The Tokyo Olympic Games Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Tokyo Olympic Games Thread

Suraj wrote:There's no point in focusing on the issuance of blame. It's clear the shooting team did extremely poorly at preparing for the event on multiple counts:
1. the ongoing feud between Bhaker and Jaspal Rana that has been on since May-June before they left for Croatia.
2. clearly weak technical management of the weapons. Bindra's issue years ago should have resulted in something like that never happening again, but no - we have amateur hour here, and regardless of who should have done something, there ought to have been a game plan to fix any contingency - spare weapons, a clear procedural mechanism or anything else.
3. poor handling of the psychological conditioning of our juniors. After their world dominating 2019 season and even 2021 season it was critical to manage their preparation carefully so that they went into the OGs with a strong positive frame of mind. But it's clear the coaching and support staff failed badly.

We had among the best shooters in the world in SIX events, every one of which could have been at least one medal. In the mixed events in particular, we dominated the world circuit recently: in the 2019 World Cup season, every single leg shows "Gold: Manu Bhaker/Saurabh Chaudhry". All our shooters have beaten all of those who won medals in this Olympics, often multiple times. The Chinese, Russians, Americans... they're all probably perplexed as to why the scary Indians imploded like this. In fact Bhaker and Chaudhry beat the OG gold medalists Pang Wei/Jiang Ranxin in the final of the mixed team event in their own home World Cup in Beijing.
Yes, there is not much point focusing on individuals to blame. I was just surprised that this kind of culture (ego, one-upmanship, lack of corrective actions) is still pervasive, and even more surprised by the details in your posts, which indicate this culture is well entrenched. With this kind of an environment, it's no surprise that our athletes won't do well. Not sure how they managed to do so well in other events.

The overall point is that the system needs some serious re-work if such petty issues are allowed derail years of training. Cricket used to be like this till the turn of the century, and then some, but it's gotten much better of late - impact of Dravid, IPL, etc. I suppose. We need something similar in some of these sports (all sports may be difficult to fix at once).
Last edited by arshyam on 28 Jul 2021 14:19, edited 1 time in total.

I do not know about other states but in Haryana there is talent. Problem is, once they get exposer at international level these players start believing that they are gifted. Rest of the job is done by local political parties. Athletes attracted towards gunda gangs, useless display of machoism and politics. We have lost many athletes like this. In other ward success is wasted in useless tasks.
Maria

Post by Maria »

Archery update:

Archery (Men's individual - 1/32 Eliminations) - India's Pravin Jadhav wins the first-round match in his individual event. A brilliant one-sided winning against world No. 2 Bazarzhapov of the Russian Olympic Committee in straight sets.

All is not gloomy.
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

sum wrote:Women's archery team win ninth consecutive gold medal
For the Korean archers, winning a gold medal at the Olympics is practically a given. Korea has now claimed 25 of the 36 golds awarded in the sport since 1984.

The women's team has been especially dominant, winning every gold medal since the 1988 Seoul Olympics. Those nine medals tie the record for the most medals any country has won at consecutive Olympics in a single discipline, alongside the United States in the men's 400 meters swimming and the Kenyan athletics team.

The archery team will continue its hunt for gold on Monday at 1:45 p.m. with the men's team quarterfinals where Kim Je-deok, Kim Woo-jin and Oh Jin-hyek will show off their shooting skills.

Why is S. Korea so good at archery? Athletes find answer in transparency, internal competition

TOKYO, July 26 (Yonhap) -- South Korea has dominated archery in the Olympics the way few other countries have in other sports.

Wanting to ensure the best archers of 2021, not 2020, would represent the country in Tokyo, the national governing body staged the Olympic trials from scratch.

An, along with Kang Chae-young and Jang Min-hee, survived the national team trials gauntlet often described as more difficult than the Olympics, given the depth of South Korea's archery talent. It's become a cliche, but it's not entirely wrong either.

The KAA built a replica of the Olympic venue, Yumenoshima Park Archery Field, inside the Jincheon National Training Center in Jincheon, about 90 kilometers south of Seoul. And to prepare the archers against windy conditions in Tokyo, the KAA set up another training facility on a southwestern island.

"They built an Olympic-like environment for us, and we trained like we were competing in the Olympics," Kang said. "Lights never went out at our training site."
I think this can be a valid takeaway for shooting and archery events where replicas have been built with also some kind of simulation of the wind conditions along with extreme competition for the spot. though on the last point we have had the best contingent in terms of potential so far.

I have often wondered if in cricket or other sports where a situational practice is done as in telling the batsman you have one over and x number of run to knock of while giving the bowler bowling as x/2 run to defend and have them keep going at it in practice. All the people in the national team or the final squad are generally talented, but coming on top requires to come out of pressure situations.

though OT for the thread a team in the NFL for the American football is pretty big on situational executions and have pretty much consistently come out on top in such situations.

https://twitter.com/IndiaToday/status/1 ... 86657?s=20 (video)
kind of next level politics and complete lack of team work, backbiting going on at shooting events with India at Olympics is mind boggling
bharathp

Post by bharathp »

Atanu das - (ind archery) - just beat two time olympic gold medalist from Korea. the korean supremacy just got a small shock from Indian archers!

^^ That is some level preparation by South Korea, but that's what it takes to dominate a field!

And its not like we don't know how to do it. Take the example of the Spelling Bee in the U.S. The reason Indian-American kids completely dominate is because of:

1) Intense internal competition. The South Asian (read Indian) spelling bee is harder than the national one
2) North South Foundation (NSF): this is a voluntary organization that does the drills for the students. Provides a phenomenal structure. Almost all Spelling Bee champs are products of NSF

A combination of structure, great mentors, best practices, competitions, structured preparation, smart kids, super-dedicated parents - the works

Archery & Shooting are also sports where you can bring home a clutch of medals. The same archer can bring home 3 Golds. Given our talent pool, Olympic veterans & money available, we need to take our professionalism to the next level. No point in just being content with World Championship victories where the Chinese & the Koreans don't even participate
Maria

Post by Maria »

bharathp wrote:Atanu das - (ind archery) - just beat two time olympic gold medalist from Korea. the korean supremacy just got a small shock from Indian archers!
8) The prayers of India are with him, rock on Atanu!

Everyone talking about factionalism and backbiting within Indian Olympic team (table tennis, archery, shooting, wrestling, tennis or whatever is your favourite sports) - please get rid of your rose tinted glasses. These are and have always been part of any game, more so for top level champions and their teams. And will always remain. Much more than your regular society.

It is absolutely idiotic to think some group of human beings that competitively excel in their field in a global big stage setting with tremendous pressure would NOT be extremely competitive, egoist, protective of their turf. They will. That's the basic make up of champions.

Look at any field for the top level talent and you would find the same pettiness. We find that in corporates. We find that in academia. In entertainment and arts. Among Nobel laureates. Then what is this stupid notion of sportspersons being virtuous saints? They and their support stuff would fight, dirty, among themselves and in groups. This phenomenon is part of being human, it does not stop for any team, any field, any country.

The idea is to win "despite" that.

Similar is the notion that Indian sportsperson has some mythical additional burden due to lack of facility, nepotism, infighting or system holding them back. Please open your eyes. These are common complaints from everywhere for every team.

You will hear about them in open societies like US, EU, AUS for all sports. You would hear about them from escaping sportsperson from regressive nations like China, USSR, GDR. From poor African nations like Kenya. If you are so impressed by the quoted PR bites about Korean archery, check their internal media and you would find these exact same complaints persistently coming from another bunch of Korean competitors who did not make the cut to the top level. Just like you will find a bunch of Indian American parents giving the same reasons for the failure of their wards in spelling bee competitions.

These problems are everywhere, not specific to India. And they didn't stop these above nations to still come up with systems that work for their society and economy to consistently produce champions who wins medals in big stage. Heck, they even produce a new GOAT every few years in their strong fields!!!!.

So, let's get beyond those "idealistic" preconditions to perform in big stage. Till we allow these "excuses" to distract us, we will always have such high expectation and poor result and worse, will not have a coherent plan to improve either.

At the end of the day, it boils down to sports capitalism. Capital brings in money for both world class support stuff and creates fierce competition within a large internal talent pool. We have the proof of cricket in front of us. It works for our society, economy and gene pool. Even the vaunted "win at all cost" Aussie team is struggling to cope with us there in all formats. (Btw, reaching top two is dominating enough when done consistently, if anyone wants to nitpick about the chocking in finals. In Olympic setting, it would still win us many medals.)

Without any disrespect, it was NOT Bedi, Patoudi, kapil, Gavaskar, Sachin, Dravid, Saurav, Dhoni, Shastri or Kohli. We had many great individually brilliant player, coach and captain all throughout. That didn't bring in the change. What made a difference is the extremely astute and shrewd management of the financial side of the game by a series of brilliant sports administrators - starting with the much hated "bania" Jaggu Dalmiya taking over the control from the "aristocratic" Dungarpur, continuing with even more "bania" Lalit Modi, Srinivasan etc culminating in creation of IPL that has created the huge internal talent pool, well fed, well trained, well supported and hungry for success. With the availability of at least 4 substitute option in every position who are equally good.

We are slowly moving in that direction for olymic sports as well. Shooting is pretty close up there. The few others areas like Althetics, Boxing, Wrestling, Archery, Badminton are following suit. As long as we continue to manage the administrative side of the things from a purely capitalistic view point instead of political patronage, there is no reason to loose hope.

And one thing I can tell you right now. When we reach there, we will also have PR bites similar to Korean archery team. And still nothing will change in terms of the human failings like factionalism, nepotism, internal fighting, backstabbing, occational doping and sex scandals. Whatever we are hearing about Manu Bhaker and Monica Batra - similar stuff would still be there. Only difference would be us winning despite of that. Just like Shastry Ganguly fight didn't stop us to reach top 2 in test ranking or Kumble Kohli spat didn't stop us to reach champions trophy final.

So, stop looking for unreasonable preconditions for our good performance. There are reasons why we are not there yet. And the stated reasons are NOT the real ones, at least not in any significant way.
Maria

Post by Maria »

Satish Kumar sails into quarter-finals | #Tokyo2020 Highlights | #Tokyo2020 Highlights

Hello gentlemen, how do I embed an YouTube video?
Last edited by Maria on 29 Jul 2021 23:53, edited 1 time in total.

Right click on youtube video ->copy the video URL -> go to 'Full Editor & Preview' -> select youtube -> paste only the later part of the URL. Ex : If the URL is https://youtu.be/H8D_tVkn6JL just paste H8D_tVkn6JL inside youtube quotes -> hit submit
Maria

Post by Maria »

Ambar wrote:Right click on youtube video ->copy the video URL -> go to 'Full Editor & Preview' -> select youtube -> paste only the later part of the URL. Ex : If the URL is https://youtu.be/H8D_tVkn6JL just paste H8D_tVkn6JL inside youtube quotes -> hit submit
Thanks Ambar

One more medal guaranteed in boxing.

Women's welterweight Lovlina Borgohain beat her nemesis and former world champion Taiwanese opponent. She's drawn to meet the reigning #1 and world champion from Turkey in the semifinal. In boxing all semifinalists get medals. Pooja Rani takes on a Chinese - if she also wins, that would be one more semifinalist and thus one more medal.

PV Sindhu beats Japan's Akane Yamaguchi in straight games 21-13, 22-20 to enter the women's singles semifinals.

Go girls!

Archer Deepika Kumari had a bad day and lost to Korea's An San in quarter finals. Her husband Antanu Das is the only remaining hope.
Maria

Post by Maria »

Lovlina ensures medal finish | #Tokyo2020 Highlights

Cyrano wrote:Archer Deepika Kumari had a bad day and lost to Korea's An San in quarter finals. Her husband Antanu Das is the only remaining hope.
It was a clear case of nerves. Sub-par performance. She commented after the previous round that she needed to stop being so nervous.

After 2 previous Olympics & World Cup victories, some athletes are still not mentally tough to compete at the Olympics level.

The whole "Ranked #1 in the world" is bogus, considering that Korea & China don't even compete in those tournaments & your ranking doesn't count for Olympic qualifiers

We need a serious re-look at training at the highest level for our shooting & archery teams. Sports psychologists especially. They had so much promise & delivered so little. :(
Maria

Post by Maria »

Prem Kumar wrote:
Cyrano wrote:Archer Deepika Kumari had a bad day and lost to Korea's An San in quarter finals. Her husband Antanu Das is the only remaining hope.
It was a clear case of nerves. Sub-par performance. She commented after the previous round that she needed to stop being so nervous.

After 2 previous Olympics & World Cup victories, some athletes are still not mentally tough to compete at the Olympics level.

The whole "Ranked #1 in the world" is bogus, considering that Korea & China don't even compete in those tournaments & your ranking doesn't count for Olympic qualifiers

We need a serious re-look at training at the highest level for our shooting & archery teams. Sports psychologists especially. They had so much promise & delivered so little. :(
Do we have a psychology thread of BRF? I read many years that Korean shooters are mentally conditioned by having to spend nights at graveyards.

We should have sent younger shooters and archers. If older experienced archers and shooters cannot control their nerves than it is better that they retire. Also., these archers and shooters are being given way too much money, accolades, etc without performance. compare what their competitors from other countries get? not much.

Well said. we are desperate to find people to worship them. I wrote this before.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

I believe An San was a superior archer throughout the Olympics (team & mixed events) and she is young.
So, unless our archers figure out a way to defeat her, the 3 golds for next 4 Olympics will remain with Koreans.
Our world rankings have no meaning without Koreans participating.

Men's Hockey:
India plays GB in the quarterfinal. If they win, they'll face the winner of Spain vs Belgium in the semifinal. Belgium are in ominous form. Australia who finished #1 in our pool, face Netherlands. I'd rather be facing GB than Netherlands, so it's just as well that we lost to Aus in the group stage match.

Boxing women's lightweight
Pooja Rani takes on Li Qian in quarterfinal. If she wins, that's a second assured boxing medal from women.

Badminton
PV Sindhu takes on Tai Tzu Ying in semifinal. If she wins, her chances of beating the finalist - winner of the all-Chinese other semifinal - is arguably better than her semifinal challenge.

No need to be knee jerk harsh on Deepika Kumari or other athletes who didn't win a medal. No one gets there without qualifying which itself needs talent, years of hard work and countless sacrifices. After getting there no athlete will want to perform sub par. To win more medals India needs to produce more Olympic level athletes in more disciplines and invest even more in infra, coaches, tournament participation etc because things can and will go wrong, and also opponents get better all the time. No easy shortcuts for anyone. We need to back our athletes in success and failures, not diss them like this. Sorry to see such attitude on BRF.

Cyrano wrote:No need to be knee jerk harsh on Deepika Kumari or other athletes who didn't win a medal. No one gets there without qualifying which itself needs talent, years of hard work and countless sacrifices. After getting there no athlete will want to perform sub par. To win more medals India needs to produce more Olympic level athletes in more disciplines and invest even more in infra, coaches, tournament participation etc because things can and will go wrong, and also opponents get better all the time. No easy shortcuts for anyone. We need to back our athletes in success and failures, not diss them like this. Sorry to see such attitude on BRF.
Sir
I agree on your points for most sports but i refuse to believe there is lack of facilities, infra etc for shooting and archery over last decade atleast.

If every olympic, we hear the same story about being world #1 till the olympics start and then withering away in initial rounds and citing nerves ( even for people in 3rd or 4th olympics) , there is something seriously wrong at mental conditioning level and no infra can compensate for that

I never hear such excuses for the other favorites like China/Korea/xyz where 1 or 2 might fail but there will never be wholesale withering away consistently across multiple olympics

Anyways, thats my armchair-giri. I really hope to see the day such excuses arent used and we live up to the billing like other nations seem to be doing consistently

Amit Panghal out in boxing - the strongest medal bet among men.

Atanu Das also looses in the archery quarterfinals .
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

So Lovelina is sure for a medal. PV Sindhu, Satish Kumar and Men's hockey are strong contenders. What else?
bharathp

Post by bharathp »

Santosh wrote:So Lovelina is sure for a medal. PV Sindhu, Satish Kumar and Men's hockey are strong contenders. What else?
discuss thrower kamalpreet kaur is positioned second after all qualifications.
if this continues, its a possible medal.
thers also pooja rani in the boxing - one bout away from a medal.
looks like its nari shakti from India to win the medals this time!
Shwetank

Post by Shwetank »

For archery, the world's do mean something. Deepika was the best non-korean going in. She beat the current Olympic silver medalist earlier this year just before the Olympics in one of the stages she won a gold in and would have beaten the bronze medallist too. She got unlucky with her bracket, to meeting the winner first, on the opposite side she was pretty much guaranteed a medal.

Beating the Koreans is a different matter, nobody can touch them, getting into the Korean team is harder than being the best in any other country and they have won gold for decades. There was a good reason to have nerves against them, and not having them unlikely to have made a difference. Developed white countries, who no one here would argue have mental toughness issues, can't touch them either.

Archery at this level is more about consistency than anything, all of them are accurate & can hit the center, it's who can do it a higher percentage of the time like a machine. Koreans have a fanatic level of hardwork, as all East Asian cultures do especially for repetitive tasks and those important for maintaining image, Korean students if I remember are even more extreme in their study loads than other East Asians. You need that level of extreme desperation and competition. Indian culture doesn't have that obsession with winning in general, let alone in sports, and it's not even clear if it's worth changing (with all the pain, sacrifice and money) it for sports to get a few medals in niche sports with little economic or cultural relevance.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

Women's hockey team won against South Africa. If Ireland loses then Indian team will go to the next round.

Our Archers need to be quarantined from our media during Olympic. We creat hype on Indian media that put extra pressure on Archers. It is game of concentration. Why not use some Yoga techniques. I see coreans are extremely calm and focused. JMT

May be our archers and other athletes do yoga already. China puts immense pressure on its athletes to deliver and win medals. That also seems to work, and without yoga. The point I'm making is there are no easy solutions to win medals, and even tougher to do this consistently. Multiple evolving factors are at play for India and every other country.

There used to be a time when our sportsmen complained about 'lack of exposure'. That's no longer a problem. There may be a lack of efficient professionalism, but access to equipment and competition isn't a major impediment anymore. The current gen shooters and archers for example, have very full passports.

However, there are sports where dominant East Asian countries don't depend on the world circuit to maintain level. Instead, they've thoroughly mastered a system of extremely high performance internal competition. This has been around for decades. For example let's look at China in 1984, their first Olympics. They immediately proceeded to win 15 golds there - including 4 weightlifting and 3 shooting golds and even a gold in bourgeoisie fencing. This was a country that, 8 years prior had come out of the Cultural Revolution. So how did it get that far so fast with essentially zero world level competition for decades ?

Sure you can allege doping etc, but ultimately it's about a system that identifies capable individuals and relentlessly trains them. This requires ability to spot the right talent, as well as coaching staff dedicated to mastering biomechanics and training methods suited to the sport, as well as early and consistent psychological training focused on hardening the individual to win. The system demands victory and they're trained to focus on winning.

The nearest analogue we have is actually our shooting team. The entire shooting contingent is composed mainly of teenagers or those who turned 20 within the past few months. They all got there through a very high pressure trials system after the 2016 Olympics debacle, where these kids forced out those before them. Shooters can perform well into their 40s at the world stage. But the NRAI created a system of intense competition that did wonders - producing a range of teenaged world champions who performed well, until a period of mismanagement completely derailed them. I strongly feel if the Olympics had happened in mid 2020, this lot would have won 3-5 shooting golds.

Something terrible has happened in the shooting team since, and it needs to be identified and resolved. Come 2024, we need a contingent just as capable as this lot, but much more mentally tougher. It could be these players, or it can be any teenager then who does much better. But the key is an unforgiving high pressure internal competition system where the performance standard is at or above world level, such that at world level our best find their performance easily calibrated to that standard.

Sindhu lost her sf match, the best she can get is a bronze if she wins against the loser of the other sf match.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

I think in India we are a bit lost when it comes to practical psychology and use in the modern world. The East Asian countries translate a lot of western books on self help etc… Koreans over the years have definitely done that using both Confucian and western systems. We will do our population a favour if we can make practical psychology part of school curriculum. Too often we lose in the mind and that includes our personal lives

India needs a CAG style report on root cause analysis of India's performance. There is no other way to approach this other than a systematic investigation. This means investigate the bureaucrats, the coaches, the athletes, the process. Seriously, fire a whole bunch of these people. Without that analysis we don't stand a chance.

Request all of you to have patience. We are improving in many sports at different levels. A lot of private and govt effort is going in that direction and results have started showing. Perhaps not as fast as we would like but it is happening. Instead of being mere critics we should back those efforts. The shooting scene is now intense and is going to go more intense as beyond these young team there is a junior team which just won the junior world cup. I think the days of shooters waiting for multiple Olympics to medal is going to go away very soon. Archery - this is our best performance in Olympics to date as we have 3 QF finish where we lost to Korea. We do not still have the depth and breadth in archery to beat the Koreans. Boxing we still do not have the depth and breadth. Otherwise Mary Kom and Vikash Krishnan would not be there for so long. Rest have been more or less on expected lines. India is not an authoritarian driven system. It is purely voluntary. It will take time to go upto that level.

Private investment is needed in sports. Sports is a huge money and employment generator. Our cricket stadiums that are almost in each city should be converted to play multiple sports(at least have a running track of 400m or a biking track). Need public swimming pools in each district or even at smaller level sponsored by private businesses same with shooting, boxing, wrestling, volleyball, fencing, tennis, weight lifting,, basketball, etc. Coastal cities should have rowing and sailing clubs with regular competitions.

Government babus will never be able to get medals unless China style authority is deployed. At least children in various orphanages should be encouraged to play sports.
bharathp

Post by bharathp »

Supratik wrote:Request all of you to have patience. We are improving in many sports at different levels. A lot of private and govt effort is going in that direction and results have started showing. Perhaps not as fast as we would like but it is happening. Instead of being mere critics we should back those efforts. The shooting scene is now intense and is going to go more intense as beyond these young team there is a junior team which just won the junior world cup. I think the days of shooters waiting for multiple Olympics to medal is going to go away very soon. Archery - this is our best performance in Olympics to date as we have 3 QF finish where we lost to Korea. We do not still have the depth and breadth in archery to beat the Koreans. Boxing we still do not have the depth and breadth. Otherwise Mary Kom and Vikash Krishnan would not be there for so long. Rest have been more or less on expected lines. India is not an authoritarian driven system. It is purely voluntary. It will take time to go upto that level.
this!
think of the days of leander paes/karnam malleswari winning the lone bronze medals.
since then, there has been a resurgence of sorts.
there are systematic improvements - there are regular SF/QF finishes in
1) badminton
2) boxing
3) weightlifting
4) shooters
this time the hockey is also coming back stronger, and the performances are more consistent
upcoming:
1) hockey (both male/female)

we should have some patience. specially given that not many who take the sport make it to the olympics level and are hard pressed for making a living.
i am certainly disappointed for India not getting the medals, but having lived through the 90s hardly seeing our flag on the olympics live coverage, its hearening to see many disciplines now regularly featuring Indians and they getting to QFs/SFs with an actual chance.
Maria

Post by Maria »

Sindhu wins her Bronze medal match against the Chinese HE Bing Jiao
Yashu

Post by Yashu »

Mens Hockey India wins 3-1 against GB