Running Poll on DeMo Sentiment

What is your opinion of the sentiment in the country regarding DeMo (You can change your vote daily)

Poll ended at 30 Jan 2017 16:31

1) Strongly positive
54%
2) Positive
32%
3) Neutral
7%
4) Negative
4%
5) Strongly negative
4%

Total votes: 168

Running Poll on DeMo Sentiment

Daily updatable poll on sentiment in the country.Something akin to our GJP during elections 2014.
Last edited by Mukesh.Kumar on 15 Dec 2016 17:06, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Running Poll on DeMo Sentiment

Dear Admins/ Fellow BRFites,

I would like to start a daily updatable poll on the sentiment in the country surrounding the De-Mo exercise. You can rate the sentiment that you feel (on ground, in media, social media) and rate on a score of 5 to 1. Daily will be taking a snapshot of votes polled between 2300 hrs and 2400 hrs IST. This may not be the perfect method as most of us in BRF are slightly pro De-Mo, but at least provide a rough metric over time on how mood changes. Something akin to our GJP during elections 2014.

In case anyone feels that between two days they have changed their mood, then they can add a comment to why they chenged their opinion. Verbatim descriptions of anecdotes would make this very rich.

Request to Admins- Could we run this thread till end January? Also, can me make this a sticky? Or could we merge this into some other thread?
saadhak

Post by saadhak »

I think the trend of the public mood is heading towards fatigue. One example is an Uber driver complaining he does not have cash to fill diesel. Another example is frustration that builds up when people run from one ATM to another.
The point being made is they support demonetization, but its been 5 weeks now and the cash situation at ATMs has not improved.
Also, virtual absence of the Rs 500 note even after 5 weeks have gone has no explanation.
The 2000 note is available, but of limited use in the wallet for transactions lesser than Rs 500. This is where the absence of the 500 note is hurting.

Update: 15th Dec'16

As of today evening 2300 hrs IST we have 33 votes. To keep a running tab I am using a composite score for Net Sentiment= (Strongly positive x2+ Positive x 1- Negative x1= Strongly Negative x2)/ Total number of votes.

Today's score is 1.03 (Still on positive). Do feel free to come back and amend your votes should you sense any change in atmosphere outside. Will update graph every night at 2300 hrs IST

maxratul

Post by maxratul »

I have a take on this which I would like to share:

Every political move has to tell a story to the electorate. The BJP campaign for the general election told a particular story, so did the intolerance campaign, Anna Hazare etc etc. What is the political story that the BJP is trying to sell here -
a. Namo is incorruptible
b. Serious against black money offenders
c. Man with a vision, building a modern economy

As far as point (a) is considered, the battle has been won. By and large NaMo image is one of an honest leader except to the most bitter political opponents. However, it is in points (b) and (c) that the BJP cause to worry, and worry big time.

Firstly, it is undeniable that the public by and large is facing hardship of various degrees - one cannot (and must not) gloss over it. That, however, is not the real problem - the public in india is used to facing hardships of different point. What is damning is that the government has not been able to showcase a "big catch" - say Damaad ji, to back up its big talk of not sparing any offenders. As the days go by, the perception WILL solidify that the fat cats will do their setting and escape, some minor idiots will be caught and mango people will just suffer for nothing. The government needs to display heads of the beasts that have been hunted plain and simple, or else all big talk of fighting corruption systemically will appear just hawa baazi - hot air. The people will say Modi has honest intention but system cannot be changed, and we will destroy the very credibility of a values based governing structure in india.

Secondly, the government has not spelled out in terms of policy what are the benefits of cashless economy, for consumers as well as small businesses. Just saying cashless is easy and next gen is not going to cause generational change - why cant an e-payment attract less service tax? why cant businesses selling essentials be given tax rebates for cashless transactions? why cant farm equipment and seeds/fertilizers be drastically subsidized if procured through e-payment? what are the real, meaty policy incentives to go cashless beyond mere sloaganeering and idiotic lotteries?

Right now, the gov. needs to get its act together or else it is heading for a disaster, no matter how much online echo chambers like twitter/whatsapp etc. say that all patriotic Indians are supporting move.

Update 16th December 2016.

Minor change. Positive sentiment increasing. I hope we are not projecting our biases. Hence request all to update positives or negative changes with comments on how they see things unfolding on ground.

Number of votes increasing to 58 (Have added another column to show number of votes.

srinebula

Post by srinebula »

saadhak wrote:. One example is an Uber driver complaining he does not have cash to fill diesel.
That seems like one clueless Uber driver. Most of the Petrol pumps accept PayTM, and cards. This has been the case before Demo as well. Given he is driving for Uber, he would have a smartphone, and a card. Strange if he complains that he can't refuel his car.
Another example is frustration that builds up when people run from one ATM to another.
This I can totally understand. So far I have not been able to withdraw any cash ever since Nov 9th. Fortunately I am able to manage mostly cashless.

Who cares about the motives of Modi. This is a blow to Modi. Cause MMS, PC and RaGa have said so. So I strongly disagree with the moon.

All the wholesale markets are deserted as no one has cash and yet retail prices have not spiked. What to speak of 70 % trucks staying off the road.

What kind of sorcery is this.

Blow 2 Modi.

Oh I forgot to write. I voted I strongly disagree with demonitasition.

I have not much problem with demonitisation. But I do not agree with timelines being parroted out. I think it will take atleast 1 year for situation to completely normalize. This is not a 50 day job.

On positive side, vegetable prices and prices of everything has come down. I got 5 kg of veggies for just 320 Rs. & this too in a sellers market. In a buyers market (market where there is plenty of produce & more supply) I can get same for 80 Rs, I feel. A lot of items being sold online is going for discount. It feels that rupee is going a long way, but how this will impact supply on long term is to be understood. I do not think that distributors, shop keepers will keep taking hit on their margins.

Poll Update 17th Dec (2303 IST): Sentiment remains same. Though for the first time there are Strong -ve entries. Votes have increased. Hope we are being able to keep an objective measure.

Talking to many people in person to person, they didn't believe much about news of giving special favour to political parties using old currency.

But on fb people were cursing a lot. I mostly joined them in their sentiments. But after FM Jaitley's clarification that cursing has turned toward media crooks and presstitutes :)
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

I am currently in Haridwar and Rishikesh for the past few days in a group of 9. We had to go to the bank several time over two weeks for withdrawing 35k for our local expenses as banks were giving only 4 or 5k per day as withdrawal in Chennai as they were getting only 6l per day in RBI. A few observations

1. Most ATMs are closed. Cash gets refilled twice a day with people lining up just prior to the load.
2. Paytm boards are every where in chotamota shops but atill more than 50% of shops are still on cash
3. Did not have a problem in changing 2k notes as long it was for expense over Rs.800
4. All the shops admitted that business is down
5. Shops are still averse to using credit/ debit and try all kind of tricks to avoid cards
6. From a initial euphoria the mood is slowly turning neutral as economy has still a long way before going cashless and cash withdrawal from banks is still a pain.
7. People are happy to see that Govt is cracking down on hoarders but they feel that since there has not been a single raid on politicians, it is not seen as anything great. People dont realise that politicians keep their books clean
but use benamis for kala dhan..
8.Fake news and misinformation campaigns on social media is also pushing the euphoria to die down.
9. The cashless infr still needs to improve and businesses should be incentivized through carrot and stick.Spicejet crew did not have a card machine and forced us to pay by cash. Similar story in a lot of reasonably well of restaurants who either dont accept cards or have a minimum transaction amount like Rs 200. Lot of traders who I tried to push to get paytm dont even have smartphones still and even if they do, they dont have data plans.
10. Govt should run a daily FAQ dispelling rumors of the day and giving clarity like what Jaitley did for the excemption for political parties
Subdas

Post by Subdas »

Sentiment in IT office in Kolkata seems to be normal. Barabazar in Kolkata, the hub of whole sale trading, seems to be business as usual. Lines in front of ATM, I see in the IT hub and vicinity have surely reduced. Crowd inside the banks have reduced to normal levels. 500 rupee notes have started to come out of ATMs. Small business have started to deploy POS and PayTM. There is ample paper notes of 100s with the vegetable, meat and milk vendor.

I feel that only folks dependent on LARGE DAILY NOTES are in trouble and will continue to remain in trouble till they mend their ways or go kaput. Example : BIG FAT WEDDINGS, CORRUPT LABOR CONTRACTORS, BRIBE SEEKERS in high postions.

Quick update. Just debriefed a friend who came back from Mumtaz Begum's land. Apparently there is huge resentment among people in Calcutta to change and anti Modi feelings. But he personally felt that things were being blown out of proportion. Even buses were taking PAYTM for tickets. They spent 10 lacs on a wedding. All cheque. Easy peas.

Yet people are grumbling. And that is the problem. What is succeeding is treated by negative reports ands

Update 18th Dec,2016 (2353 hrs)

Votes:94; Sentiment: 1.43

Update: 19th December 2016 (2230 hrs):

Firstly, before I update the numbers an admission from my side. There was a mistake in the formula after the first row and I had made a mistake in the Net Sentiment numbers. I am pasting below the historical numbers for the first five days to clarify the mistake. The latest numbers are corrected. The formula I am using is: Net Sentiment= (2 x Count Strong Positive+ 1x Count Positive+ 0x Count of Neutral- 1 X Count Negative-2 x Count Strong Negative)/ (Count of Total Votes).

Secondly, we have seen a marginal increase in the positive sentiment. Overall I would still qualify this as a positive experience, but not a strong positive. I hope we at BRF, being a self selected crowd are not getting into Group Think or letting our biases cloud our judgement. If having guarded for this we still have an objective score grater than 1, it is great.

Here's a question to all. If we were to run this poll across a broad cross-section, would the results be the same? What about on BRF FB account? Can someone take this up? I am unfortunately in circumstances which kind of limit me from stating or sharing something so openly. Can we use known Twitter handles to share and publicize this?

Finally the results: Vote Count =100, Sentiment= 1.16

DEMO Poll	1	2	3	4	5	 Vote Count 	 Net Sentiment 
15-Dec-16	14	11	3	5		 33 	 1.03 
16-Dec-16	27	18	5	8		 58 	 1.10 
17-Dec-16	37	26	6	10	2	 81 	 1.06 
18-Dec-16	45	30	8	8	3	 94 	 1.13 
19-Dec-16	49	32	8	8	3	 100 	 1.16 

P.S. Apologies for the honest mistake, maybe my built in bias made me add negatives as positives. :D

Small request to all. I see some votes seemed to have changed. If you do change your vote, please cite the reason/ anecdote/ news that made you switch. Will help the rest of us introspect.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Folks who are travelling by public transport, eating food outside each day, shopping at small kiranas/carts, or living within a few 100s each day will not care for our votes. By the nature of the forum, we will create a massive bias that is not possible to remove without rendering the data meaningless.

My vote remains +ve, because my life continues in the same manner. The minor inconvenience of not being able to withdraw money when required or spend change without a second thought is not relevant because the quantities are small enough. For a lot of folks affected by the lack of liquidity, the poll will never reflect their sentiment. The key here is to not record our reactions but those of folks that we meet and assess.

my vote changed to negative

the near daily rule changes and exmptions for political parties etc is getting on my nerves
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

^^^^^ Political parties are NOT exempt from submitting old notes. Where did you get that?

I have personally changed my vote to negative. Based on feedback from friends who are traveling to India and their observations. And I am disturbed by this 5000 rupee one shot thing and the ambiguity of the political party thing.

There is to much bad press.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Don't know the purpose of the "poll" where the country's population is 1.25 billion and u got 100 BRFites, 50% of which -like the pollster- live outside of India to vote. The sample is too small and the results have no meaning even though +ve to strong+tve total to be 81%. But please carry on with the middle school math project.

BTW there is method to madness in changing rules because the bm hoarders keep inventing new ways to deposit scrapped notes and gov confusing them on a daily basis.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Mukesh.Kumar wrote:I have personally changed my vote to negative. Based on feedback from friends who are traveling to India and their observations. And I am disturbed by this 5000 rupee one shot thing and the ambiguity of the political party thing.

So:
1. You are not directly affected by the demo.
2. You have no direct/first hand experience of any hardships.
3. You are relying on:
__a. Second hand information or reports from folks who are again not residing but are travelling to the country.
__b. Information from media and of course, the ubiqitous "BAD" press (which of course has been so pro Modi that the entire country voted for him based on media coverage).
One can see no logical fallacies or false assumptions there at all. NONE.
Only that the negative or positive votes, or this poll are all utterly meaningless.
IB4TL

Mukesh.Kumar wrote:Quick update. Just debriefed a friend who came back from Mumtaz Begum's land. Apparently there is huge resentment among people in Calcutta to change and anti Modi feelings. But he personally felt that things were being blown out of proportion. Even buses were taking PAYTM for tickets. They spent 10 lacs on a wedding. All cheque. Easy peas.

Yet people are grumbling. And that is the problem. What is succeeding is treated by negative reports ands
People in India are used to black money living. It's like a bunch of druggies being given ganja every day. Then some yeevil yindo say "No ganja!!". All the druggies get withdrawal symptoms and hate the yeevil man who denies them their fix. Long term good but short term hate.

Indians in India will need to learn that their lives over last 15 years were not real.

KJo wrote:
Mukesh.Kumar wrote:Quick update. Just debriefed a friend who came back from Mumtaz Begum's land. Apparently there is huge resentment among people in Calcutta to change and anti Modi feelings. But he personally felt that things were being blown out of proportion. Even buses were taking PAYTM for tickets. They spent 10 lacs on a wedding. All cheque. Easy peas.

People in India are used to black money living. It's like a bunch of druggies being given ganja every day. Then some yeevil yindo say "No ganja!!". All the druggies get withdrawal symptoms and hate the yeevil man who denies them their fix. Long term good but short term hate.

Indians in India will need to learn that their lives over last 15 years were not real.
KJo, When majority of India is living in wretched poverty, How can you claim that 'People in India are used to black money living.'
Anyways there is no guarantee that this has long term benefit except for Govt claiming it to be. What benefits, No one is willing to spell them out.

Mukesh.Kumar wrote:
The more the bad press, better is the decision. This is the sign. If these media-crooks or presstitutes support anything then it has to be doubted, like raghu ram rajan

I reside in India and i have cast my vote for 'Neutral'... and that's what it shall remain for the next 11 months or thereabouts

The only way my vote will change :

a) to positive -
1) Big BM people (Politicos, Industrialists, Builders, Jewelers, Actors etc) are identified, caught and punished.
2) Big push via quick distribution and subsidies/incentives is given to people using Indian owned/built digital payment systems (Cards, Wallets, Netbanking, Mobile Banking) across all types of business and services
3) Rationalized and reduced tax rates are applied across a much wider section of the population
(these are the top 3)

b) to negative -
1) If the 3 conditions above are not achieved even partly
2) If there is any rollback - partial or full
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

I have voted strongly positive and have been same since day 1. This dos not mean that i have not gone through hardship but ready to put up for the greater good.

Will like to share few experiences , have stood in q for 3 plus hours to deposit and withdraw at the begining of this. Stood couple of time an hr or just less for atm withdrawals. Today due to new circular had to create rukcus at branch to deposit old 500 notes totalling to 16500. Still i am with this endeavour. Long live modi , jai shri ram.

Update 20th December, Midnight

Votes 123, Sentiment stays almost same at 1.13

Rishi Verma wrote:The sample is too small and the results have no meaning even though +ve to strong+tve total to be 81%. But please carry on with the middle school math project.
Rishisaab, I concede your points on small sample size, people (like me) being outside India. I will also concede partially your point on this being a 'middle school math project.' Yes, those are fallacies. Let me reiterate what we set out to do. Predict public sentiment on basis of speaking to a cross-section of people, our experiences and try to forecast where the sentiment is moving. This is not about where we personally stand (either pro or anti De-Mo) but an attempt to see how we can follow public sentiment. By artificially expressing a negative or a positive emotion we will not influence the outcome of the exercise, but we will definitely lose objectivity. Suggest you have a look at this and then we can discuss your feedback.
Marten wrote: So:
1. You are not directly affected by the demo.
2. You have no direct/first hand experience of any hardships.
3. You are relying on:
__a. Second hand information or reports from folks who are again not residing but are travelling to the country.
__b. Information from media and of course, the ubiqitous "BAD" press (which of course has been so pro Modi that the entire country voted for him based on media coverage).
One can see no logical fallacies or false assumptions there at all. NONE.
Only that the negative or positive votes, or this poll are all utterly meaningless.
IB4TL
Marten, you can vote as you think. As I stated above my personal opinion on De-Mo has nothing to do with my vote. Fair/ Unfair the media coverage is what it is. Right or wrong, people have feelings. The poll is to try and get an idea of what people are feeling. Personal votes will matter little and if we are objective we will be able to get a good aggregate of the mean. The more number of people we can poll directly (or indirectly) should make our result come close. Why are you getting piqued? This is not a discussion group. This is a poll

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Mukesh.Kumar wrote:
The more the bad press, better is the decision. This is the sign. If these media-crooks or presstitutes support anything then it has to be doubted, like raghu ram rajan
Manishji, I sure hope so. Anyway, these last days will be the hardest. As deadline approaches, I expect that the decibels will rise in demonistation of Demonetization- the proverbial last gasp. And that is what I am afraid of. Whatever gains we make with this will be drowned out in this incessant chatter
Marten

Post by Marten »

Mukesh, please read my previous post. Your sample is irrelevant and not representative of the general populace. Say, you changed your vote after speaking to how many people? Which region, what geographical spread? Why are your experiences not recorded on the DeMo thread? What purpose does this thread serve if it records external opinions rather than those directly affected by it? Sorry, but your hearsay reports based on anecdotal points are again skewed to specific viewpoints. I don't even want to bring up the methodology!

If you're looking for validation for your opinion, you are on the right track. However, the forum is not representative of the people of India. So the general feel will be best represented by civic or state polls. Track that instead! Feel free to ignore my opinion.
PS: On average I speak with ten folks each day to get a sense of how things are. And do not consider this a large enough sample to report and analyse.
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

+1 Marten Saab. Spot on. The public feeling based on the people we meet on day to day from different walks of life is turning neutral from initial positive. I am extremely supportive of the move. The 2000 needs to go, replaced with 500 and 100 and working ATMs dispensing 5K per day max. Current raids on all the small fishes will not suffice.

I found a cycle repair wallah with a pay tm board. When I asked him if I can pay him via paytm, he said the comapny guys came in, put the board, configured the app and went. Now they are clueless how to use and hence want cash. Similar experience with few other vendors as well
siddhu

Post by siddhu »

Haters gonna hate no matter what modi do. Supporters will support no matter what. Neutral might be swinging right now but when things settle it will be overall positive effect. Would be good in long run.

It all depends on cash availability in the 1st week of January especially new 500, 100, 50's at ATM's and 2) Offical RBI press release on the value of old notes received, so far its all been Media guess work on the notes received claiming "sources" without actuaal RBI press release. Despite Chidu's claims of 16.5 crore, RTI on actual RBI data state 20.51 lac crore of old 500 and 1000 notes. If something like 6 or 7 lac crore does not make it, all AAP Tard and Congis will have to Hide.

Update 21st December 2016 (2300 hrs IST)

Votes:134, Sentiment: 1.10.

I guess by now we have at least a modicum of numbers to say that at least on BRF, there still is a sense of positive feel about De-Mo. And if we have read the sentiment correctly, then we could stretch it to replace close to what (urban) India is feeling. Whatever it is, its not the absolute numbers that count but the trend in mood. Let's see how it progresses.

Dasari

Post by Dasari »

Aditya_V wrote:It all depends on cash availability in the 1st week of January especially new 500, 100, 50's at ATM's and 2) Offical RBI press release on the value of old notes received, so far its all been Media guess work on the notes received claiming "sources" without actuaal RBI press release. Despite Chidu's claims of 16.5 crore, RTI on actual RBI data state 20.51 lac crore of old 500 and 1000 notes. If something like 6 or 7 lac crore does not make it, all AAP Tard and Congis will have to Hide.
I'm going by the conservative estimate of Rs 15.5 lakh crore. According to Bibek Debroy from nitiayog, he predicts today that Rs 2 lakh crores of this will not come back. Also he expects another Rs 50000 crore back taxes from what is deposited. That is a huge success. There might have been a leak of one lakh crores, but I will take this. Holding my breath until Dec 30 to see the final number.

Update 23rd Dec 2016:

Had captured the data last night but could not update. So updating both days together. Yesterday's data was just before midnight IST. And today's early at 2130 hrs IST (Am traveling to India tonight).

P.S. I may not be able to travel to update every night. But will record data and update as and when I am able to.
P.P.S. Also, going to be traveling with INR 3200 in cash. Have a problem with my Indian bank and hence am locked out of my bank accounts for ATM. Old cheque book is gone. And yes at this point in time I don't have Aadhar Card or my PAN. If I can survive for the next few days without these, I am sure any traveler should not have too many issues. Plus I am not going to Mumbai, Bangalore or Delhi

Update 25th December 2016 (2140 hrs) Calcutta:

Sentiment on poll remains stable at just more than positive. 139 votes, Score 1.16

Update 28th December 2320 hrs IST

No changes in votes (148), Sentiment @ 1.21

Anecdotal evidence from Kolkata:
1) Been traveling around the city, cleaning up old bank issues. Queues almost non-existent at all but one branch (explain peculiar situation below). HDFC, PNB, SBI all Ok. Cash business not too affected. There is a sense of normality. What people are discussing and can be a sore point is the rapid changes in rules. One of our FnF's was bitterly attacking the De-Mo exercise based on this. Needless to say they were pretty likely to be affected by this. Spoke to another of my friends who runs a catering business. Wedding season was fine. He did speak of one client who got caught on wrong foot just due to shortage of cheques. Clean money in the bank, but unable to get a new cheque book issued.
2) The one exception was a bank near Rajabazar. The PSU Bank I went to was in a situation of chaos with huge lines for cash withdrawal, raised voices and tempers. For those unfamiliar with Calcutta, check out the Wiki links for Demographics. The bank employees were really hassled, felt pity for them. Due to the load of cash transactions, the guys are delayed up to 20 days for clearing cheques. And strangely at midday, the ATM had only two people standing in line.

Only two days left. Let's see what happens. Still keeping my fingers crossed. De-Mo in principle has great potential, but I want to see the numbers and final reports before we celebrate.