marconi v US.

Tesla’s Invention of Radio

bala wrote:Thanks Amber ji. ECG Sudarshan deserves 2 or 3 nobel prizes. India recognition should be on the scale of Nobel prize, maybe they start a new award for many outstanding Indians whose contribution were ignored by Western Cabal committees.
There is the Infosys prize.
https://www.infosysprize.org/

vera_k wrote:Curious about what remedy someone might pursue in such a case. Since the Nobel committee is a private organization they are not subject to laws like what went down in Marconi v US.

Hain? What about JC Bose?

vera_k wrote:Curious about what remedy someone might pursue in such a case. Since the Nobel committee is a private organization they are not subject to laws like what went down in Marconi v US.

There is no remedy but that one recognizes that accolades are not everything and may have prejudicial undertones. Sartre rejected the prize as it was given by a prominent ‘Western cultural organization’, in other words an org that was leaning to one side vs the other (Rest of the world or East).

In general, we all know that a lack of prize does not mean lack of contribution. Of course, we should give and prominently recognize other accolades – Kalinga prize or Gandhi prize.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cyrano wrote:
bala wrote:Thanks Amber ji. ECG Sudarshan deserves 2 or 3 nobel prizes. India recognition should be on the scale of Nobel prize, maybe they start a new award for many outstanding Indians whose contribution were ignored by Western Cabal committees.
There is the Infosys prize.

Does India really offer such prizes to international candidates, or do they only offer to Indians?

We seem to chase after everyone else's laurels, but don't have it in us to offer much of our own.

^^^ As I may have mentioned a few times in math daga ... but here is a list..
The SASTRA Ramanujan Prize is awarded annually to recognize outstanding contributions in the field of mathematics. Here is a list of the prize winners by year, along with their country of affiliation:
(May not be 100% accurate as I copy/pasted from my old notes.. but easy to check their site/wiki).

2005: Dr. Kannan Soundararajan (United States)
2006: Dr. Terence Tao (United States) (Have been mentioned many times in math dhaga)
2007: Dr. Ben J. Green (United Kingdom)
2008: Dr. Akshay Venkatesh (United States/Australia/OCI) (Honored in India by Modi when he was in Australia
2009: Dr. Manjul Bhargava (United States/OCI) (I predicted he Fields Medal win here in Brf dhaga years ago)
2010: Dr. Elon Lindenstrauss (Israel)
2011: Dr. Ngô Bảo Châu (Vietnam)
2012:Dr. Maryam Mirzakhani (Iran)
2013:Dr. Avi Wigderson (United States)
2014:Dr. Dror Bar-Natan (Canada), Dr. Alexandru Buium (United States)
2015: Dr. Jacob Tsimerman (Canada), Dr. Peter Scholze (Germany)
2016: Dr. Kaisa Matomäki (Finland) Dr. Maksym Radziwill (Canada)
2017: Dr. André Neves (United Kingdom)
2018: Dr. Peter Scholze (Germany)
2019: Dr. Adam Harper (United Kingdom)
2020: Dr. Carolina Araujo (Brazil), Dr. Ritabrata Munshi (India)
2021: Dr. Aleksandr Logunov (Russia), Will Sawin (USA)
2022 Yunqing Tang USA..

Here is list of ICTP Ramanujan Prize winners:
(The ICTP Ramanujan Prize, awarded by the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), recognizes young mathematicians from developing countries who have made significant contributions in various areas of mathematics) Here is a list of the prize winners of the ICTP Ramanujan Prize by year, including their country of affiliation:

2005 - Dr. Zhiwei Yun (China)
2006 - Dr. Wei Zhang (China)
2007 - Dr. Akshay Venkatesh (Australia)
2008 - Dr. Bhargav Bhatt (India)
2009 - Dr. Kannan Soundararajan (United States)
2010 - Dr. Kaisa Matomäki (Finland)
2011 - Dr. Elon Lindenstrauss (Israel)
2012 - Dr. Maryna Viazovska (Ukraine)
2013 - Dr. Amalendu Krishna (India)
2014 - Dr. Hugo Duminil-Copin (France)
2015 - Dr. Ioan Manolescu (Romania)
2016 - Dr. Alexander Logunov (Russia)
2017 - Dr. Oanh Nguyen (Vietnam)
2018 - Dr. Chenyang Xu (China)
2019 - Dr. Carolina Araujo (Brazil)
2020 - Dr. Sara Zahedi (Iran)
2021 - Dr. Zhiwei Yun (China)

What is remarkable that quite a few of the people who won Ramanujan Prize, went on to win Fields (Math's Nobel)Medal a few years later.... (Might see some of my posts in math dhaga)

Prestigious Infosys Prize is an annual award given to individuals in various fields of science, humanities, mathematics, and social sciences. The prize is open to both Indian citizens/ OCI's and NRI's. There are quite a few non-Indian-citizens but as far as I know all the winners have been either Indian citizens or people of Indian origin.

sanman wrote:

Cyrano wrote: There is the Infosys prize.

Does India really offer such prizes to international candidates, or do they only offer to Indians?

We seem to chase after everyone else's laurels, but don't have it in us to offer much of our own.
The prizes I mentioned are there. They will benefit from recognition by Indian media first.
Kalinga since 1952 for sciences. Started by Biju Pattnaik.
Gandhi peace prize since 1995.

Yayavar wrote:
The prizes I mentioned are there. They will benefit from recognition by Indian media first.
Kalinga since 1952 for sciences. Started by Biju Pattnaik.
Gandhi peace prize since 1995.
With all due respect, I have pretty close to zero respect for, and thus expectation for Indian media to cover this kind of recognition. Virtually all are ignored by ddm's ..Even Agrawal (Primes in P fame) was ignored by Indian media prior to front-page coverage by NYT and other Western news papers. SSB prize winners are virtually unknown/uncovered as far as Desi media are concerned. Even in Brf posts about them from me, say Ramanujan prize winners, covered in foreign press, go almost unnoticed.. (worse, often those posts are trolled)..

Most ddm (and sad to see BRf) are too busy trashing indian scientists .. propagating ridiculous CT theories .. Trashing good Indian Institutes , and their successful 'products' (see other threads - they are still talking about 'fizzle' in other dhaga (as if *all* indian scientists are not only incompetent they are dishonest too) ..
sanman

Post by sanman »

Right now I see India and US are about to sign agreements which include future scientific research cooperation.
One of the areas of scientific research that will be covered is "Quantum"

But "Quantum" what?
Quantum cryptography?
Quantum computing?

Q: Which aspects of Quantum Physics are of interest for practical application?
A: Yes.

I hate it when something is reduced to a buzzword.
sanman

Post by sanman »

The Indo-US deals being signed on Modi's current visit to Washington includes cooperation on various cutting-edge areas, including Artificial Intelligence, Quantum Computing, etc.

I was complaining in my post above about the "Quantum" buzzword, wanting to know whether what the substance of it was, or whether it was all just hype. I guess I was pretty ignorant, because some quick Googling shows that this field has been rapidly moving beyond the blackboard and mere science papers, into the real world of practical application and usage, even while the hardware for it is still being developed.

Not only is Quantum Computing rapidly increasing in high-end problem-solving, but it's even now being adapted to AI (ie. Machine Learning)

Here's a really nice primer on Quantum Machine Learning

https://blog.paperspace.com/beginners-g ... -learning/
sanman

Post by sanman »

I frequently enjoy the physics videos from Sabine Hossenfelder:

sanman

Post by sanman »

A new idea worth pondering:

sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

Room temperature ambient pressure superconductor may have been discovered (by Koreans):

^^^ Have not seen the above video, but from what I have seen (including looking at the arXiv papaer) it looks quite fishy. As a friend, who is in the field said - Most likely they may have found something which they don't understand and presenting without understanding much of physics or its a outright fraud.

Amber G. wrote: 09 Mar 2023 01:19 A paper in Nature reports the discovery of a superconductor that operates at room temperatures and near-room pressures. ( FWIW: I am not convinced :( - I have seen earlier "claims" by the same authors did not pan out and earlier papers were retracted )

There was lot of excitement in annual March meeting of APS. Of course, if it turns out to be a valid discovery it will be one of major breakthrough of the century.

Looks like this is making the news with reports from South Korea and China replicating the Korean results.

AmberG, What is the physics of this room temp superconductor? You can go into deep physics for me. No problem.
sanman

Post by sanman »

ramana wrote: 02 Aug 2023 01:00 Looks like this is making the news with reports from South Korea and China replicating the Korean results.

AmberG, What is the physics of this room temp superconductor? You can go into deep physics for me. No problem.
I've been following the story on T̶w̶i̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ X, and it seems to be ordinary diamagnetism -- that's what's been replicated anyway.

There doesn't seem to be any sign of superconductivity here.

ramana wrote: 02 Aug 2023 01:00
Amber G. wrote: 09 Mar 2023 01:19 A paper in Nature reports the discovery of a superconductor that operates at room temperatures and near-room pressures. ( FWIW: I am not convinced :( - I have seen earlier "claims" by the same authors did not pan out and earlier papers were retracted )

Looks like this is making the news with reports from South Korea and China replicating the Korean results.

- Ramana, Few comments:
1 - The above Nature article, is, IMO, quite different than the recent 'Korea results'. Recent Korean 'paper', IMO, as stated before, is quite sloppy. (Either the authors wrote about some ordinary thing they did not understand or is outright fraud)
No one I know is taking this Korea thing seriously.

2 - Roughly the 'high' temperature superconductivity is around liquid nitrogen temperature...( much better than liquid Helium etc.). but not room temperature. We (Physicists - general) understand this behavior pretty well. Recently (last 10 years or so), there have been many claims of superconductivity at ordinary room temperature but extremely high pressure (to be useful in engineering). I (and most other physicists) do not understand the theory or how it works as well as ordinary superconductors. Hopefully not too far in future someone will have good results (low temperature - say freezer) and reasonable pressure (practical)...if we understand the theory the progress would be faster, IMO.

3 - Various claims have been made in the past (including a few from India, where I have commented in Brf), some more credible than others, but extremely high pressure needed to see the results, make them, for the time being , hard to replicate by others.

4- India does have some world class condescended matter physicist/labs/Engineers and work is being done there.

sanman wrote: 02 Aug 2023 01:28
ramana wrote: 02 Aug 2023 01:00 Looks like this is making the news with reports from South Korea and China replicating the Korean results.

I've been following the story on T̶w̶i̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ X, and it seems to be ordinary diamagnetism -- that's what's been replicated anyway.

Running joke is - the sloppy paper has misspelled the word 'First' as 'Firs' and people are saying where is 'T'?

For fun - Guess which famous physicist is in this picture
sanman

Post by sanman »

Amber G. wrote: 02 Aug 2023 18:29
sanman wrote: 02 Aug 2023 01:28

Running joke is - the sloppy paper has misspelled the word 'First' as 'Firs' and people are saying where is 'T'?
And yet it's a very tantalizing dream -- to have room temperature ambient pressure superconductor. And this one supposedly promised superconductivity at up to 120 C.

What should also be noted here, is that all this conjecture is based on the newest theory for superconductivity: Quantum Well Superconductivity.

https://sites.google.com/nsm.uh.edu/qmb ... nductivity