Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

^^^ He should be sent for re-education at the high-altitude camp to increase his 'gati' abilities. :-)

A post analysis needs to be done on the achievers from India, as in rural vs metro origins to see where the money should be sunk for better results.

Found while googling for Kashinath Naik. No sunken chested SDRE, this one.

saina through to finals

just saw the ladies 4 x 400m final, the looks on the faces of the indian ladies was amazing
as for the crowd noise... wow! must have been audible in islamabad! ;-)

Bade wrote:A post analysis needs to be done on the achievers from India, as in rural vs metro origins to see where the money should be sunk for better results.
Its already clear. Shooting, squash, badminton, table-tennis, tennis is represented by players from metros while wrestling, boxing, archery, athletics and archery represented predominantly by rural people.

Bade wrote:^^^ He should be sent for re-education at the high-altitude camp to increase his 'gati' abilities. :-)

Siachin posting for a month comes to mind.

P Kashyap narrowly lost the badminton men's singles semis to the English guy, after a wrong umpiring decision at the end of the last set cost him the lead. I hope Malaysian world #1 Lee Chong Wei rips the English fellow apart in the final.
girish.r

Post by girish.r »

Lalmohan wrote:just saw the ladies 4 x 400m final, the looks on the faces of the indian ladies was amazing
as for the crowd noise... wow! must have been audible in islamabad! ;-)
I could hear it in brussels as well :lol:

Fantastic display of stamina!!

Suraj wrote:P Kashyap narrowly lost the badminton men's singles semis to the English guy, after a wrong umpiring decision at the end of the last set cost him the lead. I hope Malaysian world #1 Lee Chong Wei rips the English fellow apart in the final.
the english guy was Indian origin as well, rajiv ouseph.

SDRE ladies wining gold :twisted: ................koi video de de baba

Wednesday's medal prospect events:
Shooting:
* Women's 10m air pistol individual - Annu Raj Singh and Heena Sindhu, who also won the pairs gold in the same
* Men's 25m standard pistol - Samaresh Jung
* Men's 50m air rifle prone - Gagan Narang, Hari Om Singh
Boxing:
* Flyweight (52kg) - Suranjoy Singh
* Light Welterweight (64kg) - Manoj Kumar
* Super Heavyweight (91+kg) - Paramjeet Singh Samota
Table Tennis:
* Men's doubles semis/final: Sharath Achanta/Subhajit Saha

Thursday's schedule includes the men's hockey final, two badminton finalists, and remaining table tennis events where we have chances (1x women's doubles semifinalists, two men's singles semifinalists in different matches).

KrishG: Wow.
ps: No, I am not tearing, it is just some dust that fell in my eyes.

SwamyG - the dust cloud seems to be spreading! :P

James B wrote:Englandistanis are now whining about hockey penalty. From Al-Beeb
Acrimony over England-India shoot-out

England's men's hockey team are not impressed by the umpires in their defeat by India. This was alluded to in one or two texts and tweets earlier - if you watch Arjun Halappa's penalty, India's fourth, that's the one England say was against the rules and should have been disallowed.

"The way he dragged the ball for five yards, it seeemed the rule had been changed," is the verdict of England's Richard Alexander. "It was unbelievable. It was up to the umpires to stand up and take a call. We are pretty annoyed that there is no video technology. That one goal changed the game. We invested our lives into the game and then to lose like this really hurts."

For fssake , when are these wimps gonna take things in their hand instead of whining. WC Football ...same story. Shades of Pacquiness there.

:(( time: I demand Indian mid-riffs in the track. If Sania can show her muffin top, why not? Our artists and sculptors need new things to work on 8)
KrishG wrote:
at 00:29, there is Shree Yediyurappa look alike!! Or is it possible that he went there despite the churnings? :eek:

Pakiness comes from a sense of entitlement. If someone thinks they are entitiled to get the honors for whatever reasons and get thwarted then pakiness comes out!

^^^ What a great showing by SDRE wimmens. From 1947 to now, we've come a long way.
Too much SouthAsianwomenrock going on from the other side right now though

gimme an S!
gimme a D!!
gimme a R!!!
gimme an E!!!!
what have we got?
Rock On!!!!!

KrishG wrote:youtube=gds0oShjhDY
:rotfl: Look at the fate of TFTA wimmens at the end of the race

So CWG proves that -
Indians are taking Bharat forward along with the millstone of GOI around its neck.

hnair wrote::(( time: I demand Indian mid-riffs in the track. If Sania can show her muffin top, why not? Our artists and sculptors need new things to work on
It is tough to be jingo or nationalistic, if say our first runner ran the way you want. :rotfl: She was more TFTA than anyone out there.
at 00:29, there is Shree Yediyurappa look alike!! Or is it possible that he went there despite the churnings? :eek:
His "pottu" was so conspicuous in the entire screen :-)

Lalmohan wrote:gimme an S!
gimme a D!!
gimme a R!!!
gimme an E!!!!
what have we got?
Rock On!!!!!
All I can say is Chack De!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BugjEvoMQXk
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

Ok now some future perspectives. If we see the Medal tally of beijing olympics, I notice that United Kingdom = Scotland + england. so if v combine those in commonwealth then india is in 3rd position.

In 2006 Asian games, we finished 8th.

So if I add the countries above us in asian games + commonwealth that places us 11th. Add up Germany + USA + Russia + France = 16th.

But unfortunately this prediction is pretty wrong. In beijing olympics, united kingdom and australia were in 4th and 5th position, We finished 53rd.

so is finishing withing top 10 or even top 20 realistic?

I dont know if it makes much sense, doing such calculations but JM useless T.
AbhishekD

Post by AbhishekD »

It maybe too premature to project these results onto Olympics, probably we may do slightly better in Asiad, but Olympics maybe a little premature.

Our major accomplishments came in Shooting, Wrestling, Archery and weightlifting.

I dont know what the level of competition is in CWG in these categories wrt to olympics. I know China is a big competitor in shooting. About the rest, I dont know where we stand as a country worldwide.

Like US is a power house in swimming and track & Field, China in gymnastics. I dont think that we are a power house in any of the above mentioned categories yet. Once we get to become a major competitor in some of above mentioned categoires then we can definitely talk about getting assured olympic medals and medal positions.

CWG is a good preperatory events, but still does not certify that we have become a powerhouse in the world of shooting. We maybe getting there but only the olympics will show that how close we are.

KrishG wrote:youtube gds0oShjhDY
While I believe sports and their associated victories etc. are overrated, I do not deny the role it may play in motivating people, a positive energy. I enjoyed watching the race, thanks for posting. It was all fine until they pulled out the tricolor. :evil: damn, KrishG, you had to make me cry. Been almost 7 yrs away from matribhoomi and there is no chance of getting to visit in near term... even a play of Jan Gan Man lately makes me tearful. :((
Enjoy it India.

Damn...I am crying...most welcome tears of Joy, it's been a while for me.

archan wrote:
KrishG wrote:youtube gds0oShjhDY
even a play of Jan Gan Man lately makes me tearful. :((
Enjoy it India.
Okay I am going to make you cry so much that your infant is going to ask "aapko kya hua ji?" ; it is a slow video though; if you don't tear up in 2 seconds, change my user id.

Post by amdavadi »

Pretty awasome.....

[quote="SwamyG"][/quote]
I hate you. :((
Thanks though. Good I was not there in that stadium.

SwamyG wrote:KrishG: Wow.
ps: No, I am not tearing, it is just some dust that fell in my eyes.
I cried. profusely.

These daughters of India are worth all our tears. It is really heartening to see the entire stadium singing "Jana Gana Mana" with pride.

It is million times better than shedding tears for S-e-S fiasco.

The atmosphere in the grandstands can often make or break an athletics meet. Here in Delhi we had the full range, from a ghostly silence on the first two nights to the defeaning bedlam of the final night.

"When they've been here they've been brilliant," says Cram. "We had around 40,000 people in the stadium on Saturday and Sunday, and we'd struggle to get that in the UK after five days of action.

"At times the atmosphere was very refreshing - they haven't always understood the etiquette, but they've made a heck of a noise. At other times it was extraordinary. When India won discus gold, the whole place erupted. When they won the 400m relay, I've honestly never heard a noise like it, even at an Olympic Games."

Whether it was the face of Mark Lewis-Francis as he blitzed the final leg of the 4x100m to snatch gold from Jamaica's back pocket, Pearson's joy as she put the nightmare of the 100m behind her to take the hurdles title, or the reaction in the stands all around me as India's heroines stormed to that historic relay gold, the emotion was impossible to ignore, and impossible not to be touched by.

That, really, was the delight of Delhi.
- Tom Fordyce, BBC Sports

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 738540.cms
The closing ceremony promises to bring more razzmatazz than opening..!

All set to sing

Sukhwinder Singh
Shankar Mahadevan
SEL to perform
Kailash Kher
Zila Khan
Sunidhi Chauhan
Shaan
Rich Sharma
DJ Suketu

in total 2000 scool students, seve ral martia l art performs, light & musical extravaganza with laser show will set the night alight.

wow that 4x400 was one hard fight....I was expecting a facile win like shiny wilson, pt usha had given us in asiads earliers but this was almost down to the wire.

the way our third runner discovered a new gear in the last 200 was amazing...like a innocent looking maruti800 pulling the back the covers to reveal the ugly snout of a AL31FP bolted on the roof....!

Wow.. Thanks KrishG for sharing the video. For once I thought my eyes were on steroids! wow! can't believe it...way to go girls!

Gus wrote:
SwamyG wrote:KrishG: Wow.ps: No, I am not tearing, it is just some dust that fell in my eyes.
I cried. profusely.
Cry babies. :shock:

Where were you when the 16 year old won gold and the 21 year old won wrestling and then there was the other girl who won wrestling and simply answered that if she loses how she will explain to her parents in the stand. That was her pressure. The kids are making us proud!

[just in jest, this is indeed incredible moments]

BTW, KrishG's video @ 0:30 when they show Kaur, behind in the crowd looked like Karnataka CM yedi!

The ceremony will start with a segment called Agni, which will see a unique confluence of martial arts forms from all over India. Kerala’s Kalaripayatt, Manipur’s Thang Ta, Punjab’s Gatka, Silambam from Tamil Nadu, Gujarat’s Talwaar Raas and Naga Warriors with their machetes will all come together in a high-intensity 8-minute performance. There will be all sorts of swords, sticks and spears and spectators will be reminded of India’s martial art traditions dating back centuries.

“In the fifth century, Bodhidharma, a monk from Kanchipuram, travelled to China. He meditated for years at a cave near the Shaolin temple and when he opened his eyes, he taught martial arts to the Chinese monks at the temple,” said Bala, who has travelled to the temple and read the plaque there crediting the South India-born monk for introducing the martial arts tradition in that country. “Today we say Karate and Kung Fu, but it all originated here, you know,” Bala says, promising a feisty and spectacular segment.
RajeshA will be very happy with this :mrgreen:

Dilbu wrote:My local mallustan commie biraders are complaining that there were no islamic or christian art forms on display for CWG opening. I asked them pliss to paste a list of such art forms they want to see included. I am still waiting to hear from them. :D
LOL. good one indeed.
otherwise i am surprised why this has not hit mainstream media.
The closing ceremony will have Vande matram sung by thousands. :D Now how will the sekloorists chew this?