The Indian National ID Card Project

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Pranay

The Indian National ID Card Project

Post by Pranay »

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/26/world ... &ref=world

Folks,
Please post all relevant thoughts, ideas, etc. regarding all the ramifications of a successful implementation of this project here. Also, feel free to comment on the "path breaking" appointment of Mr. Nilekani to head this mission.

I for one wish him all the success and hope that the government enlists the talents of more such individuals in the future to implement other initiatives that have become bogged down due to politics or other extraneous reasons...

Admins: If you see fit, feel free to merge this thread with any other thread.
By VIKAS BAJAJ
Published: June 25, 2009

MUMBAI, India — One of India’s most successful technology entrepreneurs was tapped by the government on Thursday to head an ambitious project to give every citizen an identification card within three years.

The entrepreneur, Nandan M. Nilekani, a founder and former chief executive of Infosys Technologies, will leave his post as a co-chairman of the board to take on the ID card project. In his new job, he will have the rank of a cabinet minister, giving him significant autonomy within the government. Mr. Nilekani’s appointment is a big coup for the government of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, which has made a series of big promises about economic development and reform since it was re-elected earlier this month to a second five-year term. While many Indian executives serve on public advisory boards and committees, few have joined the government and headed such big public projects.

The appointment of someone with no political or a civil service background suggests that the government may be more willing and able than it has been in the past to tap the expertise of the country’s successful business fraternity in executing difficult endeavors, many of which have languished under career politicians and bureaucrats.

Policy makers see a national ID card as critical to improving the delivery of social services, subsidies and other government programs while also strengthening national security. The Indian government and outside observers have shown that the majority of aid earmarked for the poor does not reach them, and it is hard for the government to detect embezzlement and misuse of funds.

If administered properly, experts say a universal ID card could help ensure that most of the billions India and other organizations spend on aid reaches the people for whom it was intended. Today, Indians use a variety of documents to prove their identities, like state-issued drivers licenses, ration cards used for food purchases at government-operated stores and a tax identification card that is akin to the American social security card.

Many people here have expected Mr. Nilekani, 54, to take on a public service role. Last year, he published a book, “Imagining India: Ideas for the New Century,” that dissected a range of political, economic and social issues confronting the country. He hasn’t been involved in the day-to-day operation of Infosys since he stepped down as chief executive two years ago.

Mr. Nilekani will join a government led by the same party, Congress, that implemented most of the socialist policies that he has criticized for stifling the country’s growth and democracy in the early decades after India gained independence from the British.
Pranay

Re: The Indian National ID Card Project

Post by Pranay »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 703794.cms
The first step in issuing ID cards is building a complete computerized record of all citizens above the age of 18. It needs to be computerized so that it is accessible and it can be updated constantly. The task is being done by the Registrar General of India (RGI) under the home ministry, because they have the requisite experience after all, the RGI carries out the census every decade. In fact, this database is going to be generated along with the next Census, slated for 2011. It will be called the National Population Register.

The technical challenge is to create a tamper-proof smart card, which can function in Indian conditions. A sophisticated software called SCOSTA will reportedly be used for creating the cards. The cards would contain as many as 16 pieces of personal information.

This information will be stored in micro-chips embedded in the card and it will be accessible only to authorized users, like police officials. Apart from carrying personal details like photo, age, address and fingerprints, the MNIC will contain a National Identity Number, which will be unique to the individual.

The other challenge is to computerize the civil registration system across the country so that all births and deaths are entered into the population register.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

Could people who know talk about
a. What are the complexities involved in the project? Other countries, including technologically inferior countries like TSP, seem to have implemented it fairly successfully in the past.
b. Why does it need a cabinet level appointee, that too of the stature of Nilekani, to successfully implement the project?

I think it is fantastic that people like him are being inducted into the Government. I am just curious as to the appointment of Nilekani to a position which would have normally been considered a Jt. Secretary position in the Government. Also, we have a unique situation of a cabinet level appointee functioning under a body that has non-Cabinet level appointees (only the Dy. Chairman of the Planning Commission is a Cabinet level appointee, the rest of its members are not - Nilekani will operate under the entire Planning Commission).

Sridhar wrote:b. Why does it need a cabinet level appointee, that too of the stature of Nilekani, to successfully implement the project?
The first thought I had was that Nilekani's appointment is a good move by the UPA to make inroads in the nouveau riche business community.
George J

Post by George J »

Sridhar !!! Its good to see you post again.

My thoughts on this issue:
IT-Vity is merely a tool to enable this project. This is going to be India's version of the US Social Security Number (SSN). I know many a jingo who posts here has an SSN and know how DEEPLY this Unique ID is embedded in their lives.
From Wiki wrote:The first SSNs were issued by the Social Security Administration in November 1936 as part of the New Deal Social Security program. Within three months, 25 million numbers were issued.[3]

Before 1986, people often did not have a Social Security number until the age of about 14, since they were used for income tracking purposes, and those under that age seldom had substantial income. In 1986, American taxation law was altered so that individuals over 5 years old without Social Security numbers could not be successfully claimed as dependents on tax returns; by 1990 the threshold was lowered to 1 year old,[4] and was later abolished altogether. Since then, parents have often applied for Social Security numbers for their children soon after birth; today, it can be done on the application for a birth certificate.[5]
This is going to be a very challenging process. This task is ENORMOUS. We need massive reforms in our registrations of birth and death, massive changes in financial systems to actually amalgamate this UIN into our daily lives (what happens ot our PAN number?). We will also need massive reforms in identity theft laws.

Now my personal impression of Mr. Nilekani is driven by this drivel who wrote 4 years ago.
http://www.indianexpress.com/storyOld.php?storyId=71705

If he lived in a country where his own IT-Vity products would need to run by the govt standards of censorship, where "net that he connected to in his gleaming airport" was monitored 24/7 then perhaps he can SINGLE HANDEDLY execute UINI. But in a "vibrant democracy" like India, where politicians are ready to consume poison if a few more women get elected into Parliament, his IT-Vity CEOgiri is not going to go far.

I sincerely hope he is a pragmatic, humble, sharp and conciliatory when he goes about implementing UIN. He needs to act like a shewed politician not a CEO to get this done.

GeorgeJ, Its good to see you back. How have you been?
Miss you.
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

vera_k wrote:
Sridhar wrote:b. Why does it need a cabinet level appointee, that too of the stature of Nilekani, to successfully implement the project?
The first thought I had was that Nilekani's appointment is a good move by the UPA to make inroads in the nouveau riche business community.
It would require a cabinet level minster because given the giant scale the body would lack the teeth otherwise. This will require interface with multiple ministries, govt processes and bodies. The challenges and opportunities are enormous and I can only wish good luck to Mr Nilekani for the execution.

It would be more then a SSN.There would be a physical card with biometrics so it will be hard to duplicate. Biometrics will also ensure security. You cannot create more users then actual physical number and fake, duplicate multiple identities will be restricted. Unlike in current PAN/Voter ID card where a person can have multiple of these IDS.

The first step would be to make the process of registration of births and deaths a simple and widely known one.
The second would be to get these processes work efficiently.
Does any one know what the exact procedures are in place now?
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Thought I would post hese...i cna alsready see ppl debating the design,

Prototype under UPA I

Home ministry prototype:

I really dont see why there is a need for distinguishing features,height and eye color on the card when biometrics cover the authenticity of the person.Besides,MNIC had made it clear that retina scans wont be undertaken as it would be too costly and time consuming.
sugriva
Location: Exposing the uber communist luddites masquerading as capitalists

Post by sugriva »

Weren't Nikelani and his boss Murthy the ones to convince Vajapayee to back off during Op Parakram in 2002?

sugriva wrote:Weren't Nikelani and his boss Murthy the ones to convince Vajapayee to back off during Op Parakram in 2002?
They were experts in defence matters too? :eek:

I believe Gen Deepak Kapoor has done a basic course in computers and read and seen much on computerisation via presentations. He should an expert on computerisation of India, right?

Ex President Kalam has flown in a Sukhoi and so I take it he know all about how to use the IAF in a war, right?

While one can go gaga over Nilakeni and Moorthy for their contribution, lets us not make them some demi gods with sun shining out of their posterior!

RayC wrote:
sugriva wrote:Weren't Nikelani and his boss Murthy the ones to convince Vajapayee to back off during Op Parakram in 2002?
They were experts in defence matters too? :eek:
No RayC, the allusion here is that they were agents for interested parties who used the lever of "FDI and business to India will be hurt if India exercises the Mil option" to stop GoI from doing what was necessary.

Sanku wrote:No RayC, the allusion here is that they were agents for interested parties who used the lever of "FDI and business to India will be hurt if India exercises the Mil option" to stop GoI from doing what was necessary.
At last some sane voice. So now you know WHO is behind their promotion to cabinet level post.

Yes.

Sridhar wrote:Could people who know talk about
a. What are the complexities involved in the project? Other countries, including technologically inferior countries like TSP, seem to have implemented it fairly successfully in the past.
b. Why does it need a cabinet level appointee, that too of the stature of Nilekani, to successfully implement the project?

I think it is fantastic that people like him are being inducted into the Government. I am just curious as to the appointment of Nilekani to a position which would have normally been considered a Jt. Secretary position in the Government. Also, we have a unique situation of a cabinet level appointee functioning under a body that has non-Cabinet level appointees (only the Dy. Chairman of the Planning Commission is a Cabinet level appointee, the rest of its members are not - Nilekani will operate under the entire Planning Commission).
Welcome back Sridhar.

Yes. NID can be implemented without fanfare. Fanfare is needed most, when Govt does NOT want to do something and want to convince the world that Govt is serious about it !! IOW, if Congress MPs were at all serious about NID, they would have done it 20 years back. And they would have started in 2004 when they came into power and finished it in 6 months. If BJP MPs were serious about it, they would have finished it in 6 years time. But to hide lack of intention, a high profile person is given high profile post and drum beating is done all the way.
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Rahul Mehta ji,

"All are nikammas nothing is going to happen, everybody is a sellout... we are all doomed.." I think this should be the starting line of all the new threads. IMO. Going by the level of cynicism we are being subjected to :oops: these days. Govt. is finally moving on something which has wide ramifications, and here we are.. If Narayana Murthy and Nelekani (Kargil), Apollo Tyrewala.. or Anil/Mukhesh(Nuclear deal/Smooth transition of Govt) have the final say(and not a un/solicited advisory role which btw. reeks of Conflict of Interest from the get go to even a layman..) on whether to go to War, I would gladly join the "team" to call for the heads of Babus,Jernails, "SE"s and Establishment as a whole before the Netas.

PS: And I still believe Pakistan deserved a jhapad for Kargil if not the parliament/mumbai attack which should have/should be replied to in the same coin at Pindi/Lahore/Isloo.

> Heres something interseting , dont know about its feasibility or pricing

Samsung (and your local government) hasn't been shy with its plans for electrifying passports. Yet we still haven't seen video of its e-passport with flexible OLED display in action, 'till now. The 2-inch, 240x320 AMOLED displays a disembodied, rotating head in 260k colors and 10k:1 contrast when activated by an RF source reader. No details were provided as to when these might enter production but we have the icky feeling it'll be sooner than we want.
Jamal K. Malik

Post by Jamal K. Malik »

It's a pride & loss, says Pai
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Fea ... 703677.cms
Nilekani to head multibillion opening for Indian IT cos
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Fea ... 705398.cms
A billion smart cards for a billion population. It throws up a multi-billion dollar business opportunity for domestic technology players.

Cost estimate puts it around rupees 50 per card .

krishnan wrote:Cost estimate puts it around rupees 50 per card .
That would be a gross miscalculation. IMO by the time the user gets a functional National ID card and can integrate it with other GOI functions, forget about what non govt entities such as banks have to do, The cost would be minimum 1000 Rs per card.

If they estimate for and plan for another Voter-id card type project, then this project is already failed.

Like someone said above, if people see this as just a IT-vity project, then they are short sighted. I hope they think thru the purpose, stakeholders, policy interdependencies, system/business interoperability, operational infrastructure, end-user usage climate and usage patterns, physical as well as electronic security, identity-theft, and fail over and disaster recovery systems.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Some details of the OS standard being used for the smart card. As per the site, the specs were defined by IIT Kanpur.

Some links ...
SCOSTA: OS Standard for Smartcards

http://www.scosta.gov.in/

I really dont see why there is a need for distinguishing features,height and eye color on the card when biometrics cover the authenticity of the person.Besides,MNIC had made it clear that retina scans wont be undertaken as it would be too costly and time consuming.
Because biometrics if stored, will be on a chip on the card, which will require a card reader to get at the data. If a police officer stops you on the street and demands to see the card (or something similar), he may not have access to a reader. Hence the features.

The key to the usefulness of the card is how effective it is in ensuring that it is issued to genuine citizens and not be up for sale to Bangladeshi migrants like the ration card is. Otherwise the whole thing will soon be rendered pointless.
Also, I hope it is not made mandatory to carry the card on their person at all times. Other issues to look at is how is the access to the centralized database controlled?
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

None of the estimates above provided are accurate,krishnan...dream on,a blank PVC card cost of production is not less than Rs31.This is a OVC card with a smart chip embedded.ISO/IEC 7810 chips hold 16kb of data and will not cost anything between Rs150-230.Plus add the cost of a thermal print which is supposed to last 10 years(according to the MNCI website).None of the above estimates take into account the cost of bulk printing which will probably make it cheaper.

Also we have not accommodated the cost associated with the card i.e. overhead,infrastructure,employees,logistics,training.For those criticizing Nilekani.Just think,there could be some IAS babu heading this program,which will never be a reality then but a burden,so look on the bright side.

Obviously this project is not starting overnight,since critical changes to the birth/death registration system need to be computerized and centralised to the Registrar by subdivision to district authorities.I have witnessed a similar project initiated to cover only a small country of 6 million,they could afford to setup their offices throughout and it was a nightmare for a the first year.This will require local authorities to do the info collection and initial point of contact.

The major factor during the whole process will be PRIVACY and some strong laws will need to be introduced to prevent data and identity theft.It still is not clear whether the MNIC will eventually get rid of the PAN/Voter card.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Tanaji wrote: Because biometrics if stored, will be on a chip on the card, which will require a card reader to get at the data. If a police officer stops you on the street and demands to see the card (or something similar), he may not have access to a reader. Hence the features.
Boss, a cop should suffice with the DOB.If there is a reason to doubt then the cop should be able to radio in and check with his station or take you there to verify,which i assume would only be in the case where they have reason to doubt the authenticity,normally you cant play around with the pic on these cards as there are 2 pics.I have seen around 8-9 differne t types of ID cards and none of them carry such vitals.In fact even the E-Passport being issued does not carry such data.

Good posts by RayC and Rahul Mehta.

I did not totally understand the last para in the article. It seems to be totally unnecessary and adds no value other than some psy-ops.
Mr. Nilekani will join a government led by the same party, Congress, that implemented most of the socialist policies that he has criticized for stifling the country’s growth and democracy in the early decades after India gained independence from the British.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

SwamyG wrote:
I did not totally understand the last para in the article. It seems to be totally unnecessary and adds no value other than some psy-ops.
I think they are comparing the irony between the backwardness of congress in its first few years after independence to Nilekani's background of being a tech revolutionary.So it would seem they are opposite ends of a spectrum if their policies were prevalent during the same time.

mmasand wrote: Boss, a cop should suffice with the DOB.If there is a reason to doubt then the cop should be able to radio in and check with his station or take you there to verify,which i assume would only be in the case where they have reason to doubt the authenticity,normally you cant play around with the pic on these cards as there are 2 pics.I have seen around 8-9 differne t types of ID cards and none of them carry such vitals.In fact even the E-Passport being issued does not carry such data.
I fail to understand why you think this is a bad idea? Its a quick easy way to list distinguishing features that can be easily verified in the field without scanners. Imagine a nakabandi like scenario, where lots of people are being questioned.. its quite useful when the card lists the eye colour, marks on skin etc and the officer can compare on the street rather than wait for him to be taken away which involves calling a van etc. Given the resources that police have , its a cheap solution IT is not taking up too much space either.

The current Indian passport has the same information. Do you think that is unnecessary as well? I am curious to see why... privacy can't be an issue since if the card is lost, then the game is already up anyway. Driver's licenses carry the same information.. very useful to have distinguishing marks in an accident case as well...

I know it is scope creep, but I would like to see 'blood group' on that card. If room needs to be made, one can chop off 'eye color'. But that brings the basic question - what is purpose of National Id Card.

all govt provided IDs carry the same information on physical characteristics.

On a technical note, smartcard technology is obsolete when compared to RFID. RFID chip implants in humans should be fool proof when it comes to identification. Babies can be chipped at birth while newly naturalised or registered citizens can be chipped when they get their documents. :twisted:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microchip_implant_(human)

SwamyG wrote:I know it is scope creep, but I would like to see 'blood group' on that card. If room needs to be made, one can chop off 'eye color'. But that brings the basic question - what is purpose of National Id Card.
Also allergies.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Rahul M wrote:all govt provided IDs carry the same information on physical characteristics.
Thats where we need to move on ...just bcoz there is a current practice we dont need to continue following it without reason.And i am not sure which govt id's ur referring to.As far as nakabandi concerns then step up the technology where u can ready basic data on a person thru the no,so u don't need to have a portable card reader at all locations.IMO its an old practice and should be done away with.I mean what are u trying to establish by mentioning a persons height and eye color?? There needs to be a distinction as to whether this will serve as an ID card or a multipurpose smartcard as intended.

BTW as i mentioned earlier,e-passports have already done away with such information being printed on the PP.If the electronic verification number is scanned,all info shows up to relevant people.Anyway i guess its too early to speculate now,since the previous prototype which is being issued in the coastal states and union territories does not carry such info.

I agree with the bloodtype argument as it probably is the most useful vital on the card in case of an accident or emergency.

it was just by way of information, not for or against the practice.

that said, I really don't see a problem with it. physical description and specific identification marks do serve to confirm the identity with little effort.
And i am not sure which govt id's ur referring to
employee ID cards for example. AFAIK all of them still carry the same info.

this blood group idea while it sounds good on paper is not a practical one. what % of Indians know their blood group ? heck, how many know what blood group means ?

in trying to gold plate this idea it just might be made impracticable. for a start, keep it simple.
if need be we can implement modifications/improvements when the time of replacement comes in about a decade's time.

nilekani is also involved in a non-profit called egovernment. the day to day work is managed by shrikant nadamani, but NN has inputs and money(his own not infosys).

karnataka uses egov systems for all its municipalities. birth and death registration included.

mmasand wrote:As far as nakabandi concerns then step up the technology where u can ready basic data on a person thru the no,so u don't need to have a portable card reader at all locations.IMO its an old practice and should be done away with.I mean what are u trying to establish by mentioning a persons height and eye color??
I would agree with Tanaji here. Portable Card Readers etc., at the end of the day are electronic devices. Even the chip embedded in the card is only readable using electronic means. They can fail any day, for n number of reasons. And giving a portable card reader to every police man on the beat is next to impossible. Using wireless is again a cumbersome process. So the best thing is to have a clear photo, and some physical aspects (height, colour of eye, hair) etc. recorded. Finally, there should be some information in the card which can be verified using naked eye, and makes a tangible difference (for eg: height).
Jamal K. Malik

Post by Jamal K. Malik »

This $6 billions only project will more helpful to TCS,Infosys and Wipro then Citizen.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Jamal K. Malik wrote:This $6 billions only project will more helpful to TCS,Infosys and Wipro then Citizen.
Pray do tell me ... who in your opinion should be implementing this project so that they do not make a profit on this project ?
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Jamal K. Malik wrote:This $6 billions only project will more helpful to TCS,Infosys and Wipro then Citizen.

Even if it happens, the money will ultimately be coming to Indian Companies. I read that this project will give direct employment opportunities to 1,00,000 :) people. At the time of such harsh sun-heat(economic down-turn), growing a free extra trees to get shade is not bad enough, and even the fruit will be bore by the fellow countrymen only.

To hell with ID, or not ID. If spending 6 billion dollars ACTUALLY gives jobs to 1 lakh people, I am all for it.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

As some posters pointed out, I think it would not be possible to include the details about blood group and allergies in the card in the present configuration of 16kb.
16Kb would be around 16000 characters(if 1 byte/character is used) or 8000 characters if Unicode is used, I doubt if it would be enough for storing Biometrics, Image of the person as well as other details. I think we should use 64Kb to allow room for extra data in the card.

For example, we could have slots left for having the details such as blood group, allergies. That could be filled by any registered pathology lab/doctors office in India, for which has to be paid to by the citizen him self rather than govt paying for it. Govt could provide machines which read and write the particular data to these labs/doctors office.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

Looks like you have no idea about how this is going to go through, the IT expenses(including the hardware) would be no more than 15% of the total expenses atleast at the beginning stage where in we start with collecting the data. Most of the money would go in getting the data(training people to get data, data entry, paying the data gatherers and the people who administer the same) and as mentioned above in the 2nd post of this thread that activity would be done by RGI not TCS/Wipro.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8119070.stm

A little rejoinder from the BBC...

rajsundar: I had suggested Blood group; but not on the chip. Printed out on the card - if there is real estate.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

SwamyG wrote:rajsundar: I had suggested Blood group; but not on the chip. Printed out on the card - if there is real estate.
Yup the blood group is normally printed out on many driving licenses around the world.Beisdes if anybody has a impression that the card will hold all the info,your mistaken.The card can only hold limited data,it is the UID number with key cryptography will be able to query data on a central database which will store most of the information associated with it such as medical history,driving records,fingerprints etc....The technology is similar to a safe in a retail outlet where the owner of the safe has one key and the bank collection agents have one,so neither can open the safe without each other.