Currency Demonetisation and Future course of Indian Economy

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Currency Demonetisation and Future course of Indian Economy

My sincere condolences and prayers for you yagna sri jee. It is really sad when you see this greed in human nature especially at such times.

@Yagnasri My sincere condolences for your loss and empathy for the trials and tribulations during the time you most needed compassion and support. Our systems and lovely people can be absolutely unsympathetic and brutal to the most vulnerable

My experiences in hospitals and Doctors and India, has sadly been largely negative unless I have been able to find a feudal relation[sic] . It doesn't mean it's all bad or all are bad but my experiences have been largely negative except when I have been able to find an inside track. We operate on a relationship basis and if no relationship exists then you pretty much don't exist or exist only in so far as much as your money exists.

The first experience I care to talk about was during my mothers cataract operation. I admitted her into Ruby Hall in Pune. They were very prompt with the admission and conusultation process i.e. until they took my money. Thereafter, it went downhill. Nurses were past caring, doctors were not available and when they were they were abrupt and curt. Any attempt to seek epxlanarions on mothers conditions were patronisingly dismissed with 'You don't worry'.

Finally, I activated a very well known surgeon in Ruby who was my class mate. One word from him and the quality of attention and care went from terrible to excellent with attentive nurses, smiling doctors and lengthy epxlanarions.

Second experience: my friends mother was admitted to another private XXM Hosipital with terminal cancer. After, a few days, my friend discovered that she could source the exact same drugs the hospital was administering at at 40% discount from a charity. When she approached the Doctors to request self sourcing of drugs, they flatly told her she can take her mother some where else. Brutal, uncaring SOB's

finally, there are far too many personal examples of Doctors patronisingly dismissing my questions with a 'you don't worry, just take the medicine'.

The other thing I don't get is most Hospitals, they give you a Rx slip and you have to go around hunting and buying the medicines and then give to the hospital. Why can't the hospitals provide this service and include as part of the bill ?

Once again, I don't say all are bad but my personal examples so far haven't been very good. The one great exception was a GP in Coimbatore who went to great lengths to answer my questions about my fractured ankle.

My MH anecdotes can complete either the comedy or tragedy side of the ledger depending on ones POV.

rahulm wrote: Once again, I don't say all are bad but my personal examples so far haven't been very good. The one great exception was a GP in Coimbatore who went to great lengths to answer my questions about my fractured ankle.
Your entire post sounds truthful and familiar. Doctors who explain with clarity are a rarity.

Now let me throw a rhetorical question out: Would you pay more for a doctor who explains everything clearly and sets your mind at ease?

That's like asking would I pay more in a restaurant that offers water !

"owner of the hospital is now in the UK facing the consequences of a failed airline,"
Last I heard, living it up at a mansion while his former employees whom he "hand-picked, every one of them' starve.

Probably the only desi Billion(?)aire who had noooo issues due to deMo because he had long-since converted all his cash into immovable British assets to keep them out of the clutches of EyeTee, RAA agints etc.

At least the man ran an airline with superb though sometimes cluless service, and he sold a great beer. After 2 glasses of that at a rare dinner circa 2013 where I did not have to drive, I realized that my teetotaller reputation was facing ruin, and had to stop before the 3 candles on the table started looking like 16. Raise one's happy mug to that.. :mrgreen:

whatsapp.

Modi's diktats are confusing onlee.

If you withdraw, you get Rs 4500/=

If you don't withdraw, your wife gets Rs 6000/=

rahulm wrote:That's like asking would I pay more in a restaurant that offers water !
Yes but that is not an answer to my question.

chetak wrote:whatsapp.

Hindutva devious bania

chetak wrote:whatsapp.

Hindutva devious bania
will this Rs 6000/= be classified as "cash on delivery"??

I would patronise a Doctor who would not patronise me !
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

yagnasri, sorry for your loss. My condolences.
SaraLax

Post by SaraLax »

Yagnasri wrote:I faced serious problems from Nov8 to till date. My mother is in hospital at that time and since passed away last Monday. Friends and relatives helped me with cash. In the case of serious money problems, I used to have credit card transactions. But that is no longer possible as I can not withdraw cash from Credit card. Time to enforce e-transactions by law. Doctors and others can not be allowed do drama as they have done in my case. I thinking of writing to NM as soon as I am free from ceremonies.
Sir - Sorry to hear about the passing away of your Mother and the troubles you had to go through in this scenario. I pray that you will be able to come back to normal life quickly.

You sure should write about your experiences to NaMo and how brutal sometimes people in government/medical/law & order can be to the common man in even the most difficult of circumstances.

Please accept my deepest condolences Yagnasri. Losing your parents are one of the deepest trials we face. I pray for the Almighty to give you strength and peace.

rahulm wrote:I would patronise a Doctor who would not patronise me !
There was a personal element to that question. I am thanked time and again for explaining things to people in a way that no one else had done before. After a couple of decades of that I started wondering that if I am giving more than my colleagues in terms of value, should I not be charging more for that? But if in theory, people do not want to pay more for extra value, the effort that is put into that would be wasted. People fall sick - come to a doctor - they get something and go - no need for any special effort or explanation - just like government general hospitals.

There is a very simple way to test that - and that is to raise fees. If people get the value they want, they come back. If they don't they won't.

Yagnasri wrote:I faced serious problems from Nov8 to till date. My mother is in hospital at that time and since passed away last Monday. Friends and relatives helped me with cash. In the case of serious money problems, I used to have credit card transactions. But that is no longer possible as I can not withdraw cash from Credit card. Time to enforce e-transactions by law. Doctors and others can not be allowed do drama as they have done in my case. I thinking of writing to NM as soon as I am free from ceremonies.
Very sorry to hear about your loss. Please do write to NM and also to MCI and others as other folks have suggested.

rahulm wrote:I would patronise a Doctor who would not patronise me !
There was a personal element to that question. I am thanked time and again for explaining things to people in a way that no one else had done before. After a couple of decades of that I started wondering that if I am giving more than my colleagues in terms of value, should I not be charging more for that? But if in theory, people do not want to pay more for extra value, the effort that is put into that would be wasted. People fall sick - come to a doctor - they get something and go - no need for any special effort or explanation - just like government general hospitals.

There is a very simple way to test that - and that is to raise fees. If people get the value they want, they come back. If they don't they won't.
shiv-avare, one other thing is that many people aren't too interested in hearing the full reasons. I have seen it in my own family where if I ask some deeper questions about their medical condition and why doctor suggested a particular treatment, the standard response will be "what will we do with that info?They know what they are doing and as long as it works, I don't mind".

Please accept my deepest condolences Yagnasri Saar for your loss. :(

shiv wrote: There was a personal element to that question. I am thanked time and again for explaining things to people in a way that no one else had done before. After a couple of decades of that I started wondering that if I am giving more than my colleagues in terms of value, should I not be charging more for that? But if in theory, people do not want to pay more for extra value, the effort that is put into that would be wasted. People fall sick - come to a doctor - they get something and go - no need for any special effort or explanation - just like government general hospitals.

I have thought about this one before. I do like docs who take an extra minute or two and explain things a little better to patients. Adds a human touch, if I may. What I had thought is should docs be charging based on the time they spend for any patient..?? (After all its the time that matters) My premise was the same that if people feel better with some extra efforts by the doc then they would be ready to pay a little more, at least the well to do class. But then on the other hand, medical stream is not really a service industry. A lot of people may perceive it to be negative, I think. Its a huge gray area. Personally I am OK with paying little extra for little extra compassion from the docs. OTOH I would not want to keep a doc engaged with me and some other needy may miss out on treatment, just because I can pay and he can't. May be the docs themselves are better judges.

At least I prefer going back to the doc who explained about my/family member's issues in details than a doc who didn't. It also shows that the doc understands the ailment exactly and is prescribing tried treatment, or if he is speculating and trying out something and he tells it clearly, I feel little more assured about it. (Sorry to say this but I have a personal experience of a doc (a famous Children specialist in that city) who misinterpreted symptoms, prescribed totally wrong medicines without any tests for diagnosis and my elder brother had almost died in because of that).

the reason why you would want to know the condition in detail is because surgery may cure the condition, but it is upto the patient to prevent the condition from happening again. This can only happen, if they know in detail why it happened.

Yagnasri ji, Please accept my deepest condolences for your loss.

habal wrote:the reason why you would want to know the condition in detail is because surgery may cure the condition, but it is upto the patient to prevent the condition from happening again. This can only happen, if they know in detail why it happened.
genuine exchange of information is not a problem but many patients have become problematic and compulsive time consumers leading to the distress of others waiting to consult the same doctor.

a great many "internet educated" patients just don't want to listen to the doctor. They come with half baked "knowledge" garnered from the internet and refute every diagnosis of the doctor by suggesting their own "alternate" lines of treatment.

this usually takes up a great deal of time and in the end, it turns into a fruitless endeavor, wasting the time of both the doctor and the patient, usually leading to bad blood.

Increasingly, now a days, such folks are immediately told to leave and go consult some other doctor more suitable to their needs (and also pay premium charges for idle chit chat with a slick operator).

habal wrote:the reason why you would want to know the condition in detail is because surgery may cure the condition, but it is upto the patient to prevent the condition from happening again. This can only happen, if they know in detail why it happened.
There is also the exact opposite of that. Some doctors - especially nowadays - under pressure from corporate hospitals to ratchet up "statistics" of patients admitted and patients using hospital investigation procedures advise surgery for conditions where it is not mandatory. These people come - extremely scared and while they are reassured to hear that they don't actually need surgery many of them have been shaken so badly they end up worrying that they will get worse if the don't undergo surgery. Ultrasound reports are worded ambiguously to either encourage surgery or get a follow up CT scan done and the media play ups stories that tests can diagnose anything. A person who invests in a laboratory or diagnostic apparatus can advertize and people get needless tests done before they see a doctor.

Should telling the truth to a patient attract a premium? That is such a stupid question. It should not arise at all. But with medical college licenses being handed out to caste groups and and being allowed to run understaffed while charging tens of lakhs as capitation fees we are creating a culture where medical lies and half lies attract business exactly the way advertising half lies increase sales ("Get 2 shades fairer in 7 days")

Medicine in India is entering dangerous territory and our children will be made to compensate for the money that has been pocketed by politicians and private medical college administrations.

Demonetization has hit the money-making system of these colleges - but they will find new ways as long as the corrupt and the media control the narrative in medicine. Yesterday I put out an offensive Tweet calling Radjeep Sardesai a dickhead for a Tweet of his asking how Rs 6000 in the account of a pregnant woman will be of any use.

If you notice - ALL black money is generated from things where people simply have no other option - they have to spend and they have to pay. Food, water, housing, health, transport - every single one of these has the population by the balls. People may curse and rant about poor services and bad experiences - but they are caught like rats - they either cough up or get screwed. This must end. In medicine - a PG student who has to pay 2 crores for a seat will spend his life making up that money by hook or by crook just like the bus driver who paid 5 lakhs for getting selected will do what he can to make up his money. I think back with irony and realize that my dad paid a grand total of about Rs 150 a year as fees for my medical education in Pondicherry and for PG I got paid as a working doctor - not a single paisa as fees. The urge for "paisa vasool" will not drive one's ambition if one does not have to pay insane amounts for education

Karnataka is a hub for much of this. Our system needs cleaning up like nothing else on earth
RCase

Post by RCase »

Yesterday I put out an offensive Tweet calling Radjeep Sardesai a dickhead for a Tweet of his asking how Rs 6000 in the account of a pregnant woman will be of any use.
A prick like Rajdeep Sardesai and social leeches of his ilk are so disconnected with the trials and tribulations of the poor in India. For these social leeches hoarding mountains of black money (counted in the lakhs of crores), Rs 6000 is not even of any consideration.

wonder what the figures were in oct 2016 :)

ANI ‏@ANI_news 45m45 minutes ago

Eight core Industrial sectors record growth of 4.9% in November 2016 as against 0.6% in same month of the previous year.

5 replies 112 retweets 103 likes

Eight core industrial sectors growth slowed to 4.9 percent in November 2016 as compared to 6.6 percent in October 2016-ANI

Eight core industries grow 4.9% in November
Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/art ... aign=cppst

NEW DELHI: India’s core sector continued to grow in November albeit the pace of growth was slower than in October amid concerns related to demonetization.

The eight infrastructure sectors grew 4.9% in November compared with 6.6% growth in October, data released by commerce and industry ministry on Monday showed.

Among the eight sectors that make up the core sector, which itself has a 38% weight in the Index of Industrial Production (IIP), electricity production grew the fastest at 10.2%.

The sharpest fall in output expansion was seen in refinery which grew 2% from 15.1% in October. The pace of steel output expansion also slowed to 5.6% from 16.9% in the previous month. A similar trend was observed in cement, whose output rose a mere 0.5% after a sharp 6.2% rise last month.

Fertiliser output rose 2.4% in November, faster than the October growth of 0.8%. Coal production rose after three continuous months of decline and was 6.4% in the month.

Crude oil and natural gas were the two sectors where production continued to fall and the declines were 5.4% and 1.7%, respectively.

And other than refinery sector and steel, cement all other sectors are showing growth.

Just returned from Mahabaleshwar. Bought Rs 80 worth chana and chikki worth Rs 160 from different shops using payTM. Lunch Rs 350 using a card.

Tourist taxi Rs 1100, MSRTC red rattler panchgani mahabaleshwar to and fro bus fares Rs 46 Strawberry's, carrots and radish Rs 60 from a street vendor, Strawberry cream and ice cream concoction Rs 120 using cash. Cash is still king.

Poor explaining is not limited to Doctors. Lawyers are the same - "Just do as I say" I have, another theory; these professions feel their authority being questioned if too many questions are asked. I don't know.

Cashless green shoots. ? 25% transactions in market cashless

>>Poor explaining is not limited to Doctors. Lawyers are the same - "Just do as I say" I have, another theory; these professions feel their authority being questioned if too many questions are asked. I don't know.

Communication in general is not well taught in India.. in the US even a small kid learns to present in a group...show and tell etc...not the case in India...Med schools in India don't teach anything about communication or business aspects of medicine....to make matters worse patients in most teaching hospitals are really poor rural folks who deify doctors... i remember patients relatives trying to touch my feet when I was a 21 year old med student who looked like a teenager with acne...

there is a massive emphasis on communication in the american medical education system...I know some residency programs incorporate even acting training for residents....professional actors pose as patients and give feedback to doctors for OSCEs...even the exam usmle step2 cs is based largely on communication and interpersonal skills...

so even the most incompetent medical doctor committing borderline quackery in US will make it seem that he is giving u stellar treatment...while an excellent Indian surgeon having performed a successful whipples operation will seem he is a douchebag ...

Yagnasri garu, I am deeply sorry for your loss. Losing a parent is one of the most painful situations one faces in life. Hope you find the strength to navigate this tough time.
kiranA

Post by kiranA »

Forumites,

Long time lurker. Generally content to be lurker and used to visit the forum to enjoy the excitement of ISRO launch or missile test. But with demonetization and US election I found myself disagreeing with many posts and decided to throw my hat in. Anyway without much ado here is my first post :

I studied the RBI statistics (bulletin.rbi.org.in) and found to my surprise the electronic transaction have actually collapsed following DeMon. I am talking about massive 30-40% decline here. The only explanation is that economy took a massive hit. Here is some data :

RTGS (big value transaction), Oct value - 97,554 Bn, Nov Value - 78,479.2BN
Credit Cards and Debit Cards at PoS (not ATM), Oct Value - 510 Bn, Nov Value - 352.4 Bn

Mobile payments holding up but too small overall to matter
Mobile payments, Oct value - 60 bn, Nov value - 59 bn

Also in my opinion banks will take a hit - with their payment revenue collapsing, very poor loan offtake, govt pressure to reduce lending rates, worser NPA as business struggle to repay loans.
EswarPrakash

Post by EswarPrakash »

kiranA wrote: RTGS (big value transaction), Oct value - 97,554 Bn, Nov Value - 78,479.2BN
Credit Cards and Debit Cards at PoS (not ATM), Oct Value - 510 Bn, Nov Value - 352.4 Bn

Mobile payments holding up but too small overall to matter
Mobile payments, Oct value - 60 bn, Nov value - 59 bn

Also in my opinion banks will take a hit - with their payment revenue collapsing, very poor loan offtake, govt pressure to reduce lending rates, worser NPA as business struggle to repay loans.
Where exactly did you get the November data from? Checked the "Payment System Indicators" for November and December. There is no November or December data in it.
kiranA

Post by kiranA »

Go here https://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_Press ... prid=38779 . click on provisional data for november.

Doctor -patient communication is both simple and complex at the same time.In general truth must be told to the patient and full explanation must be given but many different variables come into play. Let me explain with some examples. A person who is demented, or mentally unable to comprehend due to medical reasons obviously can not be told about his/her condition.Many times a person is depressed or have a personality that per the doctor's assessment may not be able to tolerate the bland truth and seriousness of his/her condition.Than it is not in the patient's best interest to give a full explanation to him/her. If a next of kin is available they have to be informed.Than there is the question of time constraint on the doctor's part and interest of other patients also have to be considered as discussed earlier on this thread.

One important point though every person does deserve a proper explanation of his/her condition regardless of how busy the doctor is or what is paid to the doctor. Of course the time taken will depend on the seriousness and complexity of the medical condition.

Agree with chetak about these internet warriors. I am all for a informed patient but medicine is too complex and vast even for a physician to understand completely who is in the field his whole life let alone a lay person who does not even know the basics. In general beyond a point it will make the person more confused and is not helpful at all.

This is OT. If shiv wants to start a new thread about medical issues will be happy to contribute.

Yagnasari Ji,

Please accept my condolences. May Waheguru gave eternal peace to the departed soul!

gakakkad wrote:>>Poor explaining is not limited to Doctors. Lawyers are the same - "Just do as I say" I have, another theory; these professions feel their authority being questioned if too many questions are asked. I don't know.

Communication in general is not well taught in India.. in the US even a small kid learns to present in a group...show and tell etc...not the case in India...Med schools in India don't teach anything about communication or business aspects of medicine....to make matters worse patients in most teaching hospitals are really poor rural folks who deify doctors... i remember patients relatives trying to touch my feet when I was a 21 year old med student who looked like a teenager with acne...

there is a massive emphasis on communication in the american medical education system...I know some residency programs incorporate even acting training for residents....professional actors pose as patients and give feedback to doctors for OSCEs...even the exam usmle step2 cs is based largely on communication and interpersonal skills...

so even the most incompetent medical doctor committing borderline quackery in US will make it seem that he is giving u stellar treatment...while an excellent Indian surgeon having performed a successful whipples operation will seem he is a douchebag ...

d0nt disagree with the post with some quibbles,

In India,there are many who do good job silently explaining them without much ado. bad cases stigmatise many good docs.

same in usa with a twist--it is big thing in medical field about communication. upwards of 90% medico legal cases is due to communication issues.hence they need to document "hard evidence"that they talked to protect themselves. many a time docs escape as many patients don't bother.
it is the danda in the mush which makes medics to communicate. still huge number of mistakes including overdoing things occur.

There is also the exact opposite of that. Some doctors - especially nowadays - under pressure from corporate hospitals to ratchet up "statistics" of patients admitted and patients using hospital investigation procedures advise surgery for conditions where it is not mandatory. These people come - extremely scared and while they are reassured to hear that they don't actually need surgery many of them have been shaken so badly they end up worrying that they will get worse if the don't undergo surgery. Ultrasound reports are worded ambiguously to either encourage surgery or get a follow up CT scan done and the media play ups stories that tests can diagnose anything. A person who invests in a laboratory or diagnostic apparatus can advertize and people get needless tests done before they see a doctor.

Should telling the truth to a patient attract a premium? That is such a stupid question. It should not arise at all. But with medical college licenses being handed out to caste groups and and being allowed to run understaffed while charging tens of lakhs as capitation fees we are creating a culture where medical lies and half lies attract business exactly the way advertising half lies increase sales ("Get 2 shades fairer in 7 days")

Medicine in India is entering dangerous territory and our children will be made to compensate for the money that has been pocketed by politicians and private medical college administrations.

Demonetization has hit the money-making system of these colleges - but they will find new ways as long as the corrupt and the media control the narrative in medicine. Yesterday I put out an offensive Tweet calling Radjeep Sardesai a dickhead for a Tweet of his asking how Rs 6000 in the account of a pregnant woman will be of any use.

If you notice - ALL black money is generated from things where people simply have no other option - they have to spend and they have to pay. Food, water, housing, health, transport - every single one of these has the population by the balls. People may curse and rant about poor services and bad experiences - but they are caught like rats - they either cough up or get screwed. This must end. In medicine - a PG student who has to pay 2 crores for a seat will spend his life making up that money by hook or by crook just like the bus driver who paid 5 lakhs for getting selected will do what he can to make up his money. I think back with irony and realize that my dad paid a grand total of about Rs 150 a year as fees for my medical education in Pondicherry and for PG I got paid as a working doctor - not a single paisa as fees. The urge for "paisa vasool" will not drive one's ambition if one does not have to pay insane amounts for education

Karnataka is a hub for much of this. Our system needs cleaning up like nothing else on earth

Hatts of for your words, you are so right.
I think the demonitization has probably done more bad then good. But still support this bold descision. Even if it is a mistake, it is a mistake in the right direction. There is a great opportunity for Namo, to clean up the medical business, fake drugs, fake degrees, wrong advice etc etc.

kiranA wrote:Go here https://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_Press ... prid=38779 . click on provisional data for november.
as far as I can tell, Nov data for POS is from 4 banks.

KiranA wrote:
I studied the RBI statistics (bulletin.rbi.org.in) and found to my surprise the electronic transaction have actually collapsed following DeMon. I am talking about massive 30-40% decline here. The only explanation is that economy took a massive hit.
I think one needs to look at previous years and see if seasonal variation needs to be taken into account.

From Spinster:
There are excellent facilities at Sankara Eye foundation ( for which family raises funds in US)
( please not be confused with Sankara Netralaya)

There are hospitals at Coimbatore TN, Shimoga Karnataka, Guntur Hyderabad, Anand Gujrat,
Ludhiana Punjab, coming up soon in Navi Mumbai, Hyderabad, Indore MP

Please post so that people can avail free quality care especially easy operation relatively speaking like cataract
Thanks in advance and Happy New year

kiranA wrote:
RTGS (big value transaction), Oct value - 97,554 Bn, Nov Value - 78,479.2BN
I was amused by a news item in the Economic Times 2-3 weeks ago . that credit card companies were worried because although "overall numbers" of transactions were up the total value was down because people were making small payments for groceries and medicines and not big ticket purchases.

I was amused in a philosophical sense because for the people and companies who are accustomed to making money - the slighter sign that money flow is changing is cause for fear anxiety and gloom. This is so so different from aam Abdul whom demonetization was supposed to benefit. My friends who talk about the stock market are the same - all they are interested in is in the movement because they can make money from movement. No connection with economy fundamentals - just a greedy eye on how my profits will go down and I am such an important part of the economy that if I go down the country goes down

Healthcare as a service industry is rotten everywhere., more so in India.

My father passed away in India in worst circumstances., not because of being wanted to be cared but because of leeches in the system who would want to make off with whatever he had as vultures. Right from the nurse to the hospital administrator.

Let me hasten., some doctors and nurses were good. My issue was with the rest of the nursing staff and the hospital administrator. They will not take checks. They will not take debit cards. They wanted only cash and when my father was in hospital., my role was to arrange for the cash in the morning by going to the bank and withdrawing from ATMs and depositing in the hospital by standing in a queue. Then go and wait for the doctor to do his rounds to get a status on my father. After that, chase down the administrator to get a bill estimate so that it can be paid.

At one stage I wanted to throw both the nurse administrator and the hospital administrator from the 5th floor of the hospital.

I did not have a problem with the process., as long as it was straightforward indicating the amount we need to pay and opening up payment options. Is there a perverse pleasure taken in treating people poorly?

Problem is with hospital providing medicines is two front. First of all, people do not trust the hospitals for "right charging" the medicines. Either the medicines are too costly (the hospital is trying to make a significant mark up on it) or overly prescribed but underused medicines. This is skimming off the patients., since it is understood that they are caught between the rock and the cliff.

The doctors are generally overwhelmed., they end up being taking huge number of patients. There should be a limit to it. At the same time., there is no professionalism among the nursing staff. Actually the labour problem is not only with nurses., it is seen in every sector where "hard work" is given a short shrift. The nursing staff does 8 hour shift in one hospital and goes to another hospital to do another 8 hour shift., they make more money that way and their quality of care giving naturally suffers.

And yes., daktaar'ji - I would pay a premium to a doctor who does right diagnosis and explains the issue. But then there are several 'reputed' doctors who are charlatans themselves. My father had cervical spondolysis in his 50s and he was given epilepsy drugs for a whole year. Of course he did not respond to any of epilepsy drugs (he had no history of epilepsy prior to 50s) and then the doctor made a profound suggestion that my father has a rare form of epilepsy called some Lennox Syndrome. The drugs were imported for my father. He bankrupted himself - I was too young to realize all this.

It was later with a ENT friend of my cousin (who intervened) who recommended an x-ray that he was diagonized with cervical spondolysis of neck and recommended to do some yoga and stretches. In 3- months he was off medication. My cousin who went on to become a cardiologist later pointed out that the "Lennox Syndrome" is generally diagonized in children.

My biggest gripe with DeMo is that all hospitals public/private should have been mandated to accept e-Payments with a email for registering complains against erring hospitals.

*The epilepsy drug which was prescribed for lennox syndrome was a rufinimide.

krisna wrote: same in usa with a twist--it is big thing in medical field about communication. upwards of 90% medico legal cases is due to communication issues.
snahata, gakakkad and other fellow vaids. Please permit me to go way off topic on the subject of doc communication. A medical insurance journal in the UK had many stories to illustrate that extremely competent doctors who were poor communicators often got tangled in medicolegal cases while good communicators could get away with murder.

Here in India I have had patients with diabetic gangrene of a leg referred to me almost at the point of amputation by GPs who were so popular that the patients, at the end of a long treatment session under me would thank me for for my work but say that their GP saved their leg even though he had waited until it was almost too late. :rotfl:

With the propensity for crowds to riot and smash hospital property in the event of a sudden death I recalled that we as doctors are taught to respond immediately with resuscitation if a patient is brought unconscious, not breathing and with no heartbeat. No time is wasted in conversation or communication because, we are taught "Every second counts". But in India a failed resuscitation for a patient for who it is already too late may result in a mini riot. So in fact doctors who simply waste time telling the crowd how bad things look and how the person has a very dangerous condition and how it may not be possible to save him often get praised as doctors who knew the diagnosis - because he predicted death. Those who actually start resuscitation without time wasting explanations get blamed for giving "wrong injections". Ironic - but culture plays a huge role in patient attitudes. All of us doctors - and I mean all of us are taught to be America ready the day we graduate. None of us are India ready. Indian parents pay lakhs and crores to make their children America ready doctors. Back in my training time it was just changing from UK ready to America ready - but it was always that way and still is that way. No one wants to point out how naked the emperor is.

No more OT.